...... moves to amend S.F. No. 3656, the second engrossment, the article 25

health-related licensing boards delete everything amendment (A18-0933) in conference 1.2 1.3 committee as follows: Page 406, delete article 25 and insert: 1.4 "ARTICLE 25 1.5 HEALTH-RELATED LICENSING BOARDS 1.6 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.26, is amended to read: 1.7 144A.26 RECIPROCITY WITH OTHER STATES AND EQUIVALENCY OF 1.8 HEALTH SERVICES EXECUTIVE. 1.9 Subdivision 1. **Reciprocity.** The Board of Examiners may issue a nursing home 1.10 administrator's license, without examination, to any person who holds a current license as 1.11 a nursing home administrator from another jurisdiction if the board finds that the standards 1.12 for licensure in the other jurisdiction are at least the substantial equivalent of those prevailing 1.13 in this state and that the applicant is otherwise qualified. 1.14 Subd. 2. Health services executive license. The Board of Examiners may issue a health 1.15 services executive license to any person who (1) has been validated by the National 1.16 Association of Long Term Care Administrator Boards as a health services executive, and 1.17 (2) has met the education and practice requirements for the minimum qualifications of a 1.18 nursing home administrator, assisted living administrator, and home and community-based 1.19

1.20

1.1

service provider. Licensure decisions made by the board under this subdivision are final.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 147.01, subdivision 7, is amended to read:

- Subd. 7. **Physician application and license fees.** (a) The board may charge the following
- 2.4 nonrefundable application and license fees processed pursuant to sections 147.02, 147.03,
- 2.5 147.037, 147.0375, and 147.38:
- 2.6 (1) physician application fee, \$200;
- 2.7 (2) physician annual registration renewal fee, \$192;
- 2.8 (3) physician endorsement to other states, \$40;
- 2.9 (4) physician emeritus license, \$50;
- 2.10 (5) physician temporary license, \$60;
- 2.11 (6) physician late fee, \$60;
- 2.12 (7) duplicate license fee, \$20;
- 2.13 (8) certification letter fee, \$25;
- 2.14 (9) education or training program approval fee, \$100;
- 2.15 (10) report creation and generation fee, \$60 per hour;
- 2.16 (11) examination administration fee (half day), \$50;
- 2.17 (12) examination administration fee (full day), \$80; and
- 2.18 (13) fees developed by the Interstate Commission for determining physician qualification 2.19 to register and participate in the interstate medical licensure compact, as established in rules
- authorized in and pursuant to section 147.38, not to exceed \$1,000-;
- 2.21 (14) verification fee, \$25; and
- 2.22 (15) criminal background check fee, \$32.
- (b) The board may prorate the initial annual license fee. All licensees are required to
- pay the full fee upon license renewal. The revenue generated from the fee must be deposited
- in an account in the state government special revenue fund.
- Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 147.012, is amended to read:
- 2.27 **147.012 OVERSIGHT OF ALLIED HEALTH PROFESSIONS.**
- 2.28 The board has responsibility for the oversight of the following allied health professions:
- 2.29 physician assistants under chapter 147A; acupuncture practitioners under chapter 147B;

05/18/18	REVISOR	ACF/CS	A18-0983

respiratory care practitioners under chapter 147C;, traditional midwives under chapter 147D;, 3.1 registered naturopathic doctors under chapter 147E;, genetic counselors under chapter 147F, 3.2 and athletic trainers under sections 148.7801 to 148.7815. 3.3

- Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 147.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to 3.4 read: 3.5
- Subd. 7. Additional renewal requirements. (a) The licensee must maintain a correct mailing address with the board for receiving board communications, notices, and licensure renewal documents. Placing the license renewal application in first class United States mail, addressed to the licensee at the licensee's last known address with postage prepaid, constitutes valid service. Failure to receive the renewal documents does not relieve a license holder of 3.10 the obligation to comply with this section. 3.11
 - (b) The names of licensees who do not return a complete license renewal application, the annual license fee, or the late application fee within 30 days shall be removed from the list of individuals authorized to practice medicine and surgery during the current renewal period. Upon reinstatement of licensure, the licensee's name will be placed on the list of individuals authorized to practice medicine and surgery.
- Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 147A.06, is amended to read: 3.17

147A.06 CANCELLATION OF LICENSE FOR NONRENEWAL.

- Subdivision 1. Cancellation of license. The board shall not renew, reissue, reinstate, or restore a license that has lapsed on or after July 1, 1996, and has not been renewed within two annual renewal cycles starting July 1, 1997. A licensee whose license is canceled for nonrenewal must obtain a new license by applying for licensure and fulfilling all requirements then in existence for an initial license to practice as a physician assistant.
- 3.24 Subd. 2. Licensure following lapse of licensed status; transition. (a) A licensee whose license has lapsed under subdivision 1 before January 1, 2019, and who seeks to regain 3.25 licensed status after January 1, 2019, shall be treated as a first-time licensee only for purposes 3.26 of establishing a license renewal schedule, and shall not be subject to the license cycle 3.27 conversion provisions in section 147A.29. 3.28
- (b) This subdivision expires July 1, 2021. 3.29
- Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 147A.07, is amended to read: 3.30
- **147A.07 RENEWAL.** 3.31

3.6

3.7

3.8

3.9

3.12

3.13

3.14

3.15

3.16

3.18

3.19

3.20

3.21

3.22

(a) A person who holds a license as a physician assistant shall annually, upon notification 4.1 from the board, renew the license by: 4.2 (1) submitting the appropriate fee as determined by the board; 4.3 (2) completing the appropriate forms; and 4.4 (3) meeting any other requirements of the board. 4.5 (b) A licensee must maintain a correct mailing address with the board for receiving board 4.6 communications, notices, and license renewal documents. Placing the license renewal 4.7 application in first class United States mail, addressed to the licensee at the licensee's last 4.8 known address with postage prepaid, constitutes valid service. Failure to receive the renewal 4.9 documents does not relieve a licensee of the obligation to comply with this section. 4.10 (c) The name of a licensee who does not return a complete license renewal application, 4.11 annual license fee, or late application fee, as applicable, within the time period required by 4.12 this section shall be removed from the list of individuals authorized to practice during the 4.13 current renewal period. If the licensee's license is reinstated, the licensee's name shall be 4.14 placed on the list of individuals authorized to practice. 4.15 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 147A.28, is amended to read: 4.16 147A.28 PHYSICIAN ASSISTANT APPLICATION AND LICENSE FEES. 4.17 (a) The board may charge the following nonrefundable fees: 4.18 (1) physician assistant application fee, \$120; 4.19 (2) physician assistant annual registration renewal fee (prescribing authority), \$135; 4.20 (3) physician assistant annual registration renewal fee (no prescribing authority), \$115; 4.21 (4) physician assistant temporary registration, \$115; 4.22 (5) physician assistant temporary permit, \$60; 4.23 (6) physician assistant locum tenens permit, \$25; 4.24 (7) physician assistant late fee, \$50; 4.25 (8) duplicate license fee, \$20; 4.26 (9) certification letter fee, \$25; 4.27 (10) education or training program approval fee, \$100; and 4.28 (11) report creation and generation fee, \$60- per hour; 4.29

(12)	verification	fee.	\$25:	and
'	·	Vermon	100,	$\Psi = \mathcal{I}_{I}_{\mathcal{I}_{\mathcal{I}_{\mathcal{I}_{I}_{\mathcal{I}_{\mathcal{I}_{\mathcal{I}_{\mathcal{I}_{\mathcal{I}_{\mathcal{I}_{\mathcal{I}_{\mathcal{I}_{\mathcal{I}_{\mathcal{I}_{\mathcal{I}_{\mathcal{I}_{\mathcal{I}_{I}_{I}_{\mathcal{I}_{I}}}}}}}}},}},},},,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,$	alla

5.1

5.2

5.3

5.4

5.5

5.6

5.7

5.8

5.9

5.10

5.11

5.12

5.13

5.14

5.15

5.16

5.17

5.18

5.19

5.20

5.21

5.22

5.23

5.24

5.25

5.26

5.27

5.28

5.29

5.30

5.31

5.32

- (13) criminal background check fee, \$32.
- (b) The board may prorate the initial annual license fee. All licensees are required to pay the full fee upon license renewal. The revenue generated from the fees must be deposited in an account in the state government special revenue fund.

Sec. 8. [147A.29] LICENSE RENEWAL CYCLE CONVERSION.

Subdivision 1. Generally. The license renewal cycle for physician assistant licensees is converted to an annual cycle where renewal is due on the last day of the licensee's month of birth. Conversion pursuant to this section begins January 1, 2019. This section governs license renewal procedures for licensees who were licensed before December 31, 2018. The conversion renewal cycle is the renewal cycle following the first license renewal after January 1, 2019. The conversion license period is the license period for the conversion renewal cycle. The conversion license period is between six and 17 months and ends on the last day of the licensee's month of birth in either 2019 or 2020, as described in subdivision 2.

Subd. 2. Conversion of license renewal cycle for current licensees. For a licensee whose license is current as of December 31, 2018, the licensee's conversion license period begins on January 1, 2019, and ends on the last day of the licensee's month of birth in 2019, except that for licensees whose month of birth is January, February, March, April, May, or June, the licensee's renewal cycle ends on the last day of the licensee's month of birth in 2020.

Subd. 3. Conversion of license renewal cycle for noncurrent licensees. This subdivision applies to an individual who was licensed before December 31, 2018, but whose license is not current as of December 31, 2018. When the individual first renews the license after January 1, 2019, the conversion renewal cycle begins on the date the individual applies for renewal and ends on the last day of the licensee's month of birth in the same year, except that if the last day of the individual's month of birth is less than six months after the date the individual applies for renewal, then the renewal period ends on the last day of the individual's month of birth in the following year.

