# STATE OF MINNESOTA

# NINETY-THIRD SESSION - 2023

# FIFTY-FOURTH DAY

# SAINT PAUL, MINNESOTA, FRIDAY, APRIL 21, 2023

The House of Representatives convened at 11:30 a.m. and was called to order by Dan Wolgamott, Speaker pro tempore.

Prayer was offered by the Reverend Sara E. Morse, Hazel Park United Church of Christ, St. Paul, Minnesota.

John deCausmeaker from the Minnesota Wild performed the National Anthem.

The roll was called and the following members were present:

Acomb Agbaje Altendorf Anderson, P. E. Anderson, P. H. Backer Bahner Bakeberg Baker Becker-Finn Bennett Berg Bierman Brand Burkel Carroll Cha Clardy Coulter Curran	Daudt Davids Davis Dotseth Edelson Elkins Engen Feist Finke Fischer Fogelman Franson Frazier Frederick Freiberg Gillman Gomez Greenman Grossell Hansen, R.	Harder Heintzeman Hemmingsen-Jaeger Her Hicks Hill Hollins Howard Hudella Huot Jacob Johnson Jordan Joy Keeler Klevorn Knudsen Koegel Kotyza-Witthuhn Kozlowski	Kraft Lee, F. Lee, K. Liebling Lillie Lislegard Long McDonald Mekeland Moller Mueller Murphy Myers Nadeau Nash Nelson, M. Nelson, N. Neu Brindley Newton Niska	Novotny O'Driscoll Olson, B. Olson, L. O'Neill Pelowski Pérez-Vega Perryman Petersburg Pfarr Pinto Pryor Pursell Quam Rehm Reyer Richardson Robbins Schultz Scott	Skraba Smith Stephenson Swedzinski Tabke Torkelson Urdahl Vang West Wiener Wiener Wiens Witte Wolgamott Xiong Youakim Zeleznikar Spk. Hortman
Curran	Hansen, R.	Kozlowski	Niska	Scott	
Daniels	Hanson, J.	Koznick	Norris	Sencer-Mura	

A quorum was present.

Bliss, Demuth, Garofalo, Hassan, Hudson, Hussein, Igo, Kiel, Kresha and Noor were excused.

Schomacker was excused until 1:25 p.m. Hornstein was excused until 1:50 p.m.

The Chief Clerk proceeded to read the Journal of the preceding day. There being no objection, further reading of the Journal was dispensed with and the Journal was approved as corrected by the Chief Clerk.

#### **REPORTS OF STANDING COMMITTEES AND DIVISIONS**

Gomez from the Committee on Taxes to which was referred:

H. F. No. 2, A bill for an act relating to employment; creating a family and medical benefit insurance program; requiring leave from employment under certain circumstances; allowing substitution of a private plan; prohibiting retaliation; classifying data; authorizing expedited rulemaking; appropriating money; amending Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 13.719, by adding a subdivision; 62A.01, subdivision 1; 177.27, subdivision 4; 181.032; 256B.0659, subdivision 18; 256B.85, subdivisions 13, 13a; 256J.561, by adding a subdivision; 256J.95, subdivisions 3, 11; 256P.01, subdivision 3; 268.19, subdivision 1; proposing coding for new law as Minnesota Statutes, chapter 268B.

Reported the same back with the following amendments:

Page 50, line 5, delete "<u>5</u>" and insert "<u>6</u>"

Page 53, after line 22, insert:

"Subd. 5. Small business wage exclusion. (a) For employers with fewer than 30 employees, the amount of wages upon which quarterly employer premium is required is reduced by the premium rate to be paid by the employer multiplied by the lessor of:

(1) \$12,500 multiplied by the number of employees; or

(2) \$120,000.

(b) For each employee over 20 employees, the exclusion is reduced by \$12,000.

(c) The premium paid by the employer as a result of the reduction allowed under this subdivision must not be less than zero.

(d) The reduction in premiums paid by the employer is for the sole benefit of the employer and does not relieve the employer from deducting the employee portion of the premium."

Renumber the subdivisions in sequence

With the recommendation that when so amended the bill be re-referred to the Committee on Ways and Means.

The report was adopted.

Gomez from the Committee on Taxes to which was referred:

H. F. No. 1372, A bill for an act relating to taxation; making various policy and technical changes to individual income and corporate franchise taxes, fire and police state aids, tax-related data practices provisions, and other miscellaneous taxes and tax provisions; amending Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 6.495, subdivision 3; 13.46, subdivision 2; 270C.13, subdivision 1; 270C.19, subdivisions 1, 2; 270C.446, subdivision 2; 289A.08, subdivisions 7, 7a; 289A.382, subdivision 2; 289A.50, by adding a subdivision; 290.01, subdivision 19; 290.06, subdivision 22; 290.0671, subdivisions 1, 7; 290.0685, subdivision 1; 290.92, subdivision 20; 290.9705, subdivision 1; 290A.03,

54TH DAY]

FRIDAY, APRIL 21, 2023

subdivision 13; 290A.19; 295.50, subdivision 4; 296A.083, subdivision 3; 297A.61, subdivision 29; 299C.76, subdivisions 1, 2; 477B.01, subdivisions 5, 10, 11, by adding subdivisions; 477B.02, subdivisions 2, 3, 5, 8, 9, 10, by adding a subdivision; 477B.03, subdivisions 2, 3, 4, 5, 7; 477B.04, subdivision 1, by adding a subdivision; 477C.02, subdivision 4; 477C.03, subdivisions 2, 5; 477C.04, by adding a subdivision; Laws 2008, chapter 366, article 17, section 6; repealing Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 477B.02, subdivision 4; 477B.03, subdivision 6.

Reported the same back with the recommendation that the bill be placed on the General Register.

The report was adopted.

Olson, L., from the Committee on Ways and Means to which was referred:

S. F. No. 2909, A bill for an act relating to state government; providing for certain judiciary, public safety, corrections, human rights, firearm, clemency, rehabilitation and reinvestment, supervised release board, expungement, community supervision, and 911 Emergency Communication System policy; providing for reports; authorizing rulemaking; appropriating money for judiciary, courts, civil legal services, Guardian ad Litem Board, Uniform Laws Commission, Board on Judicial Standards, Board of Public Defense, human rights, sentencing guidelines, public safety, emergency management, criminal apprehension, fire marshal, firefighters, Office of Justice programs, Peace Officer Standards and Training Board, Private Detective Board, corrections, incarceration and release, probation, juveniles, and Ombudsperson for Corrections; amending Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 13.072, subdivision 1; 13.825, subdivision 3; 13.871, subdivisions 8, 14; 13A.02, subdivisions 1, 2; 144.6586, subdivision 2; 145.4712; 152.01, by adding a subdivision; 152.021, subdivisions 1, 2; 152.022, subdivisions 1, 2; 152.023, subdivision 2; 152.18, subdivision 1; 181.981, subdivision 1; 214.10, subdivision 10; 241.01, subdivision 3a; 241.021, subdivision 1d; 243.05, subdivision 1; 244.03; 244.05, subdivisions 1b, 2, 3, 4, 5, by adding a subdivision; 244.052, subdivision 4a; 244.101, subdivision 1; 244.19, subdivisions 1, 5; 244.195, subdivisions 1, 2, by adding subdivisions; 244.20; 244.21; 297I.06, subdivision 1; 299A.38; 299A.41, subdivisions 3, 4, by adding a subdivision; 299A.52; 299A.642, subdivision 15; 299A.73, by adding a subdivision; 299C.10, subdivision 1; 299C.106, subdivision 3; 299C.11, subdivision 3; 299C.111; 299C.17; 299C.53, subdivision 3; 299N.02, subdivision 3; 326.32, subdivision 10; 326.3381, subdivision 3; 357.021, subdivision 2; 363A.06, subdivision 1; 401.01; 401.02; 401.025, subdivision 1; 401.06; 401.09; 401.10; 401.11; 401.14, subdivision 3; 401.16; 403.02, subdivisions 7, 9a, 11b, 16a, 17, 17c, 18, 19, 19a, 20, 20a, 21, by adding subdivisions; 403.025; 403.03, subdivision 2; 403.05; 403.06; 403.07; 403.08; 403.09, subdivision 2; 403.10, subdivisions 2, 3; 403.11; 403.113; 403.15, subdivisions 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, by adding a subdivision; 609.05, by adding a subdivision; 609.106, subdivision 2, by adding a subdivision; 609.11, subdivision 8, by adding a subdivision; 609.14, subdivision 1, by adding a subdivision; 609.2231, subdivision 4; 609.2233; 609.3455, subdivisions 2, 5; 609.35; 609.52, subdivision 3; 609.527, subdivision 1, by adding a subdivision; 609.582, subdivisions 3, 4; 609.595, subdivisions 1a, 2; 609.749, subdivision 3; 609A.01; 609A.02, subdivision 3; 609A.03, subdivisions 5, 7a, 9; 611.23; 611A.03, subdivision 1; 611A.211, subdivision 1; 611A.31, subdivisions 2, 3, by adding a subdivision; 611A.32; 626.15; 626.5531, subdivision 1; 626.843, by adding a subdivision; 626.8451, subdivision 1; 626.8469, subdivision 1; 626.8473, subdivision 3; 638.01; 641.15, subdivision 2; 641.155; Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 11, article 1, section 15, subdivision 3; proposing coding for new law in Minnesota Statutes, chapters 243; 244; 299A; 299C; 401; 609; 609A; 626; 638; repealing Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 244.18; 244.19, subdivisions 6, 7, 8; 244.22; 244.24; 244.30; 299C.80, subdivision 7; 403.02, subdivision 13; 403.09, subdivision 3; 638.02; 638.03; 638.04; 638.05; 638.06; 638.07; 638.075; 638.08.

Reported the same back with the following amendments:

Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:

### "ARTICLE 1 JUDICIARY APPROPRIATIONS

### Section 1. APPROPRIATIONS.

The sums shown in the columns marked "Appropriations" are appropriated to the agencies and for the purposes specified in this article. The appropriations are from the general fund, or another named fund, and are available for the fiscal years indicated for each purpose. The figures "2024" and "2025" used in this article mean that the appropriations listed under them are available for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, or June 30, 2025, respectively. "The first year" is fiscal year 2024. "The second year" is fiscal year 2025. "The biennium" is fiscal years 2024 and 2025.

		<u>PPROPRIATIONS</u> ailable for the Year Ending June 30
	<u>2024</u>	<u>2025</u>
Sec. 2. SUPREME COURT		
Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation	<u>\$73,666,000</u>	<u>\$91,516,000</u>
The amounts that may be spent for each purpose are specified in the following subdivisions.		
Subd. 2. Supreme Court Operations	44,943,000	46,703,000
(a) Contingent Account		
\$5,000 each year is for a contingent account for expenses necessary for the normal operation of the court for which no other reimbursement is provided.		
(b) Justices' Compensation		
Justices' compensation is increased by four percent in the first year and four percent in the second year.		
Subd. 3. Civil Legal Services	<u>28,723,000</u>	44,813,000
The general fund base is \$44,960,000 in fiscal year 2026 and \$45,714,000 in fiscal year 2027.		
Legal Services to Low-Income Clients in Family Law Matters		
\$1,017,000 each year is to improve the access of low-income clients to legal representation in family law matters. This appropriation must be distributed under Minnesota Statutes, section 480.242, to the qualified legal services program described in Minnesota Statutes, section 480.242, subdivision 2, paragraph (a). Any unencumbered balance remaining in the first year does		

not cancel and is available in the second year.

54th Day]	Friday, April 21, 2023		5991
Sec. 3. COURT OF A	PPEALS	<u>\$14,205,000</u>	<u>\$14,762,000</u>
(a) Judges' Compensation	<u>1</u>		
Judges' compensation is in and four percent in the second	creased by four percent in the first year ond year.		
(b) Law Clerk Salaries			
appeals law clerks to Notwithstanding Minnesot	increase the compensation of court of a salary of \$69,384 per year. a Statutes, section 16A.285, the court of his money between programs.		
Sec. 4. DISTRICT CO	DURTS	<u>\$371,931,000</u>	\$370,311,000
(a) Judges' Compensation	<u>1</u>		
Judges' compensation is in and four percent in the second	creased by four percent in the first year ond year.		
(b) Law Clerk Salaries			
court law clerks to a salary	o increase the compensation of district y of \$69,384 per year. Notwithstanding n 16A.285, the district court must not n programs.		
(c) Juror Reimbursement			
	o increase the rate of compensation for required attendance at sessions of court.		
Sec. 5. GUARDIAN A	AD LITEM BOARD	<u>\$24,358,000</u>	<u>\$25,620,000</u>
Sec. 6. TAX COURT		<u>\$2,173,000</u>	<u>\$2,308,000</u>
Law Clerk Salaries			
law clerks to a salary of	ncrease the compensation of Tax Court f \$69,384 per year. Notwithstanding on 16A.285, the Tax Court must not n programs.		
Sec. 7. UNIFORM LA	AWS COMMISSION	<u>\$115,000</u>	<u>\$115,000</u>
Sec. 8. BOARD ON J	UDICIAL STANDARDS	<u>\$655,000</u>	<u>\$645,000</u>
(a) <b>Availability of Approp</b>	oriation		
If the encourie time for a di			

If the appropriation for either year is insufficient, the appropriation for the other fiscal year is available.

(b) Major Disciplinary Actions		
<u>\$125,000 each year is for special investigative and hearing costs</u> for major disciplinary actions undertaken by the board. This appropriation does not cancel. Any unencumbered and unspent balances remain available for these expenditures until June 30, 2027.		
Sec. 9. BOARD OF PUBLIC DEFENSE	<u>\$154,134,000</u>	<u>\$164,360,000</u>
Sec. 10. HUMAN RIGHTS	<u>\$8,431,000</u>	<u>\$8,823,000</u>
The general fund base is \$9,303,000 in fiscal year 2026 and \$9,303,000 in fiscal year 2027.		
Mediator Payments		
<u>\$20,000 each year is to fund payments to mediators. This</u> appropriation is onetime and is available until June 30, 2027.		
Sec. 11. OFFICE OF APPELLATE COUNSEL AND TRAINING	<u>\$659,000</u>	<u>\$1,560,000</u>
Establishment and Operations		
\$659,000 the first year and \$1,560,000 the second year are for establishment and operation of the Statewide Office of Appellate Counsel and Training as described in Minnesota Statutes, section 260C.419, and to provide support for the State Board of Appellate Counsel and Training.		
Sec. 12. DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES	<u>\$1,500,000</u>	<u>\$-0-</u>
Child Advocacy Center		
<u>\$1,500,000 the first year is for a grant to First Witness Child</u> <u>Advocacy Center for the acquisition and improvement of</u> properties located at 1402, 1406, and 1412 East 2nd Street in the		

Advocacy Center for the acquisition and improvement of properties located at 1402, 1406, and 1412 East 2nd Street in the city of Duluth. This appropriation includes money for demolition of the building located at 1412 East 2nd Street and construction of a parking lot, and for renovation, furnishing, and equipping of the buildings located at 1402 and 1406 East 2nd Street as a training center and a child advocacy center.

### ARTICLE 2 PUBLIC SAFETY APPROPRIATIONS

#### Section 1. APPROPRIATIONS.

<u>The sums shown in the columns marked "Appropriations" are appropriated to the agencies and for the purposes</u> specified in this article. The appropriations are from the general fund, or another named fund, and are available for the fiscal years indicated for each purpose. The figures "2024" and "2025" used in this article mean that the

5992

[54TH DAY

.

appropriations listed under them are available for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, or June 30, 2025, respectively. "The first year" is fiscal year 2024. "The second year" is fiscal year 2025. "The biennium" is fiscal years 2024 and 2025. Appropriations for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, are effective the day following final enactment.

				Availab	<u>DPRIATIONS</u> le for the Year ing June 30
			<u>2023</u>	<u>2024</u>	<u>2025</u>
Sec. 2. <u>SENTE</u>	NCING GUIE	DELINES		<u>\$1,549,000</u>	<u>\$1,488,000</u>
The general fund \$1,071,000 in fiscal		1,000 in fiscal	year 2026 and		
Sec. 3. <b><u>PUBLI</u></b>	C SAFETY				
Subdivision 1. <b>T</b>	<u>`otal Appropria</u>	ation	<u>\$1,000,000</u>	<u>\$295,624,000</u>	<u>\$279,032,000</u>
	Appropriation	as by Fund			
	<u>2023</u>	<u>2024</u>	<u>2025</u>		
<u>General</u> Special Revenue State Government	<u>1,000,000</u>	<u>199,570,000</u> <u>18,458,000</u>	<u>189,449,000</u> <u>18,711,000</u>		
Special Revenue		<u>103,000</u>	103,000		
<u>Environmental</u> <u>Trunk Highway</u> 911 Fund		<u>119,000</u> <u>2,429,000</u> <u>75,329,000</u>	<u>127,000</u> <u>2,429,000</u> <u>68,597,000</u>		
The amounts that r the following subdi-	• •	or each purpose	e are specified in		
Subd. 2. Public S	Safety Administ	<u>ration</u>	<u>1,000,000</u>	2,500,000	2,500,000
(a) <b>Public Safety O</b>	officer Survivo	<u>r Benefits</u>			

\$1,000,000 in fiscal year 2023, \$1,500,000 in fiscal year 2024, and \$1,500,000 in fiscal year 2025 are for payment of public safety officer survivor benefits under Minnesota Statutes, section 299A.44. If the appropriation for either year is insufficient, the appropriation for the other year is available.

## (b) Soft Body Armor Reimbursements

\$1,000,000 each year is for soft body armor reimbursements under Minnesota Statutes, section 299A.38.

9,0<u>80,000</u>

6,166,000

#### Subd. 3. Emergency Management

#### Appropriations by Fund

General	8,961,000	<u>6,039,000</u>
Environmental	119,000	127,000

#### (a) Supplemental Nonprofit Security Grants

\$250,000 each year is for supplemental nonprofit security grants under this paragraph. This appropriation is onetime.

Nonprofit organizations whose applications for funding through the Federal Emergency Management Agency's nonprofit security grant program have been approved by the Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management are eligible for grants under this paragraph. No additional application shall be required for grants under this paragraph, and an application for a grant from the federal program is also an application for funding from the state supplemental program.

Eligible organizations may receive grants of up to \$75,000, except that the total received by any individual from both the federal nonprofit security grant program and the state supplemental nonprofit security grant program shall not exceed \$75,000. Grants shall be awarded in an order consistent with the ranking given to applicants for the federal nonprofit security grant program. No grants under the state supplemental nonprofit security grant program shall be awarded until the announcement of the recipients and the amount of the grants awarded under the federal nonprofit security grant program.

The commissioner may use up to one percent of the appropriation received under this paragraph to pay costs incurred by the department in administering the supplemental nonprofit security grant program.

#### (b) School Safety Center

\$300,000 each year is to fund two new school safety specialists at the Minnesota School Safety Center.

# (c) Local Government Emergency Management

\$2,000,000 each year is to award grants in equal amounts to the emergency management organization of the 87 counties, 11 federally recognized Tribes, and four cities of the first class for reimbursement of planning and preparedness activities, including capital purchases, that are eligible under federal emergency management grant guidelines. Local emergency management organizations must make a request to Homeland Security and Emergency Management Division (HSEM) for these grants. Current local funding for emergency management and preparedness activities may not be supplanted by these additional state funds. Of this amount, up to one percent may be used for the administrative costs of the agency. Funds appropriated for this purpose do not cancel and are available until expended. Unspent money may be redistributed to eligible local emergency management organizations. This appropriation is onetime.

By March 15, 2024, the commissioner of public safety must submit a report on the grant awards to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over emergency management and preparedness activities. At a minimum, the report must identify grant recipients and give detailed information on how the grantees used the money received.

#### (d) Lake Superior Chippewa Tribal Emergency Management Coordinator

\$145,000 each year is for a grant to the Grand Portage Band of Lake Superior Chippewa to establish and maintain a Tribal emergency management coordinator under Minnesota Statutes, section 12.25.

#### (e) Grand Portage Band of Lake Superior Chippewa Tribe Coast Guard Services

\$3,000,000 in fiscal year 2024 is for a grant to the Grand Portage Band of Lake Superior Chippewa to purchase equipment and fund a position for coast guard services off the north shore of Lake Superior. This is a onetime appropriation.

#### Subd. 4. Criminal Apprehension

#### Appropriations by Fund

General	<u>92,984,000</u>	<u>90,476,000</u>
State Government		
Special Revenue	<u>7,000</u>	<u>7,000</u>
<u>Trunk Highway</u>	2,429,000	2,429,000

The annual base from the general fund is \$90,496,000 beginning in fiscal year 2026.

#### (a) DWI Lab Analysis; Trunk Highway Fund

Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 161.20, subdivision 3, \$2,429,000 the first year and \$2,429,000 the second year are from the trunk highway fund for staff and operating costs for laboratory analysis related to driving-while-impaired cases. 95,420,000

#### 92,912,000

## 5996

# (b) State Fraud Unit

\$1,300,000 each year is for staff and operating costs to create the State Fraud Unit to centralize the state's response to activities of fraud with an estimated impact of \$100,000 or more.

# (c) <u>FBI Compliance, Critical IT Infrastructure, and</u> <u>Cybersecurity Upgrades</u>

\$2,000,000 the first year and \$1,000,000 the second year are for cybersecurity investments, critical infrastructure upgrades, and Federal Bureau of Investigation audit compliance.

### (d) Clean Slate

\$3,737,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$190,000 in fiscal year 2025 are for costs associated with automatic expungements and changes to expungements by petition.

### (e) Firearm Eligibility Background Checks

<u>\$70,000 in fiscal year 2024 is to purchase and integrate</u> information technology hardware and software necessary to process additional firearms eligibility background checks.

# (f) Use of Force Investigations

\$4,419,000 each year is for operation of the independent Use of Force Investigations Unit pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 299C.80.

#### (g) Fusion Center Report

<u>\$115,000 each year is to fund the fusion center report mandated</u> under Minnesota Statutes, section 299C.055. The appropriation is added to the agency's base.

#### (h) Human Trafficking Task Force

\$1,000,000 each year is for staff and operating costs to support the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension-led Minnesota Human Trafficking Investigator's Task Force.

# Subd. 5. Fire Marshal

<u>16,397,000</u>

16,656,000

# Appropriations by Fund

General	4,184,000	4,190,000
Special Revenue	12,213,000	12,466,000

The special revenue fund appropriation is from the fire safety account in the special revenue fund and is for activities under Minnesota Statutes, section 299F.012. The base appropriation from this account is \$12,566,000 in fiscal year 2026 and \$12,466,000 in fiscal year 2027.

#### (a) Hazardous Materials and Emergency Response Teams

\$453,000 each year from the fire safety account in the special revenue fund for hazardous materials and emergency response teams.

#### (b) Hometown Heroes Assistance Program

\$4,000,000 each year from the general fund is for grants to the Minnesota Firefighter Initiative to fund the hometown heroes assistance program established in Minnesota Statutes, section 299A.477.

#### Subd. 6.Firefighter Training and Education Board6,175,0006,175,000

#### Appropriations by Fund

<u>Special Revenue</u> <u>6,175,000</u> <u>6,175,000</u>

The special revenue fund appropriation is from the fire safety account in the special revenue fund and is for activities under Minnesota Statutes, section 299F.012.

#### (a) Firefighter Training and Education

\$4,500,000 each year from the special revenue fund is for firefighter training and education.

#### (b) Task Force 1

\$1,125,000 each year is for the Minnesota Task Force 1.

# (c) Task Force 2

\$200,000 each year is for Minnesota Task Force 2.

#### (d) Air Rescue

\$350,000 each year is for the Minnesota Air Rescue Team.

#### (e) Unappropriated Revenue

Any additional unappropriated money collected in fiscal year 2023 is appropriated to the commissioner of public safety for the purposes of Minnesota Statutes, section 299F.012. The commissioner may transfer appropriations and base amounts between activities in this subdivision.

5998	Jou	RNAL OF THE HOUSE		[54th Day
Subd. 7. Alcohol an	nd Gambling Enforceme	<u>nt</u>	<u>3,500,000</u>	<u>3,754,000</u>
Ap	propriations by Fund			
<u>General</u> Special Revenue	<u>3,430,000</u> <u>70,000</u>	<u>3,684,000</u> <u>70,000</u>		
\$70,000 each year is fro in the special revenue fu	om the lawful gambling r Ind.	egulation account		
Subd. 8. Office of J	ustice Programs		86,607,000	81,656,000
<u>Ap</u>	propriations by Fund			
<u>General</u> State Covernment	86,511,000	81,560,000		
State Government Special Revenue	<u>96,000</u>	<u>96,000</u>		
(a) Domestic and Sexua	al Violence Housing			
	to establish a Domestic provide resources for sur-			

to access safe and stable housing and for staff to provide mobile advocacy and expertise in housing resources in their community, and a Minnesota Domestic and Sexual Violence Transitional Housing program to develop and support medium to long term transitional housing for survivors of domestic and sexual violence with supportive services.

# (b) Office for Missing and Murdered Black Women and Girls

\$1,248,000 each year is to establish and maintain the Minnesota Office for Missing and Murdered Black Women and Girls.

# (c) Office of Restorative Practices

\$500,000 each year is to establish and maintain the Office of Restorative Practices.

# (d) Crossover and Dual-Status Youth Model Grants

\$1,000,000 each year is to provide grants to local units of government to initiate or expand crossover youth practices model and dual-status youth programs that provide services for youth who are involved with or at risk of becoming involved with both the child welfare and juvenile justice systems, in accordance with the Robert F. Kennedy National Resource Center for Juvenile Justice model.

## (e) Restorative Practices Initiatives Grants

\$5,000,000 each year is for grants to establish and support restorative practices initiatives pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 260B.020, subdivision 6. The base for this activity is \$2,500,000 beginning in fiscal year 2026.

#### (f) <u>Ramsey County Youth Treatment Homes Acquisition and</u> <u>Betterment</u>

\$5,000,000 in fiscal year 2024 is for a grant to Ramsey County to establish, with input from community stakeholders, including impacted youth and families, up to seven intensive trauma-informed therapeutic treatment homes in Ramsey County that are licensed by the Department of Human Services, culturally specific, community-based, and can be secured. These residential spaces must provide intensive treatment and intentional healing for youth as ordered by the court as part of the disposition of a case in juvenile court.

#### (g) Ramsey County Violence Prevention

\$1,250,000 each year is for a grant to Ramsey County to award grants to develop new and further enhance existing community-based organizational support through violence prevention and community wellness grants. Grantees must use the money to create family support groups and resources to support families during the time a young person is placed out of home following a juvenile delinquency adjudication and support the family through the period of postplacement reentry; create community-based respite options for conflict or crisis de-escalation to prevent incarceration or further systems involvement for families; and establish additional meaningful employment opportunities for systems-involved youth.

#### (h) Youth Intervention Programs

\$7,500,000 each year is for youth intervention programs under Minnesota Statutes, section 299A.73.

#### (i) Community-Co-Responder Grants

\$3,000,000 each year is for grants to local law enforcement agencies and local governments to build or maintain partnerships with mental health professionals, mental health practitioners, peer specialists, or mobile crisis teams in order to respond to people experiencing or having experienced a mental health crisis. The Office of Justice Programs must prioritize grants to law enforcement agencies and local governments that partner with mobile crisis teams providing mobile crisis services pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, sections 245.469 and 256B.0624. Grant proposals should define the types of calls to which mental health professionals, mental health practitioners, peer specialists, or mobile crisis teams will respond; the types of services that will be provided; the training that will be provided; and the types of records that will be kept. The proposal should also address the respective roles of the peace officers and mental health workers, including but not limited to their respective roles in relation to transport holds, and data that will be collected to demonstrate the impact of the partnership. The base for this activity is \$4,500,000 beginning in fiscal year 2026.

#### (j) Prosecutor Training

\$100,000 each year is for a grant to the Minnesota County Attorneys Association to be used for prosecutorial and law enforcement training, including trial school training and train-the-trainer courses. All training funded with grant proceeds must contain blocks of instruction on racial disparities in the criminal justice system, collateral consequences to criminal convictions, and trauma-informed responses to victims. This is a onetime appropriation.

The Minnesota County Attorneys Association must report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over public safety policy and finance on the training provided with grant proceeds, including a description of each training and the number of prosecutors and law enforcement officers who received training. The report is due by February 15, 2025. The report may include trainings scheduled to be completed after the date of submission with an estimate of expected participants.

# (k) Violence Prevention Research Center

\$250,000 each year is to fund a violence prevention project research center that operates as a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization and is a nonpartisan research center dedicated to reducing violence in society and using data and analysis to improve criminal justice-related policy and practice in Minnesota. The research center must place an emphasis on issues related to deaths and injuries involving firearms.

Beginning January 15, 2025, the grant recipient must submit an annual report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over public safety policy and finance on its work and findings. The report must include a description of the data reviewed, an analysis of that data, and recommendations to improve criminal justice-related policy and practice in Minnesota with specific recommendations to address deaths and injuries involving firearms.

# (1) First Responder Mental Health Curriculum

\$25,000 in fiscal year 2024 is for a grant to a nonprofit graduate school that trains mental health professionals. The grantee must use the grant to develop a curriculum for a 24-week certificate to train licensed therapists to understand the nuances, culture, and stressors of the work environments of first responders to allow those therapists to provide effective treatment to first responders in distress. The grantee must collaborate with first responders who are familiar with the psychological, cultural, and professional issues of their field to develop the curriculum and promote it upon completion.

## (m) First Responder Therapy Grant

\$100,000 in fiscal year 2024 is to issue a grant to a nonprofit organization that operates at a class A race track and provides equine experiential mental health therapy to first responders suffering from job-related trauma and post-traumatic stress disorder. This is a onetime appropriation.

For purposes of this section, a "first responder" is a peace officer as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 626.84, subdivision 1, paragraph (c); a full-time firefighter as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 299N.03, subdivision 5; or a volunteer firefighter as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 299N.03, subdivision 7.

The grant recipient must report to the commissioner of public safety and the chairs and ranking minority members of the house of representatives and senate committees overseeing public safety policy and finance on the equine experiential mental health therapy provided to first responders under this section. The report must include an overview of the program's budget, a detailed explanation of program expenditures, the number of first responders served by the program, and a list and explanation of the services provided to and benefits received by program participants. An initial report is due by January 15, 2024, and a final report is due by January 15, 2025.

#### (n) <u>Peer-to-Peer First Responder Mental Health Treatment</u> <u>Grant</u>

\$250,000 in fiscal year 2024 is to provide a grant to a nonprofit that provides and facilitates peer-to-peer mental health treatment for present and former law enforcement officers and first responders facing employment-related mental health issues, utilizing interactive group activity and other methods. This is a onetime appropriation.

# [54th Day

## (o) <u>Report on Approaches to Address Illicit Drug Use in</u> <u>Minnesota</u>

\$118,000 each year is to enter into an agreement with Rise Research LLC for a study and set of reports on illicit drug use in Minnesota describing current responses to that use, reviewing alternative approaches utilized in other jurisdictions, and making policy and funding recommendations for a holistic and effective response to illicit drug use and the illicit drug trade. The agreement must establish a budget and schedule with clear deliverables. This appropriation is onetime.

The study must include a review of current policies, practices, and funding; identification of alternative approaches utilized effectively in other jurisdictions; and policy and funding recommendations for a response to illicit drug use and the illicit drug trade that reduces and, where possible, prevents harm and expands individual and community health, safety, and autonomy. Recommendations must consider impacts on public safety, racial equity, accessibility of health and ancillary supportive social services, and the intersections between drug policy and mental health, housing and homelessness, overdose and infectious disease, child welfare, and employment.

<u>Rise Research may subcontract and coordinate with other</u> organizations or individuals to conduct research, provide analysis, and prepare the reports required by this section.

Rise Research shall submit reports to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over public safety finance and policy, human services finance and policy, health finance and policy, and judiciary finance and policy. Rise Research shall submit an initial report by February 15, 2024, and a final report by March 1, 2025.

# (p) Legal Representation for Children

\$150,000 each year is for a grant to an organization that provides legal representation for children in need of protection or services and children in out-of-home placement. The grant is contingent upon a match in an equal amount from nonstate funds. The match may be in kind, including the value of volunteer attorney time, in cash, or a combination of the two. These appropriations are in addition to any other appropriations for the legal representation of children. This appropriation is onetime.

# (q) <u>Mental Health Services for First Responders Grant</u> <u>Program</u>

\$1,000,000 each year is for grants to fund mental health services for first responders under section 23.

## (r) Pretrial Release Study and Report

\$250,000 each year are for a grant to the Minnesota Justice Research Center to study and report on pretrial release practices in Minnesota and other jurisdictions, including but not limited to the use of bail as a condition of pretrial release. This appropriation is onetime.

#### (s) Costs of Medical Examinations

\$3,967,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$3,767,000 in fiscal year 2025 are to reimburse qualified health care providers for the expenses associated with medical examinations administered to victims of criminal sexual conduct as required under Minnesota Statutes, section 609.35. The base for this program is \$3,771,000 in fiscal year 2026 and \$3,776,000 in fiscal year 2027.

#### (t) Firearm Storage Grants

\$250,000 in fiscal year 2024 is for grants to local or state law enforcement agencies to support the safe and secure storage of firearms owned by persons subject to extreme risk protection orders. The commissioner must apply for a grant from the Byrne State Crisis Intervention Program to supplement the funds appropriated by the legislature for implementation of Minnesota Statutes, sections 624.7171 to 624.7178 and 626.8481. Of the federal funds received, the commissioner must dedicate at least an amount that is equal to this appropriation to fund safe and secure firearms storage grants provided for under this paragraph. This is onetime appropriation.

#### (u) Increased Staffing

\$667,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$1,334,000 in fiscal year 2025 are to increase staffing in the Office of Justice Programs for grant monitoring and compliance; provide training and technical assistance to grantees and potential grantees; conduct community outreach and engagement to improve the experiences and outcomes of applicants, grant recipients, and crime victims throughout Minnesota; expand the Minnesota Statistical Analysis Center; and increase staffing for the crime victim reimbursement program.

#### (v) Administration Costs

Up to 2.5 percent of the grant funds appropriated in this subdivision may be used by the commissioner to administer the grant program.

JOURNAL OF THE HOUSE

76,329,000

[54TH DAY

69,597,000

### Subd. 9. Emergency Communication Networks

# Appropriations by Fund

General	1,000,000	<u>1,000,000</u>
<u>911 Fund</u>	75,329,000	<u>68,597,000</u>

# (a) Public Safety Answering Points

<u>\$28,011,000 the first year and \$28,011,000 the second year shall</u> be distributed as provided under Minnesota Statutes, section 403.113, subdivision 2.

### (b) Transition to Next Generation 911

\$7,000,000 in the first year is to support Public Safety Answering Points' transition to Next Generation 911. Funds may be used for planning, cybersecurity, GIS data collection and maintenance, 911 call processing equipment, and new Public Safety Answering Point technology to improve service delivery. Funds shall be distributed by October 1, 2023, as provided in Minnesota Statutes, section 403.113, subdivision 2. Funds are available until June 30, 2025, and any unspent funds must be returned to the 911 emergency telecommunications service account. This is a onetime appropriation.

Each eligible entity receiving these funds must provide a detailed report on how the funds were used to the commissioner of public safety by August 1, 2025.

# (c) ARMER State Backbone Operating Costs

<u>\$10,116,000 the first year and \$10,384,000 the second year are transferred to the commissioner of transportation for costs of maintaining and operating the statewide radio system backbone.</u>

#### (d) Statewide Emergency Communications Board

\$1,000,000 each year is to the Statewide Emergency Communications Board. Funds may be used for operating costs, to provide competitive grants to local units of government to fund enhancements to a communication system, technology, or support activity that directly provides the ability to deliver the 911 call between the entry point to the 911 system and the first responder, and to further the strategic goals set forth by the SECB Statewide Communication Interoperability Plan.

#### (e) <u>Statewide Public Safety Radio Communication System</u> <u>Equipment Grants</u>

\$1,000,000 each year from the general fund is for grants to local units of government, federally recognized Tribal entities, and state agencies participating in the statewide Allied Radio Matrix for Emergency Response (ARMER) public safety radio communication system established under Minnesota Statutes, section 403.36, subdivision 1e. The grants must be used to purchase or upgrade portable radios, mobile radios, and related equipment that is interoperable with the ARMER system. Each local government unit may receive only one grant. The grant is contingent upon a match of at least five percent from nonstate funds. The director of the Department of Public Safety Emergency Communication Networks division, in consultation with the Statewide Emergency Communications Board, must administer the grant program. This appropriation is available until June 30, 2026. This is a onetime appropriation.

#### Sec. 4. <u>PEACE OFFICER STANDARDS AND</u> <u>TRAINING (POST) BOARD</u>

Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation	<u>\$13,286,000</u>	<u>\$12,892,000</u>
The general fund base is \$6,892,000 beginning in fiscal year 2026. The amounts that may be spent for each purpose are specified in the following subdivisions.		
Subd. 2. Peace Officer Training Reimbursements		
\$2,949,000 each year is for reimbursements to local governments for peace officer training costs.		
Sec. 5. PRIVATE DETECTIVE BOARD	<u>\$758,000</u>	<u>\$688,000</u>
Sec. 6. CORRECTIONS		
Subdivision 1.Total Appropriation\$12,643,000	<u>\$621,145,000</u>	<u>\$658,001,000</u>
The amounts that may be spent for each purpose are specified in the following subdivisions.		
Subd. 2.Incarceration andPrerelease Services\$12,643,000	<u>\$525,399,000</u>	<u>\$557,683,000</u>
(a) <b>Body-worn Camera Program</b>		
\$1,000,000 each year is to create a body-worn camera program for corrections officers and intensive supervised release agents.		
(b) Prison Rape Elimination Act		

\$1,000,000 each year is for Prison Rape Elimination Act (PREA) compliance.

# (c) ARMER Radio System

\$1,500,000 each year is to upgrade and maintain the ARMER radio system within correctional facilities.

# (d) Special Investigations Office

\$999,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$1,865,000 in fiscal year 2025 are to establish and maintain a special investigations office within the fugitive apprehension unit. The base for this purpose in fiscal year 2026 is \$1,461,000. Beginning in fiscal year 2027, the base for this purpose is \$1,462,000.

# (e) Health Services

\$1,072,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$2,542,000 in fiscal year 2025 are for the health services division to provide 24-hour nursing capacity at correctional facilities in Rush City, Moose Lake, St. Cloud, Lino Lakes, and Stillwater.

#### (f) Educational Programming and Support Services

\$2,320,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$3,145,000 in fiscal year 2025 are for educational programming and support services. Beginning in fiscal year 2026, the base for this purpose is \$2,901,000.

# (g) Inmate External Communication Fees

\$2,000,000 each year is to reduce or eliminate the fees for inmates to communicate with nonincarcerated persons.

# (h) Supportive Arts for Incarcerated Persons

\$150,000 in fiscal year 2024 is for supportive arts for incarcerated persons grants. Of this amount, up to ten percent is for administration, including facility space, access, liaison, and monitoring. Any unencumbered balance remaining at the end of the first year does not cancel but is available for the second year.

# (i) **Operating Deficiency**

\$12,643,000 in fiscal year 2023 is to meet financial obligations in fiscal year 2023. This is a onetime appropriation.

# (j) Incarceration and Prerelease Services Base Budget

The general fund base for Department of Corrections incarceration and prerelease services is \$552,315,000 in fiscal year 2026 and \$552,645,000 in fiscal year 2027.

6007

# Subd. 3. Community Supervision and Postrelease Services 48,332,000 49,417,000

### (a) **Tribal Nation Supervision**

\$2,750,000 each year is for grants to Tribal Nations to provide supervision in tandem with the department.

# (b) Alternatives to Incarceration

\$160,000 each year is for funding to Mower County to facilitate access to community treatment options under the alternatives to incarceration program.

#### (c) Peer Support Project

\$266,000 each year is to create a reentry peer support project.

### (d) Postrelease Sex Offender Program

\$2,415,000 each year is for postrelease sex offender treatment.

### (e) Regional and County Jails Study and Report

\$150,000 in fiscal year 2024 is to fund the commissioner's study and report on the consolidation or merger of county jails and alternatives to incarceration for persons experiencing mental health disorders.

#### (f) Work Release Programs

\$500,000 each year is for work release programs.

#### (g) County Discharge Plans

\$860,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$861,000 in fiscal year 2025 are for counties to establish or maintain jail reentry coordination programs. The commissioner shall develop a request for proposal for counties to establish or maintain reentry programs. The commissioner must disburse 50 percent of the funding to counties outside the metropolitan area, as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 473.121, subdivision 2. The commissioner may retain up to five percent of the appropriation amount to monitor and administer the grant under this section. Beginning in fiscal year 2026, the base for this purpose is \$989,000.

# (h) Housing Initiatives

\$2,130,000 each year is for housing initiatives to support stable housing of incarcerated individuals upon release. The base for this purpose in fiscal year 2026 and beyond is \$1,685,000. Of this amount: (1) \$1,000,000 each year is for housing stabilization prerelease services and program evaluation. The base for this purpose in fiscal year 2026 and beyond is \$760,000;

(2) \$500,000 each year is for rental assistance for incarcerated individuals approaching release, on supervised release, or on probation who are at risk of homelessness;

(3) \$405,000 each year is for culturally responsive trauma-informed transitional housing. The base for this purpose in fiscal year 2026 and beyond is \$200,000; and

(4) \$225,000 each year is for housing coordination activities.

# (i) Redemption Project

\$150,000 each year is for a grant to The Redemption Project to provide inmates with curriculum and corporate mentors while incarcerated and meaningful employment upon release from a correctional facility. This is a onetime appropriation.

### (j) <u>Community Supervision and Postrelease Services Base</u> <u>Budget</u>

The general fund base for Department of Corrections community supervision and postrelease services is \$48,371,000 in fiscal year 2026 and \$48,271,000 in fiscal year 2027.

# <u>Subd. 4.</u> Organizational, Regulatory, and Administrative Services

47,414,000

50,901,000

# (a) Public Safety Data Infrastructure

\$1,000,000 each year s for the development and management of statewide public safety information sharing infrastructure and foundation technologies. The department shall consult with county correctional supervision providers, the Judicial Branch, the Minnesota Sheriff's Association, the Minnesota Chiefs of Police Association, and the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension, among other public safety stakeholders, in the development, design, and implementation of a statewide public safety information sharing infrastructure.

#### (b) Indeterminate Sentence Release Board

\$40,000 each year is to establish an indeterminate sentence release board to review eligible cases and make release decisions for persons serving indeterminate sentences under the authority of the commissioner of corrections.

# (c) Clemency Review Commission

\$986,000 each year is for the Clemency Review Commission established under Minnesota Statutes, section 638.09.

# (d) Organizational, Regulatory, and Administrative Services Base Budget

The general fund base for Department of Corrections organizational, regulatory, and administrative services is \$50,831,000 in fiscal year 2026 and \$50,622,000 in fiscal year 2027.

Sec. 7. OMBUDSPERSON FOR CORRECTIONS	<u>\$1,105,000</u>	<u>\$1,099,000</u>
Sec. 8. BOARD OF PUBLIC DEFENSE	<u>\$750,000</u>	<u>\$-0-</u>
<u>\$750,000 in fiscal year 2024 is for costs related to assisting offenders convicted of felony murder with petitions for resentencing.</u>		
Sec. 9. BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE MINNESOTA STATE COLLEGES AND UNIVERSITIES	<u>\$500,000</u>	<u>\$500,000</u>
\$500,000 each year is for transfer to Metropolitan State University. Of this amount, \$280,000 each year is to provide juvenile justice services and resources, including the Juvenile Detention Alternatives Initiative, to Minnesota counties and federally recognized Tribes and \$220,000 each year is for funding to local units of government, federally recognized Tribes, and agencies to support local Juvenile Detention Alternatives Initiatives, including but not limited to Alternatives to Detention. The unencumbered balance in the first year of the biennium does not cancel but is available throughout the biennium.		
Sec. 10. OFFICE OF HIGHER EDUCATION	<u>\$2,500,000</u>	<u>\$-0-</u>
\$2,500,000 in fiscal year 2024 is to provide reimbursement grants to postsecondary schools certified to provide programs of professional peace officer education for providing in-service training programs on the use of force, including deadly force, by peace officers. Of this amount, up to 2.5 percent is for administration and monitoring of the program.		
Sec. 11. SUPREME COURT	<u>\$91,000</u>	<u>\$182,000</u>
\$91,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$182,000 in fiscal year 2025 are for hearing costs related to extreme risk protection orders.		
Sec. 12. DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES	<u>\$73,000</u>	<u>\$9,000</u>
\$73,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$9,000 in fiscal year 2025 are to provide naloxone and training in the use of naloxone to		

conservation officers.

Sec. 13. Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 11, article 1, section 15, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

#### Subd. 3. Peace Officer Training Assistance

**Philando Castile Memorial Training Fund** \$6,000,000 each year is to support and strengthen law enforcement training and implement best practices. This funding shall be named the "Philando Castile Memorial Training Fund." <u>These funds may</u> only be used to reimburse costs related to training courses that qualify for reimbursement under Minnesota Statutes, sections 626.8452 (use of force), 626.8469 (training in crisis response, conflict management, and cultural diversity), and 626.8474 (autism training).

Each sponsor of a training course is required to include the following in the sponsor's application for approval submitted to the board: course goals and objectives; a course outline including at a minimum a timeline and teaching hours for all courses; instructor qualifications, including skills and concepts such as crisis intervention, de escalation, and cultural competency that are relevant to the course provided; and a plan for learning assessments of the course and documenting the assessments to the board during review. Upon completion of each course, instructors must submit student evaluations of the instructor's teaching to the sponsor.

The board shall keep records of the applications of all approved and denied courses. All continuing education courses shall be reviewed after the first year. The board must set a timetable for recurring review after the first year. For each review, the sponsor must submit its learning assessments to the board to show that the course is teaching the learning outcomes that were approved by the board.

A list of licensees who successfully complete the course shall be maintained by the sponsor and transmitted to the board following the presentation of the course and the completed student evaluations of the instructors. Evaluations are available to chief law enforcement officers. The board shall establish a data retention schedule for the information collected in this section.

Each year, if funds are available after reimbursing all eligible requests for courses approved by the board under this subdivision, the board may use the funds to reimburse law enforcement agencies for other board-approved law enforcement training courses. The base for this activity is \$0 in fiscal year 2026 and thereafter.

\$75,000,000 in fiscal year 2024 is transferred from the general fund to the violent crime reduction and clearance support account in the special revenue fund.

#### Sec. 15. COMMUNITY CRIME AND VIOLENCE PREVENTION ACCOUNT.

\$100,000,000 in fiscal year 2024 is transferred from the general fund to the community crime and violence prevention account in the special revenue fund.

# Sec. 16. INTENSIVE COMPREHENSIVE PEACE OFFICER EDUCATION AND TRAINING ACCOUNT.

\$5,000,000 each year is transferred from the general fund to the intensive comprehensive peace officer education and training account in the special revenue fund. This transfer is onetime.

# Sec. 17. GAAGIGE-MIKWENDAAGOZIWAG REWARD ACCOUNT.

\$250,000 in fiscal year 2024 is transferred from the general fund to the account for rewards for information on missing and murdered Indigenous women, girls, boys, and Two-Spirit relatives in the special revenue fund.

#### Sec. 18. COMMUNITY SUPERVISION TARGETED INNOVATION ACCOUNT; TRANSFER.

\$5,000,000 in fiscal year 2024 and each year thereafter is transferred from the general fund to the community supervision targeted innovation account in the special revenue fund.

#### Sec. 19. ACCOUNT ESTABLISHED; TRANSFER; APPROPRIATION.

(a) A community supervision account is established as a special revenue account in the state treasury.

(b) \$142,975,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$142,971,000 in fiscal year 2025 and each year thereafter are transferred from the general fund to the community supervision account in the special revenue fund and appropriated to the commissioner of corrections for offender community supervision. This appropriation is added to the base.

# Sec. 20. <u>COMMUNITY SUPERVISION TARGETED INNOVATION GRANTS; SPECIAL REVENUE</u> <u>ACCOUNT; APPROPRIATION.</u>

(a) The community supervision targeted innovation account is created in the special revenue fund consisting of money deposited, donated, allotted, transferred, or otherwise provided to the account. Of the amount in the account, up to \$5,000,000 each year is appropriated to the commissioner of corrections for grants to be awarded to local and Tribal community supervision agencies and nonprofits that provide services to persons on community supervision.

(b) The commissioner shall award grants to applicants that operate, or intend to operate, innovative programs that target specific aspects of community supervision such as:

(1) access to community options, including but not limited to inpatient substance use disorder treatment for nonviolent controlled substance offenders to address and correct behavior that is, or is likely to result in, a technical violation of the conditions of release;

(2) reentry services;

(3) restorative justice;

(4) juvenile diversion;

(5) family-centered approaches to supervision; and

(6) funding the cost of mandated services and equipment as a means to improve compliance rates for persons on community supervision.

(c) Grant recipients must provide an annual report to the commissioner that includes:

(1) the services provided by the grant recipient;

(2) the number of individuals served in the previous year;

(3) measurable outcomes of the recipient's program; and

(4) any other information required by the commissioner.

(d) By January 15, 2025, the commissioner shall report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over criminal justice policy and finance on how the appropriations in this section were used. The report must detail the impact the appropriations had on improving community supervision practices and outcomes.

(e) The commissioner may use up to 2.5 percent of the annual appropriation to administer the grants.

# Sec. 21. <u>VIOLENT CRIME REDUCTION AND CLEARANCE SUPPORT; SPECIAL REVENUE</u> <u>ACCOUNT; APPROPRIATION.</u>

(a) The violent crime reduction and clearance support account is created in the special revenue fund consisting of money deposited, donated, allotted, transferred, or otherwise provided to the account. Of the amount in the account, \$15,000,000 each year is appropriated to the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension to support violent crime reduction strategies. This includes funding for staff and supplies to enhance forensic, analytical, and investigations capacity, and financially support investigative partnerships with other law enforcement agencies to conduct forensic and investigatory work to expedite clearance rates.

(b) Funds allocated shall be used where there is the most acute need for supplemental resources based on the rate of violent crime and the need to improve clearance rates for violent crime investigations. The superintendent of the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension shall prioritize allocating resources to political subdivisions that have recorded at least three violent crimes in the previous fiscal year and that rank in the 20 highest per capita crime rates among Minnesota political subdivisions in the previous fiscal year based on the Uniform Crime Reports or National Incident Based Reporting System. As a condition of receiving investigatory assistance from the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension from this account, the local unit of government must enter a joint powers agreement with the commissioner of Public Safety and the superintendent of the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension.

(c) By December 15 of each calendar year, the commissioner shall report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees and divisions with jurisdiction over public safety finance and policy on how funds in the violent crime reduction and clearance support account were used. Each report must, at a minimum, summarize the expenditures made, indicate the purpose of those expenditures, and provide an overview of the criminal cases where funds from the account were used, including a summary of the cases that identifies each case's disposition or outcome.

(a) The community crime and violence prevention account is created in the special revenue fund consisting of money deposited, donated, allotted, transferred, or otherwise provided to the account. Of the amount in the account, up to \$30,000,000 each year is appropriated to the commissioner of public safety for grants administered by the Office of Justice Programs to be awarded to community violence prevention and intervention programs.

(b) Grants may be awarded to community-based nonprofit organizations, local governments, or the governing bodies of federally recognized Indian Tribes. Applicants that are nonprofit organizations must demonstrate the support of the local government or Indian Tribe where the nonprofit will be offering services. Support may be demonstrated by partnerships with the local government or Indian Tribe, or letters or other affirmations of support.

(c) Grant recipients must operate crime or violence prevention programs with an established record of providing direct services to community members. Programs must be culturally competent and identify specific outcomes that can be tracked and measured to demonstrate the impact the program has on community crime and violence. Crime or violence prevention programs may include but are not limited to:

(1) programs that provide services to victims of crime or violence;

(2) programs that provide services to individuals and families harmed by gun violence;

(3) programs that provide support services for victims of crimes where there is a reasonable belief that the crimes were committed in whole or in substantial part because of the victim's or another's actual or perceived race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, age, national origin, or disability as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 363A.03, or because of the victim's actual or perceived association with another person or group of a certain actual or perceived race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, gender, sexual orientation, age, national origin, or disability as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 363A.03;

(4) homelessness assistance programs;

(5) programs that intervene in volatile situations to mediate disputes before they become violent;

(6) juvenile diversion programs; and

(7) programs that support a community response to violence that addresses trauma in the community and promotes community leadership development and coalition building.

(d) As part of the narrative and statistical progress reports provided to the Office of Justice Programs, grant recipients must report on the specific outcomes identified pursuant to paragraph (c).

(e) The Office of Justice Programs may use up to 2.5 percent of the annual appropriation to administer the grants.

#### Sec. 23. PRETRIAL RELEASE STUDY AND REPORT.

(a) Pursuant to the terms of a grant, the Minnesota Justice Research Center shall study and report on pretrial release practices in Minnesota and other jurisdictions.

(b) The Minnesota Justice Research Center shall examine pretrial release practices in Minnesota and community perspectives about those practices; conduct a robust study of pretrial release practices in other jurisdictions to identify effective approaches to pretrial release that use identified best practices; provide analysis and

recommendations describing if, and how, practices in other jurisdictions could be adopted and implemented in Minnesota, including but not limited to analysis addressing how changes would impact public safety, appearance rates, treatment of defendants with different financial means, disparities in pretrial detention, and community perspectives about pretrial release; and make recommendations for policy changes for consideration by the legislature.

(c) By February 15, 2024, the Minnesota Justice Research Center must provide a preliminary report to the legislative committees and divisions with jurisdiction over public safety finance and policy including a summary of the preliminary findings, any legislative proposals to improve the ability of the Minnesota Justice Research Center to complete its work, and any proposals for legislative committees and divisions with jurisdiction over public safety finance and policy including a summary of Center shall submit a final report to the legislative committees and divisions with jurisdiction over public safety finance and policy by February 15, 2025. The final report shall include a description of the Minnesota Justice Research Center's work, findings, and any legislative proposals.

# Sec. 24. MENTAL HEALTH SERVICES FOR FIRST RESPONDERS GRANT PROGRAM.

Subdivision 1. Establishment. The commissioner of public safety through the Office of Justice Programs shall establish and administer a grant program to fund mental health services to first responders employed by local units of government.

Subd. 2. Eligibility. Each local unit of government that employs peace officers or firefighters may apply for a grant.

<u>Subd. 3.</u> <u>Qualifying programs.</u> To qualify for a grant, an applicant must present a viable plan to the commissioner to offer a program that ensures at least one hour of mental health services every six months for any peace officers and firefighters employed by the applicant.

Subd. 4. Selection; grant cap. The commissioner may award grants up to \$150,000. Grant amounts must be based on the total number of peace officers and firefighters employed by the applicant.

<u>Subd. 5.</u> <u>**Reports.**</u> (a) Each grant recipient must submit a report to the commissioner by June 30 of each year that identifies the services provided, total number of employees served, total number of hours of services provided, and expenditures of grant money. The report must also include an evaluation of the program's impact.

(b) By September 1 of each year, the commissioner shall report aggregate data received from grant recipients under paragraph (a) to the chairs and ranking minority members of the senate and house of representatives committees with jurisdiction over public safety policy and finance.

Subd. 6. Definitions. For the purposes of this section, the following terms have the meanings given:

(1) "firefighter" means a firefighter employed full-time by a fire department and licensed by the Board of Firefighter Training and Education;

(2) "local unit of government" means a statutory or home rule charter city that employs its own law enforcement agency, or a county; and

(3) "peace officer" means a full-time peace officer employed by a local unit of government's law enforcement agency and licensed by the Minnesota Board of Peace Officer Standards and Training.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2023, and applies to services administered on or after that date.

6014

#### Sec. 25. LAW ENFORCEMENT MENTAL HEALTH AND WELLNESS TRAINING GRANT.

(a) The commissioner of public safety must award a grant to the Adler Graduate School to develop and implement a law enforcement mental health and wellness training program to train licensed counselors to understand the nuances, culture, and stressors of the law enforcement profession so that the trainees can provide effective and successful treatment to peace officers in distress. The grantee must request and incorporate the advice and counsel of law enforcement officers and mental health professionals who are familiar with the psychological, cultural, and professional issues of law enforcement to develop and implement the program.

(b) The grantee may offer the program online.

(c) The grantee must seek to recruit licensed counselors providing services outside of the 11-county metropolitan area as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 115A.1314, subdivision 2, paragraph (b).

(d) The grantee must create a resource directory to provide law enforcement agencies with the names of counselors who have completed the program and other resources to support law enforcement professionals with overall wellness. The grantee must collaborate with the commissioner of public safety and law enforcement organizations to promote the directory.

#### Sec. 26. USE OF FORCE TRAINING; REIMBURSEMENT.

(a) The commissioner of the Office of Higher Education shall issue reimbursement grants to postsecondary schools certified to provide programs of professional peace officer education for providing in-service training programs on the use of force, including deadly force, by peace officers.

(b) To be eligible for reimbursement, training offered by a postsecondary school must:

(1) satisfy the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, section 626.8452, and be approved by the Board of Peace Officer Standards and Training;

(2) utilize scenario-based training that simulates real-world situations and involves the use of real firearms that fire nonlethal ammunition;

(3) include a block of instruction on the physical and psychological effects of stress before, during, and after a high-risk or traumatic incident and the cumulative impact of stress on the health of officers:

(4) include blocks of instruction on de-escalation methods and tactics, bias motivation, unknown risk training, defensive tactics, and force-on-force training; and

(5) be offered to peace officers at no charge to the peace officer or law enforcement agency.

(c) A postsecondary school that offers training consistent with the requirements of paragraph (b) may apply for reimbursement for the costs of offering the training. Reimbursement shall be made at a rate of \$450 for each officer who completes the training. The postsecondary school must submit the name and peace officer license number of the peace officer who received the training to the Office of Higher Education.

(d) As used in this section:

(1) "law enforcement agency" has the meaning given in Minnesota Statutes, section 626.84, subdivision 1, paragraph (f); and

(2) "peace officer" has the meaning given in Minnesota Statutes, section 626.84, subdivision 1, paragraph (c).

#### Sec. 27. SUPPORTIVE ARTS GRANT PROGRAM.

(a) The commissioner of corrections shall establish a supportive arts grant program to award grants to nonprofit organizations to provide supportive arts programs to incarcerated persons and persons on supervised release. The supportive arts programs must use the arts, including but not limited to visual art, poetry, literature, theater, dance, and music, to address the supportive, therapeutic, and rehabilitative needs of incarcerated persons and persons on supervised release and promote a safer correctional facility environment and community environment. The commissioner may not require the participation of incarcerated persons and persons on supervised release in a supportive arts program provided in a correctional facility or community under a grant.

(b) Applicants for grants under this section must submit an application in the form and manner established by the commissioner. The applicants must specify the arts program to be offered and describe how the program is supportive, therapeutic, and rehabilitative for incarcerated persons and persons on supervised release and the use of the grant funds.

(c) Organizations are not required to apply for or receive grant funds under this section in order to be eligible to provide supportive arts programming inside the facilities.

(d) By March 1 of each year, the commissioner shall report to the chairs and ranking members of the legislative committees and divisions having jurisdiction over criminal justice finance and policy on the implementation, use, and administration of the grant program established under this section. At a minimum, the report must provide:

(1) the names of the organizations receiving grants;

(2) the total number of individuals served by all grant recipients, disaggregated by race, ethnicity, and gender;

(3) the names of the correctional facilities and communities where incarcerated persons and persons on supervised release are participating in supportive arts programs offered under this section;

(4) the total amount of money awarded in grants and the total amount remaining to be awarded, if any;

(5) the amount of money granted to each recipient;

(6) a description of the program, mission, goals, and objectives by the organization using the money; and

(7) a description of and measures of success, either qualitative or quantitative.

# Sec. 28. APPROPRIATIONS GIVEN EFFECT ONCE.

If an appropriation or transfer in this article is enacted more than once during the 2023 regular session, the appropriation or transfer must be given effect once.

### ARTICLE 3 JUDICIARY POLICY WITH FISCAL COST

# Section 1. [260C.419] STATEWIDE OFFICE OF APPELLATE COUNSEL AND TRAINING.

Subdivision 1. **Definitions.** (a) As used in this section, the following terms have the meanings given.

(b) "Board" means the State Board of Appellate Counsel and Training.

6016

#### FRIDAY, APRIL 21, 2023

(c) "Juvenile protection matter" means any of the following:

(1) child in need of protection or services matters as defined in section 260C.007, subdivision 6, including habitual truant and runaway matters;

(2) neglected and in foster care matters as defined in section 260C.007, subdivision 24;

(3) review of voluntary foster care matters as defined in section 260C.141, subdivision 2;

(4) review of out-of-home placement matters as defined in section 260C.212;

(5) termination of parental rights matters as defined in sections 260C.301 to 260C.328; and

(6) permanent placement matters as defined in sections 260C.503 to 260C.521, including matters involving termination of parental rights, guardianship to the commissioner of human services, transfer of permanent legal and physical custody to a relative, permanent custody to the agency, temporary legal custody to the agency, and matters involving voluntary placement pursuant to section 260D.07.

(d) "Office" means the Statewide Office of Appellate Counsel and Training.

<u>Subd. 2.</u> <u>Statewide Office of Appellate Counsel and Training; establishment.</u> (a) The Statewide Office of Appellate Counsel and Training is established as an independent state office. The office shall be responsible for:

(1) establishing and maintaining a system for providing appellate representation to parents in juvenile protection matters, as provided in section 260C.163, subdivision 3, paragraph (c), and in Tribal court jurisdictions;

(2) providing training to all parent attorneys practicing in the state on topics relevant to their practice and establishing practice standards and training requirements for parent attorneys practicing in the state; and

(3) collaborating with the Minnesota Department of Human Services to coordinate and secure federal Title IV-E support for counties and Tribes interested in accessing federal funding.

(b) The office shall be governed by a board as provided in subdivision 3.

<u>Subd. 3.</u> <u>State Board of Appellate Counsel and Training; structure; membership.</u> (a) The State Board of Appellate Counsel and Training is established to direct the Statewide Office of Appellate Counsel and Training. The board shall consist of seven members, including:

(1) four public members appointed by the governor; and

(2) three members appointed by the supreme court, at least one of whom must have experience representing parents in juvenile court and who include two attorneys admitted to practice law in the state and one public member.

(b) The appointing authorities may not appoint any of the following to be a member of the board:

(1) a person who is a judge;

(2) a person who is a registered lobbyist;

(3) a person serving as a guardian ad litem or counsel for a guardian ad litem;

#### (4) a person who serves as counsel for children in juvenile court;

(5) a person under contract with or employed by the Department of Human Services or a county department of human or social services; or

#### (6) a current city or county attorney or assistant city or county attorney.

(c) All members shall demonstrate an interest in maintaining a high quality, independent appellate defense system for parents in juvenile protection proceedings who are unable to obtain adequate representation, a robust program for parent attorneys in Minnesota, and an efficient coordination effort, in collaboration with the Department of Human Services, to secure and utilize Title IV-E funding. At least one member of the board appointed by the governor must be a representative from a federally recognized Indian Tribe. No more than five members of the board may belong to the same political party. At least three members of the board shall be from judicial districts other than the First, Second, Fourth, and Tenth Judicial Districts. To the extent practicable, the membership of the board must include persons with disabilities, reflect the ethnic diversity of the state, take into consideration race and gender, and include persons from throughout the state. The members shall be well acquainted with representing parent attorney's work, including chapter 260C, the Rules of Juvenile Protection Procedure, the Rules of Civil Appellate Procedure, the Indian Child Welfare Act, and the Minnesota Indian Family Preservation Act. The terms, compensation, and removal of members shall be as provided in section 15.0575. The members shall elect a chair from among the membership and the chair shall serve a term of two years.

Subd. 4. Head appellate counsel for parents; assistant and contracted attorneys; other employees. (a) Beginning January 1, 2024, and for every four years after that date, the board shall appoint a head appellate counsel in charge of executing the responsibilities of the office who shall provide for sufficient appellate counsel for parents and other personnel necessary to discharge the functions of the office. The head appellate counsel shall serve a four-year term and may be removed only for cause upon the order of the board. The head appellate counsel shall be a full-time qualified attorney, licensed to practice law in this state, and serve in the unclassified service of the state. Vacancies of the office shall be filled by the appointing authority for the unexpired term. The head appellate counsel shall devote full time to the performance of duties and shall not engage in the general practice of law. The compensation of the head appellate counsel shall be set by the board and shall be commensurate with county attorneys in the state.

(b) Consistent with the decisions of the board, the head appellate counsel shall employ assistants or hire independent contractors to serve as appellate counsel for parents. Each assistant appellate counsel and independent contractor serves at the pleasure of the head appellate counsel. The compensation of assistant appellate counsel and independent contractors shall be set by the board and shall be commensurate with county attorneys in the state.

(c) A person serving as appellate counsel shall be a qualified attorney licensed to practice law in this state. A person serving as appellate counsel practicing in Tribal court shall be a licensed attorney qualified to practice law in Tribal courts in the state. Assistant appellate counsel and contracted appellate counsel may engage in the general practice of law where not employed or contracted to provide services on a full-time basis.

(d) The head appellate counsel shall, consistent with the responsibilities under subdivision 2, employ or hire the following:

(1) one managing appellate attorney;

(2) two staff attorneys;

(3) one director of training;

(4) one program administrator to support Title IV-E reimbursement in collaboration with the Department of Human Services; and

(5) one office administrator.

(e) Each employee identified in paragraph (d) serves at the pleasure of the head appellate counsel. The compensation of each employee shall be set by the board and shall be commensurate with county attorneys in the state.

(f) Any person serving as managing appellate attorney, staff attorney, and director of training shall be a qualified attorney licensed to practice law in the state.

(g) A person serving as the program administrator and office administrator must be chosen solely on the basis of training, experience, and qualifications.

Subd. 5. Duties and responsibilities. (a) The board shall work cooperatively with the head appellate counsel to govern the office and provide fiscal oversight.

(b) The board shall approve and recommend to the legislature a budget for the board, the office, and any programs operated by that office.

(c) The board shall establish procedures for distribution of funding under this section to the office and any programs operated by that office.

(d) The head appellate counsel with the approval of the board shall establish appellate program standards, administrative policies, procedures, and rules consistent with statute, rules of court, and laws that affect appellate counsel's work. The standards must include but are not limited to:

(1) standards needed to maintain and operate an appellate counsel for parents program, including requirements regarding the qualifications, training, and size of the legal and supporting staff for an appellate counsel program;

(2) standards for appellate counsel caseloads;

(3) standards and procedures for the eligibility of appointment, assessment, and collection of the costs for legal representation provided by appellate counsel;

(4) standards for contracts between contracted appellate counsel and the state appellate counsel program for the legal representation of indigent persons;

(5) standards prescribing minimum qualifications of counsel appointed under the board's authority or by the courts; and

(6) standards ensuring the independent, competent, and efficient representation of clients whose cases present conflicts of interest.

(e) The head appellate counsel, with approval of the board, shall establish training program standards and processes and procedures necessary to carry out the office's responsibilities for statewide training of parent attorneys, including but not limited to establishing uniform practice standards and training requirements for all parent attorneys practicing in the state.

(f) The head appellate counsel and the program administrator with approval of the board shall establish processes and procedures for collaborating with the Department of Human Services to secure and utilize Title IV-E funds and communicating with counties and Tribes and any other processes and procedures necessary to carry out the office's responsibilities.

(g) The board may:

(1) propose statutory changes to the legislature and rule changes to the supreme court that are in the best interests of the operation of the appellate counsel for parents program; and

(2) require the reporting of statistical data, budget information, and other cost factors by the appellate counsel for parents program.

Subd. 6. <u>Limitation.</u> In no event shall the board or its members interfere with the discretion, judgment, or zealous advocacy of counsel in their handling of individual cases as a part of the judicial branch of government.

Subd. 7. Budget; county and Tribe use. The establishment of the office and its employees and support staff and the board shall be funded by the state of Minnesota. Minnesota counties and Tribes may utilize this office to provide appellate representation to indigent parents in their jurisdiction who are seeking an appeal and for assistance in securing Title IV-E funding through collaboration with the Department of Human Services.

Subd. 8. Collection of costs; appropriation. If any of the costs provided by appellate counsel are assessed and collected or otherwise reimbursed from any source, the State Board of Appellate Counsel and Training shall deposit payments in a separate account established in the special revenue fund. The amount credited to this account is appropriated to the State Board of Appellate Counsel and Training. The balance of this account does not cancel but is available until expended.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 357.021, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Fee amounts. The fees to be charged and collected by the court administrator shall be as follows:

(1) In every civil action or proceeding in said court, including any case arising under the tax laws of the state that could be transferred or appealed to the Tax Court, the plaintiff, petitioner, or other moving party shall pay, when the first paper is filed for that party in said action, a fee of \$285, except in marriage dissolution actions the fee is \$315.

The defendant or other adverse or intervening party, or any one or more of several defendants or other adverse or intervening parties appearing separately from the others, shall pay, when the first paper is filed for that party in said action, a fee of \$285, except in marriage dissolution actions the fee is \$315. This subdivision does not apply to the filing of an Application for Discharge of Judgment. Section 548.181 applies to an Application for Discharge of Judgment.

The party requesting a trial by jury shall pay \$100.

The fees above stated shall be the full trial fee chargeable to said parties irrespective of whether trial be to the court alone, to the court and jury, or disposed of without trial, and shall include the entry of judgment in the action, but does not include copies or certified copies of any papers so filed or proceedings under chapter 103E, except the provisions therein as to appeals.

(2) Certified copy of any instrument from a civil or criminal proceeding, \$14, and \$8 for an uncertified copy.

(3) Issuing a subpoena, \$16 for each name.

(4) Filing a motion or response to a motion in civil, family, excluding child support, and guardianship cases, \$75.

(5) Issuing an execution and filing the return thereof; issuing a writ of attachment, injunction, habeas corpus, mandamus, quo warranto, certiorari, or other writs not specifically mentioned, \$55.

(6) Issuing a transcript of judgment, or for filing and docketing a transcript of judgment from another court, \$40.

(7) Filing and entering a satisfaction of judgment, partial satisfaction, or assignment of judgment, \$5.

(8) Certificate as to existence or nonexistence of judgments docketed, \$5 for each name certified to.

(9) Filing and indexing trade name; or recording basic science certificate; or recording certificate of physicians, osteopathic physicians, chiropractors, veterinarians, or optometrists, \$5.

(10) For the filing of each partial, final, or annual account in all trusteeships, \$55.

(11) For the deposit of a will, \$27.

(12) For recording notary commission, \$20.

(13) Filing a motion or response to a motion for modification of child support, a fee of \$50.

(14) All other services required by law for which no fee is provided, such fee as compares favorably with those herein provided, or such as may be fixed by rule or order of the court.

(15) In addition to any other filing fees under this chapter, a surcharge in the amount of \$75 must be assessed in accordance with section 259.52, subdivision 14, for each adoption petition filed in district court to fund the fathers' adoption registry under section 259.52.

The fees in clauses (3) and (5) need not be paid by a public authority or the party the public authority represents. No fee may be charged for an uncertified copy of an instrument from a civil or criminal proceeding.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.06, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Formulation of policies. (a) The commissioner shall formulate policies to effectuate the purposes of this chapter and shall do the following:

(1) exercise leadership under the direction of the governor in the development of human rights policies and programs, and make recommendations to the governor and the legislature for their consideration and implementation;

(2) establish and maintain a principal office in St. Paul, and any other necessary branch offices at any location within the state;

(3) meet and function at any place within the state;

(4) employ attorneys, clerks, and other employees and agents as the commissioner may deem necessary and prescribe their duties;

(5) to the extent permitted by federal law and regulation, utilize the records of the Department of Employment and Economic Development of the state when necessary to effectuate the purposes of this chapter;

(6) obtain upon request and utilize the services of all state governmental departments and agencies;

(7) adopt suitable rules for effectuating the purposes of this chapter;

(8) issue complaints, receive and investigate charges alleging unfair discriminatory practices, and determine whether or not probable cause exists for hearing;

(9) subpoena witnesses, administer oaths, take testimony, and require the production for examination of any books or papers relative to any matter under investigation or in question as the commissioner deems appropriate to carry out the purposes of this chapter;

(10) attempt, by means of education, conference, conciliation, and persuasion to eliminate unfair discriminatory practices as being contrary to the public policy of the state;

(11) develop and conduct programs of formal and informal education designed to eliminate discrimination and intergroup conflict by use of educational techniques and programs the commissioner deems necessary;

(12) make a written report of the activities of the commissioner to the governor each year;

(13) accept gifts, bequests, grants, or other payments public and private to help finance the activities of the department;

(14) create such local and statewide advisory committees as will in the commissioner's judgment aid in effectuating the purposes of the Department of Human Rights;

(15) develop such programs as will aid in determining the compliance throughout the state with the provisions of this chapter, and in the furtherance of such duties, conduct research and study discriminatory practices based upon race, color, creed, religion, national origin, sex, age, disability, marital status, status with regard to public assistance, familial status, sexual orientation, or other factors and develop accurate data on the nature and extent of discrimination and other matters as they may affect housing, employment, public accommodations, schools, and other areas of public life;

(16) develop and disseminate technical assistance to persons subject to the provisions of this chapter, and to agencies and officers of governmental and private agencies;

(17) provide staff services to such advisory committees as may be created in aid of the functions of the Department of Human Rights;

(18) make grants in aid to the extent that appropriations are made available for that purpose in aid of carrying out duties and responsibilities; and

(19) cooperate and consult with the commissioner of labor and industry regarding the investigation of violations of, and resolution of complaints regarding section 363A.08, subdivision 7-; and

(20) solicit, receive, and compile information from community organizations, school districts and charter schools, and individuals regarding incidents committed in whole or in substantial part because of the victim's or another's actual or perceived race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, age, national origin, or disability as defined in section 363A.03, or because of the victim's actual or perceived association with another person or group of a certain actual or perceived race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, age, national origin, or disability as defined in section 363A.03, and compile data in the aggregate on the nature and extent of the incidents and include summary data as defined by section 13.02, subdivision 19, on this information in the report required under clause (12), disaggregated by the type of incident and the actual or perceived characteristic for which the person was targeted. The commissioner shall provide information on the department's website about when and how a victim can report criminal conduct to a law enforcement agency. Data collected and maintained under this clause are private data on individuals as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 12.

54TH DAY]

FRIDAY, APRIL 21, 2023

(b) All gifts, bequests, grants, or other payments, public and private, accepted under paragraph (a), clause (13), must be deposited in the state treasury and credited to a special account. Money in the account is appropriated to the commissioner of human rights to help finance activities of the department.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 484.85, is amended to read:

# 484.85 DISPOSITION OF FINES, FEES, AND OTHER MONEY; ACCOUNTS; RAMSEY COUNTY DISTRICT COURT.

(a) In all cases prosecuted in Ramsey County District Court by an attorney for a municipality or subdivision of government within Ramsey County for violation of a statute; an ordinance; or a charter provision, rule, or regulation of a city; all fines, penalties, and forfeitures collected by the court administrator shall be deposited in the state treasury and distributed according to this paragraph. Except where a different disposition is provided by section 299D.03, subdivision 5, or other law, on or before the last day of each month, the court shall pay over all fines, penalties, and forfeitures collected by the court administrator during the previous month as follows:

(1) for offenses committed within the city of St. Paul, two-thirds paid to the treasurer of the city of St. Paul municipality or subdivision of government within Ramsey County and one-third credited to the state general fund; and.

(2) for offenses committed within any other municipality or subdivision of government within Ramsey County, one half paid to the treasurer of the municipality or subdivision of government and one half credited to the state general fund.

All other fines, penalties, and forfeitures collected by the district court shall be distributed by the courts as provided by law.

(b) Fines, penalties, and forfeitures shall be distributed as provided in paragraph (a) when:

(1) a city contracts with the county attorney for prosecutorial services under section 484.87, subdivision 3; or

(2) the attorney general provides assistance to the city attorney under section 484.87, subdivision 5.

# Sec. 5. APPELLATE COUNSEL FOR PARENTS; SUPPORT FOR ESTABLISHMENT.

<u>The Management Analysis and Development Division of Management and Budget shall provide technical</u> support for the establishment of the Statewide Office of Appellate Counsel and Training and the State Board of <u>Appellate Counsel and Training established under Minnesota Statutes, section 260C.419.</u>

# ARTICLE 4 GRANTS MANAGEMENT

# Section 1. FINANCIAL REVIEW OF NONPROFIT GRANT RECIPIENTS REQUIRED.

Subdivision 1. Financial review required. (a) Before awarding a competitive, legislatively named, single source, or sole source grant to a nonprofit organization under this act, the grantor must require the applicant to submit financial information sufficient for the grantor to document and assess the applicant's current financial standing and management. Items of significant concern must be addressed with the applicant and resolved to the satisfaction of the grantor before a grant is awarded. The grantor must document the material requested and

reviewed; whether the applicant had a significant operating deficit, a deficit in unrestricted net assets, or insufficient internal controls; whether and how the applicant resolved the grantor's concerns; and the grantor's final decision. This documentation must be maintained in the grantor's files.

(b) At a minimum, the grantor must require each applicant to provide the following information:

(1) the applicant's most recent Form 990, Form 990-EZ, or Form 990-N filed with the Internal Revenue Service. If the applicant has not been in existence long enough or is not required to file Form 990, Form 990-EZ, or Form 990-N, the applicant must demonstrate to the grantor that the applicant is exempt and must instead submit documentation of internal controls and the applicant's most recent financial statement prepared in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles and approved by the applicant's board of directors or trustees, or if there is no such board, by the applicant's managing group;

(2) evidence of registration and good standing with the secretary of state under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 317A, or other applicable law;

(3) unless exempt under Minnesota Statutes, section 309.515, evidence of registration and good standing with the attorney general under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 309; and

(4) if required under Minnesota Statutes, section 309.53, subdivision 3, the applicant's most recent audited financial statement prepared in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles.

Subd. 2. <u>Authority to postpone or forgo; reporting required.</u> (a) Notwithstanding any contrary provision in this act, a grantor that identifies an area of significant concern regarding the financial standing or management of a legislatively named applicant may postpone or forgo awarding the grant.

(b) No later than 30 days after a grantor exercises the authority provided under paragraph (a), the grantor must report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over the grantor's operating budget. The report must identify the legislatively named applicant and the grantor's reason for postponing or forgoing the grant.

Subd. 3. Authority to award subject to additional assistance and oversight. A grantor that identifies an area of significant concern regarding an applicant's financial standing or management may award a grant to the applicant if the grantor provides or the grantee otherwise obtains additional technical assistance, as needed, and the grantor imposes additional requirements in the grant agreement. Additional requirements may include but are not limited to enhanced monitoring, additional reporting, or other reasonable requirements imposed by the grantor to protect the interests of the state.

Subd. 4. <u>Relation to other law and policy.</u> The requirements in this section are in addition to any other requirements imposed by law, the commissioner of administration under Minnesota Statutes, sections 16B.97 to 16B.98, or agency policy.

# ARTICLE 5 GENERAL CRIMES

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 243.166, subdivision 1b, is amended to read:

Subd. 1b. Registration required. (a) A person shall register under this section if:

(1) the person was charged with or petitioned for a felony violation of or attempt to violate, or aiding, abetting, or conspiracy to commit, any of the following, and convicted of or adjudicated delinquent for that offense or another offense arising out of the same set of circumstances:

6024

#### FRIDAY, APRIL 21, 2023

(i) murder under section 609.185, paragraph (a), clause (2);

(ii) kidnapping under section 609.25;

(iii) criminal sexual conduct under section 609.342; 609.343; 609.344; 609.345; 609.3451, subdivision 3, paragraph (b); or 609.3453;

(iv) indecent exposure under section 617.23, subdivision 3; or

(v) surreptitious intrusion under the circumstances described in section 609.746, subdivision 1, paragraph (f) (h);

(2) the person was charged with or petitioned for a violation of, or attempt to violate, or aiding, abetting, or conspiring to commit any of the following and convicted of or adjudicated delinquent for that offense or another offense arising out of the same set of circumstances:

(i) criminal abuse in violation of section 609.2325, subdivision 1, paragraph (b);

(ii) false imprisonment in violation of section 609.255, subdivision 2;

(iii) solicitation, inducement, or promotion of the prostitution of a minor or engaging in the sex trafficking of a minor in violation of section 609.322;

(iv) a prostitution offense in violation of section 609.324, subdivision 1, paragraph (a);

(v) soliciting a minor to engage in sexual conduct in violation of section 609.352, subdivision 2 or 2a, clause (1);

(vi) using a minor in a sexual performance in violation of section 617.246; or

(vii) possessing pornographic work involving a minor in violation of section 617.247;

(3) the person was sentenced as a patterned sex offender under section 609.3455, subdivision 3a; or

(4) the person was charged with or petitioned for, including pursuant to a court martial, violating a law of the United States, including the Uniform Code of Military Justice, similar to an offense or involving similar circumstances to an offense described in clause (1), (2), or (3), and convicted of or adjudicated delinquent for that offense or another offense arising out of the same set of circumstances.

