

- Subject Modifying child care licensing requirements
- Authors Coulter
- Analyst Annie Mach
 - Date March 1, 2023

Overview

This bill modifies the circumstances under which the commissioner of human services may issue correction orders or conditional licenses to licensed child care centers and licensed family child care providers and expands the definition of "education" for purposes of determining an individual's qualifications for employment in a licensed child care center. The bill also directs the commissioner to develop and implement a standardized time line and standards of licensor conduct for inspections of licensed child care centers and licensed family child care providers and appropriates \$50,000 in onetime money for the purpose.

Summary

Section Description

1 Contents of correction orders and conditional licenses.

Amends § 245A.06, subdivision 1. Paragraph (a) clarifies that a correction order or conditional license must state the specific, factual conditions observed by a licensor that are in violation of a rule or law.

Paragraph (c) changes the circumstances under which the commissioner may issue a correction order or an order of conditional license to an applicant or license holder for a child care center or family child care. Directs the commissioner of human services to first provide technical assistance to an applicant or license holder that is not in compliance with a rule or law, provided the non-compliance does not endanger the health, safety, or rights of children in the program. If a subsequent inspection reveals that the applicant or license holder has not corrected the violation or has violated the same rule or law again, then the commissioner may issue a correction order or an order of conditional license.

The section is effective the day following final enactment.

Section Description

2 Direction to commissioner; standardized licensing visit time lines and requirements.

Directs the commissioner of human services to work with stakeholders to develop and implement a standardized time line and standards of licensor conduct for inspections of licensed child care centers and licensed family child care providers. Requires that the time line and standards are implemented by January 1, 2024.

3 Direction to commissioner; amending the definition of education.

Directs the commissioner of human services to expand the definition of "education" in rules governing licensed child care centers to include any accredited work from an accredited postsecondary institution that can be reasonably shown to be relevant to the skillset needed to meet the qualifications of a teacher.

4 Direction to commissioner; background study liaison.

Directs the commissioner of human services to assign a designated and permanent child care background study liaison within the department by August 1, 2023.

5 Appropriation; standardized licensing visit time lines.

Appropriates \$50,000 in fiscal year 2024 to the commissioner of human services to develop and implement a standardized time line and standards of licensor conduct for inspections of licensed child care centers and licensed family child care providers. This is a onetime appropriation.



Minnesota House Research Department provides nonpartisan legislative, legal, and information services to the Minnesota House of Representatives. This document can be made available in alternative formats.

www.house.mn/hrd | 651-296-6753 | 155 State Office Building | St. Paul, MN 55155