House H2887-4

Transportation Part E - IER

132.5	ARTICLE 5
132.6	INDEPENDENT EXPERT REVIEW
132.7 132.8	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 168.002 , is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
132.11 132.12	Subd. 12a. Full-service provider. "Full-service provider" means a person who is appointed by the commissioner as both a deputy registrar under this chapter and a driver's license agent under chapter 171 who provides all driver services, excluding International Registration Plan and International Fuel Tax Agreement transactions. The commissioner is not a full-service provider.
132.14	Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 168.327, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
132.17	Subdivision 1. Records and fees. (a) Upon request by any person authorized in this section, the commissioner shall or full-service provider must furnish a certified copy of any driver's license record, instruction permit record, Minnesota identification card record, vehicle registration record, vehicle title record, or accident record.
132.21	(b) Except as provided in subdivisions 4, 5a, and 5b, and other than accident records governed under section 169.09, subdivision 13, the requester shall must pay a fee of \$10 for each certified record specified in paragraph (a) or a fee of \$9 for each record that is not certified.
	(c) Except as provided in subdivisions 4, 5a, and 5b, in addition to the record fee in paragraph (b), the fee for a copy of the history of any vehicle title not in electronic format is \$1 for each page of the historical record.
132.28	(d) Fees collected under paragraph (b) for driver's license, instruction permit, and Minnesota identification card records must be paid into the state treasury with 50 cents of each fee credited to the general fund, the remainder of the fees collected must be credited to the driver services operating account in the special revenue fund under section 299A.705.
132.30 132.31 133.1 133.2 133.3	(e) Fees (d) Of the fee collected by the commissioner under paragraphs (b) and (c) for vehicle registration or title records must be paid into the state treasury with, 50 cents of each fee credited to must be deposited in the general fund, and the remainder of the fees collected must be credited to must be deposited in the driver and vehicle services operating account in the special revenue fund specified in under section 299A.705.

May 02, 2023 11:54 AM

50.4	ARTICLE 4
50.5 50.6	DRIVER AND VEHICLE SERVICES, DRIVER'S LICENSE AGENTS, AND DEPUTY REGISTRARS (INDEPENDENT EXPERT REVIEW PROVISIONS)
50.7 50.8	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 168.002, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
50.9 50.10 50.11 50.12 50.13	Subd. 12a. Full-service provider. "Full-service provider" means a person who is appointed by the commissioner as both a deputy registrar under this chapter and a driver's license agent under chapter 171 who provides all driver services, excluding International Registration Plan and International Fuel Tax Agreement transactions. The commissioner is not a full-service provider.
50.14	Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 168.327, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
50.15 50.16 50.17 50.18	Subdivision 1. Records and fees. (a) Upon request by any person authorized in this section, the commissioner shall or full-service provider must furnish a certified copy of any driver's license record, instruction permit record, Minnesota identification card record, vehicle registration record, vehicle title record, or accident record.
50.19 50.20 50.21 50.22	(b) Except as provided in subdivisions 4, 5a, and 5b, and other than accident records governed under section 169.09, subdivision 13, the requester shall must pay a fee of \$10 for each certified record specified in paragraph (a) or a fee of \$9 for each record that is not certified.
50.23 50.24 50.25	(c) Except as provided in subdivisions 4, 5a, and 5b, in addition to the record fee in paragraph (b), the fee for a copy of the history of any vehicle title not in electronic format is \$1 for each page of the historical record.
50.26 50.27 50.28 50.29 50.30 50.31 50.32 51.1 51.2	(d) Fees Of the fee collected by the commissioner under paragraph (b) for driver's license, instruction permit, and Minnesota identification card records, must be paid into the state treasury with 50 cents of each fee credited to must be deposited in the general fund, and the remainder of the fees collected must be eredited to must be deposited in the driver and vehicle services operating account in the special revenue fund under section 299A.705. Of the fee collected by a full-service provider under paragraph (b) for driver's license, instruction permit, and Minnesota identification card records, the provider must transmit 50 cents to the commissioner to be deposited in the general fund, and the provider must retain the remainder.
51.3 51.4 51.5 51.6 51.7 51.8	(e) Fees Of the fee collected by the commissioner under paragraphs (b) and (c) for vehicle registration or title records, must be paid into the state treasury with 50 cents of each fee eredited to must be deposited in the general fund, and the remainder of the fees collected must be credited to must be deposited in the driver and vehicle services operating account in the special revenue fund specified in under section 299A.705. Of the fee collected by a full-service provider under paragraphs (b) and (c) for vehicle registration or title records,

House H2887-4

133.4 133.5 133.6	(e) Of the fee collected by a full-service provider under paragraphs (b) and (c), the provider must transmit 50 cents of each fee to the commissioner for deposit in the general fund, and the provider must retain the remainder.
133.7 133.8 133.9 133.10	(f) Except as provided in subdivisions 4, 5a, and 5b, the commissioner shall must permit a person to inquire into a record by the person's own electronic means for a fee of \$4.50 for each inquiry, except that no fee may be charged when the requester is the subject of the data. Of the fee:
133.11	(1) \$2.70 must be deposited in the general fund; and
	(2) for driver's license, instruction permit, or Minnesota identification card records, the remainder must be deposited in the driver and vehicle services operating account in the special revenue fund under section 299A. 705; and.
133.15 133.16	(3) for vehicle title or registration records, the remainder must be deposited in the vehicle services operating account in the special revenue fund under section 299A.705.
133.17 133.18	(g) Fees and the deposit of the fees for accident records and reports are governed by section 169.09, subdivision 13.
133.19 133.20	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2023. Paragraph (a) is effective January 1, 2024, and applies to record requests made on or after that date.
133.21	Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 168.327, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
133.24 133.25	Subd. 2. Requests for information; surcharge on fee. (a) Except as otherwise provided in subdivision 3, the commissioner shall or full-service provider must impose a surcharge of 50 cents on each fee charged by the commissioner under section 13.03, subdivision 3, for copies or electronic transmittals of public information about the registration of a vehicle or an applicant, or holder of a driver's license, instruction permit, or Minnesota identification card.
133.30 133.31	(b) The surcharge only applies to a fee imposed in response to a request made in person or, by mail, or to a request for transmittal through a computer modem online. The surcharge does not apply to the request of an individual for information about that individual's driver's license, instruction permit, or Minnesota identification card or about vehicles registered or titled in the individual's name.
134.1 134.2 134.3	(c) The surcharges collected by the commissioner under this subdivision must be credited to the general fund. The surcharges collected by a full-service provider must be transmitted to the commissioner for deposit in the general fund.
134.4	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2024, and applies to record

134.5

requests made on or after that date.