(b) A person also shall register under this section if:

(1) the person was charged with or petitioned for an offense in another state similar to an offense or involving similar circumstances to an offense described in paragraph (a), clause (1), (2), or (3), and convicted of or adjudicated delinquent for that offense or another offense arising out of the same set of circumstances;

(2) the person enters this state to reside, work, or attend school, or enters this state and remains for 14 days or longer or for an aggregate period of time exceeding 30 days during any calendar year; and

(3) ten years have not elapsed since the person was released from confinement or, if the person was not confined, since the person was convicted of or adjudicated delinquent for the offense that triggers registration, unless the person is subject to a longer registration period under the laws of another state in which the person has been convicted or adjudicated, or is subject to lifetime registration.

6026

#### JOURNAL OF THE HOUSE

If a person described in this paragraph is subject to a longer registration period in another state or is subject to lifetime registration, the person shall register for that time period regardless of when the person was released from confinement, convicted, or adjudicated delinquent.

(c) A person also shall register under this section if the person was committed pursuant to a court commitment order under Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 253B.185, chapter 253D, Minnesota Statutes 1992, section 526.10, or a similar law of another state or the United States, regardless of whether the person was convicted of any offense.

(d) A person also shall register under this section if:

(1) the person was charged with or petitioned for a felony violation or attempt to violate any of the offenses listed in paragraph (a), clause (1), or a similar law of another state or the United States, or the person was charged with or petitioned for a violation of any of the offenses listed in paragraph (a), clause (2), or a similar law of another state or the United States;

(2) the person was found not guilty by reason of mental illness or mental deficiency after a trial for that offense, or found guilty but mentally ill after a trial for that offense, in states with a guilty but mentally ill verdict; and

(3) the person was committed pursuant to a court commitment order under section 253B.18 or a similar law of another state or the United States.

# EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 299A.78, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Definitions. For purposes of sections 299A.78 to 299A.795, the following definitions apply:

(a) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of the Department of Public Safety.

(b) "Nongovernmental organizations" means nonprofit, nongovernmental organizations that provide legal, social, or other community services.

#### (c) "Blackmail" has the meaning given in section 609.281, subdivision 2.

(d) (c) "Debt bondage" has the meaning given in section 609.281, subdivision 3.

(e) (d) "Forced or coerced labor or services" has the meaning given in section 609.281, subdivision 4.

(f) (e) "Labor trafficking" has the meaning given in section 609.281, subdivision 5.

 $(\underline{g})$  (<u>f</u>) "Labor trafficking victim" has the meaning given in section 609.281, subdivision 6.

(h) (g) "Sex trafficking" has the meaning given in section 609.321, subdivision 7a.

(i) (h) "Sex trafficking victim" has the meaning given in section 609.321, subdivision 7b.

(j) (i) "Trafficking" includes "labor trafficking" and "sex trafficking."

(k) (j) "Trafficking victim" includes "labor trafficking victim" and "sex trafficking victim."

## **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2023.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 299A.79, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. **Public awareness initiative.** The public awareness initiative required in subdivision 1 must address, at a minimum, the following subjects:

(1) the risks of becoming a trafficking victim;

(2) common recruitment techniques; use of debt bondage, blackmail, forced <u>or coerced</u> labor and <u>or</u> services, prostitution, and other coercive tactics; and risks of assault, criminal sexual conduct, exposure to sexually transmitted diseases, and psychological harm;

(3) crime victims' rights; and

(4) reporting recruitment activities involved in trafficking.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.02, subdivision 16, is amended to read:

Subd. 16. **Qualified domestic violence-related offense.** "Qualified domestic violence-related offense" includes a violation of or an attempt to violate sections 518B.01, subdivision 14 (violation of domestic abuse order for protection); 609.185 (first-degree murder); 609.19 (second-degree murder); 609.195, paragraph (a) (third-degree murder); 609.20, clauses (1), (2), and (5) (first-degree manslaughter); 609.205, clauses (1) and (5) (second-degree manslaughter); 609.201, clauses (1), (2), and (5) (first-degree manslaughter); 609.205, clauses (1) and (5) (second-degree manslaughter); 609.221 (first-degree assault); 609.222 (second-degree assault); 609.223 (third-degree assault); 609.2247 (domestic assault by strangulation); 609.25 (kidnapping); 609.255 (false imprisonment); 609.342 (first-degree criminal sexual conduct); 609.343 (second-degree criminal sexual conduct); 609.344 (third-degree criminal sexual conduct); 609.345 (fourth-degree criminal sexual conduct); 609.345 (sexual extortion); 609.377 (malicious punishment of a child); 609.582, subdivision 1, clause (c) (burglary in the first degree); 609.713 (terroristic threats); 609.748, subdivision 6 (violation of harassment restraining order); 609.749 (harassment or stalking); 609.78, subdivision 2 (interference with an emergency call); 617.261 (nonconsensual dissemination of private sexual images); and 629.75 (violation of domestic abuse no contact order); and similar laws of other states, the United States, the District of Columbia, tribal lands, and United States territories.

## EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.05, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 2a. **Exception.** (a) A person may not be held criminally liable for a violation of section 609.185, paragraph (a), clause (3), committed by another unless the person intentionally aided, advised, hired, counseled, or conspired with or otherwise procured the other with the intent to cause the death of a human being.

(b) A person may not be held criminally liable for a violation of section 609.19, subdivision 2, clause (1), committed by another unless the person was a major participant in the underlying felony and acted with extreme indifference to human life.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.2231, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Assaults motivated by bias. (a) Whoever assaults another <u>in whole or in substantial part</u> because of the victim's or another's actual or perceived race, color, <u>ethnicity</u>, religion, sex, <u>gender</u>, sexual orientation, <u>gender</u> <u>identity</u>, <u>gender expression</u>, <u>age</u>, <u>national origin</u>, <u>or</u> disability as defined in section 363A.03, <u>age</u>, <u>or national origin</u> <u>or because of the victim's actual or perceived association with another person or group of a certain actual or perceived race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, gender, sexual orientation, gender expression, <u>age</u>, <u>national origin</u>, <u>or disability as defined in section 363A.03</u>, <u>may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than one year or to payment of a fine of not more than \$3,000, or both</u>.</u>

(b) Whoever violates the provisions of paragraph (a) within five years of a previous conviction under paragraph (a) is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than one year and a day or to payment of a fine of not more than \$3,000, or both.

# EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.2233, is amended to read:

# 609.2233 FELONY ASSAULT MOTIVATED BY BIAS; INCREASED STATUTORY MAXIMUM SENTENCE.

A person who violates section 609.221, 609.222, or 609.223 <u>in whole or in substantial part</u> because of the victim's or another person's actual or perceived race, color, <u>ethnicity</u>, religion, sex, <u>gender</u>, sexual orientation, <u>gender</u> <u>identity</u>, <u>gender expression</u>, <u>age</u>, <u>national origin</u>, <u>or</u> disability as defined in section 363A.03, <u>age</u>, <u>or national origin</u> <u>or because of the victim's actual or perceived association with another person or group of a certain actual or perceived race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, gender, sexual orientation, gender expression, age, <u>national origin</u>, or <u>disability</u> as defined in section 363A.03, <u>age</u>, <u>or national origin</u>, <u>age</u>, <u>national origin</u>, or <u>disability</u> as defined in section 363A.03, is subject to a statutory maximum penalty of 25 percent longer than the maximum penalty otherwise applicable.</u>

# EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.25, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Sentence. Whoever violates subdivision 1 may be sentenced as follows:

(1) if the victim is released in a safe place without great bodily harm, to imprisonment for not more than 20 years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$35,000, or both; or

(2) if the victim is not released in a safe place, or if the victim suffers great bodily harm during the course of the kidnapping, or if the person kidnapped is under the age of 16, to imprisonment for not more than 40 years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$50,000, or both <u>if:</u>

(i) the victim is not released in a safe place;

(ii) the victim suffers great bodily harm during the course of the kidnapping; or

(iii) the person kidnapped is under the age of 16.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2023.

6028

6029

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.269, is amended to read:

## **609.269 EXCEPTION.**

Sections 609.2661 to 609.268 do not apply to any act described in section 145.412. a person providing reproductive health care offered, arranged, or furnished:

### (1) for the purpose of terminating a pregnancy; and

(2) with the consent of the pregnant individual or the pregnant individual's representative, except in a medical emergency in which consent cannot be obtained.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.281, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. **Debt bondage.** "Debt bondage" means the status or condition of a debtor arising from a pledge by the debtor of the debtor's personal occurs when a person provides labor or services or those of any kind to pay a real or alleged debt of a the person under the debtor's control as a security for debt or another, if the value of those the labor or services as reasonably assessed is not applied toward the liquidation of the debt or the length and nature of those the labor or services are not respectively limited and defined.

## EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.281, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Forced <u>or coerced</u> labor or services. "Forced <u>or coerced</u> labor or services" means labor or services <u>of</u> any kind that are performed or provided by another person and are obtained or maintained through an actor's:

(1) threat, either implicit or explicit, scheme, plan, <del>or</del> pattern, or other action <u>or statement</u> intended to cause a person to believe that, if the person did not perform or provide the labor or services, that person or another <del>person</del> would suffer <del>bodily harm or</del> physical restraint; <u>sexual contact</u>, as defined in section 609.341, subdivision 11, paragraph (b); or bodily, psychological, economic, or reputational harm;

(2) physically restraining or threatening to physically restrain <u>sexual contact</u>, as defined in section 609.341, <u>subdivision 11</u>, paragraph (b), with a person;

## (3) physical restraint of a person;

(4) infliction of bodily, psychological, economic, or reputational harm;

(3) (5) abuse or threatened abuse of the legal process, including the use or threatened use of a law or legal process, whether administrative, civil, or criminal; or

(4) knowingly destroying, concealing, removing, confiscating, or possessing (6) destruction, concealment, removal, confiscation, withholding, or possession of any actual or purported passport or other immigration document, or any other actual or purported government identification document, of another person; or.

(5) use of blackmail.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.

Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.281, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. Labor trafficking. "Labor trafficking" means:

(1) the recruitment, transportation, transfer, harboring, enticement, provision, obtaining, or receipt of a person by any means, for the purpose in furtherance of:

(i) debt bondage or;

(ii) forced or coerced labor or services;

(iii) (iii) slavery or practices similar to slavery; or

(iii) (iv) the removal of organs through the use of coercion or intimidation; or

(2) receiving profit or anything of value, knowing or having reason to know it is derived from an act described in clause (1).

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.

Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.282, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Individuals under age 18 Labor trafficking resulting in death. Whoever knowingly engages in the labor trafficking of an individual who is under the age of 18 is guilty of a crime and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than 20 25 years or to payment of a fine of not more than 40,000, or both if the labor trafficking victim dies and the death arose out of and in the course of the labor trafficking or the labor and services related to the labor trafficking.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.

Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.282, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 1a. Individuals under age 18; extended period of time; great bodily harm. Whoever knowingly engages in the labor trafficking of an individual is guilty of a crime and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than 20 years or to a payment of a fine of not more than \$40,000, or both if any of the following circumstances exist:

(1) the labor trafficking victim is under the age of 18;

(2) the labor trafficking occurs over an extended period of time; or

(3) the labor trafficking victim suffers great bodily harm and the great bodily harm arose out of and in the course of the labor trafficking or the labor and services related to the labor trafficking.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.

Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.321, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 15. Debt bondage. "Debt bondage" has the meaning given in section 609.281, subdivision 3.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2023.

54th Day]

Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.321, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

# Subd. 16. Forced or coerced labor or services. "Forced or coerced labor or services" has the meaning given in section 609.281, subdivision 4.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.

Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.321, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 17. Labor trafficking. "Labor trafficking" has the meaning given in section 609.281, subdivision 5.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2023.

Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.321, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 18. Labor trafficking victim. "Labor trafficking victim" has the meaning given in section 609.281, subdivision 6.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.

Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.321, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 19. Trafficking. "Trafficking" includes labor trafficking and sex trafficking.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2023.

Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.321, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 20. Trafficking victim. "Trafficking victim" includes a labor trafficking victim and a sex trafficking victim.

#### **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2023.

Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.322, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Solicitation, inducement, and promotion of prostitution; sex trafficking in the first degree. (a) Whoever, while acting other than as a prostitute or patron, intentionally does any of the following may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than 25 years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$50,000, or both:

(1) solicits or induces an individual under the age of 18 years to practice prostitution;

(2) promotes the prostitution of an individual under the age of 18 years;

(3) receives profit, knowing or having reason to know that it is derived from the prostitution, or the promotion of the prostitution, of an individual under the age of 18 years; or

(4) engages in the sex trafficking of an individual under the age of 18 years.

(b) Whoever violates paragraph (a) or subdivision 1a may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than 30 years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$60,000, or both, if one or more of the following aggravating factors are present:

(1) the offender has committed a prior qualified human trafficking-related offense;

(2) the offense involved a sex trafficking victim who suffered bodily harm during the commission of the offense;

(3) the time period that a sex trafficking victim was held in debt bondage or forced <u>or coerced</u> labor or services exceeded 180 days; or

(4) the offense involved more than one sex trafficking victim.

#### EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.

Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.52, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Sentence. Whoever commits theft may be sentenced as follows:

(1) to imprisonment for not more than 20 years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$100,000, or both, if the property is a firearm, or the value of the property or services stolen is more than \$35,000 and the conviction is for a violation of subdivision 2, clause (3), (4), (15), (16), or (19), or section 609.2335, subdivision 1, clause (1) or (2), item (i); or

(2) to imprisonment for not more than ten years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$20,000, or both, if the value of the property or services stolen exceeds \$5,000, or if the property stolen was an article representing a trade secret, an explosive or incendiary device, or a controlled substance listed in Schedule I or II pursuant to section 152.02 with the exception of marijuana; or

(3) to imprisonment for not more than five years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$10,000, or both, if any of the following circumstances exist:

(a) the value of the property or services stolen is more than \$1,000 but not more than \$5,000; or

(b) the property stolen was a controlled substance listed in Schedule III, IV, or V pursuant to section 152.02; or

(c) the value of the property or services stolen is more than \$500 but not more than \$1,000 and the person has been convicted within the preceding five years for an offense under this section, section 256.98; 268.182; 609.24; 609.245; <u>609.522</u>; 609.53; 609.582, subdivision 1, 2, or 3; 609.625; 609.63; 609.631; or 609.821, or a statute from another state, the United States, or a foreign jurisdiction, in conformity with any of those sections, and the person received a felony or gross misdemeanor sentence for the offense, or a sentence that was stayed under section 609.135 if the offense to which a plea was entered would allow imposition of a felony or gross misdemeanor sentence; or

(d) the value of the property or services stolen is not more than \$1,000, and any of the following circumstances exist:

(i) the property is taken from the person of another or from a corpse, or grave or coffin containing a corpse; or

(ii) the property is a record of a court or officer, or a writing, instrument or record kept, filed or deposited according to law with or in the keeping of any public officer or office; or

(iii) the property is taken from a burning, abandoned, or vacant building or upon its removal therefrom, or from an area of destruction caused by civil disaster, riot, bombing, or the proximity of battle; or

(iv) the property consists of public funds belonging to the state or to any political subdivision or agency thereof; or

(v) the property stolen is a motor vehicle; or

## FRIDAY, APRIL 21, 2023

(4) to imprisonment for not more than one year or to payment of a fine of not more than \$3,000, or both, if the value of the property or services stolen is more than \$500 but not more than \$1,000; or

(5) in all other cases where the value of the property or services stolen is \$500 or less, to imprisonment for not more than 90 days or to payment of a fine of not more than \$1,000, or both, provided, however, in any prosecution under subdivision 2, clauses (1), (2), (3), (4), (13), and (19), the value of the money or property or services received by the defendant in violation of any one or more of the above provisions within any six-month period may be aggregated and the defendant charged accordingly in applying the provisions of this subdivision; provided that when two or more offenses are committed by the same person in two or more counties, the accused may be prosecuted in any county in which one of the offenses was committed for all of the offenses aggregated under this paragraph.

## EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.

# Sec. 23. [609.522] ORGANIZED RETAIL THEFT.

Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) As used in this section, the terms in this subdivision have the meanings given.

(b) "Article surveillance system" means any electronic device or other security device that is designed to detect or prevent the unauthorized removal of retail merchandise from a retailer.

(c) "Retailer" means a person or entity that sells retail merchandise.

(d) "Retail merchandise" means all forms of tangible property, without limitation, held out for sale by a retailer.

(e) "Value" means the retail market value at the time of the theft or, if the retail market value cannot be ascertained, the cost of replacement of the property within a reasonable time after the theft.

Subd. 2. Organized retail theft. (a) Whoever steals or fraudulently obtains retail merchandise from a retailer commits organized retail theft and may be sentenced as provided in subdivision 3 if the actor:

(1) resells or intends to resell the retail merchandise;

(2) advertises or displays any item of the retail merchandise for sale;

(3) returns any item of the retail merchandise to a retailer for anything of value; or

(4) steals retail merchandise within five years of a conviction under this section.

(b) Whoever receives, purchases, or possesses retail merchandise knowing or having reason to know the retail merchandise was stolen from a retailer and with the intent to resell that merchandise may be sentenced as provided in subdivision 3.

(c) Whoever possesses any device, gear, or instrument designed to assist in shoplifting or defeating an electronic article surveillance system with intent to use the same to shoplift and thereby commit theft may be sentenced pursuant to subdivision 3, clause (3).

Subd. 3. Sentence. Whoever commits organized retail theft may be sentenced as follows:

(1) to imprisonment for not more than 15 years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$35,000, or both, if the value of the property stolen exceeds \$5,000;

(2) to imprisonment for not more than seven years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$14,000, or both, if either of the following circumstances exist:

(i) the value of the property stolen is more than \$1,000 but not more than \$5,000; or

(ii) the person commits the offense within ten years of the first of two or more convictions under this section;

(3) to imprisonment for not more than two years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$5,000, or both, if either of the following circumstances exist:

(i) the value of the property stolen is more than \$500 but not more than \$1,000; or

(ii) the person commits the offense within ten years of a previous conviction under this section; or

(4) to imprisonment of not more than one year or to payment of a fine of not more than \$3,000, or both, if the value of the property stolen is \$500 or less.

Subd. 4. <u>Aggregation</u>. The value of the retail merchandise received by the defendant in violation of this section within any six-month period may be aggregated and the defendant charged accordingly in applying the provisions of this subdivision, provided that when two or more offenses are committed by the same person in two or more counties, the accused may be prosecuted in any county in which one of the offenses was committed for all of the offenses aggregated under this paragraph.

Subd. 5. <u>Enhanced penalty.</u> If a violation of this section creates a reasonably foreseeable risk of bodily harm to another, the penalties described in subdivision 3 are enhanced as follows:

(1) if the penalty is a gross misdemeanor, the person is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than three years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$5,000, or both; and

(2) if the penalty is a felony, the statutory maximum sentence for the offense is 50 percent longer than for the underlying crime.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.

Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.582, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. **Burglary in the third degree.** (a) Except as otherwise provided in this section, whoever enters a building without consent and with intent to steal or commit any felony or gross misdemeanor while in the building, or enters a building without consent and steals or commits a felony or gross misdemeanor while in the building, either directly or as an accomplice, commits burglary in the third degree and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than five years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$10,000, or both.

(b) Whoever enters a building that is open to the public, other than a building identified in subdivision 2, paragraph (b), with intent to steal while in the building, or enters a building that is open to the public, other than a building identified in subdivision 2, paragraph (b), and steals while in the building, either directly or as an accomplice, commits burglary in the third degree and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than five years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$10,000, or both, if:

(1) the person enters the building within one year after being told to leave the building and not return; and

6034

54TH DAY]

#### FRIDAY, APRIL 21, 2023

(2) the person has been convicted within the preceding five years for an offense under this section, section 256.98, 268.182, 609.24, 609.245, 609.52, 609.522, 609.53, 609.625, 609.63, 609.631, or 609.821, or a statute from another state, the United States, or a foreign jurisdiction, in conformity with any of those sections, and the person received a felony sentence for the offense or a sentence that was stayed under section 609.135 if the offense to which a plea was entered would allow imposition of a felony sentence.

#### EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.

Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.582, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. **Burglary in the fourth degree.** (a) Whoever enters a building without consent and with intent to commit a misdemeanor other than to steal, or enters a building without consent and commits a misdemeanor other than to steal while in the building, either directly or as an accomplice, commits burglary in the fourth degree and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than one year or to payment of a fine of not more than \$3,000, or both.

(b) Whoever enters a building that is open to the public, other than a building identified in subdivision 2, paragraph (b), with intent to steal while in the building, or enters a building that is open to the public, other than a building identified in subdivision 2, paragraph (b), and steals while in the building, either directly or as an accomplice, commits burglary in the fourth degree and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than one year or to payment of a fine of not more than \$3,000, or both, if the person enters the building within one year after being told to leave the building and not return.

# EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.

Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.595, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:

Subd. 1a. **Criminal damage to property in the second degree.** (a) Whoever intentionally causes damage described in subdivision 2, paragraph (a), because of the property owner's or another's actual or perceived race, color, religion, sex, sexual orientation, disability as defined in section 363A.03, age, or national origin is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than one year and a day or to payment of a fine of not more than \$3,000, or both<sub>-</sub>, if the damage:

(1) was committed in whole or in substantial part because of the property owner's or another's actual or perceived race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, age, national origin, or disability as defined in section 363A.03;

(2) was committed in whole or in substantial part because of the victim's actual or perceived association with another person or group of a certain actual or perceived race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, age, national origin, or disability as defined in section 363A.03; or

(3) was motivated in whole or in substantial part by an intent to intimidate or harm an individual or group of individuals because of actual or perceived race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, age, national origin, or disability as defined in section 363A.03.

(b) In any prosecution under paragraph (a), the value of property damaged by the defendant in violation of that paragraph within any six-month period may be aggregated and the defendant charged accordingly in applying this section. When two or more offenses are committed by the same person in two or more counties, the accused may be prosecuted in any county in which one of the offenses was committed for all of the offenses aggregated under this paragraph.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.

Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.595, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Criminal damage to property in the third degree. (a) Except as otherwise provided in subdivision 1a, whoever intentionally causes damage to another person's physical property without the other person's consent may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than one year or to payment of a fine of not more than \$3,000, or both, if: (1) the damage reduces the value of the property by more than \$500 but not more than \$1,000 as measured by the cost of repair and replacement; or (2) the damage was to a public safety motor vehicle and the defendant knew the vehicle was a public safety motor vehicle.

(b) Whoever intentionally causes damage to another person's physical property without the other person's consent because of the property owner's or another's actual or perceived race, color, religion, sex, sexual orientation, disability as defined in section 363A.03, age, or national origin may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than one year or to payment of a fine of not more than \$3,000, or both, if the damage reduces the value of the property by not more than \$500- and:

(1) was committed in whole or in substantial part because of the property owner's or another's actual or perceived race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, age, national origin, or disability as defined in section 363A.03;

(2) was committed in whole or in substantial part because of the victim's actual or perceived association with another person or group of a certain actual or perceived race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, age, national origin, or disability as defined in section 363A.03; or

(3) was motivated in whole or in substantial part by an intent to intimidate or harm an individual or group of individuals because of actual or perceived race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, age, national origin, or disability as defined in section 363A.03.

(c) In any prosecution under paragraph (a), clause (1), the value of property damaged by the defendant in violation of that paragraph within any six-month period may be aggregated and the defendant charged accordingly in applying this section. When two or more offenses are committed by the same person in two or more counties, the accused may be prosecuted in any county in which one of the offenses was committed for all of the offenses aggregated under this paragraph.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.

Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.67, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. **Definitions.** (a) "Machine gun" means any firearm designed to discharge, or capable of discharging automatically more than once by a single function of the trigger.

(b) "Shotgun" means a weapon designed, redesigned, made or remade which is intended to be fired from the shoulder and uses the energy of the explosive in a fixed shotgun shell to fire through a smooth bore either a number of ball shot or a single projectile for each single pull of the trigger.

(c) "Short-barreled shotgun" means a shotgun having one or more barrels less than 18 inches in length and any weapon made from a shotgun if such weapon as modified has an overall length less than 26 inches.

54TH DAY]

(d) "Trigger activator" means:

(1) a removable manual or power driven trigger activating device constructed and designed so that, when attached to a firearm, the rate at which the trigger may be pulled increases and the rate of fire of the firearm increases to that of a machine gun; or

(2) a device that allows a semiautomatic firearm to shoot more than one shot with a single pull of the trigger or by harnessing the recoil of energy of the semiautomatic firearm to which it is affixed so that the trigger resets and continues firing without additional physical manipulation of the trigger.

(e) "Machine gun conversion kit" means any part or combination of parts designed and intended for use in converting a weapon into a machine gun, and any combination of parts from which a machine gun can be assembled, but does not include a spare or replacement part for a machine gun that is possessed lawfully under section 609.67, subdivision 3.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to offenses that occur on or after that date.

Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.67, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Acts prohibited. (a) Except as otherwise provided herein, whoever owns, possesses, or operates a machine gun, <u>or</u> any trigger activator or machine gun conversion kit, or a short barreled shotgun may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than five  $\underline{20}$  years or to payment of a fine of not more than  $\underline{\$10,000}$   $\underline{\$35,000}$ , or both.

(b) Except as otherwise provided herein, whoever owns, possesses, or operates a short-barreled shotgun may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than five years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$10,000, or both.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to offenses that occur on or after that date.

Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.746, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Surreptitious intrusion; observation device. (a) A person is guilty of a gross misdemeanor who:

(1) enters upon another's property;

(2) surreptitiously gazes, stares, or peeps in the window or any other aperture of a house or place of dwelling of another; and

(3) does so with intent to intrude upon or interfere with the privacy of a member of the household.

(b) A person is guilty of a gross misdemeanor who:

(1) enters upon another's property;

(2) surreptitiously installs or uses any device for observing, photographing, recording, amplifying, or broadcasting sounds or events through the window or any other aperture of a house or place of dwelling of another; and

(3) does so with intent to intrude upon or interfere with the privacy of a member of the household.

(c) A person is guilty of a gross misdemeanor who:

(1) surreptitiously gazes, stares, or peeps in the window or other aperture of a sleeping room in a hotel, as defined in section 327.70, subdivision 3, a tanning booth, or other place where a reasonable person would have an expectation of privacy and has exposed or is likely to expose their intimate parts, as defined in section 609.341, subdivision 5, or the clothing covering the immediate area of the intimate parts; and

(2) does so with intent to intrude upon or interfere with the privacy of the occupant.

(d) A person is guilty of a gross misdemeanor who:

(1) surreptitiously installs or uses any device for observing, photographing, recording, amplifying, or broadcasting sounds or events through the window or other aperture of a sleeping room in a hotel, as defined in section 327.70, subdivision 3, a tanning booth, or other place where a reasonable person would have an expectation of privacy and has exposed or is likely to expose their intimate parts, as defined in section 609.341, subdivision 5, or the clothing covering the immediate area of the intimate parts; and

(2) does so with intent to intrude upon or interfere with the privacy of the occupant.

#### (e) A person is guilty of a gross misdemeanor who:

(1) uses any device for photographing, recording, or broadcasting an image of an individual in a house or place of dwelling; a sleeping room of a hotel as defined in section 327.70, subdivision 3; a tanning booth; a bathroom; a locker room; a changing room; an indoor shower facility; or any place where a reasonable person would have an expectation of privacy; and

(2) does so with the intent to photograph, record, or broadcast an image of the individual's intimate parts, as defined in section 609.341, subdivision 5, without the consent of the individual.

(f) A person is guilty of a misdemeanor who:

(1) surreptitiously installs or uses any device for observing, photographing, recording, or broadcasting an image of an individual's intimate parts, as defined in section 609.341, subdivision 5, or the clothing covering the immediate area of the intimate parts;

(2) observes, photographs, or records the image under or around the individual's clothing; and

(3) does so with intent to intrude upon or interfere with the privacy of the individual.

(e) (g) A person is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than two years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$5,000, or both, if the person:

(1) violates this subdivision paragraph (a), (b), (c), (d), or (e) after a previous conviction under this subdivision or section 609.749; or

(2) violates this subdivision paragraph (a), (b), (c), (d), or (e) against a minor under the age of 18, knowing or having reason to know that the minor is present.

(f) (h) A person is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than four years or to payment of a fine of not more than 5,000, or both, if: (1) the person violates paragraph (b)  $\frac{1}{000}$ , (d), or (e) against a minor victim under the age of 18; (2) the person is more than 36 months older than the minor victim; (3) the person knows or has reason to know that the minor victim is present; and (4) the violation is committed with sexual intent.

## FRIDAY, APRIL 21, 2023

(i) A person is guilty of a gross misdemeanor if the person:

(1) violates paragraph (f) after a previous conviction under this subdivision or section 609.749; or

(2) violates paragraph (f) against a minor under the age of 18, knowing or having reason to know that the victim is a minor.

(j) A person is guilty of a felony if the person violates paragraph (f) after two or more convictions under this subdivision or section 609.749.

(g) Paragraphs (k) Paragraph (b) and, (d) do, or (e) does not apply to law enforcement officers or corrections investigators, or to those acting under their direction, while engaged in the performance of their lawful duties. Paragraphs (c) and, (d), and (e) do not apply to conduct in: (1) a medical facility; or (2) a commercial establishment if the owner of the establishment has posted conspicuous signs warning that the premises are under surveillance by the owner or the owner's employees.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.

Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.749, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Aggravated violations. (a) A person who commits any of the following acts is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than five years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$10,000, or both:

(1) commits any offense described in subdivision 2 <u>in whole or in substantial part</u> because of the victim's or another's actual or perceived race, color, <u>ethnicity</u>, religion, sex, <u>gender</u>, sexual orientation, <u>gender identity</u>, <u>gender expression</u>, <u>age</u>, <u>national origin</u>, <u>or</u> disability as defined in section 363A.03, <u>age</u>, <u>or national origin</u> <u>or because of the victim's actual or perceived association with another person or group of a certain actual or perceived race, color, ethnicity</u>, religion, sex, <u>gender</u>, <u>sexual orientation</u>, <u>gender identity</u>, <u>gender expression</u>, <u>age</u>, <u>national origin</u>, <u>or</u> <u>disability</u> as <u>defined in section 363A.03</u>;

(2) commits any offense described in subdivision 2 by falsely impersonating another;

(3) commits any offense described in subdivision 2 and a dangerous weapon was used in any way in the commission of the offense;

(4) commits any offense described in subdivision 2 with intent to influence or otherwise tamper with a juror or a judicial proceeding or with intent to retaliate against a judicial officer, as defined in section 609.415, or a prosecutor, defense attorney, or officer of the court, because of that person's performance of official duties in connection with a judicial proceeding; or

(5) commits any offense described in subdivision 2 against a victim under the age of 18, if the actor is more than 36 months older than the victim.

(b) A person who commits any offense described in subdivision 2 against a victim under the age of 18, if the actor is more than 36 months older than the victim, and the act is committed with sexual or aggressive intent, is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than ten years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$20,000, or both.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.

## Sec. 32. [609.771] USE OF DEEP FAKE TECHNOLOGY TO INFLUENCE AN ELECTION.

Subdivision 1. **Definitions.** (a) As used in this section, the following terms have the meanings given.

(b) "Candidate" means an individual who seeks nomination or election to a federal, statewide, legislative, judicial, or local office including special districts, school districts, towns, home rule charter and statutory cities, and counties.

(c) "Deep fake" means any video recording, motion-picture film, sound recording, electronic image, or photograph, or any technological representation of speech or conduct substantially derivative thereof:

(1) which appears to authentically depict any speech or conduct of an individual who did not in fact engage in such speech or conduct; and

(2) the production of which was substantially dependent upon technical means, rather than the ability of another individual to physically or verbally impersonate such individual.

(d) "Depicted individual" means an individual in a deep fake who appears to be engaging in speech or conduct in which the individual did not engage.

Subd. 2. Use of deep fake to influence an election; violation. A person who disseminates a deep fake or enters into a contract or other agreement to disseminate a deep fake is guilty of a crime and may be sentenced as provided in subdivision 3 if the person knows or reasonably should know that the item being disseminated is a deep fake and dissemination:

(1) takes place within 90 days before an election;

(2) is made without the consent of the depicted individual; and

(3) is made with the intent to injure a candidate or influence the result of an election.

Subd. 3. Use of deep fake to influence an election; penalty. A person convicted of violating subdivision 2 may be sentenced as follows:

(1) if the person commits the violation within five years of one or more prior convictions under this section, to imprisonment for not more than five years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$10,000, or both;

(2) if the person commits the violation with the intent to cause violence or bodily harm, to imprisonment for not more than one year or to payment of a fine of not more than \$3,000, or both; or

(3) in other cases, to imprisonment for not more than 90 days or to payment of a fine of not more than \$1,000, or both.

Subd. 4. **Injunctive relief.** A cause of action for injunctive relief may be maintained against any person who is reasonably believed to be about to violate or who is in the course of violating this section by:

(1) the attorney general;

(2) a county attorney or city attorney;

(3) the depicted individual; or

(4) a candidate for nomination or election to a public office who is injured or likely to be injured by dissemination.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.

# Sec. 33. [617.262] NONCONSENSUAL DISSEMINATION OF A DEEP FAKE DEPICTING INTIMATE PARTS OR SEXUAL ACTS.

Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have the meanings given.

(b) "Deep fake" means any video recording, motion-picture film, sound recording, electronic image, or photograph, or any technological representation of speech or conduct substantially derivative thereof:

(1) which appears to authentically depict any speech or conduct of an individual who did not in fact engage in such speech or conduct; and

(2) the production of which was substantially dependent upon technical means, rather than the ability of another individual to physically or verbally impersonate such individual.

(c) "Depicted individual" means an individual in a deep fake who appears to be engaging in speech or conduct in which the individual did not engage.

(d) "Dissemination" means distribution to one or more persons, other than the person depicted in the deep fake, or publication by any publicly available medium.

(e) "Harass" means an act that would cause a substantial adverse effect on the safety, security, or privacy of a reasonable person.

(f) "Intimate parts" means the genitals, pubic area, or anus of an individual, or if the individual is female, a partially or fully exposed nipple.

(g) "Personal information" means any identifier that permits communication or in-person contact with a person, including:

(1) a person's first and last name, first initial and last name, first name and last initial, or nickname;

(2) a person's home, school, or work address;

(3) a person's telephone number, email address, or social media account information; or

(4) a person's geolocation data.

(h) "Sexual act" means either sexual contact or sexual penetration.

(i) "Sexual contact" means the intentional touching of intimate parts or intentional touching with seminal fluid or sperm onto another person's body.

(i) "Sexual penetration" means any of the following acts:

(1) sexual intercourse, cunnilingus, fellatio, or anal intercourse; or

(2) any intrusion, however slight, into the genital or anal openings of an individual by another's body part or an object used by another for this purpose.

(k) "Social media" means any electronic medium, including an interactive computer service, telephone network, or data network, that allows users to create, share, and view user-generated content.

Subd. 2. Crime. It is a crime to intentionally disseminate a deep fake when:

(1) the actor knows or reasonably should know that the depicted individual does not consent to the dissemination;

(2) the deep fake realistically depicts any of the following:

(i) the intimate parts of another individual presented as the intimate parts of the depicted individual;

(ii) artificially generated intimate parts presented as the intimate parts of the depicted individual; or

(iii) the depicted individual engaging in a sexual act; and

(3) the depicted individual is identifiable:

(i) from the deep fake itself, by the depicted individual or by another person; or

(ii) from the personal information displayed in connection with the deep fake.

Subd. 3. Penalties. (a) Except as provided in paragraph (b), whoever violates subdivision 2 is guilty of a gross misdemeanor.

(b) Whoever violates subdivision 2 may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than three years or to payment of a fine of \$5,000, or both, if one of the following factors is present:

(1) the depicted person suffers financial loss due to the dissemination of the deep fake;

(2) the actor disseminates the deep fake with intent to profit from the dissemination;

(3) the actor maintains an Internet website, online service, online application, or mobile application for the purpose of disseminating the deep fake;

(4) the actor posts the deep fake on a website;

(5) the actor disseminates the deep fake with intent to harass the depicted person;

(6) the actor obtained the deep fake by committing a violation of section 609.52, 609.746, 609.89, or 609.891; or

(7) the actor has previously been convicted under this chapter.

Subd. 4. No defense. It is not a defense to a prosecution under this section that the person consented to the creation or possession of the deep fake.

Subd. 5. <u>Venue.</u> Notwithstanding anything to the contrary in section 627.01, an offense committed under this section may be prosecuted in:

(1) the county where the offense occurred;

(2) the county of residence of the actor or victim or in the jurisdiction of the victim's designated address if the victim participates in the address confidentiality program established by chapter 5B; or

(3) only if the venue cannot be located in the counties specified under clause (1) or (2), the county where any deep fake is produced, reproduced, found, stored, received, or possessed in violation of this section.

6042

Subd. 6. Exemptions. Subdivision 2 does not apply when:

(1) the dissemination is made for the purpose of a criminal investigation or prosecution that is otherwise lawful;

(2) the dissemination is for the purpose of, or in connection with, the reporting of unlawful conduct:

(3) the dissemination is made in the course of seeking or receiving medical or mental health treatment, and the image is protected from further dissemination;

(4) the deep fake was obtained in a commercial setting for the purpose of the legal sale of goods or services, including the creation of artistic products for sale or display, and the depicted individual knew, or should have known, that a deep fake would be created and disseminated;

(5) the deep fake relates to a matter of public interest and dissemination serves a lawful public purpose;

(6) the dissemination is for legitimate scientific research or educational purposes; or

(7) the dissemination is made for legal proceedings and is consistent with common practice in civil proceedings necessary for the proper functioning of the criminal justice system, or protected by court order which prohibits any further dissemination.

Subd. 7. <u>Immunity.</u> Nothing in this section shall be construed to impose liability upon the following entities solely as a result of content or information provided by another person:

(1) an interactive computer service as defined in United States Code, title 47, section 230, paragraph (f), clause (2);

(2) a provider of public mobile services or private radio services; or

(3) a telecommunications network or broadband provider.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.

Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 628.26, is amended to read:

## 628.26 LIMITATIONS.

(a) Indictments or complaints for any crime resulting in the death of the victim may be found or made at any time after the death of the person killed.

(b) Indictments or complaints for a violation of section 609.25 may be found or made at any time after the commission of the offense.

(c) Indictments or complaints for violation of section 609.282 may be found or made at any time after the commission of the offense if the victim was under the age of 18 at the time of the offense.

(d) Indictments or complaints for violation of section 609.282 where the victim was 18 years of age or older at the time of the offense, or 609.42, subdivision 1, clause (1) or (2), shall be found or made and filed in the proper court within six years after the commission of the offense.

(e) Indictments or complaints for violation of sections 609.322, 609.342 to 609.345, and 609.3458 may be found or made at any time after the commission of the offense.

6044

#### JOURNAL OF THE HOUSE

(f) Indictments or complaints for violation of sections 609.466 and 609.52, subdivision 2, paragraph (a), clause (3), item (iii), shall be found or made and filed in the proper court within six years after the commission of the offense.

(g) Indictments or complaints for violation of section 609.2335, 609.52, subdivision 2, paragraph (a), clause (3), items (i) and (ii), (4), (15), or (16), 609.631, or 609.821, where the value of the property or services stolen is more than \$35,000, or for violation of section 609.527 where the offense involves eight or more direct victims or the total combined loss to the direct and indirect victims is more than \$35,000, shall be found or made and filed in the proper court within five years after the commission of the offense.

(h) Except for violations relating to false material statements, representations or omissions, indictments or complaints for violations of section 609.671 shall be found or made and filed in the proper court within five years after the commission of the offense.

(i) Indictments or complaints for violation of sections 609.561 to 609.563, shall be found or made and filed in the proper court within five years after the commission of the offense.

(j) Indictments or complaints for violation of section 609.746 shall be found or made and filed in the proper court within the later of three years after the commission of the offense or three years after the offense was reported to law enforcement authorities.

(j) (k) In all other cases, indictments or complaints shall be found or made and filed in the proper court within three years after the commission of the offense.

(k) (1) The limitations periods contained in this section shall exclude any period of time during which the defendant was not an inhabitant of or usually resident within this state.

(1) (m) The limitations periods contained in this section for an offense shall not include any period during which the alleged offender participated under a written agreement in a pretrial diversion program relating to that offense.

(m) (n) The limitations periods contained in this section shall not include any period of time during which physical evidence relating to the offense was undergoing DNA analysis, as defined in section 299C.155, unless the defendant demonstrates that the prosecuting or law enforcement agency purposefully delayed the DNA analysis process in order to gain an unfair advantage.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date and to crimes committed before that date if the limitations period for the crime did not expire before August 1, 2023.

#### Sec. 35. **<u>REPEALER.</u>**

Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 609.281, subdivision 2; 609.293, subdivisions 1 and 5; 609.34; and 609.36, are repealed.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.

#### FRIDAY, APRIL 21, 2023

# ARTICLE 6 PUBLIC SAFETY AND CRIME VICTIMS

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144.6586, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. **Contents of notice.** The commissioners of health and public safety, in consultation with sexual assault victim advocates and health care professionals, shall develop the notice required by subdivision 1. The notice must inform the victim, at a minimum, of:

(1) the obligation under section 609.35 of the <del>county where the criminal sexual conduct occurred state</del> to pay for the examination performed for the purpose of gathering evidence, that payment is not contingent on the victim reporting the criminal sexual conduct to law enforcement, and that the victim may incur expenses for treatment of injuries;

(2) the victim's rights if the crime is reported to law enforcement, including the victim's right to apply for reparations under sections 611A.51 to 611A.68, information on how to apply for reparations, and information on how to obtain an order for protection or a harassment restraining order; and

(3) the opportunity under section 611A.27 to obtain status information about an unrestricted sexual assault examination kit, as defined in section 299C.106, subdivision 1, paragraph (h).

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 145.4712, is amended to read:

## 145.4712 EMERGENCY CARE TO SEXUAL ASSAULT VICTIMS.

Subdivision 1. **Emergency care to female sexual assault victims.** (a) It shall be the standard of care for all hospitals <u>and other health care providers</u> that provide emergency care to, at a minimum:

(1) provide each female sexual assault victim with medically and factually accurate and unbiased written and oral information about emergency contraception from the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists and distributed to all hospitals by the Department of Health;

(2) orally inform each female sexual assault victim of the option of being provided with emergency contraception at the hospital or other health care facility; and

(3) immediately provide emergency contraception to each sexual assault victim who requests it provided it is not medically contraindicated and is ordered by a legal prescriber. Emergency contraception shall be administered in accordance with current medical protocols regarding timing and dosage necessary to complete the treatment.

(b) A hospital <u>or health care provider</u> may administer a pregnancy test. If the pregnancy test is positive, the hospital <u>or health care provider</u> does not have to comply with the provisions in paragraph (a).

Subd. 2. Emergency care to male and female sexual assault victims. It shall be the standard of care for all hospitals <u>and health care providers</u> that provide emergency care to, at a minimum:

(1) provide each sexual assault victim with factually accurate and unbiased written and oral medical information about prophylactic antibiotics for treatment of sexually transmitted diseases infections;

(2) orally inform each sexual assault victim of the option of being provided prophylactic antibiotics for treatment of sexually transmitted diseases infections at the hospital or other health care facility; and

6046

(3) immediately provide prophylactic antibiotics for treatment of sexually transmitted diseases <u>infections</u> to each sexual assault victim who requests it, provided it is not medically contraindicated and is ordered by a legal prescriber.

#### Sec. 3. [260B.020] OFFICE OF RESTORATIVE PRACTICES.

Subdivision 1. **Definition.** As used in this section, "restorative practices" means programs, practices, and policies that incorporate core principles, including but not limited to voluntariness, prioritization of agreement by the people closest to the harm on what is needed to repair the harm, reintegration into the community, honesty, and respect. Further, restorative practices are rooted in community values and create meaningful outcomes that may include but are not limited to:

(1) establishing and meeting goals related to increasing connection to community, restoring relationships, and increasing empathy, perspective taking, and taking responsibility for impact of actions by all parties involved;

(2) addressing the needs of those who have been harmed;

(3) recognizing and addressing the underlying issues of behavior;

(4) engaging with those most directly affected by an incident and including community members that reflect the diversity of the child's environment;

(5) having broad authority to determine the complete and appropriate responses to specific incidents through the use of a collaborative process;

(6) providing solutions and approaches that affirm and are tailored to specific cultures; and

(7) implementing policies and procedures that are informed by the science of the social, emotional, and cognitive development of children.

<u>Subd. 2.</u> <u>Establishment.</u> The Office of Restorative Practices is established within the Department of Public Safety. The Office of Restorative Practices shall have the powers and duties described in this section.

Subd. 3. Department of Children, Youth, and Family; automatic transfer. In the event that a Department of Children, Youth, and Family is created as an independent agency, the Office of Restorative Practices shall be transferred to that department pursuant to section 15.039 effective six months following the effective date for legislation creating that department.

Subd. 4. **Director; other staff.** (a) The commissioner of public safety shall appoint a director of the Office of Restorative Practices. The director should have qualifications that include or are similar to the following:

(1) experience in the many facets of restorative justice and practices such as peacemaking circles, sentencing circles, community conferencing, community panels, and family group decision making;

(2) experience in victim-centered and trauma-informed practices;

(3) knowledge of the range of social problems that bring children and families to points of crisis such as poverty, racism, unemployment, and unequal opportunity;

(4) knowledge of the many ways youth become involved in other systems such as truancy, juvenile delinquency, child protection; and

(b) The director shall hire additional staff to perform the duties of the Office of Restorative Practices. The staff shall be in the classified service of the state and their compensation shall be established pursuant to chapter 43A.

Subd. 5. Duties. (a) The Office of Restorative Practices shall promote the use of restorative practices across multiple disciplines, including but not limited to:

(1) pretrial diversion programs established pursuant to section 388.24;

(2) delinquency, criminal justice, child welfare, and education systems; and

(3) community violence prevention practices.

(b) The Office of Restorative Practices shall collaborate with Tribal communities, counties, multicounty agencies, other state agencies, nonprofit agencies, and other jurisdictions, and with existing restorative practices initiatives in those jurisdictions to establish new restorative practices initiatives, support existing restorative practices initiatives, and identify effective restorative practices initiatives.

(c) The Office of Restorative Practices shall encourage collaboration between jurisdictions by creating a statewide network, led by restorative practitioners, to share effective methods and practices.

(d) The Office of Restorative Practices shall create a statewide directory of restorative practices initiatives. The office shall make this directory available to all restorative practices initiatives, counties, multicounty agencies, nonprofit agencies, and Tribes in order to facilitate referrals to restorative practices initiatives and programs.

(e) The Office of Restorative Practices shall work throughout the state to build capacity for the use of restorative practices in all jurisdictions and shall encourage every county to have at least one available restorative practices initiative.

(f) The Office of Restorative Practices shall engage restorative practitioners in discerning ways to measure the effectiveness of restorative efforts throughout the state.

(g) The Office of Restorative Practices shall oversee the coordination and establishment of local restorative practices advisory committees. The office shall oversee compliance with the conditions of this funding program. If a complaint or concern about a local advisory committee or a grant recipient is received, the Office of Restorative Practices shall exercise oversight as provided in this section.

(h) The Office of Restorative Practices shall provide information to local restorative practices advisory committees, or restorative practices initiatives in Tribal communities and governments, counties, multicounty agencies, other state agencies, and other jurisdictions about best practices that are developmentally tailored to youth, trauma-informed, and healing-centered, and provide technical support. Providing information includes but is not limited to sharing data on successful practices in other jurisdictions, sending notification about available training opportunities, and sharing known resources for financial support. The Office of Restorative Practices shall also provide training and technical support to local restorative practices advisory committees. Training includes but is not limited to the use and scope of restorative practices, victim-centered restorative practices, and trauma-informed care.

(i) The Office of Restorative Practices shall annually establish minimum requirements for the grant application process.

(j) The Office of Restorative Practices shall work with Tribes, counties, multicounty agencies, and nonprofit agencies throughout the state to educate those entities about the application process for grants and encourage applications.

Subd. 6. <u>Grants.</u> (a) Within available appropriations, the director shall award grants to establish and support restorative practices initiatives. An approved applicant must receive a grant of up to \$500,000 each year.

(b) On an annual basis, the Office of Restorative Practices shall establish a minimum number of applications that must be received during the application process. If the minimum number of applications is not received, the office must reopen the application process.

(c) Grants may be awarded to private and public nonprofit agencies; local units of government, including cities, counties, and townships; local educational agencies; and Tribal governments. A restorative practices advisory committee may support multiple entities applying for grants based on community needs, the number of youth and families in the jurisdiction, and the number of restorative practices available to the community. Budgets supported by grant funds can include contracts with partner agencies.

(d) Applications must include the following:

(1) a list of willing restorative practices advisory committee members;

(2) letters of support from potential restorative practices advisory committee members;

(3) a description of the planning process that includes:

(i) a description of the origins of the initiative, including how the community provided input; and

(ii) an estimated number of participants to be served; and

(4) a formal document containing a project description that outlines the proposed goals, activities, and outcomes of the initiative including, at a minimum:

(i) a description of how the initiative meets the minimum eligibility requirements of the grant;

(ii) the roles and responsibilities of key staff assigned to the initiative;

(iii) identification of any key partners, including a summary of the roles and responsibilities of those partners;

(iv) a description of how volunteers and other community members are engaged in the initiative; and

(v) a plan for evaluation and data collection.

(e) In determining the appropriate amount of each grant, the Office of Restorative Practices shall consider the number of individuals likely to be served by the local restorative practices initiative.

Subd. 7. <u>Restorative practices advisory committees; membership and duties.</u> (a) Restorative practices advisory committees must include:

(1) a judge of the judicial district that will be served by the restorative practices initiative;

(2) the county attorney of a county that will be served by the restorative practices initiative or a designee;

6048

(3) the chief district public defender in the district that will be served by the local restorative justice program or a designee;

(4) a representative from the children's unit of a county social services agency assigned to the area that will be served by the restorative practices initiative;

(5) a representative from the local probation department or community corrections agency that works with youth in the area that will be served by the restorative practices initiative;

(6) a representative from a local law enforcement agency that operates in the area that will be served by the restorative practices initiative;

(7) a school administrator or designee from a school or schools that operate in the area that will be served by the restorative practices initiative;

(8) multiple community members that reflect the racial, socioeconomic, and other diversity of the population of a county that will be served by the local restorative justice program and the individuals most frequently involved in the truancy, juvenile offender, and juvenile safety and placement systems;

(9) restorative practitioners, including restorative practitioners from within the community if available and, if not, from nearby communities;

(10) parents, youth, and justice-impacted participants; and

(11) at least one representative from a victims advocacy group.

(b) Community members described in paragraph (a), clause (8), must make up at least one-third of the restorative practices advisory committee.

(c) Community members, parents, youth, and justice-impacted participants participating in the advisory committee may receive a per diem from grant funds in the amount determined by the General Services Administration.

(d) The restorative practices advisory committees must utilize restorative practices in their decision-making process and come to consensus when developing, expanding, and maintaining restorative practices criteria and referral processes for their communities.

(e) Restorative practices advisory committees shall be responsible for establishing eligibility requirements for referrals to the local restorative practices initiative. Once restorative practices criteria and referral processes are developed, children, families, and cases, depending upon the point of prevention or intervention, must be referred to the local restorative practices initiatives or programs that serve the county, local community, or Tribal community where the child and family reside.

(f) Referrals may be made under circumstances, including but not limited to:

(1) as an alternative to arrest as outlined in section 260B.1755;

(2) for a juvenile petty offense;

(3) for a juvenile traffic offense;

(4) for a juvenile delinquency offense, including before and after a delinquency petition has been filed;

(5) for a child protection case, including before and after adjudication;

(6) for a children's mental health case;

(7) for a juvenile status offense, including but not limited to truancy or running away;

(8) for substance use issues;

(9) for situations involving transition to or from the community; and

(10) through self-referral.

<u>Subd. 8.</u> <u>Oversight of restorative practices advisory committees.</u> (a) Complaints by restorative practices advisory committee members, community members, restorative practices initiatives, or restorative practices practitioners regarding concerns about grant recipients may be made to the Office of Restorative Practices.</u>

(b) The Office of Restorative Practices may prescribe the methods by which complaints to the office are to be made, reviewed, and acted upon.

(c) The Office of Restorative Practices shall establish and use a restorative process to respond to complaints so that grant recipients are being held to their agreed upon responsibilities and continue to meet the minimum eligibility requirements for grants to local restorative practices initiatives for the duration of the grant.

Subd. 9. **Report.** By February 15 of each year, the director shall report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees and divisions with jurisdiction over public safety, human services, and education, on the work of the Office of Restorative Practices, any grants issued pursuant to this section, and the status of local restorative practices initiatives in the state that were reviewed in the previous year.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 297I.06, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. **Insurance policies surcharge.** (a) Except as otherwise provided in subdivision 2, each licensed insurer engaged in writing policies of homeowner's insurance authorized in section 60A.06, subdivision 1, clause (1)(c), or commercial fire policies or commercial nonliability policies shall collect a surcharge as provided in this paragraph. Through June 30, 2013, The surcharge is equal to 0.65 percent of the gross premiums and assessments, less return premiums, on direct business received by the company, or by its agents for it, for homeowner's insurance policies, commercial fire policies, and commercial nonliability insurance policies in this state. Beginning July 1, 2013, the surcharge is 0.5 percent.

(b) The surcharge amount collected under paragraph (a) or subdivision 2, paragraph (b), may not be considered premium for any other purpose. The surcharge amount under paragraph (a) must be separately stated on either a billing or policy declaration or document containing similar information sent to an insured.

(c) Amounts collected by the commissioner under this section must be deposited in the fire safety account established pursuant to subdivision 3.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 299A.38, is amended to read:

#### 299A.38 SOFT BODY ARMOR REIMBURSEMENT.

Subdivision 1. Definitions. As used in this section:

(a) (1) "commissioner" means the commissioner of public safety-:

6050

(2) "firefighter" means a volunteer, paid on-call, part-time, or career firefighter serving a general population within the boundaries of the state;

(b) (3) "peace officer" means a person who is licensed under section 626.84, subdivision 1, paragraph (c)-:

(4) "public safety officer" means a firefighter or qualified emergency medical service provider;

(5) "qualified emergency medical service provider" means a person certified under section 144E.101 who is actively employed by a Minnesota licensed ambulance service; and

(c) (6) "vest" means bullet-resistant soft body armor that is flexible, concealable, and custom fitted to the peace officer to provide ballistic and trauma protection.

Subd. 2. State and local reimbursement. Peace officers and heads of local law enforcement agencies and <u>public safety officers and heads of agencies and entities</u> who buy vests for the use of peace officer employees, <u>public safety officer employees</u>, <u>or both</u> may apply to the commissioner for reimbursement of funds spent to buy vests. On approving an application for reimbursement, the commissioner shall pay the applicant an amount equal to the lesser of one-half of the vest's purchase price or \$600, as adjusted according to subdivision 2a. The political subdivision, <u>agency, or entity</u> that employs the peace officer <u>or public safety officer</u> shall pay at least the lesser of one-half of the vest's purchase price or \$600, as adjusted according to subdivision 2a. The political subdivision, <u>agency, or entity</u> may not deduct or pay its share of the vest's cost from any clothing, maintenance, or similar allowance otherwise provided to the peace officer by the law enforcement agency <u>or public safety officer</u> by the employing agency or entity.

Subd. 2a. **Adjustment of reimbursement amount.** On October 1, 2006, the commissioner of public safety shall adjust the \$600 reimbursement amounts specified in subdivision 2, and in each subsequent year, on October 1, the commissioner shall adjust the reimbursement amount applicable immediately preceding that October 1 date. The adjusted rate must reflect the annual percentage change in the Consumer Price Index for all urban consumers, published by the federal Bureau of Labor Statistics, occurring in the one-year period ending on the preceding June 1.

Subd. 3. **Eligibility requirements.** (a) Only vests that either meet or exceed the requirements of standard 0101.03 of the National Institute of Justice or that meet or exceed the requirements of that standard, except wet armor conditioning, are eligible for reimbursement.

(b) Eligibility for reimbursement is limited to vests bought after December 31, 1986, by or for peace officers (1) who did not own a vest meeting the requirements of paragraph (a) before the purchase, or (2) who owned a vest that was at least five years old.

(c) The requirement set forth in paragraph (b), clauses (1) and (2), shall not apply to any peace officer who purchases a vest constructed from a zylon-based material, provided that the peace officer provides proof of purchase or possession of the vest prior to July 1, 2005.

Subd. 4. Rules. The commissioner may adopt rules under chapter 14 to administer this section.

Subd. 5. Limitation of liability. A state agency, political subdivision of the state, or state or local government employee, or other entity that provides reimbursement for purchase of a vest under this section is not liable to a peace officer or the peace officer's heirs or a public safety officer or the public safety officer's heirs for negligence in the death of or injury to the peace officer because the vest was defective or deficient.

Subd. 6. **Right to benefits unaffected.** A peace officer <u>or public safety officer</u> who is reimbursed for the purchase of a vest under this section and who suffers injury or death because the officer failed to wear the vest, or because the officer wore a vest that was defective or deficient, may not lose or be denied a benefit or right, including a benefit under section 299A.44, to which the officer, or the officer's heirs, is otherwise entitled.

JOURNAL OF THE HOUSE

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 299A.41, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. **Killed in the line of duty.** "Killed in the line of duty" does not include deaths from natural causes, except as provided in this subdivision. In the case of a public safety officer, killed in the line of duty includes the death of a public safety officer caused by accidental means while the public safety officer is acting in the course and scope of duties as a public safety officer. Killed in the line of duty also means if a public safety officer dies as the direct and proximate result of a heart attack, stroke, or vascular rupture, that officer shall be presumed to have died as the direct and proximate result of a personal injury sustained in the line of duty if:

(1) that officer, while on duty:

(i) engaged in a situation, and that engagement involved nonroutine stressful or strenuous physical law enforcement, fire suppression, rescue, hazardous material response, emergency medical services, prison security, disaster relief, or other emergency response activity; or

(ii) participated in a training exercise, and that participation involved nonroutine stressful or strenuous physical activity;

(2) that officer died as a result of a heart attack, stroke, or vascular rupture suffered:

(i) while engaging or participating under clause (1);

(ii) while still on duty after engaging or participating under clause (1); or

(iii) not later than 24 hours after engaging or participating under clause (1); and

(3) that officer died due to suicide secondary to a diagnosis of posttraumatic stress disorder as described in the most recent edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders published by the American Psychiatric Association;

(4) within 45 days of the end of exposure, while on duty, to a traumatic event. As used in this section, "traumatic event" means an officer exposed to an event that is:

(i) a homicide, suicide, or the violent or gruesome death of another individual, including but not limited to a death resulting from a mass casualty event, mass fatality event, or mass shooting;

(ii) a harrowing circumstance posing an extraordinary and significant danger or threat to the life of or of serious bodily harm to any individual, including but not limited to a death resulting from a mass casualty event, mass fatality event, or mass shooting; or

(iii) an act of criminal sexual violence committed against any individual; and

(3) (5) the presumption is not overcome by competent medical evidence to the contrary.

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 299A.85, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. **Reports.** The office must report on measurable outcomes achieved to meet its statutory duties, along with specific objectives and outcome measures proposed for the following year. The report must include data and statistics on missing and murdered Indigenous women, children, and <u>Two-Spirit</u> relatives in Minnesota, including names, dates of disappearance, and dates of death, to the extent the data is publicly available. <u>The report must also</u> identify and describe the work of any reward advisory group and itemize the expenditures of the <u>Gaagige-Mikwendaagoziwag reward account, if any</u>. The office must submit the report by January 15 each year to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with primary jurisdiction over public safety.

Subdivision 1. Establishment. The commissioner shall establish and maintain an office dedicated to preventing and ending the targeting of Black women and girls within the Minnesota Office of Justice Programs.

Subd. 2. Director; staff. (a) The commissioner must appoint a director who is a person closely connected to the Black community and who is highly knowledgeable about criminal investigations. The commissioner is encouraged to consider candidates for appointment who are recommended by members of the Black community.

(b) The director may select, appoint, and compensate out of available funds assistants and employees as necessary to discharge the office's responsibilities.

(c) The director and full-time staff shall be members of the Minnesota State Retirement Association.

Subd. 3. Duties. (a) The office has the following duties:

(1) advocate in the legislature for legislation that will facilitate the accomplishment of mandates identified in the report of the Task Force on Missing and Murdered African American Women;

(2) advocate for state agencies to take actions to facilitate the accomplishment of mandates identified in the report of the Task Force on Missing and Murdered African American Women;

(3) develop recommendations for legislative and agency actions to address injustice in the criminal justice system's response to cases of missing and murdered Black women and girls;

(4) facilitate research to refine the mandates in the report of the Task Force on Missing and Murdered African American Women and to assess the potential efficacy, feasibility, and impact of the recommendations;

(5) collect data on missing person and homicide cases involving Black women and girls, including the total number of cases, the rate at which the cases are solved, the length of time the cases remain open, and a comparison to similar cases involving different demographic groups;

(6) collect data on Amber Alerts, including the total number of Amber Alerts issued, the total number of Amber Alerts that involve Black girls, and the outcome of cases involving Amber Alerts disaggregated by the child's race and sex;

(7) collect data on reports of missing Black girls, including the number classified as voluntary runaways, and a comparison to similar cases involving different demographic groups;

(8) analyze and assess the intersection between cases involving missing and murdered Black women and girls and labor trafficking and sex trafficking:

(9) develop recommendations for legislative, agency, and community actions to address the intersection between cases involving missing and murdered Black women and girls and labor trafficking and sex trafficking;

(10) analyze and assess the intersection between cases involving murdered Black women and girls and domestic violence, including prior instances of domestic violence within the family or relationship, whether an offender had prior convictions for domestic assault or related offenses, and whether the offender used a firearm in the murder or any prior instances of domestic assault:

(11) develop recommendations for legislative, agency, and community actions to address the intersection between cases involving murdered Black women and girls and domestic violence;

(12) develop tools and processes to evaluate the implementation and impact of the efforts of the office;

(13) track and collect Minnesota data on missing and murdered Black women and girls, and provide statistics upon public or legislative inquiry;

(14) facilitate technical assistance for local and Tribal law enforcement agencies during active cases involving missing and murdered Black women and girls;

(15) conduct case reviews and report on the results of case reviews for the following types of cases involving missing and murdered Black women and girls: cold cases for missing Black women and girls and death investigation review for cases of Black women and girls ruled as suicide or overdose under suspicious circumstances;

(16) conduct case reviews of the prosecution and sentencing for cases where a perpetrator committed a violent or exploitative crime against a Black woman or girl. These case reviews must identify those cases where the perpetrator is a repeat offender;

(17) prepare draft legislation as necessary to allow the office access to the data necessary for the office to conduct the reviews required in this section and advocate for passage of that legislation;

(18) review sentencing guidelines for crimes related to missing and murdered Black women and girls, recommend changes if needed, and advocate for consistent implementation of the guidelines across Minnesota courts;

(19) develop and maintain communication with relevant divisions in the Department of Public Safety, including but not limited to the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension, regarding any cases involving missing and murdered Black women and girls and on procedures for investigating cases involving missing and murdered Black women and girls;

(20) consult with the Council for Minnesotans of African Heritage established in section 15.0145; and

(21) coordinate, as relevant, with federal efforts, and efforts in neighboring states and Canada.

(b) As used in this subdivision:

(1) "labor trafficking" has the meaning given in section 609.281, subdivision 5; and

(2) "sex trafficking" has the meaning given in section 609.321, subdivision 7a.

Subd. 4. Coordination with other organizations. In fulfilling its duties, the office may coordinate, as useful, with stakeholder groups that were represented on the Task Force on Missing and Murdered African American Women and state agencies that are responsible for the systems that play a role in investigating, prosecuting, and adjudicating cases involving violence committed against Black women and girls; those who have a role in supporting or advocating for missing or murdered Black women and girls and the people who seek justice for them; and those who represent the interests of Black people. This includes the following entities: Minnesota Chiefs of Police Association; Minnesota Sheriffs' Association; Bureau of Criminal Apprehension; Minnesota Police and Peace Office; juvenile courts; Minnesota Coroners' and Medical Examiners' Association; United States Attorney's Office; juvenile courts; Minnesota Of Health, Human Services, Education, Corrections, and Public Safety; service providers who offer legal services, advocacy, and other services to Black women and girls; Black women and girls women and girls women and girls women and girls women and girls.

## FRIDAY, APRIL 21, 2023

Subd. 5. **Reports.** The office must report on measurable outcomes achieved to meet its statutory duties, along with specific objectives and outcome measures proposed for the following year. The report must include data and statistics on missing and murdered Black women and girls in Minnesota, including names, dates of disappearance, and dates of death, to the extent the data is publicly available. The office must submit the report by January 15 each year to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with primary jurisdiction over public safety.

Subd. 6. Acceptance of gifts and receipt of grants. (a) A missing and murdered Black women and girls account is established in the special revenue fund. Money in the account, including interest earned, is appropriated to the office for the purposes of carrying out the office's duties, including but not limited to issuing grants to community-based organizations.

(b) Notwithstanding sections 16A.013 to 16A.016, the office may accept funds contributed by individuals and may apply for and receive grants from public and private entities. The funds accepted or received under this subdivision must be deposited in the missing and murdered Black women and girls account created under paragraph (a).

<u>Subd. 7.</u> <u>Grants to organizations.</u> (a) The office shall issue grants to community-based organizations that provide services designed to prevent or end the targeting of Black women or girls, or to provide assistance to victims of offenses that targeted Black women or girls.

(b) Grant recipients must use money to:

(1) provide services designed to reduce or prevent crimes or other negative behaviors that target Black women or girls;

(2) provide training to the community about how to handle situations and crimes involving the targeting of Black women and girls, including but not limited to training for law enforcement officers, county attorneys, city attorneys, judges, and other criminal justice partners; or

(3) provide services to Black women and girls who are victims of crimes or other offenses, or to the family members of missing and murdered Black women and girls.

(c) Applicants must apply in a form and manner established by the office.

(d) Grant recipients must provide an annual report to the office that includes:

(1) the services provided by the grant recipient;

(2) the number of individuals served in the previous year; and

(3) any other information required by the office.

(e) On or before February 1 of each year, the office shall report to the legislative committees and divisions with jurisdiction over public safety on the work of grant recipients, including a description of the number of entities awarded grants, the amount of those grants, and the number of individuals served by the grantees.

(f) The office may enter into agreements with the Office of Justice Programs for the administration of grants issued under this subdivision.

Subd. 8. <u>Access to data.</u> Notwithstanding section 13.384 or 13.85, the director has access to corrections and detention data and medical data maintained by an agency and classified as private data on individuals or confidential data on individuals to the extent the data is necessary for the office to perform its duties under this section.

# Sec. 9. [299C.055] LEGISLATIVE REPORT ON FUSION CENTER ACTIVITIES.

(a) The superintendent must prepare an annual report for the public and the legislature on the Minnesota Fusion Center (MNFC) that includes general information about the MNFC; the types of activities it monitors; the scale of information it collects; the local, state, and federal agencies with which it shares information; and the quantifiable benefits it produces. None of the reporting requirements in this section supersede chapter 13 or any other state or federal law. The superintendent must report on activities for the preceding calendar year unless another time period is specified. The report must include the following information, to the extent allowed by other law:

(1) the MNFC's operating budget for the current biennium, number of staff, and staff duties;

(2) the number of publications generated and an overview of the type of information provided in the publications, including products such as law enforcement briefs, partner briefs, risk assessments, threat assessments, and operational reports;

(3) a summary of audit findings for the MNFC and what corrective actions were taken pursuant to audits;

(4) the number of data requests received by the MNFC and a general description of those requests;

(5) the types of surveillance and data analysis technologies utilized by the MNFC, such as artificial intelligence or social media analysis tools;

(6) a description of the commercial and governmental databases utilized by the MNFC to the extent permitted by law;

(7) the number of suspicious activity reports (SARs) received and processed by the MNFC;

(8) the number of SARs received and processed by the MNFC that were converted into Bureau of Criminal Apprehension case files, that were referred to the Federal Bureau of Investigation, or that were referred to local law enforcement agencies;

(9) the number of SARs received and processed by the MNFC that involve an individual on the Terrorist Screening Center watchlist;

(10) the number of requests for information (RFIs) that the MNFC received from law enforcement agencies and the number of responses to federal requests for RFIs;

(11) the names of the federal agencies the MNFC received data from or shared data with;

(12) the names of the agencies that submitted SARs;

(13) a summary description of the MNFC's activities with the Joint Terrorism Task Force; and

(14) the number of investigations aided by the MNFC's use of SARs and RFIs.

(b) The report shall be provided to the chairs and ranking minority members of the committees of the house of representatives and senate with jurisdiction over data practices and public safety issues, and shall be posted on the MNFC website by February 15 each year beginning on February 15, 2024.

Sec. 10. [299C.061] STATE FRAUD UNIT.

Subdivision 1. **Definitions.** As used in this section, the following terms have the meanings provided:

(1) "fraud" includes any violation of sections 609.466, 609.611, 609.651, 609.7475, or 609.821;

(2) "peace officer" has the meaning given in section 626.84, subdivision 1, paragraph (c);

(3) "state agency" has the meaning given in section 13.02, subdivision 17;

(4) "superintendent" means the superintendent of the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension; and

(5) "unit" means the State Fraud Unit housed at the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension.

Subd. 2. State Fraud Unit. The superintendent shall form a State Fraud Unit within the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension to conduct investigations into fraud involving state-funded programs or services subject to availability of funds.

Subd. 3. Mandatory referral; duty to investigate. A state agency shall refer all suspected fraudulent activity under the provisions noted within subdivision 1, clause (1), equaling \$100,000 or more, to the unit for evaluation and investigation or appropriate referral. Upon receipt of this referral, the unit shall review and, where appropriate, conduct criminal investigations into such allegations. The unit has sole discretion as to which allegations are investigated further, referred back to the reporting agency for appropriate regulatory investigation, or referred to another law enforcement agency with appropriate jurisdiction.

Subd. 4. Discretionary referral. (a) A state agency may refer suspected fraudulent activity related to any state-funded programs or services equaling less than \$100,000 to the unit for investigation. Upon referral, the unit shall:

(1) accept the referral and, where appropriate, conduct criminal investigations into the allegations and make appropriate referrals for criminal prosecution; or

(2) redirect the referral to another appropriate law enforcement agency or civil investigative authority, offering assistance where appropriate.

Subd. 5. <u>State agency reporting.</u> By January 15 of each year, each state agency must report all suspected fraudulent activities equaling \$10,000 or more to the unit to be summarized in the report under subdivision 6.

Subd. 6. State Fraud Unit annual report. By February 1 of each odd-numbered year, the superintendent shall report to the commissioner, the governor, and the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over public safety finance and policy the following information about the unit:

(1) the number of investigations initiated;

(2) the number of allegations investigated;

(3) the outcomes or current status of each investigation;

(4) the charging decisions made by the prosecuting authority of incidents investigated by the unit:

(5) the number of plea agreements reached in incidents investigated by the unit;

(6) the number of reports received under subdivision 5; and

(7) any other information relevant to the unit's mission.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** Subdivisions 1, 3, 5, and 6 are effective July 1, 2023. Subdivisions 3 and 4 are effective January 1, 2024.

JOURNAL OF THE HOUSE

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 299C.106, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. **Submission and storage of sexual assault examination kits.** (a) Within 60 days of receiving an unrestricted sexual assault examination kit, a law enforcement agency shall submit the kit for testing to a forensic laboratory. The testing laboratory shall return unrestricted sexual assault examination kits to the submitting agency for storage after testing is complete. The submitting agency must store unrestricted sexual assault examination kits indefinitely.

(b) Within 60 days of a hospital preparing a restricted sexual assault examination kit or a law enforcement agency receiving a restricted sexual assault examination kit from a hospital, the hospital or the agency shall submit the kit to the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension a forensic laboratory. The bureau laboratory shall store all restricted sexual assault examination kits collected by hospitals or law enforcement agencies in the state. The bureau laboratory shall retain a restricted sexual assault examination kit for at least 30 months from the date the bureau laboratory receives the kit.

(c) The receiving forensic laboratory must test the sexual assault examination kit within 90 days of receipt from a hospital or law enforcement agency. Upon completion of testing, the forensic laboratory will update the kit-tracking database to indicate that testing is complete. The forensic laboratory must notify the submitting agency when any kit testing does not meet the 90-day deadline and provide an estimated time frame for testing completion.

Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 299C.53, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. **Missing and endangered persons.** The Bureau of Criminal Apprehension must operate a missing person alert program. If the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension receives a report from a law enforcement agency indicating that a person is missing and endangered, the superintendent <u>must originate an alert</u>. The superintendent may assist the law enforcement agency in conducting the preliminary investigation, offer resources, and assist the agency in helping implement the investigation policy with particular attention to the need for immediate action. The law enforcement agency shall promptly notify all appropriate law enforcement agencies in the state <u>and is required to issue a missing person alert utilizing the Crime Alert Network as prescribed in section 299A.61</u> and, if deemed appropriate, law enforcement agencies in adjacent states or jurisdictions of any information that may aid in the prompt location and safe return of a missing and endangered person. The superintendent shall provide guidance on issuing alerts using this system and provide the system for law enforcement agencies to issue these alerts. The Bureau of Criminal Apprehension may provide assistance to agencies in issuing missing person alerts as required by this section.

Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 299F.46, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. **Hotel inspection.** (a) It shall be the duty of the commissioner of public safety to inspect, or cause to be inspected, at least once every three years, every hotel in this state; and, for that purpose, the commissioner, or the commissioner's deputies or designated alternates or agents, shall have the right to enter or have access thereto at any reasonable hour; and, when, upon such inspection, it shall be found that the hotel so inspected does not conform to or is not being operated in accordance with the provisions of sections 157.011 and 157.15 to 157.22, in so far as the same relate to fire prevention or fire protection of hotels, or the rules promulgated thereunder, or is being maintained or operated in such manner as to violate the Minnesota State Fire Code promulgated pursuant to section 326B.02, subdivision 6, <u>299F.51</u>, or any other law of this state relating to fire prevention and fire protection of hotels, the commissioner and the deputies or designated alternates or agents shall report such a situation to the hotel inspector who shall proceed as provided for in chapter 157.

(b) The word "hotel", as used in this subdivision, has the meaning given in section 299F.391.

Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 299F.50, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 11. <u>Hotel.</u> "Hotel" means any building, or portion thereof, containing six or more guest rooms intended or designed to be used, or which are used, rented, or hired out to be occupied, or which are occupied for sleeping purposes by guests.

Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 299F.50, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 12. Lodging house. "Lodging house" means any building, or portion thereof, containing not more than five guest rooms which are used or are intended to be used for sleeping purposes by guests and where rent is paid in money, goods, labor, or otherwise.

Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 299F.51, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Generally. (a) Every single family single-family dwelling and every dwelling unit in a multifamily dwelling must have an approved and operational carbon monoxide alarm installed within ten feet of each room lawfully used for sleeping purposes.

(b) Every guest room in a hotel or lodging house must have an approved and operational carbon monoxide alarm installed in each room lawfully used for sleeping purposes.

Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 299F.51, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. **Owner's duties.** (a) The owner of a multifamily dwelling unit which is required to be equipped with one or more approved carbon monoxide alarms must:

(1) provide and install one approved and operational carbon monoxide alarm within ten feet of each room lawfully used for sleeping; and

(2) replace any required carbon monoxide alarm that has been stolen, removed, found missing, or rendered inoperable during a prior occupancy of the dwelling unit and which has not been replaced by the prior occupant prior to the commencement of a new occupancy of a dwelling unit.

(b) The owner of a hotel or lodging house that is required to be equipped with one or more approved carbon monoxide alarms must:

(1) provide and install one approved and operational carbon monoxide alarm in each room lawfully used for sleeping; and

(2) replace any required carbon monoxide alarm that has been stolen, removed, found missing, or rendered inoperable during a prior occupancy and that has not been replaced by the prior occupant prior to the commencement of a new occupancy of a hotel guest room or lodging house.

Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 299F.51, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. Exceptions; certain multifamily dwellings and state-operated facilities. (a) In lieu of requirements of subdivision 1, multifamily dwellings may have approved and operational carbon monoxide alarms detectors installed between 15 and 25 feet of carbon monoxide-producing central fixtures and equipment, provided there is a centralized alarm system or other mechanism for responsible parties to hear the alarm at all times.

6060

#### JOURNAL OF THE HOUSE

(b) An owner of a multifamily dwelling that contains minimal or no sources of carbon monoxide may be exempted from the requirements of subdivision 1, provided that such owner certifies to the commissioner of public safety that such multifamily dwelling poses no foreseeable carbon monoxide risk to the health and safety of the dwelling units.

(c) The requirements of this section do not apply to facilities owned or operated by the state of Minnesota.

Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 299F.51, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

<u>Subd. 6.</u> <u>Safety warning.</u> <u>A first violation of this section shall not result in a penalty, but is punishable by a safety warning.</u> A second or subsequent violation is a petty misdemeanor.

Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 299M.10, is amended to read:

#### 299M.10 MONEY CREDITED TO GENERAL FUND.

The fees and penalties collected under this chapter, except as provided in section 299M.07, must be deposited in the state treasury and credited to the general fund. Money received by the State Fire Marshal Division in the form of gifts, grants, reimbursements, or appropriation from any source for the administration of this chapter must also be deposited in the state treasury and credited to the general fund. state fire marshal account, which is established in the special revenue fund. Money in the state fire marshal account is annually appropriated to the commissioner of public safety to administer the programs under this chapter.

Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 326.32, subdivision 10, is amended to read:

Subd. 10. License holder. "License holder" means any individual, partnership <u>as defined in section 323A.0101,</u> <u>clause (8),</u> or corporation licensed to perform the duties of a private detective or a protective agent.

#### **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment.

## Sec. 22. [604.32] CAUSE OF ACTION FOR NONCONSENSUAL DISSEMINATION OF A DEEP FAKE DEPICTING INTIMATE PARTS OR SEXUAL ACTS.

Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) As used in this section, the following terms have the meanings given.

(b) "Deep fake" means any video recording, motion-picture film, sound recording, electronic image, or photograph, or any technological representation of speech or conduct substantially derivative thereof:

(1) which appears to authentically depict any speech or conduct of an individual who did not in fact engage in such speech or conduct; and

(2) the production of which was substantially dependent upon technical means, rather than the ability of another individual to physically or verbally impersonate such individual.

(c) "Depicted individual" means an individual in a deep fake who appears to be engaging in speech or conduct in which the individual did not engage.

(d) "Intimate parts" means the genitals, pubic area, partially or fully exposed nipple, or anus of an individual.

(e) "Personal information" means any identifier that permits communication or in-person contact with a person, including:

(1) a person's first and last name, first initial and last name, first name and last initial, or nickname;

(2) a person's home, school, or work address;

(3) a person's telephone number, email address, or social media account information; or

(4) a person's geolocation data.

(f) "Sexual act" means either sexual contact or sexual penetration.

(g) "Sexual contact" means the intentional touching of intimate parts or intentional touching with seminal fluid or sperm onto another person's body.

(h) "Sexual penetration" means any of the following acts:

(1) sexual intercourse, cunnilingus, fellatio, or anal intercourse; or

(2) any intrusion, however slight, into the genital or anal openings of an individual by another's body part or an object used by another for this purpose.

