## 

FILE NUMBER:	H.F. 2136
Version:	First engrossment
Authors:	Holberg and others
Subject:	Metropolitan Radio Board
Analyst:	Jeanne LeFevre (296-5043)

**DATE:** March 17, 2004

This publication can be made available in alternative formats upon request. Please call 651-296-6753 (voice); or the Minnesota State Relay Service at 1-800-627-3529 (TTY) for assistance. Summaries are also available on our website at: www.house.mn/hrd.

## Overview

This bill makes various changes relating to governance of the Metropolitan Radio Board and bonding for the Board's projects. The bill also extends the sunset of the board until June 30, 2006.

## Section

1	Dakota County included. Includes Dakota County in the nine-county metropolitan area for
	purposes of the first phase of the public safety radio system. (Note: the exclusion of Dakota
	County from the list was probably an oversight. The statute describes the list as a "nine-
	county area," but only names eight counties.)
2	Jurisdiction identified. Identifies the nine counties where the Metropolitan Radio Board has
	jurisdiction.
3	Board membership amended. Expands the board's membership from 17 to 19 members to
	permit the inclusion of county commissioners from the two additional counties.
4	Metropolitan Radio Board to request bond issuance. Changes the entity authorized to
	request that the Met Council issue revenue bonds for specified purposes from the Public
	Radio Communication System Planning Committee to the Metropolitan Radio Board. The
	Planning Committee would remain responsible for requesting the issuance of revenue bonds
	for the third phase of the public safety radio communications system.
5	Repealer. Extends the sunset of the Metropolitan Radio Board presently scheduled to occur
	on July 1, 2004, until June 30, 2006.
6	Effective date. Section 5 is effective the day following final enactment.