Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Minnesota Legislature

New laws take effect Aug. 1

The State Capitol pictured on July 17. Photo by Paul Battaglia

Come Aug. 1, if your pet isn’t a service animal don’t try passing it off as one.

That day sees a wave of new state laws take effect, including one that makes it a crime to knowingly misrepresent an animal as an assistance animal in a public place in order to obtain rights or privileges available to someone who qualifies for a service animal.

Other new laws passed during the 2018 session that take effect Aug. 1 include those that close a DWI loophole for snowmobile and ATV use; broaden Minnesota’s law requiring motorists move over for emergency vehicles on the side of the highway; and, codify the state’s $850 million settlement with 3M over perfluorochemical contamination of drinking water.

Read more about new laws taking effect this month here and find information on all 2018 news laws here.


Related Articles


Priority Dailies

House DFL outlines $47.8 billion 2020-21 spending proposal
The plan, dubbed the “Minnesota Values Budget,” would increase spending by $416.9 million over the 2020-21 biennium’s projected base budget.
Budget forecast: Projected surplus drops by almost $500 million, still tops $1 billion
The state has a $1.05 billion projected budget surplus for the upcoming biennium, Minnesota Management and Budget officials announced Thursday.
Walz budget would raise gas tax, emphasize education, health care
Education, health care and community prosperity are key targets for funding in the 2020-21 biennial budget proposed by Gov. Tim Walz.
Committee deadlines for 2019 unveiled
Legislators and the public officially know the timeline for getting bills through the committee process.

Minnesota House on Twitter