Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

2016 committee deadlines announced

The first 2016 committee deadline will be April 1.

The Legislature is scheduled to reconvene at noon on March 8. Legislators will have just over three weeks before the first committee deadline.

According to a memo from House Speaker Kurt Daudt (R-Crown) and Senate Majority Leader Tom Bakk (DFL-Cook), three committee deadlines for the 2016 session have been established:

  • April 1, committees must act favorably on bills in the house of origin;
  • April 8, committees must act favorably on bills, or companion bills, that met the first deadline in the other house; and
  • April 21, the House Ways and Means Committee and the Senate Finance Committee must act favorably on major appropriation and finance bills.

By law, legislators must adjourn this session by May 23.


Related Articles


Priority Dailies

Lawmakers and omnibus bills: A love-hate relationship
Finally, spring is in the air, heralded by early blooming flowers popping out of the ground to bring relief to winter-weary souls. Springtime at the Capitol is also the seas...
State’s projected budget surplus swells to $9.25 billion
What was expected in November to be a $7.7 billion General Fund surplus is now up to $9.253 billion for the current biennium, according to an updated budget forecast.

Minnesota House on Twitter