05/18/18 12:13 PM	REVISOR	ACF/JK	A18-0988

..... moves to amend S.F. No. 3656, the second engrossment, the Article 23

1.2	Health Department delete everything amendment (A18-0934), in conference committee, as
1.3	follows:
1.4	Page 388, delete article 23 and insert:
1.5	"ARTICLE 23
1.6	HEALTH DEPARTMENT
1.7	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 103I.005, subdivision 2, is
1.8	amended to read:
1.9	Subd. 2. Boring. "Boring" means a hole or excavation that is not used to extract water
1.10	and includes exploratory borings, bored geothermal heat exchangers, temporary borings,
1.11	and elevator borings.
1.12	Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 103I.005, subdivision 8a, is amended
1.13	to read:
1.14	Subd. 8a. Environmental well. "Environmental well" means an excavation 15 or more
1.15	feet in depth that is drilled, cored, bored, washed, driven, dug, jetted, or otherwise constructed
1.16	to:
1.17	(1) conduct physical, chemical, or biological testing of groundwater, and includes a
1.18	groundwater quality monitoring or sampling well;
1.19	(2) lower a groundwater level to control or remove contamination in groundwater, and
1.20	includes a remedial well and excludes horizontal trenches; or
1.21	(3) monitor or measure physical, chemical, radiological, or biological parameters of the
1.22	earth and earth fluids, or for vapor recovery or venting systems. An environmental well
1.23	includes an excavation used to:

05/18/18 12:13 PM	REVISOR	ACF/JK	A18-0988
U3/18/18 12:13 PW	KE VISOK	ACF/JK	A 18-0988

2.1	(i) measure groundwater levels, including a piezometer;
2.2	(ii) determine groundwater flow direction or velocity;
2.3	(iii) measure earth properties such as hydraulic conductivity, bearing capacity, or
2.4	resistance;
2.5	(iv) obtain samples of geologic materials for testing or classification; or
2.6	(v) remove or remediate pollution or contamination from groundwater or soil through
2.7	the use of a vent, vapor recovery system, or sparge point.
2.8	An environmental well does not include an exploratory boring.
2.9	Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 103I.005, subdivision 17a, is amended
2.10	to read:
2.11	Subd. 17a. Temporary environmental well boring. "Temporary environmental well"
2.12	means an environmental well as defined in section 1031.005, subdivision 8a, that is sealed
2.13	within 72 hours of the time construction on the well begins. "Temporary boring" means an
2.14	excavation that is 15 feet or more in depth that is sealed within 72 hours of the start of
2.15	construction and is drilled, cored, washed, driven, dug, jetted, or otherwise constructed to:
2.16	(1) conduct physical, chemical, or biological testing of groundwater, including
2.17	groundwater quality monitoring;
2.18	(2) monitor or measure physical, chemical, radiological, or biological parameters of
2.19	earth materials or earth fluids, including hydraulic conductivity, bearing capacity, or
2.20	resistance;
2.21	(3) measure groundwater levels, including use of a piezometer;
2.22	(4) determine groundwater flow direction or velocity; or
2.23	(5) collect samples of geologic materials for testing or classification, or soil vapors for
2.24	testing or extraction.
2.25	Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 103I.205, subdivision 1, is amended
2.26	to read:
2.27	Subdivision 1. Notification required. (a) Except as provided in paragraph (d), a person
2.28	may not construct a water-supply, dewatering, or environmental well until a notification of
2.29	the proposed well on a form prescribed by the commissioner is filed with the commissioner
2.30	with the filing fee in section 103I.208, and, when applicable, the person has met the

requirements of paragraph (e). If after filing the well notification an attempt to construct a well is unsuccessful, a new notification is not required unless the information relating to the successful well has substantially changed. A notification is not required prior to construction of a temporary environmental well boring.

- (b) The property owner, the property owner's agent, or the licensed contractor where a well is to be located must file the well notification with the commissioner.
- (c) The well notification under this subdivision preempts local permits and notifications, and counties or home rule charter or statutory cities may not require a permit or notification for wells unless the commissioner has delegated the permitting or notification authority under section 103I.111.
- (d) A person who is an individual that constructs a drive point water-supply well on property owned or leased by the individual for farming or agricultural purposes or as the individual's place of abode must notify the commissioner of the installation and location of the well. The person must complete the notification form prescribed by the commissioner and mail it to the commissioner by ten days after the well is completed. A fee may not be charged for the notification. A person who sells drive point wells at retail must provide buyers with notification forms and informational materials including requirements regarding wells, their location, construction, and disclosure. The commissioner must provide the notification forms and informational materials to the sellers.
- (e) When the operation of a well will require an appropriation permit from the commissioner of natural resources, a person may not begin construction of the well until the person submits the following information to the commissioner of natural resources:
- (1) the location of the well;

3.1

3.2

3.3

3.4

3.5

3.6

3 7

3.8

3.9

3.10

3.11

3.12

3.13

3.14

3.15

3.16

3.17

3.18

3.19

3.20

3.21

3.22

3.23

- (2) the formation or aquifer that will serve as the water source;
- 3.25 (3) the maximum daily, seasonal, and annual pumpage rates and volumes that will be requested in the appropriation permit; and
- (4) other information requested by the commissioner of natural resources that is necessary to conduct the preliminary assessment required under section 103G.287, subdivision 1, paragraph (c).
- The person may begin construction after receiving preliminary approval from the commissioner of natural resources.

05/18/18 12:13 PM	REVISOR	ACF/JK	A18-0988

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 103I.205, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

- Subd. 4. **License required.** (a) Except as provided in paragraph (b), (c), (d), or (e), section 103I.401, subdivision 2, or 103I.601, subdivision 2, a person may not drill, construct, repair, or seal a well or boring unless the person has a well contractor's license in possession.
- (b) A person may construct, repair, and seal an environmental well or temporary boringif the person:
- 4.8 (1) is a professional engineer licensed under sections 326.02 to 326.15 in the branches of civil or geological engineering;
- 4.10 (2) is a hydrologist or hydrogeologist certified by the American Institute of Hydrology;
- 4.11 (3) is a professional geoscientist licensed under sections 326.02 to 326.15;
- (4) is a geologist certified by the American Institute of Professional Geologists; or
- 4.13 (5) meets the qualifications established by the commissioner in rule.
- A person must be licensed by the commissioner as an environmental well contractor on forms provided by the commissioner.
- 4.16 (c) A person may do the following work with a limited well/boring contractor's license in possession. A separate license is required for each of the four activities:
- (1) installing, repairing, and modifying well screens, pitless units and pitless adaptors,
 well pumps and pumping equipment, and well casings from the pitless adaptor or pitless
 unit to the upper termination of the well casing;
- 4.21 (2) sealing wells and borings;

43

4.4

- 4.22 (3) constructing, repairing, and sealing dewatering wells; or
- 4.23 (4) constructing, repairing, and sealing bored geothermal heat exchangers.
- (d) A person may construct, repair, and seal an elevator boring with an elevator boring contractor's license.
- 4.26 (e) Notwithstanding other provisions of this chapter requiring a license, a license is not 4.27 required for a person who complies with the other provisions of this chapter if the person 4.28 is:
- (1) an individual who constructs a water-supply well on land that is owned or leased by the individual and is used by the individual for farming or agricultural purposes or as the individual's place of abode; or

05/18/18 12:13 PM	REVISOR	ACF/JK	A18-0988

(2) an individual who performs labor or services for a contractor licensed under the provisions of this chapter in connection with the construction, sealing, or repair of a well or boring at the direction and under the personal supervision of a contractor licensed under the provisions of this chapter; or.

- (3) a licensed plumber who is repairing submersible pumps or water pipes associated with well water systems if: (i) the repair location is within an area where there is no licensed well contractor within 50 miles, and (ii) the licensed plumber complies with all relevant sections of the plumbing code.
- Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 103I.205, subdivision 9, is amended to read:
- Subd. 9. **Report of work.** Within 30 60 days after completion or sealing of a well or boring, the person doing the work must submit a verified report to the commissioner containing the information specified by rules adopted under this chapter.
- Within 30 days after receiving the report, the commissioner shall send or otherwise provide access to a copy of the report to the commissioner of natural resources, to the local soil and water conservation district where the well is located, and to the director of the Minnesota Geological Survey.
- Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 103I.208, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
 - Subdivision 1. **Well notification fee.** The well notification fee to be paid by a property owner is:
- 5.21 (1) for construction of a water supply well, \$275, which includes the state core function fee;
 - (2) for a well sealing, \$75 for each well <u>or boring</u>, which includes the state core function fee, except that a single fee of \$75 is required for all temporary <u>environmental wells borings</u> recorded on the sealing notification for a single property, <u>having depths within a 25 foot range</u>, and sealed within 72 hours of start of construction, except that temporary borings less than 25 feet in depth are exempt from the notification and fee requirements in this <u>chapter</u>;
 - (3) for construction of a dewatering well, \$275, which includes the state core function fee, for each dewatering well except a dewatering project comprising five or more dewatering wells shall be assessed a single fee of \$1,375 for the dewatering wells recorded on the notification; and

5.1

5.2

5.3

5.4

5.5

5.6

5.7

5.8

5.9

5.10

5.11

5.12

5.13

5.14

5.15

5 16

5.19

5.20

5.23

5.24

5.25

5.26

5.27

5.28

5.29

5.30

5.31

05/18/18 12:13 PM	REVISOR	ACF/JK	A18-0988

(4) for construction of an environmental well, \$275, which includes the state core function fee, except that a single fee of \$275 is required for all environmental wells recorded on the notification that are located on a single property, and except that no fee is required for construction of a temporary environmental well boring.

- Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 103I.235, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- 6.7 Subd. 3. Temporary environmental well boring and unsuccessful well exemption.
- 6.8 This section does not apply to temporary <u>environmental wells borings</u> or unsuccessful wells 6.9 that have been sealed by a licensed contractor in compliance with this chapter.
- Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 103I.301, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
- 6.11 Subd. 6. **Notification required.** A person may not seal a well <u>or boring</u> until a notification of the proposed sealing is filed as prescribed by the commissioner. <u>Temporary borings less</u>
 6.13 than 25 feet in depth are exempt from the notification requirements in this chapter.
- Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 103I.601, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
 - Subd. 4. **Notification and map of borings.** (a) By ten days before beginning exploratory boring, an explorer must submit to the commissioner of health a notification of the proposed boring on a form prescribed by the commissioner, map and a fee of \$275 for each exploratory boring.
- (b) By ten days before beginning exploratory boring, an explorer must submit to the 6.20 commissioners of health and natural resources a county road map on a single sheet of paper 6.21 that is 8-1/2 inches by 11 inches in size and having a scale of one-half inch equal to one 6.22 mile, as prepared by the Department of Transportation, or a 7.5 minute series topographic 6.23 map (1:24,000 scale), as prepared by the United States Geological Survey, showing the 6.24 location of each proposed exploratory boring to the nearest estimated 40 acre parcel. 6.25 6.26 Exploratory boring that is proposed on the map may not be commenced later than 180 days after submission of the map, unless a new map is submitted. 6.27

Sec. 11. [137.68] ADVISORY COUNCIL ON RARE DISEASES.

Subdivision 1. Establishment. The Board of Regents of the University of Minnesota is
 requested to establish an advisory council on rare diseases to provide advice on research,
 diagnosis, treatment, and education related to rare diseases. For purposes of this section,

6.1

6.2

6.3

6.4

6.16

6.17

6.18

6.19

05/18/18 12:13 PM	REVISOR	ACF/JK	A18-0988

1	"rare disease" has the meaning given in United States Code, title 21, section 360bb. The
2	council shall be called the Chloe Barnes Advisory Council on Rare Diseases.
3	Subd. 2. Membership. (a) The advisory council may consist of public members appointed
4	by the Board of Regents or a designee according to paragraph (b) and four members of the
5	legislature appointed according to paragraph (c).
6	(b) The Board of Regents or a designee is requested to appoint the following public
7	members:
8	(1) three physicians licensed and practicing in the state with experience researching,
)	diagnosing, or treating rare diseases;
0	(2) one registered nurse or advanced practice registered nurse licensed and practicing
	in the state with experience treating rare diseases;
2	(3) at least two hospital administrators, or their designees, from hospitals in the state
	that provide care to persons diagnosed with a rare disease. One administrator or designee
	appointed under this clause must represent a hospital in which the scope of service focuses
	on rare diseases of pediatric patients;
	(4) three persons age 18 or older who either have a rare disease or are a caregiver of a
	person with a rare disease;
	(5) a representative of a rare disease patient organization that operates in the state;
	(6) a social worker with experience providing services to persons diagnosed with a rare
	disease;
	(7) a pharmacist with experience with drugs used to treat rare diseases;
	(8) a dentist licensed and practicing in the state with experience treating rare diseases;
	(9) a representative of the biotechnology industry;
	(10) a representative of health plan companies;
	(11) a medical researcher with experience conducting research on rare diseases;
	(12) a genetic counselor with experience providing services to persons diagnosed with
	a rare disease or caregivers of those persons; and
	(13) other public members, who may serve on an ad hoc basis.
	(c) The advisory council shall include two members of the senate, one appointed by the
	majority leader and one appointed by the minority leader; and two members of the house

05/18/18 12:13 PM	REVISOR	ACF/JK	A18-0988

of representatives, one appointed by the speaker of the house and one appointed by the 8.1 8.2 minority leader. 8.3 (d) The commissioner of health or a designee, a representative of Mayo Medical School, and a representative of the University of Minnesota Medical School, shall serve as ex officio, 8.4 8.5 nonvoting members of the advisory council. (e) Initial appointments to the advisory council shall be made no later than July 1, 2018. 8.6 Members appointed according to paragraph (b) shall serve for a term of three years, except 8 7 that the initial members appointed according to paragraph (b) shall have an initial term of 8.8 two, three, or four years determined by lot by the chairperson. Members appointed according 8.9 to paragraph (b) shall serve until their successors have been appointed. 8.10 Subd. 3. Meetings. The Board of Regents or a designee is requested to convene the first 8.11 8.12 meeting of the advisory council no later than September 1, 2018. The advisory council shall meet at the call of the chairperson or at the request of a majority of advisory council members. 8.13 8.14 Subd. 4. **Duties.** (a) The advisory council's duties may include, but are not limited to: (1) in conjunction with the state's medical schools, the state's schools of public health, 8.15 and hospitals in the state that provide care to persons diagnosed with a rare disease, 8.16 developing resources or recommendations relating to quality of and access to treatment and 8.17 services in the state for persons with a rare disease, including but not limited to: 8.18 (i) a list of existing, publicly accessible resources on research, diagnosis, treatment, and 8.19 education relating to rare diseases; 8.20 (ii) identifying best practices for rare disease care implemented in other states, at the 8.21 national level, and at the international level, that will improve rare disease care in the state 8.22 and seeking opportunities to partner with similar organizations in other states and countries; 8.23 (iii) identifying problems faced by patients with a rare disease when changing health 8.24 plans, including recommendations on how to remove obstacles faced by these patients to 8.25 finding a new health plan and how to improve the ease and speed of finding a new health 8.26 8.27 plan that meets the needs of patients with a rare disease; and (iv) identifying best practices to ensure health care providers are adequately informed 8.28 8.29 of the most effective strategies for recognizing and treating rare diseases; and (2) advising, consulting, and cooperating with the Department of Health, the Advisory 8.30 Committee on Heritable and Congenital Disorders, and other agencies of state government 8.31 in developing information and programs for the public and the health care community 8.32

8.33

relating to diagnosis, treatment, and awareness of rare diseases.

05/18/18 12:13 PM	REVISOR	ACF/JK	A18-0988

(b) The advisory council shall collect additional topic areas for study and evaluation from the general public. In order for the advisory council to study and evaluate a topic, the topic must be approved for study and evaluation by the advisory council.

- Subd. 5. Conflict of interest. Advisory council members are subject to the Board of Regents policy on conflicts of interest.
- Subd. 6. Annual report. By January 1 of each year, beginning January 1, 2019, the advisory council shall report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over higher education and health care policy on the advisory council's activities under subdivision 4 and other issues on which the advisory council may 9.10 choose to report.
- Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144.121, subdivision 1a, is amended to read: 9.11
- Subd. 1a. Fees for ionizing radiation-producing equipment. (a) A facility with ionizing 9.12 radiation-producing equipment must pay an annual initial or annual renewal registration 9.13 fee consisting of a base facility fee of \$100 and an additional fee for each radiation source, 9.14 as follows: 9.15

9.16	(1) medical or veterinary equipment	\$ 100
9.17	(2) dental x-ray equipment	\$ 40
9.18 9.19	(3) x-ray equipment not used on humans or animals	\$ 100
9.20 9.21 9.22	(4) devices with sources of ionizing radiation not used on humans or animals	\$ 100
9.23	(5) security screening system	<u>\$</u> 100

- (b) A facility with radiation therapy and accelerator equipment must pay an annual registration fee of \$500. A facility with an industrial accelerator must pay an annual registration fee of \$150.
- (c) Electron microscopy equipment is exempt from the registration fee requirements of 9.27 this section. 9.28
- (d) For purposes of this section, a security screening system means radiation-producing 9.29 equipment designed and used for security screening of humans who are in custody of a 9.30 9.31 correctional or detention facility, and is used by the facility to image and identify contraband items concealed within or on all sides of a human body. For purposes of this section, a 9.32 correctional or detention facility is a facility licensed by the commissioner of corrections 9.33

9.1

9.2

9.3

9.4

9.5

9.6

9.7

9.8

9.9

9.24

9.25

05/18/18 12:13 PM	REVISOR	ACF/JK	A18-0988
U3/18/18 12:13 PW	KEVISUK	ACF/JK	A 18-0988

under section 241.021, and operated by a state agency or political subdivision charged with 10.1 detection, enforcement, or incarceration in respect to state criminal and traffic laws. 10.2 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144.121, is amended by adding a subdivision 10.3 to read: 10.4 Subd. 9. Exemption from examination requirements; operators of security screening 10.5 systems. (a) An employee of a correctional or detention facility who operates a security 10.6 screening system and the facility in which the system is being operated are exempt from 10.7 the requirements of subdivisions 5 and 6. 10.8 10.9 (b) An employee of a correctional or detention facility who operates a security screening system and the facility in which the system is being operated must meet the requirements 10.10 of a variance to Minnesota Rules, parts 4732.0305 and 4732.0565, issued under Minnesota 10.11 Rules, parts 4717.7000 to 4717.7050. This paragraph expires on December 31 of the year 10.12 that the permanent rules adopted by the commissioner governing security screening systems 10.13 are published in the State Register. 10.14 10.15 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective 30 days following final enactment. Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144.1506, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 10.16 Subd. 2. Expansion grant program. (a) The commissioner of health shall award primary 10.17 care residency expansion grants to eligible primary care residency programs to plan and 10.18 implement new residency slots. A planning grant shall not exceed \$75,000, and a training 10.19 grant shall not exceed \$150,000 per new residency slot for the first year, \$100,000 for the 10.20 second year, and \$50,000 for the third year of the new residency slot. For eligible residency 10.21 programs longer than three years, training grants may be awarded for the duration of the 10.22 residency, not exceeding an average of \$100,000 per residency slot per year. 10.23 10.24 (b) Funds may be spent to cover the costs of: (1) planning related to establishing an accredited primary care residency program; 10.25 10.26 (2) obtaining accreditation by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education or another national body that accredits residency programs; 10.27 (3) establishing new residency programs or new resident training slots; 10.28 (4) recruitment, training, and retention of new residents and faculty; 10.29 (5) travel and lodging for new residents; 10.30 (6) faculty, new resident, and preceptor salaries related to new residency slots; 10.31

(7) training site improvements, fees, equipment, and supplies required for new primary care resident training slots; and

- (8) supporting clinical education in which trainees are part of a primary care team model.
- Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144.225, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
 - Subd. 2. **Data about births.** (a) Except as otherwise provided in this subdivision, data pertaining to the birth of a child to a woman who was not married to the child's father when the child was conceived nor when the child was born, including the original record of birth and the certified vital record, are confidential data. At the time of the birth of a child to a woman who was not married to the child's father when the child was conceived nor when the child was born, the mother may designate demographic data pertaining to the birth as public. Notwithstanding the designation of the data as confidential, it may be disclosed:
- (1) to a parent or guardian of the child;
- (2) to the child when the child is 16 years of age or older;
- 11.14 (3) under paragraph (b) or (e); or

11.1

11.2

11.3

11.5

11.6

11.7

11.8

11.9

11.10

- 11.15 (4) pursuant to a court order. For purposes of this section, a subpoena does not constitute 11.16 a court order.
- 11.17 (b) Unless the child is adopted, data pertaining to the birth of a child that are not accessible to the public become public data if 100 years have elapsed since the birth of the child who is the subject of the data, or as provided under section 13.10, whichever occurs first.
- (c) If a child is adopted, data pertaining to the child's birth are governed by the provisions relating to adoption records, including sections 13.10, subdivision 5; 144.218, subdivision 1; 144.2252; and 259.89.
- (d) The name and address of a mother under paragraph (a) and the child's date of birth may be disclosed to the county social services, tribal health department, or public health member of a family services collaborative for purposes of providing services under section 124D.23.
- (e) The commissioner of human services shall have access to birth records for:
- (1) the purposes of administering medical assistance and the MinnesotaCare program;
- (2) child support enforcement purposes; and
- 11.30 (3) other public health purposes as determined by the commissioner of health.

