
1.1 .................... moves to amend H.F. No. 229 as follows:​

1.2 Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:​

1.3 "Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 35.153, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

1.4 Subdivision 1. Applicability. The definitions in this section apply to section 17.452,​

1.5 this section, and section sections 35.155 and 35.1551.​

1.6 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 35.155, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

1.7 Subd. 4. Fencing. (a) Farmed Cervidae must be confined in a manner designed to prevent​

1.8 escape. All perimeter fences for farmed Cervidae must be high tensile fencing. Except as​

1.9 provided in subdivision 4a, all perimeter fences must be at least 96 inches in height and.​

1.10 Perimeter fences must be constructed and maintained in a way that prevents the escape of​

1.11 farmed Cervidae or, entry into the premises by free-roaming Cervidae, and physical contact​

1.12 between farmed Cervidae and free-roaming Cervidae.​

1.13 (b) All entry areas for farmed Cervidae enclosure areas shall have two redundant gates,​

1.14 which must be maintained to prevent the escape of animals through an open gate. If a fence​

1.15 deficiency allows imminent entry or exit by farmed or wild Cervidae, the owner must repair​

1.16 the deficiency within 48 hours of discovery. If a fence deficiency is detected during annual​

1.17 inspection under subdivision 7, the facility must be reinspected not less than two times in​

1.18 the subsequent six months. If the facility experiences more than two escape incidents in any​

1.19 12-month period, the board shall revoke the facility's registration and the animals may be​

1.20 seized and destroyed by the commissioner of natural resources.​
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2.1 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 35.155, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

2.2 read:​

2.3 Subd. 4a. Fencing; commercial herds. In addition to the requirements in subdivision​

2.4 4, commercially farmed Cervidae must be confined by two or more perimeter fences, with​

2.5 each perimeter fence at least 120 inches in height.​

2.6 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 35.155, subdivision 6, is amended to read:​

2.7 Subd. 6. Identification. (a) Farmed Cervidae must be identified by means approved by​

2.8 the Board of Animal Health. The identification must include a distinct number that has not​

2.9 been used during the previous three years and must be visible to the naked eye during​

2.10 daylight under normal conditions at a distance of 50 yards. Newborn animals must be​

2.11 identified before December 31 of the year in which the animal is born within 72 hours of​

2.12 birth or before movement from the premises, whichever occurs first. The commissioner of​

2.13 natural resources may destroy any animal that is not identified as required by this subdivision.​

2.14 (b) The Board of Animal Health shall register farmed Cervidae. The owner must submit​

2.15 the registration request on forms provided by the board. The forms must include sales​

2.16 receipts or other documentation of the origin of the Cervidae. The board shall provide copies​

2.17 of the registration information to the commissioner of natural resources upon request. The​

2.18 owner must keep written records of the acquisition and disposition of registered farmed​

2.19 Cervidae.​

2.20 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 35.155, subdivision 7, is amended to read:​

2.21 Subd. 7. Inspection. (a) The commissioner of agriculture, the commissioner of natural​

2.22 resources, and the Board of Animal Health may inspect farmed Cervidae, farmed Cervidae​

2.23 facilities, and farmed Cervidae records. For each herd, the owner or owners must, on or​

2.24 before January 1, pay an annual inspection fee equal to $10 for each cervid in the herd as​

2.25 reflected in the most recent inventory submitted to the Board of Animal Health, up to a​

2.26 maximum fee of $100. The board shall coordinate inspections authorized under this​

2.27 paragraph.​

2.28 (b) The Board of Animal Health shall annually inspect each farmed Cervidae facility.​

2.29 Upon request by the Board of Animal Health, the commissioner of agriculture and the​

2.30 commissioner of natural resources shall assist the board with annual inspections required​

2.31 under this paragraph. The annual inspection shall include a physical inspection of the entire​

2.32 perimeter of fencing around the facility and a viewing to ensure all animals are tagged. The​

2.33 owner of a farmed Cervidae facility must present to the regulatory agency conducting the​
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3.1 annual inspection an accurate inventory of the owner's farmed Cervidae for review. During​

3.2 an annual inspection, the owner must present individual animals in a herd for a physical​

3.3 inventory, if required by the board.​

3.4 (c) The commissioner of natural resources may inspect farmed Cervidae, farmed Cervidae​

3.5 facilities, and farmed Cervidae records with reasonable suspicion that laws protecting native​

3.6 wild animals have been violated and must notify the owner in writing at the time of the​

3.7 inspection of the reason for the inspection and must inform the owner in writing after the​

3.8 inspection of whether (1) the cause of the inspection was unfounded; or (2) there will be an​

3.9 ongoing investigation or continuing evaluation.​

3.10 (d) If the owner of a farmed Cervidae facility does not repair fence deficiencies or is not​