<u>Subd. 2.</u> <u>Nonconsensual dissemination of a deep fake.</u> (a) A cause of action against a person for the nonconsensual dissemination of a deep fake exists when:

(1) a person disseminated a deep fake without the consent of the depicted individual;

(2) the deep fake realistically depicts any of the following:

(i) the intimate parts of another individual presented as the intimate parts of the depicted individual;

(ii) artificially generated intimate parts presented as the intimate parts of the depicted individual; or

(iii) the depicted individual engaging in a sexual act; and

(3) the depicted individual is identifiable:

(i) from the deep fake itself, by the depicted individual or by another person; or

(ii) from the personal information displayed in connection with the deep fake.

(b) The fact that the depicted individual consented to the creation of the deep fake or to the voluntary private transmission of the deep fake is not a defense to liability for a person who has disseminated the deep fake without consent.

Subd. 3. Damages. The court may award the following damages to a prevailing plaintiff from a person found liable under subdivision 2:

(1) general and special damages, including all finance losses due to the dissemination of the deep fake and damages for mental anguish:

(2) an amount equal to any profit made from the dissemination of the deep fake by the person who intentionally disclosed the deep fake;

(3) a civil penalty awarded to the plaintiff of an amount up to \$10,000; and

(4) court costs, fees, and reasonable attorney fees.

Subd. 4. <u>Injunction: temporary relief.</u> (a) A court may issue a temporary or permanent injunction or restraining order to prevent further harm to the plaintiff.

(b) The court may issue a civil fine for the violation of a court order in an amount up to \$1,000 per day for failure to comply with an order granted under this section.

Subd. 5. Confidentiality. The court shall allow confidential filings to protect the privacy of the plaintiff in cases filed under this section.

Subd. 6. Liability; exceptions. (a) No person shall be found liable under this section when:

(1) the dissemination is made for the purpose of a criminal investigation or prosecution that is otherwise lawful;

(2) the dissemination is for the purpose of, or in connection with, the reporting of unlawful conduct;

(3) the dissemination is made in the course of seeking or receiving medical or mental health treatment, and the image is protected from further dissemination;

(4) the deep fake was obtained in a commercial setting for the purpose of the legal sale of goods or services, including the creation of artistic products for sale or display, and the depicted individual knew that a deep fake would be created and disseminated in a commercial setting;

(5) the deep fake relates to a matter of public interest and dissemination serves a lawful public purpose and the person disseminating the deep fake as a matter of public interest clearly identifies that the video recording, motion-picture film, sound recording, electronic image, or photograph, or other item is a deep fake, and acts in good faith to prevent further dissemination of the deep fake;

(6) the dissemination is for legitimate scientific research or educational purposes and the deep fake is clearly identified as such, and the person acts in good faith to minimize the risk that the deep fake will be further disseminated; or

(7) the dissemination is made for legal proceedings and is consistent with common practice in civil proceedings necessary for the proper functioning of the criminal justice system, or protected by court order which prohibits any further dissemination.

(b) This section does not alter or amend the liabilities and protections granted by United States Code, title 47, section 230, and shall be construed in a manner consistent with federal law.

(c) A cause of action arising under this section does not prevent the use of any other cause of action or remedy available under the law.

Subd. 7. Jurisdiction. A court has jurisdiction over a cause of action filed pursuant to this section if the plaintiff or defendant resides in this state.

Subd. 8. Venue. A cause of action arising under this section may be filed in either:

(1) the county of residence of the defendant or plaintiff or in the jurisdiction of the plaintiff's designated address if the plaintiff participates in the address confidentiality program established by chapter 5B; or

(2) the county where any deep fake is produced, reproduced, or stored in violation of this section.

Subd. 9. Discovery of dissemination. In a civil action brought under subdivision 2, the statute of limitations is tolled until the plaintiff discovers the deep fake has been disseminated.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to dissemination of a deep fake that takes place on or after that date.

Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.35, is amended to read:

#### 609.35 COSTS OF MEDICAL EXAMINATION.

(a) Costs incurred by a county, city, or private hospital or other emergency medical facility or by a private physician, sexual assault nurse examiner, forensic nurse, or other licensed health care provider for the examination of a victim of criminal sexual conduct when the examination is performed for the purpose of gathering evidence that occurred in the state shall be paid by the county in which the criminal sexual conduct occurred state. These costs include, but are not limited to, the full cost of the rape kit medical forensic examination, associated tests and treatments relating to the complainant's sexually transmitted disease status infection, and pregnancy status, including emergency contraception. A hospital, emergency medical facility, or health care provider shall submit the costs for examination and any associated tests and treatment to the Office of Justice Programs for payment. Upon receipt of the costs, the commissioner shall provide payment to the facility or health care provider. The cost of the examination and any associated test and treatments shall not exceed the amount of \$1,400. Beginning on January 1, 2024, the maximum amount of an award shall be adjusted annually by the inflation rate.

(b) Nothing in this section shall be construed to limit the duties, responsibilities, or liabilities of any insurer, whether public or private. However, a county The hospital or other licensed health care provider performing the examination may seek insurance reimbursement from the victim's insurer only if authorized by the victim. This authorization may only be sought after the examination is performed. When seeking this authorization, the county hospital or other licensed health care provider shall inform the victim that if the victim does not authorize this, the county state is required by law to pay for the examination and that the victim is in no way liable for these costs or obligated to authorize the reimbursement.

(c) The applicability of this section does not depend upon whether the victim reports the offense to law enforcement or the existence or status of any investigation or prosecution.

# **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2023, and applies to any examination that occurs on or after that date.

Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 611A.211, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. **Grants.** The commissioner of public safety shall award grants to programs which provide support services <u>or emergency shelter and housing supports as defined by section 611A.31</u> to victims of sexual assault. The commissioner shall also award grants for training, technical assistance, and the development and implementation of education programs to increase public awareness of the causes of sexual assault, the solutions to preventing and ending sexual assault, and the problems faced by sexual assault victims.

Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 611A.31, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. **Battered woman** <u>Domestic abuse victim</u>. <u>"Battered woman"</u> <u>"Domestic abuse victim"</u> means a <u>woman person</u> who is being or has been victimized by domestic abuse as defined in section 518B.01, subdivision 2.

JOURNAL OF THE HOUSE

Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 611A.31, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. **Emergency shelter services.** "Emergency shelter services" include, but are not limited to, secure crisis shelters for battered women domestic abuse victims and housing networks for battered women domestic abuse victims.

Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 611A.31, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 3a. Housing supports. "Housing supports" means services and supports used to enable victims to secure and maintain transitional and permanent housing placement. Housing supports include but are not limited to rental assistance and financial assistance to maintain housing stability. Transitional housing placements may take place in communal living, clustered site or scattered site programs, or other transitional housing models.

Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 611A.32, is amended to read:

## 611A.32 BATTERED WOMEN DOMESTIC ABUSE PROGRAMS.

Subdivision 1. **Grants awarded.** The commissioner shall award grants to programs which provide emergency shelter services to battered women, housing supports, and support services to battered women and domestic abuse victims and their children. The commissioner shall also award grants for training, technical assistance, and for the development and implementation of education programs to increase public awareness of the causes of battered women and domestic abuse, the solutions to preventing and ending domestic violence, and the problems faced by battered women and domestic abuse victims. Grants shall be awarded in a manner that ensures that they are equitably distributed to programs serving metropolitan and nonmetropolitan populations. By July 1, 1995, community based domestic abuse advocacy and support services programs must be established in every judicial assignment district.

Subd. 1a. **Program for American Indian women** <u>domestic abuse victims</u>. The commissioner shall establish at least one program under this section to provide emergency shelter services and support services to <u>battered</u> American Indian <u>women</u> <u>domestic abuse victims and their children</u>. The commissioner shall grant continuing operating expenses to the program established under this subdivision in the same manner as operating expenses are granted to programs established under subdivision 1.

Subd. 2. **Applications.** Any public or private nonprofit agency may apply to the commissioner for a grant to provide emergency shelter services to battered women, <u>housing supports</u>, support services, and one or more of these <u>services and supports</u> to domestic abuse victims, or both, to battered women and their children. The application shall be submitted in a form approved by the commissioner by rule adopted under chapter 14 and shall include:

(1) a proposal for the provision of emergency shelter services for battered women, <u>housing supports</u>, support services, and one or more of these services and supports for domestic abuse victims, or both, for battered women and their children;

(2) a proposed budget;

(3) the agency's overall operating budget, including documentation on the retention of financial reserves and availability of additional funding sources;

(4) evidence of an ability to integrate into the proposed program the uniform method of data collection and program evaluation established under section 611A.33;

#### FRIDAY, APRIL 21, 2023

(5) evidence of an ability to represent the interests of battered women and domestic abuse victims and their children to local law enforcement agencies and courts, county welfare agencies, and local boards or departments of health;

(6) evidence of an ability to do outreach to unserved and underserved populations and to provide culturally and linguistically appropriate services; and

(7) any other content the commissioner may require by rule adopted under chapter 14, after considering the recommendations of the advisory council.

Programs which have been approved for grants in prior years may submit materials which indicate changes in items listed in clauses (1) to (7), in order to qualify for renewal funding. Nothing in this subdivision may be construed to require programs to submit complete applications for each year of renewal funding.

Subd. 3. **Duties of grantees.** Every public or private nonprofit agency which receives a grant to provide emergency shelter services to battered women and, housing supports, or support services to battered women and domestic abuse victims shall comply with all rules of the commissioner related to the administration of the pilot programs.

Subd. 5. **Classification of data collected by grantees.** Personal history information and other information collected, used or maintained by a grantee from which the identity or location of any victim of domestic abuse may be determined is private data on individuals, as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 12, and the grantee shall maintain the data in accordance with the provisions of chapter 13.

#### Sec. 29. RULES; SOFT BODY ARMOR REIMBURSEMENT.

<u>The commissioner of public safety shall amend rules adopted under Minnesota Statutes, section 299A.38,</u> subdivision 4, to reflect the soft body armor reimbursement for public safety officers under that section.

# Sec. 30. GAAGIGE-MIKWENDAAGOZIWAG REWARD ACCOUNT FOR INFORMATION ON MISSING AND MURDERED INDIGENOUS RELATIVES.

Subdivision 1. Definitions. As used in this section:

(1) "Gaagige-Mikwendaagoziwag" means "they will be remembered forever";

(2) "missing and murdered Indigenous relatives" means missing and murdered Indigenous people from or descended from a federally recognized Indian Tribe; and

(3) "Two-Spirit" means cultural, spiritual, sexual, and gender identity as reflected in complex Indigenous understandings of gender roles, spirituality, and the long history of gender diversity in Indigenous cultures.

Subd. 2. Account created. An account for rewards for information on missing and murdered Indigenous women, girls, boys, and Two-Spirit relatives is created in the special revenue fund. Money deposited into the account is appropriated to the commissioner of public safety to pay rewards and for the purposes provided under this section.

Subd. 3. <u>Reward.</u> The director of the Office for Missing and Murdered Indigenous Relatives, in consultation with the Gaagige-Mikwendaagoziwag reward advisory group:

(1) shall determine the eligibility criteria and procedures for granting rewards under this section; and

(2) is authorized to pay a reward to any person who provides relevant information relating to a missing and murdered Indigenous woman, girl, boy, and Two-Spirit relative investigation.

Subd. 4. **Reward advisory group.** (a) The director of the Office for Missing and Murdered Indigenous Relatives, in consultation with the stakeholder groups described in Minnesota Statutes, section 299A.85, subdivision 5, shall appoint an advisory group to make recommendations on:

(1) paying rewards under this section;

(2) supporting community-based efforts through funding community-led searches and search kits, including but not limited to global position system devices and vests; community-led communications, including but not limited to flyers, staples, and duct tape; and other justice-related expenses;

(3) funding for community-led communications and outreach, including but not limited to billboards and other media-related expenses;

(4) funding activities and programs to gather information on missing and murdered Indigenous women, girls, boys, and Two-Spirit relatives and to partner with and support community-led efforts;

(5) developing, implementing, and coordinating prevention and awareness programming based on best practices and data-driven research; and

(6) any other funding activities and needs.

(b) The advisory group shall consist of the following individuals:

(1) a representative from the Office for Missing and Murdered Indigenous Relatives;

(2) a representative from a Tribal, statewide, or local organization that provides legal services to Indigenous women and girls;

(3) a representative from a Tribal, statewide, or local organization that provides advocacy or counseling for Indigenous women and girls who have been victims of violence;

(4) a representative from a Tribal, statewide, or local organization that provides services to Indigenous women and girls;

(5) a Tribal peace officer who works for or resides on a federally recognized American Indian reservation in Minnesota;

(6) a representative from the Minnesota Human Trafficking Task Force; and

(7) a survivor or family member of a missing and murdered Indigenous woman, girl, boy, or Two-Spirit relative.

(c) Each member shall serve as long as the member occupies the position which made the member eligible for the appointment. Vacancies shall be filled by the appointing authority.

(d) The advisory group shall meet as necessary but at a minimum twice per year to carry out its duties and shall elect a chair from among its members at its first meeting. The director shall convene the group's first meeting. The director shall provide necessary office space and administrative support to the group. Members of the group serve without compensation but shall receive expense reimbursement as provided in Minnesota Statutes, section 15.059.

6066

54TH DAY]

### FRIDAY, APRIL 21, 2023

(e) The representative from the Office for Missing and Murdered Indigenous Relatives may fully participate in the advisory group's activities but may not vote on issues before the group.

<u>Subd. 5.</u> <u>Advertising.</u> <u>The director of the Office for Missing and Murdered Indigenous Relatives, in consultation with the reward advisory group, may spend up to four percent of available funds on an advertising or public relations campaign to increase public awareness on the availability of rewards under this section.</u>

Subd. 6. **Grants; donations.** The director of the Office for Missing and Murdered Indigenous Relatives, in consultation with the reward advisory group, may apply for and accept grants and donations from the public and from public and private entities to implement this section. The commissioner of public safety shall deposit any grants or donations received under this subdivision into the account established under subdivision 1.

Subd. 7. Expiration. This section expires on June 30, 2025.

#### Sec. 31. **REPEALER.**

Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 299C.80, subdivision 7, is repealed.

## ARTICLE 7 SENTENCING

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 244.09, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Members. The Sentencing Guidelines Commission shall consist of the following:

(1) the chief justice of the supreme court or a designee;

(2) one judge of the court of appeals, appointed by the chief justice of the supreme court judge of the appellate court;

(3) one district court judge appointed by the chief justice of the supreme court Judicial Council upon recommendation of the Minnesota District Judges Association;

(4) one public defender appointed by the governor upon recommendation of the state public defender;

(5) one county attorney appointed by the governor upon recommendation of the board of directors of the Minnesota County Attorneys Association;

(6) the commissioner of corrections or a designee;

(7) one peace officer as defined in section 626.84 appointed by the governor;

(8) one probation officer or parole supervised release officer appointed by the governor; and

(9) <u>one person who works for an organization that provides treatment or rehabilitative services for individuals</u> <u>convicted of felony offenses appointed by the governor;</u>

(10) one person who is an academic with a background in criminal justice or corrections appointed by the governor; and

6068

#### JOURNAL OF THE HOUSE

(11) three public members appointed by the governor, one of whom shall be a <u>person who has been the</u> victim of a crime defined as a felony <u>or a victims' advocate</u>, and one of whom shall be a person who has been formerly <u>convicted of and discharged from a felony-level sentence</u>.

When an appointing authority selects individuals for membership on the commission, the authority shall make reasonable efforts to appoint qualified members of protected groups, as defined in section 43A.02, subdivision 33.

One of the members shall be designated by the governor as chair of the commission.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 244.09, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. **Appointment terms.** (a) Except as provided in paragraph (b), each appointed member shall be appointed for four years and shall continue to serve during that time as long as the member occupies the position which made the member eligible for the appointment. Each member shall continue in office until a successor is duly appointed. Members shall be eligible for reappointment, and appointment may be made to fill an unexpired term.

(b) The term of any member appointed or reappointed by the governor before the first Monday in January 1991 2027 expires on that date. The term of any member appointed or reappointed by the governor after the first Monday in January 1991 is coterminous with the governor. The terms of members appointed or reappointed by the governor to fill the vacancies that occur on the first Monday in January 2027 shall be staggered so that five members shall be appointed for initial terms of two years.

(c) The members of the commission shall elect any additional officers necessary for the efficient discharge of their duties.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 244.09, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 15. **Report on sentencing adjustments.** The Sentencing Guidelines Commission shall include in its annual report to the legislature a summary and analysis of sentence adjustments issued under section 609.133. At a minimum, the summary and analysis must include information on the counties where a sentencing adjustment was granted and on the race, sex, and age of individuals who received a sentence adjustment.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.02, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Felony. "Felony" means a crime for which a sentence of imprisonment for more than one year or more may be imposed.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.03, is amended to read:

#### 609.03 PUNISHMENT WHEN NOT OTHERWISE FIXED.

If a person is convicted of a crime for which no punishment is otherwise provided the person may be sentenced as follows:

(1) If the crime is a felony, to imprisonment for not more than five years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$10,000, or both; or

(2) If the crime is a gross misdemeanor, to imprisonment for not more than one year <u>364 days</u> or to payment of a fine of not more than \$3,000, or both; or

(3) If the crime is a misdemeanor, to imprisonment for not more than 90 days or to payment of a fine of not more than \$1,000, or both; or

(4) If the crime is other than a misdemeanor and a fine is imposed but the amount is not specified, to payment of a fine of not more than \$1,000, or to imprisonment for a specified term of not more than six months if the fine is not paid.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment and applies to offenders receiving a gross misdemeanor sentence on or after that date and retroactively to offenders who received a gross misdemeanor sentence before that date.

## Sec. 6. [609.0342] MAXIMUM PUNISHMENT FOR GROSS MISDEMEANORS.

(a) Any law of this state that provides for a maximum sentence of imprisonment of one year or is defined as a gross misdemeanor shall be deemed to provide for a maximum fine of \$3,000 and a maximum sentence of imprisonment of 364 days.

(b) Any sentence of imprisonment for one year or 365 days imposed or executed before July 1, 2023, shall be deemed to be a sentence of imprisonment for 364 days. A court may at any time correct or reduce such a sentence pursuant to rule 27.03, subdivision 9, of the Rules of Criminal Procedure and shall issue a corrected sentencing order upon motion of any eligible defendant.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment and applies to offenders receiving a gross misdemeanor sentence on or after that date and retroactively to offenders who received a gross misdemeanor sentence before that date.

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.105, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Sentence to more than one year or more. A felony sentence to imprisonment for more than one year or more shall commit the defendant to the custody of the commissioner of corrections.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.105, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Sentence to less than one year or less. A sentence to imprisonment for a period of less than one year or any lesser period shall be to a workhouse, work farm, county jail, or other place authorized by law.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.1055, is amended to read:

## 609.1055 OFFENDERS WITH SERIOUS AND PERSISTENT MENTAL ILLNESS; ALTERNATIVE PLACEMENT.

When a court intends to commit an offender with a serious and persistent mental illness, as defined in section 245.462, subdivision 20, paragraph (c), to the custody of the commissioner of corrections for imprisonment at a state correctional facility, either when initially pronouncing a sentence or when revoking an offender's probation, the court, when consistent with public safety, may instead place the offender on probation or continue the offender's probation and require as a condition of the probation that the offender successfully complete an appropriate supervised alternative living program having a mental health treatment component. This section applies only to offenders who would have a remaining term of imprisonment after adjusting for credit for prior imprisonment, if any, of more than one year or more.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

### Sec. 10. [609.133] SENTENCE ADJUSTMENT.

#### Subdivision 1. Definitions. As used in this section:

(1) "prosecutor" means the attorney general, county attorney, or city attorney responsible for the prosecution of individuals charged with a crime; and

## (2) "victim" has the meaning given in section 611A.01.

Subd. 2. **Prosecutor-initiated sentence adjustment.** The prosecutor responsible for the prosecution of an individual convicted of a crime may commence a proceeding to adjust the sentence of that individual at any time after the initial sentencing provided the prosecutor does not seek to increase the period of confinement or, if the individual is serving a stayed sentence, increase the period of supervision.

Subd. 3. <u>Review by prosecutor.</u> (a) A prosecutor may review individual cases at the prosecutor's discretion.

(b) Prior to filing a petition under this section, a prosecutor shall make a reasonable and good faith effort to seek input from any identifiable victim and shall consider the impact an adjusted sentence would have on the victim.

(c) The commissioner of corrections, a supervising agent, or an offender may request that a prosecutor review an individual case. A prosecutor is not required to respond to a request. Inaction by a prosecutor shall not be considered by any court as grounds for an offender, a supervising agent, or the commissioner of corrections to petition for a sentence adjustment under this section or for a court to adjust a sentence without a petition.

Subd. 4. <u>Petition: contents: fee.</u> (a) A prosecutor's petition for sentence adjustment shall be filed in the district court where the individual was convicted and include the following:

(1) the full name of the individual on whose behalf the petition is being brought and, to the extent possible, all other legal names or aliases by which the individual has been known at any time;

(2) the individual's date of birth;

(3) the individual's address;

(4) a brief statement of the reason the prosecutor is seeking a sentence adjustment for the individual;

(5) the details of the offense for which an adjustment is sought, including:

(i) the date and jurisdiction of the occurrence;

(ii) either the names of any victims or that there were no identifiable victims;

(iii) whether there is a current order for protection, restraining order, or other no contact order prohibiting the individual from contacting the victims or whether there has ever been a prior order for protection or restraining order prohibiting the individual from contacting the victims;

(iv) the court file number; and

(v) the date of conviction;

6070

(6) what steps the individual has taken since the time of the offense toward personal rehabilitation, including treatment, work, good conduct within correctional facilities, or other personal history that demonstrates rehabilitation;

(7) the individual's criminal conviction record indicating all convictions for misdemeanors, gross misdemeanors, or felonies in this state, and for all comparable convictions in any other state, federal court, or foreign country, whether the convictions occurred before or after the conviction for which an adjustment is sought:

(8) the individual's criminal charges record indicating all prior and pending criminal charges against the individual in this state or another jurisdiction, including all criminal charges that have been continued for dismissal, stayed for adjudication, or were the subject of pretrial diversion; and

(9) to the extent known, all prior requests by the individual, whether for the present offense or for any other offenses in this state or any other state or federal court, for pardon, return of arrest records, or expungement or sealing of a criminal record, whether granted or not, and all stays of adjudication or imposition of sentence involving the petitioner.

(b) The filing fee for a petition brought under this section shall be waived.

Subd. 5. <u>Service of petition.</u> (a) The prosecutor shall serve the petition for sentence adjustment on the individual on whose behalf the petition is being brought.

(b) The prosecutor shall make a good faith and reasonable effort to notify any person determined to be a victim of the offense for which adjustment is sought of the existence of a petition. Notification under this paragraph does not constitute a violation of an existing order for protection, restraining order, or other no contact order.

(c) Notice to victims of the offense under this subdivision must:

(1) specifically inform the victim of the right to object, orally or in writing, to the proposed adjustment of sentence; and

(2) inform the victims of the right to be present and to submit an oral or written statement at the hearing described in subdivision 6.

(d) If a victim notifies the prosecutor of an objection to the proposed adjustment of sentence and is not present when the court considers the sentence adjustment, the prosecutor shall make these objections known to the court.

Subd. 6. **Hearing.** (a) The court shall hold a hearing on the petition no sooner than 60 days after service of the petition. The hearing shall be scheduled so that the parties have adequate time to prepare and present arguments regarding the issue of sentence adjustment. The parties may submit written arguments to the court prior to the date of the hearing and may make oral arguments before the court at the hearing. The individual on whose behalf the petition has been brought must be present at the hearing, unless excused under Minnesota Rules of Criminal Procedure, rule 26.03, subdivision 1, clause (3).

(b) A victim of the offense for which sentence adjustment is sought has a right to submit an oral or written statement to the court at the time of the hearing describing the harm suffered by the victim as a result of the crime and the victim's recommendation on whether adjustment should be granted or denied. The judge shall consider the victim's statement when making a decision.

#### JOURNAL OF THE HOUSE

(c) Representatives of the Department of Corrections, supervising agents, community treatment providers, and any other individual with relevant information may submit an oral or written statement to the court at the time of the hearing.

Subd. 7. Nature of remedy; standard. (a) The court shall determine whether there are substantial and compelling reasons to adjust the individual's sentence. In making this determination, the court shall consider what impact, if any, a sentence adjustment would have on public safety, including whether an adjustment would promote the rehabilitation of the individual, properly reflect the severity of the underlying offense, or reduce sentencing disparities. In making this determination, the court may consider factors relating to both the offender and the offense, including but not limited to:

(1) the presentence investigation report used at sentencing, if available;

(2) the individual's performance on probation or supervision;

(3) the individual's disciplinary record during any period of incarceration;

(4) records of any rehabilitation efforts made by the individual since the date of offense and any plan to continue those efforts in the community;

(5) evidence that remorse, age, diminished physical condition, or any other factor has significantly reduced the likelihood that the individual will commit a future offense;

(6) the amount of time the individual has served in custody or under supervision; and

(7) significant changes in law or sentencing practice since the date of offense.

(b) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, if the court determines by a preponderance of the evidence that there are substantial and compelling reasons to adjust the individual's sentence, the court may modify the sentence in any way provided the adjustment does not:

(1) increase the period of confinement or, if the individual is serving a stayed sentence, increase the period of supervision;

(2) reduce or eliminate the amount of court-ordered restitution; or

(3) reduce or eliminate a term of conditional release required by law when a court commits an offender to the custody of the commissioner of corrections.

The court may stay imposition or execution of sentence pursuant to section 609.135.

(c) A sentence adjustment is not a valid basis to vacate the judgment of conviction, enter a judgment of conviction for a different offense, or impose sentence for any other offense.

(d) The court shall state in writing or on the record the reasons for its decision on the petition. If the court grants a sentence adjustment, the court shall provide the information in section 244.09, subdivision 15, to the Sentencing Guidelines Commission.

Subd. 8. <u>Appeals.</u> An order issued under this section shall not be considered a final judgment, but shall be treated as an order imposing or staying a sentence.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2023.

FRIDAY, APRIL 21, 2023

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.135, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:

Subd. 1a. Failure to pay restitution. If the court orders payment of restitution as a condition of probation and if the defendant fails to pay the restitution in accordance with the payment schedule or structure established by the court or the probation officer, the prosecutor or the defendant's probation officer may, on the prosecutor's or the officer's own motion or at the request of the victim, ask the court to hold a hearing to determine whether or not the conditions of probation should be changed or probation should be revoked. The defendant's probation officer shall ask for the hearing if the restitution ordered has not been paid prior to 60 days before the term of probation expires. The court shall schedule and hold this hearing and take appropriate action, including action under subdivision 2, paragraph (g) (h), before the defendant's term of probation expires.

Nothing in this subdivision limits the court's ability to refer the case to collections under section 609.104 when a defendant fails to pay court-ordered restitution.

#### **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2023.

Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.135, subdivision 1c, is amended to read:

Subd. 1c. Failure to complete court-ordered treatment. If the court orders a defendant to undergo treatment as a condition of probation and if the defendant fails to successfully complete treatment at least 60 days before the term of probation expires, the prosecutor or the defendant's probation officer may ask the court to hold a hearing to determine whether the conditions of probation should be changed or probation should be revoked. The court shall schedule and hold this hearing and take appropriate action, including action under subdivision 2, paragraph  $\frac{(h)}{(i)}$ , before the defendant's term of probation expires.

#### EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.

Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.135, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. **Stay of sentence maximum periods.** (a) Except as provided in paragraph (b), if the conviction is for a felony other than section 609.2113, subdivision 1 or 2, 609.2114, subdivision 2, or section 609.3451, subdivision 1 or 1a, or Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 609.21, subdivision 1a, paragraph (b) or (c), the stay shall be for not more than four five years or the maximum period for which the sentence of imprisonment might have been imposed, whichever is longer less.

(b) If the conviction is for a felony described in section 609.19, 609.195, 609.20, 609.2112, 609.2662, 609.2663, 609.2664, 609.268, 609.342, 609.343, 609.344, 609.345, 609.3451, 609.3458, or 609.749, the stay shall be for not more than the maximum period for which the sentence of imprisonment might have been imposed.

(b) (c) If the conviction is for a gross misdemeanor violation of section 169A.20, 609.2113, subdivision 3, or 609.3451, or for a felony described in section 609.2113, subdivision 1 or 2, 609.2114, subdivision 2, or 609.3451, subdivision 1 or 1a, the stay shall be for not more than six five years. The court shall provide for unsupervised probation for the last year of the stay unless the court finds that the defendant needs supervised probation for all or part of the last year.

(c) (d) If the conviction is for a gross misdemeanor not specified in paragraph (b) (c), the stay shall be for not more than two years.

(d) (e) If the conviction is for any misdemeanor under section 169A.20; 609.746, subdivision 1; 609.79; or 617.23; or for a misdemeanor under section 609.2242 or 609.224, subdivision 1, in which the victim of the crime was a family or household member as defined in section 518B.01, the stay shall be for not more than two years. The court shall provide for unsupervised probation for the second year of the stay unless the court finds that the defendant needs supervised probation for all or part of the second year.

(e) (f) If the conviction is for a misdemeanor not specified in paragraph (d) (e), the stay shall be for not more than one year.

(f) (g) The defendant shall be discharged six months after the term of the stay expires, unless the stay has been revoked or extended under paragraph (g) (h), or the defendant has already been discharged.

(g) (h) Notwithstanding the maximum periods specified for stays of sentences under paragraphs (a) to (f) (g), a court may extend a defendant's term of probation for up to one year if it finds, at a hearing conducted under subdivision 1a, that:

(1) the defendant has not paid court-ordered restitution in accordance with the payment schedule or structure; and

(2) the defendant is likely to not pay the restitution the defendant owes before the term of probation expires.

This one-year extension of probation for failure to pay restitution may be extended by the court for up to one additional year if the court finds, at another hearing conducted under subdivision 1a, that the defendant still has not paid the court-ordered restitution that the defendant owes.

Nothing in this subdivision limits the court's ability to refer the case to collections under section 609.104.

(h) (i) Notwithstanding the maximum periods specified for stays of sentences under paragraphs (a) to (f) (g), a court may extend a defendant's term of probation for up to three years if it finds, at a hearing conducted under subdivision 1c, that:

(1) the defendant has failed to complete court-ordered treatment successfully; and

(2) the defendant is likely not to complete court-ordered treatment before the term of probation expires.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to sentences announced on or after that date.

## Sec. 14. <u>LIABILITY FOR MURDER COMMITTED BY ANOTHER; RETROACTIVE</u> <u>APPLICATION.</u>

Subdivision 1. **Purpose.** Any person convicted of a violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 609.185, paragraph (a), clause (3), or 609.19, subdivision 2, clause (1), and in the custody of the commissioner of corrections or under court supervision is entitled to petition to have the person's conviction vacated pursuant to this section.

Subd. 2. Notification. (a) By October 1, 2023, the commissioner of corrections shall notify individuals convicted for a violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 609.185, paragraph (a), clause (3), or 609.19, subdivision 2, clause (1), of the right to file a preliminary application for relief if:

(1) the person was convicted for a violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 609.185, paragraph (a), clause (3), and did not actually cause the death of a human being or intentionally aid, advise, hire, counsel, or conspire with or otherwise procure another with the intent to cause the death of a human being; or

(2) the person was convicted for a violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 609.19, subdivision 2, clause (1), and did not actually cause the death of a human being or was not a major participant in the underlying felony who acted with extreme indifference to human life.

(b) The notice shall include the address of the Ramsey County District Court court administration.

54TH DAY]

(c) The commissioner of corrections may coordinate with the judicial branch to establish a standardized notification form.

<u>Subd. 3.</u> <u>Preliminary application.</u> (a) An applicant shall submit a preliminary application to the Ramsey County District Court. The preliminary application must contain:

(1) the applicant's name and, if different, the name under which the person was convicted;

(2) the applicant's date of birth;

(3) the district court case number of the case for which the person is seeking relief;

(4) a statement as to whether the applicant was convicted following a trial or pursuant to a plea:

(5) a statement as to whether the person filed a direct appeal from the conviction, a petition for postconviction relief, or both;

(6) a brief statement, not to exceed 2,000 words, explaining why the applicant is entitled to relief from a conviction for the death of a human being caused by another; and

(7) the name and address of any attorney representing the applicant.

(b) The preliminary application may contain:

(1) the name, date of birth, and district court case number of any other person charged with, or convicted of, a crime arising from the same set of circumstances for which the applicant was convicted; and

(2) a copy of a criminal complaint or indictment, or the relevant portions of a presentence investigation or life imprisonment report, describing the facts of the case for which the applicant was convicted.

(c) The judicial branch may establish a standardized preliminary application form, but shall not reject a preliminary application for failure to use a standardized form.

(d) Any person seeking relief under this section must submit a preliminary application no later than October 1, 2024. Submission is complete upon mailing.

(e) Submission of a preliminary application shall be without costs or any fees charged to the applicant.

Subd. 4. <u>Review of preliminary application.</u> (a) Upon receipt of a preliminary application, the court administrator of the Ramsey County District Court shall immediately direct attention of the filing thereof to the chief judge or judge acting on the chief judge's behalf who shall promptly assign the matter to a judge in said district.

(b) The judicial branch may appoint a special master to review preliminary applications and may assign additional staff as needed to assist in the review of preliminary applications.

(c) The reviewing judge shall determine whether, in the discretion of that judge, there is a reasonable probability that the applicant is entitled to relief under this section.

(d) In making the determination under paragraph (c), the reviewing judge shall consider the preliminary application and any materials submitted with the preliminary application and may consider relevant records in the possession of the judicial branch.

(e) The court may summarily deny an application when the applicant is not in the custody of the commissioner of corrections or under court supervision; the applicant was not convicted of a violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 609.185, paragraph (a), clause (3), or 609.19, subdivision 2, clause (1), before August 1, 2023; the issues raised in the application are not relevant to the relief available under this section or have previously been decided by the court of appeals or the supreme court in the same case; or the applicant has filed a second or successive preliminary application.

(f) If the reviewing judge determines that there is a reasonable probability that the applicant is entitled to relief, the judge shall send notice to the applicant and the applicant's attorney, if any, and the prosecutorial office responsible for prosecuting the applicant. In the event the applicant is without counsel, the reviewing judge shall send notice to the state public defender and shall advise the applicant of such referral.

(g) If the reviewing judge determines that there is not a reasonable probability that the applicant is entitled to relief, the judge shall send notice to the applicant and the applicant's attorney, if any.

Subd. 5. Petition for relief; hearing. (a) Within 60 days of receipt of the notice sent pursuant to subdivision 4, paragraph (f), the individual seeking relief shall file and serve a petition to vacate the conviction. The petition shall contain the information identified in subdivision 3, paragraph (a), and a statement of why the petitioner is entitled to relief. The petition may contain any other relevant information including police reports, trial transcripts, and plea transcripts involving the petitioner or any other person investigated for, charged with, or convicted of a crime arising out of the same set of circumstances for which the petitioner was convicted. The filing of the petition and any document subsequent thereto and all proceedings thereon shall be without costs or any fees charged to the petitioner.

(b) A county attorney representing the prosecutorial office shall respond to the petition by answer or motion within 30 days after the filing of the petition pursuant to paragraph (a), unless extended for good cause. The response shall be filed with the court administrator of the district court and served on the petitioner if unrepresented or on the petitioner's attorney. The response may serve notice of the intent to support the petition or include a statement explaining why the petitioner is not entitled to relief along with any supporting documents. The filing of the response and any document subsequent thereto and all proceedings thereon shall be without costs or any fees charged to the county attorney.

(c) Within 30 days of receipt of the response from the county attorney, the court shall:

(1) issue an order pursuant to subdivision 6 and schedule the matter for sentencing or resentencing pursuant to subdivision 6, paragraph (e), if the county attorney indicates an intent to support the petition;

(2) issue an order denying the petition if additional information or submissions establish that there is not a reasonable probability that the applicant is entitled to relief under this section; or

(3) schedule the matter for a hearing and issue any appropriate order regarding submission of evidence or identification of witnesses.

(d) The hearing shall be held in open court and conducted pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 590.04, except that the petitioner must be present at the hearing, unless excused under Rules of Criminal Procedure, rule 26.03, subdivision 1, clause (3).

Subd. 6. Determination; order; resentencing. (a) A petitioner who was convicted of a violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 609.185, paragraph (a), clause (3), is entitled to relief if the petitioner:

(1) did not cause the death of a human being; and

54TH DAY]

(2) did not intentionally aid, advise, hire, counsel, or conspire with or otherwise procure another with the intent to cause the death of a human being.

(b) A petitioner who was convicted of a violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 609.19, subdivision 2, clause (1), is entitled to relief if the petitioner:

(1) did not cause the death of a human being; and

(2) was not a major participant in the underlying felony and did not act with extreme indifference to human life.

(c) If the court determines that the petitioner does not qualify for relief, the court shall issue an order denying the petition. If the court determines that the petitioner is entitled to relief, the court shall issue an order vacating the conviction for a violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 609.185, paragraph (a), clause (3), or 609.19, subdivision 2, clause (1), and either:

(1) resentence the petitioner for any other offense for which the petitioner was convicted; or

(2) enter a conviction and impose a sentence for any other predicate felony arising out of the course of conduct that served as the factual basis for the conviction vacated by the court.

(d) The court shall state in writing or on the record the reasons for its decision on the petition.

(e) If the court intends to resentence a petitioner or impose a sentence on a petitioner, the court must hold the hearing at a time that allows any victim an opportunity to submit a statement consistent with Minnesota Statutes, section 611A.038. The prosecutor shall make a good faith and reasonable effort to notify any person determined to be a victim of the hearing and the right to submit or make a statement. A sentence imposed under this subdivision shall not increase the petitioner's period of confinement or, if the petitioner was serving a stayed sentence, increase the period of supervision. A person resentenced under this paragraph is entitled to credit for time served in connection with the vacated offense.

(f) Relief granted under this section shall not be treated as an exoneration for purposes of the Incarceration and Exoneration Remedies Act.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2023.

Sec. 15. PROBATION LIMITS; RETROACTIVE APPLICATION.

(a) Any person placed on probation before August 1, 2023, is eligible for resentencing if:

(1) the person was placed on probation for a felony violation;

(2) the court placed the person on probation for a length of time that exceeded five years;

(3) under Minnesota Statutes, section 609.135, subdivision 2, the maximum length of probation the court could have ordered the person to serve on or after August 1, 2023, is five years; and

(4) the sentence of imprisonment has not been executed.

(b) Eligibility for resentencing within the maximum length of probation the court could have ordered the person to serve on or after August 1, 2023, applies to each period of probation ordered by the court. Upon resentencing, periods of probation must be served consecutively if a court previously imposed consecutive periods of probation on the person. The court may not increase a previously ordered period of probation under this section or order that periods of probation be served consecutively unless the court previously imposed consecutive periods of probation.

(c) Resentencing may take place without a hearing.

(d) The term of the stay of probation for any person who is eligible for resentencing under paragraph (a) and who has served five or more years of probation as of August 1, 2023, shall be considered to have expired on October 1, 2023, unless:

(1) the term of the stay of probation would have expired before that date under the original sentence; or

(2) the length of probation is extended pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 609.135, subdivision 2, paragraph (h) or (i).

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to sentences announced before that date.

#### Sec. 16. SENTENCING GUIDELINES COMMISSION; MODIFICATION.

<u>The Sentencing Guidelines Commission shall modify the Sentencing Guidelines to be consistent with changes to</u> <u>Minnesota Statutes, section 609.135, subdivision 2, governing the maximum length of probation a court may order.</u>

### Sec. 17. **<u>REVISOR INSTRUCTION.</u>**

In Minnesota Statutes, the revisor of statutes shall substitute "364 days" for "one year" consistent with the change in this act. The revisor shall also make other technical changes resulting from the change of term to the statutory language if necessary to preserve the meaning of the text.

#### ARTICLE 8 EXPUNGEMENT

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 13.871, subdivision 14, is amended to read:

Subd. 14. **Expungement petitions.** (a) Provisions regarding the classification and sharing of data contained in a petition for expungement of a criminal record are included in section 609A.03.

(b) Provisions regarding the classification and sharing of data related to automatic expungements are included in sections 299C.097 and 609A.015.

#### EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 152.18, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. **Deferring prosecution for certain first time drug offenders.** (a) A court may defer prosecution as provided in paragraph (c) for any person found guilty, after trial or upon a plea of guilty, of a violation of section 152.023, subdivision 2, 152.024, subdivision 2, 152.025, subdivision 2, or 152.027, subdivision 2, 3, 4, or 6, paragraph (d), for possession of a controlled substance, who:

(1) has not previously participated in or completed a diversion program authorized under section 401.065;

(2) has not previously been placed on probation without a judgment of guilty and thereafter been discharged from probation under this section; and

6078

54TH DAY]

FRIDAY, APRIL 21, 2023

(3) has not been convicted of a felony violation of this chapter, including a felony-level attempt or conspiracy, or been convicted by the United States or another state of a similar offense that would have been a felony under this chapter if committed in Minnesota, unless ten years have elapsed since discharge from sentence.

(b) The court must defer prosecution as provided in paragraph (c) for any person found guilty of a violation of section 152.025, subdivision 2, who:

(1) meets the criteria listed in paragraph (a), clauses (1) to (3); and

(2) has not previously been convicted of a felony offense under any state or federal law or of a gross misdemeanor under section 152.025.

(c) In granting relief under this section, the court shall, without entering a judgment of guilty and with the consent of the person, defer further proceedings and place the person on probation upon such reasonable conditions as it may require and for a period, not to exceed the maximum sentence provided for the violation. The court may give the person the opportunity to attend and participate in an appropriate program of education regarding the nature and effects of alcohol and drug abuse as a stipulation of probation. Upon violation of a condition of the probation, the court may enter an adjudication of guilt and proceed as otherwise provided. The court may, in its discretion, dismiss the proceedings against the person and discharge the person from probation before the expiration of the maximum period prescribed for the person's probation. If during the period of probation the person does not violate any of the conditions of the probation, then upon expiration of the period the court shall discharge the person and dismiss the proceedings against that person. Discharge and dismissal under this subdivision shall be without court adjudication of guilt, but a not public record of it shall be retained by the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension for the purpose of use by the courts in determining the merits of subsequent proceedings against the person. The not public record may also be opened only upon court order for purposes of a criminal investigation, prosecution, or sentencing. Upon receipt of notice that the proceedings were dismissed, the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension shall notify the arresting or citing law enforcement agency and direct that agency to seal its records related to the charge. Upon request by law enforcement, prosecution, or corrections authorities, the bureau shall notify the requesting party of the existence of the not public record and the right to seek a court order to open it pursuant to this section. The court shall forward a record of any discharge and dismissal under this subdivision to the bureau which shall make and maintain the not public record of it as provided under this subdivision. The discharge or dismissal shall not be deemed a conviction for purposes of disqualifications or disabilities imposed by law upon conviction of a crime or for any other purpose.

For purposes of this subdivision, "not public" has the meaning given in section 13.02, subdivision 8a.

#### EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 181.981, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Limitation on admissibility of criminal history. Information regarding a criminal history record of an employee or former employee may not be introduced as evidence in a civil action against a private employer or its employees or agents that is based on the conduct of the employee or former employee, if:

(1) the duties of the position of employment did not expose others to a greater degree of risk than that created by the employee or former employee interacting with the public outside of the duties of the position or that might be created by being employed in general;

(2) before the occurrence of the act giving rise to the civil action;

(i) a court order sealed any record of the criminal case;

## (ii) any record of the criminal case was sealed as the result of an automatic expungement, including but not limited to a grant of expungement made pursuant to section 609A.015; or

(iii) the employee or former employee received a pardon;

(3) the record is of an arrest or charge that did not result in a criminal conviction; or

(4) the action is based solely upon the employer's compliance with section 364.021.

#### EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.08, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. **Background studies conducted by Department of Human Services.** (a) For a background study conducted by the Department of Human Services, the commissioner shall review:

(1) information related to names of substantiated perpetrators of maltreatment of vulnerable adults that has been received by the commissioner as required under section 626.557, subdivision 9c, paragraph (j);

(2) the commissioner's records relating to the maltreatment of minors in licensed programs, and from findings of maltreatment of minors as indicated through the social service information system;

(3) information from juvenile courts as required in subdivision 4 for individuals listed in section 245C.03, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), when there is reasonable cause;

(4) information from the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension, including information regarding a background study subject's registration in Minnesota as a predatory offender under section 243.166;

(5) except as provided in clause (6), information received as a result of submission of fingerprints for a national criminal history record check, as defined in section 245C.02, subdivision 13c, when the commissioner has reasonable cause for a national criminal history record check as defined under section 245C.02, subdivision 15a, or as required under section 144.057, subdivision 1, clause (2);

(6) for a background study related to a child foster family setting application for licensure, foster residence settings, children's residential facilities, a transfer of permanent legal and physical custody of a child under sections 260C.503 to 260C.515, or adoptions, and for a background study required for family child care, certified license-exempt child care, child care centers, and legal nonlicensed child care authorized under chapter 119B, the commissioner shall also review:

(i) information from the child abuse and neglect registry for any state in which the background study subject has resided for the past five years;

(ii) when the background study subject is 18 years of age or older, or a minor under section 245C.05, subdivision 5a, paragraph (c), information received following submission of fingerprints for a national criminal history record check; and

(iii) when the background study subject is 18 years of age or older or a minor under section 245C.05, subdivision 5a, paragraph (d), for licensed family child care, certified license-exempt child care, licensed child care centers, and legal nonlicensed child care authorized under chapter 119B, information obtained using non-fingerprint-based data including information from the criminal and sex offender registries for any state in which the background study subject resided for the past five years and information from the national crime information database and the national sex offender registry; and

6080

54TH DAY]

#### FRIDAY, APRIL 21, 2023

(7) for a background study required for family child care, certified license-exempt child care centers, licensed child care centers, and legal nonlicensed child care authorized under chapter 119B, the background study shall also include, to the extent practicable, a name and date-of-birth search of the National Sex Offender Public website.

(b) Notwithstanding expungement by a court, the commissioner may consider information obtained under paragraph (a), clauses (3) and (4), unless:

(1) the commissioner received notice of the petition for expungement and the court order for expungement is directed specifically to the commissioner: or

(2) the commissioner received notice of the expungement order issued pursuant to section 609A.017, 609A.025, or 609A.035, and the order for expungement is directed specifically to the commissioner.

(c) The commissioner shall also review criminal case information received according to section 245C.04, subdivision 4a, from the Minnesota court information system that relates to individuals who have already been studied under this chapter and who remain affiliated with the agency that initiated the background study.

(d) When the commissioner has reasonable cause to believe that the identity of a background study subject is uncertain, the commissioner may require the subject to provide a set of classifiable fingerprints for purposes of completing a fingerprint-based record check with the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension. Fingerprints collected under this paragraph shall not be saved by the commissioner after they have been used to verify the identity of the background study subject against the particular criminal record in question.

(e) The commissioner may inform the entity that initiated a background study under NETStudy 2.0 of the status of processing of the subject's fingerprints.

#### **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2023.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.08, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Background studies conducted by a county agency for family child care. (a) Before the implementation of NETStudy 2.0, for a background study conducted by a county agency for family child care services, the commissioner shall review:

(1) information from the county agency's record of substantiated maltreatment of adults and the maltreatment of minors;

(2) information from juvenile courts as required in subdivision 4 for:

(i) individuals listed in section 245C.03, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), who are ages 13 through 23 living in the household where the licensed services will be provided; and

(ii) any other individual listed under section 245C.03, subdivision 1, when there is reasonable cause; and

(3) information from the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension.

(b) If the individual has resided in the county for less than five years, the study shall include the records specified under paragraph (a) for the previous county or counties of residence for the past five years.

(c) Notwithstanding expungement by a court, the county agency may consider information obtained under paragraph (a), clause (3), unless:

(1) the commissioner received notice of the petition for expungement and the court order for expungement is directed specifically to the commissioner: or

(2) the commissioner received notice of the expungement order issued pursuant to section 609A.017, 609A.025, or 609A.035, and the order for expungement is directed specifically to the commissioner.

#### **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2023.

## Sec. 6. [299C.097] DATABASE FOR IDENTIFYING INDIVIDUALS ELIGIBLE FOR EXPUNGEMENT.

(a) The superintendent of the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension shall maintain a computerized data system relating to petty misdemeanor and misdemeanor offenses that may become eligible for expungement pursuant to section 609A.015 and which do not require fingerprinting pursuant to section 299C.10 and are not linked to an arrest record in the criminal history system.

(b) These data are private data on individuals under section 13.02, subdivision 12.

#### EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2024.

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 299C.10, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. **Required fingerprinting.** (a) Sheriffs, peace officers, and community corrections agencies operating secure juvenile detention facilities shall take or cause to be taken immediately <u>finger fingerprints</u> and <u>thumb prints thumbprints</u>, photographs, distinctive physical mark identification data, information on any known aliases or street names, and other identification data requested or required by the superintendent of the bureau, of the following:

(1) persons arrested for, appearing in court on a charge of, or convicted of a felony, gross misdemeanor, or targeted misdemeanor;

(2) juveniles arrested for, appearing in court on a charge of, adjudicated delinquent for, or alleged to have committed felonies or gross misdemeanors as distinguished from those committed by adult offenders;

(3) adults and juveniles admitted to jails or detention facilities;

(4) persons reasonably believed by the arresting officer to be fugitives from justice;

(5) persons in whose possession, when arrested, are found concealed firearms or other dangerous weapons, burglar tools or outfits, high-power explosives, or articles, machines, or appliances usable for an unlawful purpose and reasonably believed by the arresting officer to be intended for such purposes;

(6) juveniles referred by a law enforcement agency to a diversion program for a felony or gross misdemeanor offense; and

(7) persons currently involved in the criminal justice process, on probation, on parole, or in custody for any offense whom the superintendent of the bureau identifies as being the subject of a court disposition record which cannot be linked to an arrest record, and whose fingerprints are necessary to reduce the number of suspense files, or to comply with the mandates of section 299C.111, relating to the reduction of the number of suspense files. This duty to obtain fingerprints for the offenses in suspense at the request of the bureau shall include the requirement that fingerprints be taken in post-arrest interviews, while making court appearances, while in custody, or while on any form of probation, diversion, or supervised release.

54TH DAY]

#### FRIDAY, APRIL 21, 2023

(b) Unless the superintendent of the bureau requires a shorter period, within 24 hours of taking the fingerprints and data, the fingerprint records and other identification data specified under paragraph (a) must be electronically entered into a bureau-managed searchable database in a manner as may be prescribed by the superintendent.

(c) Prosecutors, courts, and probation officers and their agents, employees, and subordinates shall attempt to ensure that the required identification data is taken on a person described in paragraph (a). Law enforcement may take fingerprints of an individual who is presently on probation.

- (d) Finger Fingerprints and thumb prints thumbprints must be obtained no later than:
- (1) release from booking; or
- (2) if not booked prior to acceptance of a plea of guilty or not guilty.

Prior to acceptance of a plea of guilty or not guilty, an individual's finger and thumb prints must be submitted to the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension for the offense. If finger and thumb prints have not been successfully received by the bureau, an individual may, upon order of the court, be taken into custody for no more than eight hours so that the taking of prints can be completed. Upon notice and motion of the prosecuting attorney, this time period may be extended upon a showing that additional time in custody is essential for the successful taking of prints.

(e) For purposes of this section, a targeted misdemeanor is a misdemeanor violation of section 169A.20 (driving while impaired), 518B.01 (order for protection violation), 609.224 (fifth-degree assault), 609.242 (domestic assault), 609.746 (interference with privacy), 609.748 (harassment or restraining order violation), <u>609.749 (obscene or harassing telephone calls)</u>, 617.23 (indecent exposure), or 629.75 (domestic abuse no contact order).

## **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to violations that occur on or after that date.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 299C.11, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Identification data other than DNA. (a) Each sheriff and chief of police shall furnish the bureau, upon such form as the superintendent shall prescribe, with such finger and thumb prints fingerprints and thumbprints, photographs, distinctive physical mark identification data, information on known aliases and street names, and other identification data as may be requested or required by the superintendent of the bureau, which must be taken under the provisions of section 299C.10. In addition, sheriffs and chiefs of police shall furnish this identification data to the bureau for individuals found to have been convicted of a felony, gross misdemeanor, or targeted misdemeanor, within the ten years immediately preceding their arrest. When the bureau learns that an individual who is the subject of a background check has used, or is using, identifying information, including, but not limited to, name and date of birth, other than those listed on the criminal history, the bureau shall convert into an electronic format, if necessary, and enter into a bureau-managed searchable database the new identifying information if the information is not entered by a law enforcement agency.

(b) No petition under chapter 609A is required if the person has not been convicted of any felony or gross misdemeanor, either within or without the state, within the period of ten years immediately preceding the determination of all pending criminal actions or proceedings in favor of the arrested person, and either of the following occurred:

(1) all charges were dismissed prior to a determination of probable cause; or

(2) the prosecuting authority declined to file any charges and a grand jury did not return an indictment.

Where these conditions are met, the bureau or agency shall, upon demand, destroy the arrested person's finger and thumb prints fingerprints and thumbprints, photographs, distinctive physical mark identification data, information on known aliases and street names, and other identification data, and all copies and duplicates of them.

(c) The bureau or agency shall destroy an arrested person's fingerprints and thumbprints, photographs, distinctive physical mark identification data, information on known aliases and street names, and other identification data and all copies and duplicates of them without the demand of any person or the granting of a petition under chapter 609A if:

(1) the sheriff, chief of police, bureau, or other arresting agency determines that the person was arrested or identified as the result of mistaken identity before presenting information to the prosecuting authority for a charging decision; or

(2) the prosecuting authority declines to file any charges or a grand jury does not return an indictment based on a determination that the person was identified or arrested as the result of mistaken identity.

(d) A prosecuting authority that determines a person was arrested or identified as the result of mistaken identity and either declines to file any charges or receives notice that a grand jury did not return an indictment shall notify the bureau and the applicable sheriff, chief of police, or other arresting agency of the determination.

(c) (e) Except as otherwise provided in paragraph (b) <u>or (c)</u>, upon the determination of all pending criminal actions or proceedings in favor of the arrested person, and the granting of the petition of the arrested person under chapter 609A, the bureau shall seal finger and thumb prints fingerprints and thumbprints, photographs, distinctive physical mark identification data, information on known aliases and street names, and other identification data, and all copies and duplicates of them if the arrested person has not been convicted of any felony or gross misdemeanor, either within or without the state, within the period of ten years immediately preceding such determination.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to determinations that a person was identified as the result of mistaken identity made on or after that date.

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 299C.11, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Definitions. For purposes of this section:

(1) "determination of all pending criminal actions or proceedings in favor of the arrested person" does not include:

(i) the sealing of a criminal record pursuant to section 152.18, subdivision 1, 242.31, or chapter 609A;

(ii) the arrested person's successful completion of a diversion program;

(iii) an order of discharge under section 609.165; or

(iv) a pardon granted under section 638.02; and

(2) "mistaken identity" means the person was incorrectly identified as being a different person:

(i) because the person's identity had been transferred, used, or possessed in violation of section 609.527; or

## FRIDAY, APRIL 21, 2023

(ii) as a result of misidentification by a witness or law enforcement, confusion on the part of a witness or law enforcement as to the identity of the person who committed the crime, misinformation provided to law enforcement as to the identity of the person who committed the crime, or some other mistake on the part of a witness or law enforcement as to the identity of the person who committed the crime; and

(2) (3) "targeted misdemeanor" has the meaning given in section 299C.10, subdivision 1.

#### EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 299C.111, is amended to read:

## 299C.111 SUSPENSE FILE REPORTING.

The superintendent shall immediately notify the appropriate entity or individual when a disposition record <u>for a</u> <u>felony</u>, gross misdemeanor, or targeted misdemeanor is received that cannot be linked to an arrest record.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 299C.17, is amended to read:

#### 299C.17 REPORT BY COURT ADMINISTRATOR.

The superintendent shall require the court administrator of every court which sentences a defendant for a felony, gross misdemeanor, or targeted misdemeanor, or petty misdemeanor to electronically transmit within 24 hours of the disposition of the case a report, in a form prescribed by the superintendent providing information required by the superintendent with regard to the prosecution and disposition of criminal cases. A copy of the report shall be kept on file in the office of the court administrator.

#### **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025.

Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609A.01, is amended to read:

## 609A.01 EXPUNGEMENT OF CRIMINAL RECORDS.

This chapter provides the grounds and procedures for expungement of criminal records under section 13.82; 152.18, subdivision 1; 299C.11, where expungement is automatic under sections 609A.015, 609A.017, or 609A.035, or a petition is authorized under section 609A.02, subdivision 3; or other applicable law. The remedy available is limited to a court order or grant of expungement under section 609A.015 sealing the records and prohibiting the disclosure of their existence or their opening except under court order or statutory authority. Nothing in this chapter authorizes the destruction of records or their return to the subject of the records.

#### **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025.

#### Sec. 13. [609A.015] AUTOMATIC EXPUNGEMENT OF RECORDS.

<u>Subdivision 1.</u> <u>Eligibility; dismissal; exoneration.</u> (a) A person who is the subject of a criminal record or delinquency record is eligible for a grant of expungement relief without the filing of a petition:

(1) if the person was arrested and all charges were dismissed after a case was filed unless dismissal was based on a finding that the defendant was incompetent to proceed;

6086

(2) upon the dismissal and discharge of proceedings against a person under section 152.18, subdivision 1, for violation of section 152.024, 152.025, or 152.027 for possession of a controlled substance; or

(3) if all pending actions or proceedings were resolved in favor of the person.

(b) For purposes of this chapter, a verdict of not guilty by reason of mental illness is not a resolution in favor of the person. For purposes of this chapter, an action or proceeding is resolved in favor of the person if the petitioner received an order under section 590.11 determining that the person is eligible for compensation based on exoneration.

Subd. 2. Eligibility; diversion and stay of adjudication. A person is eligible for a grant of expungement relief if the person has successfully completed the terms of a diversion program or stay of adjudication for a qualifying offense that is not a felony and has not been petitioned or charged with a new offense, other than an offense that would be a petty misdemeanor, in Minnesota:

(1) for one year immediately following completion of the diversion program or stay of adjudication; or

(2) for one year immediately preceding a subsequent review performed pursuant to subdivision 5, paragraph (a).

Subd. 3. Eligibility; certain criminal proceedings. (a) A person is eligible for a grant of expungement relief if the person:

(1) was convicted of a qualifying offense;

(2) has not been convicted of a new offense, other than an offense that would be a petty misdemeanor, in Minnesota:

(i) during the applicable waiting period immediately following discharge of the disposition or sentence for the crime; or

(ii) during the applicable waiting period immediately preceding a subsequent review performed pursuant to subdivision 5, paragraph (a); and

(3) is not charged with an offense, other than an offense that would be a petty misdemeanor, in Minnesota at the time the person reaches the end of the applicable waiting period or at the time of a subsequent review.

(b) As used in this subdivision, "qualifying offense" means a conviction for:

(1) any petty misdemeanor offense other than a violation of a traffic regulation relating to the operation or parking of motor vehicles;

(2) any misdemeanor offense other than:

(i) section 169A.20 under the terms described in section 169A.27 (fourth-degree driving while impaired);

(ii) section 518B.01, subdivision 14 (violation of an order for protection);

(iii) section 609.224 (assault in the fifth degree);

(iv) section 609.2242 (domestic assault);

(v) section 609.748 (violation of a harassment restraining order);

- (vi) section 609.78 (interference with emergency call);
- (vii) section 609.79 (obscene or harassing phone calls);
- (viii) section 617.23 (indecent exposure);
- (ix) section 609.746 (interference with privacy); or
- (x) section 629.75 (violation of domestic abuse no contact order);
- (3) any gross misdemeanor offense other than:
- (i) section 169A.25 (second-degree driving while impaired);
- (ii) section 169A.26 (third-degree driving while impaired);
- (iii) section 518B.01, subdivision 14 (violation of an order for protection);
- (iv) section 609.2113, subdivision 3 (criminal vehicular operation);
- (v) section 609.2231 (assault in the fourth degree);
- (vi) section 609.224 (assault in the fifth degree);
- (vii) section 609.2242 (domestic assault);
- (viii) section 609.233 (criminal neglect);
- (ix) section 609.3451 (criminal sexual conduct in the fifth degree);
- (x) section 609.377 (malicious punishment of child);
- (xi) section 609.485 (escape from custody);
- (xii) section 609.498 (tampering with witness);
- (xiii) section 609.582, subdivision 4 (burglary in the fourth degree);
- (xiv) section 609.746 (interference with privacy);
- (xv) section 609.748 (violation of a harassment restraining order);
- (xvi) section 609.749 (harassment; stalking);
- (xvii) section 609.78 (interference with emergency call);
- (xviii) section 617.23 (indecent exposure);
- (xix) section 617.261 (nonconsensual dissemination of private sexual images); or
- (xx) section 629.75 (violation of domestic abuse no contact order); or

(4) any felony offense listed in section 609A.02, subdivision 3, paragraph (b), other than:

(i) section 152.023, subdivision 2 (possession of a controlled substance in the third degree);

(ii) 152.024, subdivision 2 (possession of a controlled substance in the fourth degree);

(iii) section 609.485, subdivision 4, paragraph (a), clause (2) or (4) (escape from civil commitment for mental illness); or

(iv) section 609.746, subdivision 1, paragraph (e) (interference with privacy; subsequent violation or minor victim).

(c) As used in this subdivision, "applicable waiting period" means:

(1) if the offense was a petty misdemeanor, two years since discharge of the sentence;

(2) if the offense was a misdemeanor, two years since discharge of the sentence for the crime;

(3) if the offense was a gross misdemeanor, three years since discharge of the sentence for the crime;

(4) if the offense was a felony violation of section 152.025, four years since the discharge of the sentence for the crime; and

(5) if the offense was any other felony, five years since discharge of the sentence for the crime.

(d) Felony offenses deemed to be a gross misdemeanor or misdemeanor pursuant to section 609.13, subdivision 1, remain ineligible for expungement under this section. Gross misdemeanor offenses ineligible for a grant of expungement under this section remain ineligible if deemed to be for a misdemeanor pursuant to section 609.13, subdivision 2.

Subd. 4. Notice. (a) The court shall notify a person who may become eligible for an automatic expungement under this section of that eligibility at any hearing where the court dismisses and discharges proceedings against a person under section 152.18, subdivision 1, for violation of section 152.024, 152.025, or 152.027 for possession of a controlled substance; concludes that all pending actions or proceedings were resolved in favor of the person; grants a person's placement into a diversion program; or sentences a person or otherwise imposes a consequence for a qualifying offense.

(b) To the extent possible, prosecutors, defense counsel, supervising agents, and coordinators or supervisors of a diversion program shall notify a person who may become eligible for an automatic expungement under this section of that eligibility.

(c) If any party gives notification under this subdivision, the notification shall inform the person that:

(1) a record expunged under this section may be opened for purposes of a background study by the Department of Human Services under section 245C.08 and for purposes of a background check by the Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board as required under section 122A.18, subdivision 8; and

(2) the person can file a petition to expunge the record and request that the petition be directed to the commissioner of human services and the Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board.

Subd. 5. Bureau of Criminal Apprehension to identify eligible persons and grant expungement relief. (a) The Bureau of Criminal Apprehension shall identify any records that qualify for a grant of expungement relief pursuant to this subdivision or subdivision 1, 2, or 3. The Bureau of Criminal Apprehension shall make an initial determination of eligibility within 30 days of the end of the applicable waiting period. If a record is not eligible for a grant of expungement at the time of the initial determination, the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension shall make subsequent eligibility determinations annually until the record is eligible for a grant of expungement.

(b) In making the determination under paragraph (a), the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension shall identify individuals who are the subject of relevant records through the use of fingerprints and thumbprints where fingerprints and thumbprints are available. Where fingerprints and thumbprints are not available, the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension shall identify individuals through the use of the person's name and date of birth. Records containing the same name and date of birth shall be presumed to refer to the same individual unless other evidence establishes, by a preponderance of the evidence, that they do not refer to the same individual. The Bureau of Criminal Apprehension is not required to review any other evidence in making a determination.

(c) The Bureau of Criminal Apprehension shall grant expungement relief to qualifying persons and seal its own records without requiring an application, petition, or motion. Records shall be sealed 60 days after notice is sent to the judicial branch pursuant to paragraph (e) unless an order of the judicial branch prohibits sealing the records or additional information establishes that the records are not eligible for expungement.

(d) Nonpublic criminal records maintained by the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension and subject to a grant of expungement relief shall display a notation stating "expungement relief granted pursuant to section 609A.015."

(e) The Bureau of Criminal Apprehension shall inform the judicial branch of all cases for which expungement relief was granted pursuant to this section. Notification may be through electronic means and may be made in real time or in the form of a monthly report. Upon receipt of notice, the judicial branch shall seal all records relating to an arrest, indictment or information, trial, verdict, or dismissal and discharge for any case in which expungement relief was granted and shall issue any order deemed necessary to achieve this purpose.

(f) The Bureau of Criminal Apprehension shall inform each law enforcement agency that its records may be affected by a grant of expungement relief. Notification may be through electronic means. Each notified law enforcement agency that receives a request to produce records shall first contact the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension to determine if the records were subject to a grant of expungement under this section. The law enforcement agency must not disclose records relating to an arrest, indictment or information, trial, verdict, or dismissal and discharge for any case in which expungement relief was granted and must maintain the data consistent with the classification in paragraph (g). This paragraph does not apply to requests from a criminal justice agency as defined in section 609A.03, subdivision 7a, paragraph (f), for the purposes of:

(1) initiating, furthering, or completing a criminal investigation or prosecution or for sentencing purposes or providing probation or other correctional services; or

(2) evaluating a prospective employee in a criminal justice agency without a court order.

(g) Data on the person whose offense has been expunged under this subdivision, including any notice sent pursuant to paragraph (f), are private data on individuals as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 12.

(h) The prosecuting attorney shall notify the victim that an offense qualifies for automatic expungement under this section in the manner provided in section 611A.03, subdivisions 1 and 2.

(i) In any subsequent prosecution of a person granted expungement relief, the expunged criminal record may be pleaded and has the same effect as if the relief had not been granted.

(j) The Bureau of Criminal Apprehension is directed to develop, modify, or update a system to provide criminal justice agencies with uniform statewide access to criminal records sealed by expungement.

Subd. 6. Immunity from civil liability. Employees of the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension shall not be held civilly liable for the exercise or the failure to exercise, or the decision to exercise or the decision to decline to exercise, the powers granted by this section or for any act or omission occurring within the scope of the performance of their duties under this section.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025, and applies to offenses that meet the eligibility criteria on or after that date and retroactively to offenses that met those qualifications before January 1, 2025, and are stored in the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension's criminal history system as of January 1, 2025.

## Sec. 14. [609A.017] MISTAKEN IDENTITY; AUTOMATIC EXPUNGEMENT.

Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) As used in this section, the following terms have the meanings given.

(b) "Conviction" means a plea of guilty, a verdict of guilty by a jury, or a finding of guilty by a court.

(c) "Mistaken identity" means a person was incorrectly identified as being a different person:

(1) because the person's identity had been transferred, used, or possessed in violation of section 609.527; or

(2) as a result of misidentification by a witness or law enforcement, confusion on the part of a witness or law enforcement as to the identity of the person who committed the crime, misinformation provided to law enforcement as to the identity of the person who committed the crime, or some other mistake on the part of a witness or law enforcement as to the identity of the person who committed the crime.

Subd. 2. Determination by prosecutor; notification. If, before a conviction, a prosecutor determines that a defendant was issued a citation, charged, indicted, or otherwise prosecuted as the result of mistaken identity, the prosecutor must dismiss or move to dismiss the action or proceeding and must state in writing or on the record that mistaken identity is the reason for the dismissal.

Subd. 3. Order of expungement. (a) The court shall issue an order of expungement without the filing of a petition when an action or proceeding is dismissed based on a determination that a defendant was issued a citation, charged, indicted, or otherwise prosecuted as the result of mistaken identity. The order shall cite this section as the basis for the order.

(b) An order issued under this section is not subject to the considerations or standards identified in section 609A.025 or 609A.03, subdivision 5, paragraph (a), (b), or (c).

Subd. 4. Effect of order. (a) An order issued under this section is not subject to the limitations in section 609A.03, subdivision 7a or 9. The effect of the court order to seal the record of the proceedings shall be to restore the person, in the contemplation of the law, to the status the person occupied before the arrest, indictment, or information. The person shall not be guilty of perjury or otherwise of giving a false statement if the person fails to acknowledge the arrest, indictment, information, or trial in response to any inquiry made for any purpose.

(b) A criminal justice agency may seek access to a record that was sealed under this section for purposes of determining whether the subject of the order was identified in any other action or proceeding as the result of mistaken identity or for a criminal investigation, prosecution, or sentencing involving any other person. The requesting agency must obtain an ex parte court order after stating a good-faith basis to believe that opening the record may lead to relevant information.

6090

(c) The court administrator must distribute and confirm receipt of an order issued under this section pursuant to section 609A.03, subdivision 8.

(d) Data on the person whose offense has been expunged contained in a letter or other notification sent under this subdivision are private data on individuals as defined in section 13.02.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to determinations that a person was identified as the result of mistaken identity on or after that date.

Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609A.02, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Certain criminal proceedings. (a) A petition may be filed under section 609A.03 to seal all records relating to an arrest, indictment or information, trial, or verdict if the records are not subject to section 299C.11, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), and if:

(1) all pending actions or proceedings were resolved in favor of the petitioner. For purposes of this chapter, a verdict of not guilty by reason of mental illness is not a resolution in favor of the petitioner. For the purposes of this chapter, an action or proceeding is resolved in favor of the petitioner, if the petitioner received an order under section 590.11 determining that the petitioner is eligible for compensation based on exoneration;

(2) the petitioner has successfully completed the terms of a diversion program or stay of adjudication and has not been charged with a new crime for at least one year since completion of the diversion program or stay of adjudication;

(3) the petitioner was convicted of or received a stayed sentence for a petty misdemeanor or misdemeanor or the sentence imposed was within the limits provided by law for a misdemeanor and the petitioner has not been convicted of a new crime for at least two years since discharge of the sentence for the crime;

(4) the petitioner was convicted of or received a stayed sentence for a gross misdemeanor or the sentence imposed was within the limits provided by law for a gross misdemeanor and the petitioner has not been convicted of a new crime for at least four three years since discharge of the sentence for the crime; or

(5) the petitioner was convicted of a gross misdemeanor that is deemed to be for a misdemeanor pursuant to section 609.13, subdivision 2, clause (2), and has not been convicted of a new crime for at least three years since discharge of the sentence for the crime;

(6) the petitioner was convicted of a felony violation of section 152.025 and has not been convicted of a new crime for at least four years since discharge of the sentence for the crime;

(7) the petitioner was convicted of a felony that is deemed to be for a gross misdemeanor or misdemeanor pursuant to section 609.13, subdivision 1, clause (2), and has not been convicted of a new crime for at least five years since discharge of the sentence for the crime; or

(5) (8) the petitioner was convicted of or received a stayed sentence for a felony violation of an offense listed in paragraph (b), and has not been convicted of a new crime for at least five four years since discharge of the sentence for the crime.

(b) Paragraph (a), clause (5) (7), applies to the following offenses:

(1) section 35.824 (altering livestock certificate);

- (2) section 62A.41 (insurance regulations);
- (3) section 86B.865, subdivision 1 (certification for title on watercraft);

(4) section <u>152.023</u>, <u>subdivision 2</u> (<u>possession of a controlled substance in the third degree</u>); <u>152.024</u>, <u>subdivision 2</u> (<u>possession of a controlled substance in the fourth degree</u>); <u>152.025</u> (controlled substance in the fifth degree); or 152.097 (sale of simulated controlled substance);</u>

(5) section 168A.30, subdivision 1 (certificate of title false information); or 169.09, subdivision 14, paragraph (a), clause (2) (accident resulting in great bodily harm);

(6) chapter 201; 203B; or 204C (voting violations);

(7) section 228.45; 228.47; 228.49; 228.50; or 228.51 (false bill of lading);

(8) section 256.984 (false declaration in assistance application);

(9) section 296A.23, subdivision 2 (willful evasion of fuel tax);

(10) section 297D.09, subdivision 1 (failure to affix stamp on scheduled substances);

(11) section 297G.19 (liquor taxation); or 340A.701 (unlawful acts involving liquor);

(12) section 325F.743 (precious metal dealers); or 325F.755, subdivision 7 (prize notices and solicitations);

(13) section 346.155, subdivision 10 (failure to control regulated animal);

(14) section 349.2127; or 349.22 (gambling regulations);

- (15) section 588.20 (contempt);
- (16) section 609.27, subdivision 1, clauses (2) to (5) (coercion);

(17) section 609.31 (leaving state to evade establishment of paternity);

(18) section 609.485, subdivision 4, paragraph (a), clause (2) or (4) (escape from civil commitment for mental illness);

(19) section 609.49 (failure to appear in court);

(20) <u>section 609.52</u>, <u>subdivision 2</u>, <u>when sentenced pursuant to</u> section 609.52, <u>subdivision 3</u>, clause (3)(a) (theft of \$5,000 or less)<del>, or other theft offense that is sentenced under this provision;</del> or 609.52, subdivision 3a, clause (1) (theft of \$1,000 or less with risk of bodily harm); or any other offense sentenced pursuant to section 609.52, <u>subdivision 3</u>, clause (3)(a);

(21) section 609.521 (possession of shoplifting gear);

(21) (22) section 609.525 (bringing stolen goods into state);

(22) (23) section 609.526, subdivision 2, clause (2) (metal dealer receiving stolen goods);

(23) (24) section 609.527, subdivision 5b (possession or use of scanning device or reencoder); 609.528, subdivision 3, clause (3) (possession or sale of stolen or counterfeit check); or 609.529 (mail theft);

(24) (25) section 609.53 (receiving stolen goods);

(25) (26) section 609.535, subdivision 2a, paragraph (a), clause (1) (dishonored check over \$500);

(26) (27) section 609.54, clause (1) (embezzlement of public funds \$2,500 or less);

(27) (28) section 609.551 (rustling and livestock theft);

(28) (29) section 609.5641, subdivision 1a, paragraph (a) (wildfire arson);

(29) (30) section 609.576, subdivision 1, clause (3), item (iii) (negligent fires);

(31) section 609.582, subdivision 3 (burglary in the third degree);

(32) section 609.59 (possession of burglary or theft tools);

(30) (33) section 609.595, subdivision 1, clauses (3) to (5), and subdivision 1a, paragraph (a) (criminal damage to property);

(31) (34) section 609.597, subdivision 3, clause (3) (assaulting or harming police horse);

(32) (35) section 609.625 (aggravated forgery); 609.63 (forgery); 609.631, subdivision 4, clause (3)(a) (check forgery \$2,500 or less); 609.635 (obtaining signature by false pretense); 609.64 (recording, filing forged instrument); or 609.645 (fraudulent statements);

(33) (36) section 609.65, clause (1) (false certification by notary); or 609.651, subdivision 4, paragraph (a) (lottery fraud);

(34) (37) section 609.652 (fraudulent driver's license and identification card);

(35) (38) section 609.66, subdivision 1a, paragraph (a) (discharge of firearm; silencer); or 609.66, subdivision 1b (furnishing firearm to minor);

(36) (39) section 609.662, subdivision 2, paragraph (b) (duty to render aid);

(37) (40) section 609.686, subdivision 2 (tampering with fire alarm);

(38) (41) section 609.746, subdivision 1, paragraph (e) (g) (interference with privacy; subsequent violation or minor victim);

(39) (42) section 609.80, subdivision 2 (interference with cable communications system);

(40) (43) section 609.821, subdivision 2 (financial transaction card fraud);

(41) (44) section 609.822 (residential mortgage fraud);

(42) (45) section 609.825, subdivision 2 (bribery of participant or official in contest);

(43) (46) section 609.855, subdivision 2, paragraph (c), clause (1) (interference with transit operator);

(44) (47) section 609.88 (computer damage); or 609.89 (computer theft);

(45) (48) section 609.893, subdivision 2 (telecommunications and information services fraud);

(46) (49) section 609.894, subdivision 3 or 4 (cellular counterfeiting);

(47) (50) section 609.895, subdivision 3, paragraph (a) or (b) (counterfeited intellectual property);

(48) (51) section 609.896 (movie pirating);

(49) (52) section 624.7132, subdivision 15, paragraph (b) (transfer pistol to minor); 624.714, subdivision 1a (pistol without permit; subsequent violation); or 624.7141, subdivision 2 (transfer of pistol to ineligible person); or

(50) (53) section 624.7181 (rifle or shotgun in public by minor).

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2023, and applies to all offenses that meet the eligibility criteria on or after that date.

Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609A.03, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. **Nature of remedy; standard.** (a) Except as otherwise provided by paragraph (b), expungement of a criminal record <u>under this section</u> is an extraordinary remedy to be granted only upon clear and convincing evidence that it would yield a benefit to the petitioner commensurate with the disadvantages to the public and public safety of:

(1) sealing the record; and

(2) burdening the court and public authorities to issue, enforce, and monitor an expungement order.

(b) Except as otherwise provided by this paragraph, if the petitioner is petitioning for the sealing of a criminal record under section 609A.02, subdivision 3, paragraph (a), clause (1) or (2), the court shall grant the petition to seal the record unless the agency or jurisdiction whose records would be affected establishes by clear and convincing evidence that the interests of the public and public safety outweigh the disadvantages to the petitioner of not sealing the record.

(c) In making a determination under this subdivision, the court shall consider:

(1) the nature and severity of the underlying crime, the record of which would be sealed;

(2) the risk, if any, the petitioner poses to individuals or society;

(3) the length of time since the crime occurred;

(4) the steps taken by the petitioner toward rehabilitation following the crime;

(5) aggravating or mitigating factors relating to the underlying crime, including the petitioner's level of participation and context and circumstances of the underlying crime;

(6) the reasons for the expungement, including the petitioner's attempts to obtain employment, housing, or other necessities;

(7) the petitioner's criminal record;

(8) the petitioner's record of employment and community involvement;

(9) the recommendations of interested law enforcement, prosecutorial, and corrections officials;

(10) the recommendations of victims or whether victims of the underlying crime were minors;

(11) the amount, if any, of restitution outstanding, past efforts made by the petitioner toward payment, and the measures in place to help ensure completion of restitution payment after expungement of the record if granted; and

(12) other factors deemed relevant by the court.

(d) Notwithstanding section 13.82, 13.87, or any other law to the contrary, if the court issues an expungement order it may require that the criminal record be sealed, the existence of the record not be revealed, and the record not be opened except as required under subdivision 7. Records must not be destroyed or returned to the subject of the record.

(e) Information relating to a criminal history record of an employee, former employee, or tenant that has been expunged before the occurrence of the act giving rise to the civil action may not be introduced as evidence in a civil action against a private employer or landlord or its employees or agents that is based on the conduct of the employee, former employee, or tenant.

#### EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.

Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609A.03, subdivision 7a, is amended to read:

Subd. 7a. Limitations of order effective January 1, 2015, and later. (a) Upon issuance of an expungement order related to a charge supported by probable cause, the DNA samples and DNA records held by the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension and collected under authority other than section 299C.105 shall not be sealed, returned to the subject of the record, or destroyed.

(b) Notwithstanding the issuance of an expungement order:

(1) except as provided in clause (2), an expunged record may be opened, used, or exchanged between criminal justice agencies without a court order for the purposes of initiating, furthering, or completing a criminal investigation or prosecution or for sentencing purposes or providing probation or other correctional services;

(2) when a criminal justice agency seeks access to a record that was sealed under section 609A.02, subdivision 3, paragraph (a), clause (1), after an acquittal or a court order dismissing for lack of probable cause, for purposes of a criminal investigation, prosecution, or sentencing, the requesting agency must obtain an ex parte court order after stating a good-faith basis to believe that opening the record may lead to relevant information;

(3) an expunged record of a conviction may be opened for purposes of evaluating a prospective employee in a criminal justice agency without a court order;

(4) an expunged record of a conviction may be opened for purposes of a background study under section 245C.08 unless the commissioner had been properly served with notice of the petition for expungement and the court order for expungement is directed specifically to the commissioner of human services <u>following proper service</u> <u>of a petition</u>, or following proceedings under section 609A.025 or 609A.035 upon service of an order to the commissioner of human services;

6096

#### JOURNAL OF THE HOUSE

(5) an expunged record of a conviction may be opened for purposes of a background check required under section 122A.18, subdivision 8, unless the court order for expungement is directed specifically to the Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board; and

(6) the court may order an expunged record opened upon request by the victim of the underlying offense if the court determines that the record is substantially related to a matter for which the victim is before the court.

