
1.1 .................... moves to amend H.F. No. 3646 as follows:​

1.2 Page 96, after line 22, insert:​

142A.16"​1.3 "245.814​

1.4 Page 97, after line 38, insert:​

142A.452"​1.5 "260.014​

1.6 Page 101, delete lines 13 to 16​

1.7 Renumber the subdivisions in sequence​

1.8 Page 106, line 9, delete "facility or"​

1.9 Page 109, line 6, delete everything after "(c)"​

1.10 Page 109, line 7, delete "subdivision 1,"​

1.11 Page 119, line 24, delete "245A.07" and insert "142B.18"​

1.12 Page 138, line 21, after "260E" insert "or the maltreatment of a vulnerable adult under​

1.13 section 626.557"​

1.14 Page 138, line 22, after "(b)" insert ", or 626.557, subdivision 9c, paragraph (c)"​

1.15 Page 163, line 28, before "Internal" insert "Maltreatment of minors"​

1.16 Page 164, delete lines 21 and 22​

1.17 Page 164, line 23, delete "3" and insert "2" and before "Ongoing" insert "Maltreatment​

1.18 of minors"​

1.19 Page 164, line 29, delete everything after "holders" and insert "and caregivers and foster​

1.20 residence setting staff"​

1.21 Page 164, after line 32, insert:​

1​
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2.1 "Subd. 3. Vulnerable adults. License holders serving vulnerable adults are subject to​

2.2 the requirements of section 245A.65."​

2.3 Page 167, delete section 34​

2.4 Page 171, after line 7, insert:​

2.5 "Sec. 37. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 245A.03, subdivision 7, is amended​

2.6 to read:​

2.7 Subd. 7. Licensing moratorium. (a) The commissioner shall not issue an initial license​

2.8 for child foster care licensed under Minnesota Rules, parts 2960.3000 to 2960.3340, or adult​

2.9 foster care licensed under Minnesota Rules, parts 9555.5105 to 9555.6265, under this chapter​

2.10 for a physical location that will not be the primary residence of the license holder for the​

2.11 entire period of licensure. If a family child foster care home or family adult foster care home​

2.12 license is issued during this moratorium, and the license holder changes the license holder's​

2.13 primary residence away from the physical location of the foster care license, the​

2.14 commissioner shall revoke the license according to section 245A.07. The commissioner​

2.15 shall not issue an initial license for a community residential setting licensed under chapter​

2.16 245D. When approving an exception under this paragraph, the commissioner shall consider​

2.17 the resource need determination process in paragraph (h), the availability of foster care​

2.18 licensed beds in the geographic area in which the licensee seeks to operate, the results of a​

2.19 person's choices during their annual assessment and service plan review, and the​

2.20 recommendation of the local county board. The determination by the commissioner is final​

2.21 and not subject to appeal. Exceptions to the moratorium include:​

2.22 (1) a license for a person in a foster care setting that is not the primary residence of the​

2.23 license holder and where at least 80 percent of the residents are 55 years of age or older;​

2.24 (2) foster care licenses replacing foster care licenses in existence on May 15, 2009, or​

2.25 community residential setting licenses replacing adult foster care licenses in existence on​

2.26 December 31, 2013, and determined to be needed by the commissioner under paragraph​

2.27 (b);​

2.28 (3) new foster care licenses or community residential setting licenses determined to be​

2.29 needed by the commissioner under paragraph (b) for the closure of a nursing facility, ICF/DD,​

2.30 or regional treatment center; restructuring of state-operated services that limits the capacity​

2.31 of state-operated facilities; or allowing movement to the community for people who no​

2.32 longer require the level of care provided in state-operated facilities as provided under section​

2.33 256B.092, subdivision 13, or 256B.49, subdivision 24;​

2​Sec. 37.​
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3.1 (4) new foster care licenses or community residential setting licenses determined to be​

3.2 needed by the commissioner under paragraph (b) for persons requiring hospital-level care;​

3.3 or​

3.4 (5) new foster care licenses or community residential setting licenses for people receiving​

3.5 customized living or 24-hour customized living services under the brain injury or community​

