## 

FILE NUMBER:	H.F. 1340
Version:	As Introduced
Authors:	Tingelstad
Subject:	Indian Affairs Council
Analyst:	Mark Shepard (651-296-5051)

**DATE:** March 8, 2005

This publication can be made available in alternative formats upon request. Please call 651-296-6753 (voice); or the Minnesota State Relay Service at 1-800-627-3529 (TTY) for assistance. Summaries are also available on our website at: www.house.mn/hrd.

## Overview

This bill adds the commissioner of transportation as an ex-officio, nonvoting member of the Indian Affairs Council.

Under current law, the council consists of the following:

- **13 voting members.** 11 are elected tribal chairs, specified in the law (Or their designees). Two are elected at-large by Indians who are Minnesota residents and are members of a federally recognized tribe that does not have a reservation in Minnesota.
- **16 non-voting members.** The non-voting members are the Governor and nine executive agency commissioners (or their designees), and three house members and three senators.