May 02, 2023 11:54 AM

51.9 51.10	the provider must transmit 50 cents of each fee to the commissioner to be deposited in the general fund, and the provider must retain the remainder.
51.11 51.12 51.13 51.14	(f) Except as provided in subdivisions 4, 5a, and 5b, the commissioner shall <u>must</u> permit a person to inquire into a record by the person's own electronic means for a fee of \$4.50 for each inquiry, except that no fee may be charged when the requester is the subject of the data. Of the fee <u>collected by the commissioner</u> :
51.15	(1) \$2.70 must be deposited in the general fund;
51.16 51.17 51.18	(2) for driver's license, instruction permit, or Minnesota identification card records, the remainder must be deposited in the driver <u>and vehicle</u> services operating account in the special revenue fund under section 299A.705; and
51.19 51.20	(3) for vehicle title or registration records, the remainder must be deposited in the $\underline{\text{driver}}$ and vehicle services operating account in the special revenue fund under section 299A. $\overline{705}$.
51.21 51.22	(g) Fees and the deposit of the fees for accident records and reports are governed by section 169.09, subdivision 13.
51.23 51.24	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2024, and applies to record requests made on or after that date.
51.25	Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 168.327, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
51.26 51.27 51.28 51.29 51.30 51.31	Subd. 2. Requests for information; surcharge on fee. (a) Except as otherwise provided in subdivision 3, the commissioner shall or full-service provider must impose a surcharge of 50 cents on each fee charged by the commissioner or full-service provider under section 13.03, subdivision 3, for copies or electronic transmittals of public information about the registration of a vehicle or an applicant, or holder of a driver's license, instruction permit, or Minnesota identification card.
52.1 52.2 52.3 52.4 52.5 52.6	(b) The surcharge only applies to a fee imposed in response to a request made in person or, by mail, or to a request for transmittal through a computer modem online. The surcharge does not apply to the request of an individual for information about that individual's driver's license, instruction permit, or Minnesota identification card or about vehicles registered or titled in the individual's name. The surcharges collected by a full-service provider must be transmitted to the commissioner to be deposited in the general fund.
52.7 52.8 52.9	(c) The surcharges collected by the commissioner under this subdivision must be credited to the general fund. The surcharges collected by a full-service provider must be transmitted to the commissioner to be deposited in the general fund.
52.10 52.11	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2024, and applies to record requests made on or after that date.

House H2887-4

34.7 34.8 34.9 34.10	Subd. 3. Exception to fee and surcharge. (a) Notwithstanding subdivision 2 or section 13.03, a fee or surcharge may not be imposed in response to a request for public information about the registration of a vehicle if the commissioner or full-service provider is satisfied that:
34.11 34.12	(1) the requester seeks the information on behalf of a community-based, nonprofit organization designated by a local law enforcement agency to be a requester; and
34.13 34.14	(2) the information is needed to identify suspected prostitution law violators, controlled substance law violators, or health code violators.
34.15 34.16 34.17	(b) The commissioner shall or full-service provider must not require a requester under paragraph (a) to make a minimum number of data requests or limit the requester to a maximum number of data requests.
34.18 34.19	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2024, and applies to record requests made on or after that date.
34.20 34.21	Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 168.327, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
34.22 34.23 34.24 34.25	Subd. 7. Monitoring and auditing. The commissioner must monitor and audit the furnishing of records by full-service providers under this section to ensure full-service providers are complying with this section, chapter 13, and United States Code, title 18, section 2721, et seq.
34.26	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2024.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 168.327, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

134.6

May 02, 2023 11:54 AM

52.12	Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 168.327, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
52.13 52.14 52.15 52.16	Subd. 3. Exception to fee and surcharge. (a) Notwithstanding subdivision 2 or section 13.03, a fee or surcharge may not be imposed in response to a request for public information about the registration of a vehicle if the commissioner or full-service provider is satisfied that:
52.17 52.18	(1) the requester seeks the information on behalf of a community-based, nonprofit organization designated by a local law enforcement agency to be a requester; and
52.19 52.20	(2) the information is needed to identify suspected prostitution law violators, controlled substance law violators, or health code violators.
52.21 52.22 52.23	(b) The commissioner shall or full-service provider must not require a requester under paragraph (a) to make a minimum number of data requests or limit the requester to a maximum number of data requests.
52.24 52.25	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2024, and applies to record requests made on or after that date.
52.26 52.27	Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 168.327, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
52.28 52.29 52.30 52.31	Subd. 7. Monitoring and auditing. The commissioner must monitor and audit the furnishing of records by full-service providers under this section to ensure full-service providers are complying with this section, chapter 13, and United States Code, title 18, section 2721, et seq.
53.1	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2024.
53.2	Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 168.33, subdivision 7, is amended to read:
53.3 53.4	Subd. 7. Filing fees <u>and surcharge</u> ; allocations. (a) In addition to all other statutory fees and taxes, a filing fee of:
53.5 53.6	(1) <u>a \$7 filing fee</u> is imposed on every vehicle registration renewal, excluding pro rate transactions; $\frac{1}{2}$ and
53.7 53.8	(2) a \$7.50 surcharge is imposed on the fee for every vehicle registration renewal, excluding pro rate transactions; and
53.9 53.10	(3) an \$11 filing fee is imposed on every other type of vehicle transaction, including motor carrier fuel licenses under sections 168D.05 and 168D.06, and pro rate transactions.
53.11	(b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a):
53.12 53.13	(1) a filing fee may not be charged for a document returned for a refund or for a correction of an error made by the Department of Public Safety, a dealer, or a deputy registrar; and

53.14 53.15	(2) no filing fee or other fee may be charged for the permanent surrender of a title for a vehicle.
53.16 53.17	(c) The filing fee <u>and surcharge</u> must be shown as a separate item on all registration renewal notices sent out by the commissioner.
53.18 53.19 53.20 53.21 53.22 53.23	(d) The statutory fees and taxes, and the filing fees <u>and surcharge</u> imposed under paragraph (a) may be paid by credit card or debit card. The deputy registrar may collect a surcharge on the statutory fees, taxes, <u>statutory surcharge</u> , and filing fee not greater than the cost of processing a credit card or <u>debit card transaction</u> , in accordance with emergency rules established by the commissioner of public safety. The surcharge <u>authorized by this paragraph</u> must be used to pay the cost of processing credit and debit card transactions.
53.24 53.25	(e) The fees collected under this subdivision paragraph (a) by the department must be allocated as follows:
53.26	(1) of the fees collected under paragraph (a), clause (1):
53.27 53.28	(i) \$5.50 must be deposited in the <u>driver and</u> vehicle services operating account <u>under section 299A.705</u> , subdivision 1; and
53.29 53.30	(ii) \$1.50 must be deposited in the driver and vehicle services technology account <u>under</u> section 299A.705, subdivision 3; and
53.31	(2) of the fees collected under paragraph (a), clause (2) (3):
54.1	(i) \$3.50 must be deposited in the general fund;
54.2 54.3	(ii) $\frac{6.00}{9}$ must be deposited in the <u>driver and</u> vehicle services operating account <u>under section 299A.705</u> , subdivision 1; and
54.4 54.5	(iii) 1.50 must be deposited in the driver and vehicle services technology account <u>under section 299A.705</u> , subdivision 3.
54.6	(f) The surcharge collected under paragraph (a), clause (2), must be allocated as follows:
54.7 54.8	(1) one-third of the revenue must be deposited in the small cities assistance account under section 162.145;
54.9 54.10	(2) one-third of the revenue must be deposited in the larger cities assistance account under section 162.146; and
54.11 54.12	(3) one-third of the revenue must be deposited in the town road account under section 162.081.
54.13 54.14 54.15 54.16	(g) Notwithstanding apportionment and distribution requirements under section 162.081, in fiscal year 2024, \$7,000,000 of the revenue deposited in the town road account under paragraph (f), clause (3), must be allocated to a township with a population greater than 10,000 according to the last two federal decennial censuses.