(f) Tribal child support programs shall have access to birth records for child support enforcement purposes.

- Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144.225, subdivision 2a, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2a. **Health data associated with birth registration.** Information from which an identification of risk for disease, disability, or developmental delay in a mother or child can be made, that is collected in conjunction with birth registration or fetal death reporting, is private data as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 12. The commissioner may disclose to a <u>tribal health department or</u> community health board, as defined in section 145A.02, subdivision 5, health data associated with birth registration which identifies a mother or child at high risk for serious disease, disability, or developmental delay in order to assure access to appropriate health, social, or educational services. Notwithstanding the designation of the private data, the commissioner of human services shall have access to health data associated with birth registration for:
- (1) purposes of administering medical assistance and the MinnesotaCare program; and
- (2) for other public health purposes as determined by the commissioner of health.
- Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144.225, subdivision 7, is amended to read:
- Subd. 7. **Certified birth or death record.** (a) The state registrar or local issuance office shall issue a certified birth or death record or a statement of no vital record found to an individual upon the individual's proper completion of an attestation provided by the commissioner and payment of the required fee:
- 12.21 (1) to a person who has a tangible interest in the requested vital record. A person who
 12.22 has a tangible interest is:
- (i) the subject of the vital record;
- 12.24 (ii) a child of the subject;

12.1

12.2

12.3

12.4

12.5

12.6

12.7

12.8

12.9

12.10

12.11

12.12

- 12.25 (iii) the spouse of the subject;
- 12.26 (iv) a parent of the subject;
- (v) the grandparent or grandchild of the subject;
- (vi) if the requested record is a death record, a sibling of the subject;
- (vii) the party responsible for filing the vital record;
- (viii) the legal custodian, guardian or conservator, or health care agent of the subject;

05/18/18 12:13 PM	REVISOR	ACF/JK	A18-0988

- (ix) a personal representative, by sworn affidavit of the fact that the certified copy is required for administration of the estate;
- (x) a successor of the subject, as defined in section 524.1-201, if the subject is deceased, by sworn affidavit of the fact that the certified copy is required for administration of the estate;
- 13.6 (xi) if the requested record is a death record, a trustee of a trust by sworn affidavit of 13.7 the fact that the certified copy is needed for the proper administration of the trust;
- (xii) a person or entity who demonstrates that a certified vital record is necessary for the determination or protection of a personal or property right, pursuant to rules adopted by the commissioner; or
- 13.11 (xiii) an adoption agency in order to complete confidential postadoption searches as 13.12 required by section 259.83;
- 13.13 (2) to any local, state, <u>tribal</u>, or federal governmental agency upon request if the certified vital record is necessary for the governmental agency to perform its authorized duties;
- 13.15 (3) to an attorney upon evidence of the attorney's license;
- 13.16 (4) pursuant to a court order issued by a court of competent jurisdiction. For purposes of this section, a subpoena does not constitute a court order; or
- (5) to a representative authorized by a person under clauses (1) to (4).
 - (b) The state registrar or local issuance office shall also issue a certified death record to an individual described in paragraph (a), clause (1), items (ii) to (viii), if, on behalf of the individual, a licensed mortician furnishes the registrar with a properly completed attestation in the form provided by the commissioner within 180 days of the time of death of the subject of the death record. This paragraph is not subject to the requirements specified in Minnesota Rules, part 4601.2600, subpart 5, item B.

Sec. 18. [144.397] STATEWIDE TOBACCO CESSATION SERVICES.

- (a) The commissioner of health shall administer, or contract for the administration of, statewide tobacco cessation services to assist Minnesotans who are seeking advice or services to help them quit using tobacco products. The commissioner shall establish statewide public awareness activities to inform the public of the availability of the services and encourage the public to utilize the services because of the dangers and harm of tobacco use and dependence.
- (b) Services to be provided may include, but are not limited to:

13.1

13.2

13.3

13.4

13.5

13.19

13.20

13.21

13.22

13.23

13.24

05/18/18 12:13 PM	REVISOR	ACF/JK	A18-0988
U5/18/18 12:13 PW	KEVISUK	ACF/JK	A 18-0988

14.1	(1) telephone-based coaching and counseling;
14.2	(2) referrals;
14.3	(3) written materials mailed upon request;
14.4	(4) Web-based texting or e-mail services; and
14.5	(5) free Food and Drug Administration-approved tobacco cessation medications.
14.6	(c) Services provided must be consistent with evidence-based best practices in tobacco
14.7	cessation services. Services provided must be coordinated with employer, health plan
14.8	company, and private sector tobacco prevention and cessation services that may be available
14.9	to individuals depending on their employment or health coverage.
14.10	Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.43, subdivision 11, is amended to read:
14.11	Subd. 11. Medication administration. "Medication administration" means performing
14.12	a set of tasks to ensure a client takes medications, and includes that include the following:
14.13	(1) checking the client's medication record;
14.14	(2) preparing the medication as necessary;
14.15	(3) administering the medication to the client;
14.16	(4) documenting the administration or reason for not administering the medication; and
14.17	(5) reporting to a <u>registered</u> nurse <u>or appropriate licensed health professional</u> any concerns
14.18	about the medication, the client, or the client's refusal to take the medication.
14.19	Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.43, is amended by adding a subdivision
14.20	to read:
14.21	Subd. 12a. Medication reconciliation. "Medication reconciliation" means the process
14.22	of identifying the most accurate list of all medications the client is taking, including the
14.23	name, dosage, frequency, and route by comparing the client record to an external list of
14.24	medications obtained from the client, hospital, prescriber, or other provider.
14.25	Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.43, subdivision 27, is amended to read:
14.26	Subd. 27. Service plan agreement. "Service plan agreement" means the written plan
14.27	agreement between the client or client's representative and the temporary licensee or licensee
14.28	about the services that will be provided to the client.

Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.43, subdivision 30, is amended to read:

Subd. 30. **Standby assistance.** "Standby assistance" means the presence of another person within arm's reach to minimize the risk of injury while performing daily activities through physical intervention or cuing to assist a client with an assistive task by providing cues, oversight, and minimal physical assistance.

- Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.472, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
- Subd. 5. Transfers prohibited; Changes in ownership. Any (a) A home care license issued by the commissioner may not be transferred to another party. Before acquiring ownership of or a controlling interest in a home care provider business, a prospective applicant owner must apply for a new temporary license. A change of ownership is a transfer of operational control to a different business entity of the home care provider business and includes:
 - (1) transfer of the business to a different or new corporation;
- (2) in the case of a partnership, the dissolution or termination of the partnership under chapter 323A, with the business continuing by a successor partnership or other entity;
- (3) relinquishment of control of the provider to another party, including to a contract management firm that is not under the control of the owner of the business' assets;
 - (4) transfer of the business by a sole proprietor to another party or entity; or
- (5) in the case of a privately held corporation, the change in transfer of ownership or control of 50 percent or more of the outstanding voting stock controlling interest of a home care provider business not covered by clauses (1) to (4).
 - (b) An employee who was employed by the previous owner of the home care provider business prior to the effective date of a change in ownership under paragraph (a), and who will be employed by the new owner in the same or a similar capacity, shall be treated as if no change in employer occurred, with respect to orientation, training, tuberculosis testing, background studies, and competency testing and training on the policies identified in subdivision 1, clause (14), and subdivision 2, if applicable.
- (c) Notwithstanding paragraph (b), a new owner of a home care provider business must ensure that employees of the provider receive and complete training and testing on any provisions of policies that differ from those of the previous owner, within 90 days after the date of the change in ownership.

