Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Minnesota Legislature

Tougher penalties for texting while driving get transportation panel’s OK

Tom Goeltz testifies as his wife Wendy holds a photo of their daughter, Megan in the House transportation division. They spoke in support of HF104, a bill that would increase penalties for electronic messaging while driving. Photo by Paul Battaglia

State lawmakers have already passed a proposed ban on using mobile devices behind the wheel without a hands-free device this session. Now, another bill advancing in the House could increase penalties on those who text and drive.

Rep. Bob Dettmer (R-Forest Lake) proposes to increase fines for using a wireless communication device to text message while operating a motor vehicle. His bill, HF104, would also add negligent driving while using a cellphone — if not using a hands-free setting — to criminal vehicular homicide and operations statutes.

“This [legislation] will make roads safer,” Dettmer said.

House panel approves bill increase penalties for texting while driving 3/26/19

Approved, as amended, Tuesday by the House Transportation Finance and Policy Division, the bill was re-referred to the House Ways and Means Committee.

Sen. Dave Osmek (R-Mound) sponsors a companion, SF75, which awaits action on the Senate Floor.

Tom Goeltz, whose pregnant daughter, Megan, was hit and killed by a distracted driver, told lawmakers that the state’s current penalties are “laughable.” Dettmer’s bill would establish that the violation is a misdemeanor and impose the following, higher fines:

  • $150 for a first offense;
  • $300 for a second offense; and,
  • $500 for a third or subsequent offense.

House lawmakers earlier this month passed HF50, which would bar drivers from holding a cellphone or other wireless communication device while operating a motor vehicle by requiring the use of hands-free devices. That bill, however, didn’t address increasing penalties for texting behind the wheel on Minnesota roadways.

The state’s current penalties aren’t enough of a deterrent, Goeltz said. The distracted driver who struck and killed his daughter pleaded guilty to just one count of reckless driving.

“I should be holding a two-and-a-half-year-old grandson rather than talking to you,” Goeltz said.


Related Articles


Priority Dailies

House DFL outlines $47.8 billion 2020-21 spending proposal
The plan, dubbed the “Minnesota Values Budget,” would increase spending by $416.9 million over the 2020-21 biennium’s projected base budget.
Budget forecast: Projected surplus drops by almost $500 million, still tops $1 billion
The state has a $1.05 billion projected budget surplus for the upcoming biennium, Minnesota Management and Budget officials announced Thursday.
Walz budget would raise gas tax, emphasize education, health care
Education, health care and community prosperity are key targets for funding in the 2020-21 biennial budget proposed by Gov. Tim Walz.
Committee deadlines for 2019 unveiled
Legislators and the public officially know the timeline for getting bills through the committee process.

Minnesota House on Twitter