Minnesota House of Representatives


Public Information Services Menu

Session Daily

State Government

Drazkowski set to take Sviggum’s seat

published 8/8/2007
Share on: 

Republican Steve Drazkowski is set to become the newest member of the Minnesota House of Representatives following his victory over DFL opponent Linda Pfeilsticker in Tuesday’s special election.

In a closely watched race that followed on the heels of the Interstate 35W bridge collapse and subsequent calls for a special session to deal with transportation funding, Drazkowski beat Pfeilsticker 3,762-3,333 (53 to 47 percent), allowing House Republicans to retain their small but veto-sustaining 49-85 minority.

Drazkowski, a 42-year-old cable contractor from Wabasha, will replace former House Speaker Steve Sviggum (R-Kenyon), who resigned in June to become commissioner of labor and industry.

The win cements Republican control of District 28B, which Sviggum held for 29 years.

Speaking at a press conference, Drazkowski described himself as having a background “firmly seated in agriculture and education.” He mentioned taxes, education, health care and transportation as being among his top priorities.

House Minority Leader Marty Seifert (R-Marshall) called the election results “a fairly comfortable win.”

No date and time has been set for Drazkowski’s official swearing-in ceremony.

- Nick Busse

Session Daily Home

Select storys by topic:

Search Session Daily

Subscribe to Session Daily Updates.

Session Daily News Feed

Audio & Video: Watch the press conference

Latest Session Daily stories

Incoming House leadership announces 2015-16 committee membership (12/18/2014 4:05:00 PM)
Human rights claim possible, Housing committee learns (12/5/2014 4:08:00 PM)
Forecast message: ‘We’re leaving you in pretty good shape’ (12/5/2014 12:36:00 PM)
Billion dollar surplus anticipated for new biennium (12/4/2014 10:07:00 AM)
House committee schedule released for 2015-16 biennium (11/26/2014 12:57:00 PM)
New House committee structure unveiled (11/18/2014 11:19:00 AM)
Daudt is Republican choice for speaker; Peppin majority leader (11/7/2014 3:08:00 PM)
Thissen to continue leading DFL in minority (11/6/2014 9:24:00 PM)
Voters return Republicans to power in House (11/5/2014 9:02:00 AM)
Mathiowetz to retire as House chief clerk (11/3/2014 3:28:00 PM)
Joint committee seeks answer to rail congestion (9/30/2014 5:11:00 PM)

  • More news and search
  • Public Information Services  ·   175 State Office Building, Saint Paul, MN 55155   ·   Public.Information@house.mn