15.1

15.2

15.3

15.4

15.5

15.6

15.7

15.8

15.9

15.10

15.11

15.12

15.13

15.14

15.15

15.16

15.17

15.18

15.22

15.23

15.24

15.25

15.26

Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 144A.472, subdivision 7, is amended to read:

- Subd. 7. **Fees; application, change of ownership, and renewal.** (a) An initial applicant seeking temporary home care licensure must submit the following application fee to the commissioner along with a completed application:
- (1) for a basic home care provider, \$2,100; or

16.1

16.2

16.3

16.4

16.5

16.6

16.8

16.9

16.10

16.12

16.13

16.14

16.15

16.16

16.17

- 16.7 (2) for a comprehensive home care provider, \$4,200.
 - (b) A home care provider who is filing a change of ownership as required under subdivision 5 must submit the following application fee to the commissioner, along with the documentation required for the change of ownership:
- 16.11 (1) for a basic home care provider, \$2,100; or
 - (2) for a comprehensive home care provider, \$4,200.
 - (c) For the period ending June 30, 2018, a home care provider who is seeking to renew the provider's license shall pay a fee to the commissioner based on revenues derived from the provision of home care services during the calendar year prior to the year in which the application is submitted, according to the following schedule:

License Renewal Fee

16.18	Provider Annual Revenue	Fee
16.19	greater than \$1,500,000	\$6,625
16.20 16.21	greater than \$1,275,000 and no more than \$1,500,000	\$5,797
16.22 16.23	greater than \$1,100,000 and no more than \$1,275,000	\$4,969
16.24 16.25	greater than \$950,000 and no more than \$1,100,000	\$4,141
16.26	greater than \$850,000 and no more than \$950,000	\$3,727
16.27	greater than \$750,000 and no more than \$850,000	\$3,313
16.28	greater than \$650,000 and no more than \$750,000	\$2,898
16.29	greater than \$550,000 and no more than \$650,000	\$2,485
16.30	greater than \$450,000 and no more than \$550,000	\$2,070
16.31	greater than \$350,000 and no more than \$450,000	\$1,656
16.32	greater than \$250,000 and no more than \$350,000	\$1,242
16.33	greater than \$100,000 and no more than \$250,000	\$828
16.34	greater than \$50,000 and no more than \$100,000	\$500
16.35	greater than \$25,000 and no more than \$50,000	\$400

no more than \$25,000

17.1

17.2

17.3

17.4

17.5

17.6

17.7

17.8

17.9

17.10

17.11

17.31

17.32

17.33

\$200

(d) For the period between July 1, 2018, and June 30, 2020, a home care provider who is seeking to renew the provider's license shall pay a fee to the commissioner in an amount that is ten percent higher than the applicable fee in paragraph (c). A home care provider's fee shall be based on revenues derived from the provision of home care services during the calendar year prior to the year in which the application is submitted.

(e) Beginning July 1, 2020, a home care provider who is seeking to renew the provider's license shall pay a fee to the commissioner based on revenues derived from the provision of home care services during the calendar year prior to the year in which the application is submitted, according to the following schedule:

License Renewal Fee

17.12	Provider Annual Revenue	Fee
17.13	greater than \$1,500,000	\$7,651
17.14 17.15	greater than \$1,275,000 and no more than \$1,500,000	\$6,695
17.16 17.17	greater than \$1,100,000 and no more than \$1,275,000	\$5,739
17.18 17.19	greater than \$950,000 and no more than \$1,100,000	\$4,783
17.20	greater than \$850,000 and no more than \$950,000	\$4,304
17.21	greater than \$750,000 and no more than \$850,000	\$3,826
17.22	greater than \$650,000 and no more than \$750,000	\$3,347
17.23	greater than \$550,000 and no more than \$650,000	\$2,870
17.24	greater than \$450,000 and no more than \$550,000	\$2,391
17.25	greater than \$350,000 and no more than \$450,000	\$1,913
17.26	greater than \$250,000 and no more than \$350,000	\$1,434
17.27	greater than \$100,000 and no more than \$250,000	\$957
17.28	greater than \$50,000 and no more than \$100,000	\$577
17.29	greater than \$25,000 and no more than \$50,000	\$462
17.30	no more than \$25,000	\$231

- (f) If requested, the home care provider shall provide the commissioner information to verify the provider's annual revenues or other information as needed, including copies of documents submitted to the Department of Revenue.
- 17.34 (g) At each annual renewal, a home care provider may elect to pay the highest renewal 17.35 fee for its license category, and not provide annual revenue information to the commissioner.

05/18/18 12:13 PM	REVISOR	ACF/JK	A18-0988

(h) A temporary license or license applicant, or temporary licensee or licensee that knowingly provides the commissioner incorrect revenue amounts for the purpose of paying a lower license fee, shall be subject to a civil penalty in the amount of double the fee the provider should have paid.

- (i) The fee for failure to comply with the notification requirements of section 144A.473, subdivision 2, paragraph (c), is \$1,000.
- (j) Fees and penalties collected under this section shall be deposited in the state treasury and credited to the state government special revenue fund. All fees are nonrefundable. Fees collected under paragraphs (c), (d), and (e) are nonrefundable even if received before July 1, 2017, for temporary licenses or licenses being issued effective July 1, 2017, or later.
- Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.473, is amended to read:

144A.473 ISSUANCE OF TEMPORARY LICENSE AND LICENSE RENEWAL.

- Subdivision 1. **Temporary license and renewal of license.** (a) The department shall review each application to determine the applicant's knowledge of and compliance with Minnesota home care regulations. Before granting a temporary license or renewing a license, the commissioner may further evaluate the applicant or licensee by requesting additional information or documentation or by conducting an on-site survey of the applicant to determine compliance with sections 144A.43 to 144A.482.
- (b) Within 14 calendar days after receiving an application for a license, the commissioner shall acknowledge receipt of the application in writing. The acknowledgment must indicate whether the application appears to be complete or whether additional information is required before the application will be considered complete.
- (c) Within 90 days after receiving a complete application, the commissioner shall issue a temporary license, renew the license, or deny the license.
- (d) The commissioner shall issue a license that contains the home care provider's name, address, license level, expiration date of the license, and unique license number. All licenses, except for temporary licenses issued under subdivision 2, are valid for up to one year from the date of issuance.
 - Subd. 2. **Temporary license.** (a) For new license applicants, the commissioner shall issue a temporary license for either the basic or comprehensive home care level. A temporary license is effective for up to one year from the date of issuance, except that a temporary license may be extended according to subdivision 3. Temporary licensees must comply with sections 144A.43 to 144A.482.

18.1

18.2

18.3

18.4

18.5

18.6

18.7

18.8

18.9

18.10

18.11

18.12

18.13

18.14

18.15

18.16

18.17

18.18

18.19

18.20

18.21

18.22

18.23

18.24

18.29

18.30

18.31

18.32

(b) During the temporary license <u>year period</u>, the commissioner shall survey the temporary licensee <u>within 90 calendar days</u> after the commissioner is notified or has evidence that the temporary licensee is providing home care services.

- (c) Within five days of beginning the provision of services, the temporary licensee must notify the commissioner that it is serving clients. The notification to the commissioner may be mailed or e-mailed to the commissioner at the address provided by the commissioner. If the temporary licensee does not provide home care services during the temporary license year period, then the temporary license expires at the end of the year period and the applicant must reapply for a temporary home care license.
- (d) A temporary licensee may request a change in the level of licensure prior to being surveyed and granted a license by notifying the commissioner in writing and providing additional documentation or materials required to update or complete the changed temporary license application. The applicant must pay the difference between the application fees when changing from the basic level to the comprehensive level of licensure. No refund will be made if the provider chooses to change the license application to the basic level.
- (e) If the temporary licensee notifies the commissioner that the licensee has clients within 45 days prior to the temporary license expiration, the commissioner may extend the temporary license for up to 60 days in order to allow the commissioner to complete the on-site survey required under this section and follow-up survey visits.
- Subd. 3. **Temporary licensee survey.** (a) If the temporary licensee is in substantial compliance with the survey, the commissioner shall issue either a basic or comprehensive home care license. If the temporary licensee is not in substantial compliance with the survey, the commissioner shall either: (1) not issue a basic or comprehensive license and there will be no contested hearing right under chapter 14 terminate the temporary license; or (2) extend the temporary license for a period not to exceed 90 days and apply conditions, as permitted under section 144A.475, subdivision 2, to the extension of a temporary license. If the temporary licensee is not in substantial compliance with the survey within the time period of the extension, or if the temporary licensee does not satisfy the license conditions, the commissioner may deny the license.
- (b) If the temporary licensee whose basic or comprehensive license has been denied <u>or extended with conditions</u> disagrees with the conclusions of the commissioner, then the <u>temporary licensee</u> may request a reconsideration by the commissioner or commissioner's designee. The reconsideration request process must be conducted internally by the commissioner or commissioner's designee, and chapter 14 does not apply.

19.1

19.2

19.3

19.4

19.5

19.6

19.7

19.8

19.9

19.10

19.11

19.12

19.13

19.14

19.15

19.16

19.17

19.18

19.19

19.20

19.21

19.22

19.23

19.24

19.25

19.26

19.27

19.28

19.29

19.30

19.31

19.32

19.33

05/18/18 12:13 PM	REVISOR	ACF/JK	A18-0988

20.1	(c) The temporary licensee requesting reconsideration must make the request in writing
20.2	and must list and describe the reasons why the temporary licensee disagrees with the decision
20.3	to deny the basic or comprehensive home care license or the decision to extend the temporary
20.4	license with conditions.
20.5	(d) The reconsideration request and supporting documentation must be received by the
20.6	commissioner within 15 calendar days after the date the temporary licensee receives the
20.7	correction order.
20.8	(e) A temporary licensee whose license is denied, is permitted to continue operating as
20.9	a home care provider during the period of time when:
20.10	(1) a reconsideration request is in process;
20.11	(2) an extension of a temporary license is being negotiated;
20.12	(3) the placement of conditions on a temporary license is being negotiated; or
20.13	(4) a transfer of home care clients from the temporary licensee to a new home care
20.14	provider is in process.
20.15	(f) A temporary licensee whose license is denied must comply with the requirements
20.16	for notification and transfer of clients in section 144A.475, subdivision 5.
20.17	Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.474, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
20.18	Subd. 2. Types of home care surveys. (a) "Initial full survey" means the survey of a
20.19	new temporary licensee conducted after the department is notified or has evidence that the
20.20	temporary licensee is providing home care services to determine if the provider is in
20.21	compliance with home care requirements. Initial full surveys must be completed within 14
20.22	months after the department's issuance of a temporary basic or comprehensive license.
20.23	(b) "Change in ownership survey" means a full survey of a new licensee due to a change
20.24	in ownership. Change in ownership surveys must be completed within six months after the
20.25	department's issuance of a new license due to a change in ownership.
20.26	(c) "Core survey" means periodic inspection of home care providers to determine ongoing
20.27	compliance with the home care requirements, focusing on the essential health and safety
20.28	requirements. Core surveys are available to licensed home care providers who have been
20.29	licensed for three years and surveyed at least once in the past three years with the latest
20.30	survey having no widespread violations beyond Level 1 as provided in subdivision 11.
20.31	Providers must also not have had any substantiated licensing complaints, substantiated

complaints against the agency under the Vulnerable Adults Act or Maltreatment of Minors
Act, or an enforcement action as authorized in section 144A.475 in the past three years.

