
1.1 .................... moves to amend H.F. No. 2397 as follows:​

1.2 Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:​

1.3 "Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 13.461, subdivision 28, is amended to read:​

1.4 Subd. 28. Child care assistance program. Data collected, maintained, used, or​

1.5 disseminated by the welfare system pertaining to persons selected as legal nonlicensed child​

1.6 care providers by families receiving child care assistance are classified under section 119B.02,​

1.7 subdivision 6, paragraph (a). Child care assistance program payment data is classified under​

1.8 section 119B.02, subdivision 6, paragraph (b).​

1.9 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

1.10 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 119B.02, subdivision 6, is amended to read:​

1.11 Subd. 6. Data. (a) Data collected, maintained, used, or disseminated by the welfare​

1.12 system pertaining to persons selected as legal nonlicensed child care providers by families​

1.13 receiving child care assistance shall be treated as licensing data as provided in section 13.46,​

1.14 subdivision 4.​

1.15 (b) For purposes of this paragraph, "child care assistance program payment data" means​

1.16 data for a specified time period showing (1) that a child care assistance program payment​

1.17 under this chapter was made, and (2) the amount of child care assistance payments made​

1.18 to a child care center. Child care assistance program payment data may include the number​

1.19 of families and children on whose behalf payments were made for the specified time period.​

1.20 Any child care assistance program payment data that may identify a specific child care​

1.21 assistance recipient or benefit paid on behalf of a specific child care assistance recipient,​

1.22 as determined by the commissioner, is private data on individuals as defined in section​

1.23 13.02, subdivision 12. Data related to a child care assistance payment is public if the data​
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2.1 relates to a child care assistance payment made to a licensed child care center or a child​

2.2 care center exempt from licensure and:​

2.3 (1) the child care center receives payment of more than $100,000 from the child care​

2.4 assistance program under this chapter in a period of one year or less; or​

2.5 (2) when the commissioner or county agency either:​

2.6 (i) disqualified the center from receipt of a payment from the child care assistance​

2.7 program under this chapter for wrongfully obtaining child care assistance under section​

2.8 256.98, subdivision 8, paragraph (c);​

2.9 (ii) refused a child care authorization, revoked a child care authorization, stopped​

2.10 payment, or denied payment for a bill for the center under section 119B.13, subdivision 6,​

2.11 paragraph (d); or​

2.12 (iii) made a finding of financial misconduct under section 245E.02.​

2.13 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

2.14 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 518A.53, subdivision 11, is amended to read:​

2.15 Subd. 11. Lump-sum payments. Before transmittal to the obligor of a lump-sum payment​

2.16 of $500 or more including, but not limited to, severance pay, accumulated sick pay, vacation​

2.17 pay, bonuses, commissions, or other pay or benefits, a payor of funds:​

2.18 (1) who has been served with an order for or notice of income withholding under this​

2.19 section shall:​

2.20 (i) notify the public authority of the lump-sum payment that is to be paid to the obligor;​

2.21 (ii) hold the lump-sum payment for 30 days after the date on which the lump-sum payment​

2.22 would otherwise have been paid to the obligor, notwithstanding sections 176.221, 176.225,​

2.23 176.521, 181.08, 181.101, 181.11, 181.13, and 181.145; and​

2.24 (iii) upon order of the court, and after a showing of past willful nonpayment of support,​

2.25 pay any specified amount of the lump-sum payment to the public authority for future support;​

2.26 or​

2.27 (2) shall pay the lessor of the amount of the lump-sum payment or the total amount of​

2.28 the judgment and arrearages upon service by United States mail of a sworn affidavit from​

2.29 the public authority or a court order that includes the following information:​

2.30 (i) that a judgment entered pursuant to section 548.091, subdivision 1a, exists against​

2.31 the obligor, or that other support arrearages exist;​
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3.1 (ii) the current balance of the judgment or arrearage; and​

