Minnesota House Image Map Navigation Banner Minnesota Senate Link Minnesota House of Representatives Link Joint Departments and Commissions Laws, Statutes, and Rules Legislation and Bill Status Links to the World Help Page Link Search Page Minnesota Legislature Home Page

State Representative
Marty Seifert

593 State Office Building, 100 Constitution Ave., St. Paul, MN 55155 (651) 296- 5374

For Immediate ReleaseFor more information contact:
May 14, 2001Stephanie Brand (651-296-2317)

ST. PAUL -- The barber shop bill authored by Representative Marty Seifert (R-Marshall) passed the House floor today on a vote of 117 to 11. "This bill will help barber shop owners reduce onerous regulations and simplify the process of licensure," said Seifert.

This bill requires that only one barber shop registration fee be charged for multiple barbers

operated by a single barber who is the sole barber in each shop. Under current law, both an initial registration fee and an annual renewal fee are charged by the board of barber examiners for each barber shop. The bill would provide that if a single barber has multiple shops where that barber is the only barber working, only one renewal fee would be charged to renew the registration of all the shops. Each shop would pay a separate initial fee, but there would be a single renewal fee.

As a result, the relief in fees for sole proprietors will allow them to control costs and reduce the likelihood of rate increases for haircuts. The issue was brought to Rep. Seifert's attention by Bean Bernardy who operates barber shops in Wanda, Lamberton and Wabasso.

The legislation has a companion bill that is sponsored in the Senate by Senator Vickerman.

Representative Marty Seifert is in his third term serving the citizens of District 21A. Seifert is the Lead Majority Whip, Vice Chair of the Rules & Legislative Administration committee and a member of the Education Policy, Higher Education Finance, Governmental Operations & Veterans Affairs and Redistricting committees. District 21A includes portions of Lyon, Redwood and Yellow Medicine Counties.