- (1) The core survey for basic home care providers must review compliance in the following areas:
- 21.5 (i) reporting of maltreatment;

21.3

21.4

- (ii) orientation to and implementation of the home care bill of rights;
- 21.7 (iii) statement of home care services;
- 21.8 (iv) initial evaluation of clients and initiation of services;
- (v) client review and monitoring;
- 21.10 (vi) service plan agreement implementation and changes to the service plan agreement;
- 21.11 (vii) client complaint and investigative process;
- 21.12 (viii) competency of unlicensed personnel; and
- 21.13 (ix) infection control.
- 21.14 (2) For comprehensive home care providers, the core survey must include everything in the basic core survey plus these areas:
- 21.16 (i) delegation to unlicensed personnel;
- 21.17 (ii) assessment, monitoring, and reassessment of clients; and
- 21.18 (iii) medication, treatment, and therapy management.

or records review of additional clients and staff.

- (e) (d) "Full survey" means the periodic inspection of home care providers to determine 21.19 ongoing compliance with the home care requirements that cover the core survey areas and 21.20 all the legal requirements for home care providers. A full survey is conducted for all 21.21 temporary licensees and, for licensees that receive licenses due to an approved change in 21.22 ownership, for providers who do not meet the requirements needed for a core survey, and 21.23 when a surveyor identifies unacceptable client health or safety risks during a core survey. 21.24 21.25 A full survey must include all the tasks identified as part of the core survey and any additional review deemed necessary by the department, including additional observation, interviewing, 21.26
 - (d) (e) "Follow-up surveys" means surveys conducted to determine if a home care provider has corrected deficient issues and systems identified during a core survey, full survey, or complaint investigation. Follow-up surveys may be conducted via phone, e-mail, fax, mail, or on-site reviews. Follow-up surveys, other than complaint surveys, shall be

21.27

21.28

21.29

21.30

concluded with an exit conference and written information provided on the process for requesting a reconsideration of the survey results.

- (e) (f) Upon receiving information alleging that a home care provider has violated or is currently violating a requirement of sections 144A.43 to 144A.482, the commissioner shall investigate the complaint according to sections 144A.51 to 144A.54.
- Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.475, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **Conditions.** (a) The commissioner may refuse to grant a temporary license, refuse to grant a license as a result of a change in ownership, refuse to renew a license, suspend or revoke a license, or impose a conditional license if the home care provider or owner or managerial official of the home care provider:
- (1) is in violation of, or during the term of the license has violated, any of the requirements in sections 144A.471 to 144A.482;
- (2) permits, aids, or abets the commission of any illegal act in the provision of home care;
- 22.15 (3) performs any act detrimental to the health, safety, and welfare of a client;
- 22.16 (4) obtains the license by fraud or misrepresentation;

22.1

22.2

22.3

22.4

- 22.17 (5) knowingly made or makes a false statement of a material fact in the application for a license or in any other record or report required by this chapter;
- 22.19 (6) denies representatives of the department access to any part of the home care provider's books, records, files, or employees;
- (7) interferes with or impedes a representative of the department in contacting the home care provider's clients;
- 22.23 (8) interferes with or impedes a representative of the department in the enforcement of this chapter or has failed to fully cooperate with an inspection, survey, or investigation by the department;
- 22.26 (9) destroys or makes unavailable any records or other evidence relating to the home care provider's compliance with this chapter;
- (10) refuses to initiate a background study under section 144.057 or 245A.04;
- (11) fails to timely pay any fines assessed by the department;
- 22.30 (12) violates any local, city, or township ordinance relating to home care services;

(13) has repeated incidents of personnel performing services beyond their competency level; or

- (14) has operated beyond the scope of the home care provider's license level.
- 23.4 (b) A violation by a contractor providing the home care services of the home care provider
 23.5 is a violation by the home care provider.
- Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.475, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
 - Subd. 2. **Terms to suspension or conditional license.** (a) A suspension or conditional license designation may include terms that must be completed or met before a suspension or conditional license designation is lifted. A conditional license designation may include restrictions or conditions that are imposed on the provider. Terms for a suspension or conditional license may include one or more of the following and the scope of each will be determined by the commissioner:
 - (1) requiring a consultant to review, evaluate, and make recommended changes to the home care provider's practices and submit reports to the commissioner at the cost of the home care provider;
 - (2) requiring supervision of the home care provider or staff practices at the cost of the home care provider by an unrelated person who has sufficient knowledge and qualifications to oversee the practices and who will submit reports to the commissioner;
- 23.19 (3) requiring the home care provider or employees to obtain training at the cost of the home care provider;
- 23.21 (4) requiring the home care provider to submit reports to the commissioner;
- 23.22 (5) prohibiting the home care provider from taking any new clients for a period of time; 23.23 or
- 23.24 (6) any other action reasonably required to accomplish the purpose of this subdivision and section 144A.45, subdivision 2.
- 23.26 (b) A home care provider subject to this subdivision may continue operating during the period of time home care clients are being transferred to other providers.
- Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.475, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
- Subd. 5. **Plan required.** (a) The process of suspending or revoking a license must include a plan for transferring affected clients to other providers by the home care provider, which will be monitored by the commissioner. Within three business days of being notified of the

23.1

23.2

23.3

23.7

23.8

23.9

23.10

23.11

23.12

23.13

23.14

23.15

23.16

23.17

final revocation or suspension action, the home care provider shall provide the commissioner, the lead agencies as defined in section 256B.0911, and the ombudsman for long-term care with the following information:

- (1) a list of all clients, including full names and all contact information on file;
- (2) a list of each client's representative or emergency contact person, including full names and all contact information on file;
 - (3) the location or current residence of each client;

24.1

24.2

24.3

24.4

24.5

24.6

24.7

24.8

24.11

24.12

24.13

24.14

24.15

24.16

24.17

24.18

24.19

24.20

24.22

24.23

24.24

24.25

24.26

24.27

24.28

24.29

24.30

24.31

24.32

- (4) the payor sources for each client, including payor source identification numbers; and
- 24.9 (5) for each client, a copy of the client's service plan, and a list of the types of services being provided.
 - (b) The revocation or suspension notification requirement is satisfied by mailing the notice to the address in the license record. The home care provider shall cooperate with the commissioner and the lead agencies during the process of transferring care of clients to qualified providers. Within three business days of being notified of the final revocation or suspension action, the home care provider must notify and disclose to each of the home care provider's clients, or the client's representative or emergency contact persons, that the commissioner is taking action against the home care provider's license by providing a copy of the revocation or suspension notice issued by the commissioner.
 - (c) A home care provider subject to this subdivision may continue operating during the period of time home care clients are being transferred to other providers.
- Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.476, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
 - Subdivision 1. **Prior criminal convictions; owner and managerial officials.** (a) Before the commissioner issues a temporary license, issues a license as a result of an approved change in ownership, or renews a license, an owner or managerial official is required to complete a background study under section 144.057. No person may be involved in the management, operation, or control of a home care provider if the person has been disqualified under chapter 245C. If an individual is disqualified under section 144.057 or chapter 245C, the individual may request reconsideration of the disqualification. If the individual requests reconsideration and the commissioner sets aside or rescinds the disqualification, the individual is eligible to be involved in the management, operation, or control of the provider. If an individual has a disqualification under section 245C.15, subdivision 1, and the disqualification is affirmed, the individual's disqualification is barred from a set aside, and the individual must not be involved in the management, operation, or control of the provider.

05/18/18 12:13 PM	REVISOR	ACF/JK	A18-0988

(b) For purposes of this section, owners of a home care provider subject to the background check requirement are those individuals whose ownership interest provides sufficient authority or control to affect or change decisions related to the operation of the home care provider. An owner includes a sole proprietor, a general partner, or any other individual whose individual ownership interest can affect the management and direction of the policies of the home care provider.

- (c) For the purposes of this section, managerial officials subject to the background check requirement are individuals who provide direct contact as defined in section 245C.02, subdivision 11, or individuals who have the responsibility for the ongoing management or direction of the policies, services, or employees of the home care provider. Data collected under this subdivision shall be classified as private data on individuals under section 13.02, subdivision 12.
- (d) The department shall not issue any license if the applicant or owner or managerial official has been unsuccessful in having a background study disqualification set aside under section 144.057 and chapter 245C; if the owner or managerial official, as an owner or managerial official of another home care provider, was substantially responsible for the other home care provider's failure to substantially comply with sections 144A.43 to 144A.482; or if an owner that has ceased doing business, either individually or as an owner of a home care provider, was issued a correction order for failing to assist clients in violation of this chapter.
- Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.479, subdivision 7, is amended to read:
 - Subd. 7. **Employee records.** The home care provider must maintain current records of each paid employee, regularly scheduled volunteers providing home care services, and of each individual contractor providing home care services. The records must include the following information:
- 25.26 (1) evidence of current professional licensure, registration, or certification, if licensure, registration, or certification is required by this statute or other rules;
- 25.28 (2) records of orientation, required annual training and infection control training, and competency evaluations;
- 25.30 (3) current job description, including qualifications, responsibilities, and identification of staff providing supervision;
- 25.32 (4) documentation of annual performance reviews which identify areas of improvement needed and training needs;

25.1

25.2

25.3

25.4

25.5

25.6

25.7

25.8

25.9

25.10

25.11

25.12

25.13

25.14

25.15

25.16

25.17

25.18

25.19

25.20

25.22

25.23

25.24

(5) for individuals providing home care services, verification that <u>required any</u> health screenings <u>required by infection control programs established under section 144A.4798</u> have taken place and the dates of those screenings; and

(6) documentation of the background study as required under section 144.057.

Each employee record must be retained for at least three years after a paid employee, home care volunteer, or contractor ceases to be employed by or under contract with the home care provider. If a home care provider ceases operation, employee records must be maintained for three years.

Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.4791, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. **Home care bill of rights; notification to client.** (a) The home care provider shall provide the client or the client's representative a written notice of the rights under section 144A.44 before the <u>initiation of date that services are first provided to that client.</u> The provider shall make all reasonable efforts to provide notice of the rights to the client or the client's representative in a language the client or client's representative can understand.