registered owners of passenger automobiles who are lessees under a lease for a term of 180 days or more to any person except the <u>owner of the vehicle</u> , the lessee, personnel of law enforcement agencies and trade associations performing a member service under section 604.15, subdivision 4a, and federal, state, and local governmental units, and, at the commissioner's discretion, to persons who use the information to notify lessees of automob recalls. The commissioner may release information about lessees in the form of summary data, as defined in section 13.02, to persons who use the information in conducting statistic	The commissioner may not furnish information about	134.28
enforcement agencies and trade associations performing a member service under section 604.15, subdivision 4a, and federal, state, and local governmental units, and, at the commissioner's discretion, to persons who use the information to notify lessees of automob recalls. The commissioner may release information about lessees in the form of summary	obiles who are lessees under a lease for a term of 180	134.29
135.1 604.15, subdivision 4a, and federal, state, and local governmental units, and, at the commissioner's discretion, to persons who use the information to notify lessees of automob 135.3 recalls. The commissioner may release information about lessees in the form of summary	owner of the vehicle, the lessee, personnel of law	134.30
commissioner's discretion, to persons who use the information to notify lessees of automob recalls. The commissioner may release information about lessees in the form of summary	ations performing a member service under section	134.31
135.3 recalls. The commissioner may release information about lessees in the form of summary	ate, and local governmental units, and, at the	135.1
	who use the information to notify lessees of automobile	135.2
135.4 data as defined in section 13.02 to persons who use the information in conducting statistic		135.3
133.4 data, as defined in section 13.02, to persons who use the information in conducting statistic	rsons who use the information in conducting statistical	135.4
analysis and market research.		135.5
Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 169.09, subdivision 13, is amended to read:	ction 169.09, subdivision 13, is amended to read:	135.6
Subd. 13. Reports confidential; evidence, fee, penalty, appropriation. (a) All report	evidence, fee, penalty, appropriation. (a) All reports	135.7
and supplemental information required under this section must be for the use of the	l under this section must be for the use of the	135.8
commissioner of public safety and other appropriate state, federal, county, and municipal	er appropriate state, federal, county, and municipal	135.9
135.10 governmental agencies for accident analysis purposes, except:	alysis purposes, except:	135.10
135.11 (1) upon written request, the commissioner of public safety, a full-service provider as	missioner of public safety, a full-service provider as	135.11
135.12 defined in section 171.01, subdivision 33a, or any law enforcement agency shall must		135.12
135.13 disclose the report required under subdivision 8 to:		
(i) any individual involved in the accident, the representative of the individual's estate,	accident, the representative of the individual's estate.	135.14
135.15 or the surviving spouse, or one or more surviving next of kin, or a trustee appointed under		135.15
135.16 section 573.02;		
(ii) any other person injured in person, property, or means of support, or who incurs	erson, property, or means of support, or who incurs	135.17
135.18 other pecuniary loss by virtue of the accident;	* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *	135.18

(iv) a representative of the insurer of any person described in item (i) or (ii); or

(iii) legal counsel of a person described in item (i) or (ii);

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 168.345, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

134.27

135.19

135.20

Senate UEH2887-2	
------------------	--

54.17	(h) In addition to all other statutory fees and taxes, a \$1 surcharge is imposed on every
54.18	online transaction for which filing fees are collected under this subdivision. The proceeds
54.19	from the surcharge must be deposited in the full-service provider account under section
54.20	299A.705, subdivision 5.
54.21	(i) In addition to all other statutory fees and taxes, a deputy registrar must assess a \$0.50
54.22	surcharge on every transaction for which filing fees are collected under this subdivision.
54.23	The surcharge must be (1) deposited in the treasury of the place for which the deputy registrar
54.24	is appointed, or (2) if the deputy registrar is not a public official, retained by the deputy
54.25	registrar. For purposes of this paragraph, "deputy registrar" includes a deputy registrar who
54.26	is a full-service provider.
54.27	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2023, except that paragraphs (h)
54.28	and (i) are effective July 1, 2025.
54.29	Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 168.345, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
34.29	Sec. 7. Millinesota Statutes 2022, Section 100.545, Subdivision 2, is afficilled to fead.
54.30	Subd. 2. Lessees; information. The commissioner may not furnish information about
54.31	registered owners of passenger automobiles who are lessees under a lease for a term of 180
54.32	days or more to any person except the owner of the vehicle, the lessee, personnel of law
55.1	enforcement agencies and trade associations performing a member service under section
55.2	604.15, subdivision 4a, and federal, state, and local governmental units, and, at the
55.3	commissioner's discretion, to persons who use the information to notify lessees of automobile
55.4 55.5	recalls. The commissioner may release information about lessees in the form of summary data, as defined in section 13.02, to persons who use the information in conducting statistical
55.6	analysis and market research.
33.0	•
55.7	Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 169.09, subdivision 13, is amended to read:
55.8	Subd. 13. Reports confidential; evidence, fee, penalty, appropriation. (a) All reports
55.9	and supplemental information required under this section must be for the use of the
55.10	commissioner of public safety and other appropriate state, federal, county, and municipal
55.11	governmental agencies for accident analysis purposes, except:
55.12	(1) upon written request, the commissioner of public safety, a full-service provider as
55.13	defined in section 171.01, subdivision 33a, or any law enforcement agency shall must
55.14	disclose the report required under subdivision 8 to:
55.15	(i) any individual involved in the accident, the representative of the individual's estate,
55.16	or the surviving spouse, or one or more surviving next of kin, or a trustee appointed under
55.17	section 573.02;
55.18	(ii) any other person injured in person, property, or means of support, or who incurs
55.19	other pecuniary loss by virtue of the accident;
55.20	(iii) legal counsel of a person described in item (i) or (ii);
55.21	(iv) a representative of the insurer of any person described in item (i) or (ii); or

Senate UEH2887-2

May 02, 2023 11:54 AM

35.21 35.22 35.23	(v) a city or county attorney or an attorney representing the state in an implied consent action who is charged with the prosecution of a traffic or criminal offense that is the result of a traffic crash investigation conducted by law enforcement;
35.24 35.25	(2) the commissioner of public safety shall, upon written request, provide the driver filing a report under subdivision 7 with a copy of the report filed by the driver;
35.26 35.27	(3) (2) the commissioner of public safety may verify with insurance companies vehicle insurance information to enforce sections 65B.48, 169.792, 169.793, 169.796, and 169.797;
35.28 35.29 35.30	(4) (3) the commissioner of public safety shall must provide the commissioner of transportation the information obtained for each traffic accident involving a commercial motor vehicle, for purposes of administering commercial vehicle safety regulations;
35.31 35.32 36.1 36.2	(5) (4) upon specific request, the commissioner of public safety shall must provide the commissioner of transportation the information obtained regarding each traffic accident involving damage to identified state-owned infrastructure, for purposes of debt collection under section 161.20, subdivision 4; and
36.3 36.4 36.5	(6) (5) the commissioner of public safety may give to the United States Department of Transportation commercial vehicle accident information in connection with federal grant programs relating to safety.
36.6 36.7 36.8 36.9 36.10 36.11 36.12 36.13	(b) Accident reports and data contained in the reports are not discoverable under any provision of law or rule of court. No report shall A report must not be used as evidence in any trial, civil or criminal, or any action for damages or criminal proceedings arising out of an accident. However, the commissioner of public safety shall must furnish, upon the demand of any person who has or claims to have made a report or upon demand of any court, a certificate showing that a specified accident report has or has not been made to the commissioner solely to prove compliance or failure to comply with the requirements that the report be made to the commissioner.
	(c) Nothing in this subdivision prevents any individual who has made a report under this section from providing information to any individuals involved in an accident or their representatives or from testifying in any trial, civil or criminal, arising out of an accident, as to facts within the individual's knowledge. It is intended by this subdivision to render privileged the reports required, but it is not intended to prohibit proof of the facts to which the reports relate.
36.20 36.21	(d) Disclosing any information contained in any accident report, except as provided in this subdivision, section 13.82, subdivision 3 or 6, or other statutes, is a misdemeanor.
36.22 36.23 36.24 36.25	(e) The commissioner of public safety shall or full-service provider as defined in section 171.01, subdivision 33a, must charge authorized persons as described in paragraph (a) a \$5 fee for a copy of an accident report. Ninety percent of the \$5 fee collected by the commissioner under this paragraph must be deposited in the special revenue fund and

136.26 eredited to the driver and vehicle services operating account established in under section