Subd. 4. Subsequent renewal cycles. After the licensee's conversion renewal cycle under subdivision 2 or 3, subsequent renewal cycles are annual and begin on the last day of the month of the licensee's birth.

	Subd. 5. Conversion period and fees. (a) A licensee who holds a license issued before
	January 1, 2019, and who renews that license pursuant to subdivision 2 or 3, shall pay a
	renewal fee as required in this subdivision.
	(b) A licensee shall be charged the annual license fee listed in section 147A.28 for the
	conversion license period.
	(c) For a licensee whose conversion license period is six to 11 months, the first annual
	license fee charged after the conversion license period shall be adjusted to credit the excess
	fee payment made during the conversion license period. The credit is calculated by: (1)
	subtracting the number of months of the licensee's conversion license period from 12; and
	(2) multiplying the result of clause (1) by 1/12 of the annual fee rounded up to the next
	dollar.
	(d) For a licensee whose conversion license period is 12 months, the first annual license
	fee charged after the conversion license period shall not be adjusted.
	(e) For a licensee whose conversion license period is 13 to 17 months, the first annual
	license fee charged after the conversion license period shall be adjusted to add the annual
	license fee payment for the months that were not included in the annual license fee paid for
	the conversion license period. The added payment is calculated by: (1) subtracting 12 from
1	the number of months of the licensee's conversion license period; and (2) multiplying the
1	result of clause (1) by 1/12 of the annual fee rounded up to the next dollar.
	(f) For the second and all subsequent license renewals made after the conversion license
	period, the licensee's annual license fee is as listed in section 147A.28.
	Subd. 6. Expiration. This section expires July 1, 2021.
	Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 147B.02, subdivision 9, is amended to read:
	Subd. 9. Renewal. (a) To renew a license an applicant must:
	(1) annually, or as determined by the board, complete a renewal application on a form
	provided by the board;
	(2) submit the renewal fee;
	(3) provide documentation of current and active NCCAOM certification; or
	(4) if licensed under subdivision 5 or 6, meet the same NCCAOM professional
	development activity requirements as those licensed under subdivision 7.

05/18/18	REVISOR	ACF/CS	A18-0983

(b) An applicant shall submit any additional information requested by the board to clarify information presented in the renewal application. The information must be submitted within 30 days after the board's request, or the renewal request is nullified.

- (c) An applicant must maintain a correct mailing address with the board for receiving board communications, notices, and license renewal documents. Placing the license renewal application in first class United States mail, addressed to the applicant at the applicant's last known address with postage prepaid, constitutes valid service. Failure to receive the renewal documents does not relieve an applicant of the obligation to comply with this section.
- (d) The name of an applicant who does not return a complete license renewal application, 7.10 annual license fee, or late application fee, as applicable, within the time period required by this section shall be removed from the list of individuals authorized to practice during the 7.11 current renewal period. If the applicant's license is reinstated, the applicant's name shall be 7.12 placed on the list of individuals authorized to practice. 7.13
- Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 147B.02, is amended by adding a subdivision 7.14 to read: 7.15
- 7.16 Subd. 12a. Licensure following lapse of licensed status; transition. (a) A licensee whose license has lapsed under subdivision 12 before January 1, 2019, and who seeks to 7.17 regain licensed status after January 1, 2019, shall be treated as a first-time licensee only for 7.18 purposes of establishing a license renewal schedule, and shall not be subject to the license 7.19 cycle conversion provisions in section 147B.09. 7.20
- (b) This subdivision expires July 1, 2021. 7.21
- 7.22 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 147B.08, is amended to read:
- 147B.08 FEES. 7.23

7.1

7.2

7.3

7.4

7.5

7.6

7.7

7.8

- Subd. 4. Acupuncturist application and license fees. (a) The board may charge the 7.24 following nonrefundable fees: 7.25
- (1) acupuncturist application fee, \$150; 7.26
- (2) acupuncturist annual registration renewal fee, \$150; 7.27
- (3) acupuncturist temporary registration fee, \$60; 7.28
- (4) acupuncturist inactive status fee, \$50; 7.29
- (5) acupuncturist late fee, \$50; 7.30

8.1	(6)	duplicate	license	fee.	\$20
0.1	\sim	auplicate	11001150	100,	Ψ

82

8.10

8.11

8.12

8.13

8.14

8.15

8.16

8.17

8.18

8.19

8.20

8.21

8.22

8.23

8.24

8.25

8.26

8.27

8.28

8.29

8.30

8.31

- (7) certification letter fee, \$25;
- 8.3 (8) education or training program approval fee, \$100; and
- 8.4 (9) report creation and generation fee, \$60- per hour;
- 8.5 (10) verification fee, \$25; and
- 8.6 (11) criminal background check fee, \$32.
- (b) The board may prorate the initial annual license fee. All licensees are required to pay the full fee upon license renewal. The revenue generated from the fees must be deposited in an account in the state government special revenue fund.

Sec. 12. [147B.09] LICENSE RENEWAL CYCLE CONVERSION.

Subdivision 1. Generally. The license renewal cycle for acupuncture practitioner licensees is converted to an annual cycle where renewal is due on the last day of the licensee's month of birth. Conversion pursuant to this section begins January 1, 2019. This section governs license renewal procedures for licensees who were licensed before December 31, 2018. The conversion renewal cycle is the renewal cycle following the first license renewal after January 1, 2019. The conversion license period is the license period for the conversion renewal cycle. The conversion license period is between six and 17 months and ends on the last day of the licensee's month of birth in either 2019 or 2020, as described in subdivision 2.

Subd. 2. Conversion of license renewal cycle for current licensees. For a licensee whose license is current as of December 31, 2018, the licensee's conversion license period begins on January 1, 2019, and ends on the last day of the licensee's month of birth in 2019, except that for licensees whose month of birth is January, February, March, April, May, or June, the licensee's renewal cycle ends on the last day of the licensee's month of birth in 2020.

Subd. 3. Conversion of license renewal cycle for noncurrent licensees. This subdivision applies to an individual who was licensed before December 31, 2018, but whose license is not current as of December 31, 2018. When the individual first renews the license after January 1, 2019, the conversion renewal cycle begins on the date the individual applies for renewal and ends on the last day of the licensee's month of birth in the same year, except that if the last day of the individual's month of birth is less than six months after the date

05/18/18	REVISOR	ACF/CS	A18-0983

9.1	the individual applies for renewal, then the renewal period ends on the last day of the
9.2	individual's month of birth in the following year.
9.3	Subd. 4. Subsequent renewal cycles. After the licensee's conversion renewal cycle
9.4	under subdivision 2 or 3, subsequent renewal cycles are annual and begin on the last day
9.5	of the month of the licensee's birth.
9.6	Subd. 5. Conversion period and fees. (a) A licensee who holds a license issued before
9.7	January 1, 2019, and who renews that license pursuant to subdivision 2 or 3, shall pay a
9.8	renewal fee as required in this subdivision.
9.9	(b) A licensee shall be charged the annual license fee listed in section 147B.08 for the
9.10	conversion license period.
9.11	(c) For a licensee whose conversion license period is six to 11 months, the first annual
9.12	license fee charged after the conversion license period shall be adjusted to credit the excess
9.13	fee payment made during the conversion license period. The credit is calculated by: (1)
9.14	subtracting the number of months of the licensee's conversion license period from 12; and
9.15	(2) multiplying the result of clause (1) by 1/12 of the annual fee rounded up to the next
9.16	<u>dollar.</u>
9.17	(d) For a licensee whose conversion license period is 12 months, the first annual license
9.18	fee charged after the conversion license period shall not be adjusted.
9.19	(e) For a licensee whose conversion license period is 13 to 17 months, the first annual
9.20	license fee charged after the conversion license period shall be adjusted to add the annual
9.21	license fee payment for the months that were not included in the annual license fee paid for
9.22	the conversion license period. The added payment is calculated by: (1) subtracting 12 from
9.23	the number of months of the licensee's conversion license period; and (2) multiplying the
9.24	result of clause (1) by 1/12 of the annual fee rounded up to the next dollar.
9.25	(f) For the second and all subsequent license renewals made after the conversion license
9.26	period, the licensee's annual license fee is as listed in section 147B.08.
9.27	Subd. 6. Expiration. This section expires July 1, 2021.
9.28	Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 147C.15, subdivision 7, is amended to read:
9.29	Subd. 7. Renewal. (a) To be eligible for license renewal a licensee must:
0.20	
9.30	(1) annually, or as determined by the board, complete a renewal application on a form
9.30	(1) annually, or as determined by the board, complete a renewal application on a form provided by the board;

