Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Bill to join Psychology Interjurisdictional Compact going to the governor

There’s a shortage of psychologist and mental health providers in Minnesota and one way lawmakers are aiming to address the issue is by joining the Psychology Interjurisdictional Compact.

On a 133-0 vote, the House passed the conference committee report on HF269/SF193*. Passed unanimously by the Senate earlier in the day, it will now head to Gov. Tim Walz.

Sponsored by Rep. Kelly Morrison (DFL-Deephaven) and Sen. Michelle Benson (R-Ham Lake), the bill would allow Minnesota to join the interstate compact, which would increase access to care by allowing licensed psychologists to provide telepsychology services, or temporary, in-person psychological services in other compact member states without having to become licensed in those states.

Additionally, psychologists licensed in other member states could practice in Minnesota without being licensed by the Board of Psychology.

“We don’t have enough psychologists in Minnesota now to meet those needs and without PSYPACT and psychologists from other compact states, we won’t be able to fill the need for over a decade,” Morrison said. “It takes a student entering college many years of study before becoming a fully licensed psychologist.”

The bill could also improve continuity of care by allowing Minnesota psychologists to continue working with patients who, for example, move out of state for college, serve in the military and are highly mobile, or live in other states part of the year.

In addition to providing continuity of care for people who travel or relocate, the bill aims to:

  • improve access to care in underserved or geographically isolated communities;
  • promote cooperation between states regarding regulation and licensure;
  • improve consumer protection across state lines; and
  • decrease the logistical burden for psychologists.

Related Articles

Priority Dailies

Lawmakers and omnibus bills: A love-hate relationship
Finally, spring is in the air, heralded by early blooming flowers popping out of the ground to bring relief to winter-weary souls. Springtime at the Capitol is also the seas...
State’s projected budget surplus swells to $9.25 billion
What was expected in November to be a $7.7 billion General Fund surplus is now up to $9.253 billion for the current biennium, according to an updated budget forecast.

Minnesota House on Twitter