Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Minnesota Legislature

House committees, schedule and chairs announced for 2019-20 biennium

The House will have 34 committees, subcommittees or divisions in the 2019-20 biennium. House Photography file photo.

The framework for the 2019 legislative session took shape Wednesday as House DFL leaders announced the committee structure, chairs and the schedule lawmakers will follow when they convene Jan. 8, 2019.

House Speaker-designate Melissa Hortman (DFL-Brooklyn Park) said in a release the committee structure would allow greater efficiency in some areas while providing greater focus on others.

“We’ve streamlined the committee structure by creating fewer stops for bills in the areas of agriculture, transportation, and civil law,” Hortman said. "We’re also creating committees to give attention to issues that affect Minnesotans’ lives but which have not received enough consideration previously, adding finance committees in the areas of Energy and Climate, Housing, Greater Minnesota Jobs and Economic Development, and Criminal Justice Reform.”

Under the new structure, the House will have 34 committees, subcommittees or divisions – an increase from the 29 currently in place. Committee membership is expected to be named in December.

Current House Speaker Kurt Daudt (R-Crown) is not supportive of the changes.

"It is no surprise that one of Democrats' first moves is to make the legislature less transparent and less accessible to everyday Minnesotans," he said in a statement. "They are growing the committee structure by 30 percent, primarily by adding committees that cater to their activist base and special interests, and their new division structure will make it difficult for citizens to follow bills they care about. Nevertheless, our caucus will stand up for Minnesotans and work to make their voices heard."

The weekly schedule will remain largely the same, with blocks of two morning meetings on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday; two afternoon meetings on Tuesday and Wednesday; and one afternoon meeting Thursday. Meetings will begin at 8 a.m. on those days, however, 15 minutes earlier than during the previous biennium, and are scheduled to last 90 minutes.

There will also be one block of meetings scheduled for Monday afternoon, beginning at 12:45 p.m. There are no regularly scheduled meetings on Friday.

Floor sessions will be held Mondays and Thursdays, beginning at 3:30 p.m. both days.

Legislative reform

Hortman also called for reforming the legislative process after “the legislative failures of the past four years” and praised Rep. Gene Pelowski Jr. (DFL-Winona) who will chair a newly created Subcommittee on Legislative Process Reform.

“I’m especially grateful to Representative Gene Pelowski for his willingness to serve Minnesotans by heading up our efforts to implement legislative process reforms,” Hortman said. “I am hopeful the Minnesota Senate will partner with us to make the legislature more efficient, effective, and transparent.”

Hortman said the DFL, and the new committee chairs, represent all areas of the state and the new committee structure and membership “will serve the interests of all Minnesotans as we consider legislation to build a Minnesota that works better for everyone.”


Related Articles

Priority Dailies

State Fair poll shows steady support for gun sale background checks, recreational marijuana
Support for criminal background checks on all gun sales and the legalization of marijuana for recreational use appears to have remained steady among Minnesotans during the past 12 months.
Governor signs special session budget bills into law
One week after a marathon special session that saw lawmakers pass most of the major budget bills needed to fund the state’s government over the next two years, Gov. Tim Walz signed the legislation into law.
After sunrise, the sun sets on 2019 special session
It took a grueling special session that stretched past sunrise, but Minnesota lawmakers completed their work early Saturday morning on passing a new two-year state budget.
House DFL outlines $47.8 billion 2020-21 spending proposal
The plan, dubbed the “Minnesota Values Budget,” would increase spending by $416.9 million over the 2020-21 biennium’s projected base budget.
Budget forecast: Projected surplus drops by almost $500 million, still tops $1 billion
The state has a $1.05 billion projected budget surplus for the upcoming biennium, Minnesota Management and Budget officials announced Thursday.
Walz budget would raise gas tax, emphasize education, health care
Education, health care and community prosperity are key targets for funding in the 2020-21 biennial budget proposed by Gov. Tim Walz.
Committee deadlines for 2019 unveiled
Legislators and the public officially know the timeline for getting bills through the committee process.

Minnesota House on Twitter