3.6 access for disability inclusion waiver plans under section 256B.49 or elderly waiver plan​

3.7 under chapter 256S and residing in the customized living setting for which a license is​

3.8 required. A customized living service provider subject to this exception may rebut the​

3.9 presumption that a license is required by seeking a reconsideration of the commissioner's​

3.10 determination. The commissioner's disposition of a request for reconsideration is final and​

3.11 not subject to appeal under chapter 14. The exception is available until December 31, 2023.​

3.12 This exception is available when:​

3.13 (i) the person's customized living services are provided in a customized living service​

3.14 setting serving four or fewer people in a single-family home operational on or before June​

3.15 30, 2021. Operational is defined in section 256B.49, subdivision 28;​

3.16 (ii) the person's case manager provided the person with information about the choice of​

3.17 service, service provider, and location of service, including in the person's home, to help​

3.18 the person make an informed choice; and​

3.19 (iii) the person's services provided in the licensed foster care or community residential​

3.20 setting are less than or equal to the cost of the person's services delivered in the customized​

3.21 living setting as determined by the lead agency.​

3.22 (b) The commissioner shall determine the need for newly licensed foster care homes or​

3.23 community residential settings as defined under this subdivision. As part of the determination,​

3.24 the commissioner shall consider the availability of foster care capacity in the area in which​

3.25 the licensee seeks to operate, and the recommendation of the local county board. The​

3.26 determination by the commissioner must be final. A determination of need is not required​

3.27 for a change in ownership at the same address.​

3.28 (c) When an adult resident served by the program moves out of a foster home that is not​

3.29 the primary residence of the license holder according to section 256B.49, subdivision 15,​

3.30 paragraph (f), or the adult community residential setting, the county shall immediately​

3.31 inform the Department of Human Services Licensing Division. The department may decrease​

3.32 the statewide licensed capacity for adult foster care settings.​

3.33 (d) Residential settings that would otherwise be subject to the decreased license capacity​

3.34 established in paragraph (c) shall be exempt if the license holder's beds are occupied by​

3​Sec. 37.​
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4.1 residents whose primary diagnosis is mental illness and the license holder is certified under​

4.2 the requirements in subdivision 6a or section 245D.33.​

4.3 (e) A resource need determination process, managed at the state level, using the available​

4.4 data required by section 144A.351, and other data and information shall be used to determine​

4.5 where the reduced capacity determined under section 256B.493 will be implemented. The​

4.6 commissioner shall consult with the stakeholders described in section 144A.351, and employ​

4.7 a variety of methods to improve the state's capacity to meet the informed decisions of those​

4.8 people who want to move out of corporate foster care or community residential settings,​

4.9 long-term service needs within budgetary limits, including seeking proposals from service​

4.10 providers or lead agencies to change service type, capacity, or location to improve services,​

4.11 increase the independence of residents, and better meet needs identified by the long-term​

4.12 services and supports reports and statewide data and information.​

4.13 (f) At the time of application and reapplication for licensure, the applicant and the license​

4.14 holder that are subject to the moratorium or an exclusion established in paragraph (a) are​

4.15 required to inform the commissioner whether the physical location where the foster care​

4.16 will be provided is or will be the primary residence of the license holder for the entire period​

4.17 of licensure. If the primary residence of the applicant or license holder changes, the applicant​

4.18 or license holder must notify the commissioner immediately. The commissioner shall print​

4.19 on the foster care license certificate whether or not the physical location is the primary​

4.20 residence of the license holder.​

4.21 (g) License holders of foster care homes identified under paragraph (f) that are not the​

4.22 primary residence of the license holder and that also provide services in the foster care home​

4.23 that are covered by a federally approved home and community-based services waiver, as​

4.24 authorized under chapter 256S or section 256B.092 or 256B.49, must inform the human​

4.25 services licensing division that the license holder provides or intends to provide these​

4.26 waiver-funded services.​

4.27 (h) The commissioner may adjust capacity to address needs identified in section​

4.28 144A.351. Under this authority, the commissioner may approve new licensed settings or​

4.29 delicense existing settings. Delicensing of settings will be accomplished through a process​

