STATE OF MINNESOTA HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

COMMERCE FINANCE AND POLICY COMMITTEE MINUTES

Representative Zack Stephenson, Chair of the Commerce Finance and Policy Committee, called the meeting to order at 1:00PM on March 6, 2023 in Room 10 of the State Office Building. It was broadcast via House Public Information Services.

Members Present: STEPHENSON, Zack, Chair KOTYZA-WITTHUHN, Carlie, Vice Chair O'DRISCOLL, Tim, GOP Lead **BIERMAN**, Robert CHA, Ethan DAUDT, Kurt DOTSETH, Jeff FREIBERG, Mike KLEVORN, Ginny KOEGEL, Erin KRAFT, Larry LIEBLING, Tina NEU BRINDLEY, Anne NISKA, Harry PERRYMAN, Bernie PFARR, Brian TABKE, Brad

A quorum was present.

Vice Chair Kotyza-Witthuhn moved approval of the minutes from March 1, 2023. <u>THE MOTION</u> <u>PREVAILED.</u>

HF1570 (Kotyza-Witthuhn); Limitations on credit card surcharges modified.

Vice Chair Kotyza-Witthuhn moved that HF1570 be recommended to be placed on the General Register.

Vice Chair Kotyza-Witthuhn presented HF1570.

The following testified on HF1570: Andrew Kozack, Lobbyist, American Express

Vice Chair Kotyza-Witthuhn renewed the motion that HF1570 be recommended to be placed on the General Register. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

HF1000 (Brand); PFAS prohibited in certain products, disclosure required, and rulemaking authorized.

Chair Stephenson moved that HF1000 be recommended to be referred to the Health Finance and Policy Committee.

Representative Brand presented HF1000.

The following testified on HF1000: Amara Strande, Clean Water Action Scott Rosochacki, Former Submarine Nuclear Electrician, United States Navy Jennifer Dejournett, Commissioner, Three Rivers Park Board Andrea Lovoll, Legislative Director, Minnesota Center for Environmental Advocacy Tony Kwilas, Director of Environmental Policy, Minnesota Chamber of Commerce James Blackford

Chair Stephenson moved that HF1000 be recommended to be referred to the Environment and Natural Resources Finance and Policy Committee. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

HF552 (Kotyza-Witthuhn); PFAS in juvenile products prohibited.

Vice Chair Kotyza-Witthuhn moved that HF552 be recommended to be referred to the Environment and Natural Resources Finance and Policy Committee.

Vice Chair Kotyza-Witthuhn presented HF552.

Vice Chair Kotyza-Witthuhn renewed the motion that HF552 be recommended to be referred to the Environment and Natural Resources Finance and Policy Committee. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

HF1100 (Tabke); Consumer protection; motor vehicle manufacturers required to offer antitheft protection devices on vehicles.

Representative Tabke moved that HF1100 be recommended to be placed on the General Register.

Representative Tabke moved the H1100A1 amendment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED AND THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

Representative Tabke presented HF1100 as amended.

The following testified on HF1100 as amended: Steve Huser, Government Relations Representative, City of Minneapolis Patrick Hynes, Lobbyist, Alliance for Automotive Innovation Representative Tabke renewed the motion that HF1100, as amended, be recommended to be placed on the General Register.

Vice Chair Kotyza-Witthuhn requested a roll call vote on HF1100. The committee legislative assistant took the roll.

AYES

STEPHENSON, Zack, Chair KOTYZA-WITTHUHN, Carlie, Vice Chair BIERMAN, Robert CHA, Ethan KLEVORN, Ginny KOEGEL, Erin KRAFT, Larry LIEBLING, Tina TABKE, Brad

NAYS O'DRISCOLL, Tim, GOP Lead DAUDT, Kurt DOTSETH, Jeff NEU BRINDLEY, Anne NISKA, Harry PERRYMAN, Bernie PFARR, Brian

ABSENT FREIBERG, Mike

With 9 AYES and 7 NAYS, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

HF2175 (Pfarr); Nonbank mortgage servicers regulated, and report required.

Representative Pfarr moved that HF2175 be recommended to be placed on the General Register.

Representative Pfarr presented HF2175.

The following testified on HF2175: Jon Kelly, Director of Government Affairs, Department of Commerce

Representative Pfarr renewed the motion that HF2175 be recommended to be placed on the General Register. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

The meeting was adjourned at 2:21 PM.

Representative Zack Stephenson, Chair

Jack Dockendorf, Committee Legislative Assistant