(b) In addition to the text of the home care bill of rights in section 144A.44, subdivision 1, the notice shall also contain the following statement describing how to file a complaint with these offices.

"If you have a complaint about the provider or the person providing your home care services, you may call, write, or visit the Office of Health Facility Complaints, Minnesota Department of Health. You may also contact the Office of Ombudsman for Long-Term Care or the Office of Ombudsman for Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities."

The statement should include the telephone number, Web site address, e-mail address, mailing address, and street address of the Office of Health Facility Complaints at the Minnesota Department of Health, the Office of the Ombudsman for Long-Term Care, and the Office of the Ombudsman for Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities. The statement should also include the home care provider's name, address, e-mail, telephone number, and name or title of the person at the provider to whom problems or complaints may be directed. It must also include a statement that the home care provider will not retaliate because of a complaint.

(c) The home care provider shall obtain written acknowledgment of the client's receipt of the home care bill of rights or shall document why an acknowledgment cannot be obtained.

26.1

26.2

26.3

26.4

26.5

26.6

26.7

26.8

26.9

26.10

26.11

26.12

26.13

26.14

26.15

26.16

26.17

26.18

26.19

26.20

26.21

26.22

26.23

26.24

26.25

26.26

26.27

26.28

26.29

26.30

26.31

27.1 The acknowledgment may be obtained from the client or the client's representative.

Acknowledgment of receipt shall be retained in the client's record.

27.2

27.4

27.5

27.6

27.7

27.8

27.9

27.10

27.11

Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.4791, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

- Subd. 3. **Statement of home care services.** Prior to the <u>initiation of date that</u> services are first provided to the client, a home care provider must provide to the client or the client's representative a written statement which identifies if the provider has a basic or comprehensive home care license, the services the provider is authorized to provide, and which services the provider cannot provide under the scope of the provider's license. The home care provider shall obtain written acknowledgment from the clients that the provider has provided the statement or must document why the provider could not obtain the acknowledgment.
- Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.4791, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
- Subd. 6. **Initiation of services.** When a provider <u>initiates provides home care</u> services

 27.14 <u>and to a client before</u> the individualized review or assessment <u>by a licensed health</u>

 27.15 <u>professional or registered nurse as required in subdivisions 7 and 8 has not been is completed,</u>

 27.16 the <u>provider licensed health professional or registered nurse</u> must complete a temporary

 27.17 plan <u>and agreement</u> with the client <u>for services and orient staff assigned to deliver services</u>

 27.18 as identified in the temporary plan.
- Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.4791, subdivision 7, is amended to read:
- Subd. 7. **Basic individualized client review and monitoring.** (a) When services being provided are basic home care services, an individualized initial review of the client's needs and preferences must be conducted at the client's residence with the client or client's representative. This initial review must be completed within 30 days after the initiation of the date that home care services are first provided.
- (b) Client monitoring and review must be conducted as needed based on changes in the needs of the client and cannot exceed 90 days from the date of the last review. The monitoring and review may be conducted at the client's residence or through the utilization of telecommunication methods based on practice standards that meet the individual client's needs.

Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.4791, subdivision 8, is amended to read:

- Subd. 8. Comprehensive assessment, monitoring, and reassessment. (a) When the services being provided are comprehensive home care services, an individualized initial assessment must be conducted in person by a registered nurse. When the services are provided by other licensed health professionals, the assessment must be conducted by the appropriate health professional. This initial assessment must be completed within five days after initiation of the date that home care services are first provided.
- (b) Client monitoring and reassessment must be conducted in the client's home no more than 14 days after initiation of the date that home care services are first provided.
- (c) Ongoing client monitoring and reassessment must be conducted as needed based on changes in the needs of the client and cannot exceed 90 days from the last date of the assessment. The monitoring and reassessment may be conducted at the client's residence or through the utilization of telecommunication methods based on practice standards that meet the individual client's needs.
- Sec. 37. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.4791, subdivision 9, is amended to read:
- Subd. 9. Service plan agreement, implementation, and revisions to service plan agreement. (a) No later than 14 days after the initiation of date that home care services are first provided, a home care provider shall finalize a current written service plan agreement.
- (b) The service <u>plan agreement</u> and any revisions must include a signature or other authentication by the home care provider and by the client or the client's representative documenting agreement on the services to be provided. The service <u>plan agreement</u> must be revised, if needed, based on client review or reassessment under subdivisions 7 and 8. The provider must provide information to the client about changes to the provider's fee for services and how to contact the Office of the Ombudsman for Long-Term Care.
- (c) The home care provider must implement and provide all services required by the current service plan agreement.
- 28.27 (d) The service <u>plan agreement</u> and revised service <u>plan agreement</u> must be entered into the client's record, including notice of a change in a client's fees when applicable.
- 28.29 (e) Staff providing home care services must be informed of the current written service plan agreement.
 - (f) The service plan agreement must include:

28.1

28.2

28.3

28.4

28.5

28.6

28.7

28.8

28.9

28.10

28.11

28.12

28.13

28.14

28.15

28.16

28.17

28.18

28.19

28.20

28.21

28.22

28.23

28.24

28.25

28.26

05/18/18 12:13 PM	REVISOR	ACF/JK	A18-0988

29.1	(1) a description of the home care services to be provided, the fees for services, and the
29.2	frequency of each service, according to the client's current review or assessment and client
29.3	preferences;
29.4	(2) the identification of the staff or categories of staff who will provide the services;
29.5	(3) the schedule and methods of monitoring reviews or assessments of the client;
29.6	(4) the frequency of sessions of supervision of staff and type of personnel who will
29.7	supervise staff; and the schedule and methods of monitoring staff providing home care
29.8	services; and
29.9	(5) a contingency plan that includes:
29.10	(i) the action to be taken by the home care provider and by the client or client's
29.11	representative if the scheduled service cannot be provided;
29.12	(ii) information and a method for a client or client's representative to contact the home
29.13	care provider;
29.14	(iii) names and contact information of persons the client wishes to have notified in an
29.15	emergency or if there is a significant adverse change in the client's condition, including
29.16	identification of and information as to who has authority to sign for the client in an
29.17	emergency; and
29.18	(iv) the circumstances in which emergency medical services are not to be summoned
29.19	consistent with chapters 145B and 145C, and declarations made by the client under those
29.20	chapters.
29.21	Sec. 38. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.4792, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
29.22	Subdivision 1. Medication management services; comprehensive home care license.
29.23	(a) This subdivision applies only to home care providers with a comprehensive home care
29.24	license that provide medication management services to clients. Medication management
29.25	services may not be provided by a home care provider who has a basic home care license.
29.26	(b) A comprehensive home care provider who provides medication management services
29.27	must develop, implement, and maintain current written medication management policies
29.28	and procedures. The policies and procedures must be developed under the supervision and
29.29	direction of a registered nurse, licensed health professional, or pharmacist consistent with
29.30	current practice standards and guidelines.
29.31	(c) The written policies and procedures must address requesting and receiving
29.32	prescriptions for medications; preparing and giving medications; verifying that prescription

drugs are administered as prescribed; documenting medication management activities; controlling and storing medications; monitoring and evaluating medication use; resolving medication errors; communicating with the prescriber, pharmacist, and client and client representative, if any; disposing of unused medications; and educating clients and client representatives about medications. When controlled substances are being managed, stored, and secured by the comprehensive home care provider, the policies and procedures must also identify how the provider will ensure security and accountability for the overall management, control, and disposition of those substances in compliance with state and federal regulations and with subdivision 22.

- Sec. 39. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.4792, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. **Provision of medication management services.** (a) For each client who requests medication management services, the comprehensive home care provider shall, prior to providing medication management services, have a registered nurse, licensed health professional, or authorized prescriber under section 151.37 conduct an assessment to determine what medication management services will be provided and how the services will be provided. This assessment must be conducted face-to-face with the client. The assessment must include an identification and review of all medications the client is known to be taking. The review and identification must include indications for medications, side effects, contraindications, allergic or adverse reactions, and actions to address these issues.
 - (b) The assessment must:

30.1

30.2

30.3

30.4

30.5

30.6

30.7

30.8

30.9

30.10

30.11

30.12

30.13

30.14

30.15

30.16

30.17

30.18

30.19

- 30.21 (1) identify interventions needed in management of medications to prevent diversion of medication by the client or others who may have access to the medications-; and
- 30.23 (2) provide instructions to the client or client's representative on interventions to manage
 the client's medications and prevent diversion of medications.
- 30.25 "Diversion of medications" means the misuse, theft, or illegal or improper disposition of medications.
- Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.4792, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
- Subd. 5. **Individualized medication management plan.** (a) For each client receiving medication management services, the comprehensive home care provider must prepare and include in the service plan agreement a written statement of the medication management services that will be provided to the client. The provider must develop and maintain a current

05/18/18 12:13 PM	REVISOR	ACF/JK	A18-0988

individualized medication management record for each client based on the client's assessment that must contain the following:

- (1) a statement describing the medication management services that will be provided;
- (2) a description of storage of medications based on the client's needs and preferences, risk of diversion, and consistent with the manufacturer's directions;
- 31.6 (3) documentation of specific client instructions relating to the administration of medications;
- 31.8 (4) identification of persons responsible for monitoring medication supplies and ensuring
 31.9 that medication refills are ordered on a timely basis;
- 31.10 (5) identification of medication management tasks that may be delegated to unlicensed personnel;
 - (6) procedures for staff notifying a registered nurse or appropriate licensed health professional when a problem arises with medication management services; and
- (7) any client-specific requirements relating to documenting medication administration, verifications that all medications are administered as prescribed, and monitoring of medication use to prevent possible complications or adverse reactions.
- 31.17 (b) The medication management record must be current and updated when there are any changes.
- 31.19 (c) Medication reconciliation must be completed when a licensed nurse, licensed health 31.20 professional, or authorized prescriber is providing medication management.
- Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.4792, subdivision 10, is amended to read:
- Subd. 10. **Medication management for clients who will be away from home.** (a) A home care provider who is providing medication management services to the client and controls the client's access to the medications must develop and implement policies and procedures for giving accurate and current medications to clients for planned or unplanned times away from home according to the client's individualized medication management plan. The policy and procedures must state that:
- (1) for planned time away, the medications must be obtained from the pharmacy or set up by the registered a licensed nurse according to appropriate state and federal laws and nursing standards of practice;