House H2887-4

55.22 55.23 55.24	(v) a city or county attorney or an attorney representing the state in an implied consent action who is charged with the prosecution of a traffic or criminal offense that is the result of a traffic crash investigation conducted by law enforcement;
55.25 55.26	(2) the commissioner of public safety shall, upon written request, provide the driver filing a report under subdivision 7 with a copy of the report filed by the driver;
55.27 55.28	$\frac{(3)}{(2)}$ the commissioner of public safety may verify with insurance companies vehicle insurance information to enforce sections 65B.48, 169.792, 169.793, 169.796, and 169.797;
55.29 55.30 55.31	(4) (3) the commissioner of public safety shall must provide the commissioner of transportation the information obtained for each traffic accident involving a commercial motor vehicle, for purposes of administering commercial vehicle safety regulations;
66.1 66.2 66.3 66.4	(5) (4) upon specific request, the commissioner of public safety shall <u>must</u> provide the commissioner of transportation the information obtained regarding each traffic accident involving damage to identified state-owned infrastructure, for purposes of debt collection under section 161.20, subdivision 4; and
66.5 66.6 66.7	$\frac{(6)}{(5)}$ the commissioner of public safety may give to the United States Department of Transportation commercial vehicle accident information in connection with federal grant programs relating to safety.

- (b) Accident reports and data contained in the reports are not discoverable under any provision of law or rule of court. No report shall A report must not be used as evidence in any trial, civil or criminal, or any action for damages or criminal proceedings arising out of an accident. However, the commissioner of public safety shall must furnish, upon the demand of any person who has or claims to have made a report or upon demand of any court, a certificate showing that a specified accident report has or has not been made to the commissioner solely to prove compliance or failure to comply with the requirements that the report be made to the commissioner.
- 56.16 (c) Nothing in this subdivision prevents any individual who has made a report under this section from providing information to any individuals involved in an accident or their representatives or from testifying in any trial, civil or criminal, arising out of an accident, as to facts within the individual's knowledge. It is intended by this subdivision to render privileged the reports required, but it is not intended to prohibit proof of the facts to which the reports relate. 56.21
- (d) Disclosing any information contained in any accident report, except as provided in 56.22 this subdivision, section 13.82, subdivision 3 or 6, or other statutes, is a misdemeanor.
- (e) The commissioner of public safety shall or full-service provider as defined in section 56.24 171.01, subdivision 33a, must charge authorized persons as described in paragraph (a) a \$5 fee for a copy of an accident report. Ninety percent of the \$5 fee collected by the commissioner under this paragraph must be deposited in the special revenue fund and eredited to the driver and vehicle services operating account established in section 299A.705

House H2887-4

136.27	299A.705 and ten percent must be deposited in the general fund. Of the \$5 fee collected by
136.28	a full-service provider, the provider must transmit 50 cents to the commissioner for deposit
136.29	in the general fund, and the provider must retain the remainder. The commissioner may also
136.30	furnish an electronic copy of the database of accident records, which must not contain
136.31	personal or private data on an individual, to private agencies as provided in paragraph (g),
136.32	for not less than the cost of preparing the copies on a bulk basis as provided in section 13.03,
136.33	subdivision 3.
127.1	(O.T.) ('C' 1' 1 /) ('d 4 1' d ' ' ' 11
137.1	(f) The fees specified in paragraph (e) notwithstanding, the commissioner and law
137.2	enforcement agencies shall must charge commercial users who request access to response
137.3	or incident data relating to accidents a fee not to exceed 50 cents per record. "Commercial
137.4	user" is a user who in one location requests access to data in more than five accident reports
137.5	per month, unless the user establishes that access is not for a commercial purpose. Of the
137.6	money collected by the commissioner under this paragraph, 90 percent must be deposited
137.7	in the special revenue fund and credited to the driver and vehicle services operating account
137.8	established in under section 299A.705 and ten percent must be deposited in the general
137.9	fund.
127.10	(-) The feet in a second of (-) and (A) and with the discrete decree and 1-11 and
137.10	(g) The fees in paragraphs (e) and (f) notwithstanding, the commissioner shall must
	provide an electronic copy of the accident records database to the public on a case-by-case
	basis using the cost-recovery charges provided for under section 13.03, subdivision 3. The
	database provided must not contain personal or private data on an individual. However,
	unless the accident records database includes the vehicle identification number, the
	commissioner shall must include the vehicle registration plate number if a private agency
137.16	certifies and agrees that the agency:
137.17	(1) is in the business of collecting accident and damage information on vehicles;
137.18	(2) will use the vehicle registration plate number only for identifying vehicles that have
137.19	
	to a vehicle's history and not for identifying individuals or for any other purpose; and
137.21	(3) will be subject to the penalties and remedies under sections 13.08 and 13.09.
137.22	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2023. Paragraph (a) is effective
137.23	January 1, 2024, and applies to report disclosures made on or after that date.
137.23	sundary 1, 2021, and applies to report discressives made on or after that date.
137.24	Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 169.09, is amended by adding a subdivision to
137.25	read:
137.26	Subd. 20. Monitoring and auditing. The commissioner must monitor and audit the
137.20	
137.27	
	section 2721 et sea
13//9	SCCHOIL / I / L CL SCC

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2024.

137.30

May 02, 2023 11:54 AM

36.29	and ten percent must be deposited in the general lund. Of the \$5 fee confected by a full-service
56.30	provider, the provider must transmit 50 cents to the commissioner to be deposited into the
56.31	general fund, and the provider must retain the remainder. The commissioner may also furnish
56.32	an electronic copy of the database of accident records, which must not contain personal or
56.33	private data on an individual, to private agencies as provided in paragraph (g), for not less
57.1	than the cost of preparing the copies on a bulk basis as provided in section 13.03, subdivision
57.2	3.
57.3 57.4 57.5 57.6 57.7 57.8 57.9 57.10	(f) The fees specified in paragraph (e) notwithstanding, the commissioner and law enforcement agencies shall <u>must</u> charge commercial users who request access to response or incident data relating to accidents a fee not to exceed 50 cents per record. "Commercial user" is a user who in one location requests access to data in more than five accident reports per month, unless the user establishes that access is not for a commercial purpose. Of the money collected by the commissioner under this paragraph, 90 percent must be deposited in the special revenue fund and credited to the driver and vehicle services operating account established in <u>under</u> section 299A.705 and ten percent must be deposited in the general fund.
57.12	(g) The fees in paragraphs (e) and (f) notwithstanding, the commissioner shall must
57.13	provide an electronic copy of the accident records database to the public on a case-by-case
57.14	basis using the cost-recovery charges provided for under section 13.03, subdivision 3. The
57.15	database provided must not contain personal or private data on an individual. However,
57.16	unless the accident records database includes the vehicle identification number, the
57.17	commissioner shall must include the vehicle registration plate number if a private agency
57.18	certifies and agrees that the agency:
57.19	(1) is in the business of collecting accident and damage information on vehicles;
57.20	(2) will use the vehicle registration plate number only for identifying vehicles that have
57.21	been involved in accidents or damaged, to provide this information to persons seeking access
57.22	to a vehicle's history and not for identifying individuals or for any other purpose; and
57.23	(3) will be subject to the penalties and remedies under sections 13.08 and 13.09.
57.24	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2024, and applies to record
57.25	requests made on or after that date.
57.26	Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 169.09, is amended by adding a subdivision to
57.27	read:
57.28	Subd. 20. Monitoring and auditing. The commissioner must monitor and audit the
57.29	furnishing of records by full-service providers under this section to ensure full-service
57.30	providers are complying with this section, chapter 13, and United States Code, title 18,
57.31	section 2721, et seq.
57.32	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2024.