	120 0900
10.1	(3) provide evidence every two years of a total of 24 hours of continuing education
10.2	approved by the board as described in section 147C.25; and
10.3	(4) submit any additional information requested by the board to clarify information
10.4	presented in the renewal application. The information must be submitted within 30 days
10.5	after the board's request, or the renewal request is nullified.
10.6	(b) Applicants for renewal who have not practiced the equivalent of eight full weeks
10.7	during the past five years must achieve a passing score on retaking the credentialing
10.8	examination.
10.9	(c) A licensee must maintain a correct mailing address with the board for receiving board
10.10	communications, notices, and license renewal documents. Placing the license renewal
10.11	application in first class United States mail, addressed to the licensee at the licensee's last
10.12	$\underline{known\ address\ with\ postage\ prepaid,\ constitutes\ valid\ service.\ Failure\ to\ receive\ the\ renewal}$
10.13	documents does not relieve a licensee of the obligation to comply with this section.
10.14	(d) The name of a licensee who does not return a complete license renewal application,
10.15	annual license fee, or late application fee, as applicable, within the time period required by
10.16	this section shall be removed from the list of individuals authorized to practice during the
10.17	current renewal period. If the licensee's license is reinstated, the licensee's name shall be
10.18	placed on the list of individuals authorized to practice.
10.19	Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 147C.15, is amended by adding a subdivision
10.20	to read:
10.21	Subd. 12a. Licensure following lapse of licensed status; transition. (a) A licensee
10.22	whose license has lapsed under subdivision 12 before January 1, 2019, and who seeks to
10.23	regain licensed status after January 1, 2019, shall be treated as a first-time licensee only for
10.24	purposes of establishing a license renewal schedule, and shall not be subject to the license
10.25	cycle conversion provisions in section 147C.45.
10.26	(b) This subdivision expires July 1, 2021.
10.27	Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 147C.40, is amended to read:

- 10.28 **147C.40 FEES.**
- Subd. 5. **Respiratory therapist application and license fees.** (a) The board may charge the following nonrefundable fees:
- 10.31 (1) respiratory therapist application fee, \$100;

- (2) respiratory therapist annual registration renewal fee, \$90;
- (3) respiratory therapist inactive status fee, \$50;
- (4) respiratory therapist temporary registration fee, \$90;
- (5) respiratory therapist temporary permit, \$60;
- (6) respiratory therapist late fee, \$50;
- 11.6 (7) duplicate license fee, \$20;
- 11.7 (8) certification letter fee, \$25;
- 11.8 (9) education or training program approval fee, \$100; and
- (10) report creation and generation fee, \$60- per hour;
- 11.10 (11) verification fee, \$25; and
- 11.11 (12) criminal background check fee, \$32.
- 11.12 (b) The board may prorate the initial annual license fee. All licensees are required to
 pay the full fee upon license renewal. The revenue generated from the fees must be deposited
 in an account in the state government special revenue fund.

11.15 Sec. 16. [147C.45] LICENSE RENEWAL CYCLE CONVERSION.

- Subdivision 1. Generally. The license renewal cycle for respiratory care practitioner 11.16 licensees is converted to an annual cycle where renewal is due on the last day of the licensee's 11.17 month of birth. Conversion pursuant to this section begins January 1, 2019. This section 11.18 governs license renewal procedures for licensees who were licensed before December 31, 11.19 2018. The conversion renewal cycle is the renewal cycle following the first license renewal 11.20 after January 1, 2019. The conversion license period is the license period for the conversion 11.21 renewal cycle. The conversion license period is between six and 17 months and ends on the 11.22 last day of the licensee's month of birth in either 2019 or 2020, as described in subdivision 11.23 <u>2.</u> 11.24
- Subd. 2. Conversion of license renewal cycle for current licensees. For a licensee
 whose license is current as of December 31, 2018, the licensee's conversion license period
 begins on January 1, 2019, and ends on the last day of the licensee's month of birth in 2019,
 except that for licensees whose month of birth is January, February, March, April, May, or
 June, the licensee's renewal cycle ends on the last day of the licensee's month of birth in
 2020.

12.1	Subd. 3. Conversion of license renewal cycle for noncurrent licensees. This subdivision
12.2	applies to an individual who was licensed before December 31, 2018, but whose license is
12.3	not current as of December 31, 2018. When the individual first renews the license after
12.4	January 1, 2019, the conversion renewal cycle begins on the date the individual applies for
12.5	renewal and ends on the last day of the licensee's month of birth in the same year, except
12.6	that if the last day of the individual's month of birth is less than six months after the date
12.7	the individual applies for renewal, then the renewal period ends on the last day of the
12.8	individual's month of birth in the following year.
12.9	Subd. 4. Subsequent renewal cycles. After the licensee's conversion renewal cycle
12.10	under subdivision 2 or 3, subsequent renewal cycles are annual and begin on the last day
12.11	of the month of the licensee's birth.
12.12	Subd. 5. Conversion period and fees. (a) A licensee who holds a license issued before
12.13	January 1, 2019, and who renews that license pursuant to subdivision 2 or 3, shall pay a
12.14	renewal fee as required in this subdivision.
12.15	(b) A licensee shall be charged the annual license fee listed in section 147C.40 for the
12.16	conversion license period.
12.17	(c) For a licensee whose conversion license period is six to 11 months, the first annual
12.18	license fee charged after the conversion license period shall be adjusted to credit the excess
12.19	fee payment made during the conversion license period. The credit is calculated by: (1)
12.20	subtracting the number of months of the licensee's conversion license period from 12; and
12.21	(2) multiplying the result of clause (1) by 1/12 of the annual fee rounded up to the next
12.22	dollar.
12.23	(d) For a licensee whose conversion license period is 12 months, the first annual license
12.24	fee charged after the conversion license period shall not be adjusted.
12.25	(e) For a licensee whose conversion license period is 13 to 17 months, the first annual
12.26	license fee charged after the conversion license period shall be adjusted to add the annual
12.27	license fee payment for the months that were not included in the annual license fee paid for
12.28	the conversion license period. The added payment is calculated by: (1) subtracting 12 from
12.29	the number of months of the licensee's conversion license period; and (2) multiplying the
12.30	result of clause (1) by 1/12 of the annual fee rounded up to the next dollar.
12.31	(f) For the second and all subsequent license renewals made after the conversion license
12.32	period, the licensee's annual license fee is as listed in section 147C.40.
12.33	Subd. 6. Expiration. This section expires July 1, 2021.

05/18/18	REVISOR	ACF/CS	A18-0983

13.1	Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 147D.17, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
13.2	Subd. 6. Renewal. (a) To be eligible for license renewal, a licensed traditional midwife
13.3	must:
13.4	(1) complete a renewal application on a form provided by the board;
13.5	(2) submit the renewal fee;
13.6	(3) provide evidence every three years of a total of 30 hours of continuing education
13.7	approved by the board as described in section 147D.21;
13.8	(4) submit evidence of an annual peer review and update of the licensed traditional
13.9	midwife's medical consultation plan; and
13.10	(5) submit any additional information requested by the board. The information must be
13.11	submitted within 30 days after the board's request, or the renewal request is nullified.
13.12	(b) A licensee must maintain a correct mailing address with the board for receiving board
13.13	communications, notices, and license renewal documents. Placing the license renewal
13.14	application in first class United States mail, addressed to the licensee at the licensee's last
13.15	known address with postage prepaid, constitutes valid service. Failure to receive the renewal
13.16	documents does not relieve a licensee of the obligation to comply with this section.
13.17	(c) The name of a licensee who does not return a complete license renewal application,
13.18	annual license fee, or late application fee, as applicable, within the time period required by
13.19	this section shall be removed from the list of individuals authorized to practice during the
13.20	current renewal period. If the licensee's license is reinstated, the licensee's name shall be
13.21	placed on the list of individuals authorized to practice.
13.22	Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 147D.17, is amended by adding a subdivision
13.23	to read:
13.24	Subd. 11a. Licensure following lapse of licensed status; transition. (a) A licensee
13.25	whose license has lapsed under subdivision 11 before January 1, 2019, and who seeks to
13.26	regain licensed status after January 1, 2019, shall be treated as a first-time licensee only for
13.27	purposes of establishing a license renewal schedule, and shall not be subject to the license
13.28	cycle conversion provisions in section 147D.29.

(b) This subdivision expires July 1, 2021.

Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 147D.27, is amended by adding a subdivision 14.1 14.2 to read: Subd. 5. Additional fees. The board may also charge the following nonrefundable fees: 14.3 14.4 (1) verification fee, \$25; (2) certification letter fee, \$25; 14.5 (3) education or training program approval fee, \$100; 14.6 (4) report creation and generation fee, \$60 per hour; 14.7 (5) duplicate license fee, \$20; and 14.8 (6) criminal background check fee, \$32. 14.9 Sec. 20. [147D.29] LICENSE RENEWAL CYCLE CONVERSION. 14.10 Subdivision 1. **Generally.** The license renewal cycle for traditional midwife licensees 14.11 is converted to an annual cycle where renewal is due on the last day of the licensee's month 14.12 of birth. Conversion pursuant to this section begins January 1, 2019. This section governs 14.13 14.14 license renewal procedures for licensees who were licensed before December 31, 2018. The 14.15 conversion renewal cycle is the renewal cycle following the first license renewal after January 1, 2019. The conversion license period is the license period for the conversion 14.16 renewal cycle. The conversion license period is between six and 17 months and ends on the 14.17 last day of the licensee's month of birth in either 2019 or 2020, as described in subdivision 14.18 <u>2.</u> 14.19 Subd. 2. Conversion of license renewal cycle for current licensees. For a licensee 14.20 whose license is current as of December 31, 2018, the licensee's conversion license period 14.21 begins on January 1, 2019, and ends on the last day of the licensee's month of birth in 2019, 14.22 14.23 except that for licensees whose month of birth is January, February, March, April, May, or June, the licensee's renewal cycle ends on the last day of the licensee's month of birth in 14.24 14.25 2020. Subd. 3. Conversion of license renewal cycle for noncurrent licensees. This subdivision 14.26 applies to an individual who was licensed before December 31, 2018, but whose license is 14.27 14.28 not current as of December 31, 2018. When the individual first renews the license after January 1, 2019, the conversion renewal cycle begins on the date the individual applies for 14.29 renewal and ends on the last day of the licensee's month of birth in the same year, except 14.30 that if the last day of the individual's month of birth is less than six months after the date 14.31