3.11 otherwise in compliance with this section after an inspection and review of the owner's​

3.12 farmed Cervidae facility, the board must establish a reasonable period of time for the owner​

3.13 to come into compliance. If the owner is still not in compliance once the reasonable period​

3.14 has expired, the board must revoke the owner's registration and the owner's animals may​

3.15 be destroyed by the commissioner of natural resources.​

3.16 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 35.155, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

3.17 read:​

3.18 Subd. 7a. Fees. (a) For each commercial herd, the owner or owners must, on or before​

3.19 January 1, pay an annual inspection fee of $500. For each noncommercial herd, the owner​

3.20 or owners must, on or before January 1, pay an annual inspection fee of $150.​

3.21 (b) If the owner allows killing of captive farmed Cervidae for sport or enjoyment, the​

3.22 owner must, on or before January 1 each year, pay an additional annual fee of $1,000.​

3.23 (c) An owner or owners of a commercial herd or a noncommercial herd who possess​

3.24 cervids shall pay an annual fee of $5 per cervid as identified in the owner's annual herd​

3.25 inventory. The board shall deposit fees collected under this paragraph in the farmed Cervidae​

3.26 reimbursement and indemnity account established under section 35.1551.​

3.27 (d) At the end of any calendar quarter in which the farmed Cervidae reimbursement​

3.28 account equals or exceeds $500,000, the board shall suspend the collection of the fee under​

3.29 paragraph (c). If the account falls below $400,000 after suspension, the board shall resume​

3.30 collection of the fee under paragraph (c).​

3.31 (e) For purposes of this subdivision:​
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4.1 (1) "commercial herd" means a cervid herd that is managed on a business basis or for​

4.2 purposes of a transaction or exchange for consideration including barter, the offer to sell,​

4.3 or possession with the intent to sell for profit or monetary gain; and​

4.4 (2) "noncommercial herd" means one or more cervid that is managed solely for personal​

4.5 enjoyment and personal use.​

4.6 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 35.155, subdivision 9, is amended to read:​

4.7 Subd. 9. Contested case hearing. A person raising farmed Cervidae that is aggrieved​

4.8 with any decision regarding the farmed Cervidae may request a contested case hearing under​

4.9 chapter 14. The request for a contested case hearing must be made within 30 days of the​

4.10 notice of revocation from the board.​

4.11 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 35.155, subdivision 10, is amended to read:​

4.12 Subd. 10. Mandatory registration. (a) A person may not possess live Cervidae in​

4.13 Minnesota unless the person is registered with the Board of Animal Health and meets all​

4.14 the requirements for farmed Cervidae under this section. Cervidae possessed in violation​

4.15 of this subdivision may be seized and destroyed by the commissioner of natural resources.​

4.16 (b) Beginning on the effective date of this act, the board shall not allow new registrations​

4.17 under this section for possessing white-tailed deer.​

4.18 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

4.19 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 35.155, subdivision 11, is amended to read:​

4.20 Subd. 11. Mandatory surveillance for chronic wasting disease; herd depopulation. (a)​

4.21 An inventory for each farmed Cervidae herd must be verified by an accredited veterinarian​

4.22 and filed with the Board of Animal Health every 12 months.​

4.23 (b) Movement of farmed Cervidae from any premises to another location must be reported​

4.24 to the Board of Animal Health within 14 days of the movement on forms approved by the​

4.25 Board of Animal Health. Beginning on the effective date of this act, a person must not move​

4.26 farmed white-tailed deer from any premises to another location.​

4.27 (c) All animals from farmed Cervidae herds that are over 16 12 months of age that die​

4.28 or are slaughtered must be tested for chronic wasting disease.​

4.29 (d) If an animal in a farmed Cervidae herd tests positive for chronic wasting disease,​

4.30 the entire herd must be euthanized and disposed of in a manner approved by the board in​

4.31 consultation with the commissioner of natural resources. The herd euthanization and disposal​
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5.1 required by this paragraph must be paid by the owner unless the euthanization and disposal​

5.2 is paid by the United States Department of Agriculture or by another regulatory agency. If​

5.3 the owner pays for the euthanization and disposal, the owner is eligible for reimbursement​

5.4 under section 35.1551.​

5.5 (e) The owner of the herd that is required to be euthanized and disposed of as required​

5.6 by paragraph (d) must:​

5.7 (1) maintain the fencing required under subdivision 4; and​

5.8 (2) prevent any wild or farmed Cervidae from accessing the former cervid pens and​

5.9 other areas that were accessible by the farmed cervids.​

5.10 The requirements under this paragraph must be met for at least 60 months from the date​

5.11 depopulation is completed.​

5.12 (f) The owner of a premises where chronic wasting disease (CWD) is detected must​

