Minnesota House of Representatives


Public Information Services Menu

Session Daily

State Government

Speak your mind at the Minnesota State Fair

published 8/19/2013
Share on: 

Fairgoers are invited to meet and greet with legislators and weigh in on hot political topics during their visit this year to the House of Representatives State Fair booth.

New to the space in 2013 will be a replica of the speakerís setting in the House Chamber. Complete with desk, flags, gavel and the Abraham Lincoln portrait, the display gives you a feel for what it is like to stand in this position of power. Find out the fascinating history behind the Lincoln portrait and snap a photo to post on Facebook or have as a keepsake.

The annual House opinion poll draws the attention of around 10,000 participants and will, once again, be available. Fairgoers can let their opinions be known on a number of state issues such as increasing the stateís minimum wage, legalizing medical marijuana, requiring background checks for those wanting to purchase weapons from private sellers at gun shows and regulating dog and cat breeders.

Poll results should be available on the House website Sept. 3, the day after the fair closes.

The House of Representatives exhibit will be located in the Education Building on Cosgrove Street, just north of Dan Patch Avenue.

It is a long-standing tradition that House members make themselves available to answer questions and meet with the public at the booth.

The following is a list of representatives planning to attend (as of Aug. 19) including dates, times and the district they represent:


Thursday, Aug. 22

10 a.m. to noon: Rep. Joe Atkins (52B), Rep. Rick Hansen (52A)

Noon to 2 p.m.: Rep. Rick Hansen (52A), Rep. Paul Torkelson (16B)

2 p.m. to 4 p.m.: Rep. Rick Hansen (52A)


Friday, Aug. 23

10 a.m. to noon: House Minority Leader Kurt Daudt (31A), Rep. Mike Freiberg (45B)

Noon to 2 p.m.: Rep. Diane Loeffler (60A), Rep. Kelby Woodard (20A)

2 p.m. to 4 p.m.: Rep. Pam Myhra (56A), Rep. Tama Theis (14A)

4 p.m. to 6 p.m.: Rep. Laurie Halverson (51B)


Saturday, Aug. 24

10 a.m. to noon: Rep. David Bly (20B), Rep. Lyndon Carlson, Sr. (45A)

2 p.m. to 4 p.m.: Rep. Steve Drazkowski (21B), Rep. Brian Johnson (32A)


Sunday, Aug. 25

10 a.m. to noon: Rep. Clark Johnson (19A)

Noon to 2 p.m.: Rep. Pam Myhra (56A)

2 p.m. to 4 p.m.: Rep. Raymond Dehn (59B), Rep. John Petersburg (24A)

4 p.m. to 6 pm.: Rep. Joe Mullery (59A), Rep. Barb Yarusso (42A)

6 p.m. to 8 p.m.: Rep. Cindy Pugh (33B)


Monday, Aug. 26

10 a.m. to noon: Rep. Jim Abeler (35A), House Speaker Paul Thissen (61B)

Noon to 2 p.m.: Rep. Shannon Savick (27A)

2 p.m. to 4 p.m.: Rep. Tom Hackbarth (31B)


Tuesday, Aug. 27

10 a.m. to noon: Rep. Phyllis Kahn (60B)

Noon to 2 p.m.: Rep. Dan Schoen (54A)

2 p.m. to 4 p.m.: Rep. Andrea Kieffer (53B)


Wednesday, Aug.28

10 a.m. to noon: Rep. Roger Erickson (2A)

Noon to 2 p.m.: Rep. Sondra Erickson (15A)

2 p.m. to 4 p.m.: Rep. Bob Gunther (23A), Rep. JoAnn Ward (53A)

4 p.m. to 6 p.m.: Rep. JoAnn Ward (53A), Rep. Barb Yarusso (42A)


Thursday, Aug. 29

Noon to 2 p.m.: Rep. Tim Faust (11B)

4 p.m. to 6 p.m.: Rep. Tina Liebling (26A)


Friday, Aug. 30

10 a.m. to noon: Rep. Mike Frieberg (45B)

2 p.m. to 4 p.m.: Rep. Kathy Brynaert (19B), Rep. Dan Schoen (54A)


Saturday, Aug. 31

10 a.m. to noon: Rep. Melissa Hortman (36B), Rep. John Persell (5A)

Noon to 2 p.m.: Rep. Phyllis Kahn (60B)

2 p.m. to 4 p.m.: Rep. Jerry Newton (37A)


Sunday, Sept. 1

10 a.m. to noon: Rep. Phyllis Kahn (60B)

Noon to 2 p.m.: Rep. Bob Barrett (32B)

- HPIS Staff

Session Daily Home

Select storys by topic:

Search Session Daily

Subscribe to Session Daily Updates.

Session Daily News Feed

Latest Session Daily stories

House passes plan to help collect child support from overseas (4/23/2014 2:38:00 PM)
DNR data breach gives rise to protection issues (4/23/2014 2:17:21 PM)
Competency hearings could be combined into one (4/23/2014 12:11:00 PM)
Crime lab accreditation bill going to governor (4/23/2014 12:08:00 PM)
Potential court policy changes get House OK (4/23/2014 11:46:00 AM)
House, Senate conferees start budget deliberations (4/22/2014 10:12:00 PM)
Minnesota mulls swimming lessons for all public school students (4/22/2014 7:06:47 PM)
Omnibus energy bill passes House, heads for Senate (4/22/2014 6:00:43 PM)
Eliminating judges from housing court cases (4/22/2014 3:11:12 PM)
Bill clarifying part of the foreclosure process easily passes House (4/22/2014 2:58:00 PM)
Online lottery sales could get the delete button (4/22/2014 2:52:49 PM)

  • More news and search
  • Public Information Services  ·   175 State Office Building, Saint Paul, MN 55155   ·   Public.Information@house.mn