

DATE: February 19, 2008

FILE NUMBER:	H.F. 1189
Version:	First Engrossment
Authors:	Thissen and others
Subject:	Physical Therapist Licensure
Analyst:	Emily Cleveland, 651.296.5808

This publication can be made available in alternative formats upon request. Please call 651-296-6753 (voice); or the Minnesota State Relay Service at 1-800-627-3529 (TTY) for assistance. Summaries are also available on our website at: www.house.mn/hrd.

Overview

This bill makes changes to statutes governing licensure and prohibited conduct for physical therapists.

Section

- 1 Licensed health care professional or licensed health care provider. Amends § 148.65 by adding subdivision 8. Defines "licensed health care professional" or "licensed health care provider" as a person licensed to practice medicine, osteopathy, chiropractic, podiatry, dentistry, or advanced practice nursing.
- 2 Licenses; denial; suspension; revocation. Amends § 148.75. Alters the grounds for which a physical therapist's license may be denied, revoked, or suspended.
 - Extends the initial period of patient admittance for treatment from 30 to 90 days.
 - Permits physical therapists to continue to treat patients with an order or referral from certain advanced practice nurses.
 - Provides that the 90-day limitation on treatment does not apply to certain services provided by a physical therapist, including prevention, wellness, education, and exercise.
 - Removes the provision that prohibits physical therapists from treating a

H.F. 1189 Version: First Engrossment

Section

patient, without referral, without having first worked under a physician's orders for one year.

• Prohibits physical therapists licensed less than one year from treating a patient, without referral, without first having practiced for one year with an experienced physical therapist, or under a physician's orders.

States that a physical therapist may not be subject to disciplinary action if a patient refuses to comply with a referral, so long as the physical therapist documented the referral.

Makes other technical changes.

3 Prohibitions. Amends § 148.76, subd. 2. Extends the initial period of patient admittance for treatment from 30 to 90 days, and states that the 90-day limitation on treatment does not apply to certain services provided by a physical therapist, including prevention, wellness, education, and exercise.

States that no physical therapist licensed less than one year may treat patients, without referral, without first having practiced for one year with an experienced physical therapist, or under a physician's orders.

- **4 Board of Physical Therapy Report.** Requires the Board of Physical Therapy to the report to the legislature by January 15, 2010 as to any actions taken against physical therapists as a result of conduct that caused patient harm, provided that the conduct was permitted due to statutory changes in this bill.
- **5 Repealer.** Repeals Minnesota Rules, part 5601.0100, subparts 5, 6, 7, and 8 (definitions of "licensed health care professional," "initiation of treatment," "previously diagnosed condition," and "clinical experience").

Repeals Minnesota Rules, part 5601.1200 (physical therapists report to health care providers for periodic review).

Repeals Minnesota Rules, part 5601.1800 (initiation of treatment for a condition not previously diagnosed).

Repeals Minnesota Rules, part 5601.1900 (initiation of treatment for a previously diagnosed condition).