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Overview 

This bill imposes a low-wage compensation surtax on certain employers who fail 

to pay full-time equivalent employees a living wage. (The bill defines "living 

wage" as $14 per hour in 2005, to be annually adjusted for inflation.) Proceeds 

from the low-wage compensation surtax would be used to increase the amount of 

credits available under the Minnesota working family credit. 

Section   

1         Legislative findings; purpose. States legislative findings about the inadequacy of full-time 

employment at the minimum wage and the need for a living wage. Explains that employers 

who fail to adequately compensate employees burden Minnesota and its taxpayers. 

Concludes that an employer who does not pay all of its employees at least a living wage 

should cover at least one-third (to increase over time) of the cost imposed on taxpayers by 

the employer's failure to pay a living wage.  

2         Application of chapter (tax administration and compliance). Provides that the statutes 

regulating tax administration and compliance apply to the administration of sections 0to 0by 

the commissioner of revenue (commissioner).  

3         Low-wage compensation surtax adjustment. Provides that, for taxable years beginning 

after December 31, 2006, the amount of credits available under the Minnesota working 

family credit is annually increased as follows:  

 By September 1, 2007, and each subsequent year, the commissioner must determine 

the amount of proceeds of the low-wage compensation surtax imposed under section 
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0from the previous calendar year.  

 The commissioner must determine a uniform percentage increase in credits payable 

under the working family credit for the current taxable year as directed.  

 Credits payable under the working family credit for the current taxable year must be 

increased by the uniform percentage determined by the commissioner.  

4         Low-wage compensation surtax.  

Subd. 1. Definitions. Defines the following terms, for purposes of this section:  

 "Employer" means a person doing business in Minnesota who employs more than 

20 full-time equivalent employees in calendar years 2006, 2007, or 2008, more 

than 10 full-time equivalent employees in calendar years 2009, 2010, or 2011, 

and any number of persons in 2012 or thereafter.  

 "Living wage" means $14 per hour in 2005, adjusted for inflation in subsequent 

years, using the required methodology.  

Subd. 2. Imposition. Imposes a low-wage compensation surtax on employers who 

pay their Minnesota employees wages less than the living wage.  

Subd. 3. Rate of tax. Sets the tax rate for calendar years 2006 to 2011 at one-third the 

amount by which the hourly wage paid to each employee of an employer subject to 

this section is less than the living wage.  

Subd. 4. Start-up businesses. Exempts persons from this tax for the first three 

calendar years after the person begins to do business in Minnesota. Reduces the tax 

by two-thirds for businesses doing business in Minnesota for the fourth, fifth, or sixth 

calendar year. Reduces the tax by one-third for businesses doing business in 

Minnesota for the seventh, eighth, or ninth calendar year. Clarifies that this exemption 

for new businesses terminates in the first calendar year when a business begins to 

employ more than ten full-time equivalent employees in Minnesota.  

Subd. 5. Use of revenues. Requires the commissioner to deposit the proceeds of the 

low-wage compensation surtax in the general fund. Specifies that the amount of the 

tax shall be annually determined and shall be used to increase working family credits 

(see section 0).  

5         Returns; payments; authority of department.  

Subd. 1. Return; payment of tax; audit. Requires each employer required to pay the 

low-wage compensation surtax to file a return and remit the tax owed for wages paid 

during the preceding year on or before January 31 of each year. Specifies that the 

employer (and agents of the employer) are subject to the audit and enforcement 

provisions that apply to collections of the corporate franchise tax. Requires 

authentication of returns.  

Subd. 2. Information. Requires persons required to pay the low-wage compensation 

surtax to keep records, file statements, make returns, and comply with statutory 

provisions and rules regulating the surtax.  
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6         Administration; rules. Directs the department of revenue to:  

 administer and enforce the low-wage compensation surtax by applying statutory 

provisions for administration of the corporate franchise tax;  

 prepare and distribute forms and information necessary to administer the low-wage 

compensation surtax; and  

 adopt rules necessary and appropriate to administer and enforce the low-wage 

compensation surtax.  

7         Effective date. Makes sections 2 to 4 and section 6 effective for wages paid after December 

31, 2005. Makes section 3 effective for taxable years beginning after December 31, 2006.  

 


