Minnesota House of Representatives


Representative Jim Abeler (R) District: 35A

Representative Jim Abeler

203 State Office Building
100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
Saint Paul, Minnesota 55155

E-mail: rep.jim.abeler@house.mn
Join my e-mail updates list for announcements.

Legislative Assistant: Andy Leer 651-296-5999

Committee Assignments

Republican-Lead: Health and Human Services Finance
Health and Human Services Policy
Ways and Means

Biographical Information

Home: Anoka 3400 Rum River Drive, 55303; 612-245-3764
Occupation: Chiropractor
Business: * Anoka; 600 E. Main St., 55303; 763-421-3722
Education: Hamline University; University of Minnesota, Twin Cities; D.C., chiropractic, Northwestern College of Chiropractic
Born: 5/18/54
Elected: 1998
Term: 8th

* Prefers interim mail at this address.


Jim Abeler: A Lifetime of Experience Serving Anoka County

• Married 32 years to Barb, 6 sons, 3 daughters-in-law, and 3 grandchildren

• Lifelong resident Anoka, Coon Rapids, Ramsey

• Elected to the Legislature in 1998

• Founder, PACT Charter School 1994

• Family chiropractic practice in Anoka since 1979

• Hamline University & U of M, biology/chemistry

• Northwestern College of Chiropractic, 1979

• Anoka High School Valedictorian, 1972 graduate

• Trustee, Parker College (Texas) 1992 - 2001

• National lecturer on pediatrics 1988 - 2001


Legislative Honors & Awards

Over the years of Rep. Abeler’s service, he has been honored to receive over three dozen awards recognizing his service to various groups and issues, including:

• 2011 Legislator of the Year - MN Community Health Center

• March of Dimes “Champion of Babies” 2012

• Anoka County Mental Wellness Campaign “Healthy Mind Healthy Body” Award

• Gillette Children’s Leadership Award

• MN Habilitation Coalition “Strategic Leadership” Award

• Lutheran Social Services “2011 Public Policy Champion”

• Cancer Action Network Special Advocate Award

• MN Counseling Association Leadership Award

• Legislator of the Year, National Alliance for the Mentally Ill

• Legislator of Distinction, League of Minnesota Cities

• MARCH Legislator of the Year

• ACCAP Governing Board of Directors Award

• Special Transportation Accessible Ridership Award

• Nonprofit Allies Award, MN Council of Nonprofits

• MN Home Care Association Legislator of the Year

• Special Appreciation Award, March of Dimes

• MN Farm Bureau Friend of Agriculture Award

• Representative of the Year, MN State College Student Association

• Legislator of the Year, MN School Social Workers Association

• Friend of EMS Award, MN Ambulance Association

• Outstanding Community Service Award, Hemophilia Association of MN/Dakotas

• Legislator of the Year, MN Commission Serving Deaf and Hard of Hearing People

• Mental Illness Advocacy Award, MN Psychiatric Society

• Guardian of Small Business, National Federation of Independent Business

• Elinor D. Hands Award, Brain Injury Association of MN

• Sierra Club Leadership Award

• ARC MN Legislator of the Year

Minnesota House of Representatives  ·   100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd. Saint Paul, MN   55155   ·   Webmaster@house.mn