ENVIRONMENT AND NATURAL RESOURCES FINANCE AND POLICY MINUTES

Representative Sydney Jordan, Vice Chair of the Environment and Natural Resources Finance and Policy Committee, called the meeting to order at 3:00 P.M. on Wednesday, March 29, 2023, in Room 10 of the State Office Building.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members Present:

HANSEN, Rick (Chair) JORDAN, Sydney (Vice Chair) HEINTZEMAN, Josh (GOP Lead) BRAND, Jeff BURKEL, John EDELSON, Heather FINKE, Leigh FISCHER, Peter GILLMAN, Dawn JACOB, Steven LEE, Fue LISLEGARD, Dave PURSELL, Kristi SCHULTZ, Isaac SKRABA, Roger VANG, Samantha

A quorum was present.

Representative Pursell moved to approve the minutes from Tuesday, March 28, 2023. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

HF2310 (Hansen); Environmental and natural resources funding provided, utilities license and permit provisions modified, commissioner's duties modified, disposition of receipts modified, fees modified and provided, water and soil conservation provisions modified, requirements to notify of water pollution modified, waste management assistance provisions modified, environmental stewardship and grant programs modified, environmental justice considerations provided in permitting, lead and cadmium prohibited in consumer products, reports requirements modified, reports required, rulemaking required, and money appropriated.

Chair Hansen moved that HF2310 be re-referred to the Committee on Ways and Means.

Chair Hansen moved to adopt the DE1 amendment.

Chair Hansen moved to adopt the A8 amendment to the DE1 amendment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

Representative Lislegard moved to adopt the A1 amendment to the DE1 amendment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

Representative Jordan moved to adopt the A2 amendment to the DE1 amendment.

Representative Heintzeman requested a roll call.

The clerk noted the roll.

AYES:

HANSEN, Rick (Chair) JORDAN, Sydney (Vice Chair) BRAND, Jeff EDELSON, Heather FINKE, Leigh FISCHER, Peter LEE, Fue PURSELL, Kristi VANG, Samantha

NAYS:

HEINTZEMAN, Josh (GOP Lead) BURKEL, John GILLMAN, Dawn JACOB, Steven LISLEGARD, Dave SCHULTZ, Isaac SKRABA, Roger

There being 9 ayes and 7 nays, <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS</u> ADOPTED.

Representative Lee moved to adopt the A6 amendment to the DE1 amendment. <u>THE MOTION</u> PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

Representative Lee moved to adopt the A7 amendment to the DE1 amendment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

Chair Hansen moved to adopt the A10 amendment to the DE1 amendment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u> THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

Representative Schultz moved to adopt the A3 amendment to the DE1 amendment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

Chair Hansen renewed the motion to adopt the DE1 amendment, as amended.

Representative Heintzeman requested a roll call.

The clerk noted the roll.

AYES:

HANSEN, Rick (Chair)
JORDAN, Sydney (Vice Chair)
BRAND, Jeff
EDELSON, Heather
FINKE, Leigh
FISCHER, Peter
LEE, Fue
PURSELL, Kristi
VANG, Samantha

NAYS:

HEINTZEMAN, Josh (GOP Lead) BURKEL, John GILLMAN, Dawn JACOB, Steven LISLEGARD, Dave SCHULTZ, Isaac SKRABA, Roger

There being 9 ayes and 7 nays, <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS</u> ADOPTED.

Chair Hansen renewed the motion that HF2310, as amended, be re-referred to the Committee on Ways and Means. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

The Environment and Natural Resources Finance and Policy Committee recessed at 3:53 P.M.

The Environment and Natural Resources Finance and Policy Committee reconvened at 6:00 P.M.

Chair Hansen assumed the gavel at 6:00 P.M.

HF1900 (Hollins); Renewal of environment and natural resources trust fund provided, and constitutional amendment proposed.

Chair Hansen moved that HF1900 be re-referred to the Committee on Ways and Means.

Chair Hansen moved to adopt the DE5 amendment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

Representative Hollins presented HF1900, as amended.

Testifying on the bill:

- Dr. Dale Gentry, Conservation Manager, Audubon Minnesota
- Rennie Gaithe, Organizer, Frogtown Green
- Kateri Routh, Executive Director, Great River Greening
- Eli Mansfield, Chair, Minnesota Chapter of Backcountry Hunters and Anglers
- Francisco Segovia, Executive Director, Comunidades Organizando El Poder Y La Accion Latina (COPAL)
- Mary Robison, Chief Financial Officer, Minnesota Department of Natural Resources
- David Pelican, Policy Associate, Conservation Minnesota
- Rick Heller, Representative, Twice Exceptional and Print Disabled
- Brian Miller, Program Director, Conservation Corp of Minnesota and Iowa
- Stephanie Pinkalla, Government Relations Director, The Nature Conservancy

Chair Hansen renewed the motion that HF1900, as amended, be re-referred to the Committee on Ways and Means. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

Representative Jordan assumed the gavel at 6:51 P.M.

HF2778 (Hansen); Legislative-Citizen Commission on Minnesota Resources membership and terms modified, availability of fund disbursements modified, and appointments provided.

Chair Hansen moved that HF2778 be re-referred to the Committee on Ways and Means.

Chair Hansen moved to adopt the A3 amendment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

Chair Hansen presented HF2778, as amended.

Testifying on the bill:

None

Chair Hansen renewed the motion that HF2778, as amended, be re-referred to the Committee on Ways and Means. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

The meeting was adjourned at 6:56 P.M.

Representative Rick Hansen,	Chair

Sam O'Neill, Committee Legislative Assistant