31.1

31.2

31.3

31.4

31.5

31.12

05/18/18 12:13 PM	REVISOR	ACF/JK	A18-0988

(2) for unplanned time away, when the pharmacy is not able to provide the medications, a licensed nurse or unlicensed personnel shall give the client or client's representative medications in amounts and dosages needed for the length of the anticipated absence, not to exceed 120 hours seven calendar days;

- (3) the client or client's representative must be provided written information on medications, including any special instructions for administering or handling the medications, including controlled substances;
- (4) the medications must be placed in a medication container or containers appropriate to the provider's medication system and must be labeled with the client's name and the dates and times that the medications are scheduled; and
- (5) the client or client's representative must be provided in writing the home care provider's name and information on how to contact the home care provider.
- (b) For unplanned time away when the licensed nurse is not available, the registered nurse may delegate this task to unlicensed personnel if:
- (1) the registered nurse has trained the unlicensed staff and determined the unlicensed staff is competent to follow the procedures for giving medications to clients; and
- (2) the registered nurse has developed written procedures for the unlicensed personnel, including any special instructions or procedures regarding controlled substances that are prescribed for the client. The procedures must address:
- (i) the type of container or containers to be used for the medications appropriate to the provider's medication system;
 - (ii) how the container or containers must be labeled;
- 32.23 (iii) the written information about the medications to be given to the client or client's representative;
 - (iv) how the unlicensed staff must document in the client's record that medications have been given to the client or the client's representative, including documenting the date the medications were given to the client or the client's representative and who received the medications, the person who gave the medications to the client, the number of medications that were given to the client, and other required information;
 - (v) how the registered nurse shall be notified that medications have been given to the client or client's representative and whether the registered nurse needs to be contacted before the medications are given to the client or the client's representative; and

32.1

32.2

32.3

32.4

32.5

32.6

32.7

32.8

32.9

32.10

32.11

32.12

32.13

32.14

32.15

32.16

32.17

32.18

32.19

32.20

32.21

32.22

32.25

32.26

32.27

32.28

32.29

32.30

32.31

05/18/18 12:13 PM	REVISOR	ACF/JK	A18-0988

33.1	(vi) a review by the registered nurse of the completion of this task to verify that this task
33.2	was completed accurately by the unlicensed personnel-; and
33.3	(vii) how the unlicensed staff must document in the client's record any unused medications
33.4	that are returned to the provider, including the name of each medication and the doses of
33.5	each returned medication.
33.6	Sec. 42. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.4793, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
33.7	Subd. 6. <u>Treatment and therapy</u> orders or prescriptions. There must be an up-to-date
33.8	written or electronically recorded order or prescription from an authorized prescriber for
33.9	all treatments and therapies. The order must contain the name of the client, a description of
33.10	the treatment or therapy to be provided, and the frequency, duration, and other information
33.11	needed to administer the treatment or therapy. <u>Treatment and therapy orders must be renewed</u>
33.12	at least every 12 months.
33.13	Sec. 43. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 144A.4796, subdivision 2, is
33.14	amended to read:
33.15	Subd. 2. Content. (a) The orientation must contain the following topics:
33.16	(1) an overview of sections 144A.43 to 144A.4798;
33.17	(2) introduction and review of all the provider's policies and procedures related to the
33.18	provision of home care services by the individual staff person;
33.19	(3) handling of emergencies and use of emergency services;
33.20	(4) compliance with and reporting of the maltreatment of minors or vulnerable adults
33.21	under sections 626.556 and 626.557;
33.22	(5) home care bill of rights under section 144A.44;
33.23	(6) handling of clients' complaints, reporting of complaints, and where to report
33.24	complaints including information on the Office of Health Facility Complaints and the
33.25	Common Entry Point;
33.26	(7) consumer advocacy services of the Office of Ombudsman for Long-Term Care,
33.27	Office of Ombudsman for Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities, Managed Care
33.28	Ombudsman at the Department of Human Services, county managed care advocates, or
33.29	other relevant advocacy services; and
33.30	(8) review of the types of home care services the employee will be providing and the
33.31	provider's scope of licensure.

05/18/18 12:13 PM	REVISOR	ACF/JK	A18-0988

(b) In addition to the topics listed in paragraph (a), orientation may also contain training
on providing services to clients with hearing loss. Any training on hearing loss provided
under this subdivision must be high quality and research-based, may include online training,
and must include training on one or more of the following topics:

- (1) an explanation of age-related hearing loss and how it manifests itself, its prevalence, and challenges it poses to communication;
- (2) health impacts related to untreated age-related hearing loss, such as increased incidence of dementia, falls, hospitalizations, isolation, and depression; or
- (3) information about strategies and technology that may enhance communication and involvement, including communication strategies, assistive listening devices, hearing aids, visual and tactile alerting devices, communication access in real time, and closed captions.
- Sec. 44. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.4797, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
 - Subd. 3. Supervision of staff providing delegated nursing or therapy home care tasks. (a) Staff who perform delegated nursing or therapy home care tasks must be supervised by an appropriate licensed health professional or a registered nurse periodically where the services are being provided to verify that the work is being performed competently and to identify problems and solutions related to the staff person's ability to perform the tasks. Supervision of staff performing medication or treatment administration shall be provided by a registered nurse or appropriate licensed health professional and must include observation of the staff administering the medication or treatment and the interaction with the client.
- (b) The direct supervision of staff performing delegated tasks must be provided within 30 days after the <u>date on which the individual begins</u> working for the home care provider and first performs delegated tasks for clients and thereafter as needed based on performance. This requirement also applies to staff who have not performed delegated tasks for one year or longer.
- Sec. 45. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.4798, is amended to read:

34.27 **144A.4798** EMPLOYEE HEALTH STATUS DISEASE PREVENTION AND INFECTION CONTROL.

Subdivision 1. **Tuberculosis (TB)** prevention and infection control. (a) A home care provider must establish and maintain a TB prevention and comprehensive tuberculosis infection control program based on according to the most current tuberculosis infection control guidelines issued by the United States Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

34.1

34.2

34.3

34.4

34.5

34.6

34.7

34.8

34.9

34.10

34.11

34.12

34.13

34.14

34.15

34.16

34.17

34.18

34.19

34.20

34.21

34.22

34.23

34.24

34.25

34.29

34.30

34.31

05/18/18 12:13 PM	REVISOR	ACF/JK	A18-0988

35.1	(CDC), Division of Tuberculosis Elimination, as published in the CDC's Morbidity and
35.2	Mortality Weekly Report. Components of a TB prevention and control program include
35.3	screening all staff providing home care services, both paid and unpaid, at the time of hire
35.4	for active TB disease and latent TB infection, and developing and implementing a written
35.5	TB infection control plan. The commissioner shall make the most recent CDC standards
35.6	available to home care providers on the department's Web site. This program must include
35.7	a tuberculosis infection control plan that covers all paid and unpaid employees, contractors,
35.8	students, and volunteers. The commissioner shall provide technical assistance regarding
35.9	implementation of the guidelines.
35.10	(b) Written evidence of compliance with this subdivision must be maintained by the
35.11	home care provider.
35.12	Subd. 2. Communicable diseases. A home care provider must follow current federal
35.13	or state guidelines state requirements for prevention, control, and reporting of human
35.14	immunodeficiency virus (HIV), hepatitis B virus (HBV), hepatitis C virus, or other
35.15	communicable diseases as defined in Minnesota Rules, part parts 4605.7040, 4605.7044,
35.16	4605.7050, 4605.7075, 4605.7080, and 4605.7090.
35.17	Subd. 3. Infection control program. A home care provider must establish and maintain
35.18	an effective infection control program that complies with accepted health care, medical,
35.19	and nursing standards for infection control.
35.20	Sec. 46. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.4799, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
35.21	Subdivision 1. Membership. The commissioner of health shall appoint eight persons
35.22	to a home care and assisted living program advisory council consisting of the following:
35.23	(1) three public members as defined in section 214.02 who shall be either persons who
35.24	are currently receiving home care services or, persons who have received home care services
35.25	within five years of the application date, persons who have family members receiving home
35.26	care services, or persons who have family members who have received home care services
35.27	within five years of the application date;
35.28	(2) three Minnesota home care licensees representing basic and comprehensive levels
35.29	of licensure who may be a managerial official, an administrator, a supervising registered
35.30	nurse, or an unlicensed personnel performing home care tasks;
35.31	(3) one member representing the Minnesota Board of Nursing; and
JJ.J1	(5) one memoer representing the minimesom board of maising, and
35.32	(4) one member representing the Office of Ombudsman for Long-Term Care.

Sec. 47. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 144A.4799, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

- Subd. 3. **Duties.** (a) At the commissioner's request, the advisory council shall provide advice regarding regulations of Department of Health licensed home care providers in this chapter, including advice on the following:
 - (1) community standards for home care practices;
- 36.7 (2) enforcement of licensing standards and whether certain disciplinary actions are appropriate;
- 36.9 (3) ways of distributing information to licensees and consumers of home care;
- 36.10 (4) training standards;

36.3

36.4

36.5

- 36.11 (5) identifying emerging issues and opportunities in the home care field, including and assisted living;
- 36.13 (6) identifying the use of technology in home and telehealth capabilities;
- (6) (7) allowable home care licensing modifications and exemptions, including a method for an integrated license with an existing license for rural licensed nursing homes to provide limited home care services in an adjacent independent living apartment building owned by the licensed nursing home; and
- 36.18 (7) (8) recommendations for studies using the data in section 62U.04, subdivision 4,
 36.19 including but not limited to studies concerning costs related to dementia and chronic disease
 36.20 among an elderly population over 60 and additional long-term care costs, as described in
 36.21 section 62U.10, subdivision 6.
- 36.22 (b) The advisory council shall perform other duties as directed by the commissioner.
- 36.23 (c) The advisory council shall annually review the balance of the account in the state
 36.24 government special revenue fund described in section 144A.474, subdivision 11, paragraph
 36.25 (i), and make annual recommendations by January 15 directly to the chairs and ranking
 36.26 minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over health and human
 36.27 services regarding appropriations to the commissioner for the purposes in section 144A.474,
 36.28 subdivision 11, paragraph (i).
- Sec. 48. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.484, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **Integrated licensing established.** (a) From January 1, 2014, to June 30, 2015, the commissioner of health shall enforce the home and community-based services

standards under chapter 245D for those providers who also have a home care license pursuant to this chapter as required under Laws 2013, chapter 108, article 8, section 60, and article 11, section 31. During this period, the commissioner shall provide technical assistance to achieve and maintain compliance with applicable law or rules governing the provision of home and community-based services, including complying with the service recipient rights notice in subdivision 4, clause (4). If during the survey, the commissioner finds that the licensee has failed to achieve compliance with an applicable law or rule under chapter 245D and this failure does not imminently endanger the health, safety, or rights of the persons served by the program, the commissioner may issue a licensing survey report with recommendations for achieving and maintaining compliance.

