CLIMATE AND ENERGY FINANCE AND POLICY MINUTES

Representative Patty Acomb, Chair of the Committee on Climate and Energy Finance and Policy, called the meeting to order at 3:01 PM on March 6, 2024, in Room 200 of the State Office Building.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

ACOMB, Patty, Chair
KRAFT, Larry, Vice Chair
SWEDZINSKI, Chris, Republican Lead
ALTENDORF, Pam
BIERMAN, Robert
CARROLL, Ned
DAVIS, Ben
GAROFALO, Pat
HOLLINS, Athena
HEMMINGSEN-JAEGER, Amanda
HORNSTEIN, Frank
IGO, Spencer
NEWTON, Jerry
RARICK, Marion
STEPHENSON, Zack

Members excused:

REHM, Lucy MEKELAND, Shane

A quorum was present.

Vice Chair Kraft moved that the minutes from March 5, 2024 be approved. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

HF 3895 (Hansen) – Member access to cooperative documents and meetings improved, and electronic voting by mail for cooperative board directors required.

Chair Acomb moved that HF 3895 be laid over for possible inclusion.

Chair Acomb moved the A1 amendment to HF 3895. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

Testimony:

- Kristine Spadgenske, Todd-Wadena Electric Cooperative
- Greg Ridderbush, Connexus Energy
- Tim Thompson, Lake Region Electric Co-op

Chair Acomb renewed the motion that HF 3895 be laid over for possible inclusion. HF 3895 was laid over.

HF 4155 (Kraft) – Utilities required to accept an individual taxpayer identification number when new customers apply for utility service.

Representative Kraft moved that HF 4155 be laid over for possible inclusion.

Testimony:

• Ryan Pérez, Organizing Director, COPAL

• Irma Márquez Trapero, CEO, LatinoLEAD.

Representative Swedzinski moved the A2 amendment to HF4155. The motion did not prevail.

Representative Kraft renewed his motion that HF 4155 be laid over for possible inclusion. HF 4155 was laid over.

The meeting was adjourned at 3:54 PM	
-	Representative Patty Acomb, Chair
<u>-</u>	Robin Mercer-Taylor, Committee Legislative Assistant