(7) a prosecutor may request, and the district court shall provide, certified records of conviction for a record expunged pursuant to sections 609A.015, 609A.017, 609A.02, 609A.025, and 609A.035, and the certified records of conviction may be disclosed and introduced in criminal court proceedings as provided by the rules of court and applicable law; and

(8) the subject of an expunged record may request, and the court shall provide, certified or uncertified records of conviction for a record expunged pursuant to sections 609A.015, 609A.017, 609A.02, 609A.025, and 609A.035.

(c) An agency or jurisdiction subject to an expungement order shall maintain the record in a manner that provides access to the record by a criminal justice agency under paragraph (b), clause (1) or (2), but notifies the recipient that the record has been sealed. The Bureau of Criminal Apprehension shall notify the commissioner of human services or the Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board of the existence of a sealed record and of the right to obtain access under paragraph (b), clause (4) or (5). Upon request, the agency or jurisdiction subject to the expungement order shall provide access to the record to the commissioner of human services or the Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board under paragraph (b), clause (4) or (5).

(d) An expunged record that is opened or exchanged under this subdivision remains subject to the expungement order in the hands of the person receiving the record.

(e) A criminal justice agency that receives an expunged record under paragraph (b), clause (1) or (2), must maintain and store the record in a manner that restricts the use of the record to the investigation, prosecution, or sentencing for which it was obtained.

(f) For purposes of this section, a "criminal justice agency" means a court or government agency that performs the administration of criminal justice under statutory authority.

(g) This subdivision applies to expungement orders subject to its limitations and effective on or after January 1, 2015, and grants of expungement relief issued on or after January 1, 2025.

#### **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2023.

Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609A.03, subdivision 9, is amended to read:

Subd. 9. **Stay of order; appeal.** An expungement order <u>issued under this section</u> shall be stayed automatically for 60 days after the order is filed and, if the order is appealed, during the appeal period. A person or an agency or jurisdiction whose records would be affected by the order may appeal the order within 60 days of service of notice of filing of the order. An agency or jurisdiction or its officials or employees need not file a cost bond or supersedeas bond in order to further stay the proceedings or file an appeal.

#### **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2023.

(a) Notwithstanding section 609A.02, if the Board of Pardons grants a petition for a pardon extraordinary pursuant to section 638.02, subdivision 2, it shall file a copy of the pardon extraordinary with the district court of the county in which the conviction occurred.

(b) The district court shall issue an expungement order sealing all records wherever held relating to the arrest, indictment or information, trial, verdict, and pardon for the pardoned offense without the filing of a petition and send an expungement order to each government entity whose records are affected.

#### EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.

Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 611A.03, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. **Plea agreements; notification of victim.** Prior to the entry of the factual basis for a plea pursuant to a plea agreement recommendation, a prosecuting attorney shall make a reasonable and good faith effort to inform the victim of:

(1) the contents of the plea agreement recommendation, including the amount of time recommended for the defendant to serve in jail or prison if the court accepts the agreement; <del>and</del>

(2) the right to be present at the sentencing hearing and at the hearing during which the plea is presented to the court and to express orally or in writing, at the victim's option, any objection to the agreement or to the proposed disposition. If the victim is not present when the court considers the recommendation, but has communicated objections to the prosecuting attorney, the prosecuting attorney shall make these objections known to the court-<u>; and</u>

(3) the eligibility of the offense for automatic expungement pursuant to section 609A.015.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025, and applies to plea agreements entered into on or after that date.

Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 638.02, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. **Petition; pardon extraordinary.** Any person, convicted of a crime in any court of this state, who has served the sentence imposed by the court and has been discharged of the sentence either by order of court or by operation of law, may petition the Board of Pardons for the granting of a pardon extraordinary. Unless the Board of Pardons expressly provides otherwise in writing by unanimous vote, the application for a pardon extraordinary may not be filed until the applicable time period in clause (1) or (2) has elapsed:

(1) if the person was convicted of a crime of violence as defined in section 624.712, subdivision 5, ten years must have elapsed since the sentence was discharged and during that time the person must not have been convicted of any other crime; and

(2) if the person was convicted of any crime not included within the definition of crime of violence under section 624.712, subdivision 5, five years must have elapsed since the sentence was discharged and during that time the person must not have been convicted of any other crime.

If the Board of Pardons determines that the person is of good character and reputation, the board may, in its discretion, grant the person a pardon extraordinary. The pardon extraordinary, when granted, has the effect of setting aside and nullifying the conviction and of purging the person of it, and the person shall never after that be required to disclose the conviction at any time or place other than in a judicial proceeding or as part of the licensing

process for peace officers. <u>The pardon extraordinary, after being granted and filed with the district court in which</u> the conviction occurred, will also seal all records wherever held related to the arrest, indictment or information, trial, verdict, and pardon.

The application for a pardon extraordinary, the proceedings to review an application, and the notice requirements are governed by the statutes and the rules of the board in respect to other proceedings before the board. The application shall contain any further information that the board may require.

## EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.

Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 638.02, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. **Pardon extraordinary; filing; copies sent.** Upon granting a pardon extraordinary, the Board of Pardons shall file a copy of it with the district court of the county in which the conviction occurred, and the court shall order the conviction set aside and include a copy of the pardon in the court file. The court shall order all records wherever held relating to the arrest, indictment or information, trial, verdict, and pardon sealed and prohibit the disclosure of the existence of the records or the opening of the records except under court order or pursuant to section 609A.03, subdivision 7a, paragraph (b), clause (1), (7) or (8). The court shall send a copy of its order and the pardon to the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension and all other government entities that hold affected records. The court administrator under section 609A.03, subdivision 8, shall send a copy of the expungement order to each government entity whose records are affected by the order, including but not limited to the Department of Corrections, the Department of Public Safety, and law enforcement agencies.

## EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.

# ARTICLE 9 CLEMENCY REFORM

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 13.871, subdivision 8, is amended to read:

Subd. 8. Board of Pardons <u>Clemency Review Commission</u> records. Access to Board of Pardons records of the Clemency Review Commission is governed by section 638.07 638.20.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 299C.11, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. **Definitions.** For purposes of this section:

(1) "determination of all pending criminal actions or proceedings in favor of the arrested person" does not include:

(i) the sealing of a criminal record pursuant to section 152.18, subdivision 1, 242.31, or chapter 609A;

- (ii) the arrested person's successful completion of a diversion program;
- (iii) an order of discharge under section 609.165; or
- (iv) a pardon granted under section 638.02 chapter 638; and
- (2) "targeted misdemeanor" has the meaning given in section 299C.10, subdivision 1.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 638.01, is amended to read:

#### 638.01 BOARD OF PARDONS; HOW CONSTITUTED; POWERS.

The Board of Pardons shall consist consists of the governor, the chief justice of the supreme court, and the attorney general. The board governor in conjunction with the board may grant pardons and reprieves and commute the sentence of any person convicted of any offense against the laws of the state, in the manner and under the conditions and rules hereinafter prescribed, but not otherwise clemency according to this chapter.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 4. [638.011] DEFINITIONS.

Subdivision 1. Scope. For purposes of this chapter, the terms defined in this section have the meanings given.

Subd. 2. Board. "Board" means the Board of Pardons under section 638.01.

<u>Subd. 3.</u> <u>Clemency.</u> <u>Unless otherwise provided, "clemency" includes a pardon, commutation, and reprieve after conviction for a crime against the state except in cases of impeachment.</u>

Subd. 4. Commission. "Commission" means the Clemency Review Commission under section 638.09.

Subd. 5. Department. "Department" means the Department of Corrections.

Subd. 6. <u>Waiver request.</u> "Waiver request" means a request to waive a time restriction under sections 638.12, subdivisions 2 and 3, and 638.19, subdivision 1.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2023.

#### Sec. 5. [638.09] CLEMENCY REVIEW COMMISSION.

Subdivision 1. Establishment; duties. (a) The Clemency Review Commission is established to:

(1) review each eligible clemency application and waiver request that it receives;

(2) recommend to the board, in writing, whether to grant or deny the application or waiver request, with each member's vote reported;

(3) recommend to the board, in writing, whether the board should conduct a hearing on a clemency application, with each member's vote reported; and

(4) provide victim support services, assistance to applicants, and other assistance as the board requires.

(b) Unless otherwise provided:

(1) the commission's recommendations under this chapter are nonbinding on the governor or the board; and

(2) chapter 15 applies unless otherwise inconsistent with this chapter.

Subd. 2. <u>Composition.</u> (a) The commission consists of nine members, each serving a term coterminous with the governor.

(b) The governor, the attorney general, and the chief justice of the supreme court must each appoint three members to serve on the commission and replace members when the members' terms expire. Members serve at the pleasure of their appointing authority.

Subd. 3. <u>Appointments to commission.</u> (a) An appointing authority is encouraged to consider the following criteria when appointing a member:

(1) expertise in law, corrections, victims' services, correctional supervision, mental health, and substance abuse treatment; and

(2) experience addressing systemic disparities, including but not limited to disparities based on race, gender, and ability.

(b) An appointing authority must seek out and encourage qualified individuals to apply to serve on the commission, including:

(1) members of Indigenous communities, Black communities, and other communities of color;

(2) members diverse as to gender identity; and

(3) members diverse as to age and ability.

(c) If there is a vacancy, the appointing authority who selected the vacating member must make an interim appointment to expire at the end of the vacating member's term.

(d) A member may continue to serve until the member's successor is appointed, but a member may not serve more than eight years in total.

Subd. 4. <u>Commission; generally.</u> (a) The commission must biennially elect one of its members as chair and one as vice-chair. The chair serves as the board's secretary.

(b) Each commission member must be:

(1) compensated at a rate of \$150 for each day or part of the day spent on commission activities; and

(2) reimbursed for all reasonable expenses actually paid or incurred by the member while performing official duties.

(c) Beginning January 1, 2025, and annually thereafter, the board may set a new per diem rate for commission members, not to exceed an amount ten percent higher than the previous year's rate.

<u>Subd. 5.</u> <u>Executive director.</u> (a) The board must appoint a commission executive director knowledgeable about clemency and criminal justice. The executive director serves at the pleasure of the board in the unclassified service as an executive branch employee.

(b) The executive director's salary is set in accordance with section 15A.0815, subdivision 3.

(c) The executive director may obtain office space and supplies and hire administrative staff necessary to carry out the commission's official functions, including providing administrative support to the board and attending board meetings. Any additional staff serve in the unclassified service at the pleasure of the executive director.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2023.

## Sec. 6. [638.10] CLEMENCY APPLICATION.

Subdivision 1. Required contents. A clemency application must:

(1) be in writing;

(2) be signed under oath by the applicant; and

(3) state the clemency sought, state why the clemency should be granted, and contain the following information and any additional information that the commission or board requires:

(i) the applicant's name, address, and date and place of birth, and every alias by which the applicant is or has been known;

(ii) the applicant's demographic information, including race, ethnicity, gender, disability status, and age, only if voluntarily reported;

(iii) the name of the crime for which clemency is requested, the date and county of conviction, the sentence imposed, and the sentence's expiration or discharge date;

(iv) the names of the sentencing judge, the prosecuting attorney, and any victims of the crime;

(v) a brief description of the crime and the applicant's age at the time of the crime;

(vi) the date and outcome of any prior clemency application, including any application submitted before July 1, 2024;

(vii) to the best of the applicant's knowledge, a statement of any past criminal conviction and any pending criminal charge or investigation;

(viii) for an applicant under the department's custody, a statement describing the applicant's reentry plan should clemency be granted; and

(ix) an applicant statement acknowledging and consenting to the disclosure to the commission, board, and public of any private data on the applicant in the application or in any other record relating to the clemency being sought, including conviction and arrest records.

Subd. 2. <u>Required form.</u> (a) An application must be made on a commission-approved form or forms and filed with the commission by commission-prescribed deadlines. The commission must consult with the board on the forms and deadlines.

(b) The application must include language informing the applicant that the board and the commission will consider any and all past convictions and that the applicant may provide information about the convictions.

<u>Subd. 3.</u> <u>Reviewing application for completeness.</u> <u>The commission must review an application for completeness.</u> An incomplete application must be returned to the applicant, who may then provide the missing information and resubmit the application within a commission-prescribed period.

<u>Subd. 4.</u> <u>Notice to applicant.</u> After the commission's initial investigation of a clemency application, the commission must notify the applicant of the scheduled date, time, and location that the applicant must appear before the commission for a meeting under section 638.14.

Subd. 5. Equal access to information. Each board and commission member must have equal access to information under this chapter that is used when making a clemency decision.

## Sec. 7. [638.11] THIRD-PARTY NOTIFICATIONS.

<u>Subdivision 1.</u> <u>Notice to victim; victim rights.</u> (a) After receiving a clemency application, the commission must make all reasonable efforts to locate any victim of the applicant's crime.

(b) At least 30 calendar days before the commission meeting at which the application will be heard, the commission must notify any located victim of:

(1) the application;

(2) the meeting's scheduled date, time, and location; and

(3) the victim's right to attend the meeting and submit an oral or written statement to the commission.

(c) The commission must make all reasonable efforts to ensure that a victim can:

(1) submit an oral or written statement; and

(2) receive victim support services as necessary to help the victim submit a statement and participate in the clemency process.

Subd. 2. Notice to sentencing judge and prosecuting attorney. (a) At least 30 calendar days before the commission meeting at which the application will be heard, the commission must notify the sentencing judge and prosecuting attorney or their successors of the application and solicit the judge's and attorney's written statements on whether to grant clemency.

(b) Unless otherwise provided in this chapter, "law enforcement agency" includes the sentencing judge and prosecuting attorney or their successors.

Subd. 3. Notice to public. At least 30 calendar days before the commission meeting at which the application will be heard, the commission must publish notice of an application in a qualified newspaper of general circulation in the county in which the applicant's crime occurred.

#### Sec. 8. [638.12] TYPES OF CLEMENCY; ELIGIBILITY AND WAIVER.

Subdivision 1. Types of clemency; requirements. (a) The board may:

(1) pardon a criminal conviction imposed under the laws of this state;

(2) commute a criminal sentence imposed by a court of this state to time served or a lesser sentence; or

(3) grant a reprieve of a sentence imposed by a court of this state.

(b) A grant of clemency must be in writing and has no force or effect if the governor or a board majority duly convened opposes the clemency. Every conditional grant of clemency must state the terms and conditions upon which it was granted, and every commutation must specify the terms of the commuted sentence.

(c) A granted pardon sets aside the conviction and purges the conviction from an individual's criminal record. The individual is not required to disclose the conviction at any time or place other than:

(1) in a judicial proceeding; or

(2) during the licensing process for peace officers.

#### FRIDAY, APRIL 21, 2023

Subd. 2. <u>Pardon eligibility; waiver.</u> (a) An individual convicted of a crime in a court of this state may apply for a pardon of the individual's conviction on or after five years from the sentence's expiration or discharge date.

(b) An individual may request the board to waive the waiting period if there is a showing of unusual circumstances and special need.

(c) The commission must review a waiver request and recommend to the board whether to grant the request. When considering a waiver request, the commission is exempt from the meeting requirements under section 638.14 and chapter 13D.

(d) The board must grant a waiver request unless the governor or a board majority opposes the waiver.

Subd. 3. Commutation eligibility. (a) An individual may apply for a commutation of an unexpired criminal sentence imposed by a court of this state, including an individual confined in a correctional facility or on probation, parole, supervised release, or conditional release. An application for commutation may not be filed until the date that the individual has served at least one-half of the sentence imposed or on or after five years from the conviction date, whichever is earlier.

(b) An individual may request the board to waive the waiting period if there is a showing of unusual circumstances and special need.

(c) The commission must review a waiver request and recommend to the board whether to grant the request. When considering a waiver request, the commission is exempt from the meeting requirements under section 638.14 and chapter 13D.

(d) The board must grant a waiver request unless the governor or a board majority opposes the waiver.

### Sec. 9. [638.13] ACCESS TO RECORDS; ISSUING SUBPOENA.

Subdivision 1. Access to records. (a) Notwithstanding chapter 13 or any other law to the contrary, upon receiving a clemency application, the board or commission may request and obtain any relevant reports, data, and other information from state courts, law enforcement agencies, or state agencies. The board and the commission must have access to all relevant sealed or otherwise inaccessible court records, presentence investigation reports, police reports, criminal history reports, prison records, and any other relevant information.

(b) State courts, law enforcement agencies, and state agencies must promptly respond to record requests from the board or the commission.

Subd. 2. Issuing subpoena. The board or the commission may issue a subpoena requiring the presence of any person before the commission or board and the production of papers, records, and exhibits in any pending matter. When a person is summoned before the commission or the board, the person may be allowed compensation for travel and attendance as the commission or the board considers reasonable.

#### Sec. 10. [638.14] COMMISSION MEETINGS.

<u>Subdivision 1.</u> <u>Frequency.</u> The commission must meet at least four times each year for one or more days at each meeting to hear eligible clemency applications and recommend appropriate action to the board on each application. One or more of the meetings may be held at a department-operated correctional facility.

Subd. 2. When open to the public. All commission meetings are open to the public as provided under chapter 13D, but the commission may hold closed meetings:

(1) as provided under chapter 13D; or

(2) as necessary to protect sensitive or confidential information, including (i) a victim's identity, and (ii) sensitive or confidential victim testimony.

Subd. 3. <u>Recording.</u> When possible, the commission must record its meetings by audio or audiovisual means.

<u>Subd. 4.</u> <u>Board attendance.</u> <u>The governor, attorney general, and chief justice, or their designees, may attend commission meetings as ex officio nonvoting members, but their attendance does not affect whether the commission has a quorum.</u>

Subd. 5. <u>Applicant appearance: third-party statements.</u> (a) An applicant for clemency must appear before the commission either in person or through available forms of telecommunication.

(b) The victim of an applicant's crime may appear and speak at the meeting or submit a written statement to the commission. The commission may treat a victim's written statement as confidential and not disclose the statement to the applicant or the public if there is or has been an order for protection, harassment restraining order, or other no-contact order prohibiting the applicant from contacting the victim.

(c) A law enforcement agency's representative may provide the agency's position on whether the commission should recommend clemency by:

(1) appearing and speaking at the meeting; or

(2) submitting a written statement to the commission.

(d) The sentencing judge and the prosecuting attorney, or their successors, may provide their positions on whether the commission should recommend clemency by:

(1) appearing and speaking at the meeting; or

(2) submitting their statements under section 638.11, subdivision 2.

# Sec. 11. [638.15] COMMISSION RECOMMENDATION.

Subdivision 1. <u>Grounds for recommending clemency.</u> (a) When recommending whether to grant clemency, the commission must consider any factors that the commission deems appropriate, including but not limited to:

(1) the nature, seriousness, and circumstances of the applicant's crime; the applicant's age at the time of the crime; and the time that has elapsed between the crime and the application;

(2) the successful completion or revocation of previous probation, parole, supervised release, or conditional release;

(3) the number, nature, and circumstances of the applicant's other criminal convictions;

(4) the extent to which the applicant has demonstrated rehabilitation through postconviction conduct, character, and reputation;

(5) the extent to which the applicant has accepted responsibility, demonstrated remorse, and made restitution to victims;

54TH DAY]

(6) whether the sentence is clearly excessive in light of the applicant's crime and criminal history and any sentence received by an accomplice and with due regard given to:

(i) any plea agreement;

(ii) the sentencing judge's views; and

(iii) the sentencing ranges established by law;

(7) whether the applicant's age or medical status indicates that it is in the best interest of society that the applicant receive clemency;

(8) the applicant's asserted need for clemency, including family needs and barriers to housing or employment created by the conviction;

(9) for an applicant under the department's custody, the adequacy of the applicant's reentry plan;

(10) the amount of time already served by the applicant and the availability of other forms of judicial or administrative relief;

(11) the extent to which there is credible evidence indicating that the applicant is or may be innocent of the crime for which they were convicted; and

(12) if provided by the applicant, the applicant's demographic information, including race, ethnicity, gender, disability status, and age.

(b) Unless an applicant knowingly omitted past criminal convictions on the application, the commission or the board must not prejudice an applicant for failing to identify past criminal convictions.

Subd. 2. <u>Recommending denial of commutation without hearing.</u> (a) At a meeting under section 638.14, the commission may recommend denying a commutation application without a board hearing if:

(1) the applicant is challenging the conviction or sentence through court proceedings;

(2) the applicant has failed to exhaust all available state court remedies for challenging the sentence; or

(3) the commission determines that the matter should first be considered by the parole authority.

(b) A commission recommendation to deny an application under paragraph (a) must be sent to the board along with the application.

Subd. 3. <u>Considering public statements.</u> When making its recommendation on an application, the commission must consider any statement provided by a victim or law enforcement agency.

Subd. 4. <u>Commission recommendation; notifying applicant.</u> (a) Before the board's next meeting at which the clemency application may be considered, the commission must send to the board:

(1) the application;

(2) the commission's recommendation;

(3) any recording of the commission's meeting related to the application; and

(4) all statements from victims and law enforcement agencies.

(b) No later than 14 calendar days after its dated recommendation, the commission must notify the applicant in writing of its recommendation.

## Sec. 12. [638.16] BOARD MEETINGS.

Subdivision 1. Frequency. (a) The board must meet at least two times each year to consider clemency applications that have received favorable recommendations under section 638.09, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clauses (2) and (3), from the commission and any other applications for which at least one board member seeks consideration.

(b) Any board member may request a hearing on any application.

Subd. 2. When open to the public. All board meetings are open to the public as provided under chapter 13D, but the board may hold closed meetings:

(1) as provided under chapter 13D; or

(2) as necessary to protect sensitive or confidential information, including (i) a victim's identity, and (ii) sensitive or confidential victim testimony.

Subd. 3. Executive director; attendance required. Unless excused by the board, the executive director and the commission's chair or vice-chair must attend all board meetings.

Subd. 4. <u>Considering statements.</u> (a) Applicants, victims, and law enforcement agencies may not submit oral or written statements at a board meeting unless:

(1) a board member requests a hearing on an application; or

(2) the commission has recommended a hearing on an application.

(b) The board must consider any statements provided to the commission when determining whether to consider a clemency application.

# Sec. 13. [638.17] BOARD DECISION; NOTIFYING APPLICANT.

Subdivision 1. **Board decision.** (a) At each meeting, the board must render a decision on each clemency application considered at the meeting or continue the matter to a future board meeting. If the board continues consideration of an application, the commission must notify the applicant in writing and explain why the matter was continued.

(b) If the commission recommends denying an application and no board member seeks consideration of the recommendation, it is presumed that the board concurs with the adverse recommendation and that the application has been considered and denied on the merits.

Subd. 2. Notifying applicant. The commission must notify the applicant in writing of the board's decision to grant or deny clemency no later than 14 calendar days from the date of the board's decision.

## Sec. 14. [638.18] FILING COPY OF CLEMENCY; COURT ACTION.

Subdivision 1. Filing with district court. After clemency has been granted, the commission must file a copy of the pardon, commutation, or reprieve with the district court of the county in which the conviction and sentence were imposed.

Subd. 2. Court action; pardon. For a pardon, the court must:

(1) order the conviction set aside;

(2) include a copy of the pardon in the court file; and

(3) send a copy of the order and the pardon to the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension.

Subd. 3. Court action; commutation. For a commutation, the court must:

(1) amend the sentence to reflect the specific relief granted by the board;

(2) include a copy of the commutation in the court file; and

(3) send a copy of the amended sentencing order and commutation to the commissioner of corrections and the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension.

#### Sec. 15. [638.19] REAPPLYING FOR CLEMENCY.

Subdivision 1. <u>Time-barred from reapplying: exception.</u> (a) After the board has considered and denied a clemency application on the merits, an applicant may not file a subsequent application for five years after the date of the most recent denial.

(b) An individual may request permission to reapply before the five-year period expires based only on new and substantial information that was not and could not have been previously considered by the board or commission.

(c) If a waiver request contains new and substantial information, the commission must review the request and recommend to the board whether to waive the time restriction. When considering a waiver request, the commission is exempt from the meeting requirements under section 638.14 and chapter 13D.

(d) The board must grant a waiver request unless the governor or a board majority opposes the waiver.

Subd. 2. Applying for pardon not precluded. An applicant who is denied or granted a commutation is not precluded from later seeking a pardon of the criminal conviction once the eligibility requirements of this chapter have been met.

### Sec. 16. [638.20] COMMISSION RECORD KEEPING.

Subdivision 1. <u>Record keeping.</u> The commission must keep a record of every application received, its recommendation on each application, and the final disposition of each application.

Subd. 2. When open to public. The commission's records and files are open to public inspection at all reasonable times, except for:

(1) sealed court records;

(2) presentence investigation reports;

(3) Social Security numbers;

(4) financial account numbers;

(5) driver's license information;

(6) medical records;

(7) confidential Bureau of Criminal Apprehension records;

(8) the identities of victims who wish to remain anonymous and confidential victim statements; and

(9) any other confidential data on individuals, private data on individuals, not public data, or nonpublic data under chapter 13.

## Sec. 17. [638.21] LANGUAGE ACCESS AND VICTIM SUPPORT.

Subdivision 1. Language access. The commission and the board must take reasonable steps to provide meaningful language access to applicants and victims. Applicants and victims must have language access to information, documents, and services under this chapter, with each communicated in a language or manner that the applicant or victim can understand.

Subd. 2. Interpreters. (a) Applicants and victims are entitled to interpreters as necessary to fulfill the purposes of this chapter, including oral or written communication. Sections 546.42 to 546.44 apply, to the extent consistent with this section.

(b) The commission or the board may not discriminate against an applicant or victim who requests or receives interpretation services.

Subd. 3. <u>Victim services.</u> The commission and the board must provide or contract for victim support services as necessary to support victims under this chapter.

## Sec. 18. [638.22] LEGISLATIVE REPORT.

Beginning February 15, 2025, and every February 15 thereafter, the commission must submit a written report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the house of representatives and senate committees with jurisdiction over public safety, corrections, and judiciary that contains at least the following information:

(1) the number of clemency applications received by the commission during the preceding calendar year;

(2) the number of favorable and adverse recommendations made by the commission for each type of clemency;

(3) the number of applications granted and denied by the board for each type of clemency:

(4) the crimes for which the applications were granted by the board, the year of each conviction, and the individual's age at the time of the crime; and

6108

(5) summary data voluntarily reported by applicants, including but not limited to demographic information on race, ethnicity, gender, disability status, and age, of applicants recommended or not recommended for clemency by the commission.

## Sec. 19. [638.23] RULEMAKING.

(a) The board and commission may jointly adopt rules, including amending Minnesota Rules, chapter 6600, to:

(1) enforce their powers and duties under this chapter and ensure the efficient processing of applications; and

(2) allow for expedited review of applications if there is unanimous support from the sentencing judge or successor, the prosecuting attorney or successor, and any victims of the crime.

(b) The time limit to adopt rules under section 14.125 does not apply.

#### Sec. 20. TRANSITION PERIOD.

(a) Beginning August 1, 2023, through March 1, 2024, the Department of Corrections must provide the Clemency Review Commission with administrative assistance, technical assistance, office space, and other assistance necessary for the commission to carry out its duties under sections 4 to 21.

(b) Beginning July 1, 2024, the Clemency Review Commission must begin reviewing applications for pardons, commutations, and reprieves. Applications received after the effective date of this section but before July 1, 2024, must be considered according to Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 638.02, subdivisions 2 to 5, and 638.03 to 638.08.

(c) A pardon, commutation, or reprieve that is granted during the transition period has no force or effect if the governor or a board majority duly convened opposes the clemency.

(d) By July 1, 2024, the Clemency Review Commission must develop application forms in consultation with the Board of Pardons.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 21. **REPEALER.** 

<u>Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 638.02; 638.03; 638.04; 638.05; 638.06; 638.07; 638.07; 638.07; and 638.08, are repealed.</u>

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 22. EFFECTIVE DATE.

Sections 1, 2, and 6 to 19 are effective July 1, 2024.

#### JOURNAL OF THE HOUSE

# ARTICLE 10 EVIDENCE GATHERING AND REPORTING

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 13A.02, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Access by government. Except as authorized by this chapter, no government authority may have access to, or obtain copies of, or the information contained in, the financial records of any customer from a financial institution unless the financial records are reasonably described and:

(1) the customer has authorized the disclosure;

(2) the financial records are disclosed in response to a search warrant;

(3) the financial records are disclosed in response to a judicial or administrative subpoena;

(4) the financial records are disclosed to law enforcement, a lead investigative agency as defined in section 626.5572, subdivision 13, or prosecuting authority that is investigating financial exploitation of a vulnerable adult in response to a judicial subpoena or administrative subpoena under section 388.23; or

(5) the financial records are disclosed pursuant to section 609.527 or 609.535 or other statute or rule.

#### EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 13A.02, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. **Release prohibited.** No financial institution, or officer, employee, or agent of a financial institution, may provide to any government authority access to, or copies of, or the information contained in, the financial records of any customer except in accordance with the provisions of this chapter.

Nothing in this chapter shall require a financial institution to inquire or determine that those seeking disclosure have duly complied with the requirements of this chapter, provided only that the customer authorization, search warrant, subpoena, or written certification pursuant to section <u>609.527</u>, <u>subdivision 8</u>; 609.535, subdivision 6; 626.557; or other statute or rule, served on or delivered to a financial institution shows compliance on its face.

#### **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2023.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.527, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. **Definitions.** (a) As used in this section, the following terms have the meanings given them in this subdivision.

(b) "Direct victim" means any person or entity described in section 611A.01, paragraph (b), whose identity has been transferred, used, or possessed in violation of this section.

(c) "False pretense" means any false, fictitious, misleading, or fraudulent information or pretense or pretext depicting or including or deceptively similar to the name, logo, website address, email address, postal address, telephone number, or any other identifying information of a for-profit or not-for-profit business or organization or of a government agency, to which the user has no legitimate claim of right.

#### (d) "Financial institution" has the meaning given in section 13A.01, subdivision 2.

54TH DAY]

FRIDAY, APRIL 21, 2023

(e) "Identity" means any name, number, or data transmission that may be used, alone or in conjunction with any other information, to identify a specific individual or entity, including any of the following:

(1) a name, Social Security number, date of birth, official government-issued driver's license or identification number, government passport number, or employer or taxpayer identification number;

(2) unique electronic identification number, address, account number, or routing code; or

(3) telecommunication identification information or access device.

(e) (f) "Indirect victim" means any person or entity described in section 611A.01, paragraph (b), other than a direct victim.

(f) (g) "Loss" means value obtained, as defined in section 609.52, subdivision 1, clause (3), and expenses incurred by a direct or indirect victim as a result of a violation of this section.

(g) (h) "Unlawful activity" means:

(1) any felony violation of the laws of this state or any felony violation of a similar law of another state or the United States; and

(2) any nonfelony violation of the laws of this state involving theft, theft by swindle, forgery, fraud, or giving false information to a public official, or any nonfelony violation of a similar law of another state or the United States.

(h) (i) "Scanning device" means a scanner, reader, or any other electronic device that is used to access, read, scan, obtain, memorize, or store, temporarily or permanently, information encoded on a computer chip or magnetic strip or stripe of a payment card, driver's license, or state-issued identification card.

(i) (j) "Reencoder" means an electronic device that places encoded information from the computer chip or magnetic strip or stripe of a payment card, driver's license, or state-issued identification card, onto the computer chip or magnetic strip or stripe of a different payment card, driver's license, or state-issued identification card, or any electronic medium that allows an authorized transaction to occur.

(i) (k) "Payment card" means a credit card, charge card, debit card, or any other card that:

(1) is issued to an authorized card user; and

(2) allows the user to obtain, purchase, or receive credit, money, a good, a service, or anything of value.

## EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.527, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 8. **Release of limited account information to law enforcement authorities.** (a) A financial institution may release the information described in paragraph (b) to a law enforcement or prosecuting authority that certifies in writing that it is investigating or prosecuting a crime of identity theft under this section. The certification must describe with reasonable specificity the nature of the suspected identity theft that is being investigated or prosecuted, including the dates of the suspected criminal activity.

(b) This subdivision applies to requests for the following information relating to a potential victim's account:

(1) the name of the account holder or holders; and

#### (2) the last known home address and telephone numbers of the account holder or holders.

(c) A financial institution may release the information requested under this subdivision that it possesses within a reasonable time after the request. The financial institution may not impose a fee for furnishing the information.

(d) A financial institution is not liable in a criminal or civil proceeding for releasing information in accordance with this subdivision.

(e) Release of limited account information to a law enforcement agency under this subdivision is criminal investigative data under section 13.82, subdivision 7, except that when the investigation becomes inactive the account information remains confidential data on individuals or protected nonpublic data.

#### **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2023.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 626.14, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. **Definition.** For the purposes of this section, "no-knock search warrant" means a search warrant authorizing peace officers to enter certain premises a dwelling without first knocking and loudly and understandably announcing the officer's presence or purpose and waiting a reasonable amount of time thereafter prior to entering the premises dwelling to allow the subject to become alert and able to comply. No-knock search warrants may also be referred to as dynamic entry warrants.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 626.14, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

# Subd. 2a. No-knock search warrants prohibited. A court may not issue or approve a no-knock search warrant.

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 626.14, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 2b. Execution. If a peace officer enters a dwelling to serve or execute a search warrant without loudly and understandably announcing the officer's presence or purpose and waiting a reasonable amount of time thereafter prior to entering the dwelling, any evidence seized, discovered, or obtained as a result of the entry must be suppressed and may not be used as evidence unless exigent circumstances or another exception to the warrant requirement would justify a warrantless entry.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 626.15, is amended to read:

#### 626.15 EXECUTION AND RETURN OF WARRANT; TIME.

(a) Except as provided in paragraph (b) (c), a search warrant must be executed and returned to the court which issued it within ten days after its date. After the expiration of this time, the warrant is void unless previously executed.

#### (b) <u>A search warrant on a financial institution for financial records is valid for 30 days.</u>

(c) A district court judge may grant an extension of a <u>the</u> warrant on a financial institution for financial records upon an application under oath stating that the financial institution has not produced the requested financial records within <u>ten days</u> <u>the 30-day period</u> and that an extension is necessary to achieve the purposes for which the search warrant was granted. Each extension may not exceed 30 days.

6112

54th Day]

(d) For the purposes of this paragraph section, "financial institution" has the meaning given in section 13A.01, subdivision 2, and "financial records" has the meaning given in section 13A.01, subdivision 3.

#### EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 626.21, is amended to read:

## 626.21 RETURN OF PROPERTY AND SUPPRESSION OF EVIDENCE.

(a) A person aggrieved by an unlawful search and seizure may move the district court for the district in which the property was seized or the district court having jurisdiction of the substantive offense for the return of the property and to suppress the use, as evidence, of anything so obtained on the ground that:

- (1) the property was illegally seized, or:
- (2) the property was illegally seized without warrant, or;
- (3) the warrant is insufficient on its face, or;
- (4) the property seized is not that described in the warrant, or;
- (5) there was not probable cause for believing the existence of the grounds on which the warrant was issued, or;
- (6) the warrant was illegally executed, or;
- (7) the warrant was improvidently issued -: or
- (8) the warrant was executed or served in violation of section 626.14.

(b) The judge shall receive evidence on any issue of fact necessary to the decision of the motion. If the motion is granted the property shall be restored unless otherwise subject to lawful detention, and it shall not be admissible in evidence at any hearing or trial. The motion to suppress evidence may also be made in the district where the trial is to be had. The motion shall be made before trial or hearing unless opportunity therefor did not exist or the defendant was not aware of the grounds for the motion, but the court in its discretion may entertain the motion at the trial or hearing.

#### Sec. 10. [626.5535] CARJACKING; REPORTING REQUIRED.

Subdivision 1. **Definition.** For purposes of this section, "carjacking" means taking a motor vehicle from a person or in the presence of another while having knowledge of not being entitled to the motor vehicle and using or threatening the imminent use of force against any person to overcome the person's resistance or powers of resistance to, or to compel acquiescence in, the taking of the motor vehicle.

Subd. 2. Use of information collected. (a) The head of a local law enforcement agency or state law enforcement department that employs peace officers, as defined in section 626.84, subdivision 1, paragraph (c), must forward the following carjacking information from the agency's or department's jurisdiction for the previous year to the commissioner of public safety by January 15 each year:

(1) the number of carjacking attempts;

(2) the number of carjackings;

(3) the ages of the offenders;

(4) the number of persons injured in each offense;

(5) the number of persons killed in each offense; and

(6) weapons used in each offense, if any.

(b) The commissioner of public safety must include the data received under paragraph (a) in a separate carjacking category in the department's annual uniform crime report.

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 626A.35, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 2b. Exception; stolen motor vehicles. (a) The prohibition under subdivision 1 does not apply to the use of a mobile tracking device on a stolen motor vehicle when:

(1) the consent of the owner of the vehicle has been obtained; or

(2) the owner of the motor vehicle has reported to law enforcement that the vehicle is stolen, and the vehicle is occupied when the tracking device is installed.

(b) Within 24 hours of a tracking device being attached to a vehicle pursuant to the authority granted in paragraph (a), clause (2), an officer employed by the agency that attached the tracking device to the vehicle must remove the device, disable the device, or obtain a search warrant granting approval to continue to use the device in the investigation.

(c) A peace officer employed by the agency that attached a tracking device to a stolen motor vehicle must remove the tracking device if the vehicle is recovered and returned to the owner.

(d) Any tracking device evidence collected after the motor vehicle is returned to the owner is inadmissible.

(e) By August 1, 2024, and each year thereafter, the chief law enforcement officer of an agency that obtains a search warrant under paragraph (b), must provide notice to the superintendent of the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension of the number of search warrants the agency obtained under this subdivision in the preceding 12 months. The superintendent must provide a summary of the data received pursuant to this paragraph in the bureau's biennial report to the legislature required under section 299C.18.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 12. **<u>REPEALER.</u>** 

Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 626.14, subdivisions 3 and 4, are repealed.

# ARTICLE 11 POLICING AND PRIVATE SECURITY

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 13.825, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. **Data classification; court-authorized disclosure.** (a) Data collected by a portable recording system are private data on individuals or nonpublic data, subject to the following:

6114

## FRIDAY, APRIL 21, 2023

(1) data that <u>record</u>, <u>describe</u>, <u>or otherwise</u> document <u>actions and circumstances surrounding either</u> the discharge of a firearm by a peace officer in the course of duty, if a notice is required under section 626.553, subdivision 2, or the use of force by a peace officer that results in substantial bodily harm, as defined in section 609.02, subdivision 7a, are public;

(2) data are public if a subject of the data requests it be made accessible to the public, except that, if practicable,(i) data on a subject who is not a peace officer and who does not consent to the release must be redacted, and (ii) data on a peace officer whose identity is protected under section 13.82, subdivision 17, clause (a), must be redacted;

(3) <u>subject to paragraphs (b) to (d)</u>, portable recording system data that are active criminal investigative data are governed by section 13.82, subdivision 7, and portable recording system data that are inactive criminal investigative data are governed by this section;

(4) portable recording system data that are public personnel data under section 13.43, subdivision 2, clause (5), are public; and

(5) data that are not public data under other provisions of this chapter retain that classification.

(b) Notwithstanding section 13.82, subdivision 7, when an individual dies as a result of a use of force by a peace officer, an involved officer's law enforcement agency must allow the following individuals, upon their request, to inspect all portable recording system data, redacted no more than what is required by law, documenting the incident within five days of the request, subject to paragraphs (c) and (d):

(1) the deceased individual's next of kin;

(2) the legal representative of the deceased individual's next of kin; and

(3) the other parent of the deceased individual's child.

(c) A law enforcement agency may deny a request to inspect portable recording system data under paragraph (b) if the agency determines that there is a compelling reason that inspection would interfere with an active investigation. If the agency denies access under this paragraph, the chief law enforcement officer must provide a prompt, written denial to the individual in paragraph (b) who requested the data with a short description of the compelling reason access was denied and must provide notice that relief may be sought from the district court pursuant to section 13.82, subdivision 7.

(d) When an individual dies as a result of a use of force by a peace officer, an involved officer's law enforcement agency shall release all portable recording system data, redacted no more than what is required by law, documenting the incident no later than 14 days after the incident, unless the chief law enforcement officer asserts in writing that the public classification would interfere with an ongoing investigation, in which case the data remain classified by section 13.82, subdivision 7.

(b) (e) A law enforcement agency may redact or withhold access to portions of data that are public under this subdivision if those portions of data are clearly offensive to common sensibilities.

(c) (f) Section 13.04, subdivision 2, does not apply to collection of data classified by this subdivision.

(d) (g) Any person may bring an action in the district court located in the county where portable recording system data are being maintained to authorize disclosure of data that are private or nonpublic under this section or to challenge a determination under paragraph (b) to redact or withhold access to portions of data because the data are clearly offensive to common sensibilities. The person bringing the action must give notice of the action to the law

6116

JOURNAL OF THE HOUSE

enforcement agency and subjects of the data, if known. The law enforcement agency must give notice to other subjects of the data, if known, who did not receive the notice from the person bringing the action. The court may order that all or part of the data be released to the public or to the person bringing the action. In making this determination, the court shall consider whether the benefit to the person bringing the action or to the public outweighs any harm to the public, to the law enforcement agency, or to a subject of the data and, if the action is challenging a determination under paragraph (b), whether the data are clearly offensive to common sensibilities. The data in dispute must be examined by the court in camera. This paragraph does not affect the right of a defendant in a criminal proceeding to obtain access to portable recording system data under the Rules of Criminal Procedure.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 214.10, subdivision 10, is amended to read:

Subd. 10. **Board of Peace Officers Standards and Training; receipt of complaint.** Notwithstanding the provisions of subdivision 1 to the contrary, when the executive director or any member of the Board of Peace Officer Standards and Training produces or receives a written statement or complaint that alleges a violation of a statute or rule that the board is empowered to enforce, the executive director shall designate the appropriate law enforcement agency to investigate the complaint and shall may order it to conduct an inquiry into the complaint's allegations. The investigating agency must complete the inquiry and submit a written summary of it to the executive director within 30 days of the order for inquiry.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 326.3311, is amended to read:

#### 326.3311 POWERS AND DUTIES.

The board has the following powers and duties:

(1) to receive and review all applications for private detective and protective agent licenses;

(2) to approve applications for private detective and protective agent licenses and issue, or reissue licenses as provided in sections 326.32 to 326.339;

(3) to deny applications for private detective and protective agent licenses if the applicants do not meet the requirements of sections 326.32 to 326.339; upon denial of a license application, the board shall notify the applicant of the denial and the facts and circumstances that constitute the denial; the board shall advise the applicant of the right to a contested case hearing under chapter 14;

(4) to enforce all laws and rules governing private detectives and protective agents; and

(5) to suspend or revoke the license of a license holder or impose a civil penalty on a license holder for violations of any provision of sections 326.32 to 326.339 or the rules of the board-:

#### (6) to investigate and refer for prosecution all criminal violations by individuals and entities; and

(7) to investigate and refer for prosecution any individuals and entities operating as private detectives or protective agents without a license.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 326.336, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. **Identification card.** An identification card must be issued by the license holder to each employee. The card must be in the possession of the employee to whom it is issued at all times. The identification card must contain the license holder's name, logo (if any), address or Minnesota office address, and the employee's photograph and physical description. The card must be signed by the employee and by the license holder, qualified representative, or Minnesota office manager. The card must be presented upon request.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 326.3361, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Required contents. The rules adopted by the board must require:

(1) 12 hours of preassignment or on-the-job certified training within the first 21 days of employment, or evidence that the employee has successfully completed equivalent training before the start of employment. Notwithstanding any statute or rule to the contrary, this clause is satisfied if the employee provides a prospective employer with a certificate or a copy of a certificate demonstrating that the employee successfully completed this training prior to employment with a different Minnesota licensee and completed this training within three previous calendar years, or successfully completed this training with a Minnesota licensee. The certificate or a copy of the certificate is the property of the employee who completed the training, regardless of who paid for the training or how training was provided. Upon a current or former employee's successful completion of training to the current or former employee. The current or former licensed employer must provide a copy of a certificate demonstrating the employee's successful completion of training to the current or former employee. The current or former licensed employer must provide a copy of a certificate demonstrating is entitled to access a copy of the certificate at no charge according to sections 181.960 to 181.966. A current or former employer must comply with sections 181.960 to 181.966;

(2) certification by the board of completion of certified training for a license holder, qualified representative, Minnesota manager, partner, and employee to carry or use a firearm, a weapon other than a firearm, or an immobilizing or restraint technique; and

(3) six hours a year of certified continuing training for all license holders, qualified representatives, Minnesota managers, partners, and employees, and an additional six hours a year for individuals who are armed with firearms or armed with weapons, which must include annual certification of the individual.

An individual may not carry or use a weapon while undergoing on-the-job training under this subdivision.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 326.3387, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. **Basis for action.** The board may revoke or suspend or refuse to issue or reissue a private detective or protective agent license if:

(1) the license holder violates a provision of sections 326.32 to 326.339 or a rule adopted under those sections;

(2) the license holder has engaged in fraud, deceit, or misrepresentation while in the business of private detective or protective agent;

(3) the license holder has made a false statement in an application submitted to the board or in a document required to be submitted to the board; or

(4) the license holder violates an order of the board; or

(5) the individual or entity previously operated without a license.

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 626.5531, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. **Reports required.** A peace officer must report to the head of the officer's department every violation of chapter 609 or a local criminal ordinance if the officer has reason to believe, or if the victim alleges, that the offender was motivated to commit the act by was committed in whole or in substantial part because of the victim's actual or perceived race, color, ethnicity, religion, national origin, sex, gender, sexual orientation, gender

identity, gender expression, age, national origin, or disability as defined in section 363A.03, or characteristics identified as sexual orientation because of the victim's actual or perceived association with another person or group of a certain actual or perceived race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, age, national origin, or disability as defined in section 363A.03. The superintendent of the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension shall adopt a reporting form to be used by law enforcement agencies in making the reports required under this section. The reports must include for each incident all of the following:

- (1) the date of the offense;
- (2) the location of the offense;
- (3) whether the target of the incident is a person, private property, or public property;
- (4) the crime committed;
- (5) the type of bias and information about the offender and the victim that is relevant to that bias;
- (6) any organized group involved in the incident;
- (7) the disposition of the case;

(8) whether the determination that the offense was motivated by bias was based on the officer's reasonable belief or on the victim's allegation; and

(9) any additional information the superintendent deems necessary for the acquisition of accurate and relevant data.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 626.843, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 1c. Rules governing certain misconduct. No later than January 1, 2024, the board must adopt rules under chapter 14 that permit the board to take disciplinary action on a licensee for a violation of a standard of conduct in Minnesota Rules, chapter 6700, whether or not criminal charges have been filed and in accordance with the evidentiary standards and civil processes for boards under chapter 214.

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 626.8432, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. **Grounds for revocation, suspension, or denial.** (a) The board may refuse to issue, refuse to renew, refuse to reinstate, suspend, revoke eligibility for licensure, or revoke a peace officer or part-time peace officer license for any of the following causes:

- (1) fraud or misrepresentation in obtaining a license;
- (2) failure to meet licensure requirements; or
- (3) a violation of section 626.8436, subdivision 1; or

(4) a violation of the standards of conduct set forth in Minnesota Rules, chapter 6700.

(b) Unless otherwise provided by the board, a revocation or suspension applies to each license, renewal, or reinstatement privilege held by the individual at the time final action is taken by the board. A person whose license or renewal privilege has been suspended or revoked shall be ineligible to be issued any other license by the board during the pendency of the suspension or revocation.

## Sec. 10. [626.8436] HATE OR EXTREMIST GROUPS.

Subdivision 1. **Prohibition.** (a) A peace officer may not join, support, advocate for, maintain membership, or participate in the activities of:

(1) a hate or extremist group; or

(2) a criminal gang as defined in section 609.229, subdivision 1.

(b) This section does not apply when the conduct is sanctioned by the law enforcement agency as part of the officer's official duties.

Subd. 2. **Definitions.** (a) "Hate or extremist group" means a group that, as demonstrated by its official statements or principles, the statements of its leaders or members, or its activities:

(1) promotes the use of threats, force, violence, or criminal activity:

(i) against a local, state, or federal entity, or the officials of such an entity;

(ii) to deprive, or attempt to deprive, individuals of their civil rights under the Minnesota or United States Constitution; or

(iii) to achieve goals that are political, religious, discriminatory, or ideological in nature;

(2) promotes seditious activities; or

(3) advocates for differences in the right to vote, speak, assemble, travel, or maintain citizenship based on a person's perceived race, color, creed, religion, national origin, disability, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, public assistance status, or any protected class as defined in Minnesota Statutes or federal law.

(b) For the purposes of this section, advocacy, membership, or participation in a hate or extremist group or criminal gang is demonstrated by:

(1) dissemination of material that promotes:

(i) the use of threats, force, violence, or criminal activity;

(ii) seditious activities; or

(iii) the objectives described in paragraph (a), clause (3);

(2) engagement in cyber or social media posts, chats, forums, and other forms of promotion of the group's activities;

(3) display or use of insignia, colors, tattoos, hand signs, slogans, or codes associated with the group;

(4) direct financial or in-kind contributions to the group;

(5) a physical or cyber presence in the group's events; or

(6) other conduct that could reasonably be considered support, advocacy, or participation in the group's activities.

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 626.8451, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. **Training course; crimes motivated by bias.** (a) The board must prepare a approve a list of training course courses to assist peace officers in identifying and, responding to, and reporting crimes motivated by committed in whole or in substantial part because of the victim's or another's actual or perceived race, color, ethnicity, religion, national origin, sex, gender, sexual orientation, gender identify, gender expression, age, national origin, or disability as defined in section 363A.03, or characteristics identified as sexual orientation because of the victim's actual or perceived race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, gender, sexual orientation, gender identify, gender expression, age, national origin, or disability as defined in section 363A.03. Or characteristics identified as sexual or perceived race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, age, national origin, or disability as defined in section 363A.03. The course must include material to help officers distinguish bias crimes from other crimes, to help officers in understanding and assisting victims of these crimes, and to ensure that bias crimes will be accurately reported as required under section 626.5531. The course must be updated periodically board must review the approved courses every three years and update the list of approved courses as the board, in consultation with communities most targeted by hate crimes because of their characteristics as described above, organizations with expertise in providing training on hate crimes, and the statewide coalition of organizations representing communities impacted by hate crimes, considers appropriate.

(b) In updating the list of approved training courses described in paragraph (a), the board must consult and significantly incorporate input from communities most targeted by hate crimes because of their characteristics as described in paragraph (a), organizations with expertise in providing training on hate crimes, and the statewide coalition of organizations representing communities impacted by hate crimes.

Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 626.8457, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 4. Data to be shared with board. (a) Upon receiving written notice that the board is investigating any allegation of misconduct within its regulatory authority, a chief law enforcement officer, city, county, or public official must cooperate with the board's investigation and any data request from the board.

(b) Upon written request from the board that a matter alleging misconduct within its regulatory authority has occurred regarding a licensed peace officer, a chief law enforcement officer, city, county, or public official shall provide the board with all requested public and private data about the alleged misconduct involving the licensed peace officer, including any pending or final disciplinary or arbitration proceeding, any settlement or compromise, and any investigative files including but not limited to body worn camera or other audio or video files. Confidential data must only be disclosed when the board specifies that the particular identified data is necessary to fulfill its investigatory obligation concerning an allegation of misconduct within its regulatory authority.

(c) If a licensed peace officer is discharged or resigns from employment after engaging in any conduct that initiates and results in an investigation of alleged misconduct within the board's regulatory authority, regardless of whether the licensee was criminally charged or an administrative or internal affairs investigation was commenced or completed, a chief law enforcement officer must report the conduct to the board and provide the board with all public and not public data requested under paragraph (b). If the conduct to the board and provide the board with all public and not public official must report the conduct to the board and provide the board with all public and not public data requested under paragraph (b).

(d) Data obtained by the board shall be classified and governed as articulated in sections 13.03, subdivision 4, and 13.09, as applicable.

(e) A chief law enforcement officer, city, county, or public official is not required to comply with this subdivision when there is an active criminal investigation or active criminal proceeding regarding the same incident or misconduct that is being investigated by the board.

Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 626.8457, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 5. Immunity from liability. A chief law enforcement officer, city, county, or public official and employees of the law enforcement agency are immune from civil or criminal liability, including any liability under chapter 13, for reporting or releasing public or not public data to the board under subdivisions 3 and 4, unless the chief law enforcement officer, city, county, or public official or employees of the law enforcement agency presented false information to the board with the intention of causing reputational harm to the peace officer.

Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 626.8469, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. In-service training required. (a) Beginning July 1, 2018, the chief law enforcement officer of every state and local law enforcement agency shall provide in-service training in crisis intervention and mental illness crises; conflict management and mediation; and recognizing and valuing community diversity and cultural differences to include implicit bias training; and training to assist peace officers in identifying, responding to, and reporting incidents committed in whole or in substantial part because of the victim's actual or perceived race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, age, national origin, or disability as defined in section 363A.03, or because of the victim's actual or perceived association with another person or group of a certain actual or perceived race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, age, national origin, or disability as defined in section 363A.03, to every peace officer and part-time peace officer employed by the agency. The training shall comply with learning objectives developed and approved by the board and shall meet board requirements for board-approved continuing education credit. Every three years the board shall review the learning objectives and must consult and collaborate with communities most targeted by hate crimes because of their characteristics as described above, organizations with expertise in providing training on hate crimes, and the statewide coalition of organizations representing communities impacted by hate crimes in identifying appropriate objectives and training courses related to identifying, responding to, and reporting incidents committed in whole or in substantial part because of the victim's or another's actual or perceived race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, age, national origin, or disability as defined in section 363A.03, or because of the victim's actual or perceived association with another person or group of a certain actual or perceived race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, age, national origin, or disability as defined in section 363A.03. The training shall consist of at least 16 continuing education credits within an officer's three-year licensing cycle. Each peace officer with a license renewal date after June 30, 2018, is not required to complete this training until the officer's next full three-year licensing cycle.

(b) Beginning July 1, 2021, the training mandated under paragraph (a) must be provided by an approved entity. The board shall create a list of approved entities and training courses and make the list available to the chief law enforcement officer of every state and local law enforcement agency. Each peace officer (1) with a license renewal date before June 30, 2022, and (2) who received the training mandated under paragraph (a) before July 1, 2021, is not required to receive this training by an approved entity until the officer's next full three-year licensing cycle.

(c) For every peace officer and part-time peace officer with a license renewal date of June 30, 2022, or later, the training mandated under paragraph (a) must:

(1) include a minimum of six hours for crisis intervention and mental illness crisis training that meets the standards established in subdivision 1a; and

(2) include a minimum of four hours to ensure safer interactions between peace officers and persons with autism in compliance with section 626.8474.

Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 626.8473, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Written policies and procedures required. (a) The chief officer of every state and local law enforcement agency that uses or proposes to use a portable recording system must establish and enforce a written policy governing its use. In developing and adopting the policy, the law enforcement agency must provide for public comment and input as provided in subdivision 2. Use of a portable recording system without adoption of a written policy meeting the requirements of this section is prohibited. The written policy must be posted on the agency's website, if the agency has a website.

(b) At a minimum, the written policy must incorporate and require compliance with the following:

(1) the requirements of section 13.825 and other data classifications, access procedures, retention policies, and data security safeguards that, at a minimum, meet the requirements of chapter 13 and other applicable law. The policy must prohibit altering, erasing, or destroying any recording made with a peace officer's portable recording system or data and metadata related to the recording prior to the expiration of the applicable retention period under section 13.825, subdivision 3, except that the full, unedited, and unredacted recording of a peace officer using deadly force must be maintained indefinitely;

(2) mandate that a portable recording system be:

(i) worn where it affords an unobstructed view, and above the mid-line of the waist;

(ii) activated during all contacts with citizens in the performance of official duties other than community engagement, to the extent practical without compromising officer safety; and

(iii) activated when the officer arrives on scene of an incident and remain active until the conclusion of the officer's duties at the scene of the incident;

(3) mandate that officers assigned a portable recording system wear and operate the system in compliance with the agency's policy adopted under this section while performing law enforcement activities under the command and control of another chief law enforcement officer or federal law enforcement official;

(4) mandate that, notwithstanding any law to the contrary, when an individual dies as a result of a use of force by a peace officer, an involved officer's law enforcement agency must allow the following individuals, upon their request, to inspect all portable recording system data, redacted no more than what is required by law, documenting the incident within five days of the request, except as otherwise provided in this clause and clause (5):

(i) the deceased individual's next of kin;

(ii) the legal representative of the deceased individual's next of kin; and

(iii) the other parent of the deceased individual's child.

A law enforcement agency may deny a request if the agency determines that there is a compelling reason that inspection would interfere with an active investigation. If the agency denies access, the chief law enforcement officer must provide a prompt, written denial to the individual who requested the data with a short description of the compelling reason access was denied and must provide notice that relief may be sought from the district court pursuant to section 13.82, subdivision 7;

6122

54TH DAY]

remain classified by section 13.82, subdivision 7;

## FRIDAY, APRIL 21, 2023

(5) mandate that, when an individual dies as a result of a use of force by a peace officer, an involved officer's law enforcement agency shall release all portable recording system data, redacted no more than what is required by law, documenting the incident no later than 14 days after the incident, unless the chief law enforcement officer asserts in writing that the public classification would interfere with an ongoing investigation, in which case the data

(6) procedures for testing the portable recording system to ensure adequate functioning;

(3) (7) procedures to address a system malfunction or failure, including requirements for documentation by the officer using the system at the time of a malfunction or failure;

(4) (8) circumstances under which recording is mandatory, prohibited, or at the discretion of the officer using the system;

(5) (9) circumstances under which a data subject must be given notice of a recording;

(6) (10) circumstances under which a recording may be ended while an investigation, response, or incident is ongoing;

(7) (11) procedures for the secure storage of portable recording system data and the creation of backup copies of the data; and

(8) (12) procedures to ensure compliance and address violations of the policy, which must include, at a minimum, supervisory or internal audits and reviews, and the employee discipline standards for unauthorized access to data contained in section 13.09.

(c) The board has authority to inspect state and local law enforcement agency policies to ensure compliance with this section. The board may conduct this inspection based upon a complaint it receives about a particular agency or through a random selection process. The board may impose licensing sanctions and seek injunctive relief under section 214.11 for an agency's or licensee's failure to comply with this section.

# Sec. 16. [626.8516] INTENSIVE COMPREHENSIVE PEACE OFFICER EDUCATION AND TRAINING PROGRAM.

Subdivision 1. Establishment; title. A program is established within the Department of Public Safety to fund the intensive comprehensive law enforcement education and training of college degree holders. The program shall be known as the intensive comprehensive peace officer education and training program.

Subd. 2. **Purpose.** The program is intended to address the critical shortage of peace officers in the state. The program shall reimburse law enforcement agencies that recruit, educate, and train highly qualified college graduates to become licensed peace officers in the state.

<u>Subd. 3.</u> <u>Eligibility for reimbursement grant; grant cap.</u> (a) The chief law enforcement officer of a law enforcement agency may apply to the commissioner for reimbursement of the cost of educating, training, paying, and insuring an eligible peace officer candidate until the candidate is licensed by the board as a peace officer.

(b) The commissioner must reimburse an agency for the actual cost of educating, training, paying, and insuring an eligible peace officer candidate up to \$50,000.

(c) The commissioner shall not award a grant under this section until the candidate has been licensed by the board.

Subd. 4. Eligibility for retention bonus reimbursement grant. (a) The chief law enforcement officer of a law enforcement agency may apply to the commissioner for a onetime reimbursement grant for a retention bonus awarded to an eligible peace officer candidate after the candidate has worked for a minimum of two years as a licensed peace officer for the applicant's agency.

(b) The commissioner must reimburse an agency for the actual cost of an eligible retention bonus up to \$10,000.

Subd. 5. Eligibility for student loan reimbursement grant. (a) An eligible peace officer candidate, after serving for ...... consecutive years as a licensed peace officer in good standing for a law enforcement agency, may apply to the commissioner for a grant to cover student loan debt incurred by the applicant in earning the applicant's two- or four-year degree.

(b) The commissioner shall reimburse the applicant for the amount of the applicant's student loan debt up to \$20,000.

Subd. 6. Forms. The commissioner must prepare the necessary grant application forms and make them available on the agency's public website.

Subd. 7. Intensive education and skills training program. No later than February 1, 2024, the commissioner, in consultation with the executive director of the board and the institutions designated as education providers under subdivision 8, shall develop an intensive comprehensive law enforcement education and skills training curriculum that will provide eligible peace officer candidates with the law enforcement education and skills training needed to be licensed as a peace officer. The curriculum must be designed to be completed in eight months or less and shall be offered at the institutions designated under subdivision 8. The curriculum may overlap, coincide with, or draw upon existing law enforcement education and training programs at institutions designated as education providers under subdivision 8. The commissioner may designate existing law enforcement education and training programs that are designed to be completed in eight months or less as intensive comprehensive law enforcement education and skills training programs that are designed to be completed in eight months or less as intensive comprehensive law enforcement education and skills training programs that are designed to be completed in eight months or less as intensive comprehensive law enforcement education and skills training programs for purposes of this section.

Subd. 8. Education providers; sites. (a) No later than September 1, 2023, the Board of Trustees of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities shall designate at least two regionally diverse system campuses to provide the required intensive comprehensive law enforcement education and skills training to eligible peace officer candidates.

(b) In addition to the campuses designated under paragraph (a), the commissioner may designate private, nonprofit postsecondary institutions to provide the required intensive comprehensive law enforcement education and skills training to eligible peace officer candidates.

Subd. 9. Account established. An intensive comprehensive peace officer education and training program account is created in the special revenue fund for depositing money appropriated to or received by the department for this program. Money deposited in the account is appropriated to the commissioner, does not cancel, and is continuously available to fund the requirements of this section.

Subd. 10. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have the meanings given.

(b) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of public safety.

(c) "Eligible peace officer candidate" means a person who:

(1) holds a two- or four-year degree from an accredited college or university;

6124

## FRIDAY, APRIL 21, 2023

(3) passed a thorough background check, including searches by local, state, and federal agencies, to disclose the existence of any criminal record or conduct which would adversely affect the candidate's performance of peace officer duties;

(4) possesses a valid Minnesota driver's license or, in case of residency therein, a valid driver's license from another state, or eligibility to obtain either license; and

(5) is sponsored by a state or local law enforcement agency.

(d) "Law enforcement agency" has the meaning given in section 626.84, subdivision 1, paragraph (f), clause (1).

(e) "Program" means the intensive comprehensive peace officer education and training program.

Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 626.87, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 1a. Background checks. (a) The law enforcement agency must request a criminal history background check from the superintendent of the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension on an applicant for employment as a licensed peace officer or an applicant for a position leading to employment as a licensed peace officer within the state of Minnesota to determine eligibility for licensing. Applicants must provide, for submission to the superintendent of the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension:

(1) an executed criminal history consent form, authorizing the dissemination of state and federal records to the law enforcement agency and the Board of Peace Officer Standards and Training and fingerprints; and

(2) a money order or cashier's check payable to the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension for the fee for conducting the criminal history background check.

(b) The superintendent of the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension shall perform the background check required under paragraph (a) by retrieving criminal history data as defined in section 13.87 and shall also conduct a search of the national criminal records repository. The superintendent is authorized to exchange the applicant's fingerprints with the Federal Bureau of Investigation to obtain their national criminal history record information. The superintendent must return the results of the Minnesota and federal criminal history records checks to the law enforcement agency who is authorized to share with the Board of Peace Officer Standards and Training to determine if the individual is eligible for licensing under Minnesota Rules, chapter 6700.

Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 626.87, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. **Disclosure of employment information.** Upon request of a law enforcement agency, an employer shall disclose or otherwise make available for inspection employment information of an employee or former employee who is the subject of an investigation under subdivision 1 <u>or who is a candidate for employment with a law enforcement agency in any other capacity</u>. The request for disclosure of employment information must be in writing, must be accompanied by an <del>original</del> authorization and release signed by the employee or former employee, and must be signed by <del>a sworn peace officer or other</del> <u>an</u> authorized representative of the law enforcement agency conducting the background investigation.

Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 626.87, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. **Refusal to disclose a personnel record.** If an employer refuses to disclose employment information in accordance with this section, upon request the district court may issue an ex parte order directing the disclosure of the employment information. The request must be made by a sworn peace officer an authorized representative from

#### JOURNAL OF THE HOUSE

the law enforcement agency conducting the background investigation and must include a copy of the original request for disclosure made upon the employer or former employer and the authorization and release signed by the employee or former employee. The request must be signed by the <u>peace officer person</u> requesting the order and an attorney representing the state or the political subdivision on whose behalf the background investigation is being conducted. It is not necessary for the request or the order to be filed with the court administrator. Failure to comply with the court order subjects the person <u>or entity</u> who fails to comply to civil or criminal contempt of court.

Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 626.87, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. **Notice of investigation.** Upon initiation of a background investigation <u>under this section</u> for a person <u>described in subdivision 1</u>, the law enforcement agency shall give written notice to the Peace Officer Standards and Training Board of:

(1) the candidate's full name and date of birth; and

(2) the candidate's peace officer license number, if known.

The initiation of a background investigation does not include the submission of an application for employment. Initiation of a background investigation occurs when the law enforcement agency begins its determination of whether an applicant meets the agency's standards for employment as a law enforcement employee.

Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 626.89, subdivision 17, is amended to read:

Subd. 17. Civilian review. (a) As used in this subdivision, the following terms have the meanings given:

(1) "civilian oversight council" means a civilian review board, commission, or other oversight body established by a local unit of government to provide civilian oversight of a law enforcement agency and officers employed by the agency; and

(2) "misconduct" means a violation of law, standards promulgated by the Peace Officer Standards and Training Board, or agency policy.

(b) A local unit of government may establish a civilian review board, commission, or other oversight body shall not have council and grant the council the authority to make a finding of fact or determination regarding a complaint against an officer or impose discipline on an officer. A civilian review board, commission, or other oversight body may make a recommendation regarding the merits of a complaint, however, the recommendation shall be advisory only and shall not be binding on nor limit the authority of the chief law enforcement officer of any unit of government.

(c) At the conclusion of any criminal investigation or prosecution, if any, a civilian oversight council may conduct an investigation into allegations of peace officer misconduct and retain an investigator to facilitate an investigation. Subject to other applicable law, a council may subpoena or compel testimony and documents in an investigation. Upon completion of an investigation, a council may make a finding of misconduct and recommend appropriate discipline against peace officers employed by the agency. If the governing body grants a council may submit investigation reports that contain findings of peace officer misconduct to the chief law enforcement officer and the Peace Officer Standards and Training Board's complaint committee. A council may also make policy recommendations to the chief law enforcement officer and the Peace Officer Standards and Training Board.

(d) The chief law enforcement officer of a law enforcement agency under the jurisdiction of a civilian oversight council shall cooperate with the council and facilitate the council's achievement of its goals. However, the officer is under no obligation to agree with individual recommendations of the council and may oppose a recommendation. If the officer fails to implement a recommendation that is within the officer's authority, the officer shall inform the council of the failure along with the officer's underlying reasons.

(e) Peace officer discipline decisions imposed pursuant to the authority granted under this subdivision shall be subject to the applicable grievance procedure established or agreed to under chapter 179A.

(f) Data collected, created, received, maintained, or disseminated by a civilian oversight council related to an investigation of a peace officer are personnel data as defined by section 13.43, subdivision 1, and are governed by that section.

Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 626.90, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Law enforcement agency. (a) The band has the powers of a law enforcement agency, as defined in section 626.84, subdivision 1, paragraph (f), if all of the requirements of clauses (1) to (4) are met:

(1) the band agrees to be subject to liability for its torts and those of its officers, employees, and agents acting within the scope of their employment or duties arising out of a law enforcement agency function conferred by this section, to the same extent as a municipality under chapter 466, and the band further agrees, notwithstanding section 16C.05, subdivision 7, to waive its sovereign immunity for purposes of claims of this liability;

(2) the band files with the Board of Peace Officer Standards and Training a bond or certificate of insurance for liability coverage with the maximum single occurrence amounts set forth in section 466.04 and an annual cap for all occurrences within a year of three times the single occurrence amount;

(3) the band files with the Board of Peace Officer Standards and Training a certificate of insurance for liability of its law enforcement officers, employees, and agents for lawsuits under the United States Constitution; and

(4) the band agrees to be subject to section 13.82 and any other laws of the state relating to data practices of law enforcement agencies.

(b) The band shall <u>may</u> enter into mutual aid/cooperative agreements with the Mille Lacs County sheriff under section 471.59 to define and regulate the provision of law enforcement services under this section. The agreements must define the trust property involved in the joint powers agreement.

(c) <u>Only if the requirements of paragraph (a) are met</u>, the band shall have concurrent jurisdictional authority under this section with the Mille Lacs County Sheriff's Department <del>only if the requirements of paragraph (a) are met</del> and under the following circumstances:

(1) over all persons in the geographical boundaries of the property held by the United States in trust for the Mille Lacs Band or the Minnesota Chippewa tribe;

(2) over all Minnesota Chippewa tribal members within the boundaries of the Treaty of February 22, 1855, 10 Stat. 1165, in Mille Lacs County, Minnesota; and.

(3) concurrent jurisdiction over any person who commits or attempts to commit a crime in the presence of an appointed band peace officer within the boundaries of the Treaty of February 22, 1855, 10 Stat. 1165, in Mille Lacs County, Minnesota.

JOURNAL OF THE HOUSE

Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 626.91, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Law enforcement agency. (a) The community has the powers of a law enforcement agency, as defined in section 626.84, subdivision 1, paragraph (f), if all of the requirements of clauses (1) to (4) are met:

(1) the community agrees to be subject to liability for its torts and those of its officers, employees, and agents acting within the scope of their employment or duties arising out of the law enforcement agency powers conferred by this section to the same extent as a municipality under chapter 466, and the community further agrees, notwithstanding section 16C.05, subdivision 7, to waive its sovereign immunity with respect to claims arising from this liability;

(2) the community files with the Board of Peace Officer Standards and Training a bond or certificate of insurance for liability coverage with the maximum single occurrence amounts set forth in section 466.04 and an annual cap for all occurrences within a year of three times the single occurrence amount;

(3) the community files with the Board of Peace Officer Standards and Training a certificate of insurance for liability of its law enforcement officers, employees, and agents for lawsuits under the United States Constitution; and

(4) the community agrees to be subject to section 13.82 and any other laws of the state relating to data practices of law enforcement agencies.

(b) The community shall may enter into an agreement under section 471.59 with the Redwood County sheriff to define and regulate the provision of law enforcement services under this section and to provide for mutual aid and cooperation. If entered, the agreement must identify and describe the trust property involved in the agreement. For purposes of entering into this agreement, the community shall be considered a "governmental unit" as that term is defined in section 471.59, subdivision 1.

Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 626.91, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. **Peace officers.** If the community complies with the requirements set forth in subdivision 2, <u>paragraph</u> (a), the community is authorized to appoint peace officers, as defined in section 626.84, subdivision 1, paragraph (c), who have the same powers as peace officers employed by the Redwood County sheriff over the persons and the geographic areas described in subdivision 3.

Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 626.92, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Law enforcement agency. (a) The band has the powers of a law enforcement agency, as defined in section 626.84, subdivision 1, paragraph (f), if all of the requirements of clauses (1) to (4) and paragraph (b) are met:

(1) the band agrees to be subject to liability for its torts and those of its officers, employees, and agents acting within the scope of their employment or duties arising out of the law enforcement agency powers conferred by this section to the same extent as a municipality under chapter 466, and the band further agrees, notwithstanding section 16C.05, subdivision 7, to waive its sovereign immunity for purposes of claims arising out of this liability;

(2) the band files with the Board of Peace Officer Standards and Training a bond or certificate of insurance for liability coverage with the maximum single occurrence amounts set forth in section 466.04 and an annual cap for all occurrences within a year of three times the single occurrence amount or establishes that liability coverage exists under the Federal Torts Claims Act, United States Code, title 28, section 1346(b), et al., as extended to the band pursuant to the Indian Self-Determination and Education Assistance Act of 1975, United States Code, title 25, section 450f(c);

54TH DAY]

## FRIDAY, APRIL 21, 2023

(3) the band files with the Board of Peace Officer Standards and Training a certificate of insurance for liability of its law enforcement officers, employees, and agents for lawsuits under the United States Constitution or establishes that liability coverage exists under the Federal Torts Claims Act, United States Code, title 28, section 1346(b) et al., as extended to the band pursuant to the Indian Self-Determination and Education Assistance Act of 1975, United States Code, title 25, section 450F(c); and

(4) the band agrees to be subject to section 13.82 and any other laws of the state relating to data practices of law enforcement agencies.

(b) By July 1, 1998, The band shall may enter into written mutual aid or cooperative agreements with the Carlton County sheriff, the St. Louis County sheriff, and the city of Cloquet under section 471.59 to define and regulate the provision of law enforcement services under this section. If entered, the agreements must define the following:

(1) the trust property involved in the joint powers agreement;

(2) the responsibilities of the county sheriffs;

(3) the responsibilities of the county attorneys; and

(4) the responsibilities of the city of Cloquet city attorney and police department.

Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 626.92, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. **Concurrent jurisdiction.** The band shall have concurrent jurisdictional authority under this section with the Carlton County and St. Louis County Sheriffs' Departments over crimes committed within the boundaries of the Fond du Lac Reservation as indicated by the mutual aid or cooperative agreements entered into under subdivision 2, paragraph (b), and any exhibits or attachments to those agreements if the requirements of subdivision 2, paragraph (a), are met, regardless of whether a cooperative agreement pursuant to subdivision 2, paragraph (b), is entered into.

Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 626.93, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. **Concurrent jurisdiction.** If the requirements of subdivision 2 are met and the tribe enters into a cooperative agreement pursuant to subdivision 4, the Tribe shall have has concurrent jurisdictional authority under this section with the local county sheriff within the geographical boundaries of the Tribe's reservation to enforce state criminal law.

Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 626.93, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. **Cooperative agreements.** In order to coordinate, define, and regulate the provision of law enforcement services and to provide for mutual aid and cooperation, governmental units and the Tribe shall <u>may</u> enter into agreements under section 471.59. For the purposes of entering into these agreements, the Tribe shall be is considered a "governmental unit" as that term is defined in section 471.59, subdivision 1.

#### Sec. 29. **<u>REPEALER.</u>**

Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 626.93, subdivision 7, is repealed.

JOURNAL OF THE HOUSE

## ARTICLE 12 CORRECTIONS POLICY

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 241.01, subdivision 3a, is amended to read:

Subd. 3a. **Commissioner, powers and duties.** The commissioner of corrections has the following powers and duties:

(a) To accept persons committed to the commissioner by the courts of this state for care, custody, and rehabilitation.

(b) To determine the place of confinement of committed persons in a correctional facility or other facility of the Department of Corrections and to prescribe reasonable conditions and rules for their employment, conduct, instruction, and discipline within or outside the facility. <u>After July 1, 2023, the commissioner shall not allow</u> inmates who have not been conditionally released from prison, whether on parole, supervised release, work release, or an early release program, to be housed in correctional facilities that are not owned and operated by the state, a local unit of government, or a group of local units of government. Inmates shall not exercise custodial functions or have authority over other inmates.

(c) To administer the money and property of the department.

(d) To administer, maintain, and inspect all state correctional facilities.

(e) To transfer authorized positions and personnel between state correctional facilities as necessary to properly staff facilities and programs.

(f) To utilize state correctional facilities in the manner deemed to be most efficient and beneficial to accomplish the purposes of this section, but not to close the Minnesota Correctional Facility-Stillwater or the Minnesota Correctional Facility-St. Cloud without legislative approval. The commissioner may place juveniles and adults at the same state minimum security correctional facilities, if there is total separation of and no regular contact between juveniles and adults, except contact incidental to admission, classification, and mental and physical health care.

(g) To organize the department and employ personnel the commissioner deems necessary to discharge the functions of the department, including a chief executive officer for each facility under the commissioner's control who shall serve in the unclassified civil service and may, under the provisions of section 43A.33, be removed only for cause.

(h) To define the duties of these employees and to delegate to them any of the commissioner's powers, duties and responsibilities, subject to the commissioner's control and the conditions the commissioner prescribes.

(i) To annually develop a comprehensive set of goals and objectives designed to clearly establish the priorities of the Department of Corrections. This report shall be submitted to the governor commencing January 1, 1976. The commissioner may establish ad hoc advisory committees.

(j) To publish, administer, and award grant contracts with state agencies, local units of government, and other entities for correctional programs embodying rehabilitative concepts, for restorative programs for crime victims and the overall community, and for implementing legislative directives.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment.

FRIDAY, APRIL 21, 2023

Subd. 1d. **Public notice of restriction, revocation, or suspension.** If the license of a facility under this section is revoked or suspended, or use of the facility is restricted for any reason under a conditional license order, <u>or a correction order is issued to a facility</u>, the commissioner shall post the facility, the status of the facility's license, and the reason for the <u>correction order</u>, restriction, revocation, or suspension publicly and on the department's website.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 241.021, subdivision 2a, is amended to read:

Subd. 2a. Affected municipality; notice. The commissioner must not issue grant a license without giving 30 calendar days' written notice to any affected municipality or other political subdivision unless the facility has a licensed capacity of six or fewer persons and is occupied by either the licensee or the group foster home parents. The notification must be given before the license is first issuance of a license granted and annually after that time if annual notification is requested in writing by any affected municipality or other political subdivision. State funds must not be made available to or be spent by an agency or department of state, county, or municipal government for payment to a foster care facility licensed under subdivision 2 until the provisions of this subdivision have been complied with in full.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 241.021, subdivision 2b, is amended to read:

Subd. 2b. Licensing; facilities; juveniles from outside state. The commissioner may not:

(1) issue grant a license under this section to operate a correctional facility for the detention or confinement of juvenile offenders if the facility accepts juveniles who reside outside of Minnesota without an agreement with the entity placing the juvenile at the facility that obligates the entity to pay the educational expenses of the juvenile; or

(2) renew a license under this section to operate a correctional facility for the detention or confinement of juvenile offenders if the facility accepts juveniles who reside outside of Minnesota without an agreement with the entity placing the juvenile at the facility that obligates the entity to pay the educational expenses of the juvenile.

## Sec. 5. [241.0215] JUVENILE DETENTION FACILITIES; RESTRICTIONS ON STRIP SEARCHES AND DISCIPLINE.

Subdivision 1. <u>Applicability.</u> This section applies to juvenile facilities licensed by the commissioner of corrections under section 241.021, subdivision 2.

Subd. 2. Definitions. (a) As used in this section, the following terms have the meanings given.

(b) "Health care professional" means an individual who is licensed or permitted by a Minnesota health-related licensing board, as defined in section 214.01, subdivision 2, to perform health care services in Minnesota within the professional's scope of practice.

(c) "Strip search" means a visual inspection of a juvenile's unclothed breasts, buttocks, or genitalia.

Subd. 3. Searches restricted. (a) A staff person working in a facility may not conduct a strip search unless:

(1) a specific, articulable, and immediate contraband concern is present;

(2) other search techniques and technology cannot be used or have failed to identify the contraband; and

(3) the facility's chief administrator or designee has reviewed the situation and approved the strip search.

(b) A strip search must be conducted by:

(1) a health care professional; or

(2) a staff person working in a facility who has received training on trauma-informed search techniques and other applicable training under Minnesota Rules, chapter 2960.

(c) A strip search must be documented in writing and describe the contraband concern, summarize other inspection techniques used or considered, and verify the approval from the facility's chief administrator or, in the temporary absence of the chief administrator, the staff person designated as the person in charge of the facility. A copy of the documentation must be provided to the commissioner within 24 hours of the strip search.

(d) Nothing in this section prohibits or limits a strip search as part of a health care procedure conducted by a health care professional.

Subd. 4. Discipline restricted. (a) A staff person working in a facility may not discipline a juvenile by physically or socially isolating the juvenile.

(b) Nothing in this subdivision restricts a facility from isolating a juvenile for the juvenile's safety, staff safety, or the safety of other facility residents when the isolation is consistent with rules adopted by the commissioner.

Subd. 5. Commissioner action. The commissioner may take any action authorized under section 241.021, subdivisions 2 and 3, to address a violation of this section.

Subd. 6. <u>Report.</u> (a) By February 15 each year, the commissioner must report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees and divisions with jurisdiction over public safety finance and policy on the use of strip searches and isolation.