5.13 record, with the county recorder or registrar of titles of the county in which the land is​

5.14 located, a deed restriction containing:​

5.15 (1) a legal description of the property;​

5.16 (2) the date or dates of detection and the date of depopulation;​

5.17 (3) an agreement to maintain high tensile fencing on the premises for five years from​

5.18 the depopulation date identified in clause (2); and​

5.19 (4) an agreement to not stock cervid species on the premises for five years from the​

5.20 depopulation date identified in clause (2).​

5.21 EFFECTIVE DATE. The new language in paragraph (b) is effective the day following​

5.22 final enactment.​

5.23 Sec. 10. [35.1551] FARMED CERVIDAE REIMBURSEMENT AND INDEMNITY​

5.24 PROGRAM.​

5.25 Subdivision 1. Establishment. A farmed Cervidae reimbursement and indemnity program​

5.26 is established. The board shall administer the program and provide reimbursement and​

5.27 indemnity payments to eligible owners. Program funds are also available to the board, the​

5.28 commissioner of natural resources, and the commissioner of agriculture to perform​

5.29 coordinated chronic wasting disease surveillance and management near premises where a​

5.30 farmed Cervidae herd was infected with chronic wasting disease.​
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6.1 Subd. 2. Eligibility. An owner of farmed Cervidae registered with the board under​

6.2 section 35.155 who is required to euthanize and dispose of farmed Cervidae under section​

6.3 35.155, subdivision 11, is eligible to receive reimbursement and indemnity payments under​

6.4 this section.​

6.5 Subd. 3. Application. An owner asserting eligibility for reimbursement and indemnity​

6.6 payments under subdivision 2 must file a completed application with the board within 30​

6.7 days of the required euthanization and disposal under section 35.155, subdivision 11. The​

6.8 owner must demonstrate that the euthanization and disposal was completed in the manner​

6.9 required by the board.​

6.10 Subd. 4. Payment. The board shall provide an owner eligible for reimbursement and​

6.11 indemnity payments under this section with an amount not to exceed $3,000 per animal as​

6.12 determined by the board.​

6.13 Subd. 5. Account; appropriation. A farmed Cervidae reimbursement and indemnity​

6.14 program account is established in the special revenue fund. Money in the account, including​

6.15 interest, is appropriated (1) to the Board of Animal Health to pay reimbursements under​

6.16 this section, and (2) to the board, the commissioner of natural resources, and the​

6.17 commissioner of agriculture for purposes of coordinated disease surveillance and management​

6.18 as provided under subdivision 1.​

6.19 Sec. 11. RULE CHANGES.​

6.20 The Board of Animal Health shall make necessary changes to Minnesota Rules consistent​

6.21 with this act. The commissioner shall use the good cause exemption under Minnesota​

6.22 Statutes, section 14.388, in adopting the amendments. The provisions of Minnesota Statutes,​

6.23 section 14.386, do not apply except as provided in Minnesota Statutes, section 14.388.​

6.24 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

6.25 Sec. 12. VOLUNTARY WHITE-TAILED DEER HERD BUYOUT;​

6.26 APPROPRIATION.​

6.27 $....... in fiscal year 2019 is appropriated from the general fund to the Board of Animal​

6.28 Health to offer a herd buyout payment to the owner of each herd of white-tailed deer​

6.29 registered under Minnesota Statutes, section 35.155. The board must pay no more than​

6.30 $....... per animal, with each animal disposed of as determined by the board. By October 1,​

6.31 2019, an owner must accept or decline the buyout offered by the board under this section.​

6.32 A participating owner must sign a contract with the board certifying that the owner will not​
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7.1 have or allow any wild or farmed white-tailed deer to be located on the owner's premises​

7.2 and must record a corresponding deed restriction with the county recorder or registrar of​

7.3 titles. A participating owner who violates the buyout contract must repay all money received​

7.4 under this section and is subject to appropriate penalties under Minnesota Statutes, chapter​

7.5 35.​

7.6 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment."​

7.7 Delete the title and insert:​

7.8 "A bill for an act​

7.9 relating to animal health; modifying farmed Cervidae provisions including​
7.10 provisions governing fencing, identification, and inspections; requiring an owner​
7.11 to record a deed restriction in certain instances; providing a farmed Cervidae​
7.12 reimbursement program; authorizing a voluntary buyout; requiring rulemaking​
7.13 under the good cause exemption; appropriating money; amending Minnesota​
7.14 Statutes 2018, sections 35.153, subdivision 1; 35.155, subdivisions 4, 6, 7, 9, 10,​
7.15 11, by adding subdivisions; proposing coding for new law in Minnesota Statutes,​
7.16 chapter 35."​
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