3.2 (iii) that a portion of the judgment or arrearage remains unpaid.​

3.3 The Consumer Credit Protection Act, title 15 of the United States Code, section 1673(b),​

3.4 does not apply to lump-sum payments.​

3.5 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 518A.685, is amended to read:​

3.6 518A.685 CONSUMER REPORTING AGENCY; REPORTING ARREARS.​

3.7 (a) If a public authority determines that an obligor has not paid the current monthly​

3.8 support obligation plus any required arrearage payment for three months, the public authority​

3.9 must report this information to a consumer reporting agency.​

3.10 (b) Before reporting that an obligor is in arrears for court-ordered child support, the​

3.11 public authority must:​

3.12 (1) provide written notice to the obligor that the public authority intends to report the​

3.13 arrears to a consumer reporting agency; and​

3.14 (2) mail the written notice to the obligor's last known mailing address at least 30 days​

3.15 before the public authority reports the arrears to a consumer reporting agency.​

3.16 (c) The obligor may, within 21 days of receipt of the notice, do the following to prevent​

3.17 the public authority from reporting the arrears to a consumer reporting agency:​

3.18 (1) pay the arrears in full; or​

3.19 (2) request an administrative review. An administrative review is limited to issues of​

3.20 mistaken identity, a pending legal action involving the arrears, or an incorrect arrears balance.​

3.21 (d) If the public authority has reported that an obligor is in arrears for court-ordered​

3.22 child support and subsequently determines that the obligor has paid the court-ordered child​

3.23 support arrears in full, or is paying the current monthly support obligation plus any required​

3.24 arrearage payment, the public authority must report to the consumer reporting agency that​

3.25 the obligor is currently paying child support as ordered by the court.​

3.26 (e) (d) A public authority that reports arrearage information under this section must​

3.27 make monthly reports to a consumer reporting agency. The monthly report must be consistent​

3.28 with credit reporting industry standards for child support.​

3.29 (f) (e) For purposes of this section, "consumer reporting agency" has the meaning given​

3.30 in section 13C.001, subdivision 4, and United States Code, title 15, section 1681a(f).​
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4.1 Sec. 5. [518A.80] MOTION TO TRANSFER TO TRIBAL COURT.​

4.2 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the terms defined in this​

4.3 subdivision have the meanings given them.​

4.4 (b) "Case participant" means a party to the case that is a natural person.​

4.5 (c) "District court" means a district court of the state of Minnesota.​

4.6 (d) "Party" means a person or entity named or admitted as a party or seeking to be​

4.7 admitted as a party in the district court action, including the county IV-D agency, whether​

4.8 or not named in the caption.​

4.9 (e) "Tribal court" means a tribal court of a federally recognized Indian tribe located in​

4.10 Minnesota that is receiving funding from the federal government to operate a child support​

4.11 program under United States Code, title 42, chapter 7, subchapter IV, part D, sections 654​

4.12 to 669b.​

4.13 (f) "Tribal IV-D agency" has the meaning given to "tribal IV-D agency" in Code of​

4.14 Federal Regulations, title 45, part 309.05.​

4.15 (g) "Title IV-D child support case" has the meaning given to "IV-D case" in section​

4.16 518A.26, subdivision 10.​

4.17 Subd. 2. Actions eligible for transfer. For purposes of this section, a postjudgment​

4.18 child support, custody, or parenting time action is eligible for transfer to tribal court. A child​

4.19 protection action or a dissolution action involving a child is not eligible for transfer to tribal​

4.20 court pursuant to this section.​

4.21 Subd. 3. Motion to transfer. (a) A party's or tribal IV-D agency's motion to transfer to​

4.22 tribal court shall state and allege:​

4.23 (1) the address of each case participant;​

4.24 (2) the tribal affiliation of each case participant, if any;​

4.25 (3) the name, tribal affiliation, if any, and date of birth of each living minor or dependent​

4.26 child of a case participant who is subject to the action; and​

4.27 (4) the legal and factual basis for the court to make a finding that there is concurrent​