House H2887-4

Transportation Part E -

130.2	read.	
138.3 138.4	Subd. 33a. Full-service provider. "Full-service provider" has the meaning given in section 168.002, subdivision 12a.	
138.5 138.6	Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.06, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:	
138.7 138.8 138.9 138.10 138.11 138.12 138.13 138.14	the applicant is required to submit in person at the time of the application. At the time an individual schedules an appointment to apply for a driver's license or identification card,	
138.15 138.16	Subd. 4. Fee; equipment. (a) The agent may charge and retain a filing fee of \$8 for each	1
138.17 138.18 138.19	$\stackrel{\smile}{\smile}$	<u>16.00</u>
138.20 138.21		11.00
138.24	Except as provided in paragraph (c), the fee shall <u>must</u> cover all expenses involved in receiving, accepting, or forwarding to the department the applications and fees required under sections 171.02, subdivision 3; 171.06, subdivisions 2 and 2a; and 171.07, subdivisions 3 and 3a.	;
138.28 138.29 138.30 138.31	(b) The statutory fees and the filing fees imposed under paragraph (a) may be paid by credit card or debit card. The driver's license agent may collect a convenience fee on the statutory fees and filing fees not greater than the cost of processing a credit card or debit card transaction. The convenience fee must be used to pay the cost of processing credit card and debit card transactions. The commissioner shall must adopt rules to administer this paragraph using the exempt procedures of section 14.386, except that section 14.386, paragraph (b), does not apply.	

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.01, is amended by adding a subdivision to

138.2 read:

May 02, 2023 11:54 AM

58.1 58.2	Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.01, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:	
58.3 58.4	Subd. 33a. Full-service provider. "Full-service provider" has the meaning given in section 168.002, subdivision 12a.	
58.5 58.6	Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.06, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:	
58.7 58.8 58.9 58.10 58.11 58.12 58.13 58.14	Subd. 12. Preapplication. (a) The commissioner must establish a process for an applicate to submit an electronic preapplication for a driver's license or identification card. The commissioner must design the preapplication so that the applicant must enter information required for the application. The preapplication process must generate a list of documents the applicant is required to submit in person at the time of the application. At the time an individual schedules an appointment to apply for a driver's license or identification card, the commissioner, full-service provider, or driver's license agent who is scheduling the appointment must provide to the applicant a link to the preapplication website.	<u>ıt</u>
58.15 58.16 58.17	(b) An applicant who submitted a preapplication is required to appear in person before the commissioner, a full-service provider, or a driver's license agent to submit a completed application for the driver's license or identification card.	
58.18	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.	
58.19	Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.061, subdivision 4, is amended to read:	
58.20 58.21	Subd. 4. Fee; equipment. (a) The agent may charge and retain a filing fee of \$8 for each application. as follows:	
58.22 58.23	(1) New application for a noncompliant, REAL ID-compliant, or enhanced driver's license or identification card	16.00
58.24 58.25	(2) Renewal application for a noncompliant, REAL ID-compliant, or enhanced driver's license or identification card	11.00
58.26 58.27 58.28 58.29	Except as provided in paragraph (c), the fee shall <u>must</u> cover all expenses involved in receiving, accepting, or forwarding to the department the applications and fees required under sections 171.02, subdivision 3; 171.06, subdivisions 2 and 2a; and 171.07, subdivisions 3 and 3a.	
58.30 58.31 58.32 58.33 59.1 59.2 59.3	(b) The statutory fees and the filing fees imposed under paragraph (a) may be paid by credit card or debit card. The driver's license agent may collect a convenience fee on the statutory fees and filing fees not greater than the cost of processing a credit card or debit card transaction. The convenience fee must be used to pay the cost of processing credit card and debit card transactions. The commissioner shall must adopt rules to administer this paragraph using the exempt procedures of section 14.386, except that section 14.386, paragraph (b), does not apply.	

House H2887-4

139.1 139.2	(c) The department shall maintain the photo identification equipment for all agents appointed as of January 1, 2000. Upon the retirement, resignation, death, or discontinuance
139.3	of an existing agent, and if a new agent is appointed in an existing office pursuant to
139.4	Minnesota Rules, chapter 7404, and notwithstanding the above or Minnesota Rules, part
139.5	7404.0400, the department shall provide and maintain photo identification equipment without
139.6	additional cost to a newly appointed agent in that office if the office was provided the
139.7	equipment by the department before January 1, 2000. All photo identification equipment
139.8	must be compatible with standards established by the department.
139.9	(d) A filing fee retained by the agent employed by a county board must be paid into the
139.10	
139.11	an employee of the county shall must retain the filing fee in lieu of county employment or
139.12	
139.13	the Minnesota State Retirement System, or membership in the Public Employees Retirement
139.14	Association.
139.15	(e) Before the end of the first working day following the final day of the reporting period
139.16	established by the department, the agent must forward to the department all applications
139.17	and fees collected during the reporting period except as provided in paragraph (d).
139.18	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective October 1, 2023, and applies to
139.19	applications made on or after that date.
139.20	Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.0705, is amended by adding a subdivision
139.21	to read:
139.22	Subd. 11. Manual and study material availability. The commissioner must publish
139.23	3 11
139.24	<u> </u>
139.25	by exam takers. The commissioner must ensure that the driver's manual and study support
139.26	materials are easily located and are available for no cost.

May 02, 2023 11:54 AM

59.4	(c) The department shall must maintain the photo identification and vision examination
59.5	equipment for all agents appointed as of January 1, 2000. Upon the retirement, resignation,
59.6	death, or discontinuance of an existing agent, and if a new agent is appointed in an existing
59.7	office pursuant to Minnesota Rules, chapter 7404, and notwithstanding the above or
59.8	Minnesota Rules, part 7404.0400, the department shall provide and maintain photo
59.9	identification equipment without additional cost to a newly appointed agent in that office
59.10	if the office was provided the equipment by the department before January 1, 2000. All
59.11	photo identification and vision examination equipment must be compatible with standards
59.12	established by the department.
59.13	(d) A filing fee retained by the agent employed by a county board must be paid into the
59.14	county treasury and credited to the general revenue fund of the county. An agent who is not
59.15	an employee of the county shall must retain the filing fee in lieu of county employment or
59.16	salary and is considered an independent contractor for pension purposes, coverage under
59.17	the Minnesota State Retirement System, or membership in the Public Employees Retirement
59.18	Association.
59.19	(e) Before the end of the first working day following the final day of the reporting period
59.20	established by the department, the agent must forward to the department all applications
59.21	and fees collected during the reporting period except as provided in paragraph (d).
59.22	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective October 1, 2023, and applies to
59.23	applications made on or after that date.
59.24	Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.0705, is amended by adding a subdivision
59.25	to read:
59.26	Subd. 11. Manual and study material availability. The commissioner must publish
59.27	the driver's manual and study support materials for the written exam and skills exam. The
59.28	study support materials must focus on the subjects and skills that are most commonly failed
59.29	by exam takers. The commissioner must ensure that the driver's manual and study support
59.30	materials are easily located and are available for no cost.
59.31	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.
60.1	Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.12, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:
00.1	
60.2	Subd. 1a. Driver and vehicle services information system; security and auditing. (a)
60.3	The commissioner must establish written procedures to ensure that only individuals
60.4	authorized by law may enter, update, or access not public data collected, created, or
60.5	maintained by the driver and vehicle services information system. An authorized individual's
60.6	ability to enter, update, or access data in the system must correspond to the official duties
60.7	or training level of the individual and to the statutory authorization granting access for that
60.8	purpose. All queries and responses, and all actions in which data are entered, updated,
60.9	accessed, shared, or disseminated, must be recorded in a data audit trail. Data contained in
60.10	the audit trail are public to the extent the data are not otherwise classified by law.