- (b) Beginning July 1, 2015, A home care provider applicant or license holder may apply to the commissioner of health for a home and community-based services designation for the provision of basic support services identified under section 245D.03, subdivision 1, paragraph (b). The designation allows the license holder to provide basic support services that would otherwise require licensure under chapter 245D, under the license holder's home care license governed by sections 144A.43 to 144A.481 144A.4799.
- Sec. 49. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 145.56, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. **Community-based programs.** To the extent funds are appropriated for the purposes of this subdivision, the commissioner shall establish a grant program to fund:
- 37.20 (1) community-based programs to provide education, outreach, and advocacy services to populations who may be at risk for suicide;
 - (2) community-based programs that educate community helpers and gatekeepers, such as family members, spiritual leaders, coaches, and business owners, employers, and coworkers on how to prevent suicide by encouraging help-seeking behaviors;
 - (3) community-based programs that educate populations at risk for suicide and community helpers and gatekeepers that must include information on the symptoms of depression and other psychiatric illnesses, the warning signs of suicide, skills for preventing suicides, and making or seeking effective referrals to intervention and community resources;
 - (4) community-based programs to provide evidence-based suicide prevention and intervention education to school staff, parents, and students in grades kindergarten through12, and for students attending Minnesota colleges and universities;
 - (5) community-based programs to provide evidence-based suicide prevention and intervention to public school nurses, teachers, administrators, coaches, school social workers,

37.1

37.2

37.3

37.4

37.5

37.6

37.7

37.8

37.9

37.10

37.11

37.12

37.13

37.14

37.15

37.16

37.22

37.23

37.24

37.25

37.26

37.27

37.28

37.29

37.30

37.31

37.32

05/18/18 12:13 PM	REVISOR	ACF/JK	A18-0988

38.1	peace officers, firefighters, emergency medical technicians, advanced emergency medical
38.2	technicians, paramedics, primary care providers, and others; and
38.3	(6) community-based, evidence-based postvention training to mental health professionals
38.4	and practitioners in order to provide technical assistance to communities after a suicide and
38.5	to prevent suicide clusters and contagion; and
38.6	(7) a nonprofit organization to provide crisis telephone counseling services across the
38.7	state to people in suicidal crisis or emotional distress, 24 hours a day, seven days a week,
38.8	365 days a year.
38.9	Sec. 50. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 146B.03, is amended by adding a subdivision
38.10	to read:
38.11	Subd. 7a. Supervisors. (a) A technician must have been licensed in Minnesota or in a
38.12	jurisdiction with which Minnesota has reciprocity for at least:
38.13	(1) two years as a tattoo technician in order to supervise a temporary tattoo technician;
38.14	<u>or</u>
38.15	(2) one year as a body piercing technician in order to supervise a temporary body piercing
38.16	technician.
38.17	(b) Any technician who agrees to supervise more than two temporary tattoo technicians
38.18	during the same time period, or more than four body piercing technicians during the same
38.19	time period, must provide to the commissioner a supervisory plan that describes how the
38.20	technician will provide supervision to each temporary technician in accordance with section
38.21	146B.01, subdivision 28.
38.22	(c) The commissioner may refuse to approve as a supervisor a technician who has been
38.23	disciplined in Minnesota or in another jurisdiction after considering the criteria in section
38.24	146B.02, subdivision 10, paragraph (b).
38.25	Sec. 51. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 149A.40, subdivision 11, is amended to read:
38.26	Subd. 11. Continuing education. The commissioner shall require 15 continuing education
38.27	hours for renewal of a license to practice mortuary science. Nine of the hours must be in
38.28	the following areas: body preparation, care, or handling, and cremation, 3 CE hours;
38.29	professional practices, 3 CE hours; and regulation and ethics, 3 CE hours. Continuing
38.30	education hours shall be reported to the commissioner every other year based on the licensee's
32 31	license number. Licensees whose license ends in an odd number must report CE hours at

05/18/18 12:13 PM	REVISOR	ACF/JK	A18-0988

39.1	renewal time every odd year. If a licensee's license ends in an even number, the licensee
39.2	must report the licensee's CE hours at renewal time every even year.
39.3	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2019, and applies to mortuary
39.4	science license renewals on or after that date.
39.5	Sec. 52. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 149A.95, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
39.6	Subd. 3. Unlicensed personnel. (a) A licensed crematory may employ unlicensed
39.7	personnel, provided that all applicable provisions of this chapter are followed. It is the duty
39.8	of the licensed crematory to provide proper training for to all unlicensed personnel and
39.9	ensure that unlicensed personnel performing cremations are in compliance with the
39.10	requirements in paragraph (b). The licensed crematory shall be strictly accountable for
39.11	compliance with this chapter and other applicable state and federal regulations regarding
39.12	occupational and workplace health and safety.
39.13	(b) Unlicensed personnel performing cremations at a licensed crematory must:
39.14	(1) complete a certified crematory operator course that is approved by the commissioner
39.15	and that covers at least the following subjects:
39.16	(i) cremation and incinerator terminology;
39.17	(ii) combustion principles;
39.18	(iii) maintenance of and troubleshooting for cremation devices;
39.19	(iv) how to operate cremation devices;
39.20	(v) identification, the use of proper forms, and the record-keeping process for
39.21	documenting chain of custody of human remains;
39.22	(vi) guidelines for recycling, including but not limited to compliance, disclosure, recycling
39.23	procedures, and compensation;
39.24	(vii) legal and regulatory requirements regarding environmental issues, including specific
39.25	environmental regulations with which compliance is required; and
39.26	(viii) cremation ethics;
39.27	(2) obtain a crematory operator certification;
39.28	(3) publicly post the crematory operator certification at the licensed crematory where
39.29	the unlicensed personnel performs cremations; and
20.20	(1) maintain aramatary anaratar aartification through:

05/18/18 12:13 PM	REVISOR	ACF/JK	A18-0988

(i) recertification, if such recertification is required by the program through which the	<u>1e</u>
unlicensed personnel is certified; or	
(ii) if recertification is not required by the program, completion of at least seven hou	<u>ırs</u>
of continuing education credits in crematory operation every five years.	
EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2019, and applies to unlicense	sed
personnel performing cremations on or after that date.	
Sec. 53. <u>AUTISM SPECTRUM DISORDER TASK FORCE PLAN.</u>	
The commissioner of health, in consultation with the commissioners of human service	ces
and education, shall submit a plan to the chairs and ranking minority members of the	
egislative committees with jurisdiction over health care, human services, and education	by
anuary 15, 2019, to reconstitute the Autism Spectrum Disorder Task Force originally	
established in 2011. The plan must include proposed membership of the task force that tal	kes
nto consideration all points of view and represents a diverse range of agencies, commun	ity
groups, advocacy organizations, educators, and families.	
Sec. 54. VARIANCE TO REQUIREMENT FOR SANITARY DUMPING STATIO	<u>M.</u>
Notwithstanding any law or rule to the contrary, the commissioner of health shall provi	ide
variance to the requirement to provide a sanitary dumping station under Minnesota Rul	es,
part 4630.0900, for a resort in Hubbard County that is located on an island and is landlock	ed,
aking it impractical to build a sanitary dumping station for use by recreational campir	<u>1g</u>
rehicles and recreational camping on the resort property. There must be an alternative	
dumping station available within a 15-mile radius of the resort or a vendor that is available	ble
o pump any self-contained liquid waste system that is located on the resort property.	
Sec. 55. DIRECTION TO COMMISSIONER OF HEALTH; STRATEGIC PLAN	N
REGARDING CMV.	
The commissioner of health, in consultation with interested stakeholders and familie	
of children diagnosed with human herpesvirus cytomegalovirus (CMV), shall develop a	<u>1</u>
strategic state plan outlining strategies for:	
(1) providing information about CMV to health care practitioners;	
(2) providing information about CMV to women who may become pregnant, to expect	ant

40.30

parents, and to parents of infants; and

05/18/18 12:13 PM	REVISOR	ACF/JK	A18-0988
03/10/10 12.13 1 1/1		TCI/JIX	A10-0700

(3) identifying resources and necessary follow-up for children born with congenital 41.1 CMV, and their families. 41.2 Sec. 56. REVISOR'S INSTRUCTIONS. 41.3 (a) The revisor of statutes shall change the terms "service plan or service agreement" 41.4 and "service agreement or service plan" to "service agreement" in the following sections of 41.5 Minnesota Statutes: sections 144A.442; 144D.045; 144G.03, subdivision 4, paragraph (c); 41.6 41.7 and 144G.04. (b) The revisor of statutes shall change the term "service plan" to "service agreement" 41.8 and the term "service plans" to "service agreements" in the following sections of Minnesota 41.9 Statutes: sections 144A.44; 144A.45; 144A.475; 144A.4791; 144A.4792; 144A.4793; 41.10 144A.4794; 144D.04; and 144G.03, subdivision 4, paragraph (a). 41.11 41.12 Sec. 57. REPEALER. (a) Minnesota Statutes 2016, sections 144A.45, subdivision 6; and 144A.481, are repealed. 41.13 (b) Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 146B.02, subdivision 7a, is repealed." 41.14

Renumber the articles in sequence and correct the internal references

Amend the title accordingly

41.15