4.30 identified in section 256B.493.​

4.31 (i) The commissioner must notify a license holder when its corporate foster care or​

4.32 community residential setting licensed beds are reduced under this section. The notice of​

4.33 reduction of licensed beds must be in writing and delivered to the license holder by certified​

4.34 mail or personal service. The notice must state why the licensed beds are reduced and must​

4​Sec. 37.​
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5.1 inform the license holder of its right to request reconsideration by the commissioner. The​

5.2 license holder's request for reconsideration must be in writing. If mailed, the request for​

5.3 reconsideration must be postmarked and sent to the commissioner within 20 calendar days​

5.4 after the license holder's receipt of the notice of reduction of licensed beds. If a request for​

5.5 reconsideration is made by personal service, it must be received by the commissioner within​

5.6 20 calendar days after the license holder's receipt of the notice of reduction of licensed beds.​

5.7 (j) The commissioner shall not issue an initial license for children's residential treatment​

5.8 services licensed under Minnesota Rules, parts 2960.0580 to 2960.0700, under this chapter​

5.9 for a program that Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services would consider an institution​

5.10 for mental diseases. Facilities that serve only private pay clients are exempt from the​

5.11 moratorium described in this paragraph. The commissioner has the authority to manage​

5.12 existing statewide capacity for children's residential treatment services subject to the​

5.13 moratorium under this paragraph and may issue an initial license for such facilities if the​

5.14 initial license would not increase the statewide capacity for children's residential treatment​

5.15 services subject to the moratorium under this paragraph."​

5.16 Page 171, after line 11, insert:​

5.17 "Sec. 39. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 245A.04, subdivision 4, is amended​

5.18 to read:​

5.19 Subd. 4. Inspections; waiver. (a) Before issuing a license under this chapter, the​

5.20 commissioner shall conduct an inspection of the program. The inspection must include but​

5.21 is not limited to:​

5.22 (1) an inspection of the physical plant;​

5.23 (2) an inspection of records and documents;​

5.24 (3) observation of the program in operation; and​

5.25 (4) an inspection for the health, safety, and fire standards in licensing requirements for​

5.26 a child care license holder.​

5.27 (b) The observation in paragraph (a), clause (3), is not required prior to issuing a license​

5.28 under subdivision 7. If the commissioner issues a license under this chapter, these​

5.29 requirements must be completed within one year after the issuance of the license.​

5.30 (c) Before completing a licensing inspection in a family child care program or child care​

5.31 center, the licensing agency must offer the license holder an exit interview to discuss​

5.32 violations or potential violations of law or rule observed during the inspection and offer​

5​Sec. 39.​
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6.1 technical assistance on how to comply with applicable laws and rules. The commissioner​

6.2 shall not issue a correction order or negative licensing action for violations of law or rule​

6.3 not discussed in an exit interview, unless a license holder chooses not to participate in an​

6.4 exit interview or not to complete the exit interview. If the license holder is unable to complete​

6.5 the exit interview, the licensing agency must offer an alternate time for the license holder​

6.6 to complete the exit interview.​

6.7 (d) If a family child care license holder disputes a county licensor's interpretation of a​

6.8 licensing requirement during a licensing inspection or exit interview, the license holder​

6.9 may, within five business days after the exit interview or licensing inspection, request​

6.10 clarification from the commissioner, in writing, in a manner prescribed by the commissioner.​

6.11 The license holder's request must describe the county licensor's interpretation of the licensing​

6.12 requirement at issue, and explain why the license holder believes the county licensor's​

6.13 interpretation is inaccurate. The commissioner and the county must include the license​

6.14 holder in all correspondence regarding the disputed interpretation, and must provide an​

6.15 opportunity for the license holder to contribute relevant information that may impact the​

6.16 commissioner's decision. The county licensor must not issue a correction order related to​

6.17 the disputed licensing requirement until the commissioner has provided clarification to the​

6.18 license holder about the licensing requirement.​

6.19 (e) The commissioner or the county shall inspect at least once each calendar year a child​

6.20 care provider licensed under this chapter and Minnesota Rules, chapter 9502 or 9503, for​

