## Public Safety Finance and Policy Committee Agenda

February 13<sup>th</sup>, 2024 6:30pm, Rm. 5 SOB

- I. Call to Order
- II. Approval of March 30<sup>th</sup>, 2023, Meeting Minutes
- **III. HF 3489 (Frazier)** Education; public safety provided, grounds for use of reasonable force in schools modified, school resource officer duties defined and minimum training requirements established, and money appropriated.

## **Public Testimony:**

- 1. Willie Jett, Commissioner, Dept. of Education
- 2. Bob Jacobson, Commissioner, Dept. of Public Safety
- 3. Candace Lewis, Robbinsdale Cooper High School
- 4. Darien Muhen, Robbinsdale Cooper High School
- 5. Chad Hill, Robbinsdale Cooper High School
- 6. Jamvon Rush Reese, Cooper Robbinsdale High School
- 7. Matt Shaver, Policy Director, EdAllies
- 8. Patricia Beety, General Counsel, League of Minnesota Cities
- 9. Luka Jacobi-Khron, Minnesota Youth Council
- 10. Mark Bruley, Chief, Brooklyn Park Police Dept., Minnesota Chiefs of Police Association
- 11. Marci Exsted, MSW, LGSW, Research Assistant, Minnesota Justice Research Center
- 12. Imran Ali, General Counsel, Minnesota Police and Peace Officers Association
- 13. Ms. Maren Christenson Hofer, Executive Director, Multicultural Autism Action Network, Minneapolis, MN
- 14. Sean Deringer, Wright County Sheriff, Minnesota Sheriff's Association
- Ms. Tressa Dykstra, Pediatric Nurse Practitioner, Developmental Pediatrics, Northfield, MN
- 16. Kay Kessel, Retired Asst Principal, Minneapolis Public Schools
- 17. Khulia Pringle, Minnesota State Director, National Parents Union, representing families (BIPOC, multilingual, EL and others) from across Minnesota.
- 18. Ms. Tiffini Flynn Forslund, Kipp Northstar, Middel School Science Teacher
- 19. Hannah Lichstinn, MD, Minnesota Chapter of the American Academy of Pediatrics
- 20. Malaika Eban, Executive Director, Legal Rights Center
- 21. Jessica Webster, Staff Attorney, Legal Aid
- 22. Susan Montgomery, Parent, Minneapolis Resident

## IV. Adjournment