05/18/18	REVISOR	ACF/CS	A18-0983

15.1	the individual applies for renewal, then the renewal period ends on the last day of the
15.2	individual's month of birth in the following year.
15.3	Subd. 4. Subsequent renewal cycles. After the licensee's conversion renewal cycle
15.4	under subdivision 2 or 3, subsequent renewal cycles are annual and begin on the last day
15.5	of the month of the licensee's birth.
15.6	Subd. 5. Conversion period and fees. (a) A licensee who holds a license issued before
15.7	January 1, 2019, and who renews that license pursuant to subdivision 2 or 3, shall pay a
15.8	renewal fee as required in this subdivision.
15.9	(b) A licensee shall be charged the annual license fee listed in section 147D.27 for the
15.10	conversion license period.
15.11	(c) For a licensee whose conversion license period is six to 11 months, the first annual
15.12	license fee charged after the conversion license period shall be adjusted to credit the excess
15.13	fee payment made during the conversion license period. The credit is calculated by: (1)
15.14	subtracting the number of months of the licensee's conversion license period from 12; and
15.15	(2) multiplying the result of clause (1) by 1/12 of the annual fee rounded up to the next
15.16	<u>dollar.</u>
15.17	(d) For a licensee whose conversion license period is 12 months, the first annual license
15.18	fee charged after the conversion license period shall not be adjusted.
15.19	(e) For a licensee whose conversion license period is 13 to 17 months, the first annual
15.20	license fee charged after the conversion license period shall be adjusted to add the annual
15.21	license fee payment for the months that were not included in the annual license fee paid for
15.22	the conversion license period. The added payment is calculated by: (1) subtracting 12 from
15.23	the number of months of the licensee's conversion license period; and (2) multiplying the
15.24	result of clause (1) by 1/12 of the annual fee rounded up to the next dollar.
15.25	(f) For the second and all subsequent license renewals made after the conversion license
15.26	period, the licensee's annual license fee is as listed in section 147D.27.
15.27	Subd. 6. Expiration. This section expires July 1, 2021.
15.28	Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 147E.15, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
15.29	Subd. 5. Renewal. (a) To be eligible for registration renewal a registrant must:
15.30	(1) annually, or as determined by the board, complete a renewal application on a form
15.31	provided by the board;
15.32	(2) submit the renewal fee:

16.1	(3) provide evidence of a total of 25 hours of continuing education approved by the
16.2	board as described in section 147E.25; and
16.3	(4) submit any additional information requested by the board to clarify information
16.4	presented in the renewal application. The information must be submitted within 30 days
16.5	after the board's request, or the renewal request is nullified.
16.6	(b) A registrant must maintain a correct mailing address with the board for receiving
16.7	board communications, notices, and registration renewal documents. Placing the registration
16.8	renewal application in first class United States mail, addressed to the registrant at the
16.9	registrant's last known address with postage prepaid, constitutes valid service. Failure to
16.10	receive the renewal documents does not relieve a registrant of the obligation to comply with
16.11	this section.
16.12	(c) The name of a registrant who does not return a complete registration renewal
16.13	application, annual registration fee, or late application fee, as applicable, within the time
16.14	period required by this section shall be removed from the list of individuals authorized to
16.15	practice during the current renewal period. If the registrant's registration is reinstated, the
16.16	registrant's name shall be placed on the list of individuals authorized to practice.
16.17	Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 147E.15, is amended by adding a subdivision
16.18	to read:
16.19	Subd. 10a. Registration following lapse of registered status; transition. (a) A registrant
16.20	whose registration has lapsed under subdivision 10 before January 1, 2019, and who seeks
16.21	to regain registered status after January 1, 2019, shall be treated as a first-time registrant
16.22	only for purposes of establishing a registration renewal schedule, and shall not be subject
16.23	to the registration cycle conversion provisions in section 147E.45.
16.24	(b) This subdivision expires July 1, 2021.
16.25	Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 147E.40, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
16.26	Subdivision 1. Fees. Fees are as follows:
16.27	(1) registration application fee, \$200;
16.28	(2) renewal fee, \$150;
16.29	(3) late fee, \$75;
16.30	(4) inactive status fee, \$50; and
16.31	(5) temporary permit fee, \$25 . ;

17.1	(6) emeritus registration fee, \$50;
17.2	(7) duplicate license fee, \$20;
17.3	(8) certification letter fee, \$25;
17.4	(9) verification fee, \$25;
17.5	(10) education or training program approval fee, \$100; and
17.6	(11) report creation and generation fee, \$60 per hour.
17.7	Sec. 24. [147E.45] REGISTRATION RENEWAL CYCLE CONVERSION.
17.8	Subdivision 1. Generally. The registration renewal cycle for registered naturopathic
17.9	doctors is converted to an annual cycle where renewal is due on the last day of the registrant's
17.10	month of birth. Conversion pursuant to this section begins January 1, 2019. This section
17.11	governs registration renewal procedures for registrants who were registered before December
17.12	31, 2018. The conversion renewal cycle is the renewal cycle following the first registration
17.13	renewal after January 1, 2019. The conversion registration period is the registration period
17.14	for the conversion renewal cycle. The conversion registration period is between six and 17
17.15	months and ends on the last day of the registrant's month of birth in either 2019 or 2020, as
17.16	described in subdivision 2.
17.17	Subd. 2. Conversion of registration renewal cycle for current registrants. For a
17.18	registrant whose registration is current as of December 31, 2018, the registrant's conversion
17.19	registration period begins on January 1, 2019, and ends on the last day of the registrant's
17.20	month of birth in 2019, except that for registrants whose month of birth is January, February,
17.21	March, April, May, or June, the registrant's renewal cycle ends on the last day of the
17.22	registrant's month of birth in 2020.
17.23	Subd. 3. Conversion of registration renewal cycle for noncurrent registrants. This
17.24	subdivision applies to an individual who was registered before December 31, 2018, but
17.25	whose registration is not current as of December 31, 2018. When the individual first renews
17.26	the registration after January 1, 2019, the conversion renewal cycle begins on the date the
17.27	individual applies for renewal and ends on the last day of the registrant's month of birth in
17.28	the same year, except that if the last day of the individual's month of birth is less than six
17.29	months after the date the individual applies for renewal, then the renewal period ends on
17.30	the last day of the individual's month of birth in the following year.

1	Subd. 4. Subsequent renewal cycles. After the registrant's conversion renewal cycle
2	under subdivision 2 or 3, subsequent renewal cycles are annual and begin on the last day
3	of the month of the registrant's birth.
4	Subd. 5. Conversion period and fees. (a) A registrant who holds a registration issued
5	before January 1, 2019, and who renews that registration pursuant to subdivision 2 or 3,
	shall pay a renewal fee as required in this subdivision.
	(b) A registrant shall be charged the annual registration fee listed in section 147E.40 for
	the conversion registration period.
	(c) For a registrant whose conversion registration period is six to 11 months, the first
	annual registration fee charged after the conversion registration period shall be adjusted to
	credit the excess fee payment made during the conversion registration period. The credit is
	calculated by: (1) subtracting the number of months of the registrant's conversion registration
	period from 12; and (2) multiplying the result of clause (1) by 1/12 of the annual fee rounded
	up to the next dollar.
	(d) For a registrant whose conversion registration period is 12 months, the first annual
	registration fee charged after the conversion registration period shall not be adjusted.
	(e) For a registrant whose conversion registration period is 13 to 17 months, the first
	annual registration fee charged after the conversion registration period shall be adjusted to
	add the annual registration fee payment for the months that were not included in the annual
	registration fee paid for the conversion registration period. The added payment is calculated
	by: (1) subtracting 12 from the number of months of the registrant's conversion registration
	period; and (2) multiplying the result of clause (1) by 1/12 of the annual fee rounded up to
	the next dollar.
	(f) For the second and all subsequent registration renewals made after the conversion
	registration period, the registrant's annual registration fee is as listed in section 147E.40.
	Subd. 6. Expiration. This section expires July 1, 2021.
	Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 147F.07, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
	Subd. 5. License renewal. (a) To be eligible for license renewal, a licensed genetic
	counselor must submit to the board:
	(1) a renewal application on a form provided by the board;
	(2) the renewal fee required under section 147F.17:

05/18/18	REVISOR	ACF/CS	A18-0983

19.1	(3) evidence of compliance with the continuing education requirements in section
19.2	147F.11; and
19.3	(4) any additional information requested by the board.
19.4	(b) A licensee must maintain a correct mailing address with the board for receiving board
19.5	communications, notices, and license renewal documents. Placing the license renewal
19.6	application in first class United States mail, addressed to the licensee at the licensee's last
19.7	known address with postage prepaid, constitutes valid service. Failure to receive the renewal
19.8	documents does not relieve a licensee of the obligation to comply with this section.
19.9	(c) The name of a licensee who does not return a complete license renewal application,
19.10	annual license fee, or late application fee, as applicable, within the time period required by
19.11	this section shall be removed from the list of individuals authorized to practice during the
19.12	current renewal period. If the licensee's license is reinstated, the licensee's name shall be
19.13	placed on the list of individuals authorized to practice.
19.14	Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 147F.07, is amended by adding a subdivision
19.15	to read:
19.16	Subd. 6. Licensure following lapse of licensure status for two years or less. For any
19.17	individual whose licensure status has lapsed for two years or less, to regain licensure status,
19.18	the individual must:
19.19	(1) apply for license renewal according to subdivision 5;
19.20	(2) document compliance with the continuing education requirements of section 147F.11
19.21	since the licensed genetic counselor's initial licensure or last renewal; and
19.22	(3) submit the fees required under section 147F.17 for the period not licensed, including
19.23	the fee for late renewal.
19.24	Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 147F.07, is amended by adding a subdivision
19.25	to read:
19.26	Subd. 6a. Licensure following lapse of licensed status; transition. (a) A licensee whose
19.27	license has lapsed under subdivision 6 before January 1, 2019, and who seeks to regain
19.28	licensed status after January 1, 2019, shall be treated as a first-time licensee only for purposes
19.29	of establishing a license renewal schedule, and shall not be subject to the license cycle
19.30	conversion provisions in section 147F.19.
19.31	(b) This subdivision expires July 1, 2021.

Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 147F.17, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 20.1 Subdivision 1. **Fees.** Fees are as follows: 20.2 (1) license application fee, \$200; 20.3 (2) initial licensure and annual renewal, \$150; and 20.4 (3) late fee, \$75.; 20.5 (4) temporary license fee, \$60; 20.6 (5) duplicate license fee, \$20; 20.7 (6) certification letter fee, \$25; 20.8 (7) education or training program approval fee, \$100; 20.9 20.10 (8) report creation and generation fee, \$60 per hour; and (9) criminal background check fee, \$32. 20.11 Sec. 29. [147F.19] LICENSE RENEWAL CYCLE CONVERSION. 20.12 20.13 Subdivision 1. Generally. The license renewal cycle for genetic counselor licensees is converted to an annual cycle where renewal is due on the last day of the licensee's month 20.14 of birth. Conversion pursuant to this section begins January 1, 2019. This section governs 20.15 license renewal procedures for licensees who were licensed before December 31, 2018. The 20.16 conversion renewal cycle is the renewal cycle following the first license renewal after 20.17 January 1, 2019. The conversion license period is the license period for the conversion 20.18 renewal cycle. The conversion license period is between six and 17 months and ends on the 20.19 last day of the licensee's month of birth in either 2019 or 2020, as described in subdivision 20.20 2. 20.21 Subd. 2. Conversion of license renewal cycle for current licensees. For a licensee 20.22 whose license is current as of December 31, 2018, the licensee's conversion license period 20.23 begins on January 1, 2019, and ends on the last day of the licensee's month of birth in 2019, 20.24 20.25 except that for licensees whose month of birth is January, February, March, April, May, or June, the licensee's renewal cycle ends on the last day of the licensee's month of birth in 20.26 20.27 2020. Subd. 3. Conversion of license renewal cycle for noncurrent licensees. This subdivision 20.28 applies to an individual who was licensed before December 31, 2018, but whose license is 20.29 not current as of December 31, 2018. When the individual first renews the license after 20.30 January 1, 2019, the conversion renewal cycle begins on the date the individual applies for 20.31

21.1	renewal and ends on the last day of the licensee's month of birth in the same year, except
21.2	that if the last day of the individual's month of birth is less than six months after the date
1.3	the individual applies for renewal, then the renewal period ends on the last day of the
21.4	individual's month of birth in the following year.
21.5	Subd. 4. Subsequent renewal cycles. After the licensee's conversion renewal cycle
21.6	under subdivision 2 or 3, subsequent renewal cycles are annual and begin on the last day
21.7	of the month of the licensee's birth.
21.8	Subd. 5. Conversion period and fees. (a) A licensee who holds a license issued before
21.9	January 1, 2019, and who renews that license pursuant to subdivision 2 or 3, shall pay a
21.10	renewal fee as required in this subdivision.
21.11	(b) A licensee shall be charged the annual license fee listed in section 147F.17 for the
21.12	conversion license period.
21.13	(c) For a licensee whose conversion license period is six to 11 months, the first annual
21.14	license fee charged after the conversion license period shall be adjusted to credit the excess
21.15	fee payment made during the conversion license period. The credit is calculated by: (1)
21.16	subtracting the number of months of the licensee's conversion license period from 12; and
21.17	(2) multiplying the result of clause (1) by 1/12 of the annual fee rounded up to the next
21.18	<u>dollar.</u>
21.19	(d) For a licensee whose conversion license period is 12 months, the first annual license
21.20	fee charged after the conversion license period shall not be adjusted.
21.21	(e) For a licensee whose conversion license period is 13 to 17 months, the first annual
21.22	license fee charged after the conversion license period shall be adjusted to add the annual
21.23	license fee payment for the months that were not included in the annual license fee paid for
21.24	the conversion license period. The added payment is calculated by: (1) subtracting 12 from
21.25	the number of months of the licensee's conversion license period; and (2) multiplying the
21.26	result of clause (1) by 1/12 of the annual fee rounded up to the next dollar.
21.27	(f) For the second and all subsequent license renewals made after the conversion license
21.28	period, the licensee's annual license fee is as listed in section 147F.17.
21.29	Subd. 6. Expiration. This section expires July 1, 2021.
21.30	Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148.59, is amended to read:

21.31

148.59 LICENSE RENEWAL; LICENSE AND REGISTRATION FEES.

A licensed optometrist shall pay to the state Board of Optometry a fee as set by the board in order to renew a license as provided by board rule. No fees shall be refunded. Fees may not exceed the following amounts but may be adjusted lower by board direction and are for the exclusive use of the board:

- 22.5 (1) optometry licensure application, \$160;
- 22.6 (2) optometry annual licensure renewal, \$\frac{\$135}{\$170};
- 22.7 (3) optometry late penalty fee, \$75;
- 22.8 (4) annual license renewal card, \$10;
- 22.9 (5) continuing education provider application, \$45;
- 22.10 (6) emeritus registration, \$10;
- 22.11 (7) endorsement/reciprocity application, \$160;
- 22.12 (8) replacement of initial license, \$12; and
- 22.13 (9) license verification, \$50-;
- 22.14 (10) jurisprudence state examination, \$75;
- 22.15 (11) Optometric Education Continuing Education data bank registration, \$20; and
- 22.16 (12) data requests and labels, \$50.
- Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148.7815, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **Fees.** The board shall establish fees as follows:
- 22.19 (1) application fee, \$50;
- 22.20 (2) annual registration fee, \$100;
- 22.21 (3) temporary registration, \$100; and
- 22.22 (4) temporary permit, \$50-;
- 22.23 <u>(5) late fee, \$15;</u>
- 22.24 (6) duplicate license fee, \$20;
- 22.25 (7) certification letter fee, \$25;
- 22.26 **(8)** verification fee, \$25;
- (9) education or training program approval fee, \$100; and
- 22.28 (10) report creation and generation fee, \$60 per hour.

Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148E.180, is amended to read:

148E.180 FEE AMOUNTS.

- Subdivision 1. **Application fees.** Nonrefundable application fees for licensure are as
- 23.4 follows may not exceed the following amounts:
- 23.5 (1) for a licensed social worker, \$45 \$54;
- 23.6 (2) for a licensed graduate social worker, \$45 \$54;
- 23.7 (3) for a licensed independent social worker, \$45 \$54;
- 23.8 (4) for a licensed independent clinical social worker, \$45 \underset{54};
- 23.9 (5) for a temporary license, \$50; and
- 23.10 (6) for a licensure by endorsement, \$85 \$92.
- The fee for criminal background checks is the fee charged by the Bureau of Criminal
- 23.12 Apprehension. The criminal background check fee must be included with the application
- 23.13 fee as required according to section 148E.055.
- Subd. 2. **License fees.** Nonrefundable license fees are as follows may not exceed the
- 23.15 <u>following amounts but may be adjusted lower by board action:</u>
- 23.16 (1) for a licensed social worker, \$\\$81 \\$97;
- 23.17 (2) for a licensed graduate social worker, \$144 \$172;
- 23.18 (3) for a licensed independent social worker, \$\frac{\$216}{\$258};
- 23.19 (4) for a licensed independent clinical social worker, \$238.50 \$284;
- 23.20 (5) for an emeritus inactive license, \$43.20 \$51;
- 23.21 (6) for an emeritus active license, one-half of the renewal fee specified in subdivision
- 23.22 3; and
- 23.23 (7) for a temporary leave fee, the same as the renewal fee specified in subdivision 3.
- 23.24 If the licensee's initial license term is less or more than 24 months, the required license
- 23.25 fees must be prorated proportionately.
- Subd. 3. **Renewal fees.** Nonrefundable renewal fees for licensure are as follows the
- 23.27 two-year renewal term may not exceed the following amounts but may be adjusted lower
- 23.28 by board action:
- 23.29 (1) for a licensed social worker, \$\\$81 \\$97;

- (2) for a licensed graduate social worker, \$144 \$172; 24.1 (3) for a licensed independent social worker, \$216 \$258; and 24.2 (4) for a licensed independent clinical social worker, \$238.50 \$284. 24.3 Subd. 4. Continuing education provider fees. Continuing education provider fees are 24.4 as follows the following nonrefundable amounts: 24.5 (1) for a provider who offers programs totaling one to eight clock hours in a one-year 24.6 period according to section 148E.145, \$50 \$60; 24.7 (2) for a provider who offers programs totaling nine to 16 clock hours in a one-year 24.8 period according to section 148E.145, \$100 \$120; 24.9 (3) for a provider who offers programs totaling 17 to 32 clock hours in a one-year period 24.10 according to section 148E.145, \$200 \$240; 24.11 (4) for a provider who offers programs totaling 33 to 48 clock hours in a one-year period 24.12 according to section 148E.145, \$400 \$480; and 24.13 (5) for a provider who offers programs totaling 49 or more clock hours in a one-year 24.14 period according to section 148E.145, \$600 \$720. 24.15 Subd. 5. Late fees. Late fees are as follows the following nonrefundable amounts: 24.16 (1) renewal late fee, one-fourth of the renewal fee specified in subdivision 3; 24.17 (2) supervision plan late fee, \$40; and 24.18 (3) license late fee, \$100 plus the prorated share of the license fee specified in subdivision 24.19 2 for the number of months during which the individual practiced social work without a 24 20 license. 24.21 Subd. 6. License cards and wall certificates. (a) The fee for a license card as specified 24.22 in section 148E.095 is \$10. 24.23 (b) The fee for a license wall certificate as specified in section 148E.095 is \$30. 24.24 Subd. 7. **Reactivation fees.** Reactivation fees are as follows the following nonrefundable 24.25 amounts: 24.26 (1) reactivation from a temporary leave or emeritus status, the prorated share of the 24.27 renewal fee specified in subdivision 3; and 24.28
- 24.29 (2) reactivation of an expired license, 1-1/2 times the renewal fees specified in subdivision 24.30 3.

Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 150A.06, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:

Subd. 1a. Faculty dentists. (a) Faculty members of a school of dentistry must be licensed in order to practice dentistry as defined in section 150A.05. The board may issue to members of the faculty of a school of dentistry a license designated as either a "limited faculty license" or a "full faculty license" entitling the holder to practice dentistry within the terms described in paragraph (b) or (c). The dean of a school of dentistry and program directors of a Minnesota dental hygiene, dental therapy, or dental assisting school accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation shall certify to the board those members of the school's faculty who practice dentistry but are not licensed to practice dentistry in Minnesota. A faculty member who practices dentistry as defined in section 150A.05, before beginning duties in a school of dentistry or a, dental therapy, dental hygiene, or dental assisting school, shall apply to the board for a limited or full faculty license. Pursuant to Minnesota Rules, chapter 3100, and at the discretion of the board, a limited faculty license must be renewed annually and a full faculty license must be renewed biennially. The faculty applicant shall pay a nonrefundable fee set by the board for issuing and renewing the faculty license. The faculty license is valid during the time the holder remains a member of the faculty of a school of dentistry or a, dental therapy, dental hygiene, or dental assisting school and subjects the holder to this chapter.

- (b) The board may issue to dentist members of the faculty of a Minnesota school of dentistry, <u>dental therapy</u>, dental hygiene, or dental assisting accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation, a license designated as a limited faculty license entitling the holder to practice dentistry within the school and its affiliated teaching facilities, but only for the purposes of teaching or conducting research. The practice of dentistry at a school facility for purposes other than teaching or research is not allowed unless the dentist was a faculty member on August 1, 1993.
- (c) The board may issue to dentist members of the faculty of a Minnesota school of dentistry, <u>dental therapy</u>, dental hygiene, or dental assisting accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation a license designated as a full faculty license entitling the holder to practice dentistry within the school and its affiliated teaching facilities and elsewhere if the holder of the license is employed 50 percent time or more <u>full time</u> by the school in the practice of teaching, <u>supervising</u>, or research, and upon successful review by the board of the applicant's qualifications as described in subdivisions 1, 1c, and 4 and board rule. The board, at its discretion, may waive specific licensing prerequisites.

25.1

25.2

25.3

25.4

25.5

25.6

25.7

25.8

25.9

25.10

25.11

25.12

25.13

25.14

25.15

25.16

25.17

25.18

25.19

25.20

25.21

25.22

25.23

25.24

25.25

25.26

25.27

25.28

25.29

25.30

25.31

25.32

05/18/18	REVISOR	ACF/CS	A18-0983

26.1	Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2010, Section 130A.00, is amended by adding a subdivision
26.2	to read:
26.3	Subd. 10. Emeritus inactive license. (a) A dental professional licensed under this chapter
26.4	to practice dentistry, dental therapy, dental hygiene, or dental assisting who retires from
26.5	active practice in the state may apply to the board for an emeritus inactive license. An
26.6	applicant must apply for an emeritus inactive license on the biennial licensing form or by
26.7	petitioning the board.
26.8	(b) The board shall not grant an emeritus inactive license to an applicant who is the
26.9	subject of a disciplinary action resulting in the current suspension, revocation,
26.10	disqualification, condition, or restriction of the applicant's license to practice dentistry,
26.11	dental therapy, dental hygiene, or dental assisting.
26.12	(c) An emeritus inactive licensee is prohibited from practicing dentistry, dental therapy,
26.13	dental hygiene, or dental assisting. An emeritus inactive license is a formal recognition of
26.14	completion of the licensee's dental career in good standing.
26.15	(d) The board shall charge a onetime fee for issuance of an emeritus inactive license,
26.16	pursuant to section 150A.091.
26.17	Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 150A.06, is amended by adding a subdivision
26.18	to read:
26.19	Subd. 11. Emeritus active license. (a) A dental professional licensed to practice dentistry,
26.20	dental therapy, dental hygiene, or dental assisting, pursuant to section 150A.05 and Minnesota
26.21	Rules, part 3100.8500, who declares retirement from active practice in the state may apply
26.22	to the board for an emeritus active license. An applicant must apply for an emeritus active
26.23	license on a form as required by the board.
26.24	(b) An emeritus active licensee may engage only in pro bono or volunteer practice, paid
26.25	practice not to exceed 240 hours per calendar year for the purpose of providing license
26.26	supervision to meet board requirements, and paid consulting services not to exceed 240
26.27	hours per calendar year.
26.28	(c) An emeritus active licensee is prohibited from representing that the licensee is
26.29	authorized to engage in any practice except as provided in paragraph (b). The board may
26.30	take disciplinary or corrective action against an emeritus active licensee as provided in
26.31	section 150A.08.
26.32	(d) An emeritus active license must be renewed biennially. The renewal requirements
26.33	for an emeritus active license are:

27.1	(1) completion of a renewal form as required by the board;
27.2	(2) payment of a renewal fee pursuant to section 150A.091; and
27.3	(3) reporting of 25 completed continuing education hours, which must include:
27.4	(i) courses in two required CORE areas;
27.5	(ii) one hour of credit on infection control;
27.6	(iii) for emeritus active licenses in dentistry and dental therapy, at least 15 fundamental
27.7	credits and no more than ten elective credits; and
27.8	(iv) for emeritus active licenses in dental hygiene and dental assisting, at least seven
27.9	fundamental credits and no more than six elective credits.
27.10	Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 150A.091, is amended by adding a subdivision
27.11	to read:
27.12	Subd. 19. Emeritus inactive license. Each applicant shall submit with an application
27.13	for an emeritus inactive license a onetime, nonrefundable fee in the amount of \$50.
27.14	Sec. 37. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 150A.091, is amended by adding a subdivision
27.15	to read:
27.16	Subd. 20. Emeritus active license. Each applicant shall submit with an application for
27.17	an emeritus inactive license, and each emeritus active licensee shall submit with a renewal
27.18	application, a nonrefundable fee as follows:
27.19	(1) for an emeritus active license in dentistry, \$212;
27.20	(2) for an emeritus active license in dental therapy, \$100;
27.21	(3) for an emeritus active license in dental hygiene, \$75; and
27.22	(4) for an emeritus active license in dental assisting, \$55.
27.23	Sec. 38. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 151.15, is amended by adding a subdivision to
27.24	read:
27.25	Subd. 5. Receipt of emergency prescription orders. A pharmacist, when that pharmacist
27.26	is not present within a licensed pharmacy, may accept a written, verbal, or electronic
27.27	prescription drug order from a practitioner only if:

05/18/18	REVISOR	ACF/CS	A18-0983

to open would likely cause t; be dispensed is closed fo censed pharmacy that wil
be dispensed is closed fo
•
censed pharmacy that wil
censed pharmacy that wil
er must be received through
the prescription drug orde
ites regarding the handling
be dispensed has relevan
n available to the board
by adding a subdivision to
oharmacist, when that
ss a pharmacy prescription
ns in order to process an
<u>if:</u>
be dispensed is closed fo
censed pharmacy that wil
care facility or a county
chapter and rules adopted
chapter and rules adopted
chapter and rules adopted be dispensed has relevan

Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 151.19, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. **Pharmacy licensure requirements.** (a) No person shall operate a pharmacy without first obtaining a license from the board and paying any applicable fee specified in section 151.065. The license shall be displayed in a conspicuous place in the pharmacy for which it is issued and expires on June 30 following the date of issue. It is unlawful for any person to operate a pharmacy unless the license has been issued to the person by the board.

