
1.1 Senator .................... moves to amend H.F. No. 5242, in conference committee, as​

1.2 follows:​

1.3 On R44, Transportation Finance, Senate language, (UEH5242-1)​

1.4 Page 39, delete section 29 and insert:​

1.5 "Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 168.29, is amended to read:​

1.6 168.29 REPLACEMENT PLATES.​

1.7 (a) In the event of the defacement, loss, or destruction of any number plates or validation​

1.8 stickers, the registrar commissioner, upon receiving and filing a sworn statement of the​

1.9 vehicle owner, setting forth the circumstances of the defacement, loss, destruction, or theft​

1.10 of the number plates or validation stickers, together with any defaced plates or stickers and​

1.11 the payment of a fee calculated to cover the cost of replacement, shall must issue a new set​

1.12 of plates or stickers.​

1.13 (b) The commissioner must issue a new set of plates or stickers upon application for​

1.14 title and registration after removal of plates pursuant to section 168A.11, subdivision 2b.​

1.15 Plates issued under this section are subject to the fees in section 168.12. A licensed motor​

1.16 vehicle dealer may only apply for replacement plates upon application for a certificate of​

1.17 title in the name of a new owner or the dealer.​

1.18 (c) The registrar shall then commissioner must note on the registrar's commissioner's​

1.19 records the issue of new number plates and shall proceed in such manner as the registrar​

1.20 may deem advisable to must attempt to cancel and call in the original plates so as to insure​

1.21 against their use on another motor vehicle.​

1.22 (c) (d) Duplicate registration certificates plainly marked as duplicates may be issued in​

1.23 like cases upon the payment of a $1 fee. Fees collected under this section must be paid into​

1.24 the state treasury and credited to deposited in the driver and vehicle services operating​

1.25 account under section 299A.705, subdivision 1.​

1.26 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective October 1, 2024."​

1.27 On R47, Transportation Finance, Senate language, (UEH5242-1)​

1.28 Page 43, delete section 33​

1.29 On R48, Transportation Finance, Senate language, (UEH5242-1)​

1.30 Page 43, lines 9, 10, 17, 18, and 19, delete the new language​

1.31 Page 44, after line 9, insert:​

1​Sec. 29.​
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2.1 "Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 168A.11, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

2.2 Subd. 2. Notification on vehicle held for resale; service fee. Within 48 hours of​

2.3 acquiring a vehicle titled and registered in Minnesota, a dealer shall must:​

2.4 (1) notify the registrar commissioner that the dealership is holding the vehicle for resale.​

2.5 The notification must be made electronically as prescribed by the registrar commissioner.​

2.6 The dealer may contract this service to a deputy registrar and the registrar may charge a fee​

2.7 of $7 per transaction to provide this service; and​

2.8 (2) remove any plates from the vehicle and dispose of them as prescribed by the​

2.9 commissioner.​

2.10 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective October 1, 2024, for vehicles on or after​

2.11 that date."​

2.12 Renumber the sections in sequence and correct the internal references​

2.13 Amend the title accordingly​

2​Sec. 34.​
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