(b) The report must consist of summary data from the previous calendar year and must, at a minimum, include:

(1) how often strip searches were performed;

(2) how often juveniles were isolated;

(3) the length of each period of isolation used and, for juveniles isolated in the previous year, the total cumulative amount of time that the juvenile was isolated that year; and

(4) any injury to a juvenile related to a strip search or isolation, or both, that was reportable as a critical incident.

(c) Data in the report must provide information on the demographics of juveniles who were subject to a strip search and juveniles who were isolated. At a minimum, data must be disaggregated by age, race, and gender.

(d) The report must identify any facility that performed a strip search or used isolation, or both, in a manner that did not comply with this section or rules adopted by the commissioner in conformity with this section.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2024.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 241.025, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Authorization. The commissioner of corrections may appoint peace officers, as defined in section 626.84, subdivision 1, paragraph (c), who shall serve in the classified service subject to the provisions of section 43A.01, subdivision 2, and establish a law enforcement agency, as defined in section 626.84, subdivision 1,

paragraph (f), known as the Department of Corrections Fugitive Apprehension Unit, to perform the duties necessary to make statewide arrests under sections 629.30 and 629.34. The jurisdiction of the law enforcement agency is <u>limited to primarily</u> the arrest of Department of Corrections' discretionary and statutory released violators and Department of Corrections' escapees <u>and this must be its primary focus</u>. The Department of Corrections Fugitive <u>Apprehension Unit may respond to a law enforcement agency's request to exercise general law enforcement duties</u> <u>during the course of official duties by carrying out law enforcement activities at the direction of the law enforcement</u> <u>agency of jurisdiction</u>. In addition, the unit may investigate criminal offenses in agency-operated correctional <u>facilities and surrounding property</u>.

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 241.025, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Limitations. The initial processing of a person arrested by the fugitive apprehension unit for an offense within the agency's jurisdiction is the responsibility of the fugitive apprehension unit unless otherwise directed by the law enforcement agency with primary jurisdiction. A subsequent investigation is the responsibility of the law enforcement agency of the jurisdiction in which a new crime is committed unless the law enforcement agency authorizes the fugitive apprehension unit to assume the subsequent investigation. At the request of the primary jurisdiction, the fugitive apprehension unit may assist in subsequent investigations or law enforcement efforts being carried out by the primary jurisdiction. Persons arrested for violations that the fugitive apprehension unit determines are not within the agency's jurisdiction must be referred to the appropriate local law enforcement agency for further investigation or disposition.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 241.025, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. **Policies.** The fugitive apprehension unit must develop and file all policies required under state law for law enforcement agencies. The fugitive apprehension unit also must develop a policy for contacting law enforcement agencies in a city or county before initiating any fugitive surveillance, investigation, or apprehension within the city or county. These policies must be filed with the board of peace officers standards and training by November 1, 2000. Revisions of any of these policies must be filed with the board within ten days of the effective date of the revision. The Department of Corrections shall train all of its peace officers regarding the application of these policies.

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 241.90, is amended to read:

#### 241.90 OFFICE OF OMBUDSPERSON; CREATION; QUALIFICATIONS; FUNCTION.

The Office of Ombudsperson for the Department of Corrections is hereby created. The ombudsperson shall serve at the pleasure of <u>be appointed by</u> the governor in the unclassified service, <u>and may be removed only for just cause</u>. The ombudsperson shall be selected without regard to political affiliation, and shall be a person highly competent and qualified to analyze questions of law, administration, and public policy. No person may serve as ombudsperson while holding any other public office. The ombudsperson for corrections shall be accountable to the governor and shall have the authority to investigate decisions, acts, and other matters of the Department of Corrections so as to promote the highest attainable standards of competence, efficiency, and justice in the administration of corrections.

## Sec. 10. [243.95] PRIVATE PRISON CONTRACTS PROHIBITED.

(a) The commissioner may not contract with privately owned and operated prisons for the care, custody, and rehabilitation of inmates committed to the custody of the commissioner.

(b) Notwithstanding section 43A.047, nothing in this section prohibits the commissioner from contracting with privately owned residential facilities, such as halfway houses, group homes, work release centers, or treatment facilities, to provide for the care, custody, and rehabilitation of inmates who have been released from prison under section 241.26, 244.05, 244.0513, 244.065, or 244.172, or any other form of supervised or conditional release.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment.

## Sec. 11. [244.049] INDETERMINATE SENTENCE RELEASE BOARD.

Subdivision 1. Establishment; membership. (a) As provided under paragraph (b) and section 244.05, subdivision 5, the Indeterminate Sentence Release Board is established to review eligible cases and make release and final discharge decisions for:

(1) inmates serving life sentences with the possibility of parole or supervised release under sections 243.05, subdivision 1, and 244.05, subdivision 5; and

(2) inmates serving indeterminate sentences for crimes committed on or before April 30, 1980.

(b) Beginning July 1, 2024, the authority to grant discretionary release and final discharge previously vested in the commissioner under sections 243.05, subdivisions 1, paragraph (a), and 3; 244.08; and 609.12 is transferred to the board.

(c) The board consists of five members as follows:

(1) four members appointed by the governor from which each of the majority leaders and minority leaders of the house of representatives and the senate provides two candidate recommendations for consideration; and

(2) the commissioner, who serves as chair.

(d) Appointed board members must meet the following qualifications, at a minimum:

(1) a law degree or a bachelor's degree in criminology, corrections, or a related social science;

(2) five years of experience in corrections, a criminal justice or community corrections field, rehabilitation programming, behavioral health, or criminal law; and

(3) demonstrated knowledge of victim issues and correctional processes.

Subd. 2. <u>Terms: compensation.</u> (a) Appointed board members serve four-year staggered terms, but the terms of the initial members are as follows:

(1) two members must be appointed for terms that expire January 1, 2026; and

(2) two members must be appointed for terms that expire January 1, 2028.

(b) An appointed member is eligible for reappointment, and a vacancy must be filled according to subdivision 1.

(c) For appointed members, compensation and removal are as provided in section 15.0575.

Subd. 3. Quorum; administrative duties. (a) The majority of members constitutes a quorum.

(b) An appointed board member must visit at least one state correctional facility every 12 months.

(c) The commissioner must provide the board with personnel, supplies, equipment, office space, and other administrative services necessary and incident to fulfilling the board's functions.

Subd. 4. Limitation. Nothing in this section or section 244.05, subdivision 5:

(1) supersedes the commissioner's authority to set conditions of release or revoke an inmate's release for violating any of the conditions; or

(2) impairs the power of the Board of Pardons to grant a pardon or commutation in any case.

Subd. 5. <u>Report.</u> (a) Beginning February 15, 2025, and each year thereafter, the board must submit to the legislative committees with jurisdiction over criminal justice policy a written report that:

(1) details the number of inmates reviewed;

(2) identifies inmates granted release or final discharge in the preceding year; and

(3) provides demographic data of inmates who were granted release or final discharge and inmates who were denied release or final discharge.

(b) The report must also include the board's recommendations to the commissioner for policy modifications that influence the board's duties.

Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 244.05, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. **Rules.** (a) Notwithstanding section 14.03, subdivision 3, paragraph (b), clause (1), the commissioner of corrections shall <u>must</u> adopt by rule standards and procedures for the revocation of revoking supervised or conditional release, and shall <u>must</u> specify the period of revocation for each violation of release <u>except in</u> accordance with subdivision 5, paragraph (i), for inmates serving life sentences.

(b) Procedures for the revocation of revoking release shall must provide due process of law for the inmate.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.

Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 244.05, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. **Supervised release**; life sentence and indeterminate sentences. (a) The commissioner of corrections board may, under rules promulgated adopted by the commissioner, give grant supervised release or parole to an inmate serving a mandatory life sentence under section 609.185, paragraph (a), clause (3), (5), or (6); 609.3455, subdivision 3 or 4; 609.385; or Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.109, subdivision 3,:

(1) after the inmate has served the minimum term of imprisonment specified in subdivision 4 or section 243.05, subdivision 1, paragraph (a); or

(2) at any time for an inmate serving a nonlife indeterminate sentence for a crime committed on or before April 30, 1980.

(b) <u>No earlier than three years before an inmate reaches their minimum term of imprisonment or parole eligibility date, the commissioner must conduct a formal review and make programming recommendations relevant to the inmate's release review under this subdivision.</u>

(c) The commissioner shall <u>board must</u> require the preparation of a community investigation report and shall consider the findings of the report when making a supervised release <u>or parole</u> decision under this subdivision. The report shall <u>must</u>:

6136

JOURNAL OF THE HOUSE

(1) reflect the sentiment of the various elements of the community toward the inmate, both at the time of the offense and at the present time:

The report shall (2) include the views of the sentencing judge, the prosecutor, any law enforcement personnel who may have been involved in the case, and any successors to these individuals who may have information relevant to the supervised release decision-; and

The report shall also (3) include the views of the victim and the victim's family unless the victim or the victim's family chooses not to participate.

(c) (d) The commissioner shall must make reasonable efforts to notify the victim, in advance, of the time and place of the inmate's supervised release review hearing. The victim has a right to submit an oral or written statement at the review hearing. The statement may summarize the harm suffered by the victim as a result of the crime and give the victim's recommendation on whether the inmate should be given supervised release <u>or parole</u> at this time. The commissioner must consider the victim's statement when making the supervised release decision.

(d) (e) Supervised release or parole must be granted with a majority vote of the board members. When considering whether to give grant supervised release or parole to an inmate serving a life sentence under section 609.3455, subdivision 3 or 4 or indeterminate sentence, the commissioner shall board must consider, at a minimum, the following:

(1) the risk the inmate poses to the community if released;

(2) the inmate's progress in treatment;

(3) the inmate's behavior while incarcerated;

(4) psychological or other diagnostic evaluations of the inmate;

(5) the inmate's criminal history;

(6) a victim statement under paragraph (d), if submitted; and

(7) any other relevant conduct of the inmate while incarcerated or before incarceration.

(f) The commissioner board may not give grant supervised release or parole to the an inmate unless:

(1) while in prison:

(i) the inmate has successfully completed appropriate sex offender treatment, if applicable;

(ii) the inmate has been assessed for substance use disorder needs and, if appropriate, has successfully completed substance use disorder treatment; and

(iii) the inmate has been assessed for mental health needs and, if appropriate, has successfully completed mental health treatment; and

(2) a comprehensive individual release plan is in place for the inmate that:

(i) ensures that, after release, the inmate will have suitable housing and receive appropriate aftercare and community-based treatment. The comprehensive plan also must include: and

(ii) includes a postprison employment or education plan for the inmate.

(e) (g) When granting supervised release under this subdivision, the board must set prerelease conditions to be followed by the inmate before their actual release or before constructive parole becomes effective. If the inmate violates any of the prerelease conditions, the commissioner may rescind the grant of supervised release without a hearing at any time before the inmate's release or before constructive parole becomes effective. A grant of constructive parole becomes effective once the inmate begins serving the consecutive sentence.

(h) If the commissioner rescinds a grant of supervised release or parole, the board:

(1) must set a release review date that occurs within 90 days of the commissioner's rescission; and

(2) by majority vote, may set a new supervised release date or set another review date.

(i) If the commissioner revokes supervised release or parole for an inmate serving a life sentence, the revocation is not subject to the limitations under section 244.30 and the board:

(1) must set a release review date that occurs within one year of the commissioner's final revocation decision; and

(2) by majority vote, may set a new supervised release date or set another review date.

(j) The board may, by a majority vote, grant a person on supervised release or parole for a life or indeterminate sentence a final discharge from their sentence in accordance with section 243.05, subdivision 3. In no case, however, may a person subject to a mandatory lifetime conditional release term under section 609.3455, subdivision 7, be discharged from that term.

As used in (k) For purposes of this subdivision,:

(1) "board" means the Indeterminate Sentence Release Board under section 244.049;

(2) "constructive parole" means the status of an inmate who has been paroled from an indeterminate sentence to begin serving a consecutive sentence in prison; and

(3) "victim" means the <u>an</u> individual who <u>has directly</u> suffered <u>loss or</u> harm <del>as a result of the <u>from an</u> inmate's</del> crime or, if the individual is deceased, the deceased's <u>a murder victim's</u> surviving spouse or, next of kin, or <u>family kin</u>.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.

Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260B.176, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 1a. **Risk-assessment instrument.** (a) If a peace officer, probation officer, or parole officer who takes a child into custody does not release the child according to subdivision 1, the officer must communicate with or deliver the child to a juvenile secure detention facility to determine whether the child should be released or detained.

(b) To determine whether a child should be released or detained, a facility's supervisor must use an objective and racially, ethnically, and gender-responsive juvenile detention risk-assessment instrument developed by the commissioner of corrections, county, group of counties, or judicial district, in consultation with the state coordinator or coordinators of the Minnesota Juvenile Detention Alternative Initiative.

(c) The risk-assessment instrument must:

(1) assess the likelihood that a child released from preadjudication detention under this section or section 260B.178 would endanger others or not return for a court hearing;

(2) identify the appropriate setting for a child who might endanger others or not return for a court hearing pending adjudication, with either continued detention or placement in a noncustodial community-based supervision setting; and

(3) identify the type of noncustodial community-based supervision setting necessary to minimize the risk that a child who is released from custody will endanger others or not return for a court hearing.

(d) If, after using the instrument, a determination is made that the child should be released, the person taking the child into custody or the facility supervisor must release the child according to subdivision 1.

## EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 15, 2023.

## Sec. 15. [641.015] PLACEMENT IN PRIVATE PRISONS PROHIBITED.

Subdivision 1. Placement prohibited. After August 1, 2023, a sheriff shall not allow inmates committed to the custody of the sheriff who are not on probation, work release, or some other form of approved release status to be housed in facilities that are not owned and operated by a local government, or a group of local units of government.

Subd. 2. Contracts prohibited. (a) Except as provided in paragraph (b), the county board may not authorize the sheriff to contract with privately owned and operated prisons for the care, custody, and rehabilitation of offenders committed to the custody of the sheriff.

(b) Nothing in this section prohibits a county board from contracting with privately owned residential facilities, such as halfway houses, group homes, work release centers, or treatment facilities, to provide for the care, custody, and rehabilitation of offenders who are on probation, work release, or some other form of approved release status.

#### **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 641.15, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Medical aid. Except as provided in section 466.101, the county board shall pay the costs of medical services provided to prisoners pursuant to this section. The amount paid by the county board for a medical service shall not exceed the maximum allowed medical assistance payment rate for the service, as determined by the commissioner of human services. In the absence of a health or medical insurance or health plan that has a contractual obligation with the provider or the prisoner, medical providers shall charge no higher than the rate negotiated between the county and the provider. In the absence of an agreement between the county and the provider, the provider may not charge an amount that exceeds the maximum allowed medical assistance payment rate for the service, as determined by the commissioner of human services. The county is entitled to reimbursement from the prisoner for payment of medical bills to the extent that the prisoner to whom the medical aid was provided has the ability to pay the bills. The prisoner shall, at a minimum, incur co-payment obligations for health care services provided by a county correctional facility. The county board shall determine the co-payment amount. Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, the co-payment shall be deducted from any of the prisoner's funds held by the county, to the extent possible. If there is a disagreement between the county and a prisoner concerning the prisoner's ability to pay, the court with jurisdiction over the defendant shall determine the extent, if any, of the prisoner's ability to pay for the medical services. If a prisoner is covered by health or medical insurance or other health plan when medical services are provided, the medical provider shall bill that health or medical insurance or other plan. If the county providing the medical services for a prisoner that has coverage under health or medical insurance or other plan, that county has a right of subrogation to be reimbursed by the insurance carrier for all sums spent by it for medical services to the prisoner that are covered by the policy of insurance or health plan, in accordance with the benefits, limitations, exclusions, provider restrictions, and other provisions of the policy or health plan. The county may maintain an action to enforce this subrogation right. The county does not have a right of subrogation against the medical assistance program. The county shall not charge prisoners for telephone calls to MNsure navigators, the Minnesota Warmline, a mental health provider, or calls for the purpose of providing case management or mental health services as defined in section 245.462 to prisoners.

Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 641.155, is amended to read:

# 641.155 DISCHARGE PLANS; OFFENDERS WITH SERIOUS AND PERSISTENT MENTAL ILLNESS.

<u>Subdivision 1.</u> **Discharge plans.** The commissioner of corrections shall develop <u>and distribute</u> a model discharge planning process for every offender with a serious and persistent mental illness, as defined in section 245.462, subdivision 20, paragraph (c), who has been convicted and sentenced to serve three or more months and is being released from a county jail or county regional jail. The commissioner may specify different model discharge plans for prisoners who have been detained pretrial and prisoners who have been sentenced to jail. The commissioner must consult best practices and the most current correctional health care standards from national accrediting organizations. The commissioner must review and update the model process as needed.

<u>Subd. 2.</u> Discharge plans for people with serious and persistent mental illnesses. An offender <u>A person</u> with a serious and persistent mental illness, as defined in section 245.462, subdivision 20, paragraph (c), who has been convicted and sentenced to serve three or more months and is being released from a county jail or county regional jail shall be referred to the appropriate staff in the county human services department at least 60 days before being released. The county human services department may carry out provisions of the model discharge planning process such as must complete a discharge plan with the prisoner no less than 14 days before release that may include:

(1) providing assistance in filling out an application for medical assistance or MinnesotaCare;

- (2) making a referral for case management as outlined under section 245.467, subdivision 4;
- (3) providing assistance in obtaining a state photo identification;

(4) securing a timely appointment with a psychiatrist or other appropriate community mental health providers; and

(5) providing prescriptions for a 30-day supply of all necessary medications.

<u>Subd. 3.</u> <u>Reentry coordination programs.</u> (a) A county may establish a program to provide services and assist prisoners with reentering the community. Reentry services may include but are not limited to:

(1) providing assistance in meeting the basic needs of the prisoner immediately after release including but not limited to provisions for transportation, clothing, food, and shelter;

(2) providing assistance in filling out an application for medical assistance or MinnesotaCare;

(3) providing assistance in obtaining a state photo identification;

(4) providing assistance in obtaining prescriptions for all necessary medications;

(5) coordinating services with the local county services agency or the social services agency in the county where the prisoner is a resident; and

(6) coordinating services with a community mental health or substance use disorder provider.

## Sec. 18. MENTAL HEALTH UNIT PILOT PROGRAM.

(a) The commissioner of corrections shall establish a pilot program with interested counties to provide mental health care to individuals with serious and persistent mental illness who are incarcerated in county jails. The pilot program must require the participating counties to pay according to Minnesota Statutes, section 243.51, a per diem for reimbursement of the Mental Health Unit at the Minnesota Correctional Facility - Oak Park Heights, and other costs incurred by the Department of Corrections.

(b) The commissioner in consultation with the Minnesota Sheriffs' Association shall develop program protocols, guidelines, and procedures and qualifications for participating counties and incarcerated individuals to be treated in the Mental Health Unit. The program is limited to a total of five incarcerated individuals from the participating counties at any one time. Incarcerated individuals must volunteer to be treated in the unit and be able to participate in programming with other incarcerated individuals.

(c) The Minnesota Correctional Facility - Oak Park Heights warden, director of psychology, and associate director of behavioral health, or a designee of each, in consultation with the Minnesota Sheriffs' Association, the Minnesota branch of the National Association on Mental Illness, and the Department of Human Services, shall oversee the pilot program.

(d) On November 15, 2024, the warden shall submit a report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees and divisions with jurisdiction over corrections describing the protocols, guidelines, and procedures for participation in the pilot program by counties and incarcerated individuals, challenges with staffing, cost sharing with counties, capacity of the program, services provided to the incarcerated individuals, program outcomes, concerns regarding the program, and recommendations for the viability of a long-term program.

(e) The pilot program expires November 16, 2024.

## Sec. 19. REVISED FACILITY PLANS.

The commissioner of corrections must direct any juvenile facility licensed by the commissioner to revise its plan under Minnesota Rules, part 2960.0270, subpart 6, and its restrictive-procedures plan under Minnesota Rules, part 2960.0710, subpart 2, to be consistent with Minnesota Statutes, section 241.0215. After receiving notice from the commissioner, a facility must submit the revised plans to the commissioner within 60 days.

## EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2024.

#### Sec. 20. **RULEMAKING.**

(a) The commissioner of corrections must amend Minnesota Rules, chapter 2960, to enforce the requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section 241.0215, including but not limited to training, facility audits, strip searches, disciplinary room time, time-outs, and seclusion. The commissioner may amend the rules to make technical changes and ensure consistency with Minnesota Statutes, section 241.0215.

(b) In amending or adopting rules according to paragraph (a), the commissioner must use the exempt rulemaking process under Minnesota Statutes, section 14.386. Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 14.386, paragraph (b), a rule adopted under this section is permanent. After the rule is adopted, the authorization to use the exempt rulemaking process expires.

(c) Notwithstanding Minnesota Laws 1995, chapter 226, article 3, sections 50, 51, and 60, or any other law to the contrary, the joint rulemaking authority with the commissioner of human services does not apply to rule amendments applicable only to the Department of Corrections. A rule that is amending jointly administered rule parts must be related to requirements on strip searches, disciplinary room time, time-outs, and seclusion and be necessary for consistency with this section.

## **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2024.

Subdivision 1. Study. The commissioner of corrections must study and make recommendations on the consolidation or merger of county jails and alternatives to incarceration for persons experiencing mental health disorders. The commissioner must engage and solicit feedback from citizens who live in communities served by facilities that may be impacted by the commissioner's recommendations for the consolidation or merger of jails. The commissioner must consult with the following individuals on the study and recommendations:

(1) county sheriffs;

(2) county and city attorneys who prosecute offenders;

(3) chief law enforcement officers;

(4) administrators of county jail facilities; and

(5) district court administrators.

Each party receiving a request for information from the commissioner under this section shall provide the requested information in a timely manner.

Subd. 2. **Report.** The commissioner of corrections must file a report with the chairs and ranking minority members of the senate and house of representatives committees and divisions with jurisdiction over public safety and capital investment on the study and recommendations under subdivision 1 on or before December 1, 2024. The report must, at a minimum, provide the following information:

(1) the daily average number of offenders incarcerated in each county jail facility:

(i) who are in pretrial detention;

(ii) who cannot afford to pay bail;

(iii) for failure to pay fines and fees;

(iv) for offenses that stem from controlled substance addiction or mental health disorders;

(v) for nonfelony offenses;

(vi) who are detained pursuant to contracts with other authorities; and

(vii) for supervised release and probation violations;

(2) the actual cost of building a new jail facility, purchasing another facility, or repairing a current facility;

(3) the age of current jail facilities;

(4) county population totals and trends;

(5) county crime rates and trends;

(6) the proximity of current jails to courthouses, probation services, social services, treatment providers, and work-release employment opportunities;

(7) specific recommendations for alternatives to incarceration for persons experiencing mental health disorders; and

(8) specific recommendations on the consolidation or merger of county jail facilities and operations, including:

(i) where consolidated facilities should be located;

(ii) which counties are best suited for consolidation;

(iii) the projected costs of construction, renovation, or purchase of the facility; and

(iv) the projected cost of operating the facility.

Subd. 3. Evaluation. The commissioner, in consultation with the commissioner of management and budget, must evaluate the need of any capital improvement project that requests an appropriation of state capital budget money during an odd-numbered year to construct a jail facility or for capital improvements to expand the number of incarcerated offenders at an existing jail facility. The commissioner shall use the report under subdivision 2 to inform the evaluation. The commissioner must submit all evaluations under this subdivision by January 15 of each even-numbered year to the chairs and ranking minority members of the senate and house of representatives committees and divisions with jurisdiction over public safety and capital investment on the study and recommendations under this subdivision.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment.

## Sec. 22. INDETERMINATE SENTENCE RELEASE BOARD.

Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 244.049, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), the Indeterminate Sentence Release Board may not begin to review eligible cases and make release and final discharge decisions until July 1, 2024.

Sec. 23. REVISOR INSTRUCTION.

When necessary to reflect the transfer under Minnesota Statutes, section 244.049, subdivision 1, the revisor of statutes must change the term "commissioner" or "commissioner of corrections" to "Indeterminate Sentence Release Board" or "board" in Minnesota Statutes, sections 243.05, subdivisions 1, paragraph (a), and 3; 244.08; and 609.12, and make any other necessary grammatical changes.

## **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.

## ARTICLE 13 MINNESOTA REHABILITATION AND REINVESTMENT ACT

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 244.03, is amended to read:

## 244.03 REHABILITATIVE PROGRAMS.

<u>Subdivision 1.</u> <u>Commissioner responsibility.</u> (a) For individuals committed to the commissioner's authority, the commissioner shall provide appropriate mental health programs and vocational and educational programs with employment related goals for inmates. The selection, design and implementation of programs under this section shall be the sole responsibility of the commissioner, acting within the limitations imposed by the funds appropriated for such programs. <u>must develop, implement, and provide, as appropriate:</u>

(1) substance use disorder treatment programs;

6142

(2) sexual offender treatment programming:

(3) domestic abuse programming;

(4) medical and mental health services;

(5) spiritual and faith-based programming;

(6) culturally responsive programming;

(7) vocational, employment and career, and educational programming; and

(8) other rehabilitative programs.

(b) While evidence-based programs must be prioritized, selecting, designing, and implementing programs under this section are the sole responsibility of the commissioner, acting within the limitations imposed by the funds appropriated for the programs under this section.

<u>Subd. 2.</u> <u>Challenge prohibited.</u> No action challenging the level of expenditures for <u>rehabilitative</u> programs authorized under this section, nor any action challenging the selection, design, or implementation of these programs, including employee assignments, may be maintained by an inmate in any court in this state.

<u>Subd. 3.</u> <u>Disciplinary sanctions.</u> The commissioner may impose disciplinary sanctions upon <u>on</u> any inmate who refuses to participate in rehabilitative programs.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 244.05, subdivision 1b, is amended to read:

Subd. 1b. **Supervised release; offenders inmates who commit crimes on or after August 1, 1993.** (a) Except as provided in subdivisions 4 and 5, every inmate sentenced to prison for a felony offense committed on or after August 1, 1993, shall serve a supervised release term upon completion of the inmate's term of imprisonment and any disciplinary confinement period imposed by the commissioner due to the inmate's violation of any disciplinary rule adopted by the commissioner or refusal to participate in a rehabilitative program required under section 244.03. The amount of time the inmate serves on supervised release shall be is equal in length to the amount of time remaining in to one-third of the inmate's fixed executed sentence after the inmate has served the term of imprisonment and any disciplinary confinement period imposed by the commissioner, less any disciplinary confinement period imposed by the commissioner disciplinary confinement period imposed by the commissioner and regardless of any earned incentive release credit applied toward the individual's term of imprisonment under section 244.44.

(b) No inmate who violates a disciplinary rule or refuses to participate in a rehabilitative program as required under section 244.03 shall be placed on supervised release until the inmate has served the disciplinary confinement period for that disciplinary sanction or until the inmate is discharged or released from punitive segregation restrictive-housing confinement, whichever is later. The imposition of a disciplinary confinement period shall be considered to be a disciplinary sanction imposed upon an inmate, and the procedure for imposing the disciplinary confinement period and the rights of the inmate in the procedure shall be those in effect for the imposition of other disciplinary sanctions at each state correctional institution.

(c) For purposes of this subdivision, "earned incentive release credit" has the meaning given in section 244.41, subdivision 7.

## Sec. 3. [244.40] MINNESOTA REHABILITATION AND REINVESTMENT ACT.

Sections 244.40 to 244.51 may be cited as the "Minnesota Rehabilitation and Reinvestment Act."

#### Sec. 4. [244.41] DEFINITIONS.

Subdivision 1. Scope. For purposes of the act, the terms defined in this section have the meanings given.

Subd. 2. Act. "Act" means the Minnesota Rehabilitation and Reinvestment Act.

Subd. 3. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the commissioner of corrections.

<u>Subd. 4.</u> <u>Correctional facility.</u> <u>"Correctional facility" means a state facility under the direct operational authority of the commissioner but does not include a commissioner-licensed local detention facility.</u>

Subd. 5. Direct-cost per diem. "Direct-cost per diem" means the actual nonsalary expenditures, including encumbrances as of July 31 following the end of the fiscal year, from the Department of Corrections expense budgets for food preparation; food provisions; personal support for incarcerated persons, including clothing, linen, and other personal supplies; transportation; and professional technical contracted health care services.

<u>Subd. 6.</u> <u>Earned compliance credit.</u> "Earned compliance credit" means a one-month reduction from the period during active supervision of the supervised release term for every two months that a supervised individual exhibits compliance with the conditions and goals of the individual's supervision plan.

<u>Subd. 7.</u> <u>Earned incentive release credit.</u> "Earned incentive release credit" means credit that is earned and included in calculating an incarcerated person's term of imprisonment for completing objectives established by their individualized rehabilitation plan under section 244.42.

Subd. 8. Earned incentive release savings. "Earned incentive release savings" means the calculation of the direct-cost per diem multiplied by the number of incarcerated days saved for the period of one fiscal year.

Subd. 9. <u>Executed sentence.</u> "Executed sentence" means the total period for which an incarcerated person is committed to the custody of the commissioner.

Subd. 10. Incarcerated days saved. "Incarcerated days saved" means the number of days of an incarcerated person's original term of imprisonment minus the number of actual days served, excluding days not served due to death or as a result of time earned in the challenge incarceration program under sections 244.17 to 244.173.

Subd. 11. Incarcerated person. "Incarcerated person" has the meaning given "inmate" in section 244.01, subdivision 2.

Subd. 12. Supervised release. "Supervised release" means the release of an incarcerated person according to section 244.05.

Subd. 13. Supervised release term. "Supervised release term" means the period equal to one-third of the individual's fixed executed sentence, less any disciplinary confinement period or punitive restrictive-housing confinement imposed under section 244.05, subdivision 1b.

Subd. 14. Supervision abatement status. "Supervision abatement status" means an end to active correctional supervision of a supervised individual without effect on the legal expiration date of the individual's executed sentence less any earned incentive release credit.

Subd. 15. <u>Term of imprisonment.</u> <u>"Term of imprisonment" has the meaning given in section 244.01, subdivision 8.</u>

# Sec. 5. [244.42] COMPREHENSIVE ASSESSMENT AND INDIVIDUALIZED REHABILITATION PLAN REQUIRED.

Subdivision 1. <u>Comprehensive assessment.</u> (a) The commissioner must develop a comprehensive assessment process for each person who:

(1) is committed to the commissioner's custody and confined in a state correctional facility on or after January 1, 2025; and

(2) has 365 or more days remaining until the person's scheduled supervised release date or parole eligibility date.

(b) As part of the assessment process, the commissioner must take into account appropriate rehabilitative programs under section 244.03.

Subd. 2. Individualized rehabilitation plan. After completing the assessment process, the commissioner must ensure the development of an individualized rehabilitation plan, along with identified goals, for every person committed to the commissioner's custody. The individualized rehabilitation plan must be holistic in nature by identifying intended outcomes for addressing:

(1) the incarcerated person's needs and risk factors;

(2) the person's identified strengths; and

(3) available and needed community supports, including victim safety considerations as required under section 244.47, if applicable.

Subd. 3. Victim input. (a) If an individual is committed to the commissioner's custody for a crime listed in section 609.02, subdivision 16, the commissioner must make reasonable efforts to notify a victim of the opportunity to provide input during the assessment and rehabilitation plan process. Victim input may include:

(1) a summary of victim concerns relative to release;

(2) concerns related to victim safety during the committed individual's term of imprisonment; or

(3) requests for imposing victim safety protocols as additional conditions of imprisonment or supervised release.

(b) The commissioner must consider all victim input statements when developing an individualized rehabilitation plan and establishing conditions governing confinement or release.

Subd. 4. <u>Transition and release plan.</u> For an incarcerated person with less than 365 days remaining until the person's supervised release date, the commissioner, in consultation with the incarcerated person, must develop a transition and release plan.

<u>Subd. 5.</u> <u>Scope of act.</u> <u>This act is separate and distinct from other legislatively authorized release programs, including the challenge incarceration program, work release, conditional medical release, or the program for the conditional release of nonviolent controlled substance offenders.</u>

## Sec. 6. [244.43] EARNED INCENTIVE RELEASE CREDIT.

Subdivision 1. Policy for earned incentive release credit; stakeholder consultation. (a) To encourage and support rehabilitation when consistent with the public interest and public safety, the commissioner must establish a policy providing for earned incentive release credit as a part of the term of imprisonment. The policy must be established in consultation with the following organizations:

(1) Minnesota County Attorneys Association;

(2) Minnesota Board of Public Defense;

(3) Minnesota Association of Community Corrections Act Counties;

- (4) Minnesota Indian Women's Sexual Assault Coalition;
- (5) Violence Free Minnesota;

(6) Minnesota Coalition Against Sexual Assault;

(7) Minnesota Alliance on Crime;

(8) Minnesota Sheriffs' Association;

(9) Minnesota Chiefs of Police Association;

(10) Minnesota Police and Peace Officers Association; and

(11) faith-based organizations that reflect the demographics of the incarcerated population.

(b) The policy must:

(1) provide circumstances upon which an incarcerated person may receive earned incentive release credits, including participation in rehabilitative programming under section 244.03; and

(2) address circumstances where:

(i) the capacity to provide rehabilitative programming in the correctional facility is diminished but the programming is available in the community; and

(ii) the conditions under which the incarcerated person could be released to the community-based resource but remain subject to commitment to the commissioner and could be considered for earned incentive release credit.

<u>Subd. 2.</u> <u>Policy on disparities.</u> <u>The commissioner must develop a policy establishing a process for assessing and addressing any systemic and programmatic gender and racial disparities that may be identified when awarding earned incentive release credits.</u>

## Sec. 7. [244.44] APPLYING EARNED INCENTIVE RELEASE CREDIT.

Earned incentive release credits are included in calculating the term of imprisonment but are not added to the person's supervised release term, the total length of which remains unchanged. The maximum amount of earned incentive release credit that can be earned and subtracted from the term of imprisonment is 17 percent of the total executed sentence. Earned credit cannot reduce the term of imprisonment to less than one-half of the incarcerated person's executed sentence. Once earned, earned incentive release credits are nonrevocable.

## Sec. 8. [244.45] INELIGIBILITY FOR EARNED INCENTIVE RELEASE CREDIT.

The following individuals are ineligible for earned incentive release credit:

(1) those serving life sentences;

6146

(2) those given indeterminate sentences for crimes committed on or before April 30, 1980; or

(3) those subject to good time under section 244.04 or similar laws.

## Sec. 9. [244.46] EARNED COMPLIANCE CREDIT AND SUPERVISION ABATEMENT STATUS.

<u>Subdivision 1.</u> <u>Adopting policy for earned compliance credit; supervision abatement status.</u> (a) The commissioner must adopt a policy providing for earned compliance credit.

(b) Except as otherwise provided in the act, once the time served on active supervision plus earned compliance credits equals the total length of the supervised release term, the commissioner must place the individual on supervision abatement status for the remainder of the supervised release term.

Subd. 2. <u>Violating conditions of release; commissioner action.</u> If an individual violates the conditions of release while on supervision abatement status, the commissioner may:

(1) return the individual to active supervision for the remainder of the supervised release term, with or without modifying the conditions of release; or

(2) revoke the individual's supervised release in accordance with section 244.05, subdivision 3.

Subd. 3. Supervision abatement status; requirements. A person who is placed on supervision abatement status under this section must not be required to regularly report to a supervised release agent or pay a supervision fee but must continue to:

(1) obey all laws;

(2) report any new criminal charges; and

(3) abide by section 243.1605 before seeking written authorization to relocate to another state.

Subd. 4. Applicability. This section does not apply to individuals:

(1) serving life sentences;

(2) given indeterminate sentences for crimes committed on or before April 30, 1980; or

(3) subject to good time under section 244.04 or similar laws.

Sec. 10. [244.47] VICTIM INPUT.

Subdivision 1. Notifying victim; victim input. (a) If an individual is committed to the custody of the commissioner for a crime listed in section 609.02, subdivision 16, and is eligible for earned incentive release credit, the commissioner must make reasonable efforts to notify the victim that the committed individual is eligible for earned incentive release credit.

(b) Victim input may include:

(1) a summary of victim concerns relative to eligibility of earned incentive release credit;

(2) concerns related to victim safety during the committed individual's term of imprisonment; or

(3) requests for imposing victim safety protocols as additional conditions of imprisonment or supervised release.

<u>Subd. 2.</u> <u>Victim input statements.</u> <u>The commissioner must consider victim input statements when establishing</u> requirements governing conditions of release. The commissioner must provide the name and telephone number of the local victim agency serving the jurisdiction of release to any victim providing input on earned incentive release credit.</u>

#### Sec. 11. [244.48] VICTIM NOTIFICATION.

Nothing in this act limits any victim notification obligations of the commissioner required by statute related to a change in custody status, committing offense, end-of-confinement review, or notification registration.

## Sec. 12. [244.49] INTERSTATE COMPACT.

(a) This section applies to a person serving a Minnesota sentence while being supervised in another state according to the Interstate Compact for Adult Supervision.

(b) As may be allowed under section 243.1605, a person may be eligible for supervision abatement status according to the act only if they meet eligibility criteria for earned compliance credit as established under section 244.46.

## Sec. 13. [244.50] REALLOCATING EARNED INCENTIVE RELEASE SAVINGS.

Subdivision 1. Establishing reallocation revenue account. The reallocation of earned incentive release savings account is established in the special revenue fund in the state treasury. Funds in the account are appropriated to the commissioner and must be expended in accordance with the allocation established in subdivision 4 after the requirements of subdivision 2 are met. Funds in the account are available until expended.

Subd. 2. Certifying earned incentive release savings. On or before the final closeout date of each fiscal year, the commissioner must certify to Minnesota Management and Budget the earned incentive release savings from the previous fiscal year. The commissioner must provide the detailed calculation substantiating the savings amount, including accounting-system-generated data where possible, supporting the direct-cost per diem and the incarcerated days saved.

Subd. 3. Savings to be transferred to reallocation revenue account. After the certification in subdivision 2 is completed, the commissioner must transfer funds from the appropriation from which the savings occurred to the reallocation revenue account according to the allocation in subdivision 4. Transfers must occur by September 1 each year.

Subd. 4. Distributing reallocation funds. The commissioner must distribute funds as follows:

(1) 25 percent must be transferred to the Office of Justice Programs in the Department of Public Safety for crime victim services;

(2) 25 percent must be transferred to the Community Corrections Act subsidy appropriation and to the Department of Corrections for supervised release and intensive supervision services, based upon a three-year average of the release jurisdiction of supervised releasees and intensive supervised releasees across the state;

(3) 25 percent must be transferred to the Department of Corrections for:

(i) grants to develop and invest in community-based services that support the identified needs of correctionally involved individuals or individuals at risk of becoming involved in the criminal justice system; and

(ii) sustaining the operation of evidence-based programming in state and local correctional facilities; and

(4) 25 percent must be transferred to the general fund.

### Sec. 14. [244.51] REPORTING REQUIRED.

<u>Subdivision 1.</u> <u>Annual report required.</u> (a) Beginning January 15, 2026, and by January 15 each year thereafter for ten years, the commissioner must provide a report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the house of representatives and senate committees and divisions with jurisdiction over public safety and judiciary.

(b) For the 2026 report, the commissioner must report on implementing the requirements in this act. Starting with the 2027 report, the commissioner must report on the status of the requirements in this act for the previous fiscal year.

(c) Each report must be provided to the sitting president of the Minnesota Association of Community Corrections Act Counties and the executive directors of the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission, the Minnesota Indian Women's Sexual Assault Coalition, the Minnesota Alliance on Crime, Violence Free Minnesota, the Minnesota Coalition Against Sexual Assault, and the Minnesota County Attorneys Association.

(d) The report must include but not be limited to:

(1) a qualitative description of policy development; implementation status; identified implementation or operational challenges; strategies identified to mitigate and ensure that the act does not create or exacerbate gender, racial, and ethnic disparities; and proposed mechanisms for projecting future savings and reallocation of savings;

(2) the number of persons who were granted earned incentive release credit, the total number of days of incentive release earned, a summary of committing offenses for those persons who earned incentive release credit, a summary of earned incentive release savings, and the demographic data for all persons eligible for earned incentive release credit and the reasons and demographic data of those eligible persons for whom earned incentive release credit was unearned or denied;

(3) the number of persons who earned supervision abatement status, the total number of days of supervision abatement earned, the committing offenses for those persons granted supervision abatement status, the number of revocations for reoffense while on supervision abatement status, and the demographic data for all persons eligible for, considered for, granted, or denied supervision abatement status and the reasons supervision abatement status was unearned or denied;

(4) the number of persons deemed ineligible to receive earned incentive release credits and supervise abatement and the demographic data for the persons; and

(5) the number of victims who submitted input, the number of referrals to local victim-serving agencies, and a summary of the kinds of victim services requested.

<u>Subd. 2.</u> <u>Soliciting feedback.</u> (a) The commissioner must solicit feedback on victim-related operational concerns from the Minnesota Indian Women's Sexual Assault Coalition, Minnesota Alliance on Crime, Minnesota Coalition Against Sexual Assault, and Violence Free Minnesota.

(b) The feedback should relate to applying earned incentive release credit and supervision abatement status options. A summary of the feedback from the organizations must be included in the annual report.

Subd. 3. Evaluating earned incentive release credit and act. The commissioner must direct the Department of Corrections' research unit to regularly evaluate earned incentive release credits and other provisions of the act. The findings must be published on the Department of Corrections' website and in the annual report.

#### Sec. 15. EFFECTIVE DATE.

Sections 1 to 14 are effective August 1, 2023.

## ARTICLE 14 FIREARMS BACKGROUND CHECKS

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 624.7131, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. **Grounds for disqualification**. A determination by (a) The chief of police or sheriff that shall refuse to grant a transferee permit if the applicant is: (1) prohibited by section 624.713 state or federal law from possessing a pistol or semiautomatic military-style assault weapon shall be the only basis for refusal to grant a transferee permit; (2) determined to be a danger to self or the public when in possession of firearms under paragraph (b); or (3) listed in the criminal gang investigative data system under section 299C.091.

(b) A chief of police or sheriff shall refuse to grant a permit to a person if there exists a substantial likelihood that the applicant is a danger to self or the public when in possession of a firearm. To deny the application pursuant to paragraph (a), clause (2), the chief of police or sheriff must provide the applicant with written notification and the specific factual basis justifying the denial, including the source of the factual basis. The chief of police or sheriff must inform the applicant of the applicant's right to submit, within 20 business days, any additional documentation relating to the propriety of the denial. Upon receiving any additional documentation, the chief of police or sheriff must reconsider the denial and inform the applicant within 15 business days of the result of the reconsideration. Any denial after reconsideration must be in the same form and substance as the original denial and must specifically address any continued deficiencies in light of the additional documentation submitted by the applicant. The applicant must be informed of the right to seek de novo review of the denial as provided in subdivision 8.

(c) A person is not eligible to submit a permit application under this section if the person has had an application denied pursuant to paragraph (b) and less than six months have elapsed since the denial was issued or the person's appeal under subdivision 8 was denied, whichever is later.

(d) A chief of police or sheriff who denies a permit application pursuant to paragraph (b) must provide a copy of the notice of disqualification to the chief of police or sheriff with joint jurisdiction over the proposed transferee's residence.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 624.7131, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. Granting of permits. (a) The chief of police or sheriff shall issue a transferee permit or deny the application within seven 30 days of application for the permit.

(b) In the case of a denial, the chief of police or sheriff shall provide an applicant with written notification of a denial and the specific reason for the denial.

(c) The permits and their renewal shall be granted free of charge.

#### EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 624.7131, subdivision 7, is amended to read:

Subd. 7. **Permit voided**; revocation. (a) The transferee permit shall be void at the time that the holder becomes prohibited from possessing or receiving a pistol under section 624.713, in which event the holder shall return the permit within five days to the issuing authority. If the chief law enforcement officer who issued the permit has knowledge that the permit holder is ineligible to possess firearms, the chief law enforcement officer must revoke the permit and give notice to the holder in writing. Failure of the holder to return the permit within the five days of learning that the permit is void or revoked is a gross misdemeanor unless the court finds that the circumstances or the physical or mental condition of the permit holder prevented the holder from complying with the return requirement.

#### FRIDAY, APRIL 21, 2023

(b) When a permit holder receives a court disposition that prohibits the permit holder from possessing a firearm, the court must take possession of the permit, if it is available, and send it to the issuing law enforcement agency. If the permit holder does not have the permit when the court imposes a firearm prohibition, the permit holder must surrender the permit to the assigned probation officer, if applicable. When a probation officer is assigned upon disposition of the case, the court shall inform the probation agent of the permit holder's obligation to surrender the permit. Upon surrender, the probation officer must send the permit to the issuing law enforcement agency. If a

probation officer is not assigned to the permit holder, the holder shall surrender the permit as provided in paragraph (a).

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 624.7131, subdivision 8, is amended to read:

Subd. 8. Hearing upon denial. (a) Any person aggrieved by denial of a transferee permit may appeal the denial to the district court having jurisdiction over the county or municipality in which the denial occurred. by petition to the district court having jurisdiction over the county or municipality where the application was submitted. The petition must list the applicable chief of police or sheriff as the respondent. The district court must hold a hearing at the earliest practicable date and in any event no later than 60 days following the filing of the petition for review. The court may not grant or deny any relief before the completion of the hearing. The record of the hearing must be sealed. The matter must be heard de novo without a jury.

(b) The court must issue written findings of fact and conclusions of law regarding the issues submitted by the parties. The court must issue its writ of mandamus directing that the permit be issued and order other appropriate relief unless the chief of police or sheriff establishes by clear and convincing evidence that:

(1) the applicant is disqualified from possessing a firearm under state or federal law;

(2) there exists a substantial likelihood that the applicant is a danger to self or the public when in possession of a firearm. Incidents of alleged criminal misconduct that are not investigated and documented may not be considered; or

(3) the applicant is listed in the criminal gang investigative data system under section 299C.091.

(c) If an application is denied because the proposed transferee is listed in the criminal gang investigative data system under section 299C.091, the applicant may challenge the denial, after disclosure under court supervision of the reason for that listing, based on grounds that the person:

(1) was erroneously identified as a person in the data system;

(2) was improperly included in the data system according to the criteria outlined in section 299C.091, subdivision 2, paragraph (b); or

(3) has demonstrably withdrawn from the activities and associations that led to inclusion in the data system.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 624.7131, subdivision 9, is amended to read:

Subd. 9. **Permit to carry.** A valid permit to carry issued pursuant to section 624.714 constitutes a transferee permit for the purposes of this section and section sections 624.7132 and 624.7134.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.

JOURNAL OF THE HOUSE

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 624.7131, subdivision 11, is amended to read:

Subd. 11. **Penalty.** A person who makes a false statement in order to obtain a transferee permit knowing or having reason to know the statement is false is guilty of a gross misdemeanor felony.

### EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 624.7132, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. **Delivery.** Except as otherwise provided in subdivision 7 or 8, no person shall deliver a pistol or semiautomatic military-style assault weapon to a proposed transferee until five business <u>30</u> days after the date the agreement to transfer is delivered to a chief of police or sheriff in accordance with subdivision 1 unless the chief of police or sheriff waives all or a portion of the seven day waiting period. The chief of police or sheriff <u>10</u> determines the proposed transferee is not disqualified prior to the waiting period concluding; or (2) finds that the transferee requires access to a pistol or semiautomatic military-style assault weapon because of a threat to the life of the transferee or of any member of the household of the transferee. Prior to modifying the waiting period under the authority granted in clause (2), the chief of police or sheriff must first determine that the proposed transferee is not prohibited from possessing a firearm under state or federal law.

No person shall deliver a pistol or semiautomatic military style assault weapon <u>firearm</u> to a proposed transferee after receiving a written notification that the chief of police or sheriff has determined that the proposed transferee is prohibited by section 624.713 from possessing a pistol or semiautomatic military style assault weapon <u>firearm</u>.

If the transferor makes a report of transfer and receives no written notification of disqualification of the proposed transferee within five <u>30</u> business days after delivery of the agreement to transfer, the <u>pistol or semiautomatic</u> military style assault weapon firearm may be delivered to the transferee, <u>unless the transferor knows the transferee is ineligible to possess firearms</u>.

## EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 624.7132, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. Grounds for disqualification. A determination by (a) The chief of police or sheriff that shall deny an application if the proposed transferee is: (1) prohibited by section 624.713 state or federal law from possessing a pistol or semiautomatic military-style assault weapon shall be the sole basis for a notification of disqualification under this section; (2) determined to be a danger to self or the public when in possession of firearms under paragraph (b); or (3) listed in the criminal gang investigative data system under section 299C.091.

(b) A chief of police or sheriff shall deny an application if there exists a substantial likelihood that the proposed transferee is a danger to self or the public when in possession of a firearm. To deny the application under this paragraph, the chief of police or sheriff must provide the applicant with written notification and the specific factual basis justifying the denial, including the source of the factual basis. The chief of police or sheriff must inform the applicant of the applicant's right to submit, within 20 business days, any additional documentation relating to the propriety of the denial. Upon receiving any additional documentation, the chief of police or sheriff must reconsider the denial and inform the applicant within 15 business days of the result of the reconsideration. Any denial after reconsideration must be in the same form and substance as the original denial and must specifically address any continued deficiencies in light of the additional documentation submitted by the applicant. The applicant must be informed of the right to seek de novo review of the denial as provided in subdivision 13.

(c) A chief of police or sheriff need not process an application under this section if the person has had an application denied pursuant to paragraph (b) and less than six months have elapsed since the denial was issued or the person's appeal under subdivision 13 was denied, whichever is later.

(d) A chief of police or sheriff who denies an application pursuant to paragraph (b) must provide a copy of the notice of disqualification to the chief of police or sheriff with joint jurisdiction over the applicant's residence.

#### EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 624.7132, subdivision 8, is amended to read:

Subd. 8. **Report not required.** If the proposed transferee presents a valid transferee permit issued under section 624.7131 or a valid permit to carry issued under section 624.714, the transferor need not file a transfer report.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 624.7132, subdivision 10, is amended to read:

Subd. 10. **Restriction on records.** Except as provided in section 624.7134, subdivision 3, paragraph (e), if, after a determination that the transferee is not a person prohibited by section 624.713 from possessing a pistol or semiautomatic military-style assault weapon, a transferee requests that no record be maintained of the fact of who is the transferee of a pistol or semiautomatic military-style assault weapon, the chief of police or sheriff shall sign the transfer report and return it to the transferee as soon as possible. Thereafter, no government employee or agency shall maintain a record of the transfer that identifies the transferee, and the transferee shall retain the report of transfer.

## EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 624.7132, subdivision 13, is amended to read:

Subd. 13. **Appeal.** (a) A person aggrieved by the determination of a chief of police or sheriff that the person is prohibited by section 624.713 from possessing a pistol or semiautomatic military style assault weapon may appeal the determination as provided in this subdivision. The district court shall have jurisdiction of proceedings under this subdivision. under subdivision 5 may appeal by petition to the district court having jurisdiction over the county or municipality where the application was submitted. The petition must list the applicable chief of police or sheriff as the respondent. The district court must hold a hearing at the earliest practicable date and in any event no later than 60 days following the filing of the petition for review. The court may not grant or deny any relief before the completion of the hearing. The record of the hearing must be sealed. The matter must be heard de novo without a jury.

On review pursuant to this subdivision, the court shall be limited to a determination of whether the proposed transferee is a person prohibited from possessing a pistol or semiautomatic military style assault weapon by section 624.713.

(b) The court must issue written findings of fact and conclusions of law regarding the issues submitted by the parties. The court must issue its writ of mandamus directing that the permit be issued and order other appropriate relief unless the chief of police or sheriff establishes by clear and convincing evidence that:

(1) the applicant is disqualified under state or federal law from possession of firearms;

(2) there exists a substantial likelihood that the applicant is a danger to self or the public when in possession of a firearm. Incidents of alleged criminal misconduct that are not investigated and documented may not be considered; or

(3) the applicant is listed in the criminal gang investigative data system under section 299C.091.

(c) If an application is denied because the proposed transferee is listed in the criminal gang investigative data system under section 299C.091, the proposed transferee may challenge the denial, after disclosure under court supervision of the reason for that listing, based on grounds that the person:

(1) was erroneously identified as a person in the data system;

(2) was improperly included in the data system according to the criteria outlined in section 299C.091, subdivision 2, paragraph (b); or

(3) has demonstrably withdrawn from the activities and associations that led to inclusion in the data system.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.

## Sec. 12. [624.7134] PRIVATE PARTY TRANSFERS; BACKGROUND CHECK REQUIRED.

Subdivision 1. **Definitions.** (a) As used in this section, the following terms have the meanings provided in this subdivision.

(b) "Firearms dealer" means a person who is licensed by the United States Department of Justice, Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives, under United States Code, title 18, section 923(a).

(c) "State or federally issued identification" means a document or card made or issued by or under the authority of the United States government or the state that contains the person's name, residence address, date of birth, and photograph and is of a type commonly accepted for the purpose of identification of individuals.

(d) "Unlicensed person" means a person who does not hold a license under United States Code, title 18, section 923(a).

Subd. 2. Background check and evidence of identity. An unlicensed person is prohibited from transferring a pistol or semiautomatic military-style assault weapon to any other unlicensed person, unless: (1) the transfer is made through a firearms dealer as provided for in subdivision 3; or (2) the transferee presents a valid transferee permit issued under section 624.7131 and a current state or federally issued identification.

Subd. 3. Background check conducted by federally licensed firearms dealer. (a) Where both parties to a prospective transfer of a pistol or semiautomatic military-style assault weapon are unlicensed persons, the transferor and transferee may appear jointly before a federally licensed firearms dealer with the firearm and request that the federally licensed firearms dealer conduct a background check on the transferee and facilitate the transfer.

(b) Except as otherwise provided in this section, a federally licensed firearms dealer who agrees to facilitate a transfer under this section shall:

(1) process the transfer as though transferring the firearm from the dealer's inventory to the transferee; and

(2) comply with all requirements of federal and state law that would apply if the firearms dealer were making the transfer, including, at a minimum, all background checks and record-keeping requirements. The exception to the report of transfer process in section 624.7132, subdivision 12, clause (1), does not apply to transfers completed under this subdivision.

6154

#### FRIDAY, APRIL 21, 2023

(c) If the transferee is prohibited by federal law from purchasing or possessing the firearm or not entitled under state law to possess the firearm, neither the federally licensed firearms dealer nor the transferor shall transfer the firearm to the transferee.

(d) Notwithstanding any other law to the contrary, this section shall not prevent the transferor from:

(1) removing the firearm from the premises of the federally licensed firearms dealer, or the gun show or event where the federally licensed firearms dealer is conducting business, as applicable, while the background check is being conducted, provided that the transferor must return to the federally licensed firearms dealer with the transferee before the transfer takes place, and the federally licensed firearms dealer must take possession of the firearm in order to complete the transfer; and

(2) removing the firearm from the business premises of the federally licensed firearms dealer if the results of the background check indicate the transferee is prohibited by federal law from purchasing or possessing the firearm or not entitled under state law to possess the firearm.

(e) A transferee who consents to participate in a transfer under this subdivision is not entitled to have the transfer report returned as provided for in section 624.7132, subdivision 10.

(f) A firearms dealer may charge a reasonable fee for conducting a background check and facilitating a transfer between the transferor and transferee pursuant to this section.

Subd. 4. **Record of transfer; required information.** (a) Unless a transfer is made through a firearms dealer as provided in subdivision 3, when two unlicensed persons complete the transfer of a pistol or semiautomatic military-style assault weapon, the transferor and transferee must complete a record of transfer on a form designed and made publicly available without fee for this purpose by the superintendent of the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension. Each page of the record of transfer must be signed and dated by the transferor and the transferee and contain the serial number of the pistol or semiautomatic military-style assault weapon.

(b) The record of transfer must contain the following information:

(1) a clear copy of each person's current state or federally issued identification;

(2) a clear copy of the transferee permit presented by the transferee; and

(3) a signed statement by the transferee swearing that the transferee is not currently prohibited by state or federal law from possessing a firearm.

(c) The record of transfer must also contain the following information regarding the transferred pistol or semiautomatic military-style assault weapon:

(1) the type of pistol or semiautomatic military-style assault weapon;

(2) the manufacturer, make, and model of the pistol or semiautomatic military-style assault weapon; and

(3) the pistol or semiautomatic military-style assault weapon's manufacturer-assigned serial number.

(d) Both the transferor and the transferee must retain a copy of the record of transfer and any attachments to the record of transfer for 20 years from the date of the transfer. A copy in digital form shall be acceptable for the purposes of this paragraph.

Subd. 5. Compulsory production of a record of transfer; gross misdemeanor penalty. (a) Unless a transfer was completed under subdivision 3, the transferor and transferee of a pistol or semiautomatic military-style assault weapon transferred under subdivision 4 must produce the record of transfer when a peace officer requests the record as part of a criminal investigation.

(b) A person who refuses or is unable to produce a record of transfer for a firearm transferred under this section in response to a request for production made by a peace officer pursuant to paragraph (a) is guilty of a gross misdemeanor. A prosecution or conviction for violation of this subdivision is not a bar to conviction of, or punishment for, any other crime committed involving the transferred firearm.

Subd. 6. <u>Immunity.</u> A person is immune to a charge of violating this section if the person presents a record of transfer that satisfies the requirements of subdivision 4.

Subd. 7. Exclusions. (a) This section shall not apply to the following transfers:

(1) a transfer by or to a federally licensed firearms dealer;

(2) a transfer by or to any law enforcement agency;

(3) to the extent the transferee is acting within the course and scope of employment and official duties, a transfer to:

(i) a peace officer, as defined in section 626.84, subdivision 1, paragraph (c);

(ii) a member of the United States armed forces, the National Guard, or the Reserves of the United States armed forces;

(iii) a federal law enforcement officer; or

(iv) a security guard employed by a protective agent licensed pursuant to chapter 326;

(4) a transfer between immediate family members, which for the purposes of this section means spouses, domestic partners, parents, children, siblings, grandparents, and grandchildren;

(5) a transfer to an executor, administrator, trustee, or personal representative of an estate or a trust that occurs by operation of law upon the death of the former owner of the firearm;

(6) a transfer of an antique firearm as defined in section 624.712, subdivision 3;

(7) a transfer of a curio or relic, as defined in Code of Federal Regulations, title 27, section 478.11, if the transfer is between collectors of firearms as curios or relics as defined by United States Code, title 18, section 921(a)(13), who each have in their possession a valid collector of curio and relics license issued by the United States Department of Justice, Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives;

(8) the temporary transfer of a firearm if:

(i) the transfer is necessary to prevent imminent death or great bodily harm; and

(ii) the person's possession lasts only as long as immediately necessary to prevent such imminent death or great bodily harm;

(9) transfers by or to an auctioneer who is in compliance with chapter 330 and acting in the person's official role as an auctioneer to facilitate or conduct an auction of the firearm; and

(10) a temporary transfer if the transferee's possession of the firearm following the transfer is only:

(i) at a shooting range that operates in compliance with the performance standards under chapter 87A or is a nonconforming use under section 87A.03, subdivision 2, or, if compliance is not required by the governing body of the jurisdiction, at an established shooting range operated consistently with local law in the jurisdiction;

(ii) at a lawfully organized competition involving the use of a firearm, or while participating in or practicing for a performance by an organized group that uses firearms as part of the performance;

(iii) while hunting or trapping if the hunting or trapping is legal in all places where the transferee possesses the firearm and the transferee holds all licenses or permits required for hunting or trapping;

(iv) at a lawfully organized educational or instructional course and under the direct supervision of a certified instructor, as that term is defined in section 624.714, subdivision 2a, paragraph (d); or

(v) while in the actual presence of the transferor.

(b) A transfer under this subdivision is permitted only if the transferor has no reason to believe:

(1) that the transferee is prohibited by federal law from buying or possessing firearms or not entitled under state law to possess firearms;

(2) if the transferee is under 18 years of age and is receiving the firearm under direct supervision and control of an adult, that the adult is prohibited by federal law from buying or possessing firearms or not entitled under state law to possess firearms; or

(3) that the transferee will use or intends to use the firearm in the commission of a crime.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.

Sec. 13. REPEALER.

Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 624.7131, subdivision 10; and 624.7132, subdivisions 6 and 14, are repealed.

#### ARTICLE 15 EXTREME RISK PROTECTION ORDERS

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 624.713, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. **Ineligible persons.** The following persons shall not be entitled to possess ammunition or a pistol or semiautomatic military-style assault weapon or, except for clause (1), any other firearm:

(1) a person under the age of 18 years except that a person under 18 may possess ammunition designed for use in a firearm that the person may lawfully possess and may carry or possess a pistol or semiautomatic military-style assault weapon (i) in the actual presence or under the direct supervision of the person's parent or guardian, (ii) for the purpose of military drill under the auspices of a legally recognized military organization and under competent supervision, (iii) for the purpose of instruction, competition, or target practice on a firing range approved by the chief of police or county sheriff in whose jurisdiction the range is located and under direct supervision; or (iv) if the person has successfully completed a course designed to teach marksmanship and safety with a pistol or semiautomatic military-style assault weapon and approved by the commissioner of natural resources;

6158

#### JOURNAL OF THE HOUSE

(2) except as otherwise provided in clause (9), a person who has been convicted of, or adjudicated delinquent or convicted as an extended jurisdiction juvenile for committing, in this state or elsewhere, a crime of violence. For purposes of this section, crime of violence includes crimes in other states or jurisdictions which would have been crimes of violence as herein defined if they had been committed in this state;

(3) a person who is or has ever been committed in Minnesota or elsewhere by a judicial determination that the person is mentally ill, developmentally disabled, or mentally ill and dangerous to the public, as defined in section 253B.02, to a treatment facility, or who has ever been found incompetent to stand trial or not guilty by reason of mental illness, unless the person's ability to possess a firearm and ammunition has been restored under subdivision 4;

(4) a person who has been convicted in Minnesota or elsewhere of a misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor violation of chapter 152, unless three years have elapsed since the date of conviction and, during that time, the person has not been convicted of any other such violation of chapter 152 or a similar law of another state; or a person who is or has ever been committed by a judicial determination for treatment for the habitual use of a controlled substance or marijuana, as defined in sections 152.01 and 152.02, unless the person's ability to possess a firearm and ammunition has been restored under subdivision 4;

(5) a person who has been committed to a treatment facility in Minnesota or elsewhere by a judicial determination that the person is chemically dependent as defined in section 253B.02, unless the person has completed treatment or the person's ability to possess a firearm and ammunition has been restored under subdivision 4. Property rights may not be abated but access may be restricted by the courts;

(6) a peace officer who is informally admitted to a treatment facility pursuant to section 253B.04 for chemical dependency, unless the officer possesses a certificate from the head of the treatment facility discharging or provisionally discharging the officer from the treatment facility. Property rights may not be abated but access may be restricted by the courts;

(7) a person, including a person under the jurisdiction of the juvenile court, who has been charged with committing a crime of violence and has been placed in a pretrial diversion program by the court before disposition, until the person has completed the diversion program and the charge of committing the crime of violence has been dismissed;

(8) except as otherwise provided in clause (9), a person who has been convicted in another state of committing an offense similar to the offense described in section 609.224, subdivision 3, against a family or household member or section 609.2242, subdivision 3, unless three years have elapsed since the date of conviction and, during that time, the person has not been convicted of any other violation of section 609.224, subdivision 3, or 609.2242, subdivision 3, or a similar law of another state;

(9) a person who has been convicted in this state or elsewhere of assaulting a family or household member and who was found by the court to have used a firearm in any way during commission of the assault is prohibited from possessing any type of firearm or ammunition for the period determined by the sentencing court;

(10) a person who:

(i) has been convicted in any court of a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding one year;

(ii) is a fugitive from justice as a result of having fled from any state to avoid prosecution for a crime or to avoid giving testimony in any criminal proceeding;

(iii) is an unlawful user of any controlled substance as defined in chapter 152;

54TH DAY]

FRIDAY, APRIL 21, 2023

(iv) has been judicially committed to a treatment facility in Minnesota or elsewhere as a person who is mentally ill, developmentally disabled, or mentally ill and dangerous to the public, as defined in section 253B.02;

(v) is an alien who is illegally or unlawfully in the United States;

(vi) has been discharged from the armed forces of the United States under dishonorable conditions;

(vii) has renounced the person's citizenship having been a citizen of the United States; or

(viii) is disqualified from possessing a firearm under United States Code, title 18, section 922(g)(8) or (9), as amended through March 1, 2014;

(11) a person who has been convicted of the following offenses at the gross misdemeanor level, unless three years have elapsed since the date of conviction and, during that time, the person has not been convicted of any other violation of these sections: section 609.229 (crimes committed for the benefit of a gang); 609.2231, subdivision 4 (assaults motivated by bias); 609.255 (false imprisonment); 609.378 (neglect or endangerment of a child); 609.582, subdivision 4 (burglary in the fourth degree); 609.665 (setting a spring gun); 609.71 (riot); or 609.749 (harassment or stalking). For purposes of this paragraph, the specified gross misdemeanor convictions include crimes committed in other states or jurisdictions which would have been gross misdemeanors if conviction occurred in this state;

(12) a person who has been convicted of a violation of section 609.224 if the court determined that the assault was against a family or household member in accordance with section 609.2242, subdivision 3 (domestic assault), unless three years have elapsed since the date of conviction and, during that time, the person has not been convicted of another violation of section 609.224 or a violation of a section listed in clause (11); or

(13) a person who is subject to an order for protection as described in section 260C.201, subdivision 3, paragraph (d), or 518B.01, subdivision 6, paragraph (g): or

#### (14) a person who is subject to an extreme risk protection order as described in section 624.7172 or 624.7174.

A person who issues a certificate pursuant to this section in good faith is not liable for damages resulting or arising from the actions or misconduct with a firearm or ammunition committed by the individual who is the subject of the certificate.

The prohibition in this subdivision relating to the possession of firearms other than pistols and semiautomatic military-style assault weapons does not apply retroactively to persons who are prohibited from possessing a pistol or semiautomatic military-style assault weapon under this subdivision before August 1, 1994.

The lifetime prohibition on possessing, receiving, shipping, or transporting firearms and ammunition for persons convicted or adjudicated delinquent of a crime of violence in clause (2), applies only to offenders who are discharged from sentence or court supervision for a crime of violence on or after August 1, 1993.

For purposes of this section, "judicial determination" means a court proceeding pursuant to sections 253B.07 to 253B.09 or a comparable law from another state.

#### Sec. 2. [624.7171] EXTREME RISK PROTECTION ORDERS.

Subdivision 1. <u>Definitions.</u> (a) As used in sections 624.7171 to 624.7178, the following terms have the meanings given.

(b) "Family or household members" means:

(1) spouses and former spouses of the respondent;

(2) parents and children of the respondent;

(3) persons who are presently residing with the respondent; or

(4) a person involved in a significant romantic or sexual relationship with the respondent.

In determining whether persons are in a significant romantic or sexual relationship under clause (4), the court shall consider the length of time of the relationship; type of relationship; and frequency of interaction between the parties.

(c) "Firearm" has the meaning given in section 609.666, subdivision 1, paragraph (a).

(d) "Mental health professional" has the meaning given in section 245I.02, subdivision 27.

Subd. 2. Court jurisdiction. (a) An application for relief under sections 624.7172 and 624.7174 may be filed in the county of residence of the respondent except as provided for in paragraph (b). Actions under sections 624.7172 and 624.7174 shall be given docket priorities by the court.

(b) At the time of filing, a petitioner may request that the court allow the petitioner to appear virtually at all proceedings. If the court denies the petitioner's request for virtual participation, the petitioner may refile the petition in the county where the petitioner resides or is officed.

Subd. 3. Information on petitioner's location or residence. Upon the petitioner's request, information maintained by the court regarding the petitioner's location or residence is not accessible to the public and may be disclosed only to court personnel or law enforcement for purposes of service of process, conducting an investigation, or enforcing an order.

Subd. 4. Generally. (a) There shall exist an action known as a petition for an extreme risk protection order, which order shall enjoin and prohibit the respondent from possessing or purchasing firearms for as long as the order remains in effect.

(b) A petition for relief under sections 624.7171 to 624.7178 may be made by the chief law enforcement officer, the chief law enforcement officer's designee, a city or county attorney, any family or household members of the respondent, or a guardian, as defined in section 524.1-201, clause (27), of the respondent.

(c) A petition for relief shall allege that the respondent poses a significant danger of bodily harm to other persons or is at significant risk of suicide by possessing a firearm. The petition shall be accompanied by an affidavit made under oath stating specific facts and circumstances forming a basis to allege that an extreme risk protection order should be granted. The affidavit may include but is not limited to evidence showing any of the factors described in section 624.7172, subdivision 2.

(d) A petition for emergency relief under section 624.7174 shall additionally allege that the respondent presents an immediate and present danger of either bodily harm to others or of taking their life.

(e) A petition for relief must describe, to the best of the petitioner's knowledge, the types and location of any firearms believed by the petitioner to be possessed by the respondent.

(f) The court shall provide simplified forms and clerical assistance to help with the writing and filing of a petition under this section.

(g) The state court administrator shall create all forms necessary under sections 624.7171 to 624.7178.

6160

(h) The filing fees for an extreme risk protection order under this section are waived for the petitioner and respondent. The court administrator, the sheriff of any county in this state, and other law enforcement and corrections officers shall perform their duties relating to service of process without charge to the petitioner. The court shall direct payment of the reasonable costs of service of process if served by a private process server when the sheriff or other law enforcement or corrections officer is unavailable or if service is made by publication, without requiring the petitioner to make application under section 563.01.

(i) The court shall advise the petitioner of the right to serve the respondent by alternate notice under section 624.7172, subdivision 1, paragraph (e), if the respondent is avoiding personal service by concealment or otherwise, and shall assist in the writing and filing of the affidavit.

(j) The court shall advise the petitioner of the right to request a hearing under section 624.7174. If the petitioner does not request a hearing, the court shall advise the petitioner that the respondent may request a hearing and that notice of the hearing date and time will be provided to the petitioner by mail at least five days before the hearing.

(k) Any proceeding under sections 624.7171 to 624.7178 shall be in addition to other civil or criminal remedies.

(1) All health records and other health information provided in a petition or considered as evidence in a proceeding under sections 624.7171 to 624.7178 shall be protected from public disclosure but may be provided to law enforcement agencies as described in this section.

(m) Any extreme risk protection order or subsequent extension issued under sections 624.7171 to 624.7178 shall be forwarded by the court administrator within 24 hours to the local law enforcement agency with jurisdiction over the residence of the respondent and electronically transmitted within three business days to the National Instant Criminal Background Check System. When an order expires or is terminated by the court, the court must submit a request that the order be removed from the National Instant Background Check System. Each appropriate law enforcement agency shall make available to other law enforcement officers, through a system for verification, information as to the existence and status of any extreme risk protection order issued under sections 624.7171 to 624.7178.

Subd. 5. Mental health professionals. When a mental health professional has a statutory duty to warn another of a client's serious threat of physically violent behavior or determines that a client presents a significant risk of suicide by possessing a firearm, the mental health professional must communicate the threat or risk to the sheriff of the county where the client resides and make a recommendation to the sheriff regarding the client's fitness to possess firearms.

# Sec. 3. [624.7172] EXTREME RISK PROTECTION ORDERS ISSUED AFTER HEARING.

Subdivision 1. Hearing. (a) Upon receipt of the petition for an order after a hearing, the court must schedule and hold a hearing within 14 days from the date the petition was received.

(b) The court shall advise the petitioner of the right to request an emergency extreme risk protection order under section 624.7174 separately from or simultaneously with the petition under this subdivision.

(c) The petitioning agency shall be responsible for service of an extreme risk protection order issued by the court and shall further be the agency responsible for the execution of any legal process required for the seizure and storage of firearms subject to the order. Nothing in this provision limits the ability of the law enforcement agency of record from cooperating with other law enforcement entities. When a court issues an extreme risk protection order for a person who resides on Tribal territory, the chief law enforcement officer of the law enforcement agency responsible for serving the order must request the assistance and counsel of the appropriate Tribal police department prior to serving the respondent. When the petitioner is a family or household member of the respondent, the primary law enforcement agency serving the jurisdiction of residency of the respondent shall be responsible for the execution of any legal process required for the seizure and storage of firearms subject to the order. 6162

(d) Personal service of notice for the hearing may be made upon the respondent at any time up to 48 hours prior to the time set for the hearing, provided that the respondent at the hearing may request a continuance of up to 14 days if the respondent is served less than five days prior to the hearing, which continuance shall be granted unless there are compelling reasons not to do so. If the court grants the requested continuance, and an existing emergency order under section 624.7174 will expire due to the continuance, the court shall also issue a written order continuing the emergency order pending the new time set for the hearing.

(e) If personal service cannot be made, the court may order service of the petition and any order issued under this section by alternate means. The application for alternate service must include the last known location of the respondent; the petitioner's most recent contacts with the respondent; the last known location of the respondent's employment; the names and locations of the respondent's parents, siblings, children, and other close relatives; the names and locations of other persons who are likely to know the respondent's whereabouts; and a description of efforts to locate those persons. The court shall consider the length of time the respondent's location has been unknown, the likelihood that the respondent. The court shall order service by first class mail, forwarding address requested, to any addresses where there is a reasonable possibility that mail or information will be forwarded or communicated to the respondent. The court may also order publication, within or without the state, but only if it might reasonably succeed in notifying the respondent of the proceeding. Service shall be deemed complete 14 days after court-ordered publication.

(f) When a petitioner who is not the sheriff of the county where the respondent resides, the sheriff's designee, or a family or household member files a petition, the petitioner must provide notice of the action to the sheriff of the county where the respondent resides. When a family or household member is the petitioner, the court must provide notice of the action to the sheriff of the county where the respondent resides.

Subd. 2. <u>Relief by court.</u> (a) At the hearing, the petitioner must prove by clear and convincing evidence that the respondent poses a significant danger to other persons or is at significant risk of suicide by possessing a firearm.

(b) In determining whether to grant the order after a hearing, the court shall consider evidence of the following, whether or not the petitioner has provided evidence of the same:

(1) a history of threats or acts of violence by the respondent directed toward another person;

(2) the history of use, attempted use, or threatened use of physical force by the respondent against another person;

(3) a violation of any court order, including but not limited to orders issued under sections 624.7171 to 624.7178 or chapter 260C or 518B;

(4) a prior arrest for a felony offense;

(5) a conviction or prior arrest for a violent misdemeanor offense, for a stalking offense under section 609.749, or for domestic assault under section 609.2242;

(6) a conviction for an offense of cruelty to animals under chapter 343;

(7) the unlawful and reckless use, display, or brandishing of a firearm by the respondent;

(8) suicide attempts by the respondent or a serious mental illness; and

#### FRIDAY, APRIL 21, 2023

(9) whether the respondent is named in an existing order in effect under sections 624.7171 to 624.7178 or chapter 260C or 518B, or party to a pending lawsuit, complaint, petition, or other action under sections 624.7171 to 624.7178 or chapter 518B.

(c) In determining whether to grant the order after a hearing, the court may:

(1) subpoena peace officers who have had contact with the respondent to provide written or sworn testimony regarding the officer's contacts with the respondent; and

(2) consider any other evidence that bears on whether the respondent poses a danger to others or is at risk of suicide.

(d) If the court finds there is clear and convincing evidence to issue an extreme risk protection order, the court shall issue the order prohibiting the person from possessing or purchasing a firearm for the duration of the order. The court shall inform the respondent that the respondent is prohibited from possessing or purchasing firearms and shall issue a transfer order under section 624.7175. The court shall also give notice to the county attorney's office, which may take action as it deems appropriate.

(e) The court shall determine the length of time the order is in effect, but may not set the length of time for less than six months or more than one year, subject to renewal or extension under section 624.7173.

(f) If there is no existing emergency order under section 624.7174 at the time an order is granted under this section, the court shall determine by clear and convincing evidence whether the respondent presents an immediate and present danger of bodily harm. If the court so determines, the transfer order shall include the provisions described in section 624.7175, paragraph (d).

(g) If, after a hearing, the court does not issue an order of protection, the court shall vacate any emergency extreme risk protection order currently in effect.

(h) A respondent may waive the respondent's right to contest the hearing and consent to the court's imposition of an extreme risk protection order. The court shall seal the petition filed under this section and section 624.7144 if a respondent who consents to imposition of an extreme risk protection order requests that the petition be sealed, unless the court finds that there is clear and convincing evidence that the interests of the public and public safety outweigh the disadvantages to the respondent of not sealing the petition. All extreme risk protection orders based on the respondent being a danger to others shall remain public. Extreme risk protection orders issued for respondents who are solely at risk of suicide shall not be public.

#### Sec. 4. [624.7173] SUBSEQUENT EXTENSIONS AND TERMINATION.

(a) Upon application by any party entitled to petition for an order under section 624.7172, and after notice to the respondent and a hearing, the court may extend the relief granted in an existing order granted after a hearing under section 624.7172. Application for an extension may be made any time within the three months before the expiration of the existing order. The court may extend the order if the court makes the same findings by clear and convincing evidence as required for granting of an initial order under section 624.7172, subdivision 2, paragraph (d). The minimum length of time of an extension is six months and the maximum length of time of an extension is one year. The court shall consider the same types of evidence as required for the initial order under section 624.7172, subdivision 2, paragraphs (b) and (c).

(b) Upon application by the respondent to an order issued under section 624.7172, the court may terminate an order after a hearing at which the respondent shall bear the burden of proving by clear and convincing evidence that the respondent does not pose a significant danger to other persons or is at significant risk of suicide by possessing a firearm. Application for termination may be made one time for each year an order is in effect. If an order has been issued for a period of six months, the respondent may apply for termination one time.

#### Sec. 5. [624.7174] EMERGENCY ISSUANCE OF EXTREME RISK PROTECTION ORDER.

(a) In determining whether to grant an emergency extreme risk protection order, the court shall consider evidence of all facts identified in section 624.7172, subdivision 2, paragraphs (b) and (c).

(b) The court shall advise the petitioner of the right to request an order after a hearing under section 624.7172 separately from or simultaneously with the petition.

(c) If the court finds there is probable cause that (1) the respondent poses a significant danger of bodily harm to other persons or is at significant risk of suicide by possessing a firearm, and (2) the respondent presents an immediate and present danger of either bodily harm to others or of taking their life, the court shall issue an ex parte emergency order prohibiting the respondent from possessing or purchasing a firearm for the duration of the order. The order shall inform the respondent that the respondent is prohibited from possessing or purchasing a firearm and shall issue a transfer order under section 624.7175, paragraph (d).

(d) A finding by the court that there is a basis for issuing an emergency extreme risk protection order constitutes a finding that sufficient reasons exist not to require notice under applicable court rules governing applications for ex parte relief.

(e) The emergency order shall have a fixed period of 14 days unless a hearing is set under section 624.7172 on an earlier date, in which case the order shall expire upon a judge's finding that no order is issued under section 624.7172.

(f) Except as provided in paragraph (g), the respondent shall be personally served immediately with a copy of the emergency order and a copy of the petition and, if a hearing is requested by the petitioner under section 624.7172, notice of the date set for the hearing. If the petitioner does not request a hearing under section 624.7172, an order served on a respondent under this section must include a notice advising the respondent of the right to request a hearing challenging the issuance of the emergency order, and must be accompanied by a form that can be used by the respondent to request a hearing.

(g) Service of the emergency order may be made by alternate service as provided under section 624.7172, subdivision 1, paragraph (e), provided that the petitioner files the affidavit required under that subdivision. If the petitioner does not request a hearing under section 624.7172, the petition mailed to the respondent's residence, if known, must be accompanied by the form for requesting a hearing described in paragraph (f).

## Sec. 6. [624.7175] TRANSFER OF FIREARMS.

(a) Except as provided in paragraph (b), upon issuance of an extreme risk protection order, the court shall direct the respondent to transfer any firearms the person possesses as soon as reasonably practicable, but in no case later than 24 hours, to a federally licensed firearms dealer or a law enforcement agency. If the respondent elects to transfer the respondent's firearms to a law enforcement agency, the agency must accept the transfer. The transfer may be permanent or temporary. A temporary firearm transfer only entitles the receiving party to possess the firearms dealer or law enforcement agency transfer, a federally licensed firearms dealer or law enforcement areasonable fee to store the firearms and may establish policies for disposal of abandoned firearms, provided these policies require that the respondent be notified prior to disposal of abandoned firearms. If a respondent permanently transfers the respondent's firearms to a law enforcement agency, the agency is not required to compensate the respondent and may charge the respondent a reasonable processing fee.

