## AGRICULTURE FINANCE & POLICY COMMITTEE MINUTES

Representative Samantha Vang, Chair of the Committee on Agriculture Finance and Policy Committee, called the meeting to order at 1:00 PM on March 28, 2023, in Room 120 of the State Capitol Building.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

## **Members Present:**

VANG, Samantha, Chair
PURSELL, Kristi, Vice Chair
ANDERSON, Paul, Republican Lead
BURKEL, John
FREDERICK, Luke
HANSEN, Rick
HARDER, Bobbie
JACOB, Steven
NELSON, Nathan
REHM, Lucy
SENCER-MURA, Samantha
TABKE, Brad

## **Members Excused:**

CHA, Ethan

A quorum was present.

Representative Pursell moved to adopt the March 23, 2023, minutes. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED</u>.

HF 2278 (Vang); Board of Animal Health funding provided, and money appropriated.

Representative Vang moved that HF 2278 be re-referred to the Ways and Means Committee.

Representative Vang moved the DE1 amendment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

Representative Vang presented HF 2278, as amended.

The following testified on HF 2278, as amended:

• Thom Petersen, Commissioner, Minnesota Department of Agriculture

- Steve Morse, Executive Director, Minnesota Environmental Partnership
- Patrick Murray, Executive Director, Minnesota Crop Production Retailers
- Ashley Runholt, Agronomy Sales Manager, Cottonwood Oil Cooperative
- Stu Lourey, Director of Government Relations, Minnesota Farmers Union
- Chris Cowen, Lobbyist, Pesticide Action Network
- Sina Pleggenkuhle, Communication Director, Minnesota Farmers' Market Association
- Alex Trunnell, Public Policy Specialist, Minnesota Corn Growers Association
- Leah Gardner, Policy Director, Hunger Solutions Minnesota
- Laura Schreiber, Policy Organizer, Land Stewardship Project
- Erin McKee, Farm to Institution Project Director, Institute for Agriculture and Trade Policy
- Kaytlin Bemis, Public Policy Specialist, Minnesota Farm Bureau Federation
- Dr. Mitch Hunter, Associate Director, Forever Green Initiative (Forever Green)
- Laura Lemke, Executive Director, Minnesota Grain and Feed Association
- Rachel Sosnowchik, Public Affairs Specialist, Second Harvest Heartland
- Colin Cureton, Director of Adoption and Scaling, Forever Green Initiative
- David VanEeckhout, Farm Program Director, The Good Acre
- Peter LaFontaine, Agricultural Policy Manager, Friends of the Mississippi River
- Nick Milanowski, Plant Protection Program, Minnesota Department of Agriculture

Representative Vang moved to lay over HF 2278, as amended. The bill was laid over.

The meeting was adjourned at 2:32 PM	
	Representative Samantha Vang, Chair
	Matthew Sauser, Committee Legislative Assistant