

H.F. 3579

As amended by H3579DE3

Subject Compliance with Air Emission Regulations

Authors Lee, F.

Analyst Bob Eleff

Date February 28, 2024

Overview

H.F. 3579, as amended by the H3579DE3 amendment, requires certain facilities that emit air pollutants to make more frequent physical measurements of emissions to ensure the facility is complying with its permit, including following an emissions violation and major repair of pollution control equipment.

Summary

Section Description

1 [116.0718] Ensuring compliance with air emission limits.

Subd. 1. Definitions. Defines terms in the bill including "covered facility," (those subject to the bill's provisions) as either a major (large) source (there are about 250 in Minnesota) or a source with a state permit (120 facilities).

Subd. 2. Compliance determination protocol. Requires permits issued to covered facilities to contain a compliance determination protocol designed to minimize the length of time between physical measurements of a facility's pollution emissions. Allows the agency to employ any measuring methods it deems to be accurate.

Subd. 3. Reporting requirements. Requires a facility whose permit requires a facility to maintain records of parameters that serve as indirect measures of emissions – such as volumes of inputs that emit hazardous air pollutants, temperature or pressure readings of certain equipment – to be transmitted to the agency at least monthly. Requires a third party conducting any tests or measurements required by the permit to report the results to the agency at the same time they are reported to the facility.

Subd. 4. Performance tests; schedule. Requires certain covered facilities – those that are located within a mile of an environmental justice area, emit a toxic pollutant or a pollutant of high concern, and do not measure emissions by means of a Continuous Emissions Monitoring System – to test stack emissions annually. A covered facility that has exceeded an emissions limit in its permit must also

Section Description

conduct a test within 12 months of the exceedance. A covered facility whose pollution control equipment has undergone a major repair or replacement must conduct a test within 90 days of the equipment becoming operational.



Minnesota House Research Department provides nonpartisan legislative, legal, and information services to the Minnesota House of Representatives. This document can be made available in alternative formats.

www.house.mn.gov/hrd | 651-296-6753 | 155 State Office Building | St. Paul, MN 55155