Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Minnesota Legislature

Strong suburban showing puts DFL in control of House

House Photography file photo

The DFL will control the Minnesota House of Representatives in the 2019-20 biennium.

Winning a number of key races in the Twin Cities suburbs, the DFL picked up 18 seats in Tuesday's elections and will hold a 75-59 advantage when the House convenes Jan. 8, 2019.

The DFL last controlled the House during the 2013-14 biennium.

Much of the change occurred in the Twin Cities suburbs, especially near and just off the Interstate 494-694 corridor, where DFL candidates beat incumbent Republicans in places like Burnsville, Eden Prairie, Edina, Lakeville, Plymouth, Rosemount, Stillwater and Woodbury.

Three races were within 250 votes: Rep.-elect Carlie Kotyza-Witthuhn (DFL-Eden Prairie) beat Rep. Jenifer Loon (R-Eden Prairie) by 241 votes with 20,577 votes cast; Rep.-elect Kelly Morrison (DFL-Deephaven) beat Rep. Cindy Pugh (R-Chanhassen) by 216 votes with 23,372 cast; and Rep.-elect Shelly Christensen (DFL-Stillwater) beat Rep. Kathy Lohmer (R-Stillwater) by 137 votes in a race where 22,630 votes were cast.

[MORE Election Day 2018 photo gallery]

In northern Minnesota, former DFL House member John Persell edged Rep. Matt Bliss (R-Pennington) by eight votes in District 5A. There were 16,903 votes cast in the race — including seven write-ins.

Per state law, "A publicly funded recount of the results of an election for a state legislative office may occur if the difference in the number of votes cast for the apparent winning candidate and any other candidate is less than one-half of 1 percent (0.5 percent)."

Election results are not official until they have been certified by the state canvassing board. That is scheduled to occur Nov. 27.

A directory of 2019-20 members-elect is now available online.

Office numbers and committee assignments for the 2019-20 House will be determined in coming weeks by the incoming majority.


New House members (some who served previously) of the 2019-20 Legislature, by district:

Rep.-elect John Persell (DFL-Bemidji)

Rep.-elect Dave Lislegard (DFL-Aurora)

Rep.-elect Lisa Demuth (R-Cold Spring)

Rep.-elect Dan Wolgamott (DFL-St. Cloud)

Rep.-elect Shane Mekeland (R-Clear Lake)

Rep.-elect Jeff Brand (DFL-St. Peter)

Rep.-elect Todd Lippert (DFL-Northfield)

Rep.-elect Kelly Morrison (DFL-Deephaven)

Rep.-elect Kristin Robbins (R-Maple Grove)

Rep.-elect Kristin Bahner (DFL-Maple Grove)

Rep.-elect John Heinrich (R-Anoka)

Rep.-elect Zack Stephenson (DFL- Coon Rapids)

Rep.-elect Ami Wazlawik (DFL-White Bear Township)

Rep.-elect Shelly Christensen (DFL-Stillwater)

Rep.-elect Samantha Vang (DFL-Brooklyn Center)

Rep.-elect Kelly Moller (DFL-Shoreview)

Rep.-elect Ginny Klevorn (DFL-Plymouth)

Rep.-elect Patty Acomb (DFL-Minnetonka)

Rep.-elect Ryan Winkler (DFL-Golden Valley)

Rep.-elect Greg Boe (R-Chaska)

Rep.-elect Carlie Kotyza-Witthuhn (DFL-Eden Prairie) 

Rep.-elect Heather Edelson (DFL-Edina)  

Rep.-elect Steve Elkins (DFL-Bloomington) 

Rep.-elect Michael Howard (DFL-Richfield)

Rep.-elect Ruth Richardson (DFL-Mendota Heights)

Rep.-elect Tou Xiong (DFL-Maplewood)

Rep.-elect Steve Sandell (DFL-Woodbury)

Rep.-elect Anne Claflin (DFL-South St. Paul)

Rep.-elect Brad Tabke (DFL-Shakopee)

Rep.-elect Hunter Cantrell (DFL-Savage)

Rep.-elect Alice Mann (DFL-Lakeville)

Rep.-elect Robert Bierman (DFL-Apple Valley)

Rep.-elect John Huot (DFL-Rosemount)

Rep.-elect Mohamud Noor (DFL-Mpls)

Rep.-elect Jamie Long (DFL-Mpls)

Rep.-elect Hodan Hassan (DFL-Mpls)

Rep.-elect Aisha Gomez (DFL-Mpls)

Rep.-elect Kaohly Her (DFL-St. Paul)

Rep.-elect Jay Xiong (DFL-St. Paul)

Related Articles

Priority Dailies

House DFL outlines $47.8 billion 2020-21 spending proposal
The plan, dubbed the “Minnesota Values Budget,” would increase spending by $416.9 million over the 2020-21 biennium’s projected base budget.
Budget forecast: Projected surplus drops by almost $500 million, still tops $1 billion
The state has a $1.05 billion projected budget surplus for the upcoming biennium, Minnesota Management and Budget officials announced Thursday.
Walz budget would raise gas tax, emphasize education, health care
Education, health care and community prosperity are key targets for funding in the 2020-21 biennial budget proposed by Gov. Tim Walz.
Committee deadlines for 2019 unveiled
Legislators and the public officially know the timeline for getting bills through the committee process.

Minnesota House on Twitter