60.11 (b) If the commissioner must immediately and permanently revoke the authorization of any determines that an individual who willfully entered, updated, accessed, shared, or disseminated data in violation of state or federal law, the commissioner must impose disciplinary action. If an individual willfully gained access to data without authorization by law, the commissioner must forward the matter to the appropriate prosecuting authority for prosecution. The commissioner must not impose disciplinary action against an individual who properly accessed data to complete an authorized transaction or to resolve an issue that did not result in a completed authorized transaction. 60.18 60.19 (c) The commissioner must establish a process that allows an individual who was subject 60.20 to disciplinary action to appeal the action. If the commissioner imposes disciplinary action, the commissioner must notify the individual in writing of the action, explain the reason for the action, and explain how to appeal the action. The commissioner must transmit the notification within five calendar days of the action. 60.23 60.24 (d) The commissioner must arrange for an independent biennial audit of the driver and 60.25 vehicle services information system to determine whether data currently in the system are classified correctly, how the data are used, and to verify compliance with this subdivision. The results of the audit are public. No later than 30 days following completion of the audit, the commissioner must provide a report summarizing the audit results to the commissioner of administration; the chairs and ranking minority members of the committees of the house of representatives and the senate with jurisdiction over transportation policy and finance, public safety, and data practices; and the Legislative Commission on Data Practices and Personal Data Privacy. The report must be submitted as required under section 3.195, except that printed copies are not required. (e) For purposes of this subdivision, "disciplinary action" means a formal or informal 61.1 disciplinary measure, including but not limited to requiring corrective action or suspending or revoking the individual's access to the driver and vehicle information system. 61.3 61.4 (f) An individual whose access was permanently revoked under this section between October 1, 2018, and September 30, 2023, based on the commissioner's determination that 61.5 the individual willfully entered, updated, accessed, shared, or disseminated data in violation of state or federal law, may apply to the commissioner for reinstatement of their access. An individual convicted of a crime related to the conduct that resulted in permanent revocation of their access is ineligible to reapply for access under this section. Any individual reapplying for access must submit the request in writing to the commissioner no later than June 30, 61.11 2024, and the request must contain: 61.12 (1) written documentation that demonstrates the individual is currently employed at an agency or entity that requires access for the employee to conduct their work duties; 61.14 (2) written documentation that demonstrates the individual is in compliance with all existing requirements to be considered eligible for access, including completion of required 61.15 background checks;

	3 / 1
140.1 140.2	(1) a test of the applicant's eyesight, provided that this requirement is met by submission of a vision examination certificate under section 171.06, subdivision 7;
140.3 140.4	(2) a test of the applicant's ability to read and understand highway signs regulating, warning, and directing traffic;
	(3) a test of the applicant's knowledge of (i) traffic laws; (ii) the effects of alcohol and drugs on a driver's ability to operate a motor vehicle safely and legally, and of the legal penalties and financial consequences resulting from violations of laws prohibiting the operation of a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs; (iii) railroad grade crossing safety; (iv) slow-moving vehicle safety; (v) laws relating to pupil transportation safety, including the significance of school bus lights, signals, stop arm, and passing a school bus; (vi) traffic laws related to bicycles; and (vii) the circumstances and dangers of carbon monoxide poisoning;
140.13 140.14	(4) an actual demonstration of ability to exercise ordinary and reasonable control in the operation of a motor vehicle; and
140.15 140.16	(5) other physical and mental examinations as the commissioner finds necessary to determine the applicant's fitness to operate a motor vehicle safely upon the highways.

140.17 (b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), the commissioner must not deny an application for 140.18 a driver's license based on the exclusive grounds that the applicant's eyesight is deficient in

Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.13, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

139.27

61.17	(3) a signed statement from their employer acknowledging the employer is aware that
61.18 61.19	the individual's access was previously revoked and any future violations of state or federal law may again result in permanent revocation of access; and
61.20	(4) a signed statement from the individual describing:
61.21	(i) their understanding of appropriate use of the system data under state and federal laws;
61.22	and
61.23	(ii) the remedial steps they have taken to ensure no future misuse occurs.
61.24 61.25	The commissioner must respond in writing to the individual's request for access within 90 days of receipt of the request. The commissioner's decision under this section is final and
61.26	an individual applying under this section is not entitled to further review.
61.27 61.28 61.29	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective October 1, 2023. Paragraphs (b), (c), and (e) apply to audits of data use that are open on or after October 1, 2023. Paragraph (f) is effective October 1, 2023, and applies to requests made on or after that date.
61.30	Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.13, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
61.31 61.32 62.1 62.2	Subdivision 1. Examination subjects and locations; provisions for color blindness, disabled veterans. (a) Except as otherwise provided in this section, the commissioner shall must examine each applicant for a driver's license by such agency as the commissioner directs. This examination must include:
62.3 62.4	(1) a test of the applicant's eyesight, provided that this requirement is met by submission of a vision examination certificate under section 171.06, subdivision 7;
62.5 62.6	(2) a test of the applicant's ability to read and understand highway signs regulating, warning, and directing traffic;
62.7 62.8 62.9 62.10 62.11 62.12 62.13 62.14	(3) a test of the applicant's knowledge of (i) traffic laws; (ii) the effects of alcohol and drugs on a driver's ability to operate a motor vehicle safely and legally, and of the legal penalties and financial consequences resulting from violations of laws prohibiting the operation of a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs; (iii) railroad grade crossing safety; (iv) slow-moving vehicle safety; (v) laws relating to pupil transportation safety, including the significance of school bus lights, signals, stop arm, and passing a school bus; (vi) traffic laws related to bicycles; and (vii) the circumstances and dangers of carbon monoxide poisoning;
62.15 62.16	(4) an actual demonstration of ability to exercise ordinary and reasonable control in the operation of a motor vehicle; and
62.17 62.18	(5) other physical and mental examinations as the commissioner finds necessary to determine the applicant's fitness to operate a motor vehicle safely upon the highways.
62.19 62.20	(b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), the commissioner must not deny an application for a driver's license based on the exclusive grounds that the applicant's eyesight is deficient in

House H2887-4

140.19 color perception or that the applicant has been diagnosed with diabetes mellitus. War veterans 140.20 operating motor vehicles especially equipped for disabled persons, if otherwise entitled to 140.21 a license, must be granted such license.

140.22	(c) The commissioner shall make provision for giving the examinations under this
140.23	subdivision either in the county where the applicant resides or at a place adjacent thereto
140.24	reasonably convenient to the applicant.

140.25 (d) The commissioner shall ensure that an applicant is able to obtain an appointment for 140.26 an examination to demonstrate ability under paragraph (a), clause (4), within 14 days of the 140.27 applicant's request if, under the applicable statutes and rules of the commissioner, the 140.28 applicant is eligible to take the examination.

140.29	(e) The commissioner must provide real-time information on the department's website
140.30	about the availability and location of exam appointments. The website must show the next
140.31	available exam dates and times for each exam station. The website must also provide an
140.32	option for a person to enter an address to see the date and time of the next available exam
140.33	at each exam station sorted by distance from the address provided.

141.1 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2024.

