TRANSPORTATION FINANCE AND POLICY MINUTES

Representative Frank Hornstein, Chair of the Committee on Transportation Finance and Policy, called the meeting to order at 8:30 AM on March 12, 2024, in the Basement Hearing Room of the State Office Building.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

HORNSTEIN, Frank, Chair
TABKE, Brad, Vice Chair
PETERSBURG, John, Republican Lead
BRAND, Jeff
ELKINS, Steve
FOGELMAN, Marj
HUDELLA, Shane
KOEGEL, Erin
KRAFT, Larry
MURPHY, Tom
NELSON, Michael
NORRIS, Matt
OLSON, Bjorn
SENCER-MURA, Samantha
WEST, Nolan

A quorum was present.

Representative Petersburg moved that the minutes of March 7, 2024, be adopted. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

HF 3499 (Brand) Maximum train length established, and penalties provided.

Representative Brand moved that HF 3499 be re-referred to Committee on Judiciary Finance and Civil Law.

Representative Brand moved the H3499A1 amendment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

Representative Brand presented HF 3499 as amended.

Testifying on HF 3499 as amended:

- Joel Mueller, Local Chairman, Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers and Trainmen
- Nick Katich, Minnesota State Legislative Director, SMART Transportation Division
- Amber Backhaus, Executive Regional Director, Regional Railroads Association
- Jason Taullie, Director of Operating Practices and Rules, Union Pacific
- Travis Owsley, Senior General Attorney, BNSF Railway
- Larry Lloyd, Senior Director of Government Affairs, CPKC

Representative Petersburg requested a roll call on HF 3499 as amended.

Representative Brand renewed the motion that HF 3499 as amended, be re-referred to Committee on Judiciary Finance and Civil Law.

The clerk took the roll on HF 3499 as amended:

AYES

Hornstein

Tabke	
Brand	
Elkins	
Koegel	
Kraft	
Nelson	
Norris	

Sencer-Mura

NAYS
Petersburg
Fogelman
Hudella
Murphy
Olson
West

There being 9 ayes and 6 nays, <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

HF 3798 (Brand) Hazardous railroad incident notification requirements modified.

Representative Brand moved that HF 3798 be re-referred to the General Register.

Representative Brand presented HF 3798.

Testifying on HF 3798:

• Daniel Krier, State Fire Marshal, Minnesota Department of Public Safety

Representative Brand renewed the motion that HF 3798 be re-referred to the General Register. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

HF 4356 (Brand) Limitations on hours of service required of yardmasters established.

Representative Brand moved that HF 4356 be re-referred to the Committee on Ways and Means.

Representative Brand presented HF 4356.

Testifying on HF 4356:

- Nick Katich, Minnesota State Legislative Director, SMART Transportation Division
- Amber Backhaus, Executive Regional Director, Regional Railroads Association
- Travis Owsley, Senior General Attorney, BNSF Railway

Representative Petersburg requested a roll call on HF 4356.

Representative Brand renewed the motion that HF 4356 be re-referred to the Committee on Ways and Means.

The clerk took the roll on HF 4356:

AYES

Hornstein

Tabke

Brand

Elkins

Koegel

Kraft

Nelson

Norris

Sencer-Mura

NAYS

Petersburg

Fogelman
Hudella
Murphy
Olson
West

There being 9 ayes and 6 nays, <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

HF 4357 (Brand) Wayside detector system requirements established.

Representative Brand moved HF 4357 be re-referred to the Committee on Ways and Means.

Representative Brand presented HF 4357.

Testifying on HF 4357:

- Nick Katich, Minnesota State Legislative Director, SMART Transportation Division
- Joel Mueller, Local Chairman, Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers and Trainmen
- Amber Backhaus, Executive Regional Director, Regional Railroads Association
- Mark Wegner, President, Twin Cities and Western Railroad
- Larry Lloyd, Senior Director of Government Affairs, CPKC
- Travis Owsley, Senior General Attorney, BNSF Railway

Representative Petersburg requested a roll call on HF 4357.

Representative Brand renewed the motion that HF 4357 be re-referred to the Committee on Ways and Means.

The clerk took the roll on HF 4357:

AYES

Hornstein

Tabke

Brand

Elkins

Koegel

Kraft

Nelson

Norris

NAYS

Petersburg

Fogelman

Hudella

Murphy

Olson

West

EXCUSED

Sencer-Mura

There being 8 ayes, 6 nays, and 1 excused, <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

The meeting was adjourned at 9:47 AM.

Tenzin Tsangyang, Committee Legislative Assistant