Minnesota House of Representatives
Public Information Services

Menu

Public Information Services Menu

Deal struck on minimum wage

By Sonja Hegman
Rep. Ryan Winkler answers a question at a Monday press conference where House and Senate leaders announced an agreement to raise the minimum wage to $9.50 over three years, and index it to inflation starting in 2018. Photo by Paul Battaglia

After months of negotiation, Minnesotans could see their minimum hourly wage go up now that a deal has been struck between the House and the Senate. A vote in both bodies is expected this week.

During a Monday press conference, House and Senate leadership laid out a new agreement that would increase the state’s hourly minimum wage to $9.50, phasing it in by 2016. It would also be indexed for inflation beginning in 2018. The state’s current minimum wage is $6.15 per hour, but most businesses use the federal $7.25 rate.

House/Senate DFL Press Conference

“This is a good day for hard-working Minnesotans and for a brighter economic future for our state,” said House Speaker Paul Thissen (DFL-Mpls). “There are too many Minnesotans who work hard every day but cannot make enough to make ends meet. This is about making sure Minnesotans can earn a wage they can raise a family on. That’s what this bill is about. No one should work 40 hours a week and still live in poverty.”

If passed, the bill would give more than 350,000 Minnesotans a raise. To make the agreement possible, a 40-hour work week for overtime and 12-week unpaid sick leave provisions were removed.

Representative Zellers Press Conference

“By raising the minimum wage to $9.50 and indexing it to inflation, we set a higher floor for all workers' wages, and ensure inflation does not erode those wages in the future,” Said Rep. Ryan Winkler (DFL-Golden Valley), who sponsors HF92 in the House

Lawmakers said the deal was not contingent on a plan to build a new $77 million legislative office building that would be used to house the Senate.

Details of the minimum wage agreement include:

  • $9.50 minimum hourly wage for businesses with gross sales over $500,000 in 2016 after increases to $8 in August 2014 and $8.50 in August 2015;
  • $7.75 minimum hourly wage for businesses under $500,000 in gross sales in 2016 after increases to $6.50 in August 2014 and $7.25 in August 2015;
  • the $7.75 minimum hourly wage rate would also apply for large businesses in the following circumstances: 90-day training wage for 18 and 19 year olds, all 16 and 17 year olds and employees working under a J1 visa;
  • beginning in 2018, all wages would increase each year on Jan. 1 by inflation measured by the implicit price deflator capped at 2.5 percent; and
  • the indexed increase could be suspended for one year by the commissioner of the Department of Labor and Industry if leading economic indicators indicate the possibility of a substantial downturn in the economy. The suspension could only be implemented after a public hearing and public comment period. In better economic times, the suspended inflationary increase or a lesser amount could be added back into the minimum wage rate in a subsequent year.

Search Session Daily

Priority Dailies

Clock runs out on the 2015 Legislature with some funding bills left in limbo

After 10 years of budget deficits, a projected nearly $2 billion surplus led to hopes of tax brea...

Recent Dailies

Lawmakers look back on efforts, ahead to likely special session

The new House Republican majority has had less than 48 hours to reflect on its work over the last...

Dayton says veto on education bill is imminent

With the 2015 legislative session just hours in the rear view mirror, Gov. Mark Dayton reiterated...

Session is over — Session Daily will be there when news from the House warrants

The regular 2015 legislative session concluded May 18, and the 2016 session is scheduled to conve...

Surplus: Unmet needs and high expectations lead to more problems

The chaos on the House Floor during the last minutes before Monday’s adjournment may have been in...

First-term members reflect on rollercoaster ride through first session

— Session Daily writers Sue Hegarty and Hank Long contributed to this story   For many House ...

House passes jobs and energy bill in final seconds of regular session

Over a loud outcry from DFL members, the House took up and passed a jobs and energy bill 75-9 Mon...

House repasses $540 million omnibus legacy bill, Senate does not

With minutes remaining in the 2015 legislative session, House lawmakers approved the plan to dist...

Omnibus state government finance bill passed by House, going to governor

Although not one of the larger budget bills, the House and Senate passed a nearly $974 million fu...

House repasses HHS policy bill without electronic records exemption

The House repassed the omnibus health and human services policy bill 133-1 Monday after accepting...

House repasses technical fixes to campaign finance law

A package of proposed technical changes to the state’s campaign finance laws are headed to the go...

State receivership of nursing homes bill heads to gov. with cannabis amendment

The state would be able to more quickly and effectively protect the welfare of nursing home resid...

Public Information Services  ·   175 State Office Building, Saint Paul, MN 55155   ·   Public.Information@house.mn