EDUCATION POLICY COMMITTEE MINUTES

Representative Laurie Pryor, Chair of the Committee on Education Policy, called the meeting to order at 4:02 PM on February 12, 2024 in Room 5 of the State Office Building.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members Present:

PRYOR, Laurie, Chair
HILL, Josiah, Vice Chair
BENNETT, Peggy, Republican Lead
BAKEBERG, Ben
BERG, Kaela
FEIST, Sandra
FRAZIER, Cedrick
KEELER, Heather
KNUDSEN, Krista
LEE, Liz
MUELLER, Patricia
URDAHL, Dean
YOUAKIM, Cheryl

A quorum was present.

Representative Berg moved that the minutes of March 22, 2023, be approved.

An error was noted in the minutes of March 22, 2023.

The motion to approve the minutes of March 22, 2023, was withdrawn.

HF3489 (Frazier); A bill for an act relating to education; providing for public safety; modifying the grounds for the use of reasonable force in schools; defining duties and establishing minimum training requirements for school resource officers; requiring development of a school resource officer model policy; appropriating money.

Representative Frazier moved that HF3489 be re-referred to the committee on Public Safety finance and policy.

Representative Frazier presented HF3489.

Nonpartisan House Research gave an informational walkthrough of HF3489.

Erik Misselt, Executive Director of the MN Board of Peace Officer Standards and training (POST) gave a model policy process walkthrough of HF3489.

The following testified on HF3489:

- Willie Jett, Commissioner, Minnesota Department of Education
- Bob Jacobson, Commissioner, Minnesota Department of Public Safety
- Ali Alowonle, Youth Advocate, Education for Liberation Minnesota
- Sarah, Student, Hiawatha Collegiate High School
- Tiffini Flynn Forslund, Teacher, KIPP North Star Elementary & Middle School
- Khulia Pringle, Minnesota State Director, National Parents Union
- Erin Sandsmark, Coalitions Program Manager, Solutions Not Suspensions
- Matt Shaver, Policy Director, EdAllies
- Joyner Emerick, Minneapolis School Board member
- Roger Aronson, Lobbyist, Elementary & Secondary Principal Associations

- Terence Morrow, Director of Legal & Policy Services, Minnesota School Boards Association
- Valerie Dosland, Lobbyist, Minnesota Association of School Administrators
- Jessica Webster, Attorney, Legal Aid
- Dallas, Student, Legal Rights Center Youth Network
- Mira, Student, Legal Rights Center Youth Network
- Gabriel, Student, Legal Rights Center Youth Network

Representative Bakeberg moved the H3489DE3 amendment.

Rep. Bakeberg requested a roll call.

The clerk took the roll:

Ayes:

BENNETT, Peggy, Republican Lead BAKEBERG, Ben KNUDSEN, Krista, MUELLER, Patricia URDAHL, Dean

Nays:

PRYOR, Laurie, Chair HILL, Josiah Vice Chair BERG, Kaela FEIST, Sandra FRAZIER, Cedrick KEELER, Heather LEE, Liz YOUAKIM, Cheryl

With a vote of 5 Ayes and 8 Nays, THE MOTION DID NOT PREVAIL.

Representative Frazier renewed the motion to re-refer HF3489 to the committee on Public Safety finance and policy.

Republican Lead Bennett requested a roll call.

The clerk took the roll:

Ayes:

PRYOR, Laurie, Chair HILL, Josiah Vice Chair BERG, Kaela FEIST, Sandra FRAZIER, Cedrick LEE, Liz YOUAKIM, Cheryl

Nays:

BENNETT, Peggy, Republican Lead BAKEBERG, Ben KNUDSEN, Krista, MUELLER, Patricia URDAHL, Dean

Abstain:

KEELER, Heather

With a vote of 7 Ayes, 5 Nays, and 1 Abstention, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

The meeting was adjourned at 5:58 PM	
	Representative Laurie Pryor, Chair
	Isabel Anderson, Committee Legislative Assistant