ENVIRONMENT AND NATURAL RESOURCES FINANCE AND POLICY MINUTES

Representative Rick Hansen, Chair of the Environment and Natural Resources Finance and Policy Committee, called the meeting to order at 3:00 P.M. on February 20, 2024, in Room 10 of the State Office Building.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members Present:

HANSEN, Rick (Chair) JORDAN, Sydney (Vice Chair) HEINTZEMAN, Josh (GOP Lead) **BLISS**, Matt BRAND, Jeff BURKEL, John EDELSON, Heather FINKE, Leigh FISCHER, Peter GILLMAN, Dawn JACOB, Steven LEE, Fue LISLEGARD, Dave PURSELL, Kristi SKRABA, Roger VANG, Samantha

A quorum was present.

Representative Heintzeman moved to approve the minutes from February 14, 2024. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

HF3326 (Hemmingsen-Jaeger); Environment; mercury-containing lighting banned.

Chair Hansen moved that HF3326 be re-referred to the Committee on Commerce Finance and Policy.

Chair Hansen moved to adopt the A24-0204 amendment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

Representative Hemmingsen-Jaeger presented HF3326, as amended.

Testifying on the bill:

• Eric Fowler, Senior Policy Associate, Fresh Energy

Chair Hansen renewed the motion that HF3326, as amended, be re-referred to the Committee on Finance and Policy. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

Representative Jordan assumed the gavel at 3:12 P.M.

HF3368 (Hansen, R.); Notification and local approval required before use of money from closed landfill investment fund and metropolitan landfill contingency action trust account.

Chair Hansen moved that HF3368 be re-referred to the General Register.

Chair Hansen presented HF3368.

Testifying on the bill:

• Nikki Stewart, Environmental Resources Director, Dakota County

Chair Hansen renewed the motion that HF3368 be re-referred to the General Register. <u>THE</u> <u>MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

Chair Hansen assumed the gavel at 3:17 P.M.

HF3577 (Jordan); Packaging Waste and Cost Reduction Act established, and rulemaking authorized.

Representative Jordan moved that HF3577 be re-referred to the Committee on Commerce Finance and Policy.

Representative Jordan moved to adopt the DE1 amendment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

Representative Jordan presented HF3577, as amended.

Testifying on the bill:

- Vicotria Reinhardt, Chair, Partnership on Waste and Energy; Commissioner, Ramsey County
- Tony Kwilas, Environmental Policy Director, Minnesota Chamber of Commerce
- Nels Paulsen, Policy Director, Conservation Minnesota
- Andy Hackman, Lobbyist, AMERIPEN
- Kirk Koudelka, Assistant Commissioner, Minnesota Pollution Control Agency
- Amber Backhaus, Lobbyist, National Waste and Recycling Association
- Gabbie Batzko, President-elect, Solid Waste Administrators Association
- Peter Glessing, Senior Director of Policy Advocacy, Medical Alley
- Lucy Mullany, Director of Policy and Advocacy, Eureka
- Jacob Cassady, Director of Government Relations, Association of Home Appliance Manufacturers
- Dylan de Thomas, Lobbyist, The Recycling Partnership
- Frazier Willman, Lobbyist, American Forest and Paper Association
- Kate Bailey, Lobbyist, Association of Plastic Recyclers
- Mike Martin, Founder and CEO, r.World
- Avonna Starck, State Director, Clean Water Action Minnesota
- Mary Kosuth, Ph.D. candidate, University of Minnesota School of Public Health; Advocate, Coalition to Reduce Plastic
- John Rodman, Advocate, Coalition to Reduce Plastic

Representative Jordan renewed the motion that HF3577, as amended, be re-referred to the Committee on Commerce Finance and Policy.

Representative Heintzeman requested a roll call.

AYES:

HANSEN, Rick (Chair) JORDAN, Sydney (Vice Chair) BRAND, Jeff EDELSON, Heather FINKE, Leigh FISCHER, Peter LEE, Fue PURSELL, Kristi VANG, Samantha

NAYS: HEINTZEMAN, Josh (GOP Lead) BLISS, Matt BURKEL, John GILLMAN, Dawn JACOB, Steven

LISLEGARD, Dave SKRABA, Roger

There being 9 ayes and 7 nays, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:35 P.M.

Representative Rick Hansen, Chair

Sam O'Neill, Committee Legislative Assistant