May 02, 2023 11:54 AM

Senate UEH2887-2

2.21 2.22 2.23	color perception or that the applicant has been diagnosed with diabetes mellitus. War veterans operating motor vehicles especially equipped for disabled persons, if otherwise entitled to a license, must be granted such license.
2.24 2.25 2.26	(c) The commissioner shall make provision for giving the examinations under this subdivision either in the county where the applicant resides or at a place adjacent thereto reasonably convenient to the applicant.
2.27 2.28 2.29 2.30	(d) The commissioner shall ensure that an applicant is able to obtain an appointment for an examination to demonstrate ability under paragraph (a), clause (4), within 14 days of the applicant's request if, under the applicable statutes and rules of the commissioner, the applicant is eligible to take the examination.
2.31 2.32	(c) The commissioner must ensure that no fewer than the following number of exam station locations are available:
2.33	(1) after July 1, 2023, and before July 1, 2024, 93 exam stations;
3.1	(2) after July 1, 2024, and before July 1, 2025, 83 exam stations;
3.2	(3) after July 1, 2025, and before July 1, 2026, 73 exam stations; and
3.3	(4) after July 1, 2026, and thereafter, 60 exam stations.
3.4 3.5 3.6	The commissioner must ensure that an applicant may take an exam either in the county where the applicant resides or in an adjacent county at a reasonably convenient location. The schedule for each exam station must be posted on the department's website.
3.7	(d) A located exam station must be open a minimum of one day per week.
3.8 3.9 3.10 3.11 3.12	(e) The commissioner must provide real-time information on the department's website about the availability and location of exam appointments. The website must show the next available exam dates and times for each exam station. The website must also provide an option for a person to enter an address to see the date and time of the next available exam at each exam station sorted by distance from the address provided. The information must be easily accessible and must not require a person to sign in or provide any other information.

63.15 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2023. Paragraph (d) is effective July 1, 2026. Paragraph (e) is effective January 1, 2024.

except an address, in order to see available exam dates.

House H2887-4

141.2	Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.13, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:
141.3	Subd. 1a. Waiver when license issued by another jurisdiction. (a) If the commissioner
141.4	determines that an applicant for a driver's license is 21 years of age or older and possesses
141.5	a valid driver's license issued by another state or jurisdiction that requires a comparable
141.6	examination to obtain a driver's license, the commissioner may must waive the requirement
141.7	requirements that the applicant pass a knowledge examination and demonstrate ability to
141.8	exercise ordinary and reasonable control in the operation of a motor vehicle on determining
141.9	that the applicant possesses a valid driver's license issued by a jurisdiction that requires a
141.10	comparable demonstration for license issuance.
141.11	(b) If the commissioner determines that an applicant for a two-wheeled vehicle
141.12	endorsement is 21 years of age or older and possesses a valid driver's license with a
141.13	two-wheeled vehicle endorsement issued by another state or jurisdiction that requires a
141.14	comparable examination to obtain an endorsement, the commissioner must waive the
141.15	requirements with respect to the endorsement that the applicant pass a knowledge examination
141.16	and demonstrate the ability to exercise ordinary and reasonable control in the operation of
141.17	a motor vehicle.
141.18	(c) For purposes of this subdivision, "jurisdiction" includes, but is not limited to, both
141.19	the active and reserve components of any branch or unit of the United States armed forces,
141.20	and "valid driver's license" includes any driver's license that is recognized by that branch
141.21	or unit as currently being valid, or as having been valid at the time of the applicant's
141.22	separation or discharge from the military within a period of time deemed reasonable and
141.23	fair by the commissioner, up to and including one year past the date of the applicant's
141.24	separation or discharge.
141.25	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to applications
141.26	made on or after that date.
141.27	Sec. 15. [171.375] STUDENT PASS RATE.
141.28	(a) For each driver training school, the commissioner must determine the percentage of
141.29	students from that school who pass the written exam or road test on the student's first attempt,
141.30	second attempt, or third or subsequent attempt. The commissioner must publicly post the
141.31	information collected under this section on the department's website. At a minimum, the
141.32	commissioner must update this information on the department's website at least every six
141.33	months. The information must be searchable by the name of a school or a location.
142.1	(b) By January 1 and July 1 of each year, each driver training school must provide to
142.2	the commissioner a list of all students who completed coursework at the school during the

previous six months.

May 02, 2023 11:54 AM

63.17	Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.13, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:
63.18	Subd. 1a. Waiver when license issued by another jurisdiction. (a) If the commissioner
63.19	determines that an applicant 21 years of age or older possesses a valid driver's license issued
63.20	by another state, United States territory, or jurisdiction that requires a comparable
63.21	examination for obtaining a driver's license, the commissioner may must waive the
63.22	requirement requirements that the applicant pass a written knowledge examination and
63.23	demonstrate ability to exercise ordinary and reasonable control in the operation of a motor
63.24	vehicle on determining that the applicant possesses a valid driver's license issued by a
63.25	jurisdiction that requires a comparable demonstration for license issuance.
63.26	(b) If the commissioner determines that an applicant 21 years of age or older possesses
63.27	a valid driver's license with a two-wheeled vehicle endorsement issued by another state,
63.28	United States territory, or jurisdiction that requires a comparable examination for obtaining
63.29	the endorsement, the commissioner must waive the requirements that the applicant for a
63.30	two-wheeled vehicle endorsement pass a written knowledge examination and demonstrate
63.31	the ability to exercise ordinary and reasonable control in the operation of a motor vehicle.
64.1	(c) For purposes of this subdivision, "jurisdiction" includes, but is not limited to, both
64.2	the active and reserve components of any branch or unit of the United States armed forces,
64.3	and "valid driver's license" includes any driver's license that is recognized by that branch
64.4	or unit as currently being valid, or as having been valid at the time of the applicant's
64.5	separation or discharge from the military within a period of time deemed reasonable and
64.6	fair by the commissioner, up to and including one year past the date of the applicant's
64.7	separation or discharge.
64.8	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to applications
64.9	made on or after that date.
64.10	Sec. 17. [171.375] STUDENT PASS RATE.
	<u> </u>
64.11	(a) For each driver training school, the commissioner must determine the percentage of
64.12	students from that school who pass the written exam or road test on the student's first attempt,
64.13	second attempt, or third or subsequent attempt. The commissioner must publicly post the
64.14	information collected under this section on the department's website. At a minimum, the
64.15	commissioner must update this information on the department's website at least every six
64.16	months. The information must be searchable by the name of a school or a location.
64.17	(b) By January 1 and July 1 of each year, each driver training school must provide to
64.18	the commissioner a list of all students who completed coursework at the school during the
64.19	previous six months.
64.20	EFFECTIVE DATE. Paragraph (a) is effective January 1, 2024. Paragraph (b) is
64.21	effective July 1, 2024, and applies to lists submitted on or after that date.

65.20 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 299A.705, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 65.21 Subd. 3. **Driver and vehicle services technology account.** (a) The driver and vehicle services technology account is created in the special revenue driver and vehicle services fund, consisting of the technology surcharge collected as specified in chapters 168, 168A, and 171; the filing fee revenue collected under section 168.33, subdivision 7; and any other money donated, allotted, transferred, or otherwise provided to the account. (b) Money in the account is annually appropriated to the commissioner of public safety 65.26 for the development, deployment, and maintenance of the driver and vehicle services information systems. (c) By January 15 of each year, the commissioner must submit a report to the chairs and 65.29 ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over transportation policy and finance concerning the account, which must include information on (1) total revenue deposited in the driver and vehicle services technology account, with a breakdown by sources of funds; and (2) an estimate of ongoing system maintenance costs, including a breakdown of the amounts spent by category. Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 299A.705, is amended by adding a subdivision 66.4 66.5 to read: Subd. 5. Full-service provider account. (a) The full-service provider account is created 66.6 in the driver and vehicle services fund, consisting of surcharges described in section 168.33, subdivision 7, and any other money donated, allotted, transferred, or otherwise provided to 66.8 the account. 66.9 (b) Money in the account is annually appropriated to the commissioner of public safety 66.10 to distribute to full-service providers, as defined in section 168.002, subdivision 12a, and deputy registrars. The commissioner must distribute the money in the account as quarterly payments to each full-service provider and deputy registrar that was in operation during the previous quarter based proportionally on the total number of transactions completed by each full-service provider and deputy registrar. For the purposes of the distribution calculation in this paragraph, the number of transactions completed by a deputy registrar must first be 66.17 multiplied by 0.2. **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2023, and the first quarterly 66.18 distribution must be made on or before October 15, 2023. 66.19 Sec. 22. REPORT; DEPUTY REGISTRAR AND DRIVER'S LICENSE AGENT 66.20 66.21 FINANCIAL SUSTAINABILITY. 66.22 By July 1, 2024, the commissioner of public safety must report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over transportation finance and policy an evaluation of deputy registrar and driver's license agent operations in the