4.28 jurisdiction in the case.​

4.29 (b) A party or tribal IV-D agency bringing a motion to transfer to tribal court must file​

4.30 with the court and serve the required documents on each party and the tribal IV-D agency,​

4.31 regardless of whether the tribal IV-D agency is a party.​
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5.1 (c) A party's or tribal IV-D agency's motion to transfer must be accompanied by an​

5.2 affidavit setting forth facts in support of its motion.​

5.3 (d) When a motion to transfer is not brought by the tribal IV-D agency, an affidavit of​

5.4 the tribal IV-D agency stating whether the tribal IV-D agency provides services to a party​

5.5 must be filed and served on each party within 15 days from the date of service of the motion.​

5.6 Subd. 4. Order to transfer to tribal court. (a) Unless a hearing is held under subdivision​

5.7 6, upon motion of a party or a tribal IV-D agency, a district court must transfer a​

5.8 postjudgment child support, custody, or parenting time action to a tribal court when the​

5.9 district court finds:​

5.10 (1) the district court and tribal court have concurrent jurisdiction;​

5.11 (2) a case participant is receiving services from the tribal IV-D agency; and​

5.12 (3) no party or tribal IV-D agency files and serves a timely objection to the transfer.​

5.13 (b) When the requirements of this subdivision are satisfied, the district court is not​

5.14 required to hold a hearing. The district court's order transferring the action to tribal court​

5.15 must contain written findings on each requirement of this subdivision.​

5.16 Subd. 5. Objection to motion to transfer. (a) To object to a motion to transfer to a​

5.17 tribal court, a party or tribal IV-D agency must file with the court and serve on each party​

5.18 and the tribal IV-D agency a responsive motion objecting to the motion to transfer within​

5.19 30 days from the date of service of the motion to transfer.​

5.20 (b) If a party or tribal IV-D agency files with the court and properly serves a timely​

5.21 objection to the motion to transfer to a tribal court, the district court must conduct a hearing.​

5.22 Subd. 6. Hearing. If a hearing is held under this section, the district court must evaluate​

5.23 and make written findings on all relevant factors, including:​

5.24 (1) whether an issue requires interpretation of tribal law, including the tribal constitution,​

5.25 statutes, bylaws, ordinances, resolutions, treaties, or case law;​

5.26 (2) whether the action involves tribal traditional or cultural matters;​

5.27 (3) whether the tribe is a party;​

5.28 (4) whether tribal sovereignty, jurisdiction, or territory is an issue;​

5.29 (5) the tribal membership status of each case participant;​

5.30 (6) where the claim arises;​

5.31 (7) the location of the residence of each case participant and the child;​
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6.1 (8) whether the parties have by contract chosen a forum or the law to be applied in the​

6.2 event of a dispute;​

6.3 (9) the timing of any motion to transfer to tribal court, considering each party's and the​

6.4 court's expenditure of time and resources, and the district court's scheduling order;​

6.5 (10) the court in which the action can be heard and decided most expeditiously;​

6.6 (11) the burdens on each party, including cost, access to and admissibility of evidence,​

6.7 and matters of procedure; and​

6.8 (12) any other factor the court determines relevant.​

6.9 Subd. 7. Future exercise of jurisdiction. Nothing in this section shall be construed to​

6.10 limit the district court's exercise of jurisdiction where the tribal court waives jurisdiction,​

6.11 transfers the action back to district court, or otherwise declines to exercise jurisdiction over​

6.12 the action.​

6.13 Subd. 8. Transfer to Red Lake Nation Tribal Court. When a party or tribal IV-D​

6.14 agency brings a motion to transfer to the Red Lake Nation Tribal Court, the court must​

6.15 transfer the action if the case participants and child resided within the boundaries of the​

6.16 Red Lake Reservation for the preceding six months.​

6.17 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment."​

6.18 Amend the title accordingly​
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