- (b) Application for a pharmacy license under this section shall be made in a manner specified by the board.
- (c) No license shall be issued or renewed for a pharmacy located within the state unless the applicant agrees to operate the pharmacy in a manner prescribed by federal and state law and according to rules adopted by the board. No license shall be issued for a pharmacy located outside of the state unless the applicant agrees to operate the pharmacy in a manner prescribed by federal law and, when dispensing medications for residents of this state, the laws of this state, and Minnesota Rules.
- (d) No license shall be issued or renewed for a pharmacy that is required to be licensed or registered by the state in which it is physically located unless the applicant supplies the board with proof of such licensure or registration.
- (e) The board shall require a separate license for each pharmacy located within the state and for each pharmacy located outside of the state at which any portion of the dispensing process occurs for drugs dispensed to residents of this state.
- (f) The board shall not issue an initial or renewed license for a pharmacy unless the pharmacy passes an inspection conducted by an authorized representative of the board. In the case of a pharmacy located outside of the state, the board may require the applicant to pay the cost of the inspection, in addition to the license fee in section 151.065, unless the applicant furnishes the board with a report, issued by the appropriate regulatory agency of the state in which the facility is located, of an inspection that has occurred within the 24 months immediately preceding receipt of the license application by the board. The board may deny licensure unless the applicant submits documentation satisfactory to the board that any deficiencies noted in an inspection report have been corrected.
- (g) The board shall not issue an initial or renewed license for a pharmacy located outside of the state unless the applicant discloses and certifies:

29.1

29.2

29.3

29.4

29.5

29.6

29.7

29.8

29.9

29.10

29.11

29.12

29.13

29.14

29.15

29.16

29.17

29.18

29.19

29.20

29.21

29.22

29.23

29.24

29.25

29.26

29.27

29.28

29.29

29.30

29.31

05/18/18	REVISOR	ACF/CS	A18-0983

	03/10/10	KE VISOK	ACI/CS	A10-0703
30.1	(1) the location, names, and titles of	of all principal corpo	orate officers and al	ll pharmacists
30.2	who are involved in dispensing drugs	to residents of this	state;	
30.3	(2) that it maintains its records of o	drugs dispensed to r	residents of this stat	e so that the
30.4	records are readily retrievable from th	e records of other d	rugs dispensed;	
30.5	(3) that it agrees to cooperate with	, and provide inform	nation to, the board	concerning
30.6	matters related to dispensing drugs to	residents of this sta	te;	
30.7	(4) that, during its regular hours of	operation, but no le	ess than six days pe	er week, for a
30.8	minimum of 40 hours per week, a toll-	-free telephone serv	vice is provided to fa	acilitate
30.9	communication between patients in th	is state and a pharm	nacist at the pharma	cy who has
30.10	access to the patients' records; the toll-	-free number must l	be disclosed on the	label affixed
30.11	to each container of drugs dispensed to	o residents of this st	tate; and	
30.12	(5) that, upon request of a resident	of a long-term care	facility located in	this state, the
30.13	resident's authorized representative, or	r a contract pharmac	cy or licensed health	h care facility
30.14	acting on behalf of the resident, the ph	armacy will dispens	se medications pres	cribed for the
30.15	resident in unit-dose packaging or, alte	ernatively, comply v	with section 151.415	5, subdivision
30.16	5.			
30.17	(h) This subdivision does not apply	y to a manufacturer	licensed under sect	ion 151.252,
30.18	subdivision 1, a wholesale drug distrib	outor licensed under	r section 151.47, or	a third-party
30.19	logistics provider, to the extent the ma	nufacturer, wholesa	le drug distributor,	or third-party
30.20	logistics provider is engaged in the dist	tribution of dialysate	e or devices necessa	ary to perform
30.21	home peritoneal dialysis on patients w	vith end-stage renal	disease, if:	
30.22	(1) the manufacturer or its agent leas	ses or owns the licen	sed manufacturing o	or wholesaling
30.23	facility from which the dialysate or de	evices will be delive	ered;	
30.24	(2) the dialysate is comprised of de	extrose or icodextrii	n and has been appr	coved by the
30.25	United States Food and Drug Adminis	stration;		
30.26	(3) the dialysate is stored and deliv	vered in its original,	sealed, and unoper	ned
30.27	manufacturer's packaging;			
30.28	(4) the dialysate or devices are del	ivered only upon:		

- 30.29 (i) receipt of a physician's order by a Minnesota licensed pharmacy; and
- 30.30 (ii) the review and processing of the prescription by a pharmacist licensed by the state 30.31 in which the pharmacy is located, who is employed by or under contract to the pharmacy;

05/18/18	REVISOR	ACF/CS	A18-0983

)1.1	(3) prescriptions, poneies, procedures, and records of derivery are maintained by the
31.2	manufacturer for a minimum of three years and are made available to the board upon request;
31.3	<u>and</u>
31.4	(6) the manufacturer or the manufacturer's agent delivers the dialysate or devices directly
31.5	to:
31.6	(i) a patient with end-stage renal disease for whom the prescription was written or the
31.7	patient's designee, for the patient's self-administration of the dialysis therapy; or
31.8	(ii) a health care provider or institution, for administration or delivery of the dialysis
31.9	therapy to a patient with end-stage renal disease for whom the prescription was written.
31.10	Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 151.46, is amended to read:
31.11	151.46 PROHIBITED DRUG PURCHASES OR RECEIPT.
31.12	It is unlawful for any person to knowingly purchase or receive a prescription drug from
31.13	a source other than a person or entity licensed under the laws of the state, except where
31.14	otherwise provided. Licensed wholesale drug distributors other than pharmacies shall not
31.15	dispense or distribute prescription drugs directly to patients except for licensed facilities
31.16	that dispense or distribute home peritoneal dialysis products directly to patients pursuant
31.17	to section 151.19, subdivision 1, paragraph (h). A person violating the provisions of this
31.18	section is guilty of a misdemeanor.
31.19	Sec. 42. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 214.075, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
31.20	Subdivision 1. Applications. (a) By January 1, 2018, Each health-related licensing
31.21	board, as defined in section 214.01, subdivision 2, shall require applicants for initial licensure,
31.22	licensure by endorsement, or reinstatement or other relicensure after a lapse in licensure,
31.23	as defined by the individual health-related licensing boards, the following individuals to
31.24	submit to a criminal history records check of state data completed by the Bureau of Criminal
31.25	Apprehension (BCA) and a national criminal history records check, including a search of
31.26	the records of the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI)-:
31.27	(1) applicants for initial licensure or licensure by endorsement. An applicant is exempt
31.28	from this paragraph if the applicant submitted to a state and national criminal history records
31.29	check as described in this paragraph for a license issued by the same board;
31.30	(2) applicants seeking reinstatement or relicensure, as defined by the individual
31.31	health-related licensing board, if more than one year has elapsed since the applicant's license
31.32	or registration expiration date; or

(3) licensees applying for eligibility to participate in an interstate licensure compact.

- (b) An applicant must complete a criminal background check if more than one year has elapsed since the applicant last submitted a background check to the board. An applicant's criminal background check results are valid for one year from the date the background check results were received by the board. If more than one year has elapsed since the results were received by the board, then an applicant who has not completed the licensure, reinstatement, or relicensure process must complete a new background check.
- Sec. 43. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 214.075, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
- Subd. 4. **Refusal to consent.** (a) The health-related licensing boards shall not issue a license to any applicant who refuses to consent to a criminal background check or fails to submit fingerprints within 90 days after submission of an application for licensure. Any fees paid by the applicant to the board shall be forfeited if the applicant refuses to consent to the criminal background check or fails to submit the required fingerprints.
- (b) The failure of a licensee to submit to a criminal background check as provided in subdivision 3 is grounds for disciplinary action by the respective health-related licensing board.
- Sec. 44. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 214.075, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
 - Subd. 5. **Submission of fingerprints to the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension.** The health-related licensing board or designee shall submit applicant or licensee fingerprints to the BCA. The BCA shall perform a check for state criminal justice information and shall forward the applicant's or licensee's fingerprints to the FBI to perform a check for national criminal justice information regarding the applicant or licensee. The BCA shall report to the board the results of the state and national criminal justice information history records checks.
- Sec. 45. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 214.075, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
- Subd. 6. Alternatives to fingerprint-based criminal background checks. The
 health-related licensing board may require an alternative method of criminal history checks
 for an applicant or licensee who has submitted at least three two sets of fingerprints in
 accordance with this section that have been unreadable by the BCA or the FBI.

32.1

32.2

32.3

32.4

32.5

32.6

32.7

32.8

32.9

32.10

32.11

32.12

32.13

32.14

32.15

32.16

32.18

32.19

32.20

32.21

32.22

32.23

Sec. 46. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 214.077, is amended to read:

33.1

33.2

333

33.4

33.5

33.6

33.7

33.8

33.9

33.10

33.11

33.12

33.13

33.14

33.15

33.16

33.17

33.18

33.19

33.20

33.21

33.22

33.23

33.24

33.25

33.26

33.27

33.28

33.29

33.30

33.31

33.32

33.33

33.34

214.077 TEMPORARY LICENSE SUSPENSION; IMMINENT RISK OF SERIOUS HARM.

- (a) Notwithstanding any provision of a health-related professional practice act, when a health-related licensing board receives a complaint regarding a regulated person and has probable cause to believe that the regulated person has violated a statute or rule that the health-related licensing board is empowered to enforce, and continued practice by the regulated person presents an imminent risk of serious harm, the health-related licensing board shall issue an order temporarily suspending the regulated person's authority to practice. The temporary suspension order shall specify the reason for the suspension, including the statute or rule alleged to have been violated. The temporary suspension order shall take effect upon personal service on the regulated person or the regulated person's attorney, or upon the third calendar day after the order is served by first class mail to the most recent address provided to the health-related licensing board for the regulated person or the regulated person or the regulated person or the regulated person's attorney.
- (b) The temporary suspension shall remain in effect until the health-related licensing board or the commissioner completes an investigation, holds a contested case hearing pursuant to the Administrative Procedure Act, and issues a final order in the matter as provided for in this section.
- (c) At the time it issues the temporary suspension order, the health-related licensing board shall schedule a contested case hearing, on the merits of whether discipline is warranted, to be held pursuant to the Administrative Procedure Act. The regulated person shall be provided with at least ten days' notice of any contested case hearing held pursuant to this section. The contested case hearing shall be scheduled to begin no later than 30 days after the effective service of the temporary suspension order.
- (d) The administrative law judge presiding over the contested case hearing shall issue a report and recommendation to the health-related licensing board no later than 30 days after the final day of the contested case hearing. If the administrative law judge's report and recommendations are for no action, the health-related licensing board shall issue a final order pursuant to sections 14.61 and 14.62 within 30 days of receipt of the administrative law judge's report and recommendations. If the administrative law judge's report and recommendations are for action, the health-related licensing board shall issue a final order pursuant to sections 14.61 and 14.62 within 60 days of receipt of the administrative law judge's report and recommendations. Except as provided in paragraph (e), if the health-related

05/18/18	REVISOR	ACF/CS	A18-0983

licensing board has not issued a final order pursuant to sections 14.61 and 14.62 within 30 days of receipt of the administrative law judge's report and recommendations for no action or within 60 days of receipt of the administrative law judge's report and recommendations for action, the temporary suspension shall be lifted.