66.25 66.26	vehicle registration and driver's licensing system. The commissioner must engage with stakeholders in preparing and developing the report. The report, at a minimum, must:
66.27 66.28	(1) evaluate the current performance and impact of the quality of services provided by private deputy registrars and driver's license agents to the residents of Minnesota;
66.29 66.30	(2) evaluate and make recommendations on how to implement financial sustainability for private deputy registrars;
66.31 66.32	(3) detail the amount of financial assistance necessary to sustain a permanent role for private deputy registrars and driver's license agents;
67.1	(4) explain each proposed model of financial assistance or support for deputy registrars;
67.2 67.3	(5) detail a five-, ten-, and 20-year analysis on the role of deputy registrars and driver's license agents in the vehicle registration and driver's licensing system;
67.4 67.5 67.6	(6) evaluate and make recommendations on the long-term and market-rate financial assistance necessary to transition away from private deputy registrars and driver's license agents;
67.7 67.8 67.9	(7) explain and make recommendations on proposed legislation on the Division of Driver and Vehicle Services assuming all of the services provided by private deputy registrars and driver's license agents;
67.10 67.11 67.12	(8) identify and evaluate whether the Division of Driver and Vehicle Services has sufficient financial resources to assume all the services provided by private deputy registrars and driver's license agents; and
67.13 67.14 67.15	(9) propose legislation and make recommendations on fees and appropriations needed for the Division of Driver and Vehicle Services to assume all services provided by deputy registrars and driver's license agents.
67.16	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
67.17	Sec. 23. REPORT; DRIVER AND VEHICLE SERVICES RECOMMENDATIONS.
67.18 67.19 67.20 67.21	(a) By January 15, 2024, the commissioner of public safety must report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over transportation finance and policy on driver and vehicle services recommendations and operations. The report must:
67.22 67.23	(1) review recommendations from the independent expert review of driver and vehicle services issued January 12, 2022, as identified under paragraph (b);
67.24 67.25	(2) review the recommendations made to the commissioner in the legislative auditor's report on driver examination stations issued in March 2021;

67.26	(3) provide the commissioner's plan for exam station locations, including how many
67.27	exam stations will remain open and the locations of the exam stations;
67.28	(4) identify whether any limited driver's license agents are unable to become full-service
67.29	providers because of the restrictions in Minnesota Statutes, section 171.061, and Minnesota
67.30	Rules, chapter 7404, and, if so, whether the commissioner would recommend any exceptions
67.31 67.32	to allow the limited driver's license agent to participate in the fee-sharing provisions of this
07.32	act; and
68.1	(5) propose any statutory changes necessary or beneficial in implementing
68.2	recommendations under clauses (1) and (2).
68.3	(b) The report must include information on the independent expert review
68.4	recommendations to:
68.5	(1) revise the deputy registrar and driver's license agent contracts to encourage all deputy
68.6	registrars and driver's license agents to become or remain full-service providers as defined
68.7	in Minnesota Statutes, section 168.002, subdivision 12a;
68.8	(2) determine how best to utilize certified and impartial third parties for administration
68.9	of knowledge and road tests;
68.10	(3) implement data and reporting practices to assist the commissioner in making decisions
68.11	focused on the residents of the state;
68.12	(4) conduct a staffing review that balances staff quantity and quality, leverages technology
68.13	automations and configurations, and establishes performance standards and targets that
68.14	meet the needs of the state;
68.15	(5) identify performance and service standards and create a deputy registrar performance
68.16	scorecard and a driver's license agent performance scorecard that monitors user performance
68.17	to ensure a consistently positive experience for Minnesotans;
68.18	(6) provide a rapid response communication method for situations where deputy registrars
68.19	or driver's license agents need immediate support;
68.20	(7) explore ways to speed up background checks of new employees at the Division of
68.21	Driver and Vehicle Services offices and deputy registrar offices, including using a police
68.22	department or county sheriff;
68.23	(8) promote the preapplication process and expand the use of preapplications to all
68.24	possible, relevant areas;
68.25	(9) evaluate and make recommendations to the legislature on areas where it is appropriate
68.26	to make preapplications mandatory;
68.27	(10) adjust policies and practices to automate as many approval transactions as possible;

68.28 68.29	(11) determine the proper user level field needed by transaction type and explore additional differentiated user levels in MNDRIVE;
68.30 68.31	(12) allow deputy registrars to have increased visibility to and influence on the MNDRIVE enhancement process;
69.1 69.2 69.3	(13) engage a learning consultant and create a content strategy and communications campaign to meet the needs of Minnesota residents, including a feedback loop for continuous improvement and evolution;
69.4 69.5	(14) provide additional training and clear guidance regarding permissible use of records and enable in-application notation of usage other than for paid transactions;
69.6 69.7 69.8	(15) consider what security measures are appropriate at each deputy registrar or driver's license agent location, including the possible need for a security officer or for cameras with recording capabilities;
69.9	(16) offer training in de-escalation and negotiation techniques to all public-facing staff;
69.10 69.11	(17) examine the potential of allowing online applications for replacement class D drivers' <u>licenses;</u>
69.12 69.13 69.14 69.15	(18) conduct an analysis to determine whether extending the validity of a class D driver's license would benefit the residents of the state and make recommendations to the legislature on a renewal fee structure for renewal periods longer than four years but not more than nine years;
69.16 69.17	(19) explore options to encourage people to conduct transactions online or in person instead of by mail; and
69.18 69.19	(20) study the feasibility of splitting revenue from mail or online vehicle transactions between the commissioner and deputy registrars and full-service providers.
69.20 69.21	(c) For each of the recommendations under paragraph (a), clauses (1) and (2), and paragraph (b), the report must specify the status from one of the following categories:
69.22	(1) the recommendation is under ongoing active consideration or review, including to:
69.23	(i) describe the current state of the analysis; and
69.24	(ii) provide the anticipated timeline to conclude the review;
69.25	(2) the recommendation is in the process of being implemented, including to:
69.26	(i) describe how the recommendation is being implemented;
69.27	(ii) provide the anticipated timeline for implementation; and
69.28	(iii) provide an estimated cost of implementing the recommendation;

House H2887-4

- 142.4 Sec. 16. **REPEALER.**
- 142.5 Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 168.345, subdivision 1, is repealed.
- 142.6 Sec. 17. **EFFECTIVE DATE.**
- Except where otherwise specified, this article is effective August 1, 2023.

PAGE R18

Senate UEH2887-2

May 02, 2023 11:54 AM

69.29	(3) the recommendation has been implemented, including to:
69.30	(i) describe when and how the recommendation was implemented;
70.1	(ii) describe the outcome of implementing the recommendation; and
70.2	(iii) provide an estimated cost of implementing the recommendation; or
70.3	(4) the recommendation will not be implemented, including to:
70.4	(i) provide a detailed explanation of why the recommendation will not be implemented
70.5	(ii) provide an estimated cost to implement the recommendation;
70.6	(iii) provide an estimated timeline to implement the recommendation; and
70.7	(iv) describe any unmet needs that, if met, would allow the commissioner to implement
70.8	the recommendation.
70.9	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.