6.21 compliance with applicable licensing standards.​

6.22 (f) No later than November 19, 2017, the commissioner shall make publicly available​

6.23 on the department's website the results of inspection reports of all child care providers​

6.24 licensed under this chapter and under Minnesota Rules, chapter 9502 or 9503, and the​

6.25 number of deaths, serious injuries, and instances of substantiated child maltreatment that​

6.26 occurred in licensed child care settings each year."​

6.27 Page 189, line 13, strike "Except for child foster care," and after "a" insert "children's"​

6.28 Page 194, line 30, strike "245A.1435" and insert "142B.46"​

6.29 Page 196, line 29, strike "and private"​

6.30 Page 196, line 30, strike "agencies" and strike "or licensed"​

6.31 Page 197, line 22, strike "245A.1435" and insert "142B.46"​

6.32 Page 198, line 17, strike "and"​

6.33 Page 198, line 18, strike "private"​
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7.1 Page 198, lines 28 and 31, strike "or private"​

7.2 Page 199, lines 5 and 6, strike "and private"​

7.3 Page 204, after line 11, insert:​

7.4 "Sec. 73. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 245A.66, subdivision 4, is amended​

7.5 to read:​

7.6 Subd. 4. Ongoing training requirement. (a) In addition to the orientation training​

7.7 required by the applicable licensing rules and statutes, children's residential facility and​

7.8 private child-placing agency license holders must provide a training annually on the​

7.9 maltreatment of minors reporting requirements and definitions in chapter 260E to each​

7.10 mandatory reporter, as described in section 260E.06, subdivision 1.​

7.11 (b) In addition to the orientation training required by the applicable licensing rules and​

7.12 statutes, all family child foster care license holders and caregivers and foster residence​

7.13 setting staff and volunteers that are mandatory reporters as described in section 260E.06,​

7.14 subdivision 1, must complete training each year on the maltreatment of minors reporting​

7.15 requirements and definitions in chapter 260E."​

7.16 Page 204, after line 19, insert:​

142B.01, subdivision 23"​7.17 "245A.02, subdivision 12​

7.18 Page 213, line 30, delete "education or" and after "families" insert "for children from​

7.19 birth through age two and by the rules of the commissioner of education for all other children"​

7.20 Page 214, line 5, delete "to" and insert "through"​

7.21 Page 214, line 6, after "addition" insert "to subdivision 1"​

7.22 Page 214, line 8, delete "education or" and after "families" insert "for children from birth​

7.23 through age two and by the rules of the commissioner of education for children ages three​

7.24 through seven"​

7.25 Page 214, after line 10, insert:​

7.26 "Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 125A.02, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

7.27 Subd. 2. Not a child with a disability. A child with a short-term or temporary physical​

7.28 or emotional illness or disability, as determined by the rules of the commissioner of children,​

7.29 youth, and families for children from birth through age two and by the rules of the​

7.30 commissioner of education for all other children, is not a child with a disability."​

7​Sec. 15.​
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8.1 Page 214, line 13, strike "17" and insert "18"​

8.2 Page 214, line 14, strike "25" and insert "26"​

8.3 Page 214, line 17, strike "Education" and insert "Children, Youth, and Families"​

8.4 Page 214, line 27, after the fourth comma, insert "and children, youth, and families,"​

8.5 Page 300, after line 21, insert:​

8.6 "Sec. 67. EXECUTIVE AGENCIES' PRINTED AND ONLINE MATERIALS AND​

8.7 INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY SYSTEMS.​

8.8 (a) Executive agencies are not required to immediately replace existing printed material​

8.9 only to reflect changed statute numbers in this act and may do so when current printed​

8.10 material is replaced and new printed material is obtained in the normal course of business.​

8.11 (b) Executive agencies are not required to immediately edit online cross-references only​

8.12 to reflect changed statute numbers in this act and may do so when online documents,​

8.13 information technology systems, and websites are edited in the normal course of business."​

8.14 Renumber the sections in sequence​

8.15 Correct the title numbers accordingly​

8​Sec. 67.​
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