- (e) If the regulated person requests a delay in the contested case proceedings provided for in paragraphs (c) and (d) for any reason, the temporary suspension shall remain in effect until the health-related licensing board issues a final order pursuant to sections 14.61 and 14.62.
- (f) This section shall not apply to the Office of Unlicensed Complementary and Alternative Health Practice established under section 146A.02. The commissioner of health shall conduct temporary suspensions for complementary and alternative health care practitioners in accordance with section 146A.09.
- Sec. 47. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 214.10, subdivision 8, is amended to read:
 - Subd. 8. **Special requirements for health-related licensing boards.** In addition to the provisions of this section that apply to all examining and licensing boards, the requirements in this subdivision apply to all health-related licensing boards, except the Board of Veterinary Medicine.
 - (a) If the executive director or consulted board member determines that a communication received alleges a violation of statute or rule that involves sexual contact with a patient or client, the communication shall be forwarded to the designee of the attorney general for an investigation of the facts alleged in the communication. If, after an investigation it is the opinion of the executive director or consulted board member that there is sufficient evidence to justify disciplinary action, the board shall conduct a disciplinary conference or hearing. If, after a hearing or disciplinary conference the board determines that misconduct involving sexual contact with a patient or client occurred, the board shall take disciplinary action. Notwithstanding subdivision 2, a board may not attempt to correct improper activities or redress grievances through education, conciliation, and persuasion, unless in the opinion of the executive director or consulted board member there is insufficient evidence to justify disciplinary action. The board may settle a case by stipulation prior to, or during, a hearing if the stipulation provides for disciplinary action.
 - (b) A board member who has a direct current or former financial connection or professional relationship to a person who is the subject of board disciplinary activities must not participate in board activities relating to that case.

34.1

34.2

34.3

34.4

34.5

34.6

34.7

34.8

34.9

34.10

34.11

34.12

34.13

34.14

34.15

34.16

34.17

34.18

34.19

34.20

34.21

34.22

34.23

34.24

34.25

34.26

34.27

34.28

34.29

34.30

34.31

34.32

(c) Each health-related licensing board shall establish procedures for exchanging information with other Minnesota state boards, agencies, and departments responsible for regulating health-related occupations, facilities, and programs, and for coordinating investigations involving matters within the jurisdiction of more than one regulatory body. The procedures must provide for the forwarding to other regulatory bodies of all information and evidence, including the results of investigations, that are relevant to matters within that licensing body's regulatory jurisdiction. Each health-related licensing board shall have access to any data of the Department of Human Services relating to a person subject to the jurisdiction of the licensing board. The data shall have the same classification under chapter 13, the Minnesota Government Data Practices Act, in the hands of the agency receiving the data as it had in the hands of the Department of Human Services.

- (d) Each health-related licensing board shall establish procedures for exchanging information with other states regarding disciplinary actions against licensees. The procedures must provide for the collection of information from other states about disciplinary actions taken against persons who are licensed to practice in Minnesota or who have applied to be licensed in this state and the dissemination of information to other states regarding disciplinary actions taken in Minnesota. In addition to any authority in chapter 13 permitting the dissemination of data, the board may, in its discretion, disseminate data to other states regardless of its classification under chapter 13. Criminal history record information shall not be exchanged. Before transferring any data that is not public, the board shall obtain reasonable assurances from the receiving state that the data will not be made public.
- Sec. 48. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 214.12, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
 - Subd. 6. Opioid and controlled substances prescribing. (a) The Board of Medical Practice, the Board of Nursing, the Board of Dentistry, the Board of Optometry, and the Board of Podiatric Medicine shall require that licensees with the authority to prescribe controlled substances obtain at least two hours of continuing education credit on best practices in prescribing opioids and controlled substances, as part of the continuing education requirements for licensure renewal. Licensees shall not be required to complete more than two credit hours of continuing education on best practices in prescribing opioids and controlled substances before this subdivision expires. Continuing education credit on best practices in prescribing opioids and controlled substances must meet board requirements.
 - (b) This subdivision expires January 1, 2023.
 - **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2019.

35.1

35.2

35.3

35.4

35.5

35.6

35.7

35.8

35.9

35.10

35.11

35.12

35.13

35.14

35.15

35.16

35.17

35.18

35.19

35.20

35.21

35.22

35.23

35.24

35.25

35.26

35.27

35.28

35.29

35.30

35.31

35.32

35.33

Sec. 49. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 364.09, is amended to read:

364.09 EXCEPTIONS.

36.1

36.2

36.3

36.4

36.5

36.6

36.7

36.8

36.9

36.10

36.11

36.12

36.13

36.14

36.15

36.16

36.17

36.18

36.19

36.22

36.23

36.24

36.25

36.26

36.27

36.28

36.29

36.30

36.31

36.32

- (a) This chapter does not apply to the licensing process for peace officers; to law enforcement agencies as defined in section 626.84, subdivision 1, paragraph (f); to fire protection agencies; to eligibility for a private detective or protective agent license; to the licensing and background study process under chapters 245A and 245C; to the licensing and background investigation process under chapter 240; to eligibility for school bus driver endorsements; to eligibility for special transportation service endorsements; to eligibility for a commercial driver training instructor license, which is governed by section 171.35 and rules adopted under that section; to emergency medical services personnel, or to the licensing by political subdivisions of taxicab drivers, if the applicant for the license has been discharged from sentence for a conviction within the ten years immediately preceding application of a violation of any of the following:
- (1) sections 609.185 to 609.2114, 609.221 to 609.223, 609.342 to 609.3451, or 617.23, subdivision 2 or 3; or Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 609.21;
- (2) any provision of chapter 152 that is punishable by a maximum sentence of 15 years or more; or
- (3) a violation of chapter 169 or 169A involving driving under the influence, leaving the scene of an accident, or reckless or careless driving.
- This chapter also shall not apply to eligibility for juvenile corrections employment, where the offense involved child physical or sexual abuse or criminal sexual conduct.
 - (b) This chapter does not apply to a school district or to eligibility for a license issued or renewed by the Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board or the commissioner of education.
 - (c) Nothing in this section precludes the Minnesota Police and Peace Officers Training Board or the state fire marshal from recommending policies set forth in this chapter to the attorney general for adoption in the attorney general's discretion to apply to law enforcement or fire protection agencies.
 - (d) This chapter does not apply to a license to practice medicine that has been denied or revoked by the Board of Medical Practice pursuant to section 147.091, subdivision 1a.
 - (e) This chapter does not apply to any person who has been denied a license to practice chiropractic or whose license to practice chiropractic has been revoked by the board in accordance with section 148.10, subdivision 7.

05/18/18	REVISOR	ACF/CS	A18-0983

37.1	(f) This chapter does not apply to any license, registration, or permit that has been denied
37.2	or revoked by the Board of Nursing in accordance with section 148.261, subdivision 1a.
37.3	(g) (d) This chapter does not apply to any license, registration, permit, or certificate that
37.4	has been denied or revoked by the commissioner of health according to section 148.5195,
37.5	subdivision 5; or 153A.15, subdivision 2.
37.6	(h) (e) This chapter does not supersede a requirement under law to conduct a criminal
37.7	history background investigation or consider criminal history records in hiring for particular
37.8	types of employment.
37.9	(f) This chapter does not apply to the licensing or registration process for, or to any
37.10	license, registration, or permit that has been denied or revoked by, a health-related licensing
37.11	board listed in section 214.01, subdivision 2.
37.12	Sec. 50. GUIDELINES AUTHORIZING PATIENT-ASSISTED MEDICATION
37.13	ADMINISTRATION.
37.14	(a) Within the limits of the board's available appropriation, the Emergency Medical
37.15	Services Regulatory Board shall propose guidelines authorizing EMTs, AEMTs, and
37.16	paramedics certified under Minnesota Statutes, section 144E.28, to assist a patient in
37.17	emergency situations with administering prescription medications that are:
37.18	(1) carried by a patient;
37.19	(2) intended to treat adrenal insufficiency or other rare conditions that require emergency
37.20	treatment with a previously prescribed medication;
37.21	(3) intended to treat a specific life-threatening condition; and
37.22	(4) administered via routes of delivery that are within the scope of training of the EMT,
37.23	AEMT, or paramedic.
37.24	(b) The proposed guidelines shall include language that requires the ambulance service
37.25	to be available to patients or their caregivers who have medical conditions identified in
37.26	paragraph (a) to define the patient's needs and, when appropriate, develop specific care
37.27	plans and provide education or other resources at the discretion of the ambulance service
37.28	medical director.
37.29	(c) The Emergency Medical Services Regulatory Board shall submit the proposed
37.30	guidelines and draft legislation as necessary to the chairs and ranking minority members of
37.31	the legislative committees with jurisdiction over health care by January 1, 2019.

38.1	Sec.	51.	REPEAL	LER.

- 38.2 (a) Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 214.075, subdivision 8, is repealed.
- 38.3 (b) Minnesota Rules, part 5600.0605, subparts 5 and 8, are repealed."
- Renumber the sections in sequence and correct the internal references
- 38.5 Amend the title accordingly