(b) A person directed to transfer any firearms pursuant to paragraph (a) may transfer any antique firearm, as defined in United States Code, title 18, section 921, paragraph (a), clause (16), as amended, or a curio or relic as defined in Code of Federal Regulations, title 27, section 478.11, as amended, to a relative who does not live with the respondent after confirming that the relative may lawfully own or possess a firearm.

#### (c) The respondent must file proof of transfer as provided in this paragraph.

(1) A law enforcement agency or federally licensed firearms dealer accepting transfer of a firearm pursuant to this section shall provide proof of transfer to the respondent. The proof of transfer must specify whether the firearms were permanently or temporarily transferred and must include the name of the respondent, date of transfer, and the serial number, manufacturer, and model of all transferred firearms. If transfer is made to a federally licensed firearms dealer, the respondent shall, within two business days after being served with the order, file a copy of proof of transfer with the law enforcement agency and attest that all firearms owned or possessed at the time of the order have been transferred in accordance with this section and that the person currently does not possess any firearms. If the respondent claims not to own or possess firearms, the respondent shall file a declaration of nonpossession with the law enforcement agency attesting that, at the time of the order, the respondent neither owned nor possessed any firearms, and that the respondent currently neither owns nor possesses any firearms. If the transfer is made to a relative pursuant to paragraph (b), the relative must sign an affidavit under oath before a notary public either acknowledging that the respondent permanently transferred the respondent's antique firearms, curios, or relics to the relative or agreeing to temporarily store the respondent's antique firearms, curios, or relics to the serial number, make, and model of all antique firearms, curios, or relics transferred by the respondent to the relative.

(2) The court shall seal affidavits, proofs of transfer, and declarations of nonpossession filed pursuant to this paragraph.

(d) If a court issues an emergency order under section 624.7174, or makes a finding of immediate and present danger under section 624.7172, subdivision 2, paragraph (f), and there is probable cause to believe the respondent possesses firearms, the court shall issue a search warrant to the local law enforcement agency to take possession of all firearms in the respondent's possession as soon as practicable. The chief law enforcement officer or the chief's designee shall notify the respondent of the option to voluntarily comply with the order by surrendering the respondent's firearms to law enforcement prior to execution of the search warrant. Only if the respondent refuses to voluntarily comply with the order to surrender the respondent's firearms shall the officer or officers tasked with serving the search warrant execute the warrant. The local law enforcement agency shall, upon written notice from the respondent, transfer the firearms to a federally licensed firearms dealer. Before a local law enforcement agency transfers a firearm under this paragraph, the agency shall require the federally licensed firearms dealer receiving the firearm to submit a proof of transfer that complies with the requirements for proofs of transfer established in paragraph (c). The agency shall file all proofs of transfer received by the court within two business days of the transfer. A federally licensed firearms dealer who accepts a firearm transfer pursuant to this paragraph shall comply with paragraphs (a) and (c) as if accepting transfer directly from the respondent. If the law enforcement agency does not receive written notice from the respondent within three business days, the agency may charge a reasonable fee to store the respondent's firearms. A law enforcement agency may establish policies for disposal of abandoned firearms, provided these policies require that the respondent be notified prior to disposal of abandoned firearms.

## Sec. 7. [624.7176] RETURN OF FIREARMS.

<u>Subdivision 1.</u> <u>Law enforcement.</u> <u>A local law enforcement agency that accepted temporary transfer of firearms</u> under section 624.7175 shall return the firearms to the respondent after the expiration of the order, provided the respondent is not otherwise prohibited from possessing firearms under state or federal law.

Subd. 2. Firearms dealer. A federally licensed firearms dealer that accepted temporary transfer of firearms under section 624.7175 shall return the transferred firearms to the respondent upon request after the expiration of the order, provided the respondent is not otherwise prohibited from possessing firearms under state or federal law. A federally licensed firearms dealer returning firearms shall comply with state and federal law as though transferring a firearm from the dealer's own inventory.

#### Sec. 8. [624.7177] OFFENSES.

Subdivision 1. False information or harassment. A person who petitions for an extreme risk protection order under section 624.7172 or 624.7174, knowing any information in the petition to be materially false or with the intent to harass, abuse, or threaten, is guilty of a gross misdemeanor.

Subd. 2. Violation of order. A person who possesses a firearm and knows or should have known that the person is prohibited from doing so by an extreme risk protection order under section 624.7172 or 624.7174, or by an order of protection granted by a judge or referee pursuant to a substantially similar law of another state, is guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be prohibited from possessing firearms for a period of five years. Each extreme risk protection order granted under this chapter must contain a conspicuous notice to the respondent regarding the penalty for violation of the order.

## Sec. 9. [624.7178] LIABILITY PROTECTION.

Subdivision 1. Liability protection for petition. A chief law enforcement officer, the chief law enforcement officer's designee, or a city or county attorney who, in good faith, decides not to petition for an extreme risk protection order or emergency extreme risk protection order shall be immune from criminal or civil liability.

Subd. 2. Liability protection for storage of firearms. A law enforcement agency shall be immune from civil or criminal liability for any damage or deterioration of firearms, ammunition, or weapons stored or transported pursuant to section 624.7175. This subdivision shall not apply if the damage or deterioration occurred as a result of recklessness, gross negligence, or intentional misconduct by the law enforcement agency.

Subd. 3. Liability protection for harm following service of an order or execution of a search warrant. A peace officer, law enforcement agency, and the state or a political subdivision by which a peace officer is employed has immunity from any liability, civil or criminal, for harm caused by a person who is the subject of an extreme risk protection order, a search warrant issued pursuant to section 624.7175, paragraph (d), or both, after service of the order or execution of the warrant, whichever comes first, if the peace officer acts in good faith in serving the order or executing the warrant.

Subd. 4. Liability protection for mental health professionals. A mental health professional who provides notice to the sheriff under section 624.7171, subdivision 5, is immune from monetary liability and no cause of action, or disciplinary action by the person's licensing board, may arise against the mental health professional for disclosure of confidences to the sheriff, for failure to disclose confidences to the sheriff, or for erroneous disclosure of confidences to the sheriff in a good faith effort to warn against or take precautions against a client's violent behavior or threat of suicide.

# Sec. 10. [626.8481] EXTREME RISK PROTECTION ORDER; DEVELOPMENT OF MODEL PROCEDURES.

By December 1, 2023, the Peace Officer Standards and Training Board, after consulting with the National Alliance on Mental Illness Minnesota, the Minnesota County Attorneys Association, the Minnesota Sheriffs' Association, the Minnesota Chiefs of Police Association, and the Minnesota Police and Peace Officers Association, shall develop model procedures and standards for the storage of firearms transferred to law enforcement under section 624.7175.

## Sec. 11. FEDERAL BYRNE STATE CRISIS INTERVENTION PROGRAM.

<u>The Department of Public Safety is designated the state agency with the exclusive authority to apply for federal</u> <u>Byrne State Crisis Intervention Program grants.</u>

#### Sec. 12. EFFECTIVE DATE.

Sections 1 to 9 are effective January 1, 2024, and apply to firearm permit background checks made on or after that date.

## ARTICLE 16 CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES POLICY

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 121A.28, is amended to read:

## 121A.28 LAW ENFORCEMENT RECORDS.

A law enforcement agency shall provide notice of any drug incident occurring within the agency's jurisdiction, in which the agency has probable cause to believe a student violated section 152.021, 152.022, 152.023, 152.024, 152.025, 152.0262, 152.027, <del>152.092,</del> 152.097, or 340A.503, subdivision 1, 2, or 3. The notice shall be in writing and shall be provided, within two weeks after an incident occurs, to the chemical abuse preassessment team in the school where the student is enrolled.

#### EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 151.01, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 43. Syringe services provider. "Syringe services provider" means a community-based public health program that offers cost-free comprehensive harm reduction services, which may include: providing sterile needles, syringes, and other injection equipment; making safe disposal containers for needles and syringes available; educating participants and others about overdose prevention, safer injection practices, and infectious disease prevention; providing blood-borne pathogen testing or referrals to blood-borne pathogen testing; offering referrals to substance use disorder treatment, including substance use disorder treatment with medications for opioid use disorder; and providing referrals to medical treatment and services, mental health programs and services, and other social services.

## EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 151.40, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. **Generally.** It is unlawful for any person to possess, control, manufacture, or sell, furnish, dispense, or otherwise dispose of hypodermic syringes or needles or any instrument or implement which can be adapted for subcutaneous injections, except for:

- (1) the following persons when acting in the course of their practice or employment:
- (i) licensed practitioners and their employees, agents, or delegates;
- (ii) licensed pharmacies and their employees or agents;
- (iii) licensed pharmacists;
- (iv) registered nurses and licensed practical nurses;
- (v) registered medical technologists;
- (vi) medical interns and residents;
- (vii) licensed drug wholesalers and their employees or agents;
- (viii) licensed hospitals;

- (ix) bona fide hospitals in which animals are treated;
- (x) licensed nursing homes;
- (xi) licensed morticians;
- (xii) syringe and needle manufacturers and their dealers and agents;
- (xiii) persons engaged in animal husbandry;
- (xiv) clinical laboratories and their employees;

(xv) persons engaged in bona fide research or education or industrial use of hypodermic syringes and needles provided such persons cannot use hypodermic syringes and needles for the administration of drugs to human beings unless such drugs are prescribed, dispensed, and administered by a person lawfully authorized to do so; and

(xvi) persons who administer drugs pursuant to an order or direction of a licensed practitioner; and

#### (xvii) syringe services providers and their employees and agents;

(2) a person who self-administers drugs pursuant to either the prescription or the direction of a practitioner, or a family member, caregiver, or other individual who is designated by such person to assist the person in obtaining and using needles and syringes for the administration of such drugs;

(3) a person who is disposing of hypodermic syringes and needles through an activity or program developed under section 325F.785; <del>or</del>

(4) a person who sells, possesses, or handles hypodermic syringes and needles pursuant to subdivision 2-; or

(5) a participant receiving services from a syringe services provider, who accesses or receives new syringes or needles from a syringe services provider or returns used syringes or needles to a syringe services provider.

### EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 151.40, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Sales of limited quantities of clean needles and syringes. (a) A registered pharmacy or a licensed pharmacist may sell, without the prescription or direction of a practitioner, unused hypodermic needles and syringes in quantities of ten or fewer, provided the pharmacy or pharmacist complies with all of the requirements of this subdivision.

(b) At any location where hypodermic needles and syringes are kept for retail sale under this subdivision, the needles and syringes shall be stored in a manner that makes them available only to authorized personnel and not openly available to customers.

(c) A registered pharmacy or licensed pharmacist that sells hypodermic needles or syringes under this subdivision may give the purchaser the materials developed by the commissioner of health under section 325F.785.

(d) A registered pharmacy or licensed pharmacist that sells hypodermic needles or syringes under this subdivision must certify to the commissioner of health participation in an activity, including but not limited to those developed under section 325F.785, that supports proper disposal of used hypodermic needles or syringes.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 152.01, subdivision 12a, is amended to read:

Subd. 12a. **Park zone.** "Park zone" means an area designated as a public park by the federal government, the state, a local unit of government, a park district board, <del>or</del> a park and recreation board in a city of the first class, <u>or a federally recognized Indian Tribe</u>. "Park zone" includes the area within 300 feet or one city block, whichever distance is greater, of the park boundary.

#### EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 152.01, subdivision 18, is amended to read:

Subd. 18. **Drug paraphernalia.** (a) Except as otherwise provided in paragraph (b), "drug paraphernalia" means all equipment, products, and materials of any kind, except those items used in conjunction with permitted uses of controlled substances under this chapter or the Uniform Controlled Substances Act, which are knowingly or intentionally used primarily in (1) manufacturing a controlled substance, (2) injecting, ingesting, inhaling, or otherwise introducing into the human body a controlled substance, or (3) testing the strength, effectiveness, or purity of a controlled substance, or (4) enhancing the effect of a controlled substance.

(b) "Drug paraphernalia" does not include the possession, manufacture, delivery, or sale of: (1) hypodermic needles or syringes in accordance with section 151.40, subdivision 2 hypodermic syringes or needles or any instrument or implement which can be adapted for subcutaneous injections; or (2) products that detect the presence of fentanyl or a fentanyl analog in a controlled substance.

#### EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 152.01, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 25. Fentanyl. As used in sections 152.021 to 152.025, "fentanyl" includes fentanyl, carfentanil, and any fentanyl analogs and fentanyl-related substances listed in section 152.02, subdivisions 2 and 3.

#### **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 152.021, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Sale crimes. A person is guilty of controlled substance crime in the first degree if:

(1) on one or more occasions within a 90-day period the person unlawfully sells one or more mixtures of a total weight of 17 grams or more containing cocaine or methamphetamine;

(2) on one or more occasions within a 90-day period the person unlawfully sells one or more mixtures of a total weight of ten grams or more containing cocaine or methamphetamine and:

(i) the person or an accomplice possesses on their person or within immediate reach, or uses, whether by brandishing, displaying, threatening with, or otherwise employing, a firearm; or

(ii) the offense involves two aggravating factors;

(3) on one or more occasions within a 90-day period the person unlawfully sells one or more mixtures of a total weight of ten grams or more, or 40 dosage units or more, containing heroin or fentanyl;

JOURNAL OF THE HOUSE

(4) on one or more occasions within a 90-day period the person unlawfully sells one or more mixtures of a total weight of 50 grams or more containing a narcotic drug other than cocaine, heroin, <u>fentanyl</u>, or methamphetamine;

(5) on one or more occasions within a 90-day period the person unlawfully sells one or more mixtures of a total weight of 50 grams or more containing amphetamine, phencyclidine, or hallucinogen or, if the controlled substance is packaged in dosage units, equaling 200 or more dosage units; or

(6) on one or more occasions within a 90-day period the person unlawfully sells one or more mixtures of a total weight of 25 kilograms or more containing marijuana or Tetrahydrocannabinols.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 152.021, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Possession crimes. (a) A person is guilty of a controlled substance crime in the first degree if:

(1) the person unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures of a total weight of 50 grams or more containing cocaine or methamphetamine;

(2) the person unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures of a total weight of 25 grams or more containing cocaine or methamphetamine and:

(i) the person or an accomplice possesses on their person or within immediate reach, or uses, whether by brandishing, displaying, threatening with, or otherwise employing, a firearm; or

(ii) the offense involves two aggravating factors;

(3) the person unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures of a total weight of 25 grams or more, <u>or 100 dosage</u> <u>units or more</u>, containing heroin <u>or fentanyl</u>;

(4) the person unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures of a total weight of 500 grams or more containing a narcotic drug other than cocaine, heroin, <u>fentanyl</u>, or methamphetamine;

(5) the person unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures of a total weight of 500 grams or more containing amphetamine, phencyclidine, or hallucinogen or, if the controlled substance is packaged in dosage units, equaling 500 or more dosage units; or

(6) the person unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures of a total weight of 50 kilograms or more containing marijuana or Tetrahydrocannabinols, or possesses 500 or more marijuana plants.

(b) For the purposes of this subdivision, the weight of fluid used in a water pipe may not be considered in measuring the weight of a mixture except in cases where the mixture contains four or more fluid ounces of fluid.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 152.022, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Sale crimes. A person is guilty of controlled substance crime in the second degree if:

(1) on one or more occasions within a 90-day period the person unlawfully sells one or more mixtures of a total weight of ten grams or more containing a narcotic drug other than heroin <u>or fentanyl</u>;

FRIDAY, APRIL 21, 2023

(2) on one or more occasions within a 90-day period the person unlawfully sells one or more mixtures of a total weight of three grams or more containing cocaine or methamphetamine and:

(i) the person or an accomplice possesses on their person or within immediate reach, or uses, whether by brandishing, displaying, threatening with, or otherwise employing, a firearm; or

(ii) the offense involves three aggravating factors;

(3) on one or more occasions within a 90-day period the person unlawfully sells one or more mixtures of a total weight of three grams or more, or 12 dosage units or more, containing heroin or fentanyl;

(4) on one or more occasions within a 90-day period the person unlawfully sells one or more mixtures of a total weight of ten grams or more containing amphetamine, phencyclidine, or hallucinogen or, if the controlled substance is packaged in dosage units, equaling 50 or more dosage units;

(5) on one or more occasions within a 90-day period the person unlawfully sells one or more mixtures of a total weight of ten kilograms or more containing marijuana or Tetrahydrocannabinols;

(6) the person unlawfully sells any amount of a Schedule I or II narcotic drug to a person under the age of 18, or conspires with or employs a person under the age of 18 to unlawfully sell the substance; or

(7) the person unlawfully sells any of the following in a school zone, a park zone, a public housing zone, or a drug treatment facility:

(i) any amount of a Schedule I or II narcotic drug, lysergic acid diethylamide (LSD), 3,4-methylenedioxy amphetamine, or 3,4-methylenedioxymethamphetamine;

(ii) one or more mixtures containing methamphetamine or amphetamine; or

(iii) one or more mixtures of a total weight of five kilograms or more containing marijuana or Tetrahydrocannabinols.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 152.022, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Possession crimes. (a) A person is guilty of controlled substance crime in the second degree if:

(1) the person unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures of a total weight of 25 grams or more containing cocaine or methamphetamine;

(2) the person unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures of a total weight of ten grams or more containing cocaine or methamphetamine and:

(i) the person or an accomplice possesses on their person or within immediate reach, or uses, whether by brandishing, displaying, threatening with, or otherwise employing, a firearm; or

(ii) the offense involves three aggravating factors;

(3) the person unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures of a total weight of six grams or more, or 50 dosage units or more, containing heroin or fentanyl;

(4) the person unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures of a total weight of 50 grams or more containing a narcotic drug other than cocaine, heroin, <u>fentanyl</u>, or methamphetamine;

(5) the person unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures of a total weight of 50 grams or more containing amphetamine, phencyclidine, or hallucinogen or, if the controlled substance is packaged in dosage units, equaling 100 or more dosage units; or

(6) the person unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures of a total weight of 25 kilograms or more containing marijuana or Tetrahydrocannabinols, or possesses 100 or more marijuana plants.

(b) For the purposes of this subdivision, the weight of fluid used in a water pipe may not be considered in measuring the weight of a mixture except in cases where the mixture contains four or more fluid ounces of fluid.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.

Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 152.023, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Possession crimes. (a) A person is guilty of controlled substance crime in the third degree if:

(1) on one or more occasions within a 90-day period the person unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures of a total weight of ten grams or more containing a narcotic drug other than heroin <u>or fentanyl</u>;

(2) on one or more occasions within a 90-day period the person unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures of: (i) a total weight of three grams or more containing heroin; or (ii) a total weight of five grams or more, or 25 dosage units or more, containing fentanyl;

(3) on one or more occasions within a 90-day period the person unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures containing a narcotic drug <u>other than heroin or fentanyl</u>, it is packaged in dosage units, and equals 50 or more dosage units;

(4) on one or more occasions within a 90-day period the person unlawfully possesses any amount of a schedule I or II narcotic drug or five or more dosage units of lysergic acid diethylamide (LSD), 3,4-methylenedioxy amphetamine, or 3,4-methylenedioxymethamphetamine in a school zone, a park zone, a public housing zone, or a drug treatment facility;

(5) on one or more occasions within a 90-day period the person unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures of a total weight of ten kilograms or more containing marijuana or Tetrahydrocannabinols; or

(6) the person unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures containing methamphetamine or amphetamine in a school zone, a park zone, a public housing zone, or a drug treatment facility.

(b) For the purposes of this subdivision, the weight of fluid used in a water pipe may not be considered in measuring the weight of a mixture except in cases where the mixture contains four or more fluid ounces of fluid.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.

54TH DAY]

Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 152.025, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. **Possession and other crimes.** A person is guilty of controlled substance crime in the fifth degree and upon conviction may be sentenced as provided in subdivision 4 if:

(1) the person unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures containing a controlled substance classified in Schedule I, II, III, or IV, except a small amount of marijuana <u>or a residual amount of one or more mixtures of controlled substances contained in drug paraphernalia;</u> or

(2) the person procures, attempts to procure, possesses, or has control over a controlled substance by any of the following means:

(i) fraud, deceit, misrepresentation, or subterfuge;

(ii) using a false name or giving false credit; or

(iii) falsely assuming the title of, or falsely representing any person to be, a manufacturer, wholesaler, pharmacist, physician, doctor of osteopathic medicine licensed to practice medicine, dentist, podiatrist, veterinarian, or other authorized person for the purpose of obtaining a controlled substance.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.

Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 152.093, is amended to read:

## 152.093 MANUFACTURE OR DELIVERY OF DRUG PARAPHERNALIA PROHIBITED.

It is unlawful for any person knowingly or intentionally to deliver drug paraphernalia or knowingly or to intentionally to possess or manufacture drug paraphernalia for delivery. Any violation of this section is a misdemeanor.

## EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.

Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 152.205, is amended to read:

#### 152.205 LOCAL REGULATIONS.

Sections 152.01, subdivision 18, and <del>152.092</del> <u>152.093</u> to 152.095 do not preempt enforcement or preclude adoption of municipal or county ordinances prohibiting or otherwise regulating the manufacture, delivery, possession, or advertisement of drug paraphernalia.

## **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2023.

#### Sec. 16. [626.8443] OPIATE ANTAGONISTS; TRAINING; CARRYING; USE.

Subdivision 1. <u>Training.</u> A chief law enforcement officer must provide basic training to peace officers employed by the chief's agency on:

(1) identifying persons who are suffering from narcotics overdoses; and

(2) the proper use of opiate antagonists to treat a narcotics overdose.

Subd. 2. <u>Mandatory supply.</u> A chief law enforcement officer must maintain a sufficient supply of opiate antagonists to ensure that officers employed by the chief's agency can satisfy the requirements of subdivision 3.

Subd. 3. Mandatory carrying. Each on-duty peace officer who is assigned to respond to emergency calls must have at least two unexpired opiate antagonist doses readily available when the officer's shift begins. An officer who depletes their supply of opiate antagonists during the officer's shift shall replace the expended doses from the officer's agency's supply so long as replacing the doses will not compromise public safety.

Subd. 4. <u>Authorization of use.</u> (a) A chief law enforcement officer must authorize peace officers employed by the chief's agency to perform administration of an opiate antagonist when an officer believes a person is suffering a narcotics overdose.

(b) In order to administer opiate antagonists, a peace officer must comply with section 151.37, subdivision 12, paragraph (b), clause (1).

Sec. 17. **<u>REPEALER.</u>** 

Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 152.092, is repealed.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.

## ARTICLE 17 CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES SCHEDULES

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 152.02, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Schedule I. (a) Schedule I consists of the substances listed in this subdivision.

(b) Opiates. Unless specifically excepted or unless listed in another schedule, any of the following substances, including their analogs, isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, esters, and ethers, whenever the existence of the analogs, isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is possible:

- (1) acetylmethadol;
- (2) allylprodine;
- (3) alphacetylmethadol (except levo-alphacetylmethadol, also known as levomethadyl acetate);
- (4) alphameprodine;
- (5) alphamethadol;
- (6) alpha-methylfentanyl benzethidine;
- (7) betacetylmethadol;
- (8) betameprodine;
- (9) betamethadol;
- (10) betaprodine;

- (11) clonitazene;
- (12) dextromoramide;
- (13) diampromide;
- (14) diethyliambutene;
- (15) difenoxin;
- (16) dimenoxadol;
- (17) dimepheptanol;
- (18) dimethyliambutene;
- (19) dioxaphetyl butyrate;
- (20) dipipanone;
- (21) ethylmethylthiambutene;
- (22) etonitazene;
- (23) etoxeridine;
- (24) furethidine;
- (25) hydroxypethidine;
- (26) ketobemidone;
- (27) levomoramide;
- (28) levophenacylmorphan;
- (29) 3-methylfentanyl;
- (30) acetyl-alpha-methylfentanyl;
- (31) alpha-methylthiofentanyl;
- (32) benzylfentanyl beta-hydroxyfentanyl;
- (33) beta-hydroxy-3-methylfentanyl;
- (34) 3-methylthiofentanyl;
- (35) thenylfentanyl;
- (36) thiofentanyl;

- (37) para-fluorofentanyl;
- (38) morpheridine;
- (39) 1-methyl-4-phenyl-4-propionoxypiperidine;
- (40) noracymethadol;
- (41) norlevorphanol;
- (42) normethadone;
- (43) norpipanone;
- (44) 1-(2-phenylethyl)-4-phenyl-4-acetoxypiperidine (PEPAP);
- (45) phenadoxone;
- (46) phenampromide;
- (47) phenomorphan;
- (48) phenoperidine;
- (49) piritramide;
- (50) proheptazine;
- (51) properidine;
- (52) propiram;
- (53) racemoramide;
- (54) tilidine;
- (55) trimeperidine;
- (56) N-(1-Phenethylpiperidin-4-yl)-N-phenylacetamide (acetyl fentanyl);
- (57) 3,4-dichloro-N-[(1R,2R)-2-(dimethylamino)cyclohexyl]-N-methylbenzamide(U47700);
- (58) N-phenyl-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)piperidin-4-yl]furan-2-carboxamide(furanylfentanyl);
- (59) 4-(4-bromophenyl)-4-dimethylamino-1-phenethylcyclohexanol (bromadol);
- (60) N-(1-phenethylpiperidin-4-yl)-N-phenylcyclopropanecarboxamide (Cyclopropryl fentanyl);
- (61) N-(1-phenethylpiperidin-4-yl)-N-phenylbutanamide) (butyryl fentanyl);

(62) 1-cyclohexyl-4-(1,2-diphenylethyl)piperazine) (MT-45);

(63) N-(1-phenethylpiperidin-4-yl)-N-phenylcyclopentanecarboxamide (cyclopentyl fentanyl);

(64) N-(1-phenethylpiperidin-4-yl)-N-phenylisobutyramide (isobutyryl fentanyl);

(65) N-(1-phenethylpiperidin-4-yl)-N-phenylpentanamide (valeryl fentanyl);

(66) N-(4-chlorophenyl)-N-(1-phenethylpiperidin-4-yl)isobutyramide (para-chloroisobutyryl fentanyl);

(67) N-(4-fluorophenyl)-N-(1-phenethylpiperidin-4-yl)butyramide (para-fluorobutyryl fentanyl);

(68) N-(4-methoxyphenyl)-N-(1-phenethylpiperidin-4-yl)butyramide (para-methoxybutyryl fentanyl);

(69) N-(2-fluorophenyl)-2-methoxy-N-(1-phenethylpiperidin-4-yl)acetamide (ocfentanil);

(70) N-(4-fluorophenyl)-N-(1-phenethylpiperidin-4-yl)isobutyramide (4-fluoroisobutyryl fentanyl or para-fluoroisobutyryl fentanyl);

(71) N-(1-phenethylpiperidin-4-yl)-N-phenylacrylamide (acryl fentanyl or acryloylfentanyl);

(72) 2-methoxy-N-(1-phenethylpiperidin-4-yl)-N-phenylacetamide (methoxyacetyl fentanyl);

(73) N-(2-fluorophenyl)-N-(1-phenethylpiperidin-4-yl)propionamide (ortho-fluorofentanyl) or 2-fluorofentanyl);

(74) N-(1-phenethylpiperidin-4-yl)-N-phenyltetrahydrofuran-2-carboxamide (tetrahydrofuranyl); and

(75) Fentanyl-related substances, their isomers, esters, ethers, salts and salts of isomers, esters and ethers, meaning any substance not otherwise listed under another federal Administration Controlled Substance Code Number or not otherwise listed in this section, and for which no exemption or approval is in effect under section 505 of the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act, United States Code, title 21, section 355, that is structurally related to fentanyl by one or more of the following modifications:

(i) replacement of the phenyl portion of the phenethyl group by any monocycle, whether or not further substituted in or on the monocycle;

(ii) substitution in or on the phenethyl group with alkyl, alkenyl, alkoxyl, hydroxyl, halo, haloalkyl, amino, or nitro groups;

(iii) substitution in or on the piperidine ring with alkyl, alkenyl, alkoxyl, ester, ether, hydroxyl, halo, haloalkyl, amino, or nitro groups;

(iv) replacement of the aniline ring with any aromatic monocycle whether or not further substituted in or on the aromatic monocycle; or

(v) replacement of the N-propionyl group by another acyl group-;

(76) 1-(1-(1-(4-bromophenyl)ethyl)piperidin-4-yl)-1,3- dihydro-2H-benzo[d]imidazol-2-one (brorphine);

(77) 4'-methyl acetyl fentanyl;

(78) beta-hydroxythiofentanyl;

(79) beta-methyl fentanyl;

(80) beta'-phenyl fentanyl;

(81) crotonyl fentanyl ((E)-N-(1-phenethylpiperidin-4-yl)-N-phenylbut-2-enamide);

(82) cyclopropyl fentanyl (N-(1-phenethylpiperidin-4-yl)-N-phenylcyclopropanecarboxamide);

(83) fentanyl carbamate;

(84) isotonitazene (N,N-diethyl-2-(2-(4 isopropoxybenzyl)-5-nitro-1H-benzimidazol-1-yl)ethan-1-amine);

(85) para-fluoro furanyl fentanyl;

(86) para-methylfentanyl;

(87) phenyl fentanyl;

(88) ortho-fluoroacryl fentanyl;

(89) ortho-fluorobutyryl fentanyl;

(90) ortho-fluoroisobutyryl fentanyl;

(91) ortho-methyl acetylfentanyl;

(92) thiofuranyl fentanyl;

(93) metonitazene (N,N-diethyl-2-(2-(4-methoxybenzyl)-5-nitro-1H-benzimidazol-1-yl)ethan-1-amine);

(94) metodesnitazene (N,N-diethyl-2-(2-(4-methoxybenzyl)-1H-benzimidazol-1-yl)ethan-1-amine);

(95) etodesnitazene; etazene (2-(2-(4-ethoxybenzyl)-1H-benzimidazol-1-yl)-N,N-diethylethan-1-amine);

(96) protonitazene (N,N-diethyl-2-(5-nitro-2-(4-propoxybenzyl)-1H-benzimidazol-1-yl)ethan-1-amine);

(97) butonitazene (2-(2-(4-butoxybenzyl)-5-nitro-1H-benzimidazol-1-yl)-N,N-diethylethan-1-amine);

(98) flunitazene (N,N-diethyl-2-(2-(4-fluorobenzyl)-5-nitro-1H-benzimidazol-1-yl)ethan-1-amine); and

(99) N-pyrrolidino etonitazene; etonitazepyne (2-(4-ethoxybenzyl)-5-nitro-1-(2-(pyrrolidin-1-yl)ethyl)-1Hbenzimidazole).

(c) Opium derivatives. Any of the following substances, their analogs, salts, isomers, and salts of isomers, unless specifically excepted or unless listed in another schedule, whenever the existence of the analogs, salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible:

(1) acetorphine;

(2) acetyldihydrocodeine;

- (3) benzylmorphine;
- (4) codeine methylbromide;
- (5) codeine-n-oxide;
- (6) cyprenorphine;
- (7) desomorphine;
- (8) dihydromorphine;
- (9) drotebanol;
- (10) etorphine;
- (11) heroin;
- (12) hydromorphinol;
- (13) methyldesorphine;
- (14) methyldihydromorphine;
- (15) morphine methylbromide;
- (16) morphine methylsulfonate;
- (17) morphine-n-oxide;
- (18) myrophine;
- (19) nicocodeine;
- (20) nicomorphine;
- (21) normorphine;
- (22) pholcodine; and
- (23) thebacon.

(d) Hallucinogens. Any material, compound, mixture or preparation which contains any quantity of the following substances, their analogs, salts, isomers (whether optical, positional, or geometric), and salts of isomers, unless specifically excepted or unless listed in another schedule, whenever the existence of the analogs, salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible:

- (1) methylenedioxy amphetamine;
- (2) methylenedioxymethamphetamine;

- (3) methylenedioxy-N-ethylamphetamine (MDEA);
- (4) n-hydroxy-methylenedioxyamphetamine;
- (5) 4-bromo-2,5-dimethoxyamphetamine (DOB);
- (6) 2,5-dimethoxyamphetamine (2,5-DMA);
- (7) 4-methoxyamphetamine;
- (8) 5-methoxy-3, 4-methylenedioxyamphetamine;
- (9) alpha-ethyltryptamine;
- (10) bufotenine;
- (11) diethyltryptamine;
- (12) dimethyltryptamine;
- (13) 3,4,5-trimethoxyamphetamine;
- (14) 4-methyl-2, 5-dimethoxyamphetamine (DOM);
- (15) ibogaine;
- (16) lysergic acid diethylamide (LSD);
- (17) mescaline;
- (18) parahexyl;
- (19) N-ethyl-3-piperidyl benzilate;
- (20) N-methyl-3-piperidyl benzilate;
- (21) psilocybin;
- (22) psilocyn;
- (23) tenocyclidine (TPCP or TCP);
- (24) N-ethyl-1-phenyl-cyclohexylamine (PCE);
- (25) 1-(1-phenylcyclohexyl) pyrrolidine (PCPy);
- (26) 1-[1-(2-thienyl)cyclohexyl]-pyrrolidine (TCPy);
- (27) 4-chloro-2,5-dimethoxyamphetamine (DOC);
- (28) 4-ethyl-2,5-dimethoxyamphetamine (DOET);

- (29) 4-iodo-2,5-dimethoxyamphetamine (DOI);
- (30) 4-bromo-2,5-dimethoxyphenethylamine (2C-B);
- (31) 4-chloro-2,5-dimethoxyphenethylamine (2C-C);
- (32) 4-methyl-2,5-dimethoxyphenethylamine (2C-D);
- (33) 4-ethyl-2,5-dimethoxyphenethylamine (2C-E);
- (34) 4-iodo-2,5-dimethoxyphenethylamine (2C-I);
- (35) 4-propyl-2,5-dimethoxyphenethylamine (2C-P);
- (36) 4-isopropylthio-2,5-dimethoxyphenethylamine (2C-T-4);
- (37) 4-propylthio-2,5-dimethoxyphenethylamine (2C-T-7);
- (38) 2-(8-bromo-2,3,6,7-tetrahydrofuro [2,3-f][1]benzofuran-4-yl)ethanamine (2-CB-FLY);
- (39) bromo-benzodifuranyl-isopropylamine (Bromo-DragonFLY);
- (40) alpha-methyltryptamine (AMT);
- (41) N,N-diisopropyltryptamine (DiPT);
- (42) 4-acetoxy-N,N-dimethyltryptamine (4-AcO-DMT);
- (43) 4-acetoxy-N,N-diethyltryptamine (4-AcO-DET);
- (44) 4-hydroxy-N-methyl-N-propyltryptamine (4-HO-MPT);
- (45) 4-hydroxy-N,N-dipropyltryptamine (4-HO-DPT);
- (46) 4-hydroxy-N,N-diallyltryptamine (4-HO-DALT);
- (47) 4-hydroxy-N,N-diisopropyltryptamine (4-HO-DiPT);
- (48) 5-methoxy-N,N-diisopropyltryptamine (5-MeO-DiPT);
- (49) 5-methoxy-α-methyltryptamine (5-MeO-AMT);
- (50) 5-methoxy-N,N-dimethyltryptamine (5-MeO-DMT);
- (51) 5-methylthio-N,N-dimethyltryptamine (5-MeS-DMT);
- (52) 5-methoxy-N-methyl-N-isopropyltryptamine (5-MeO-MiPT);
- (53) 5-methoxy-α-ethyltryptamine (5-MeO-AET);
- (54) 5-methoxy-N,N-dipropyltryptamine (5-MeO-DPT);

- (55) 5-methoxy-N,N-diethyltryptamine (5-MeO-DET);
- (56) 5-methoxy-N,N-diallyltryptamine (5-MeO-DALT);
- (57) methoxetamine (MXE);
- (58) 5-iodo-2-aminoindane (5-IAI);
- (59) 5,6-methylenedioxy-2-aminoindane (MDAI);
- (60) 2-(4-bromo-2,5-dimethoxyphenyl)-N-(2-methoxybenzyl)ethanamine (25B-NBOMe);
- (61) 2-(4-chloro-2,5-dimethoxyphenyl)-N-(2-methoxybenzyl)ethanamine (25C-NBOMe);
- (62) 2-(4-iodo-2,5-dimethoxyphenyl)-N-(2-methoxybenzyl)ethanamine (25I-NBOMe);
- (63) 2-(2,5-Dimethoxyphenyl)ethanamine (2C-H);
- (64) 2-(4-Ethylthio-2,5-dimethoxyphenyl)ethanamine (2C-T-2);
- (65) N,N-Dipropyltryptamine (DPT);
- (66) 3-[1-(Piperidin-1-yl)cyclohexyl]phenol (3-HO-PCP);
- (67) N-ethyl-1-(3-methoxyphenyl)cyclohexanamine (3-MeO-PCE);
- (68) 4-[1-(3-methoxyphenyl)cyclohexyl]morpholine (3-MeO-PCMo);
- (69) 1-[1-(4-methoxyphenyl)cyclohexyl]-piperidine (methoxydine, 4-MeO-PCP);
- (70) 2-(2-Chlorophenyl)-2-(ethylamino)cyclohexan-1-one (N-Ethylnorketamine, ethketamine, NENK);
- (71) methylenedioxy-N,N-dimethylamphetamine (MDDMA);
- (72) 3-(2-Ethyl(methyl)aminoethyl)-1H-indol-4-yl (4-AcO-MET); and
- (73) 2-Phenyl-2-(methylamino)cyclohexanone (deschloroketamine).

(e) Peyote. All parts of the plant presently classified botanically as Lophophora williamsii Lemaire, whether growing or not, the seeds thereof, any extract from any part of the plant, and every compound, manufacture, salts, derivative, mixture, or preparation of the plant, its seeds or extracts. The listing of peyote as a controlled substance in Schedule I does not apply to the nondrug use of peyote in bona fide religious ceremonies of the American Indian Church, and members of the American Indian Church are exempt from registration. Any person who manufactures peyote for or distributes peyote to the American Indian Church, however, is required to obtain federal registration annually and to comply with all other requirements of law.

(f) Central nervous system depressants. Unless specifically excepted or unless listed in another schedule, any material compound, mixture, or preparation which contains any quantity of the following substances, their analogs, salts, isomers, and salts of isomers whenever the existence of the analogs, salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible:

(1) mecloqualone;

- (2) methaqualone;
- (3) gamma-hydroxybutyric acid (GHB), including its esters and ethers;
- (4) flunitrazepam;
- (5) 2-(2-Methoxyphenyl)-2-(methylamino)cyclohexanone (2-MeO-2-deschloroketamine, methoxyketamine);
- (6) tianeptine;
- (7) clonazolam;
- (8) etizolam;
- (9) flubromazolam; and
- (10) flubromazepam.

(g) Stimulants. Unless specifically excepted or unless listed in another schedule, any material compound, mixture, or preparation which contains any quantity of the following substances, their analogs, salts, isomers, and salts of isomers whenever the existence of the analogs, salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible:

- (1) aminorex;
- (2) cathinone;
- (3) fenethylline;
- (4) methcathinone;
- (5) methylaminorex;
- (6) N,N-dimethylamphetamine;
- (7) N-benzylpiperazine (BZP);
- (8) methylmethcathinone (mephedrone);
- (9) 3,4-methylenedioxy-N-methylcathinone (methylone);
- (10) methoxymethcathinone (methedrone);
- (11) methylenedioxypyrovalerone (MDPV);
- (12) 3-fluoro-N-methylcathinone (3-FMC);
- (13) methylethcathinone (MEC);
- (14) 1-benzofuran-6-ylpropan-2-amine (6-APB);
- (15) dimethylmethcathinone (DMMC);

- (16) fluoroamphetamine;
- (17) fluoromethamphetamine;
- (18) α-methylaminobutyrophenone (MABP or buphedrone);
- (19) 1-(1,3-benzodioxol-5-yl)-2-(methylamino)butan-1-one (butylone);
- (20) 2-(methylamino)-1-(4-methylphenyl)butan-1-one (4-MEMABP or BZ-6378);
- (21) 1-(naphthalen-2-yl)-2-(pyrrolidin-1-yl) pentan-1-one (naphthylpyrovalerone or naphyrone);
- (22) (alpha-pyrrolidinopentiophenone (alpha-PVP);
- (23) (RS)-1-(4-methylphenyl)-2-(1-pyrrolidinyl)-1-hexanone (4-Me-PHP or MPHP);
- (24) 2-(1-pyrrolidinyl)-hexanophenone (Alpha-PHP);
- (25) 4-methyl-N-ethylcathinone (4-MEC);
- (26) 4-methyl-alpha-pyrrolidinopropiophenone (4-MePPP);
- (27) 2-(methylamino)-1-phenylpentan-1-one (pentedrone);
- (28) 1-(1,3-benzodioxol-5-yl)-2-(methylamino)pentan-1-one (pentylone);
- (29) 4-fluoro-N-methylcathinone (4-FMC);
- (30) 3,4-methylenedioxy-N-ethylcathinone (ethylone);
- (31) alpha-pyrrolidinobutiophenone (α-PBP);
- (32) 5-(2-Aminopropyl)-2,3-dihydrobenzofuran (5-APDB);
- (33) 1-phenyl-2-(1-pyrrolidinyl)-1-heptanone (PV8);
- (34) 6-(2-Aminopropyl)-2,3-dihydrobenzofuran (6-APDB);
- (35) 4-methyl-alpha-ethylaminopentiophenone (4-MEAPP);
- (36) 4'-chloro-alpha-pyrrolidinopropiophenone (4'-chloro-PPP);
- (37) 1-(1,3-Benzodioxol-5-yl)-2-(dimethylamino)butan-1-one (dibutylone, bk-DMBDB);
- (38) 1-(3-chlorophenyl) piperazine (meta-chlorophenylpiperazine or mCPP);
- (39) 1-(1,3-benzodioxol-5-yl)-2-(ethylamino)-pentan-1-one (N-ethylpentylone, ephylone); and

(40) any other substance, except bupropion or compounds listed under a different schedule, that is structurally derived from 2-aminopropan-1-one by substitution at the 1-position with either phenyl, naphthyl, or thiophene ring systems, whether or not the compound is further modified in any of the following ways:

(i) by substitution in the ring system to any extent with alkyl, alkylenedioxy, alkoxy, haloalkyl, hydroxyl, or halide substituents, whether or not further substituted in the ring system by one or more other univalent substituents;

(ii) by substitution at the 3-position with an acyclic alkyl substituent;

(iii) by substitution at the 2-amino nitrogen atom with alkyl, dialkyl, benzyl, or methoxybenzyl groups; or

(iv) by inclusion of the 2-amino nitrogen atom in a cyclic structure-;

## (41) 4,4'-dimethylaminorex (4,4'-DMAR; 4,5-dihydro-4-methyl-5-(4-methylphenyl)-2-oxazolamine);

## (42) 4-chloro-alpha-pyrrolidinovalerophenone (4-chloro-A-PVP);

### (43) para-methoxymethamphetamine (PMMA), 1-(4-methoxyphenyl)-N-methylpropan-2-amine; and

## (44) N-ethylhexedrone.

(h) Marijuana, tetrahydrocannabinols, and synthetic cannabinoids. Unless specifically excepted or unless listed in another schedule, any natural or synthetic material, compound, mixture, or preparation that contains any quantity of the following substances, their analogs, isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, esters, and ethers, whenever the existence of the isomers, esters, ethers, or salts is possible:

(1) marijuana;

(2) tetrahydrocannabinols naturally contained in a plant of the genus Cannabis, except that tetrahydrocannabinols do not include any material, compound, mixture, or preparation that qualifies as industrial hemp as defined in section 18K.02, subdivision 3; synthetic equivalents of the substances contained in the cannabis plant or in the resinous extractives of the plant; or synthetic substances with similar chemical structure and pharmacological activity to those substances contained in the plant or resinous extract, including, but not limited to, 1 cis or trans tetrahydrocannabinol, 6 cis or trans tetrahydrocannabinol, and 3,4 cis or trans tetrahydrocannabinol;

(3) synthetic cannabinoids, including the following substances:

(i) Naphthoylindoles, which are any compounds containing a 3-(1-napthoyl)indole structure with substitution at the nitrogen atom of the indole ring by an alkyl, haloalkyl, alkenyl, cycloalkylmethyl, cycloalkylethyl, 1-(N-methyl-2-piperidinyl)methyl or 2-(4-morpholinyl)ethyl group, whether or not further substituted in the indole ring to any extent and whether or not substituted in the naphthyl ring to any extent. Examples of naphthoylindoles include, but are not limited to:

- (A) 1-Pentyl-3-(1-naphthoyl)indole (JWH-018 and AM-678);
- (B) 1-Butyl-3-(1-naphthoyl)indole (JWH-073);
- (C) 1-Pentyl-3-(4-methoxy-1-naphthoyl)indole (JWH-081);
- (D) 1-[2-(4-morpholinyl)ethyl]-3-(1-naphthoyl)indole (JWH-200);
- (E) 1-Propyl-2-methyl-3-(1-naphthoyl)indole (JWH-015);
- (F) 1-Hexyl-3-(1-naphthoyl)indole (JWH-019);
- (G) 1-Pentyl-3-(4-methyl-1-naphthoyl)indole (JWH-122);
- (H) 1-Pentyl-3-(4-ethyl-1-naphthoyl)indole (JWH-210);

(I) 1-Pentyl-3-(4-chloro-1-naphthoyl)indole (JWH-398);

(J) 1-(5-fluoropentyl)-3-(1-naphthoyl)indole (AM-2201).

(ii) Napthylmethylindoles, which are any compounds containing a 1H-indol-3-yl-(1-naphthyl)methane structure with substitution at the nitrogen atom of the indole ring by an alkyl, haloalkyl, alkenyl, cycloalkylmethyl, cycloalkylethyl, 1-(N-methyl-2-piperidinyl)methyl or 2-(4-morpholinyl)ethyl group, whether or not further substituted in the indole ring to any extent and whether or not substituted in the naphthyl ring to any extent. Examples of naphthylmethylindoles include, but are not limited to:

(A) 1-Pentyl-1H-indol-3-yl-(1-naphthyl)methane (JWH-175);

(B) 1-Pentyl-1H-indol-3-yl-(4-methyl-1-naphthyl)methane (JWH-184).

(iii) Naphthoylpyrroles, which are any compounds containing a 3-(1-naphthoyl)pyrrole structure with substitution at the nitrogen atom of the pyrrole ring by an alkyl, haloalkyl, alkenyl, cycloalkylmethyl, cycloalkylethyl, 1-(N-methyl-2-piperidinyl)methyl or 2-(4-morpholinyl)ethyl group whether or not further substituted in the pyrrole ring to any extent, whether or not substituted in the naphthyl ring to any extent. Examples of naphthoylpyrroles include, but are not limited to, (5-(2-fluorophenyl)-1-pentylpyrrol-3-yl)-naphthalen-1-ylmethanone (JWH-307).

(iv) Naphthylmethylindenes, which are any compounds containing a naphthylideneindene structure with substitution at the 3-position of the indene ring by an alkyl, haloalkyl, alkenyl, cycloalkylmethyl, cycloalkylethyl, 1-(N-methyl-2-piperidinyl)methyl or 2-(4-morpholinyl)ethyl group whether or not further substituted in the indene ring to any extent, whether or not substituted in the naphthyl ring to any extent. Examples of naphthylemethylindenes include, but are not limited to, E-1-[1-(1-naphthalenylmethylene)-1H-inden-3-yl]pentane (JWH-176).

(v) Phenylacetylindoles, which are any compounds containing a 3-phenylacetylindole structure with substitution at the nitrogen atom of the indole ring by an alkyl, haloalkyl, alkenyl, cycloalkylmethyl, cycloalkylethyl, 1-(N-methyl-2-piperidinyl)methyl or 2-(4-morpholinyl)ethyl group whether or not further substituted in the indole ring to any extent, whether or not substituted in the phenyl ring to any extent. Examples of phenylacetylindoles include, but are not limited to:

(A) 1-(2-cyclohexylethyl)-3-(2-methoxyphenylacetyl)indole (RCS-8);

(B) 1-pentyl-3-(2-methoxyphenylacetyl)indole (JWH-250);

(C) 1-pentyl-3-(2-methylphenylacetyl)indole (JWH-251);

(D) 1-pentyl-3-(2-chlorophenylacetyl)indole (JWH-203).

(vi) Cyclohexylphenols, which are compounds containing a 2-(3-hydroxycyclohexyl)phenol structure with substitution at the 5-position of the phenolic ring by an alkyl, haloalkyl, alkenyl, cycloalkylmethyl, cycloalkylethyl, 1-(N-methyl-2-piperidinyl)methyl or 2-(4-morpholinyl)ethyl group whether or not substituted in the cyclohexyl ring to any extent. Examples of cyclohexylphenols include, but are not limited to:

(A) 5-(1,1-dimethylheptyl)-2-[(1R,3S)-3-hydroxycyclohexyl]-phenol (CP 47,497);

(B) 5-(1,1-dimethyloctyl)-2-[(1R,3S)-3-hydroxycyclohexyl]-phenol (Cannabicyclohexanol or CP 47,497 C8 homologue);

(C) 5-(1,1-dimethylheptyl)-2-[(1R,2R)-5-hydroxy-2-(3-hydroxypropyl)cyclohexyl] -phenol (CP 55,940).

(vii) Benzoylindoles, which are any compounds containing a 3-(benzoyl)indole structure with substitution at the nitrogen atom of the indole ring by an alkyl, haloalkyl, alkenyl, cycloalkylmethyl, cycloalkylethyl, 1-(N-methyl-2-piperidinyl)methyl or 2-(4-morpholinyl)ethyl group whether or not further substituted in the indole ring to any extent and whether or not substituted in the phenyl ring to any extent. Examples of benzoylindoles include, but are not limited to:

(A) 1-Pentyl-3-(4-methoxybenzoyl)indole (RCS-4);

(B) 1-(5-fluoropentyl)-3-(2-iodobenzoyl)indole (AM-694);

(C) (4-methoxyphenyl-[2-methyl-1-(2-(4-morpholinyl)ethyl)indol-3-yl]methanone (WIN 48,098 or Pravadoline).

(viii) Others specifically named:

(A) (6aR,10aR)-9-(hydroxymethyl)-6,6-dimethyl-3-(2-methyloctan-2-yl) -6a,7,10,10a-tetrahydrobenzo[c]chromen-1-ol (HU-210);

(B) (6aS,10aS)-9-(hydroxymethyl)-6,6-dimethyl-3-(2-methyloctan-2-yl) -6a,7,10,10a-tetrahydrobenzo[c]chromen-1-ol (Dexanabinol or HU-211);

(C) 2,3-dihydro-5-methyl-3-(4-morpholinylmethyl)pyrrolo[1,2,3-de] -1,4-benzoxazin-6-yl-1-naphthalenylmethanone (WIN 55,212-2);

(D) (1-pentylindol-3-yl)-(2,2,3,3-tetramethylcyclopropyl)methanone (UR-144);

(E) (1-(5-fluoropentyl)-1H-indol-3-yl)(2,2,3,3-tetramethylcyclopropyl)methanone (XLR-11);

(F) 1-pentyl-N-tricyclo[3.3.1.13,7]dec-1-yl-1H-indazole-3-carboxamide (AKB-48(APINACA));

(G) N-((3s,5s,7s)-adamantan-1-yl)-1-(5-fluoropentyl)-1H-indazole-3-carboxamide (5-Fluoro-AKB-48);

(H) 1-pentyl-8-quinolinyl ester-1H-indole-3-carboxylic acid (PB-22);

(I) 8-quinolinyl ester-1-(5-fluoropentyl)-1H-indole-3-carboxylic acid (5-Fluoro PB-22);

(J) N-[(1S)-1-(aminocarbonyl)-2-methylpropyl]-1-pentyl-1H-indazole- 3-carboxamide (AB-PINACA);

(K) N-[(1S)-1-(aminocarbonyl)-2-methylpropyl]-1-[(4-fluorophenyl)methyl]- 1H-indazole-3-carboxamide (AB-FUBINACA);

(L) N-[(1S)-1-(aminocarbonyl)-2-methylpropyl]-1-(cyclohexylmethyl)-1H- indazole-3-carboxamide(AB-CHMINACA);

(M) (S)-methyl 2-(1-(5-fluoropentyl)-1H-indazole-3-carboxamido)-3- methylbutanoate (5-fluoro-AMB);

(N) [1-(5-fluoropentyl)-1H-indazol-3-yl](naphthalen-1-yl) methanone (THJ-2201);

(O) (1-(5-fluoropentyl)-1H-benzo[d]imidazol-2-yl)(naphthalen-1-yl)methanone) (FUBIMINA);

(P) (7-methoxy-1-(2-morpholinoethyl)-N-((1S,2S,4R)-1,3,3-trimethylbicyclo [2.2.1]heptan-2-yl)-1H-indole-3-carboxamide (MN-25 or UR-12);

(Q) (S)-N-(1-amino-3-methyl-1-oxobutan-2-yl)-1-(5-fluoropentyl) -1H-indole-3-carboxamide (5-fluoro-ABICA);

(R) N-(1-amino-3-phenyl-1-oxopropan-2-yl)-1-(5-fluoropentyl) -1H-indole-3-carboxamide;

(S) N-(1-amino-3-phenyl-1-oxopropan-2-yl)-1-(5-fluoropentyl) -1H-indazole-3-carboxamide;

(T) methyl 2-(1-(cyclohexylmethyl)-1H-indole-3-carboxamido) -3,3-dimethylbutanoate;

(U) N-(1-amino-3,3-dimethyl-1-oxobutan-2-yl)-1(cyclohexylmethyl)-1 H-indazole-3-carboxamide (MAB-CHMINACA);

(V) N-(1-Amino-3,3-dimethyl-1-oxo-2-butanyl)-1-pentyl-1H-indazole-3-carboxamide (ADB-PINACA);

(W) methyl (1-(4-fluorobenzyl)-1H-indazole-3-carbonyl)-L-valinate (FUB-AMB);

(X) N-[(1S)-2-amino-2-oxo-1-(phenylmethyl)ethyl]-1-(cyclohexylmethyl)-1H-Indazole-3-carboxamide. (APP-CHMINACA);

(Y) quinolin-8-yl 1-(4-fluorobenzyl)-1H-indole-3-carboxylate (FUB-PB-22); and

(Z) methyl N-[1-(cyclohexylmethyl)-1H-indole-3-carbonyl]valinate (MMB-CHMICA).

(ix) Additional substances specifically named:

(A) 1-(5-fluoropentyl)-N-(2-phenylpropan-2-yl)-1 H-pyrrolo[2,3-B]pyridine-3-carboxamide (5F-CUMYL-P7AICA);

(B) 1-(4-cyanobutyl)-N-(2- phenylpropan-2-yl)-1 H-indazole-3-carboxamide (4-CN-Cumyl-Butinaca);

(C) naphthalen-1-yl-1-(5-fluoropentyl)-1-H-indole-3-carboxylate (NM2201; CBL2201);

(D) N-(1-amino-3-methyl-1-oxobutan-2-yl)-1-(5-fluoropentyl)-1 H-indazole-3-carboxamide (5F-ABPINACA);

(E) methyl-2-(1-(cyclohexylmethyl)-1H-indole-3-carboxamido)-3,3-dimethylbutanoate (MDMB CHMICA);

(F) methyl 2-(1-(5-fluoropentyl)-1H-indazole-3-carboxamido)-3,3-dimethylbutanoate (5F-ADB; 5F-MDMB-PINACA); and

(G) N-(1-amino-3,3-dimethyl-1-oxobutan-2-yl)-1-(4-fluorobenzyl) 1H-indazole-3-carboxamide (ADB-FUBINACA)-:

(H) 1-(5-fluoropentyl)-N-(2-phenylpropan-2-yl)-1H-indazole-3-carboxamide;

(I) (1-(4-fluorobenzyl)-1H-indol-3-yl)(2,2,3,3- tetramethylcyclopropyl)methanone;

(J) methyl 2-(1-(4-fluorobenzyl)-1Hindazole-3-carboxamido)-3,3-dimethylbutanoate;

(K) methyl 2-(1-(5-fluoropentyl)-1H-indole-3-carboxamido)-3,3-dimethylbutanoate;

(L) ethyl 2-(1-(5-fluoropentyl)-1H-indazole-3-carboxamido)-3,3-dimethylbutanoate;

(M) methyl 2-(1-(4-fluorobenzyl)-1Hindazole-3-carboxamido)-3- methylbutanoate;

(N) N-(adamantan-1-yl)-1-(4-fluorobenzyl)-1H-indazole-3-carboxamide; and

(O) N-(adamantan-1-yl)-1-(5-fluoropentyl)-1H-indazole-3-carboxamide.

(i) A controlled substance analog, to the extent that it is implicitly or explicitly intended for human consumption.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 152.02, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Schedule II. (a) Schedule II consists of the substances listed in this subdivision.

(b) Unless specifically excepted or unless listed in another schedule, any of the following substances whether produced directly or indirectly by extraction from substances of vegetable origin or independently by means of chemical synthesis, or by a combination of extraction and chemical synthesis:

(1) Opium and opiate, and any salt, compound, derivative, or preparation of opium or opiate.

- (i) Excluding:
- (A) apomorphine;
- (B) thebaine-derived butorphanol;
- (C) dextrophan;
- (D) nalbuphine;
- (E) nalmefene;
- (F) naloxegol;
- (G) naloxone;
- (H) naltrexone; and
- (I) their respective salts;
- (ii) but including the following:
- (A) opium, in all forms and extracts;
- (B) codeine;
- (C) dihydroetorphine;
- (D) ethylmorphine;
- (E) etorphine hydrochloride;

- (F) hydrocodone;
- (G) hydromorphone;
- (H) metopon;
- (I) morphine;
- (J) oxycodone;
- (K) oxymorphone;
- (L) thebaine;

(M) oripavine;

(2) any salt, compound, derivative, or preparation thereof which is chemically equivalent or identical with any of the substances referred to in clause (1), except that these substances shall not include the isoquinoline alkaloids of opium;

(3) opium poppy and poppy straw;

(4) coca leaves and any salt, cocaine compound, derivative, or preparation of coca leaves (including cocaine and ecgonine and their salts, isomers, derivatives, and salts of isomers and derivatives), and any salt, compound, derivative, or preparation thereof which is chemically equivalent or identical with any of these substances, except that the substances shall not include decocainized coca leaves or extraction of coca leaves, which extractions do not contain cocaine or ecgonine;

(5) concentrate of poppy straw (the crude extract of poppy straw in either liquid, solid, or powder form which contains the phenanthrene alkaloids of the opium poppy).

(c) Any of the following opiates, including their isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, esters and ethers, unless specifically excepted, or unless listed in another schedule, whenever the existence of such isomers, esters, ethers and salts is possible within the specific chemical designation:

- (1) alfentanil;
- (2) alphaprodine;
- (3) anileridine;
- (4) bezitramide;
- (5) bulk dextropropoxyphene (nondosage forms);
- (6) carfentanil;
- (7) dihydrocodeine;
- (8) dihydromorphinone;
- (9) diphenoxylate;

- (10) fentanyl;
- (11) isomethadone;
- (12) levo-alpha-acetylmethadol (LAAM);
- (13) levomethorphan;
- (14) levorphanol;
- (15) metazocine;
- (16) methadone;
- (17) methadone intermediate, 4-cyano-2-dimethylamino-4, 4-diphenylbutane;
- (18) moramide intermediate, 2-methyl-3-morpholino-1, 1-diphenyl-propane-carboxylic acid;

(19) pethidine;

- (20) pethidine intermediate a, 4-cyano-1-methyl-4-phenylpiperidine;
- (21) pethidine intermediate b, ethyl-4-phenylpiperidine-4-carboxylate;
- (22) pethidine intermediate c, 1-methyl-4-phenylpiperidine-4-carboxylic acid;
- (23) phenazocine;
- (24) piminodine;
- (25) racemethorphan;
- (26) racemorphan;
- (27) remifentanil;
- (28) sufentanil;
- (29) tapentadol;
- (30) 4-Anilino-N-phenethylpiperidine-:
- (31) oliceridine;

(32) norfentanyl (N-phenyl-N-(piperidin-4-yl) propionamide).

(d) Unless specifically excepted or unless listed in another schedule, any material, compound, mixture, or preparation which contains any quantity of the following substances having a stimulant effect on the central nervous system:

(1) amphetamine, its salts, optical isomers, and salts of its optical isomers;

- (2) methamphetamine, its salts, isomers, and salts of its isomers;
- (3) phenmetrazine and its salts;
- (4) methylphenidate;
- (5) lisdexamfetamine.

(e) Unless specifically excepted or unless listed in another schedule, any material, compound, mixture, or preparation which contains any quantity of the following substances having a depressant effect on the central nervous system, including its salts, isomers, and salts of isomers whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within the specific chemical designation:

- (1) amobarbital;
- (2) glutethimide;
- (3) secobarbital;
- (4) pentobarbital;
- (5) phencyclidine;
- (6) phencyclidine immediate precursors:
- (i) 1-phenylcyclohexylamine;
- (ii) 1-piperidinocyclohexanecarbonitrile;
- (7) phenylacetone.
- (f) Cannabinoids:
- (1) nabilone;

(2) dronabinol [(-)-delta-9-trans-tetrahydrocannabinol (delta-9-THC)] in an oral solution in a drug product approved for marketing by the United States Food and Drug Administration.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 152.02, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. Schedule IV. (a) Schedule IV consists of the substances listed in this subdivision.

(b) Narcotic drugs. Unless specifically excepted or unless listed in another schedule, any material, compound, mixture, or preparation containing any of the following narcotic drugs, or their salts calculated as the free anhydrous base or alkaloid, in limited quantities as follows:

(1) not more than one milligram of difenoxin and not less than 25 micrograms of atropine sulfate per dosage unit;

(2) dextropropoxyphene (Darvon and Darvocet);

6193

(3) 2-[(dimethylamino)methyl]-1-(3-methoxyphenyl)cyclohexanol, its salts, optical and geometric isomers, and salts of these isomers (including tramadol);

- (4) eluxadoline;
- (5) pentazocine; and
- (6) butorphanol (including its optical isomers).

(c) Depressants. Unless specifically excepted or unless listed in another schedule, any material, compound, mixture, or preparation containing any quantity of the following substances, including its salts, isomers, and salts of isomers whenever the existence of the salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible:

- (1) alfaxalone (5α-pregnan-3α-ol-11,20-dione);
- (2) alprazolam;
- (3) barbital;
- (4) bromazepam;
- (5) camazepam;
- (6) carisoprodol;
- (7) chloral betaine;
- (8) chloral hydrate;
- (9) chlordiazepoxide;
- (10) clobazam;
- (11) clonazepam;
- (12) clorazepate;
- (13) clotiazepam;
- (14) cloxazolam;
- (15) delorazepam;
- (16) diazepam;
- (17) dichloralphenazone;
- (18) estazolam;
- (19) ethchlorvynol;

- (20) ethinamate;
- (21) ethyl loflazepate;
- (22) fludiazepam;
- (23) flurazepam;
- (24) fospropofol;
- (25) halazepam;
- (26) haloxazolam;
- (27) ketazolam;
- (28) loprazolam;
- (29) lorazepam;
- (30) lormetazepam mebutamate;
- (31) medazepam;
- (32) meprobamate;
- (33) methohexital;
- (34) methylphenobarbital;
- (35) midazolam;
- (36) nimetazepam;
- (37) nitrazepam;
- (38) nordiazepam;
- (39) oxazepam;
- (40) oxazolam;
- (41) paraldehyde;
- (42) petrichloral;
- (43) phenobarbital;
- (44) pinazepam;
- (45) prazepam;

(46) quazepam;

(47) suvorexant;

(48) temazepam;

(49) tetrazepam;

(50) triazolam;

(51) zaleplon;

(52) zolpidem;

(53) zopiclone .;

(54) brexanolone (3α-hydroxy-5α-pregnan-20-one);

(55) lemborexant;

#### (56) remimazolam (4H-imidazol[1,2-a][1,4]benzodiazepine4-propionic acid).

(d) Any material, compound, mixture, or preparation which contains any quantity of the following substance including its salts, isomers, and salts of such isomers, whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible: fenfluramine.

(e) Stimulants. Unless specifically excepted or unless listed in another schedule, any material, compound, mixture, or preparation which contains any quantity of the following substances having a stimulant effect on the central nervous system, including its salts, isomers, and salts of isomers:

- (1) cathine (norpseudoephedrine);
- (2) diethylpropion;

(3) fencamfamine;

(4) fenproporex;

(5) mazindol;

(6) mefenorex;

(7) modafinil;

(8) pemoline (including organometallic complexes and chelates thereof);

- (9) phentermine;
- (10) pipradol;
- (11) sibutramine;

(12) SPA (1-dimethylamino-1,2-diphenylethane)-:

(13) serdexmethylphenidate;

(14) solriamfetol (2-amino-3-phenylpropyl car-bamate; benzenepropanol, beta-amino-, carbamate (ester)).

(f) lorcaserin.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 152.02, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. Schedule V; restrictions on methamphetamine precursor drugs. (a) As used in this subdivision, the following terms have the meanings given:

(1) "methamphetamine precursor drug" means any compound, mixture, or preparation intended for human consumption containing ephedrine or pseudoephedrine as its sole active ingredient or as one of its active ingredients; and

(2) "over-the-counter sale" means a retail sale of a drug or product but does not include the sale of a drug or product pursuant to the terms of a valid prescription.

(b) The following items are listed in Schedule V:

(1) any compound, mixture, or preparation containing any of the following limited quantities of narcotic drugs, which shall include one or more nonnarcotic active medicinal ingredients in sufficient proportion to confer upon the compound, mixture or preparation valuable medicinal qualities other than those possessed by the narcotic drug alone:

(i) not more than 100 milligrams of dihydrocodeine per 100 milliliters or per 100 grams;

(ii) not more than 100 milligrams of ethylmorphine per 100 milliliters or per 100 grams;

(iii) not more than 2.5 milligrams of diphenoxylate and not less than 25 micrograms of atropine sulfate per dosage unit;

(iv) not more than 100 milligrams of opium per 100 milliliters or per 100 grams; or

(v) not more than 0.5 milligrams of difenoxin and not less than 25 micrograms of atropine sulfate per dosage unit.

(2) Stimulants. Unless specifically exempted or excluded or unless listed in another schedule, any material, compound, mixture, or preparation that contains any quantity of the following substance having a stimulant effect on the central nervous system, including its salts, isomers, and salts of isomers: pyrovalerone.

(3) Depressants. Unless specifically exempted or excluded or unless listed in another schedule, any material, compound, mixture, or preparation that contains any quantity of the following substance having a depressant effect on the central nervous system, including its salts, isomers, and salts of isomers:

- (i) ezogabine;
- (ii) pregabalin;
- (iii) lacosamide .:

### FRIDAY, APRIL 21, 2023

(4) Any compound, mixture, or preparation containing ephedrine or pseudoephedrine as its sole active ingredient or as one of its active ingredients.

(c) No person may sell in a single over-the-counter sale more than two packages of a methamphetamine precursor drug or a combination of methamphetamine precursor drugs or any combination of packages exceeding a total weight of six grams, calculated as the base.

(d) Over-the-counter sales of methamphetamine precursor drugs are limited to:

(1) packages containing not more than a total of three grams of one or more methamphetamine precursor drugs, calculated in terms of ephedrine base or pseudoephedrine base; or

(2) for nonliquid products, sales in blister packs, where each blister contains not more than two dosage units, or, if the use of blister packs is not technically feasible, sales in unit dose packets or pouches.

(e) A business establishment that offers for sale methamphetamine precursor drugs in an over-the-counter sale shall ensure that all packages of the drugs are displayed behind a checkout counter where the public is not permitted and are offered for sale only by a licensed pharmacist, a registered pharmacy technician, or a pharmacy clerk. The establishment shall ensure that the person making the sale requires the buyer:

(1) to provide photographic identification showing the buyer's date of birth; and

(2) to sign a written or electronic document detailing the date of the sale, the name of the buyer, and the amount of the drug sold.

A document described under clause (2) must be retained by the establishment for at least three years and must at all reasonable times be open to the inspection of any law enforcement agency.

Nothing in this paragraph requires the buyer to obtain a prescription for the drug's purchase.

(f) No person may acquire through over-the-counter sales more than six grams of methamphetamine precursor drugs, calculated as the base, within a 30-day period.

(g) No person may sell in an over-the-counter sale a methamphetamine precursor drug to a person under the age of 18 years. It is an affirmative defense to a charge under this paragraph if the defendant proves by a preponderance of the evidence that the defendant reasonably and in good faith relied on proof of age as described in section 340A.503, subdivision 6.

(h) A person who knowingly violates paragraph (c), (d), (e), (f), or (g) is guilty of a misdemeanor and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than 90 days, or to payment of a fine of not more than \$1,000, or both.

(i) An owner, operator, supervisor, or manager of a business establishment that offers for sale methamphetamine precursor drugs whose employee or agent is convicted of or charged with violating paragraph (c), (d), (e), (f), or (g) is not subject to the criminal penalties for violating any of those paragraphs if the person:

(1) did not have prior knowledge of, participate in, or direct the employee or agent to commit the violation; and

(2) documents that an employee training program was in place to provide the employee or agent with information on the state and federal laws and regulations regarding methamphetamine precursor drugs.

6198

JOURNAL OF THE HOUSE

(j) Any person employed by a business establishment that offers for sale methamphetamine precursor drugs who sells such a drug to any person in a suspicious transaction shall report the transaction to the owner, supervisor, or manager of the establishment. The owner, supervisor, or manager may report the transaction to local law enforcement. A person who reports information under this subdivision in good faith is immune from civil liability relating to the report.

(k) Paragraphs (b) to (j) do not apply to:

(1) pediatric products labeled pursuant to federal regulation primarily intended for administration to children under 12 years of age according to label instructions;

(2) methamphetamine precursor drugs that are certified by the Board of Pharmacy as being manufactured in a manner that prevents the drug from being used to manufacture methamphetamine;

(3) methamphetamine precursor drugs in gel capsule or liquid form; or

(4) compounds, mixtures, or preparations in powder form where pseudoephedrine constitutes less than one percent of its total weight and is not its sole active ingredient.

(1) The Board of Pharmacy, in consultation with the Department of Public Safety, shall certify methamphetamine precursor drugs that meet the requirements of paragraph (k), clause (2), and publish an annual listing of these drugs.

(m) Wholesale drug distributors licensed and regulated by the Board of Pharmacy pursuant to sections 151.42 to 151.51 151.43 to 151.471 and registered with and regulated by the United States Drug Enforcement Administration are exempt from the methamphetamine precursor drug storage requirements of this section.

(n) This section preempts all local ordinances or regulations governing the sale by a business establishment of over-the-counter products containing ephedrine or pseudoephedrine. All ordinances enacted prior to the effective date of this act are void.

### **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment.

# ARTICLE 18 911 EMERGENCY COMMUNICATION SYSTEM

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, subdivision 7, is amended to read:

Subd. 7. Automatic location identification. "Automatic location identification" means the process of electronically identifying and displaying the name of the subscriber and the location, where available, of the calling telephone number the name of the subscriber, the communications device's current location, and the callback number to a person public safety telecommunicator answering a 911 emergency call.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, subdivision 9a, is amended to read:

Subd. 9a. **Callback number.** "Callback number" means a <u>telephone</u> number <u>or functionally equivalent Internet</u> <u>address or device identification number</u> used by the public safety answering point to <u>recontact</u> <u>contact</u> the <u>location</u> <u>device</u> from which the 911 call was placed. Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 10a. Cost recovery. "Cost recovery" means costs incurred by commissioner-approved originating service providers specifically for the purpose of providing access to the 911 network for their subscribers or maintenance of 911 customer databases. These costs may be reimbursed to the requesting originating service provider. Recoverable costs include only those costs that the requesting provider would avoid if the provider were not providing access to the 911 customer databases.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

<u>Subd. 10b.</u> <u>Cybersecurity.</u> "Cybersecurity" means the prevention of damage to, unauthorized use of, exploitation of, and if needed, the restoration of, electronic information and communications systems and services and the information contained therein to ensure confidentiality, integrity, and availability.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 10c. Emergency communications network service provider (ECNSP). "Emergency communications network service provider" or "ECNSP" means a service provider, determined by the commissioner to be capable of providing effective and efficient components of the 911 network or its management that provides or manages all or portions of the statewide 911 emergency communications network. The ECNSP is the entity or entities that the state contracts with to provide facilities and services associated with operating and maintaining the Minnesota statewide 911 network.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, subdivision 11b, is amended to read:

Subd. 11b. **Emergency response location.** "Emergency response location" means a location to which a 911 emergency response team services may be dispatched. The location must be specific enough to provide a reasonable opportunity for the emergency response team to locate a caller to be located anywhere within it.

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

<u>Subd. 11c.</u> <u>Emergency services.</u> <u>"Emergency services" includes but is not limited to firefighting, police, ambulance, medical, or other mobile services dispatched, monitored, or controlled by a public safety answering point.</u>

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

<u>Subd. 11d.</u> Emergency Services Internet (ESInet). "Emergency Services Internet" or "ESInet" means an Internet protocol-based and multipurpose network supporting local, regional, and national public safety communications services in addition to 911 services. The ESInet is comprised of three network components, including ingress network, next generation core services, and egress network.

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 12a. End user equipment. "End user equipment" means any device held or operated by an employee of a public safety agency, except for public safety telecommunicators, for the purpose of receiving voice or data communications outside of a public safety answering point. This includes but is not limited to mobile radios, portable radios, pagers, mobile computers, tablets, and cellular telephones.

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 13a. <u>Geographical Information System (GIS).</u> "Geographical Information System" or "GIS" means a system for capturing, storing, displaying, analyzing, and managing data and associated attributes that are spatially referenced.

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 14a. <u>Internet protocol (IP).</u> "Internet protocol" or "IP" means the method by which data are sent from one computer to another on the Internet or other networks.

Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, subdivision 16a, is amended to read:

Subd. 16a. **Multiline telephone system** (<u>MLTS</u>). "Multiline telephone system" or "<u>MLTS</u>" means a private telephone system comprised of common control units, telephones, and telephone sets, control hardware and, software that share a common interface to the public switched telephone network, and adjunct systems used to support the capabilities outlined in this chapter. This includes network and premises-based systems such as Centrex, VoIP, PBX, Hybrid, and Key Telephone Systems, as classified by the Federal Communications Commission requirements under Code of Federal Regulations, title 47, part 68, and systems owned or leased by governmental agencies and, nonprofit entities, as well as and for-profit businesses.

Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 16c. Next generation core services (NGCS). "Next generation core services" or "NGCS" means the base set of services needed to process a 911 call on an ESInet. These services include but are not limited to the Emergency Services Routing Proxy, Emergency Call Routing Function, Location Validation Function, Border Control Function, Bridge, Policy Store, Logging Services, and typical IP services such as DNS and DHCP. Next generation core services includes only the services and not the network on which they operate.

Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 16d. Next generation 911 (NG911). "Next generation 911" or "NG911" means an Internet protocol-based system comprised of managed Emergency Services IP networks, functional elements and applications, and databases that replicate the traditional E911 features and functions and that also provides additional capabilities based on industry standards. NG911 is designed to provide access to emergency services from all connected communications services and provide multimedia data capabilities for public safety answering points and other emergency services organizations.

Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 16e. <u>911 call.</u> "911 call" means any form of communication requesting any type of emergency services by contacting a public safety answering point, including voice or nonvoice communications, as well as transmission of any analog or digital data. 911 call includes a voice call, video call, text message, or data-only call.

Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 16f. 911 network. "911 network" means:

(1) a legacy telecommunications network that supports basic and enhanced 911 service; or

6200

## FRIDAY, APRIL 21, 2023

(2) the ESInet that is used for 911 calls that can be shared by all public safety answering points and that provides the IP transport infrastructure upon which independent public safety application platforms and core functional processes can be deployed, including but not limited to those necessary for providing next generation 911 service capability.

A network may be constructed from a mix of dedicated and shared facilities and may be interconnected at local, regional, state, national, and international levels.

Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 16g. **911 system.** "911 system" means a coordinated system of technologies, networks, hardware, and software applications that a public safety answering point must procure and maintain in order to connect to the state 911 network and provide 911 services.

Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 16h. Originating service provider (OSP). "Originating service provider" or "OSP" means an entity that provides the capability for customers to originate 911 calls to public safety answering points, including wire-line communications service providers, Voice over Internet Protocol service providers, and wireless communications service providers.

Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, subdivision 17, is amended to read:

Subd. 17. **911 service.** "911 service" means a telecommunications service that automatically connects a person dialing the digits 911 to an established public safety answering point. 911 service includes: the emergency response service a public safety answering point provides as a result of processing 911 calls through its 911 system.

(1) customer data and network components connecting to the common 911 network and database;

(2) common 911 network and database equipment, as appropriate, for automatically selectively routing 911 calls to the public safety answering point serving the caller's jurisdiction; and

(3) provision of automatic location identification if the public safety answering point has the capability of providing that service.

Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, subdivision 17c, is amended to read:

Subd. 17c. **911** <u>Public safety</u> telecommunicator. "911 <u>Public safety</u> telecommunicator" means a person employed by a public safety answering point, an emergency medical dispatch service provider, or both, who is qualified to answer incoming emergency telephone calls, text messages, and computer notifications or provide for the appropriate emergency response either directly or through communication with the appropriate public safety answering point.

Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 17e. <u>Point of interconnection (POI).</u> "Point of interconnection" or "POI" means the location or locations within the 911 network where OSPs deliver 911 calls on behalf of their users or subscribers for delivery to the appropriate public service answering point.

Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, subdivision 18, is amended to read:

Subd. 18. **Public safety agency.** "Public safety agency" means a functional division of a public agency which provides firefighting, police, medical, or other emergency services, or a private entity which provides emergency medical or ambulance services an agency that provides emergency services to the public.

Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, subdivision 19, is amended to read:

Subd. 19. **Public safety answering point** (PSAP). "Public safety answering point" or "PSAP" means a governmental agency operating a 24-hour communications facility operated on a 24 hour basis which that first receives 911 and other emergency calls from persons in a 911 service area and which may, as appropriate, central station notifications, text messages, and computer notifications and directly dispatch public safety dispatches emergency response services or extend, transfer, or relay 911 calls relays communications to appropriate public safety agencies according to a specific operational policy.

Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, subdivision 19a, is amended to read:

Subd. 19a. Secondary public safety answering point. "Secondary public safety answering point" means a communications facility that: (1) is operated on a 24 hour basis, in which a minimum of three public safety answering points (PSAPs) route calls for postdispatch or prearrival instructions; (2) receives calls directly from medical facilities to reduce call volume at the PSAPs; and (3) is able to receive 911 calls routed to it from a PSAP when the PSAP is unable to receive or answer 911 calls receives calls transferred from a public safety answering point and is connected to the 911 network.

Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 19c. Public Utilities Commission (PUC). "Public Utilities Commission" or "PUC" means the Minnesota state commission defined in section 216A.03.

Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 19d. <u>Regional board.</u> "Regional board" means one of the seven emergency services and emergency communications boards in this state.

Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 19e. Service user. "Service user" means any person who initiates a 911 call to receive emergency services.

Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 19f. Voice over Internet Protocol (VoIP) service provider. "Voice over Internet Protocol service provider" or "VoIP service provider" means an entity that provides distinct packetized voice information in a digital format using the Internet protocol directly or through a third party, marketed or sold as either a telephone service or an information service interconnected with the PSTN, including both facilities-based service providers and resellers of such services.

Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, subdivision 20, is amended to read:

Subd. 20. Wire-line telecommunications communications service provider. "Wire-line telecommunications communications service provider" means a person, firm, association, corporation, or other legal entity, however organized, or combination of them, authorized by state or federal regulatory agencies to furnish telecommunications communications service, including local service, over wire-line facilities.

Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, subdivision 20a, is amended to read:

Subd. 20a. Wireless telecommunications <u>communications</u> service. "Wireless telecommunications <u>communications</u> service" means a commercial mobile radio service, as that term is defined in Code of Federal Regulations, title 47, section 20.3, including all broadband personal communication services, wireless radio telephone services, and geographic area specialized mobile radio licensees, that offer real-time, two-way voice service interconnected with the public switched telephone network.

Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, subdivision 21, is amended to read:

Subd. 21. Wireless telecommunications <u>communications</u> service provider. "Wireless telecommunications <u>communications</u> service provider" means a provider of wireless telecommunications <u>communications</u> service.

Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.025, is amended to read:

# 403.025 911 EMERGENCY TELECOMMUNICATIONS <u>COMMUNICATIONS</u> SYSTEM <u>AND</u> <u>SERVICES</u> REQUIRED.

Subdivision 1. General requirement. Each county shall operate and maintain a 911 emergency telecommunications system.

Subd. 1a. **Emergency telephone number 911.** The digits 911, so designated by the Federal Communications Commission, must be the primary emergency telephone number within the system <u>911 network</u>. A public safety agency may maintain a separate secondary backup number for emergency calls and shall <u>must</u> maintain a separate number for nonemergency telephone calls.

Subd. 1b. State requirements. The commissioner must establish, maintain, and make available to all counties a statewide interoperable ESInet backbone 911 network that ensures interoperability between all public safety answering points connected to the network and meets the requirements of counties operating 911 systems that have an approved update to their 911 plans.

Subd. 1c. <u>Contractual requirements.</u> (a) The commissioner must contract with one or more ECNSPs to deliver the 911 network.

(b) The contract language or subsequent amendments to the contracts between the parties must contain provisions on how the 911 call routing and location validation data provided by the counties will be utilized by the ECNSPs, including how data coordination and quality assurance with the counties will be conducted.

(c) The contract language or subsequent amendments to contracts between the parties must contain provisions for resolving disputes.

(d) All data required under this chapter or Minnesota Rules, chapter 7580, to route 911 calls, provide caller location, or validate possible 911 caller location information that is utilized or intended to be utilized by the 911 system must be provided by the counties and the state without cost and may be utilized by ECNSPs and OSPs for purposes of performing location data quality assurance, ensuring 911 system performance and statutory compliance. Use of the data is governed by section 403.07 and Minnesota Rules, chapter 7580.

Subd. 1d. Intergovernmental agreements. Intergovernmental agreements may be implemented between the commissioner and counties or regional boards to support 911 system plan changes, communicate the network design, and specify cybersecurity standards. The commissioner must develop the master agreement in collaboration with the governmental entity.

Subd. 1e. <u>County requirements.</u> (a) Each county must operate and maintain a 911 system and provide 911 services.

(b) Each county is responsible for creating and maintaining a master street address guide and Geographical Information Systems data necessary to support accurate 911 call routing and location validation required to support the 911 network.

Subd. 1f. **911 plans.** Each participating county, federal, Tribal, or other organization must maintain and update a 911 plan that accurately documents current operations and 911 system configurations within the public safety answering point in accordance with Minnesota Rules, chapter 7580. The commissioner must review 911 system plans for compliance with 911 network and cybersecurity standards required under Minnesota Rules, chapter 7580.

Subd. 1g. Secondary public safety answering point requirements. Secondary public safety answering points may be required to engage in agreements with the commissioner regarding network design standards, cybersecurity standards, and 911 fee audits.

Subd. 2. **Multijurisdictional system.** The <u>911 network, 911 services, and</u> 911 systems may be multijurisdictional and regional in character provided that design and implementation are preceded by cooperative planning on a county-by-county basis with local public safety agencies. <u>An intergovernmental agreement must be in place between the participating government entities in a multijurisdictional or regional system, and the commissioner must be notified of the 911 plan change in accordance with Minnesota Rules, chapter 7580.</u>

Subd. 3. Connected telecommunications originating service provider requirements. Every owner and operator of a wire line or wireless circuit switched or packet based telecommunications system connected to the public switched telephone network shall design and maintain the system to dial the 911 number without charge to the caller. Every OSP must allow Minnesota customers to access 911 without charge and deliver the request for emergency assistance to the 911 network at a state-designated POI and provide caller location information unless there are circumstances beyond the control of the provider to define a valid caller address, geographic location, and primary place of address.

Subd. 3a. Originating service provider contractual requirements. (a) The state may contract with the appropriate wire-line telecommunications service providers or other entities determined by the commissioner to be eligible for cost recovery for providing access to the 911 network for their subscribers.

(b) The contract language or subsequent amendments to the contract must include a description of the costs that are being reimbursed. The contract language or subsequent amendments must include the terms of compensation based on the effective tariff or price list filed with the Public Utilities Commission or the prices agreed to by the parties.

(c) The contract language or subsequent amendments to contracts between the parties must contain a provision for resolving disputes.

Subd. 4. Wireless requirements. Every owner and operator of a wireless telecommunications system shall design and maintain the system to dial the 911 number without charge to the caller.

Subd. 5. **Pay phone requirements.** Every pay phone owner and operator shall <u>must</u> permit dialing of the 911 number without coin and without charge to the caller.

Subd. 6. **Multistation or PBX system.** Every owner and operator of a multistation or private branch exchange (PBX) multiline telephone system shall <u>must</u> design and maintain the system to dial the 911 number without charge to the caller.

#### FRIDAY, APRIL 21, 2023

Subd. 7. Contractual requirements. (a) The state shall contract with the county or other governmental agencies operating public safety answering points and with the appropriate wire-line telecommunications service providers or other entities determined by the commissioner to be capable of providing effective and efficient components of the 911 system for the operation, maintenance, enhancement, and expansion of the 911 system.

(b) The contract language or subsequent amendments to the contract must include a description of the services to be furnished to the county or other governmental agencies operating public safety answering points. The contract language or subsequent amendments must include the terms of compensation based on the effective tariff or price list filed with the Public Utilities Commission or the prices agreed to by the parties.

(c) The contract language or subsequent amendments to contracts between the parties must contain a provision for resolving disputes.

Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.03, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. **Telephone cardiopulmonary resuscitation program.** (a) On or before July 1, 2021, Every public safety answering point must maintain a telephone cardiopulmonary resuscitation program by either:

(1) providing each 911 telecommunicator with training in cardiopulmonary resuscitation; or

(2) transferring callers to another public safety answering point with 911 telecommunicators that have received training in cardiopulmonary resuscitation.

(b) Training in cardiopulmonary resuscitation must, at a minimum, include:

(1) use of an evidence-based protocol or script for providing cardiopulmonary resuscitation instruction that has been recommended by an academic institution or a nationally recognized organization specializing in medical dispatch and, if the public safety answering point has a medical director, approved by that medical director; and

(2) appropriate continuing education, as determined by the evidence-based protocol for providing cardiopulmonary resuscitation instruction and, if the public safety answering point has a medical director, approved by that medical director.

(c) A public safety answering point that transfers callers to another public safety answering point must, at a minimum:

(1) use an evidence-based protocol for the identification of a person in need of cardiopulmonary resuscitation;

(2) provide each 911 telecommunicator with appropriate training and continuing education to identify a person in need of cardiopulmonary resuscitation through the use of an evidence-based protocol; and

(3) ensure that any public safety answering point to which calls are transferred uses 911 telecommunicators who meet the training requirements under paragraph (b).

(d) Each public safety answering point shall conduct ongoing quality assurance of its telephone cardiopulmonary resuscitation program.

Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.05, is amended to read:

### 403.05 911 SYSTEM NETWORK OPERATION AND MAINTENANCE.

Subdivision 1. **Operate and maintain.** Each county or any other governmental agency shall <u>The commissioner</u> <u>must</u> operate and maintain its <u>a statewide</u> 911 system to meet <u>network meeting</u> the requirements of governmental agencies whose services are available through the 911 system and to permit future expansion or enhancement of the

system. set forth by the commissioner through rules established under chapter 14, including but not limited to network and data performance measures, diversity, redundancy, interoperability, and cybersecurity. Each county, federal, Tribal, or other organization connected to the statewide 911 network must operate and maintain a 911 system that meets the requirements of governmental agencies whose services are available through the 911 network.

Subd. 1a. GIS validation and aggregation. The commissioner must provide geospatial data validation and aggregation tools that counties need in order to share the GIS data required for the 911 network.

Subd. 2. Rule requirements for 911 system plans. Each county or any other governmental agency shall maintain and update its 911 system plans as required under Minnesota Rules, chapter 7580.

Subd. 2a. <u>Responsibilities of PSAPs.</u> (a) Each PSAP connecting to the statewide 911 network must comply with state and, where applicable, regional 911 plans. Federal, Tribal, or other governmental organizations operating their own 911 systems must be approved by the commissioner.

(b) Any PSAP not connected to the state 911 network that desires to interact with a 911 system or has an agreement for shared 911 services must be interoperable with the state 911 network.

Subd. 3. Agreements for service. Each county or any other governmental agency shall contract with the state for the recurring and nonrecurring costs associated with operating and maintaining 911 emergency communications systems. If requested by the county or other governmental agency, the county or agency is entitled to be a party to any contract between the state and any wire line telecommunications service provider or 911 emergency telecommunications service provider providing components of the 911 system within the county. The state must contract for facilities and services associated with the operation and maintenance of the statewide 911 network and ESInet. The contract and any subsequent amendments must include a description of the services to be provided and the terms of compensation based on the prices agreed to by the parties.

Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.06, is amended to read:

## 403.06 COMMISSIONER'S DUTIES.

Subdivision 1. System coordination, improvements, variations, and agreements. The commissioner shall <u>may</u> coordinate <u>with counties on</u> the <u>management and</u> maintenance of <u>their</u> 911 systems. <u>If requested</u>, the commissioner shall <u>must</u> aid counties in the formulation of concepts, methods, their public safety answering point plans, system design plans, performance and operational requirements, and procedures which will improve the operation and maintenance of <u>their</u> 911 systems. The commissioner shall establish procedures for determining and evaluating requests for variations from the established design standards. The commissioner shall respond to requests by wireless or wire line telecommunications service providers or by counties or other governmental agencies for system agreements, contracts, and tariff language promptly and no later than within 45 days of the request unless otherwise mutually agreed to by the parties.

Subd. 1a. **Biennial budget; annual financial report.** The commissioner shall <u>must</u> prepare a biennial budget for maintaining the 911 system. by December 15 of each year<sub>5</sub>. The commissioner shall <u>must</u> submit a report to the legislature detailing the expenditures for maintaining the 911 system <u>network</u>, the 911 fees collected, the balance of the 911 fund, the 911-related administrative expenses of the commissioner, and the most recent forecast of revenues and expenditures for the 911 emergency telecommunications service account, including a separate projection of E914 911 fees from prepaid wireless customers and projections of year-end fund balances. The commissioner is authorized to expend money that has been appropriated to pay for the maintenance, enhancements, and expansion of the 911 system <u>network</u>.

Subd. 1b. Connection plan required; commissioner review and enforcement. (a) The commissioner must respond to network and database change requests by OSPs promptly and no later than 45 days after the request unless otherwise mutually agreed to by the parties. All network and location database variances requested by OSPs connecting to the ESInet must comply with Minnesota Rules.

(b) All OSPs must submit and maintain a plan for connection to the 911 network POIs in accordance with the requirements set forth in Minnesota Rules. The commissioner must review all connection plans to ensure compliance with all 911 network and database design and performance requirements.

Subd. 2. **Waiver.** Any county, other governmental agency, wireless telecommunications service provider, or wire line telecommunications service provider federal, Tribal, or other organization connected to the statewide 911 network or OSP may petition the commissioner for a waiver of all or portions of the requirements. A waiver may be granted upon a demonstration by the petitioner that the requirement is economically infeasible.

Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.07, is amended to read:

### 403.07 <u>NETWORK</u> STANDARDS ESTABLISHED; DATA PRIVACY.

Subdivision 1. **Rules.** The commissioner shall <u>must</u> establish and adopt in accordance with chapter 14, rules for the administration of this chapter and for the development of 911 systems <u>network</u> in the state including:

(1) design <u>and performance</u> standards for <u>the</u> 911 systems incorporating the standards adopted pursuant to subdivision 2 for the seven county metropolitan area <u>network</u>, including but not limited to network, routing, and <u>database standards for counties</u>, OSPs, and ECNSPs; and

(2) a procedure for determining and evaluating requests for variations from the established design standards design and performance standards for the ten-county metropolitan area, incorporating the standards adopted pursuant to subdivision 2.

Subd. 2. **Design standards for metropolitan area.** The Metropolitan Emergency Services Board shall <u>must</u> establish and adopt design <u>and performance</u> standards for the <u>metropolitan area 911 system and transmit them to the</u> commissioner for incorporation into the rules adopted pursuant to this section. <u>911 network for the ten-county</u> <u>metropolitan area, including but not limited to network design, routing, and database standards for counties, OSPs, and ECNSPs operating in the ten-county metropolitan area and provide them to the commissioner in accordance with chapter 14 for incorporation into the rules adopted pursuant to this section. The standards must be interoperable with the statewide 911 network and data standards.</u>

Subd. 3. **Database** Location data. In 911 systems that have been approved by the commissioner for a local location identification database, each wire line telecommunications service provider shall provide current customer names, service addresses, and telephone numbers to each public safety answering point within the 911 system and shall update the information according to a schedule prescribed by the county 911 plan. Information provided under this subdivision must be provided in accordance with the transactional record disclosure requirements of the federal Communications Act of 1934, United States Code, title 47, section 222, subsection (g). All OSPs must provide to the 911 network, at the time of each 911 call, the location of the device making the 911 call, unless there are circumstances beyond the control of the provider that prevents the OSP from sharing the location data. Any OSP supplying the location of 911 calls in civic address form must prevalidate the address to location data supplied by the county accessible through the NGCS.

Subd. 3a. Access to data for accuracy. (a) OSPs must, upon request of the state, a region, the ECNSP, or a PSAP, provide a description or copy of subscriber address location information or GIS data used by the OSP that is necessary to verify location and routing accuracy of 911 calls. Any ECNSP routing 911 calls must, upon request of the state, provide a copy of routing files used in determining PSAP selection for the purpose of verifying routing accuracy.

(b) OSPs must, upon request of the state, a region, the ECNSP, or a PSAP, provide a copy of subscriber address location information for uses specific to 911 systems. This request may carry a cost to the requester.

Subd. 3b. **Database standards in metropolitan area.** The Metropolitan Emergency Services Board must establish and adopt 911 database standards for OSPs operating in the ten-county metropolitan area 911 system and provide them to the commissioner for incorporation in accordance with chapter 14 into the rules adopted pursuant to this section.

Subd. 4. Use of furnished information. (a) Names, addresses, and telephone numbers provided to a 911 system under subdivision 3 are private data and may be used only:

(1) to identify the location or identity, or both, of a person calling a 911 public safety answering point <u>PSAP</u>; or

(2) by a public safety answering point <u>PSAP</u> to notify the public of an emergency.

(b) The information furnished under subdivision 3 this chapter and the rules adopted pursuant to subdivision 1 may not be used or disclosed by 911 system agencies, their agents, or their employees for any other purpose except under a court order.

(b) (c) For purposes of this subdivision, "emergency" means a situation in which property or human life is in jeopardy and the prompt notification of the public by the public safety answering point is essential.

Subd. 5. Liability. (a) A wire line telecommunications service provider <u>An OSP</u>, its employees, or its agents are not liable to any person who uses enhanced 911 telecommunications service <u>NG911 services</u> for release of subscriber information required under this chapter to any public safety answering point <u>PSAP</u>.

(b) A wire line telecommunications service provider <u>An OSP</u> is not liable to any person for the good-faith release to emergency communications personnel of information not in the public record, including, but not limited to, nonpublished or nonlisted telephone numbers, except for willful or wanton misconduct.

(c) A wire-line telecommunications service provider, its employees, or its agents are not liable to any person for civil damages resulting from or caused by any act or omission in the development, design, installation, operation, maintenance, performance, or provision of enhanced 911 telecommunications service, except for willful or wanton misconduct.

(d) A multiline telephone system manufacturer, provider, or operator is not liable for any civil damages or penalties as a result of any act or omission, except willful or wanton misconduct, in connection with developing, designing, installing, maintaining, performing, provisioning, adopting, operating, or implementing any plan or system required by section 403.15.

(e) A telecommunications service provider (c) An OSP that participates in or cooperates with the public safety answering point in notifying the public of an emergency, as authorized under subdivision 4, is immune from liability arising out of the notification except for willful or wanton misconduct.

Sec. 37. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.08, is amended to read:

## 403.08 WIRELESS TELECOMMUNICATIONS ORIGINATING SERVICE PROVIDERS.

Subd. 7. Duties. Each wireless telecommunications service provider shall cooperate in planning and implementing integration with enhanced 911 systems operating in their service territories to meet Federal Communications Commission enhanced 911 standards. Each wireless telecommunications service provider shall

annually develop and provide to the commissioner good faith estimates of installation and recurring expenses to integrate wireless 911 service into the enhanced 911 networks to meet Federal Communications Commission phase one wireless enhanced 911 standards. The commissioner shall coordinate with counties and affected public safety agency representatives in developing a statewide design and plan for implementation. Each originating service provider (OSP) must cooperate in planning and implementing integration with the statewide 911 network to meet Federal Communications Commission and Public Utilities Commission 911 requirements, as applicable.

Subd. 9. Scope. Planning considerations must include cost, degree of integration into existing 911 systems, the retention of existing 911 infrastructure, and the potential implications of phase 2 of the Federal Communications Commission wireless enhanced 911 standards a plan to interconnect to the 911 network POIs, the retention and reuse of existing 911 infrastructure, and the implications of the Federal Communications Commission's wireless location accuracy requirements.

Subd. 10. Plan integration. Counties shall incorporate the statewide design when modifying county 911 plans to provide for integrating wireless 911 service into existing county 911 systems. An OSP must annually submit plans to the commissioner detailing how they will connect, or confirming how they already connect, to the statewide 911 network.

Subd. 11. **Liability.** (a) No wireless enhanced 911 emergency telecommunications service provider <u>OSP</u>, its employees, or its agents are liable to any person for civil damages resulting from or caused by any act or omission in the development, design, installation, operation, maintenance, performance, or provision of enhanced 911 wireless service, except for willful or wanton misconduct.

(b) No wireless carrier, its employees, or its agents are liable to any person who uses enhanced 911 wireless service for release of subscriber information required under this chapter to any public safety answering point.

(b) A multiline telephone system manufacturer, provider, or operator is not liable for any civil damages or penalties as a result of any act or omission, except willful or wanton misconduct, in connection with developing, designing, installing, maintaining, performing, provisioning, adopting, operating, or implementing any plan or system required by section 403.15.

Subd. 12. Notification of subscriber. A provider of wireless telecommunications services shall notify its subscribers at the time of initial subscription and four times per year thereafter that a 911 emergency call made from a wireless telephone is not always answered by a local public safety answering point but may be routed to a State Patrol dispatcher and that, accordingly, the caller must provide specific information regarding the caller's location.

Sec. 38. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.09, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. **Commission authority.** At the request of the public utilities commission, the attorney general may commence proceedings before the district court pursuant to section 237.27, against any wire line telecommunications originating service provider that <u>falls under the commission's authority and</u> refuses to comply with this chapter.

Sec. 39. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.10, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Notice to public safety government agency. Public safety Government agencies with jurisdictional responsibilities shall <u>must</u> in all cases be notified by the public safety answering point of a request for service in their jurisdiction.

6210

JOURNAL OF THE HOUSE

Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.10, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Allocating costs. Counties, public agencies, operating public safety answering points, and other local governmental units may enter into cooperative agreements under section 471.59 for the allocation of operational and capital costs attributable to the 911 system and 911 services.

Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.11, is amended to read:

# 403.11 911 SYSTEM COST ACCOUNTING REQUIREMENTS; FEE.

Subdivision 1. Emergency telecommunications service fee; account. (a) Each customer of a wireless or wire line switched or packet based telecommunications an originating service provider connected to the public switched telephone network that furnishes service capable of originating a 911 emergency telephone call is assessed a fee based upon the number of wired or wireless telephone lines, or their equivalent, to provide access to the 911 network and maintenance of the 911 customer database, or when the only option, to cover the costs of ongoing maintenance and related improvements for trunking and central office switching equipment and maintenance of 911 customer databases for 911 emergency telecommunications service, to offset administrative and staffing costs of the commissioner related to managing the 911 emergency telecommunications service program, to make distributions provided for in section 403.113, and to offset the costs, including administrative and staffing costs, incurred by the State Patrol Division of the Department of Public Safety in handling 911 emergency calls made from wireless phones.

(b) Money remaining in the 911 emergency telecommunications service account after all other obligations are paid <u>and defined reserves are met</u> must not cancel and is carried forward to subsequent years and may be appropriated from time to time to the commissioner to provide financial assistance to <del>counties</del> <u>eligible entities</u> for the improvement of <del>local emergency telecommunications services</del> <u>911 systems in compliance with use as designated</u> in section 403.113, subdivision 3.

(c) The fee may not be more than 95 cents a month on or after July 1, 2010, for each customer access line or other basic access service, including trunk equivalents as designated by the Public Utilities Commission for access charge purposes and including wireless telecommunications services. With the approval of the commissioner of management and budget, the commissioner of public safety shall <u>must</u> establish the amount of the fee within the limits specified and inform the companies and carriers of the amount to be collected. When the revenue bonds authorized under section 403.27, subdivision 1, have been fully paid or defeased, the commissioner shall reduce the fee to reflect that debt service on the bonds is no longer needed. The commissioner shall <u>must</u> provide companies and carriers a minimum of 45 days' notice of each fee change. The fee must be the same for all customers, except that the fee imposed under this subdivision does not apply to prepaid wireless telecommunications service, which is instead subject to the fee imposed under section 403.161, subdivision 1, paragraph (a).

(d) The fee must be collected by each wireless or wire line telecommunications originating service provider subject to the fee. Fees are payable to and must be submitted to the commissioner monthly before the 25th of each month following the month of collection, except that fees may be submitted quarterly if less than \$250 a month is due, or annually if less than \$25 a month is due. Receipts must be deposited in the state treasury and credited to a 911 emergency telecommunications service account in the special revenue fund. The money in the account may only be used for 911 telecommunications services. The money in the account may only be used for costs outlined in section 403.113.

(e) Competitive local exchanges carriers holding certificates of authority from the Public Utilities Commission are eligible to receive payment for recurring 911 services.

54TH DAY]

Subd. 1a. Fee collection declaration. If the commissioner disputes the accuracy of a fee submission or if no fees are submitted by a wireless, wire line, or packet based telecommunications service provider, the wireless, wire line, or packet based telecommunications an originating service provider shall, the OSP must submit a sworn declaration signed by an officer of the company certifying, under penalty of perjury, that the information provided with the fee submission is true and correct. The sworn declaration must specifically describe and affirm that the 911 fee computation is complete and accurate. When a wireless, wire line, or packet based telecommunications service provider an OSP fails to provide a sworn declaration within 90 days of notice by the commissioner that the fee submission is disputed, the commissioner may estimate the amount due from the wireless, wire line, or packet based telecommunications service based telecommunications service provider of the fee submission is disputed.

Subd. 1b. **Examination of fees.** If the commissioner determines that an examination is necessary to document the fee submission and sworn declaration in subdivision 1a, the wireless, wire-line, or packet-based telecommunications service provider <u>OSP</u> must contract with an independent certified public accountant to conduct an examination of fees. The examination must be conducted in accordance with attestation audit standards.

Subd. 3. **Method of payment.** (a) Any wireless or wire-line telecommunications service provider incurring reimbursable costs under subdivision 1 shall submit an invoice itemizing rate elements by county or service area to the commissioner for 911 services furnished under contract. Any wireless or wire line telecommunications service provider is eligible to receive payment for 911 services rendered according to the terms and conditions specified in the contract. The commissioner shall pay the invoice within 30 days following receipt of the invoice unless the commissioner notifies the service provider that the commissioner disputes the invoice must be paid in accordance with the amount and terms of their valid cost recovery contract as described in section 403.025, subdivision 3a.

(b) The commissioner shall <u>must</u> estimate the amount required to reimburse 911 emergency telecommunications service providers and wireless and wire line telecommunications service providers the OSP for the state's obligations under subdivision 1 and the governor shall <u>must</u> include the estimated amount in the biennial budget request.

Subd. 3a. **Timely invoices.** An invoice for services provided for in the contract with a wireless or wire line telecommunications service provider must be submitted to the commissioner no later than 90 days after commencing a new or additional eligible 911 service. Each applicable contract must provide that, if certified expenses under the contract deviate from estimates in the contract by more than ten percent, the commissioner may reduce the level of service without incurring any termination fees.

Subd. 3b. **Declaration.** If the commissioner disputes an invoice, the wireless and wire line telecommunications service providers shall submit a declaration under section 16A.41 signed by an officer of the company with the invoices for payment of service described in the service provider's 911 contract. The sworn declaration must specifically describe and affirm that the 911 service contracted for is being provided and the costs invoiced for the service are true and correct. When a wireless or wire line telecommunications service provider fails to provide a sworn declaration within 90 days of notice by the commissioner that the invoice is disputed, the disputed amount of the invoice must be disallowed.

Subd. 3c. Audit. If the commissioner determines that an audit is necessary to document the invoice and sworn declaration in subdivision 3b costs eligible for recovery as detailed in subdivision 1, the wireless or wire line telecommunications service provider OSP must contract with an independent certified public accountant to conduct the audit. The audit must be conducted according to generally accepted accounting principles. The wireless or wire line telecommunications service provider OSP is responsible for any costs associated with the audit.

Subd. 3d. Eligible telecommunications carrier; requirement. No wireless communications provider OSP may provide telecommunications services under a designation of eligible telecommunications carrier, as provided under Minnesota Rules, part 7811.1400, until and unless the commissioner of public safety certifies to the chair of the public utilities commission that the wireless telecommunications provider is not in arrears in amounts owed to the 911 emergency telecommunications service account in the special revenue fund.

6212

Subd. 4. Local recurring costs. Recurring costs of <u>not covered as part of the state 911 network contracts for</u> telecommunications equipment and services at public safety answering points must be borne by the local governmental agency operating the public safety answering point or allocated pursuant to section 403.10, subdivision 3. Costs attributable to local government electives for services not otherwise addressed under section 403.11 or 403.113 must be borne by the governmental agency requesting the elective service.

Subd. 5. **Tariff notification.** Wire-line telecommunications service providers or wireless telecommunications service providers holding eligible telecommunications carrier status shall <u>must</u> give notice to the commissioner and any other affected governmental agency of tariff or price list changes related to 911 service at the same time that the filing is made with the public utilities commission.

Subd. 6. <u>OSP</u> report. (a) Beginning Each September 1, 2013, and continuing semiannually thereafter and <u>March 1</u>, each wireless telecommunications service provider shall <u>OSP must</u> report to the commissioner, based on the mobile subscriber's telephone number, both. Wireless communication providers must include the total number of prepaid wireless telecommunications subscribers sourced to Minnesota and the total number of wireless telecommunications subscribers. The report must be filed on the same schedule as Federal Communications Form 477.

(b) The commissioner shall <u>must</u> make a standard form available to all wireless telecommunications service providers for submitting information required to compile the report required under this subdivision.

(c) The information provided to the commissioner under this subdivision is considered trade secret information under section 13.37 and may only be used for purposes of administering this chapter.

Sec. 42. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.113, is amended to read:

## 403.113 ENHANCED 911 SERVICE COSTS; FEE.

Subdivision 1. Fee. A portion of the fee collected under section 403.11 must be used to fund implementation, operation, maintenance, enhancement, and expansion of enhanced the 911 service network, including acquisition of necessary equipment and the costs of the commissioner to administer the program in accordance with Federal Communications Commission rules.

Subd. 2. **Distribution of money.** (a) After payment of the costs of the commissioner to administer the program, the commissioner shall <u>must</u> distribute the money collected under this section as follows:

(1) one-half of the amount equally to all qualified counties, and after October 1, 1997, to all qualified counties, existing ten public safety answering points operated by the Minnesota State Patrol, and each governmental entity operating the individual public safety answering points serving the Metropolitan Airports Commission, the Red Lake Indian Reservation, and the University of Minnesota Police Department; and

(2) the remaining one-half to qualified counties and cities with existing 911 systems based on each county's or city's percentage of the total population of qualified counties and cities. The population of a qualified city with an existing system must be deducted from its county's population when calculating the county's share under this clause if the city seeks direct distribution of its share.

(b) A county's share under subdivision 1 must be shared pro rata between the county and existing city systems in the county. A county or city or other governmental entity as described in paragraph (a), clause (1), shall <u>must</u> deposit money received under this subdivision in an interest-bearing fund or account separate from the governmental entity's general fund and may use money in the fund or account only for the purposes specified in subdivision 3.

54TH DAY]

# FRIDAY, APRIL 21, 2023

(c) A county or city or other governmental entity as described in paragraph (a), clause (1), is not qualified to share in the distribution of money for <del>enhanced</del> 911 service if it has not implemented enhanced 911 service before December 31, 1998.

(d) For the purposes of this subdivision, "existing city system" means a city 911 system that provides at least basic 911 service and that was implemented on or before April 1, 1993.

Subd. 3. Local expenditures. (a) Money distributed under subdivision 2 for enhanced 911 service systems or services may be spent on enhanced 911 system costs for the purposes stated in subdivision 1. In addition, money may be spent to lease, purchase, lease-purchase, or maintain enhanced 911 equipment, including telephone equipment; recording equipment; computer hardware; computer software for database provisioning, addressing, mapping, and any other software necessary for automatic location identification or local location identification; trunk lines; selective routing equipment; the master street address guide; dispatcher public safety answering point equipment proficiency and operational skills; pay for long distance charges incurred due to transferring 911 calls to other jurisdictions; and the equipment necessary within the public safety answering point for community alert systems and to notify and communicate with the emergency services requested by the 911 caller. as well as expenses deemed allowable in accordance with Code of Federal Regulations, title 47, section 9.2.

(b) Money distributed for enhanced 911 service systems or services may not be spent on:

(1) purchasing or leasing of real estate or cosmetic additions to or remodeling of communications centers <u>public</u> <u>safety answering points;</u>

(2) mobile communications vehicles, fire engines, ambulances, law enforcement vehicles, or other emergency vehicles;

(3) signs, posts, or other markers related to addressing or any costs associated with the installation or maintenance of signs, posts, or markers-:

(4) any purposes prohibited by the Federal Communications Commission;

(5) the transfer of 911 fees into a state or other jurisdiction's general fund or other fund for non-911 purposes;

(6) public safety telecommunicator salaries unless associated with training functions; and

(7) the leasing or purchase of end user equipment.

Subd. 4. Audits. (a) Each county and city or other governmental entity federal, Tribal, or other organization connected to the statewide 911 network as described in subdivision 2, paragraph (a), clause (1), shall or secondary public safety answering point must conduct an annual audit a compliance report in accordance with Minnesota Rules, chapter 7580, and Code of Federal Regulations, title 47, section 9.25, on the use of funds distributed to it for enhanced 911 service systems or services to ensure the distribution is spent according to subdivision 3. A copy of each audit compliance report must be submitted to the commissioner.

(b) The commissioner may request a state audit of a county, federal, Tribal, or other organization connected to the statewide 911 network which receives 911 funds from the state to operate its 911 system or service to ensure compliance with subdivision 3.

(c) Failure to submit a compliance report may result in a disruption of 911 fee distribution until the compliance report is submitted.

JOURNAL OF THE HOUSE

Sec. 43. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.15, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. **Multistation or PBX system.** Except as otherwise provided in this section, every owner and operator of a new multistation or private branch exchange (PBX) multiline telephone system purchased <u>or upgraded</u> after December 31, 2004, <u>shall must</u> design and maintain the system to provide a callback number <u>or ten-digit caller</u> <u>ID</u> and emergency response location.

Sec. 44. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.15, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Multiline telephone system user dialing instructions. (a) Each multiline telephone system (MLTS) operator must demonstrate or otherwise inform each new telephone system user how to call for emergency assistance from that particular multiline telephone system.

(b) MLTS platforms that are manufactured, imported, offered for first sale or lease, first sold or leased, or installed after February 16, 2020, must enable users to directly initiate a call to 911 from any station equipped with dialing facilities without dialing any additional digit, code, prefix, or postfix, including any trunk-access code such as the digit nine, regardless of whether the user is required to dial such a digit, code, prefix, or postfix for other calls.

(c) MLTSs that are manufactured, imported, offered for first sale or lease, first sold or leased, or installed after February 16, 2020, must be configured so that upon an occurrence of a 911 call it will provide a notification that a 911 call has been made to a central location at the facility where the system is installed or to another person or organization, regardless of location, if the system is able to be configured to provide the notification without an improvement to the hardware or software of the system.

Sec. 45. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.15, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Shared residential multiline telephone system. On and after January 1, 2005, operators of shared multiline telephone systems, whenever installed, serving residential customers shall <u>must</u> ensure that the shared multiline telephone system is connected to the public switched network and that 911 calls from the system result in at least one distinctive automatic number identification and automatic location identification for each residential unit, except those requirements do not apply if the residential facility maintains one of the following:

(1) automatic location identification for each respective emergency response location;

(2) the ability to direct emergency responders to the 911 caller's location through an alternative and adequate means, such as the establishment of a 24-hour private answering point <u>operated by the facility</u>; or

(3) a connection to a switchboard operator, attendant, or other designated on-site individual.

Sec. 46. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.15, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. **Hotel or motel multiline telephone system.** Operators of hotel and motel multiline telephone systems shall <u>must</u> permit the dialing of 911 and shall <u>must</u> ensure that 911 calls originating from hotel or motel multiline telephone systems allow the 911 system to clearly identify the address and specific location of the 911 caller.

Sec. 47. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.15, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. **Business multiline telephone system.** (a) An operator of business multiline telephone systems connected to the public switched telephone network and serving business locations of one employer shall <u>must</u> ensure that calls to 911 from any telephone on the system result in one of the following:

(1) automatic location identification for each respective emergency response location;

# FRIDAY, APRIL 21, 2023

(2) an ability to direct emergency responders to the 911 caller's location through an alternative and adequate means, such as the establishment of a 24-hour private answering point <u>operated by the employer</u>; or

(3) a connection to a switchboard operator, attendant, or other designated on-site individual.

(b) Except as provided in paragraph (c), providers of multiline telephone systems serving multiple employers' business locations shall <u>must</u> ensure that calls to 911 from any telephone result in automatic location identification for the respective emergency response location of each business location sharing the system.

(c) Only one emergency response location is required in the following circumstances:

(1) an employer's work space is less than 40,000 square feet, located on a single floor and on a single contiguous property;

(2) an employer's work space is less than 7,000 square feet, located on multiple floors and on a single contiguous property; or

(3) an employer's work space is a single public entrance, single floor facility on a single contiguous property.

Sec. 48. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.15, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. **Schools.** A multiline telephone system operated by a public or private educational institution, including a system serving dormitories and other residential customers, is subject to this subdivision and is not subject to subdivision 3. The operator of the education institution multiline system connected to the public switched network must ensure that calls to 911 from any telephone on the system result in one of the following:

(1) automatic location identification for each respective emergency response location;

(2) an ability to direct emergency responders to the 911 caller's location through an alternative and adequate means, such as the establishment of a 24-hour private answering point <u>operated by the educational institution</u>; or

(3) a connection to a switchboard operator, attendant, or other designated on-site individual.

Sec. 49. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.15, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 9. MLTS location compliance notification. Beginning July 1, 2023, all vendors of MLTSs or hosted MLTS services in Minnesota must disclose to their customers the 911 location requirements in this chapter and include 911 location compliant capabilities in the systems or services they sell.

# Sec. 50. **RENUMBERING.**

In Minnesota Statutes, the revisor of statutes shall renumber the subdivisions of Minnesota Statutes, section 403.02.

## Sec. 51. **<u>REPEALER.</u>**

Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 403.02, subdivision 13; and 403.09, subdivision 3, are repealed.

#### JOURNAL OF THE HOUSE

# ARTICLE 19 COMMUNITY SUPERVISION REFORM

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 243.05, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. **Conditional release.** (a) The commissioner of corrections may parole any person sentenced to confinement in any state correctional facility for adults under the control of the commissioner of corrections, provided that:

(1) no inmate serving a life sentence for committing murder before May 1, 1980, other than murder committed in violation of clause (1) of section 609.185 who has not been previously convicted of a felony shall be paroled without having served 20 years, less the diminution that would have been allowed for good conduct had the sentence been for 20 years;

(2) no inmate serving a life sentence for committing murder before May 1, 1980, who has been previously convicted of a felony or though not previously convicted of a felony is serving a life sentence for murder in the first degree committed in violation of clause (1) of section 609.185 shall be paroled without having served 25 years, less the diminution which would have been allowed for good conduct had the sentence been for 25 years;

(3) any inmate sentenced prior to September 1, 1963, who would be eligible for parole had the inmate been sentenced after September 1, 1963, shall be eligible for parole; and

(4) any new rule or policy or change of rule or policy adopted by the commissioner of corrections which has the effect of postponing eligibility for parole has prospective effect only and applies only with respect to persons committing offenses after the effective date of the new rule or policy or change.

(b) Upon being paroled and released, an inmate is and remains in the legal custody and under the control of the commissioner, subject at any time to be returned to a facility of the Department of Corrections established by law for the confinement or treatment of convicted persons and the parole rescinded by the commissioner.

(c) The written order of the commissioner of corrections, is sufficient authority for any peace officer, state correctional investigator, or state parole and probation agent to retake and place in actual custody any person on parole or supervised release. In addition, when it appears necessary in order to prevent escape or enforce discipline, any state parole and probation agent or state correctional investigator may, without order of warrant, take and detain a parolee or person on supervised release or work release and bring the person to the commissioner for action.

(d) The written order of the commissioner of corrections is sufficient authority for any peace officer, state correctional investigator, or state parole and probation agent to retake and place in actual custody any person on probation under the supervision of the commissioner pursuant to section 609.135. Additionally, when it appears necessary in order to prevent escape or enforce discipline, any state parole and probation agent or state correctional investigator may, without an order, retake and detain a probationer and bring the probationer before the court for further proceedings under section 609.14.

(e) The written order of the commissioner of corrections is sufficient authority for any peace officer, state correctional investigator, or state parole and probation agent to detain any person on pretrial release who absconds from pretrial release or fails to abide by the conditions of pretrial release.

(f) Persons conditionally released, and those on probation under the supervision of the commissioner of corrections pursuant to section 609.135 may be placed within or outside the boundaries of the state at the discretion of the commissioner of corrections or the court, and the limits fixed for these persons may be enlarged or reduced according to their conduct.

## FRIDAY, APRIL 21, 2023

(g) Except as otherwise provided in subdivision 1b, in considering applications for conditional release or discharge, the commissioner is not required to hear oral argument from any attorney or other person not connected with an adult correctional facility of the Department of Corrections in favor of or against the parole or release of any inmates. The commissioner may institute inquiries by correspondence, taking testimony, or otherwise, as to the previous history, physical or mental condition, and character of the inmate and, to that end, has the authority to require the attendance of the chief executive officer of any state adult correctional facility and the production of the records of these facilities, and to compel the attendance of witnesses. The commissioner is authorized to administer oaths to witnesses for these purposes.

(h) Unless the district court directs otherwise, state parole and probation agents may require a person who is under the supervision of the commissioner of corrections to perform community work service for violating a condition of probation imposed by the court. Community work service may be imposed for the purpose of protecting the public, to aid the offender's rehabilitation, or both. Agents may impose up to eight hours of community work service for each violation and up to a total of 24 hours per offender per 12 month period, beginning with the date on which community work service is first imposed. The commissioner may authorize an additional 40 hours of community work services, for a total of 64 hours per offender per 12 month period, beginning with the date on which community work service is first imposed. At the time community work service is imposed, parole and probation agents are required to provide written notice to the offender that states:

(1) the condition of probation that has been violated;

(2) the number of hours of community work service imposed for the violation; and

(3) the total number of hours of community work service imposed to date in the 12 month period.

An offender may challenge the imposition of community work service by filing a petition in district court. An offender must file the petition within five days of receiving written notice that community work service is being imposed. If the offender challenges the imposition of community work service, the state bears the burden of showing, by a preponderance of the evidence, that the imposition of community work service is reasonable under the eircumstances.

Community work service includes sentencing to service.

(i) Prior to revoking a nonviolent controlled substance offender's parole or probation based on a technical violation, when the offender does not present a risk to the public and the offender is amenable to continued supervision in the community, a parole or probation agent must identify community options to address and correct the violation including, but not limited to, inpatient substance use disorder treatment. If a probation or parole agent determines that community options are appropriate, the agent shall seek to restructure the offender's terms of release to incorporate those options. If an offender on probation stipulates in writing to restructure the terms of release, a probation agent must forward a report to the district court containing:

(1) the specific nature of the technical violation of probation;

(2) the recommended restructure to the terms of probation; and

(3) a copy of the offender's signed stipulation indicating that the offender consents to the restructuring of probation.

The recommended restructuring of probation becomes effective when confirmed by a judge. The order of the court shall be proof of such confirmation and amend the terms of the sentence imposed by the court under section 609.135. If a nonviolent controlled substance offender's parole or probation is revoked, the offender's agent must

first attempt to place the offender in a local jail. For purposes of this paragraph, "nonviolent controlled substance offender" is a person who meets the criteria described under section 244.0513, subdivision 2, clauses (1), (2), and (5), and "technical violation" means any violation of a court order of probation or a condition of parole, except an allegation of a subsequent criminal act that is alleged in a formal complaint, citation, or petition.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 244.05, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Sanctions for violation. (a) If an inmate violates the conditions of the inmate's supervised release imposed by the commissioner, the commissioner may:

(1) continue the inmate's supervised release term, with or without:

(i) modifying or enlarging the conditions imposed on the inmate; or

(ii) transferring the inmate's case to a specialized caseload; or

(2) revoke the inmate's supervised release and reimprison the inmate for the appropriate period of time.

(b) Before revoking an inmate's supervised release because of a technical violation that would result in reimprisonment, the commissioner must identify alternative interventions to address and correct the violation only if:

(1) the inmate does not present a risk to the public; and

(2) the inmate is amenable to continued supervision.

(c) If alternative interventions are appropriate and available, the commissioner must restructure the inmate's terms of release to incorporate the alternative interventions.

(d) Prior to revoking a nonviolent controlled substance offender's supervised release based on a technical violation, when the offender does not present a risk to the public and the offender is amenable to continued supervision in the community, the commissioner must identify community options to address and correct the violation including, but not limited to, inpatient substance use disorder treatment. If the commissioner determines that community options are appropriate, the commissioner shall restructure the inmate's terms of release to incorporate those options. If a nonviolent controlled substance offender's supervised release is revoked, the offender's agent must first attempt to place the offender in a local jail. For purposes of this subdivision, "nonviolent controlled substance offender" is a person who meets the criteria described under section 244.0513, subdivision 2, clauses (1), (2), and (5), and "technical violation" means a violation of a condition of supervised release, except an allegation of a subsequent criminal act that is alleged in a formal complaint, citation, or petition.

(e) The period of time for which a supervised release may be revoked may not exceed the period of time remaining in the inmate's sentence, except that if a sex offender is sentenced and conditionally released under Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.108, subdivision 5, the period of time for which conditional release may be revoked may not exceed the balance of the conditional release term.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 244.19, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. **Appointment; joint services; state services.** (a) If a county or group of counties has established a human services board pursuant to chapter 402, the district court may appoint one or more county probation officers as necessary to perform court services, and the human services board shall appoint persons as necessary to provide correctional services within the authority granted in chapter 402. In all counties of more than

# FRIDAY, APRIL 21, 2023

200,000 population, which have not organized pursuant to chapter 402, the district court shall appoint one or more persons of good character to serve as county probation officers during the pleasure of the court. All other counties shall provide adult misdemeanant and juvenile probation services to district courts in one of the following ways:

(1) the court, with the approval of the county boards, may appoint one or more salaried county probation officers to serve during the pleasure of the court;

(2) when two or more counties offer probation services the district court through the county boards may appoint common salaried county probation officers to serve in the several counties;

(3) a county or a district court may request the commissioner of corrections to furnish probation services in accordance with the provisions of this section, and the commissioner of corrections shall furnish such services to any county or court that fails to provide its own probation officer by one of the two procedures listed above;

(4) if a county or district court providing probation services under clause (1) or (2) asks the commissioner of corrections or the legislative body for the state of Minnesota mandates the commissioner of corrections to furnish probation services to the district court, the probation officers and other employees displaced by the changeover shall be employed by the commissioner of corrections. Years of service in the county probation department are to be given full credit for future sick leave and vacation accrual purposes;

(5) all probation officers serving the juvenile courts on July 1, 1972, shall continue to serve for a person who is enrolled or eligible to be enrolled in a Tribal Nation or who resides in an enrolled member's household, a Tribal Nation may elect to provide probation services within the county in which the person resides; and

(6) if a county receiving probation services under clause (3) decides to provide the services under clause (1) or (2), the probation officers and other employees displaced by the changeover shall be employed by the county at no loss of salary. Years of service in the state are to be given full credit for future sick leave and vacation accrual purposes in the county or counties they are now serving.

(b) A county providing probation services under paragraph (a), clause (1) or (2), is designated a "CPO county" for purposes of receiving a subsidy under chapter 401. A county receiving probation services under paragraph (a), clause (3), is not eligible for a subsidy under chapter 401 and the commissioner of corrections is appropriated the county's share of funding for the purpose of providing probation services and authority to seek reimbursement from the county under subdivision 5.

(c) A county that requests the commissioner of corrections to provide probation services under paragraph (a), clause (3), shall collaborate with the commissioner to develop a comprehensive plan as described in section 401.06.

(b) (d) The commissioner of management and budget shall place employees transferred to state service under paragraph (a), clause (4), in the proper classifications in the classified service. Each employee is appointed without examination at no loss in salary or accrued vacation or sick leave benefits, but no additional accrual of vacation or sick leave benefits may occur until the employee's total accrued vacation or sick leave benefits fall below the maximum permitted by the state for the employee's position. An employee appointed under paragraph (a), clause (4), shall serve a probationary period of six months. After exhausting labor contract remedies, a noncertified employee may appeal for a hearing within ten days to the commissioner of management and budget, who may uphold the decision, extend the probation period, or certify the employee. The decision of the commissioner of management and budget is final. The state shall negotiate with the exclusive representative for the bargaining unit to which the employees are transferred regarding their seniority. For purposes of computing seniority among those employee had within that county's probation office.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 244.19, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

# Subd. 1a. Definition. For purposes of this section, "Tribal Nation" means a federally recognized Tribal Nation within the boundaries of the state of Minnesota.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 244.19, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. **Sufficiency of services.** Probation services shall be sufficient in amount to meet the needs of the district court in each county. County probation officers serving district courts in all counties of not more than 200,000 population shall also, pursuant to subdivision 3, provide probation and parole services to wards of the commissioner of corrections resident in their counties. To provide these probation services counties containing a city of 10,000 or more population shall, as far as practicable, have one probation officer for not more than 35,000 population; in counties that do not contain a city of such size, the commissioner of corrections shall, after consultation with the chief judge of the district court and, the county commissioners, or Tribal Nation through an approved plan and, in the light of experience, establish probation districts to be served by one officer.

All probation officers appointed for any district court or <u>community county</u> corrections agency, <u>including Tribal</u> <u>Nations</u>, shall be selected from a list of eligible candidates <u>who have</u>. <u>Those candidates must be</u> minimally qualified according to the same or equivalent examining procedures as used by the commissioner of management and budget to certify <u>eligibles eligibility</u> to the commissioner of corrections in appointing parole agents, and the Department of <u>Management and Budget shall furnish the names of such candidates on request</u>. This subdivision shall not apply to a political subdivision having a civil service or merit system unless the subdivision elects to be covered by this subdivision.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 244.19, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. **Powers and duties.** All county <u>or Tribal Nation</u> probation officers serving a district court shall act under the orders of the court in reference to any person committed to their care by the court, and in the performance of their duties shall have the general powers of a peace officer; and it shall be their duty to make such investigations with regard to any person as may be required by the court before, during, or after the trial or hearing, and to furnish to the court such information and assistance as may be required; to take charge of any person before, during or after trial or hearing when so directed by the court, and to keep such records and to make such reports to the court as the court may order. <u>Tribal Nations providing probation services have the same general powers provided to county probation officers defined within statute or rule.</u>

All county <u>or Tribal Nation</u> probation officers serving a district court shall, in addition, provide probation and parole services to wards of the commissioner of corrections resident in the counties they serve, and shall act under the orders of said commissioner of corrections in reference to any ward committed to their care by the commissioner of corrections.

All probation officers serving a district court shall, under the direction of the authority having power to appoint them, initiate programs for the welfare of persons coming within the jurisdiction of the court to prevent delinquency and crime and to rehabilitate within the community persons who come within the jurisdiction of the court and are properly subject to efforts to accomplish prevention and rehabilitation. They shall, under the direction of the court, cooperate with all law enforcement agencies, schools, child welfare agencies of a public or private character, and other groups concerned with the prevention of crime and delinquency and the rehabilitation of persons convicted of crime and delinquency.

All probation officers serving a district court shall make monthly and annual reports to the commissioner of corrections, on forms furnished by the commissioner, containing such information on number of cases cited to the juvenile division of district court, offenses, adjudications, dispositions, and related matters as may be required by the commissioner of corrections. The reports shall include the information on individuals convicted as an extended jurisdiction juvenile identified in section 241.016, subdivision 1, paragraph (c).

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 244.19, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. Compensation. In counties of more than 200,000 population, a majority of the judges of the district court may direct the payment of such salary to probation officers as may be approved by the county board, and in addition thereto shall be reimbursed for all necessary expenses incurred in the performance of their official duties. In all counties which obtain probation services from the commissioner of corrections the commissioner shall, out of appropriations provided therefor, pay probation officers the salary and all benefits fixed by the state law or applicable bargaining unit and all necessary expenses, including secretarial service, office equipment and supplies, postage, telephone and telegraph services, and travel and subsistence. Each county receiving probation services from the commissioner of corrections shall reimburse the department of corrections for the total cost and expenses of such services as incurred by the commissioner of corrections, excluding the cost and expense of services provided under the state's obligation in section 244.20. Total annual costs for each county shall be that portion of the total costs and expenses for the services of one probation officer represented by the ratio which the county's population bears to the total population served by one officer. For the purposes of this section, the population of any county shall be the most recent estimate made by the Department of Health. At least every six months the commissioner of corrections shall bill for the total cost and expenses incurred by the commissioner on behalf of each county which has received probation services. The commissioner of corrections shall notify each county of the cost and expenses and the county shall pay to the commissioner the amount due for reimbursement. All such reimbursements shall be deposited in the general fund used to provide services for each county according to their reimbursement amount. Objections by a county to all allocation of such cost and expenses shall be presented to and determined by the commissioner of corrections. Each county providing probation services under this section is hereby authorized to use unexpended funds and to levy additional taxes for this purpose.

The county commissioners of any county of not more than 200,000 population shall, when requested to do so by the juvenile judge, provide probation officers with suitable offices, and may provide equipment, and secretarial help needed to render the required services.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 244.195, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. **Definitions.** (a) As used in this subdivision <u>and sections 244.196 to 244.1995</u>, the following terms have the meanings given them.

(b) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of corrections.

(c) "Conditional release" means parole, supervised release, conditional release as authorized by section 609.3455, subdivision 6, 7, or 8; Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.108, subdivision 6; or Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.109, subdivision 7, work release as authorized by sections 241.26, 244.065, and 631.425, probation, furlough, and any other authorized temporary release from a correctional facility.

(d) "Court services director" means the director or designee of a county probation agency that is not organized under section 244.19 or an agency organized under chapter 401.

(e) "Detain" means to take into actual custody, including custody within a local correctional facility.

(f) "Local correctional facility" has the meaning given in section 241.021, subdivision 1.

(g) <u>"Probation agency" means the Department of Corrections field office or a probation agency organized under</u> section 244.19 or chapter 401. (h) "Probation officer" means a court services director, county probation officer, or any other community supervision officer employed by the commissioner or by a probation agency organized under section 244.19 or chapter 401.

(i) "Release" means to release from actual custody.

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 244.195, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. **Detention pending hearing.** When it appears necessary to enforce discipline or to prevent a person on conditional release from escaping or absconding from supervision, a court services director has the authority to issue a written order directing any peace officer or any probation officer in the state serving the district and juvenile courts to detain and bring the person before the court or the commissioner, whichever is appropriate, for disposition. If the person on conditional release commits a violation described in section 609.14, subdivision 1a, paragraph (a), the court services director must have a reasonable belief that the order is necessary to prevent the person from escaping or absconding from supervision or that the continued presence of the person in the community presents a risk to public safety before issuing a written order. This written order is sufficient authority for the peace officer or probation officer to detain the person for not more than 72 hours, excluding Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays, pending a hearing before the court or the commissioner.

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 244.195, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 6. Intermediate sanctions. (a) Unless the district court directs otherwise, a probation officer may require a person committed to the officer's care by the court to perform community work service for violating a condition of probation imposed by the court. Community work service may be imposed for the purpose of protecting the public, aiding the person's rehabilitation, or both. A probation officer may impose up to eight hours of community work service for each violation and up to a total of 24 hours per person per 12-month period, beginning on the date on which community work service is first imposed. The court services director or probation agency may authorize an additional 40 hours of community work service is first imposed. At the time community work service is imposed, probation officers are required to provide written notice to the person that states:

(1) the condition of probation that has been violated;

(2) the number of hours of community work service imposed for the violation; and

(3) the total number of hours of community work service imposed to date in the 12-month period.

(b) A person on supervision may challenge the imposition of community work service by filing a petition in district court within five days of receiving written notice that community work service is being imposed. If the person challenges the imposition of community work service, the state bears the burden of showing, by a preponderance of the evidence, that the imposition of community work service is reasonable under the circumstances.

(c) Community work service includes sentencing to service.

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 244.195, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 7. Contacts. Supervision contacts may be conducted over videoconference technology in accordance with the probation agency's established policy.

Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 244.20, is amended to read:

## 244.20 PROBATION SUPERVISION.

Notwithstanding sections 244.19, subdivision 1, and 609.135, subdivision 1, the Department of Corrections shall have exclusive responsibility for providing probation services for adult felons in counties that do not take part in the Community Corrections Act. In counties that do not take part in the Community Corrections Act, the responsibility for providing probation services for individuals convicted of gross misdemeanor offenses shall be discharged according to local judicial policy.

Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 244.21, is amended to read:

## 244.21 INFORMATION ON OFFENDERS UNDER SUPERVISION; REPORTS.

Subdivision 1. **Collection of information by probation service providers; report required.** By January 1, 1998, probation service providers shall begin collecting and maintaining information on offenders under supervision. The commissioner of corrections shall specify the nature and extent of the information to be collected. By April 1 of every year, each probation service provider shall report a summary of the information collected to the commissioner <u>as a condition of state subsidy funding under chapter 401</u>.

Subd. 2. **Commissioner of corrections report.** By January 15, <u>1998</u> <u>2024</u>, the commissioner of corrections shall report to the chairs <u>and ranking minority members</u> of the <u>senate crime prevention and house of representatives</u> <u>judiciary legislative</u> committees <u>with jurisdiction over public safety policy and finance</u> on recommended methods of coordinating the exchange of information collected on offenders under subdivision 1: (1) between probation service providers; and (2) between probation service providers and the Department of Corrections<del>, without requiring service providers to acquire uniform computer software</del>.

Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 401.01, is amended to read:

## 401.01 PURPOSE AND DEFINITION; ASSISTANCE GRANTS SUBSIDIES.

Subdivision 1. Grants <u>Subsidies</u>. For the purpose of more effectively protecting society and to promote efficiency and economy in the delivery of correctional services, the commissioner is authorized to <u>make grants to</u> assist <u>subsidize</u> counties <u>and Tribal Nations</u> in the development, implementation, and operation of community-based corrections programs including preventive or diversionary correctional programs, conditional release programs, community corrections centers, and facilities for the detention or confinement, care and treatment of persons convicted of crime or adjudicated delinquent. The commissioner may authorize the use of a percentage of a grant for the operation of an emergency shelter or make a separate grant for the rehabilitation of a facility owned by the grantee and used as a shelter to bring the facility into compliance with state and local laws pertaining to health, fire, and safety, and to provide security.

Subd. 2. **Definitions.** (a) For the purposes of sections 401.01 to 401.16, the following terms have the meanings given them.

(b) <u>"CCA county"</u> <u>"CCA jurisdiction"</u> means a county <u>or Tribal Nation</u> that participates in the Community Corrections Act.

(c) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of corrections or a designee.

(d) "Conditional release" means parole, supervised release, conditional release as authorized by section 609.3455, subdivision 6, 7, or 8; Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.108, subdivision 6; or Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.109, subdivision 7, work release as authorized by sections 241.26, 244.065, and 631.425, probation, furlough, and any other authorized temporary release from a correctional facility.

(e) "County probation officer" means a probation officer appointed under section 244.19.

(f) <u>"CPO county" means a county that participates in funding under this act by providing local corrections</u> service for all juveniles and individuals on probation for misdemeanors, pursuant to section 244.19, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (1) or (2).

(g) "Detain" means to take into actual custody, including custody within a local correctional facility.

(g) (h) "Joint board" means the board provided in section 471.59.

(h) (i) "Local correctional facility" has the meaning given in section 241.021, subdivision 1.

(i) (j) "Local correctional service" means those services authorized by and employees, officers, and agents appointed under section 244.19, subdivision 1.

(j) (k) "Release" means to release from actual custody.

(1) "Tribal government" means one of the federally recognized Tribes described in section 3.922.

Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 401.02, is amended to read:

# 401.02 COUNTIES OR REGIONS; SERVICES INCLUDABLE.

Subdivision 1. **Qualification of counties** <u>or Tribal Nations</u>. (a) One or more counties, having an aggregate population of 30,000 or more persons, or Tribal Nations may qualify for a grant as provided in subsidy under section 401.01 by the enactment of appropriate resolutions creating and establishing a corrections advisory board, designating the officer or agency to be responsible for administering grant funds <u>subsidies</u>, and providing for the preparation of a comprehensive plan for the development, implementation and operation of the correctional services described in <u>section sections</u> 401.01 and 401.11, including the assumption of those correctional services, other than the operation of state facilities, presently provided in such counties by the Department of Corrections, <u>or for Tribal Nations</u>, probation services within a Tribal Nation, and providing for centralized administration and control of those correctional services described in section 401.01. <u>Counties participating as a CCA county must also enact the appropriate resolutions creating and establishing a corrections advisory board</u>.

Where counties or Tribal governments combine as authorized in this section, they shall comply with the provisions of section 471.59.

(b) A county that has participated in the Community Corrections Act for five or more years is eligible to continue to participate in the Community Corrections Act.

(c) If a county or Tribal government withdraws from the subsidy program as outlined in subdivision 1 and asks the commissioner of corrections or the legislature mandates the commissioner of corrections to furnish probation services to the county, the probation officers and other employees displaced by the changeover shall be employed by the commissioner of corrections at no loss of salary. Years of service in the county probation department are to be given full credit for future sick leave and vacation accrual purposes.

Subd. 2. **Planning counties; advisory board members expenses.** To assist counties <u>or Tribal Nations</u> which have complied with the provisions of subdivision 1 and require financial aid to defray all or a part of the expenses incurred by corrections advisory board members in discharging their official duties pursuant to section 401.08, the commissioner may designate counties <u>or Tribal Nations</u> as "planning counties", and, upon receipt of resolutions by the governing boards of the counties <u>or Tribal Nations</u> certifying the need for and inability to pay the expenses

described in this subdivision, advance to the counties <u>or Tribal Nations</u> an amount not to exceed five percent of the maximum quarterly subsidy for which the counties <u>or Tribal Nations</u> are eligible. The expenses described in this subdivision shall be paid in the same manner and amount as for state employees.

Subd. 3. Establishment and reorganization of administrative structure. Any county, <u>Tribal Nation</u>, or group of counties which have qualified for participation in the community corrections subsidy program provided by this chapter may establish, organize, and reorganize an administrative structure and provide for the budgeting, staffing, and operation of court services and probation, construction or improvement to juvenile detention and juvenile correctional facilities and adult detention and correctional facilities, and other activities required to conform to the purposes of this chapter. No contrary general or special statute divests any county or group of counties of the authority granted by this subdivision.

Subd. 5. Intermediate sanctions. Unless the district court directs otherwise, county probation officers may require a person committed to the officer's care by the court to perform community work service for violating a condition of probation imposed by the court. Community work service may be imposed for the purpose of protecting the public, to aid the offender's rehabilitation, or both. Probation officers may impose up to eight hours of community work service for each violation and up to a total of 24 hours per offender per 12 month period, beginning on the date on which community work service is first imposed. The chief executive officer of a community corrections agency may authorize an additional 40 hours of community work service is first imposed. At the time community work service is imposed, probation officers are required to provide written notice to the offender that states:

(1) the condition of probation that has been violated;

(2) the number of hours of community work service imposed for the violation; and

(3) the total number of hours of community work service imposed to date in the 12 month period.

An offender may challenge the imposition of community work service by filing a petition in district court. An offender must file the petition within five days of receiving written notice that community work service is being imposed. If the offender challenges the imposition of community work service, the state bears the burden of showing, by a preponderance of the evidence, that the imposition of community work service is reasonable under the circumstances.

Community work service includes sentencing to service.

Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 401.025, is amended to read:

# 401.025 DETENTION AND RELEASE; PROBATIONERS, CONDITIONAL RELEASEES, AND PRETRIAL RELEASEES.

Subdivision 1. Peace officers and probation officers serving CCA counties jurisdictions. (a) When it appears necessary to enforce discipline or to prevent a person on conditional release from escaping or absconding from supervision, the chief executive officer or designee of a community corrections agency in a CCA county jurisdiction has the authority to issue a written order directing any peace officer or any probation officer in the state serving the district and juvenile courts to detain and bring the person before the court or the commissioner, whichever is appropriate, for disposition. If the person on conditional release commits a violation described in section 609.14, subdivision 1a, paragraph (a), the chief executive officer or designee must have a reasonable belief that the order is necessary to prevent the person from escaping or absconding from supervision or that the continued presence of the person in the community presents a risk to public safety before issuing a written order. This written order is sufficient authority for the peace officer or probation officer to detain the person for not more than 72 hours, excluding Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays, pending a hearing before the court or the commissioner.

6226

#### JOURNAL OF THE HOUSE

(b) The chief executive officer or designee of a community corrections agency in a CCA <u>county jurisdiction</u> has the authority to issue a written order directing a peace officer or probation officer serving the district and juvenile courts to release a person detained under paragraph (a) within 72 hours, excluding Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays, without an appearance before the court or the commissioner. This written order is sufficient authority for the peace officer or probation officer to release the detained person.

(c) The chief executive officer or designee of a community corrections agency in a CCA county jurisdiction has the authority to issue a written order directing any peace officer or any probation officer serving the district and juvenile courts to detain any person on court-ordered pretrial release who absconds from pretrial release or fails to abide by the conditions of pretrial release. A written order issued under this paragraph is sufficient authority for the peace officer or probation officer to detain the person.

Subd. 2. **Peace officers and probation officers in other counties and state correctional investigators.** (a) The chief executive officer or designee of a community corrections agency in a CCA <del>county</del> <u>jurisdiction</u> has the authority to issue a written order directing any state correctional investigator or any peace officer, probation officer, or county probation officer from another county to detain a person under sentence or on probation who:

(1) fails to report to serve a sentence at a local correctional facility;

(2) fails to return from furlough or authorized temporary release from a local correctional facility;

- (3) escapes from a local correctional facility; or
- (4) absconds from court-ordered home detention.

(b) The chief executive officer or designee of a community corrections agency in a CCA county jurisdiction has the authority to issue a written order directing any state correctional investigator or any peace officer, probation officer, or county probation officer from another county to detain any person on court-ordered pretrial release who absconds from pretrial release or fails to abide by the conditions of pretrial release.

(c) A written order issued under paragraph (a) or (b) is sufficient authority for the state correctional investigator, peace officer, probation officer, or county probation officer to detain the person.

Subd. 3. **Offenders under Department of Corrections commitment.** CCA <u>counties jurisdictions</u> shall comply with the policies prescribed by the commissioner when providing supervision and other correctional services to persons conditionally released pursuant to sections 241.26, 242.19, 243.05, 243.1605, 244.05, and 244.065, including intercounty transfer of persons on conditional release and the conduct of presentence investigations.

Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 401.04, is amended to read:

# 401.04 ACQUISITION OF PROPERTY; SELECTION OF ADMINISTRATIVE STRUCTURE; EMPLOYEES.

Any county or, group of counties, or Tribal Nation electing to come within the provisions of sections 401.01 to 401.16 may (a) acquire by any lawful means, including purchase, lease or transfer of custodial control, the lands, buildings and equipment necessary and incident to the accomplishment of the purposes of sections 401.01 to 401.16, (b) determine and establish the administrative structure best suited to the efficient administration and delivery of the correctional services described in section 401.01, and (c) employ a director and other officers, employees and agents as deemed necessary to carry out the provisions of sections 401.01 to 401.16. To the extent that participating counties shall assume and take over state and local correctional services presently provided in counties, employment shall be given to those state and local officers, employees and agents thus displaced; if hired by a county,

# FRIDAY, APRIL 21, 2023

employment shall, to the extent possible and notwithstanding the provisions of any other law or ordinance to the contrary, be deemed a transfer in grade with all of the benefits enjoyed by such officer, employee or agent while in the service of the state or local correctional service.

State or local employees displaced by county participation in the subsidy program provided by this chapter are on layoff status and, if not hired by a participating county as provided herein, may exercise their rights under layoff procedures established by law or union agreement whichever is applicable.

State or local officers and employees displaced by a county's participation in the Community Corrections Act and hired by the participating county shall retain all fringe benefits and recall from layoff benefits accrued by seniority and enjoyed by them while in the service of the state.

Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 401.05, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Authorization to use and accept funds. Any county <u>CCA jurisdiction</u> or group of counties electing to come within the provisions of sections 401.01 to 401.16 may, through their governing bodies, use unexpended funds; accept gifts, grants, and subsidies from any lawful source; and apply for and accept federal funds.

Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 401.06, is amended to read:

## 401.06 COMPREHENSIVE PLAN; STANDARDS OF ELIGIBILITY; COMPLIANCE.

Subdivision 1. <u>Commissioner approval required.</u> (a) No county, <u>Tribal Nation</u>, or group of counties <u>or Tribal</u> government or group of <u>Tribal governments</u> electing to provide correctional services <del>pursuant to sections 401.01 to</del> 401.16 shall be <u>under this chapter is</u> eligible for the subsidy herein provided unless and until its comprehensive plan shall have <u>has</u> been approved by the commissioner. <u>A comprehensive plan must comply with</u> commissioner-developed standards and reporting requirements and must sufficiently address community needs and <u>supervision standards</u>.

(b) If the commissioner provides supervision to a county that elects not to provide the supervision, the commissioner must prepare a comprehensive plan for the county and present it to the local county board of commissioners. The Department of Corrections is subject to all the standards and requirements under this chapter and supervision standards and policies.

(c) A comprehensive plan is valid for four years, and a corrections advisory board must review and update the plan two years after the plan has been approved or two years after submitted to the commissioner, whichever is earlier.

(d) All approved comprehensive plans, including updated plans, must be made publicly available on the Department of Corrections website.

<u>Subd. 2.</u> <u>Rulemaking.</u> The commissioner shall <u>must</u>, <u>pursuant to in accordance with</u> the Administrative Procedure Act, <u>promulgate adopt</u> rules establishing standards of eligibility for <u>CCA and CPO</u> counties <u>and Tribal</u> <u>Nations</u> to receive funds under sections 401.01 to 401.16 this chapter.

<u>Subd. 3.</u> <u>Substantial compliance required.</u> (a) To remain eligible for <u>the</u> subsidy <u>counties shall, CCA</u> <u>jurisdictions must</u> maintain substantial compliance with the minimum standards established <u>pursuant</u> <u>according</u> to <u>sections 401.01 to 401.16</u> <u>this chapter</u> and the policies and procedures governing the services <u>described in under</u> section 401.025 as prescribed by the commissioner.

#### JOURNAL OF THE HOUSE

## (b) Counties shall also must:

(1) be in substantial compliance with other correctional operating standards permitted by law and established by the commissioner; and shall

(2) report statistics required by the commissioner, including but not limited to information on individuals convicted as an extended jurisdiction juvenile identified in <u>under</u> section 241.016, subdivision 1, paragraph (c).

<u>Subd. 4.</u> <u>Commissioner review.</u> (a) The commissioner shall <u>must</u> review annually the comprehensive plans submitted by participating <u>counties</u> <u>CCA</u> jurisdictions, including the facilities and programs operated under the plans. The commissioner is hereby authorized to <u>may</u> enter upon any facility operated under the plan, and inspect books and records, for purposes of recommending needed changes or improvements.

When (b) If the commissioner shall determine determines that there are reasonable grounds to believe that a county <u>CCA jurisdiction</u> or group of counties or <u>Tribal government or group of Tribal governments</u> is not in substantial compliance with minimum standards, the commissioner must provide at least 30 days' notice shall be given to the county or counties and <u>CCA jurisdiction of a commissioner-conducted</u> hearing conducted by the commissioner to ascertain whether there is substantial compliance or satisfactory progress being made toward compliance.

Subd. 5. Noncompliance with comprehensive plan. (a) After a hearing, the commissioner may sanction a county or group of counties or Tribal government or group of Tribal governments under this subdivision if the commissioner determined that the agency is not maintaining substantial compliance with minimum standards or that satisfactory progress toward compliance has not been made.

(b) The commissioner may suspend all or a portion of any subsidy until the required standard of operation has been met without issuing a corrective action plan.

(c) The commissioner may issue a corrective action plan, which must:

(1) be in writing;

(2) identify all deficiencies;

(3) detail the corrective action required to remedy the deficiencies; and

(4) provide a deadline to:

(i) correct each deficiency; and

(ii) report to the commissioner progress toward correcting the deficiency.

(d) After the deficiency has been corrected, documentation must be submitted to the commissioner detailing compliance with the corrective action plan. If the commissioner determines that the county or group of counties or Tribal government or group of Tribal governments has not complied with the plan, the commissioner may suspend all or a portion of the subsidy.

Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 401.08, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Appointment; terms. The members of the corrections advisory board shall be appointed by the board of county commissioners <del>or</del>, the joint board in the case of multiple counties, or a Tribal Nation and shall serve for terms of two years from and after the date of their appointment, and shall remain in office until their successors are duly appointed. The board may elect its own officers.

54TH DAY]

FRIDAY, APRIL 21, 2023

Subd. 4. **Comprehensive plan.** The corrections advisory board provided in sections 401.01 to 401.16, shall actively participate in the formulation of the comprehensive plan for the development, implementation, and operation of the correctional program and services described in section 401.01, and shall make a formal recommendation to the county board, <u>Tribal government</u>, or joint board at least annually concerning the comprehensive plan and its implementation during the ensuing year.

Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 401.09, is amended to read:

### 401.09 OTHER SUBSIDY PROGRAMS; PURCHASE OF STATE SERVICES.

Failure of a county <u>CCA</u> jurisdiction or group of counties to elect to come within the provisions of sections 401.01 to 401.16 shall not affect their eligibility for any other state <u>grant or</u> subsidy for correctional purposes otherwise provided by law. Any comprehensive plan submitted pursuant to sections 401.01 to 401.16 may include the purchase of selected correctional services from the state by contract, including the temporary detention and confinement of persons convicted of crime or adjudicated delinquent; confinement to be in an appropriate state facility as otherwise provided by law. The commissioner shall annually determine the costs of the purchase of services under this section and deduct them from the subsidy due and payable to the county or counties concerned; provided that no contract shall exceed in cost the amount of subsidy to which the participating county or counties are eligible.

Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 401.10, is amended to read:

## 401.10 COMMUNITY CORRECTIONS AID.

Subdivision 1. Aid calculations Funding formula. To determine the community corrections aid amount to be paid to each participating county, the commissioner of corrections must apply the following formula:

(1) For each of the 87 counties in the state, a percent score must be calculated for each of the following five factors:

(i) percent of the total state population aged ten to 24 residing within the county according to the most recent federal census, and, in the intervening years between the taking of the federal census, according to the most recent estimate of the state demographer;

(ii) percent of the statewide total number of felony case filings occurring within the county, as determined by the state court administrator;

(iii) percent of the statewide total number of juvenile case filings occurring within the county, as determined by the state court administrator;

(iv) percent of the statewide total number of gross misdemeanor case filings occurring within the county, as determined by the state court administrator; and

(v) percent of the total statewide number of convicted felony offenders who did not receive an executed prison sentence, as monitored and reported by the Sentencing Guidelines Commission.

The percents in items (ii) to (v) must be calculated by combining the most recent three year period of available data. The percents in items (i) to (v) each must sum to 100 percent across the 87 counties.

JOURNAL OF THE HOUSE

(2) For each of the 87 counties, the county's percents in clause (1), items (i) to (v), must be weighted, summed, and divided by the sum of the weights to yield an average percent for each county, referred to as the county's "composite need percent." When performing this calculation, the weight for each of the percents in clause (1), items (i) to (v), is 1.0. The composite need percent must sum to 100 percent across the 87 counties.

(3) For each of the 87 counties, the county's "adjusted net tax capacity percent" is the county's adjusted net tax capacity amount, defined in the same manner as it is defined for cities in section 477A.011, subdivision 20, divided by the statewide total adjusted net tax capacity amount. The adjusted net tax capacity percent must sum to 100 percent across the 87 counties.

(4) For each of the 87 counties, the county's composite need percent must be divided by the county's adjusted net tax capacity percent to produce a ratio that, when multiplied by the county's composite need percent, results in the county's "tax base adjusted need percent."

(5) For each of the 87 counties, the county's tax base adjusted need percent must be added to twice the composite need percent, and the sum must be divided by 3, to yield the county's "weighted need percent."

(6) Each participating county's weighted need percent must be added to the weighted need percent of each other participating county to yield the "total weighted need percent for participating counties."

(7) Each participating county's weighted need percent must be divided by the total weighted need percent for participating counties to yield the county's "share percent." The share percents for participating counties must sum to 100 percent.

(8) Each participating county's "base funding amount" is the aid amount that the county received under this section for fiscal year 1995 plus the amount received in caseload or workload reduction, felony caseload reduction, and sex offender supervision grants in fiscal year 2015, as reported by the commissioner of corrections. In fiscal year 1997 and thereafter, no county's aid amount under this section may be less than its base funding amount, provided that the total amount appropriated for this purpose is at least as much as the aggregate base funding amount defined in clause (9).

(9) The "aggregate base funding amount" is equal to the sum of the base funding amounts for all participating counties. If a county that participated under this section chooses not to participate in any given year, then the aggregate base funding amount must be reduced by that county's base funding amount. If a county that did not participate under this section in fiscal year 1995 chooses to participate on or after July 1, 2015, then the aggregate base funding amount must be increased by the amount of aid that the county would have received had it participated in fiscal year 1995 plus the estimated amount it would have received in caseload or workload reduction, felony caseload reduction, and sex offender supervision grants in fiscal year 2015, as reported by the commissioner of corrections, and the amount of increase shall be that county's base funding amount.

(10) In any given year, the total amount appropriated for this purpose first must be allocated to participating counties in accordance with each county's base funding amount. Then, any remaining amount in excess of the aggregate base funding amount must be allocated to participating counties in proportion to each county's share percent, and is referred to as the county's "formula amount."

Each participating county's "community corrections aid amount" equals the sum of (i) the county's base funding amount, and (ii) the county's formula amount.

(11) However, if in any year the total amount appropriated for the purpose of this section is less than the aggregate base funding amount, then each participating county's community corrections aid amount is the product of (i) the county's base funding amount multiplied by (ii) the ratio of the total amount appropriated to the aggregate base funding amount.

6230

54TH DAY]

FRIDAY, APRIL 21, 2023

For each participating county, the county's community corrections aid amount calculated in this subdivision is the total amount of subsidy to which the county is entitled under sections 401.01 to 401.16.

(a) Beginning in fiscal year 2024, the subsidy paid to each county and Tribal government and the commissioner of corrections for supervision in counties or Tribal jurisdictions served by the department shall equal the sum of:

(1) a base funding amount equal to \$200,000, plus:

(i) ten percent of the total for all appropriations to the commissioner for community supervision and postrelease services during the fiscal year prior to the fiscal year for which the subsidy will be paid multiplied by the county's or Tribe's percent share of the state's total population as determined by the most recent census; and

(ii) ten percent of the total for all appropriations to the commissioner for community supervision and postrelease services during the fiscal year prior to the fiscal year for which the subsidy will be paid multiplied by the county's or Tribe's percent share of the state's total geographic area; and

(2) a community supervision formula equal to the sum of:

(i) for felony cases, a felony per diem rate of \$5.33 multiplied by the sum of the county's adult felony population, adult supervised release and parole populations, and juvenile supervised release and parole populations as reported in the most recent probation survey published by the commissioner, multiplied by 365, and

(ii) for gross misdemeanor, misdemeanor, and juvenile probation cases, the felony per diem rate used in item (i) multiplied by 0.5 and then multiplied by the sum of the county's gross misdemeanor, misdemeanor, and juvenile populations as reported in the most recent probation survey published by the commissioner, multiplied by 365.

(b) Each participating county's community corrections aid amount equals the sum of (1) the county's base funding amount, and (2) the county's formula amount.

(c) If in any year the total amount appropriated for the purpose of this section is more than or less than the total of base funding plus community supervision formula funding for all counties, the sum of each county's base funding plus community supervision formula funding shall be adjusted by the ratio of amounts appropriated for this purpose divided by the total of base funding plus community supervision formula funding for all counties.

(d) For each Tribal Nation, a base funding amount of \$250,000 is allotted annually through legislative appropriation to each Tribal Nation to purchase probation services regardless of participation in a CCA jurisdiction. An additional formula amount through legislative appropriation must be developed and approved by the commissioner for equitable distribution for Tribal Nations under a CCA jurisdiction.

Subd. 2. **Transfer of funds.** Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, the commissioner of corrections, after notifying the committees on finance of the senate and ways and means of the house of representatives, may, at the end of any fiscal year, transfer any unobligated funds, including funds available due the withdrawal of a county under section 401.16, in any appropriation to the Department of Corrections to the appropriation under sections 401.01 to 401.16, which appropriation shall not cancel but is reappropriated for the purposes of sections 401.01 to 401.16.

Subd. 3. Formula review. Prior to January 16, 2002, the committees with jurisdiction over community corrections funding decisions in the house of representatives and the senate, in consultation with the Department of Corrections and any interested county organizations, must review the formula in subdivision 1 and make recommendations to the legislature for its continuation, modification, replacement, or discontinuation. For fiscal year 2025 and subsequent fiscal years, the commissioner shall make a funding recommendation based upon the commissioner's workload study and the caseload data collected by the commissioner.

Subd. 4. <u>Report; supervision fees.</u> (a) The commissioner must collect annual summary expenditure data and funding from each community supervision provider in the state.

(b) On January 15, 2025, and every year thereafter, the commissioner must submit a report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over public safety finance and policy on the data collected under paragraph (a). The report may be made in conjunction with reporting under section 244.21.

Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 401.11, is amended to read:

## 401.11 COMPREHENSIVE PLAN ITEMS; GRANT REVIEW.

<u>Subdivision 1.</u> <u>Items.</u> The comprehensive plan submitted to the commissioner for approval shall <u>must</u> include those items prescribed by <u>rule policy</u> of the commissioner, which may require the inclusion of the following including but not limited to:

(a) (1) the manner in which presentence and postsentence investigations and reports for the district courts and social history reports for the juvenile courts will be made;

(b) (2) the manner in which conditional release services to the courts and persons under jurisdiction of the commissioner of corrections will be provided;

(c) (3) a program for the detention, supervision, and treatment of detaining, supervising, and treating persons under pretrial detention or under commitment;

(d) (4) delivery of other local correctional services defined in section 401.01;

(e) (5) proposals for new programs, which proposals must demonstrate a need for the program, its and the program's purpose, objective, administrative structure, staffing pattern, staff training, financing, evaluation process, degree of community involvement, client participation, and duration of program: and

(6) outcome and output data, expenditures, and costs.

<u>Subd. 2.</u> <u>Review.</u> In addition to the foregoing requirements made by this section, Each participating <u>CCA</u> county or group of counties shall <u>must</u> develop and implement a procedure for the review of grant reviewing subsidy applications made to the corrections advisory board and for the manner in which corrections advisory board action will be taken on them the applications. A description of this the procedure must be made available to members of the public upon request.

Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 401.12, is amended to read:

# 401.12 CONTINUATION OF CURRENT SPENDING LEVEL BY COUNTIES.

Participating counties <u>or Tribal Nations</u> shall not diminish their current level of spending for correctional expenses as defined in section 401.01, to the extent of any subsidy received pursuant to sections 401.01 to 401.16; rather the subsidy herein provided is for the expenditure for correctional purposes in excess of those funds currently being expended. Should a participating <u>county CCA jurisdiction</u> be unable to expend the full amount of the subsidy to which it would be entitled in any one year under the provisions of sections 401.01 to 401.16, the commissioner shall retain the surplus, subject to disbursement in the following year wherein such <u>county CCA jurisdiction</u> can demonstrate a need for and ability to expend same for the purposes provided in section 401.01. If in any biennium the subsidy is increased by an inflationary adjustment which results in the <u>county CCA jurisdiction</u> receiving more actual subsidy than it did in the previous calendar year, the <u>county CCA jurisdiction</u> shall be eligible for that increase only if the current level of spending is increased by a percentage equal to that increase within the same biennium.

FRIDAY, APRIL 21, 2023

Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 401.14, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. **Payment.** Upon compliance by a <u>county CCA jurisdiction</u> or group of counties with the prerequisites for participation in the subsidy prescribed by sections 401.01 to 401.16, and approval of the comprehensive plan by the commissioner, the commissioner shall determine whether funds exist for the payment of the subsidy and proceed to pay same in accordance with applicable rules.

Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 401.14, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. **Installment payments.** The commissioner of corrections shall make payments for community corrections services to each <u>county CCA jurisdiction</u> in 12 installments per year. The commissioner shall ensure that the pertinent payment of the allotment for each month is made to each <u>county CCA jurisdiction</u> on the first working day after the end of each month of the calendar year, except for the last month of the calendar year. The commissioner shall ensure that each county receives its payment of the allotment for that month no later than the last working day of that month. The payment described in this subdivision for services rendered during June 1985 shall be made on the first working day of July 1985.

Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 401.15, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. **Certified statements; determinations; adjustments.** Within 60 days of the end of each calendar quarter, participating counties <u>CCA jurisdictions</u> which have received the payments authorized by section 401.14 shall submit to the commissioner certified statements detailing the amounts expended and costs incurred in furnishing the correctional services provided in sections 401.01 to 401.16. Upon receipt of certified statements, the commissioner shall, in the manner provided in sections 401.10 and 401.12, determine the amount each participating county is entitled to receive, making any adjustments necessary to rectify any disparity between the amounts received pursuant to the estimate provided in section 401.14 and the amounts actually expended. If the amount received pursuant to the estimate is greater than the amount actually expended during the quarter, the commissioner may withhold the difference from any subsequent monthly payments made pursuant to section 401.14. Upon certification by the commissioner of the amount a participating county <u>CCA jurisdiction</u> is entitled to receive under the provisions of section 401.14 or of this subdivision the commissioner of management and budget shall thereupon issue a payment to the chief fiscal officer of each participating <u>county <u>CCA jurisdiction</u> for the amount due together with a copy of the certificate prepared by the commissioner.</u>

Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 401.16, is amended to read:

# 401.16 WITHDRAWAL FROM PROGRAM.

Any participating county <u>CCA jurisdiction</u> may, at the beginning of any calendar quarter, by resolution of its board of commissioners or <u>Tribal Council leaders</u>, notify the commissioner of its intention to withdraw from the subsidy program established by sections 401.01 to 401.16, and the withdrawal shall be effective the last day of the last month of the quarter in <u>third quarter after</u> which the notice was given. Upon withdrawal, the unexpended balance of moneys allocated to the county, or that amount necessary to reinstate state correctional services displaced by that county's participation, including complement positions, may, upon approval of the legislative advisory commission, be transferred to the commissioner for the reinstatement of the displaced services and the payment of any other correctional subsidies for which the withdrawing county had previously been eligible.

### Sec. 30. [401.17] COMMUNITY SUPERVISION ADVISORY COMMITTEE.

<u>Subdivision 1.</u> <u>Establishment; members.</u> (a) The commissioner must establish a Community Supervision Advisory Committee to develop and make recommendations to the commissioner on standards for probation, supervised release, and community supervision. The committee consists of 17 members as follows:

(1) two directors appointed by the Minnesota Association of Community Corrections Act Counties;

(2) two probation directors appointed by the Minnesota Association of County Probation Officers;

(3) three county commissioner representatives appointed by the Association of Minnesota Counties;

(4) two behavioral health, treatment, or programming providers who work directly with individuals on correctional supervision, one appointed by the Department of Human Services and one appointed by the Minnesota Association of County Social Service Administrators;

(5) two representatives appointed by the Minnesota Indian Affairs Council;

(6) one commissioner-appointed representative from the Department of Corrections;

(7) the chair of the statewide Evidence-Based Practice Advisory Committee;

(8) three individuals who have been supervised, either individually or collectively, under each of the state's three community supervision delivery systems appointed by the commissioner in consultation with the Minnesota Association of County Probation Officers and the Minnesota Association of Community Corrections Act Counties; and

(9) an advocate for victims of crime appointed by the commissioner.

(b) When an appointing authority selects an individual for membership on the committee, the authority must make reasonable efforts to reflect geographic diversity and to appoint qualified members of protected groups, as defined under section 43A.02, subdivision 33.

(c) The commissioner must convene the first meeting of the committee on or before July 15, 2024.

Subd. 2. <u>Terms; removal; reimbursement.</u> (a) If there is a vacancy, the appointing authority must appoint an individual to fill the vacancy. Committee members must elect any officers and create any subcommittees necessary for the efficient discharge of committee duties.

(b) A member may be removed by the appointing authority at any time at the pleasure of the appointing authority.

(c) Each committee member must be reimbursed for all reasonable expenses actually paid or incurred by that member in the performance of official duties in the same manner as other employees of the state. The public members of the committee must be compensated at the rate of \$55 for each day or part of the day spent on committee activities.

Subd. 3. Duties; committee. (a) The committee must comply with section 401.10.

(b) By June 30, 2024, the committee must provide written advice and recommendations to the commissioner on developing policy on:

(1) developing statewide supervision standards and definitions to be applied to community supervision provided by CPO counties, CCA counties, the Department of Corrections, and Tribal governments;

(2) requiring community supervision agencies to use the same agreed-upon risk screener and risk and needs assessment tools as the main supervision assessment methods or a universal five-level matrix allowing for consistent supervision levels and that all tools in use be validated on Minnesota's community supervision population and revalidated every five years;

(3) requiring the use of assessment-driven, formalized collaborative case planning to focus case planning goals on identified criminogenic and behavioral health need areas for moderate- and high-risk individuals;

(4) limiting standard conditions required for all people on supervision across all supervision systems and judicial districts, ensuring that conditions of supervision are directly related to the offense of the person on supervision, and tailoring special conditions to people on supervision identified as high-risk and high-need;

(5) providing gender-responsive, culturally appropriate services and trauma-informed approaches;

(6) developing a statewide incentives and sanctions grid to guide responses to client behavior while under supervision to be reviewed and updated every five years to maintain alignment with national best practices;

(7) developing performance indicators for supervision success as well as recidivism;

(8) developing a statewide training, coaching, and quality assurance system overseen by an evidence-based practices coordinator; and

(9) devising a plan, by December 1, 2024, to eliminate the financial penalty incurred by a jurisdiction that successfully discharges an offender from supervision before the offender's term of supervision concludes.

(c) By December 1, 2024, and every six years thereafter, the committee must review and reassess the existing workload study published by the commissioner under subdivision 4 and make recommendations to the commissioner based on the committee's review.

(d) By June 30, 2024, the committee must submit a report on supervision fees to the commissioner and the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over corrections finance and policy. The committee must collect data on supervision fees and include the data in the report.

Subd. 4. **Duties; commissioner.** The commissioner, in consultation with the committee, must complete a workload study by December 1, 2024, to develop a capitated rate for equitably funding community supervision throughout the state. The study must be updated every six years after the initial study is completed.

Subd. 5. **Data collection; report.** (a) By June 1, 2024, the advisory committee, in consultation with the Minnesota Counties Computer Cooperative, must create a method to (1) standardize data classifications across the three delivery systems, and (2) collect data for the commissioner to publish in an annual report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees and divisions with jurisdiction over public safety finance and policy.

(b) The advisory committee's method, at a minimum, must provide for collecting the following data:

(1) the number of offenders placed on probation each year;

(2) the offense levels and offense types for which offenders are placed on probation;

(3) violation and revocation rates and the identified grounds for the violations and revocations, including final disposition of the violation action such as execution of the sentence, imposition of new conditions, or a custodial sanction;

(4) the number of offenders granted early discharge from probation;

(5) the number of offenders restructured on supervision, including imposition of new conditions of release; and

(6) the number of offenders revoked from supervision and the identified grounds for revocation.

(c) On February 1, 2025, and every year thereafter, the commissioner must prepare a report that contains the data collected under the method established by the committee under this subdivision. The report must provide an analysis of the collected data disaggregated by race, gender, and county.

(d) Nothing in this section overrides the commissioner's authority to require additional data be provided under sections 241.065, 401.06, 401.10, and 401.11.

<u>Subd. 6.</u> <u>Response.</u> (a) Within 45 days of receiving the committee's recommendations, the commissioner must respond in writing to the committee's advice and recommendations under subdivision 3. The commissioner's response must explain:

(1) whether the agency will adopt policy changes based on the recommendations;

(2) the timeline for adopting policy changes; and

(3) why the commissioner will not or cannot include any individual recommendations of the committee in the agency's policy.

(b) The commissioner must submit the advice and recommendations of the committee to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over public safety finance and policy.

Subd. 7. Staff: meeting room; office equipment. The commissioner must provide the committee with a committee administrator, staff support, a meeting room, and access to office equipment and services.

Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.14, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. **Grounds.** (a) When it appears that the defendant has violated any of the conditions of probation or intermediate sanction, or has otherwise been guilty of misconduct which warrants the imposing or execution of sentence, the court may without notice revoke the stay and direct that the defendant be taken into immediate custody. <u>Revocation shall only be used as a last resort when rehabilitation has failed.</u>

(b) When it appears that the defendant violated any of the conditions of probation during the term of the stay, but the term of the stay has since expired, the defendant's probation officer or the prosecutor may ask the court to initiate probation revocation proceedings under the Rules of Criminal Procedure at any time within six months after the expiration of the stay. The court also may initiate proceedings under these circumstances on its own motion. If proceedings are initiated within this six-month period, the court may conduct a revocation hearing and take any action authorized under rule 27.04 at any time during or after the six-month period.

(c) Notwithstanding the provisions of section 609.135 or any law to the contrary, after proceedings to revoke the stay have been initiated by a court order revoking the stay and directing either that the defendant be taken into custody or that a summons be issued in accordance with paragraph (a), the proceedings to revoke the stay may be concluded and the summary hearing provided by subdivision 2 may be conducted after the expiration of the stay or after the six-month period set forth in paragraph (b). The proceedings to revoke the stay shall not be dismissed on the basis that the summary hearing is conducted after the term of the stay or after the six-month period. The ability or inability to locate or apprehend the defendant prior to the expiration of the stay or during or after the six-month period shall not preclude the court from conducting the summary hearing unless the defendant demonstrates that the delay was purposefully caused by the state in order to gain an unfair advantage.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to violations that occur on or after that date.

Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.14, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 1a. Violations where policies favor continued rehabilitation. (a) Correctional treatment is better provided through a community resource than through confinement and would not unduly depreciate the seriousness of the violation if probation was not revoked. Policies favoring probation outweigh the need for confinement if a person has not previously violated a condition of probation or intermediate sanction and does any of the following in violation of a condition imposed by the court:

(1) fails to abstain from the use of controlled substances without a valid prescription, unless the person is under supervision for a violation of section:

(i) 169A.20;

(ii) 609.2112, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clauses (2) to (6); or

(iii) 609.2113, subdivision 1, clauses (2) to (6); 2, clauses (2) to (6); or 3, clauses (2) to (6);

(2) fails to abstain from the use of alcohol, unless the person is under supervision for a violation of section:

(i) 169A.20;

(ii) 609.2112, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clauses (2) to (6); or

(iii) 609.2113, subdivision 1, clauses (2) to (6); 2, clauses (2) to (6); or 3, clauses (2) to (6);

(3) possesses drug paraphernalia in violation of section 152.092;

(4) fails to obtain or maintain employment;

(5) fails to pursue a course of study or vocational training;

(6) fails to report a change in employment, unless the person is prohibited from having contact with minors and the employment would involve such contact;

(7) violates a curfew;

(8) fails to report contact with a law enforcement agency, unless the person was charged with a misdemeanor, gross misdemeanor, or felony; or

(9) commits any offense for which the penalty is a petty misdemeanor.

(b) A violation by a person described in paragraph (a) does not warrant the imposition or execution of sentence and the court may not direct that the person be taken into immediate custody unless the court receives a written report, signed under penalty of perjury pursuant to section 358.116, showing probable cause to believe the person violated probation and establishing by a preponderance of the evidence that the continued presence of the person in the community would present a risk to public safety. If the court does not direct that the person be taken into custody, the court may request a supplemental report from the supervising agent containing:

(1) the specific nature of the violation;

(2) the response of the person under supervision to the violation, if any; and

(3) the actions the supervising agent has taken or will take to address the violation.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to violations that occur on or after that date.

# Sec. 33. LOCAL CORRECTIONAL FEES; IMPOSITION ON OFFENDERS.

By August 1, 2025, each local correctional agency under Minnesota Statutes, section 244.18, must provide a plan for phasing out local correctional fees. A copy of the plan must be provided to all individuals under supervision by the agency. Local correctional fees must not increase from the effective date of this section through August 1, 2025.

# Sec. 34. COMMUNITY SUPERVISION ADVISORY COMMITTEE; REPORT.

(a) By January 15, 2025, the committee must submit a report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over public safety policy and finance on progress toward developing standards and recommendations under Minnesota Statutes, section 401.17, subdivision 3.

(b) By January 15, 2026, the committee must submit a final report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over public safety policy and finance on the standards and recommendations developed according to Minnesota Statutes, section 401.17, subdivision 3. At a minimum, the recommendations must include a proposed state-level Community Supervision Advisory Board with a governance structure and duties for the board.

### Sec. 35. REPEALER.

(a) Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 244.19, subdivisions 6, 7, and 8; 244.22; 244.24; and 244.30, are repealed.

(b) Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 244.18, is repealed.

# EFFECTIVE DATE. Paragraph (a) is effective August 1, 2023, and paragraph (b) is effective August 1, 2025."

Delete the title and insert:

"A bill for an act relating to state government; amending law related to a state board and office of appellate counsel and training, court fees, human rights, crime, public safety, victim, sentencing, expungement, clemency, evidence, policing, private security, corrections, firearm, controlled substances, community supervision, and 911 Emergency Communication System policy; providing for reports; authorizing rulemaking; appropriating money for judiciary, Guardian ad Litem Board, Uniform Laws Commission, Board on Judicial Standards, child advocacy center, sentencing guidelines, public safety, fire marshal, Office of Justice programs, emergency communication, Peace Officer Standards and Training Board, Private Detective Board, corrections, Ombudsperson for Corrections, Board of Public Defense, juvenile justice, peace officer education and training, and violent crime reduction and prevention: amending Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 13.825, subdivision 2; 13.871, subdivisions 8, 14; 13A.02, subdivisions 1, 2; 121A.28; 144.6586, subdivision 2; 145.4712; 151.01, by adding a subdivision; 151.40, subdivisions 1, 2; 152.01, subdivisions 12a, 18, by adding a subdivision; 152.02, subdivisions 2, 3, 5, 6; 152.021, subdivisions 1, 2; 152.022, subdivisions 1, 2; 152.023, subdivision 2; 152.025, subdivision 2; 152.093; 152.18, subdivision 1; 152.205; 181.981, subdivision 1; 214.10, subdivision 10; 241.01, subdivision 3a; 241.021, subdivisions 1d, 2a, 2b; 241.025, subdivisions 1, 2, 3; 241.90; 243.05, subdivision 1; 243.166, subdivision 1b; 244.03; 244.05, subdivisions 1b, 2, 3, 5; 244.09, subdivisions 2, 3, by adding a subdivision; 244.19, subdivisions 1, 2, 3, 5, by adding a subdivision; 244.195, subdivisions 1, 2, by adding subdivisions; 244.20; 244.21; 245C.08, subdivisions 1, 2; 260B.176, by adding a subdivision; 297I.06, subdivision 1; 299A.38; 299A.41, subdivision 3; 299A.78, subdivision 1; 299A.79, subdivision 3; 299A.85, subdivision 6; 299C.10, subdivision 1; 299C.106, subdivision 3; 299C.11, subdivisions 1, 3; 299C.111; 299C.17; 299C.53, subdivision 3; 299F.46, subdivision 1; 299F.50, by adding subdivisions; 299F.51, subdivisions 1, 2, 5, by adding a subdivision; 299M.10; 326.32, subdivision 10; 326.3311; 326.336, subdivision 2; 326.3361, subdivision 2; 326.3387, subdivision 1; 357.021, subdivision 2; 363A.06, subdivision 1; 401.01; 401.02; 401.025; 401.04; 401.05, subdivision 1; 401.06; 401.08, subdivisions 2, 4; 401.09; 401.10; 401.11; 401.12; 401.14, subdivisions 1, 3; 401.15, subdivision 1; 401.16; 403.02, subdivisions 7, 9a, 11b, 16a, 17, 17c, 18, 19, 19a, 20, 20a, 21, by adding subdivisions; 403.025; 403.03, subdivision 2; 403.05; 403.06; 403.07; 403.08; 403.09, subdivision 2; 403.10, subdivisions 2, 3; 403.11; 403.113; 403.15, subdivisions 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, by adding a subdivision; 484.85; 609.02, subdivisions 2, 16; 609.03; 609.05, by adding a subdivision; 609.105, subdivisions 1, 3; 609.1055; 609.135, subdivisions 1a, 1c, 2; 609.14, subdivision 1, by adding a subdivision; 609.2231, subdivision 4; 609.2233; 609.25, subdivision 2; 609.269; 609.281, subdivisions 3, 4, 5; 609.282, subdivision 1, by adding a subdivision; 609.321, by adding subdivisions; 609.322, subdivision 1; 609.35; 609.52, subdivision 3; 609.527, subdivision 1, by adding a subdivision; 609.582, subdivisions 3, 4; 609.595, subdivisions 1a, 2; 609.67, subdivisions 1, 2; 609.746, subdivision 1; 609.749, subdivision 3; 609A.01; 609A.02, subdivision 3; 609A.03, subdivision 5, 7a, 9; 611A.03, subdivision 1; 611A.211, subdivision 1; 611A.31, subdivisions 2, 3, by adding a subdivision; 611A.32; 624.713, subdivision 1; 624.7131, subdivisions 4, 5, 7, 8, 9, 11; 624.7132, subdivisions 4, 5, 8, 10, 13; 626.14, subdivision 2, by adding subdivisions; 626.15; 626.21; 626.5531, subdivision 1; 626.843, by adding a subdivision; 626.8432, subdivision 1; 626.8451, subdivision 1; 626.8457, by adding subdivisions; 626.8469, subdivision 1; 626.8473, subdivision 3; 626.87, subdivisions 2, 3, 5, by adding a subdivision; 626.89, subdivision 17; 626.90, subdivision 2; 626.91, subdivisions 2, 4; 626.92, subdivisions 2, 3; 626.93, subdivisions 3, 4; 626A.35, by adding a subdivision; 628.26; 638.01; 638.02, subdivisions 2, 3; 641.15, subdivision 2; 641.155; Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 11, article 1, section 15, subdivision 3; proposing coding for new law in Minnesota Statutes, chapters 241; 243; 244; 260B; 260C; 299A; 299C; 401; 604; 609; 609A; 617; 624; 626; 638; 641; repealing Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 152.092; 244.18; 244.19, subdivisions 6, 7, 8; 244.22; 244.24; 244.30; 299C.80, subdivision 7; 403.02, subdivision 13; 403.09, subdivision 3; 609.281, subdivision 2; 609.293, subdivisions 1, 5; 609.34; 609.36; 624.7131, subdivision 10; 624.7132, subdivisions 6, 14; 626.14, subdivisions 3, 4; 626.93, subdivision 7; 638.02; 638.03; 638.04; 638.05; 638.06; 638.07; 638.07; 638.08."

With the recommendation that when so amended the bill be placed on the General Register.

The report was adopted.

Olson, L., from the Committee on Ways and Means to which was referred:

S. F. No. 2934, A bill for an act relating to human services; establishing an office of addiction and recovery; establishing the Minnesota board of recovery services; establishing title protection for sober homes; modifying provisions governing disability services, aging services, and behavioral health; modifying medical assistance eligibility requirements for certain populations; making technical and conforming changes; establishing certain grants; requiring reports; appropriating money; amending Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 4.046, subdivisions 6, 7, by adding a subdivision; 179A.54, by adding a subdivision; 241.021, subdivision 1; 241.31, subdivision 5; 241.415; 245A.03, subdivision 7; 245A.11, subdivisions 7, 7a; 245D.04, subdivision 3; 245G.01, by adding subdivisions; 245G.02, subdivision 2; 245G.05, subdivision 1, by adding a subdivision; 245G.06, subdivisions 1, 3, 4, by adding subdivisions; 245G.08, subdivision 3; 245G.09, subdivision 3; 245G.22, subdivision 15; 245I.10, subdivision 6; 246.54, subdivisions 1a, 1b; 252.27, subdivision 2a; 254B.01, subdivision 8, by adding subdivisions; 254B.04, by adding a subdivision; 254B.05, subdivisions 1, 5; 256.043, subdivisions 3, 3a; 256.9754; 256B.04, by adding a subdivision; 256B.056, subdivision 3; 256B.057, subdivision 9; 256B.0625, subdivisions 17, 17a, 18h, 22, by adding a subdivision; 256B.0638, subdivisions 2, 4, 5; 256B.0659, subdivisions 1, 12, 19, 24; 256B.073, subdivision 3, by adding a subdivision; 256B.0759, subdivision 2; 256B.0911, subdivision 13; 256B.0913, subdivisions 4, 5; 256B.0917, subdivision 1b; 256B.0922, subdivision 1; 256B.0949, subdivision 15; 256B.14, subdivision 2; 256B.434, by adding a subdivision; 256B.49, subdivisions 11, 28; 256B.4905, subdivision 5a; 256B.4911, by adding a subdivision; 256B.4912, by adding subdivisions; 256B.4914, subdivisions 3, as amended, 4, 5, 5a, 5b, 5c, 5d, 5e, 8, 9, 10, 10a, 10c, 12, 14, by adding a subdivision; 256B.492; 256B.5012, by adding subdivisions; 256B.766; 256B.85, subdivision 7, by adding a subdivision; 256B.851, subdivisions 5, 6; 256I.05, by adding subdivisions; 256M.42; 256R.02, subdivision 19; 256R.17, subdivision 2; 256R.25; 256R.47; 256R.481;

JOURNAL OF THE HOUSE

256R.53, by adding subdivisions; 256S.15, subdivision 2; 256S.18, by adding a subdivision; 256S.19, subdivision 3; 256S.203, subdivisions 1, 2; 256S.205, subdivisions 3, 5; 256S.21; 256S.2101, subdivisions 1, 2, by adding subdivisions; 256S.211, by adding subdivisions; 256S.212; 256S.213; 256S.214; 256S.215, subdivisions 2, 3, 4, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17; Laws 2019, chapter 63, article 3, section 1, as amended; Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 7, article 16, section 28, as amended; article 17, sections 16; 20; proposing coding for new law in Minnesota Statutes, chapters 121A; 144A; 245; 245D; 254B; 256; 256I; 256S; 325F; repealing Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 245G.05, subdivision 2; 246.18, subdivisions 2, 2a; 256B.0638, subdivisions 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6; 256B.0759, subdivision 6; 256B.0917, subdivisions 1a, 6, 7a, 13; 256B.4914, subdivision 9a; 256S.19, subdivision 4.

Reported the same back with the following amendments:

Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:

# "ARTICLE 1 DISABILITY SERVICES

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 177.24, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 6. Special certificate prohibition. (a) On or after August 1, 2026, employers must not hire any new employee with a disability at a wage that is less than the highest applicable minimum wage, regardless of whether the employer holds a special certificate from the United States Department of Labor under section 14(c) of the federal Fair Labor Standards Act.

(b) On or after August 1, 2028, an employer must not pay an employee with a disability less than the highest applicable minimum wage, regardless of whether the employer holds a special certificate from the United States Department of Labor under section 14(c) of the federal Fair Labor Standards Act.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 179A.54, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 11. Home Care Orientation Trust. (a) The state and an exclusive representative certified pursuant to this section may establish a joint labor and management trust, referred to as the Home Care Orientation Trust, for the exclusive purpose of rendering voluntary orientation training to individual providers of direct support services who are represented by the exclusive representative.

(b) Financial contributions made by the state to the Home Care Orientation Trust shall be made pursuant to a collective bargaining agreement negotiated under this section. All such financial contributions made by the state shall be held in trust for the purpose of paying from principle, from interest, or from both, the costs associated with developing, delivering, and promoting voluntary orientation training for individual providers of direct support services working under a collective bargaining agreement and providing services through a covered program under section 256B.0711. The Home Care Orientation Trust shall be administered, managed, and otherwise controlled jointly by a board of trustees composed of an equal number of trustees appointed by the state and trustees appointed by the exclusive representative under this section. The trust shall not be an agent of either the state or the exclusive representative.

(c) Trust administrative, management, legal, and financial services may be provided by the board of trustees by a third-party administrator, financial management institution, or other appropriate entity, as designated by the board of trustees from time to time, and those services shall be paid from the money held in trust and created by the state's financial contributions to the Home Care Orientation Trust.

(d) The state is authorized to purchase liability insurance for members of the board of trustees appointed by the state.

(e) Financial contributions to, and participation in, the administration and management of the Home Care Orientation Trust shall not be considered an unfair labor practice under section 179A.13, or a violation of Minnesota law. Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.03, subdivision 7, is amended to read:

Subd. 7. Licensing moratorium. (a) The commissioner shall not issue an initial license for child foster care licensed under Minnesota Rules, parts 2960.3000 to 2960.3340, or adult foster care licensed under Minnesota Rules, parts 9555.5105 to 9555.6265, under this chapter for a physical location that will not be the primary residence of the license holder for the entire period of licensure. If a family child foster care home or family adult foster care home license is issued during this moratorium, and the license holder changes the license holder's primary residence away from the physical location of the foster care license, the commissioner shall revoke the license according to section 245A.07. The commissioner shall not issue an initial license for a community residential setting licensed under chapter 245D. When approving an exception under this paragraph, the commissioner shall consider the resource need determination process in paragraph (h), the availability of foster care licensed beds in the geographic area in which the license seeks to operate, the results of a person's choices during their annual assessment and service plan review, and the recommendation of the local county board. The determination by the commissioner is final and not subject to appeal. Exceptions to the moratorium include:

(1) foster care settings where at least 80 percent of the residents are 55 years of age or older;

(2) foster care licenses replacing foster care licenses in existence on May 15, 2009, or community residential setting licenses replacing adult foster care licenses in existence on December 31, 2013, and determined to be needed by the commissioner under paragraph (b);

(3) new foster care licenses or community residential setting licenses determined to be needed by the commissioner under paragraph (b) for the closure of a nursing facility, ICF/DD, or regional treatment center; restructuring of state-operated services that limits the capacity of state-operated facilities; or allowing movement to the community for people who no longer require the level of care provided in state-operated facilities as provided under section 256B.092, subdivision 13, or 256B.49, subdivision 24;

(4) new foster care licenses or community residential setting licenses determined to be needed by the commissioner under paragraph (b) for persons requiring hospital-level care; or

(5) new foster care licenses or community residential setting licenses for people receiving customized living or 24-hour customized living services under the brain injury or community access for disability inclusion waiver plans under section 256B.49 or elderly waiver plan under chapter 256S and residing in the customized living setting before July 1, 2022, for which a license is required. A customized living service provider subject to this exception may rebut the presumption that a license is required by seeking a reconsideration of the commissioner's determination. The commissioner's disposition of a request for reconsideration is final and not subject to appeal under chapter 14. The exception is available until June 30 December 31, 2023. This exception is available when:

(i) the person's customized living services are provided in a customized living service setting serving four or fewer people under the brain injury or community access for disability inclusion waiver plans under section 256B.49 in a single-family home operational on or before June 30, 2021. Operational is defined in section 256B.49, subdivision 28;

(ii) the person's case manager provided the person with information about the choice of service, service provider, and location of service, including in the person's home, to help the person make an informed choice; and

(iii) the person's services provided in the licensed foster care or community residential setting are less than or equal to the cost of the person's services delivered in the customized living setting as determined by the lead agency.

### JOURNAL OF THE HOUSE

(b) The commissioner shall determine the need for newly licensed foster care homes or community residential settings as defined under this subdivision. As part of the determination, the commissioner shall consider the availability of foster care capacity in the area in which the licensee seeks to operate, and the recommendation of the local county board. The determination by the commissioner must be final. A determination of need is not required for a change in ownership at the same address.

(c) When an adult resident served by the program moves out of a foster home that is not the primary residence of the license holder according to section 256B.49, subdivision 15, paragraph (f), or the adult community residential setting, the county shall immediately inform the Department of Human Services Licensing Division. The department may decrease the statewide licensed capacity for adult foster care settings.

(d) Residential settings that would otherwise be subject to the decreased license capacity established in paragraph (c) shall be exempt if the license holder's beds are occupied by residents whose primary diagnosis is mental illness and the license holder is certified under the requirements in subdivision 6a or section 245D.33.

(e) A resource need determination process, managed at the state level, using the available data required by section 144A.351, and other data and information shall be used to determine where the reduced capacity determined under section 256B.493 will be implemented. The commissioner shall consult with the stakeholders described in section 144A.351, and employ a variety of methods to improve the state's capacity to meet the informed decisions of those people who want to move out of corporate foster care or community residential settings, long-term service needs within budgetary limits, including seeking proposals from service providers or lead agencies to change service type, capacity, or location to improve services, increase the independence of residents, and better meet needs identified by the long-term services and supports reports and statewide data and information.

(f) At the time of application and reapplication for licensure, the applicant and the license holder that are subject to the moratorium or an exclusion established in paragraph (a) are required to inform the commissioner whether the physical location where the foster care will be provided is or will be the primary residence of the license holder for the entire period of licensure. If the primary residence of the applicant or license holder changes, the applicant or license holder must notify the commissioner immediately. The commissioner shall print on the foster care license certificate whether or not the physical location is the primary residence of the license holder.

(g) License holders of foster care homes identified under paragraph (f) that are not the primary residence of the license holder and that also provide services in the foster care home that are covered by a federally approved home and community-based services waiver, as authorized under chapter 256S or section 256B.092 or 256B.49, must inform the human services licensing division that the license holder provides or intends to provide these waiver-funded services.

(h) The commissioner may adjust capacity to address needs identified in section 144A.351. Under this authority, the commissioner may approve new licensed settings or delicense existing settings. Delicensing of settings will be accomplished through a process identified in section 256B.493.

(i) The commissioner must notify a license holder when its corporate foster care or community residential setting licensed beds are reduced under this section. The notice of reduction of licensed beds must be in writing and delivered to the license holder by certified mail or personal service. The notice must state why the licensed beds are reduced and must inform the license holder of its right to request reconsideration by the commissioner. The license holder's request for reconsideration must be in writing. If mailed, the request for reconsideration must be postmarked and sent to the commissioner within 20 calendar days after the license holder's receipt of the notice of reduction of licensed beds. If a request for reconsideration is made by personal service, it must be received by the commissioner within 20 calendar days after the license holder's receipt of licensed beds.

54TH DAY]

FRIDAY, APRIL 21, 2023

(j) The commissioner shall not issue an initial license for children's residential treatment services licensed under Minnesota Rules, parts 2960.0580 to 2960.0700, under this chapter for a program that Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services would consider an institution for mental diseases. Facilities that serve only private pay clients are exempt from the moratorium described in this paragraph. The commissioner has the authority to manage existing statewide capacity for children's residential treatment services subject to the moratorium under this paragraph and may issue an initial license for such facilities if the initial license would not increase the statewide capacity for children's residential treatment services subject to the moratorium under this paragraph.

# EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.10, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. **Application fee for initial license or certification.** (a) For fees required under subdivision 1, an applicant for an initial license or certification issued by the commissioner shall submit a \$500 application fee with each new application required under this subdivision. An applicant for an initial day services facility license under chapter 245D shall submit a \$250 application fee with each new application. The application fee shall not be prorated, is nonrefundable, and is in lieu of the annual license or certification fee that expires on December 31. The commissioner shall not process an application until the application fee is paid.

(b) Except as provided in clauses (1) to (3), an applicant shall apply for a license to provide services at a specific location.

(1) For a license to provide home and community-based services to persons with disabilities or age 65 and older under chapter 245D, an applicant shall submit an application to provide services statewide. Notwithstanding paragraph (a), applications received by the commissioner between July 1, 2013, and December 31, 2013, for licensure of services provided under chapter 245D must include an application fee that is equal to the annual license renewal fee under subdivision 4, paragraph (b), or \$500, whichever is less. Applications received by the commissioner after January 1, 2014, must include the application fee required under paragraph (a). Applicants who meet the modified application criteria identified in section 245A.042, subdivision 2, are exempt from paying an application fee.

(2) For a license to provide independent living assistance for youth under section 245A.22, an applicant shall submit a single application to provide services statewide.

(3) For a license for a private agency to provide foster care or adoption services under Minnesota Rules, parts 9545.0755 to 9545.0845, an applicant shall submit a single application to provide services statewide.

(c) The initial application fee charged under this subdivision does not include the temporary license surcharge under section 16E.22.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.11, subdivision 7, is amended to read:

Subd. 7. Adult foster care; variance for alternate overnight supervision. (a) The commissioner may grant a variance under section 245A.04, subdivision 9, to rule parts requiring a caregiver to be present in an adult foster care home during normal sleeping hours to allow for alternative methods of overnight supervision. The commissioner may grant the variance if the local county licensing agency recommends the variance and the county recommendation includes documentation verifying that:

(1) the county has approved the license holder's plan for alternative methods of providing overnight supervision and determined the plan protects the residents' health, safety, and rights;

### JOURNAL OF THE HOUSE

(2) the license holder has obtained written and signed informed consent from each resident or each resident's legal representative documenting the resident's or legal representative's agreement with the alternative method of overnight supervision; and

(3) the alternative method of providing overnight supervision, which may include the use of technology, is specified for each resident in the resident's: (i) individualized plan of care; (ii) individual service plan under section 256B.092, subdivision 1b, if required; or (iii) individual resident placement agreement under Minnesota Rules, part 9555.5105, subpart 19, if required.

(b) To be eligible for a variance under paragraph (a), the adult foster care license holder must not have had a conditional license issued under section 245A.06, or any other licensing sanction issued under section 245A.07 during the prior 24 months based on failure to provide adequate supervision, health care services, or resident safety in the adult foster care home.

(c) A license holder requesting a variance under this subdivision to utilize technology as a component of a plan for alternative overnight supervision may request the commissioner's review in the absence of a county recommendation. Upon receipt of such a request from a license holder, the commissioner shall review the variance request with the county.

(d) A variance granted by the commissioner according to this subdivision before January 1, 2014, to a license holder for an adult foster care home must transfer with the license when the license converts to a community residential setting license under chapter 245D. The terms and conditions of the variance remain in effect as approved at the time the variance was granted The variance requirements under this subdivision for alternative overnight supervision do not apply to community residential settings licensed under chapter 245D.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2024.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.11, subdivision 7a, is amended to read:

Subd. 7a. Alternate overnight supervision technology; adult foster care and community residential setting licenses. (a) The commissioner may grant an applicant or license holder an adult foster care or community residential setting license for a residence that does not have a caregiver in the residence during normal sleeping hours as required under Minnesota Rules, part 9555.5105, subpart 37, item B, or section 245D.02, subdivision 33b, but uses monitoring technology to alert the license holder when an incident occurs that may jeopardize the health, safety, or rights of a foster care recipient. The applicant or license holder must comply with all other requirements under Minnesota Rules, parts 9555.5105 to 9555.6265, or applicable requirements under chapter 245D, and the requirements under this subdivision. The license printed by the commissioner must state in bold and large font:

(1) that the facility is under electronic monitoring; and

(2) the telephone number of the county's common entry point for making reports of suspected maltreatment of vulnerable adults under section 626.557, subdivision 9.

(b) Applications for a license under this section must be submitted directly to the Department of Human Services licensing division. The licensing division must immediately notify the county licensing agency. The licensing division must collaborate with the county licensing agency in the review of the application and the licensing of the program.

(c) Before a license is issued by the commissioner, and for the duration of the license, the applicant or license holder must establish, maintain, and document the implementation of written policies and procedures addressing the requirements in paragraphs (d) through (f).

### FRIDAY, APRIL 21, 2023

(d) The applicant or license holder must have policies and procedures that:

(1) establish characteristics of target populations that will be admitted into the home, and characteristics of populations that will not be accepted into the home;

(2) explain the discharge process when a resident served by the program requires overnight supervision or other services that cannot be provided by the license holder due to the limited hours that the license holder is on site;

(3) describe the types of events to which the program will respond with a physical presence when those events occur in the home during time when staff are not on site, and how the license holder's response plan meets the requirements in paragraph (e), clause (1) or (2);

(4) establish a process for documenting a review of the implementation and effectiveness of the response protocol for the response required under paragraph (e), clause (1) or (2). The documentation must include:

(i) a description of the triggering incident;

(ii) the date and time of the triggering incident;

(iii) the time of the response or responses under paragraph (e), clause (1) or (2);

(iv) whether the response met the resident's needs;

(v) whether the existing policies and response protocols were followed; and

(vi) whether the existing policies and protocols are adequate or need modification.

When no physical presence response is completed for a three-month period, the license holder's written policies and procedures must require a physical presence response drill to be conducted for which the effectiveness of the response protocol under paragraph (e), clause (1) or (2), will be reviewed and documented as required under this clause; and

(5) establish that emergency and nonemergency phone numbers are posted in a prominent location in a common area of the home where they can be easily observed by a person responding to an incident who is not otherwise affiliated with the home.

(e) The license holder must document and include in the license application which response alternative under clause (1) or (2) is in place for responding to situations that present a serious risk to the health, safety, or rights of residents served by the program:

(1) response alternative (1) requires only the technology to provide an electronic notification or alert to the license holder that an event is underway that requires a response. Under this alternative, no more than ten minutes will pass before the license holder will be physically present on site to respond to the situation; or

(2) response alternative (2) requires the electronic notification and alert system under alternative (1), but more than ten minutes may pass before the license holder is present on site to respond to the situation. Under alternative (2), all of the following conditions are met:

(i) the license holder has a written description of the interactive technological applications that will assist the license holder in communicating with and assessing the needs related to the care, health, and safety of the foster care recipients. This interactive technology must permit the license holder to remotely assess the well being of the resident served by the program without requiring the initiation of the foster care recipient. Requiring the foster care recipient to initiate a telephone call does not meet this requirement;

### JOURNAL OF THE HOUSE

(ii) the license holder documents how the remote license holder is qualified and capable of meeting the needs of the foster care recipients and assessing foster care recipients' needs under item (i) during the absence of the license holder on site;

(iii) the license holder maintains written procedures to dispatch emergency response personnel to the site in the event of an identified emergency; and

(iv) each resident's individualized plan of care, support plan under sections 256B.0913, subdivision 8; 256B.092, subdivision 1b; 256B.49, subdivision 15; and 256S.10, if required, or individual resident placement agreement under Minnesota Rules, part 9555.5105, subpart 19, if required, identifies the maximum response time, which may be greater than ten minutes, for the license holder to be on site for that resident.

(f) Each resident's placement agreement, individual service agreement, and plan must clearly state that the adult foster care or community residential setting license category is a program without the presence of a caregiver in the residence during normal sleeping hours; the protocols in place for responding to situations that present a serious risk to the health, safety, or rights of residents served by the program under paragraph (e), clause (1) or (2); and a signed informed consent from each resident served by the program or the person's legal representative documenting the person's or legal representative's agreement with placement in the program. If electronic monitoring technology is used in the home, the informed consent form must also explain the following:

(1) how any electronic monitoring is incorporated into the alternative supervision system;

(2) the backup system for any electronic monitoring in times of electrical outages or other equipment malfunctions;

(3) how the caregivers or direct support staff are trained on the use of the technology;

(4) the event types and license holder response times established under paragraph (e);

(5) how the license holder protects each resident's privacy related to electronic monitoring and related to any electronically recorded data generated by the monitoring system. A resident served by the program may not be removed from a program under this subdivision for failure to consent to electronic monitoring. The consent form must explain where and how the electronically recorded data is stored, with whom it will be shared, and how long it is retained; and

(6) the risks and benefits of the alternative overnight supervision system.

The written explanations under clauses (1) to (6) may be accomplished through cross-references to other policies and procedures as long as they are explained to the person giving consent, and the person giving consent is offered a copy.

(g) Nothing in this section requires the applicant or license holder to develop or maintain separate or duplicative policies, procedures, documentation, consent forms, or individual plans that may be required for other licensing standards, if the requirements of this section are incorporated into those documents.

(h) The commissioner may grant variances to the requirements of this section according to section 245A.04, subdivision 9.

(i) For the purposes of paragraphs (d) through (h), "license holder" has the meaning under section 245A.02, subdivision 9, and additionally includes all staff, volunteers, and contractors affiliated with the license holder.

54TH DAY]

FRIDAY, APRIL 21, 2023

(k) The commissioner shall evaluate license applications using the requirements in paragraphs (d) to (f). The commissioner shall provide detailed application forms, including a checklist of criteria needed for approval.

(1) To be eligible for a license under paragraph (a), the adult foster care or community residential setting license holder must not have had a conditional license issued under section 245A.06 or any licensing sanction under section 245A.07 during the prior 24 months based on failure to provide adequate supervision, health care services, or resident safety in the adult foster care home or community residential setting.

(m) The commissioner shall review an application for an alternative overnight supervision license within 60 days of receipt of the application. When the commissioner receives an application that is incomplete because the applicant failed to submit required documents or that is substantially deficient because the documents submitted do not meet licensing requirements, the commissioner shall provide the applicant written notice that the application is incomplete or substantially deficient. In the written notice to the applicant, the commissioner shall identify documents that are missing or deficient and give the applicant 45 days to resubmit a second application that is substantially complete. An applicant's failure to submit a substantially complete application after receiving notice from the commissioner is a basis for license denial under section 245A.05. The commissioner shall complete subsequent review within 30 days.

(n) Once the application is considered complete under paragraph (m), the commissioner will approve or deny an application for an alternative overnight supervision license within 60 days.

(o) For the purposes of this subdivision, "supervision" means:

(1) oversight by a caregiver or direct support staff as specified in the individual resident's place agreement or support plan and awareness of the resident's needs and activities; and

(2) the presence of a caregiver or direct support staff in a residence during normal sleeping hours, unless a determination has been made and documented in the individual's support plan that the individual does not require the presence of a caregiver or direct support staff during normal sleeping hours.

#### **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2024.

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245D.03, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. **Applicability.** (a) The commissioner shall regulate the provision of home and community-based services to persons with disabilities and persons age 65 and older pursuant to this chapter. The licensing standards in this chapter govern the provision of basic support services and intensive support services.

(b) Basic support services provide the level of assistance, supervision, and care that is necessary to ensure the health and welfare of the person and do not include services that are specifically directed toward the training, treatment, habilitation, or rehabilitation of the person. Basic support services include:

(1) in-home and out-of-home respite care services as defined in section 245A.02, subdivision 15, and under the brain injury, community alternative care, community access for disability inclusion, developmental disabilities, and elderly waiver plans, excluding out-of-home respite care provided to children in a family child foster care home licensed under Minnesota Rules, parts 2960.3000 to 2960.3100, when the child foster care license holder complies with the requirements under section 245D.06, subdivisions 5, 6, 7, and 8, or successor provisions; and section 245D.061 or successor provisions, which must be stipulated in the statement of intended use required under Minnesota Rules, part 2960.3000, subpart 4;

### JOURNAL OF THE HOUSE

(2) adult companion services as defined under the brain injury, community access for disability inclusion, community alternative care, and elderly waiver plans, excluding adult companion services provided under the Corporation for National and Community Services Senior Companion Program established under the Domestic Volunteer Service Act of 1973, Public Law 98-288;

(3) personal support as defined under the developmental disabilities waiver plan;

(4) 24-hour emergency assistance, personal emergency response as defined under the community access for disability inclusion and developmental disabilities waiver plans;

(5) night supervision services as defined under the brain injury, community access for disability inclusion, community alternative care, and developmental disabilities waiver plans;

(6) homemaker services as defined under the community access for disability inclusion, brain injury, community alternative care, developmental disabilities, and elderly waiver plans, excluding providers licensed by the Department of Health under chapter 144A and those providers providing cleaning services only;

(7) individual community living support under section 256S.13; and

(8) individualized home supports services as defined under the brain injury, community alternative care, and community access for disability inclusion, and developmental disabilities waiver plans.

(c) Intensive support services provide assistance, supervision, and care that is necessary to ensure the health and welfare of the person and services specifically directed toward the training, habilitation, or rehabilitation of the person. Intensive support services include:

(1) intervention services, including:

(i) positive support services as defined under the brain injury and community access for disability inclusion, community alternative care, and developmental disabilities waiver plans;

(ii) in-home or out-of-home crisis respite services as defined under the brain injury, community access for disability inclusion, community alternative care, and developmental disabilities waiver plans; and

(iii) specialist services as defined under the current brain injury, community access for disability inclusion, community alternative care, and developmental disabilities waiver plans;

(2) in-home support services, including:

(i) in-home family support and supported living services as defined under the developmental disabilities waiver plan;

(ii) independent living services training as defined under the brain injury and community access for disability inclusion waiver plans;

(iii) semi-independent living services;

(iv) individualized home support with training services as defined under the brain injury, community alternative care, community access for disability inclusion, and developmental disabilities waiver plans; and

(v) individualized home support with family training services as defined under the brain injury, community alternative care, community access for disability inclusion, and developmental disabilities waiver plans;

(3) residential supports and services, including:

(i) supported living services as defined under the developmental disabilities waiver plan provided in a family or corporate child foster care residence, a family adult foster care residence, a community residential setting, or a supervised living facility;

(ii) foster care services as defined in the brain injury, community alternative care, and community access for disability inclusion waiver plans provided in a family or corporate child foster care residence, a family adult foster care residence, or a community residential setting;

(iii) community residential services as defined under the brain injury, community alternative care, community access for disability inclusion, and developmental disabilities waiver plans provided in a corporate child foster care residence, a community residential setting, or a supervised living facility;

(iv) family residential services as defined in the brain injury, community alternative care, community access for disability inclusion, and developmental disabilities waiver plans provided in a family child foster care residence or a family adult foster care residence; and

(v) residential services provided to more than four persons with developmental disabilities in a supervised living facility, including ICFs/DD; and

(vi) life sharing as defined in the brain injury, community alternative care, community access for disability inclusion, and developmental disabilities waiver plans;

(4) day services, including:

(i) structured day services as defined under the brain injury waiver plan;

(ii) day services under sections 252.41 to 252.46, and as defined under the brain injury, community alternative care, community access for disability inclusion, and developmental disabilities waiver plans;

(iii) day training and habilitation services under sections 252.41 to 252.46, and as defined under the developmental disabilities waiver plan; and

(iv) prevocational services as defined under the brain injury, community alternative care, community access for disability inclusion, and developmental disabilities waiver plans; and

(5) employment exploration services as defined under the brain injury, community alternative care, community access for disability inclusion, and developmental disabilities waiver plans;

(6) employment development services as defined under the brain injury, community alternative care, community access for disability inclusion, and developmental disabilities waiver plans;

(7) employment support services as defined under the brain injury, community alternative care, community access for disability inclusion, and developmental disabilities waiver plans; and

(8) integrated community support as defined under the brain injury and community access for disability inclusion waiver plans beginning January 1, 2021, and community alternative care and developmental disabilities waiver plans beginning January 1, 2023.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2026, or upon federal approval, whichever is later. The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.

# Sec. 8. [245D.261] COMMUNITY RESIDENTIAL SETTINGS; REMOTE OVERNIGHT SUPERVISION.

Subdivision 1. **Definitions.** (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have the meanings given them, unless otherwise specified.

(b) "Resident" means an adult residing in a community residential setting.

(c) "Technology" means:

(1) enabling technology, which is a device capable of live, two-way communication or engagement between a resident and direct support staff at a remote location; or

(2) monitoring technology, which is the use of equipment to oversee, monitor, and supervise an individual who receives medical assistance waiver or alternative care services under section 256B.0913, 256B.092, or 256B.49 or chapter 256S.

Subd. 2. Documentation of permissible remote overnight supervision. A license holder providing remote overnight supervision in a community residential setting in lieu of on-site direct support staff must comply with the requirements of this chapter, including the requirement under section 245D.02, subdivision 33b, paragraph (a), clause (3), that the absence of direct support staff from the community residential setting while services are being delivered must be documented in the resident's support plan or support plan addendum.

<u>Subd. 3.</u> <u>Provider requirements for remote overnight supervision; commissioner notification.</u> (a) A license holder providing remote overnight supervision in a community residential setting must:

(1) use technology;

(2) notify the commissioner of the community residential setting's intent to use technology in lieu of on-site staff. The notification must:

(i) indicate a start date for the use of technology; and

(ii) attest that all requirements under this section are met and policies required under subdivision 4 are available upon request;

(3) clearly state in each person's support plan addendum that the community residential setting is a program without the in-person presence of overnight direct support;

(4) include with each person's support plan addendum the license holder's protocols for responding to situations that present a serious risk to the health, safety, or rights of residents served by the program; and

(5) include in each person's support plan addendum the person's maximum permissible response time as determined by the person's support team.

(b) Upon being notified via technology that an incident has occurred that may jeopardize the health, safety, or rights of a resident, the license holder must conduct an evaluation of the need for the physical presence of a staff member. If a physical presence is needed, a staff person, volunteer, or contractor must be on site to respond to the situation within the resident's maximum permissible response time.

(c) A license holder must notify the commissioner if remote overnight supervision technology will no longer be used by the license holder.

(d) When no physical presence response is completed for a three-month period, the license holder must conduct a physical presence response drill. The effectiveness of the response protocol must be reviewed and documented.

(e) Upon receipt of notification of use of remote overnight supervision or discontinuation of use of remote overnight supervision by a license holder, the commissioner shall notify the county licensing agency and update the license.

Subd. 4. <u>Required policies and procedures for remote overnight supervision.</u> (a) A license holder providing remote overnight supervision must have policies and procedures that:

(1) protect the residents' health, safety, and rights;

(2) explain the discharge process if a person served by the program requires in-person supervision or other services that cannot be provided by the license holder due to the limited hours that direct support staff are on site;

(3) explain the backup system for technology in times of electrical outages or other equipment malfunctions;

(4) explain how the license holder trains the direct support staff on the use of the technology; and

(5) establish a plan for dispatching emergency response personnel to the site in the event of an identified emergency.

(b) Nothing in this section requires the license holder to develop or maintain separate or duplicative policies, procedures, documentation, consent forms, or individual plans that may be required for other licensing standards if the requirements of this section are incorporated into those documents.

Subd. 5. Consent to use of monitoring technology. If a license holder uses monitoring technology in a community residential setting, the license holder must obtain a signed informed consent form from each resident served by the program or the resident's legal representative documenting the resident's or legal representative's agreement to use of the specific monitoring technology used in the setting. The informed consent form documenting this agreement must also explain:

(1) how the license holder uses monitoring technology to provide remote supervision;

(2) the risks and benefits of using monitoring technology;

(3) how the license holder protects each resident's privacy while monitoring technology is being used in the setting; and

(4) how the license holder protects each resident's privacy when the monitoring technology system electronically records personally identifying data.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2024.

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 252.44, is amended to read:

### 252.44 LEAD AGENCY BOARD RESPONSIBILITIES.

When the need for day services in a county or Tribe has been determined under section 252.28, the board of commissioners for that lead agency shall:

(1) authorize the delivery of services according to the support plans and support plan addendums required as part of the lead agency's provision of case management services under sections 256B.0913, subdivision 8; 256B.092, subdivision 1b; 256B.49, subdivision 15; and 256S.10 and Minnesota Rules, parts 9525.0004 to 9525.0036;

(2) ensure that transportation is provided or arranged by the vendor in the most efficient and reasonable way possible; and

(3) monitor and evaluate the cost and effectiveness of the services-;

(4) ensure that on or after August 1, 2026, employers do not hire any new employee at a wage that is less than the highest applicable minimum wage, regardless of whether the employer holds a special certificate from the United States Department of Labor under section 14(c) of the federal Fair Labor Standards Act; and

(5) ensure that on or after August 1, 2028, any day service program, including county, Tribal, or privately funded day services, pay employees with disabilities the highest applicable minimum wage, regardless of whether the employer holds a special certificate from the United States Department of Labor under section 14(c) of the federal Fair Labor Standards Act.

### Sec. 10. [252.54] STATEWIDE DISABILITY EMPLOYMENT TECHNICAL ASSISTANCE CENTER.

<u>The commissioner must establish a statewide technical assistance center to provide resources and assistance to programs, people, and families to support individuals with disabilities to achieve meaningful and competitive employment in integrated settings. Duties of the technical assistance center include but are not limited to:</u>

(1) offering provider business model transition support to ensure ongoing access to employment and day services;

(2) identifying and providing training on innovative, promising, and emerging practices;

(3) maintaining a resource clearinghouse to serve as a hub of information to ensure programs, people, and families have access to high-quality materials and information;

(4) fostering innovation and actionable progress by providing direct technical assistance to programs; and

(5) cultivating partnerships and mentorship across support programs, people, and families in the exploration of and successful transition to competitive, integrated employment.

## Sec. 11. [252.55] LEAD AGENCY EMPLOYMENT FIRST CAPACITY BUILDING GRANTS.

The commissioner shall establish a grant program to expand lead agency capacity to support people with disabilities to contemplate, explore, and maintain competitive, integrated employment options. Allowable uses of money include:

(1) enhancing resources and staffing to support people and families in understanding employment options and navigating service options;

6252

54TH DAY]

(2) implementing and testing innovative approaches to better support people with disabilities and their families in achieving competitive, integrated employment; and

(3) other activities approved by the commissioner.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2023.

Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256.482, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 9. **Report to legislature.** On or before January 15, 2025, and annually on January 15 thereafter, the Minnesota Council on Disability shall submit a report to the chair and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over state government finance and local government specifying the number of cities and counties that received training or technical assistance on website accessibility, the outcomes of website accessibility training and outreach, the costs incurred by cities and counties to make website accessibility improvements, and any other information that the council deems relevant.

Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.056, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Asset limitations for certain individuals. (a) To be eligible for medical assistance, a person must not individually own more than \$3,000 in assets, or if a member of a household with two family members, husband and wife, or parent and child, the household must not own more than \$6,000 in assets, plus \$200 for each additional legal dependent. In addition to these maximum amounts, an eligible individual or family may accrue interest on these amounts, but they must be reduced to the maximum at the time of an eligibility redetermination. The accumulation of the clothing and personal needs allowance according to section 256B.35 must also be reduced to the maximum at the time of the eligibility redetermination. The value of assets that are not considered in determining eligibility for medical assistance is the value of those assets excluded under the Supplemental Security Income program for aged, blind, and disabled persons, with the following exceptions:

(1) household goods and personal effects are not considered;

(2) capital and operating assets of a trade or business that the local agency determines are necessary to the person's ability to earn an income are not considered;

(3) motor vehicles are excluded to the same extent excluded by the Supplemental Security Income program;

(4) assets designated as burial expenses are excluded to the same extent excluded by the Supplemental Security Income program. Burial expenses funded by annuity contracts or life insurance policies must irrevocably designate the individual's estate as contingent beneficiary to the extent proceeds are not used for payment of selected burial expenses;

(5) for a person who no longer qualifies as an employed person with a disability due to loss of earnings, assets allowed while eligible for medical assistance under section 256B.057, subdivision 9, are not considered for 12 months, beginning with the first month of ineligibility as an employed person with a disability, to the extent that the person's total assets remain within the allowed limits of section 256B.057, subdivision 9, paragraph (d);

(6) a designated employment incentives asset account is disregarded when determining eligibility for medical assistance for a person age 65 years or older under section 256B.055, subdivision 7. An employment incentives asset account must only be designated by a person who has been enrolled in medical assistance under section 256B.057, subdivision 9, for a 24-consecutive-month period. A designated employment incentives asset account contains qualified assets owned by the person and the person's spouse in the last month of enrollment in medical assistance under section 256B.057, subdivision 9. Qualified assets include retirement and pension accounts, medical

### JOURNAL OF THE HOUSE

expense accounts, and up to \$17,000 of the person's other nonexcluded <u>liquid</u> assets. An employment incentives asset account is no longer designated when a person loses medical assistance eligibility for a calendar month or more before turning age 65. A person who loses medical assistance eligibility before age 65 can establish a new designated employment incentives asset account by establishing a new 24-consecutive-month period of enrollment under section 256B.057, subdivision 9. The income of a spouse of a person enrolled in medical assistance under section 256B.057, subdivision 9, during each of the 24 consecutive months before the person's 65th birthday must be disregarded when determining eligibility for medical assistance under section 256B.055, subdivision 7. Persons eligible under this clause are not subject to the provisions in section 256B.059; and

(7) effective July 1, 2009, certain assets owned by American Indians are excluded as required by section 5006 of the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009, Public Law 111-5. For purposes of this clause, an American Indian is any person who meets the definition of Indian according to Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 447.50.

(b) No asset limit shall apply to persons eligible under section 256B.055, subdivision 15.

### **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.057, subdivision 9, is amended to read:

Subd. 9. Employed persons with disabilities. (a) Medical assistance may be paid for a person who is employed and who:

(1) but for excess earnings or assets, meets the definition of disabled under the Supplemental Security Income program;

(2) meets the asset limits in paragraph (d); and

(3) pays a premium and other obligations under paragraph (e).

(b) For purposes of eligibility, there is a \$65 earned income disregard. To be eligible for medical assistance under this subdivision, a person must have more than \$65 of earned income. Earned income must have Medicare, Social Security, and applicable state and federal taxes withheld. The person must document earned income tax withholding. Any spousal income or assets shall be disregarded for purposes of eligibility and premium determinations.

(c) After the month of enrollment, a person enrolled in medical assistance under this subdivision who:

(1) is temporarily unable to work and without receipt of earned income due to a medical condition, as verified by a physician, advanced practice registered nurse, or physician assistant; or

(2) loses employment for reasons not attributable to the enrollee, and is without receipt of earned income may retain eligibility for up to four consecutive months after the month of job loss. To receive a four-month extension, enrollees must verify the medical condition or provide notification of job loss. All other eligibility requirements must be met and the enrollee must pay all calculated premium costs for continued eligibility.

(d) For purposes of determining eligibility under this subdivision, a person's assets must not exceed \$20,000, excluding:

(1) all assets excluded under section 256B.056;

(2) retirement accounts, including individual accounts, 401(k) plans, 403(b) plans, Keogh plans, and pension plans;

(3) medical expense accounts set up through the person's employer; and

(4) spousal assets, including spouse's share of jointly held assets.

(e) All enrollees must pay a premium to be eligible for medical assistance under this subdivision, except as provided under clause (5).

(1) An enrollee must pay the greater of a \$35 premium or the premium calculated based on the person's gross earned and unearned income and the applicable family size using a sliding fee scale established by the commissioner, which begins at one percent of income at 100 percent of the federal poverty guidelines and increases to 7.5 percent of income for those with incomes at or above 300 percent of the federal poverty guidelines.

(2) Annual adjustments in the premium schedule based upon changes in the federal poverty guidelines shall be effective for premiums due in July of each year.

(3) All enrollees who receive unearned income must pay one-half of one percent of unearned income in addition to the premium amount, except as provided under clause (5).

(4) Increases in benefits under title II of the Social Security Act shall not be counted as income for purposes of this subdivision until July 1 of each year.

(5) Effective July 1, 2009, American Indians are exempt from paying premiums as required by section 5006 of the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009, Public Law 111-5. For purposes of this clause, an American Indian is any person who meets the definition of Indian according to Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 447.50.

(f) A person's eligibility and premium shall be determined by the local county agency. Premiums must be paid to the commissioner. All premiums are dedicated to the commissioner.

(g) Any required premium shall be determined at application and redetermined at the enrollee's six-month income review or when a change in income or household size is reported. Enrollees must report any change in income or household size within ten days of when the change occurs. A decreased premium resulting from a reported change in income or household size shall be effective the first day of the next available billing month after the change is reported. Except for changes occurring from annual cost-of-living increases, a change resulting in an increased premium shall not affect the premium amount until the next six-month review.

(h) Premium payment is due upon notification from the commissioner of the premium amount required. Premiums may be paid in installments at the discretion of the commissioner.

(i) Nonpayment of the premium shall result in denial or termination of medical assistance unless the person demonstrates good cause for nonpayment. "Good cause" means an excuse for the enrollee's failure to pay the required premium when due because the circumstances were beyond the enrollee's control or not reasonably foreseeable. The commissioner shall determine whether good cause exists based on the weight of the supporting evidence submitted by the enrollee to demonstrate good cause. Except when an installment agreement is accepted by the commissioner, all persons disenrolled for nonpayment of a premium must pay any past due premiums as well as current premiums due prior to being reenrolled. Nonpayment shall include payment with a returned, refused, or dishonored instrument. The commissioner may require a guaranteed form of payment as the only means to replace a returned, refused, or dishonored instrument.

(j) The commissioner is authorized to determine that a premium amount was calculated or billed in error, make corrections to financial records and billing systems, and refund premiums collected in error.

(j) (k) For enrollees whose income does not exceed 200 percent of the federal poverty guidelines and who are also enrolled in Medicare, the commissioner shall reimburse the enrollee for Medicare part B premiums under section 256B.0625, subdivision 15, paragraph (a).

### **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.0659, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. **Definitions.** (a) For the purposes of this section, the terms defined in paragraphs (b) to (r) have the meanings given unless otherwise provided in text.

(b) "Activities of daily living" means grooming, dressing, bathing, transferring, mobility, positioning, eating, and toileting.

(c) "Behavior," effective January 1, 2010, means a category to determine the home care rating and is based on the criteria found in this section. "Level I behavior" means physical aggression towards towards self, others, or destruction of property that requires the immediate response of another person.

(d) "Complex health-related needs," effective January 1, 2010, means a category to determine the home care rating and is based on the criteria found in this section.

(e) "Critical activities of daily living," effective January 1, 2010, means transferring, mobility, eating, and toileting.

(f) "Dependency in activities of daily living" means a person requires assistance to begin and complete one or more of the activities of daily living.

(g) "Extended personal care assistance service" means personal care assistance services included in a service plan under one of the home and community-based services waivers authorized under chapter 256S and sections 256B.092, subdivision 5, and 256B.49, which exceed the amount, duration, and frequency of the state plan personal care assistance services for participants who:

(1) need assistance provided periodically during a week, but less than daily will not be able to remain in their homes without the assistance, and other replacement services are more expensive or are not available when personal care assistance services are to be reduced; or

(2) need additional personal care assistance services beyond the amount authorized by the state plan personal care assistance assessment in order to ensure that their safety, health, and welfare are provided for in their homes.

(h) "Health-related procedures and tasks" means procedures and tasks that can be delegated or assigned by a licensed health care professional under state law to be performed by a personal care assistant.

(i) "Instrumental activities of daily living" means activities to include meal planning and preparation; basic assistance with paying bills; shopping for food, clothing, and other essential items; performing household tasks integral to the personal care assistance services; communication by telephone and other media; and traveling, including to medical appointments and to participate in the community. For purposes of this paragraph, traveling includes driving and accompanying the recipient in the recipient's chosen mode of transportation and according to the recipient's personal care assistance care plan.

(j) "Managing employee" has the same definition as Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 455.

(k) "Qualified professional" means a professional providing supervision of personal care assistance services and staff as defined in section 256B.0625, subdivision 19c.

(1) "Personal care assistance provider agency" means a medical assistance enrolled provider that provides or assists with providing personal care assistance services and includes a personal care assistance provider organization, personal care assistance choice agency, class A licensed nursing agency, and Medicare-certified home health agency.

(m) "Personal care assistant" or "PCA" means an individual employed by a personal care assistance agency who provides personal care assistance services.

(n) "Personal care assistance care plan" means a written description of personal care assistance services developed by the personal care assistance provider according to the service plan.

(o) "Responsible party" means an individual who is capable of providing the support necessary to assist the recipient to live in the community.

(p) "Self-administered medication" means medication taken orally, by injection, nebulizer, or insertion, or applied topically without the need for assistance.

(q) "Service plan" means a written summary of the assessment and description of the services needed by the recipient.

(r) "Wages and benefits" means wages and salaries, the employer's share of FICA taxes, Medicare taxes, state and federal unemployment taxes, workers' compensation, mileage reimbursement, health and dental insurance, life insurance, disability insurance, long-term care insurance, uniform allowance, and contributions to employee retirement accounts.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective 90 days following federal approval. The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.

Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.0659, subdivision 12, is amended to read:

Subd. 12. **Documentation of personal care assistance services provided.** (a) Personal care assistance services for a recipient must be documented daily by each personal care assistant, on a time sheet form approved by the commissioner. All documentation may be web-based, electronic, or paper documentation. The completed form must be submitted on a monthly basis to the provider and kept in the recipient's health record.

(b) The activity documentation must correspond to the personal care assistance care plan and be reviewed by the qualified professional.

(c) The personal care assistant time sheet must be on a form approved by the commissioner documenting time the personal care assistant provides services in the home. The following criteria must be included in the time sheet:

(1) full name of personal care assistant and individual provider number;

(2) provider name and telephone numbers;

(3) full name of recipient and either the recipient's medical assistance identification number or date of birth;

(4) consecutive dates, including month, day, and year, and arrival and departure times with a.m. or p.m. notations;

(5) signatures of recipient or the responsible party;

(6) personal signature of the personal care assistant;

(7) any shared care provided, if applicable;

(8) a statement that it is a federal crime to provide false information on personal care service billings for medical assistance payments; and

(9) dates and location of recipient stays in a hospital, care facility, or incarceration-; and

(10) any time spent traveling, as described in subdivision 1, paragraph (i), including start and stop times with a.m. and p.m. designations, the origination site, and the destination site.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective 90 days following federal approval. The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.

Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.0659, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 14a. **Qualified professional; remote supervision.** (a) For recipients with chronic health conditions or severely compromised immune systems, a qualified professional may conduct the supervision required under subdivision 14 via two-way interactive audio and visual telecommunication if, at the recipient's request, the recipient's primary health care provider:

(1) determines that remote supervision is appropriate; and

(2) documents the determination under clause (1) in a statement of need or other document that is subsequently included in the recipient's personal care assistance care plan.

(b) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, a care plan developed or amended via remote supervision may be executed by electronic signature.

(c) A personal care assistance provider agency must not conduct its first supervisory visit for a recipient and complete its initial personal care assistance care plan via a remote visit.

(d) A recipient may request to return to in-person supervisory visits at any time.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2023, or upon federal approval, whichever is later. The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.

Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.0659, subdivision 19, is amended to read:

Subd. 19. **Personal care assistance choice option; qualifications; duties.** (a) Under personal care assistance choice, the recipient or responsible party shall:

(1) recruit, hire, schedule, and terminate personal care assistants according to the terms of the written agreement required under subdivision 20, paragraph (a);

(2) develop a personal care assistance care plan based on the assessed needs and addressing the health and safety of the recipient with the assistance of a qualified professional as needed;

(3) orient and train the personal care assistant with assistance as needed from the qualified professional;

(4) supervise and evaluate the personal care assistant with the qualified professional, who is required to visit the recipient at least every 180 days;

(5) monitor and verify in writing and report to the personal care assistance choice agency the number of hours worked by the personal care assistant and the qualified professional;

(6) engage in an annual reassessment as required in subdivision 3a to determine continuing eligibility and service authorization; and

(7) use the same personal care assistance choice provider agency if shared personal assistance care is being used-; and

(8) ensure that a personal care assistant driving the recipient under subdivision 1, paragraph (i), has a valid driver's license and the vehicle used is registered and insured according to Minnesota law.

(b) The personal care assistance choice provider agency shall:

(1) meet all personal care assistance provider agency standards;

(2) enter into a written agreement with the recipient, responsible party, and personal care assistants;

(3) not be related as a parent, child, sibling, or spouse to the recipient or the personal care assistant; and

(4) ensure arm's-length transactions without undue influence or coercion with the recipient and personal care assistant.

(c) The duties of the personal care assistance choice provider agency are to:

(1) be the employer of the personal care assistant and the qualified professional for employment law and related regulations including but not limited to purchasing and maintaining workers' compensation, unemployment insurance, surety and fidelity bonds, and liability insurance, and submit any or all necessary documentation including but not limited to workers' compensation, unemployment insurance, and labor market data required under section 256B.4912, subdivision 1a;

(2) bill the medical assistance program for personal care assistance services and qualified professional services;

(3) request and complete background studies that comply with the requirements for personal care assistants and qualified professionals;

(4) pay the personal care assistant and qualified professional based on actual hours of services provided;

(5) withhold and pay all applicable federal and state taxes;

(6) verify and keep records of hours worked by the personal care assistant and qualified professional;

(7) make the arrangements and pay taxes and other benefits, if any, and comply with any legal requirements for a Minnesota employer;

(8) enroll in the medical assistance program as a personal care assistance choice agency; and

(9) enter into a written agreement as specified in subdivision 20 before services are provided.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective 90 days following federal approval. The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.

Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.0659, subdivision 24, is amended to read:

Subd. 24. **Personal care assistance provider agency; general duties.** A personal care assistance provider agency shall:

(1) enroll as a Medicaid provider meeting all provider standards, including completion of the required provider training;

(2) comply with general medical assistance coverage requirements;

(3) demonstrate compliance with law and policies of the personal care assistance program to be determined by the commissioner;

(4) comply with background study requirements;

(5) verify and keep records of hours worked by the personal care assistant and qualified professional;

(6) not engage in any agency-initiated direct contact or marketing in person, by phone, or other electronic means to potential recipients, guardians, or family members;

(7) pay the personal care assistant and qualified professional based on actual hours of services provided;

(8) withhold and pay all applicable federal and state taxes;

(9) document that the agency uses a minimum of 72.5 percent of the revenue generated by the medical assistance rate for personal care assistance services for employee personal care assistant wages and benefits. The revenue generated by the qualified professional and the reasonable costs associated with the qualified professional shall not be used in making this calculation;

(10) make the arrangements and pay unemployment insurance, taxes, workers' compensation, liability insurance, and other benefits, if any;

(11) enter into a written agreement under subdivision 20 before services are provided;

(12) report suspected neglect and abuse to the common entry point according to section 256B.0651;

(13) provide the recipient with a copy of the home care bill of rights at start of service;

(14) request reassessments at least 60 days prior to the end of the current authorization for personal care assistance services, on forms provided by the commissioner;

(15) comply with the labor market reporting requirements described in section 256B.4912, subdivision 1a; and

(16) document that the agency uses the additional revenue due to the enhanced rate under subdivision 17a for the wages and benefits of the PCAs whose services meet the requirements under subdivision 11, paragraph (d)- $\frac{1}{2}$  and

(17) ensure that a personal care assistant driving a recipient under subdivision 1, paragraph (i), has a valid driver's license and the vehicle used is registered and insured according to Minnesota law.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective 90 days following federal approval. The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.

Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.0911, subdivision 13, is amended to read:

Subd. 13. **MnCHOICES assessor qualifications, training, and certification.** (a) The commissioner shall develop and implement a curriculum and an assessor certification process.

(b) MnCHOICES certified assessors must:

(1) either have a bachelor's degree in social work, nursing with a public health nursing certificate, or other closely related field with at least one year of home and community based experience or be a registered nurse with at least two years of home and community-based experience; and

(2) have received training and certification specific to assessment and consultation for long-term care services in the state.

(c) Certified assessors shall demonstrate best practices in assessment and support planning, including person-centered planning principles, and have a common set of skills that ensures consistency and equitable access to services statewide.

(d) Certified assessors must be recertified every three years.

Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.092, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:

Subd. 1a. **Case management services.** (a) Each recipient of a home and community-based waiver shall be provided case management services by qualified vendors as described in the federally approved waiver application.

(b) Case management service activities provided to or arranged for a person include:

(1) development of the person-centered support plan under subdivision 1b;

(2) informing the individual or the individual's legal guardian or conservator, or parent if the person is a minor, of service options, including all service options available under the waiver plan;

(3) consulting with relevant medical experts or service providers;

(4) assisting the person in the identification of potential providers of chosen services, including:

(i) providers of services provided in a non-disability-specific setting;

(ii) employment service providers;

(iii) providers of services provided in settings that are not controlled by a provider; and

(iv) providers of financial management services;

(5) assisting the person to access services and assisting in appeals under section 256.045;

(6) coordination of services, if coordination is not provided by another service provider;

(7) evaluation and monitoring of the services identified in the support plan, which must incorporate at least one annual face-to-face visit by the case manager with each person; and

(8) reviewing support plans and providing the lead agency with recommendations for service authorization based upon the individual's needs identified in the support plan.

(c) Case management service activities that are provided to the person with a developmental disability shall be provided directly by county agencies or under contract. If a county agency contracts for case management services, the county agency must provide each recipient of home and community-based services who is receiving contracted case management services with the contact information the recipient may use to file a grievance with the county agency about the quality of the contracted services the recipient is receiving from a county-contracted case manager. Case management services must be provided by a public or private agency that is enrolled as a medical assistance provider determined by the commissioner to meet all of the requirements in the approved federal waiver plans. Case management services must not be provided to a recipient by a private agency that has a financial interest in the provision of any other services included in the recipient's support plan. For purposes of this section, "private agency" means any agency that is not identified as a lead agency under section 256B.0911, subdivision 10.

(d) Case managers are responsible for service provisions listed in paragraphs (a) and (b). Case managers shall collaborate with consumers, families, legal representatives, and relevant medical experts and service providers in the development and annual review of the person-centered support plan and habilitation plan.

(e) For persons who need a positive support transition plan as required in chapter 245D, the case manager shall participate in the development and ongoing evaluation of the plan with the expanded support team. At least quarterly, the case manager, in consultation with the expanded support team, shall evaluate the effectiveness of the plan based on progress evaluation data submitted by the licensed provider to the case manager. The evaluation must identify whether the plan has been developed and implemented in a manner to achieve the following within the required timelines:

- (1) phasing out the use of prohibited procedures;
- (2) acquisition of skills needed to eliminate the prohibited procedures within the plan's timeline; and
- (3) accomplishment of identified outcomes.

If adequate progress is not being made, the case manager shall consult with the person's expanded support team to identify needed modifications and whether additional professional support is required to provide consultation.

(f) The Department of Human Services shall offer ongoing education in case management to case managers. Case managers shall receive no less than ten 20 hours of case management education and disability-related training each year. The education and training must include person-centered planning, informed choice, cultural competency, employment planning, community living planning, self-direction options, and use of technology supports. By August 1, 2024, all case managers must complete an employment support training course identified by the commissioner of human services. For case managers hired after August 1, 2024, this training must be completed

# FRIDAY, APRIL 21, 2023

within the first six months of providing case management services. For the purposes of this section, "person-centered planning" or "person-centered" has the meaning given in section 256B.0911, subdivision 10. Case managers must document completion of training in a system identified by the commissioner.

Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.0949, subdivision 15, is amended to read:

Subd. 15. EIDBI provider qualifications. (a) A QSP must be employed by an agency and be:

(1) a licensed mental health professional who has at least 2,000 hours of supervised clinical experience or training in examining or treating people with ASD or a related condition or equivalent documented coursework at the graduate level by an accredited university in ASD diagnostics, ASD developmental and behavioral treatment strategies, and typical child development; or

(2) a developmental or behavioral pediatrician who has at least 2,000 hours of supervised clinical experience or training in examining or treating people with ASD or a related condition or equivalent documented coursework at the graduate level by an accredited university in the areas of ASD diagnostics, ASD developmental and behavioral treatment strategies, and typical child development.

(b) A level I treatment provider must be employed by an agency and:

(1) have at least 2,000 hours of supervised clinical experience or training in examining or treating people with ASD or a related condition or equivalent documented coursework at the graduate level by an accredited university in ASD diagnostics, ASD developmental and behavioral treatment strategies, and typical child development or an equivalent combination of documented coursework or hours of experience; and

(2) have or be at least one of the following:

(i) a master's degree in behavioral health or child development or related fields including, but not limited to, mental health, special education, social work, psychology, speech pathology, or occupational therapy from an accredited college or university;

(ii) a bachelor's degree in a behavioral health, child development, or related field including, but not limited to, mental health, special education, social work, psychology, speech pathology, or occupational therapy, from an accredited college or university, and advanced certification in a treatment modality recognized by the department;

(iii) a board-certified behavior analyst; or

(iv) a board-certified assistant behavior analyst with 4,000 hours of supervised clinical experience that meets all registration, supervision, and continuing education requirements of the certification.

(c) A level II treatment provider must be employed by an agency and must be:

(1) a person who has a bachelor's degree from an accredited college or university in a behavioral or child development science or related field including, but not limited to, mental health, special education, social work, psychology, speech pathology, or occupational therapy; and meets at least one of the following:

(i) has at least 1,000 hours of supervised clinical experience or training in examining or treating people with ASD or a related condition or equivalent documented coursework at the graduate level by an accredited university in ASD diagnostics, ASD developmental and behavioral treatment strategies, and typical child development or a combination of coursework or hours of experience;

JOURNAL OF THE HOUSE

(ii) has certification as a board-certified assistant behavior analyst from the Behavior Analyst Certification Board;

(iii) is a registered behavior technician as defined by the Behavior Analyst Certification Board; or

(iv) is certified in one of the other treatment modalities recognized by the department; or

(2) a person who has:

(i) an associate's degree in a behavioral or child development science or related field including, but not limited to, mental health, special education, social work, psychology, speech pathology, or occupational therapy from an accredited college or university; and

(ii) at least 2,000 hours of supervised clinical experience in delivering treatment to people with ASD or a related condition. Hours worked as a mental health behavioral aide or level III treatment provider may be included in the required hours of experience; or

(3) a person who has at least 4,000 hours of supervised clinical experience in delivering treatment to people with ASD or a related condition. Hours worked as a mental health behavioral aide or level III treatment provider may be included in the required hours of experience; or

(4) a person who is a graduate student in a behavioral science, child development science, or related field and is receiving clinical supervision by a QSP affiliated with an agency to meet the clinical training requirements for experience and training with people with ASD or a related condition; or

(5) a person who is at least 18 years of age and who:

(i) is fluent in a non-English language or is an individual certified by a Tribal nation;

(ii) completed the level III EIDBI training requirements; and

(iii) receives observation and direction from a QSP or level I treatment provider at least once a week until the person meets 1,000 hours of supervised clinical experience.

(d) A level III treatment provider must be employed by an agency, have completed the level III training requirement, be at least 18 years of age, and have at least one of the following:

(1) a high school diploma or commissioner of education-selected high school equivalency certification;

(2) fluency in a non-English language or Tribal nation certification;

(3) one year of experience as a primary personal care assistant, community health worker, waiver service provider, or special education assistant to a person with ASD or a related condition within the previous five years; or

(4) completion of all required EIDBI training within six months of employment.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2024, or upon federal approval, whichever is later. The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.

Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.49, subdivision 13, is amended to read:

Subd. 13. **Case management.** (a) Each recipient of a home and community-based waiver shall be provided case management services by qualified vendors as described in the federally approved waiver application. The case management service activities provided must include:

(1) finalizing the person-centered written support plan within the timelines established by the commissioner and section 256B.0911, subdivision 29;

(2) informing the recipient or the recipient's legal guardian or conservator of service options, including all service options available under the waiver plans;

(3) assisting the recipient in the identification of potential service providers of chosen services, including:

(i) available options for case management service and providers;

(ii) providers of services provided in a non-disability-specific setting;

(iii) employment service providers;

(iv) providers of services provided in settings that are not community residential settings; and

(v) providers of financial management services;

(4) assisting the recipient to access services and assisting with appeals under section 256.045; and

(5) coordinating, evaluating, and monitoring of the services identified in the service plan.

(b) The case manager may delegate certain aspects of the case management service activities to another individual provided there is oversight by the case manager. The case manager may not delegate those aspects which require professional judgment including:

(1) finalizing the person-centered support plan;

(2) ongoing assessment and monitoring of the person's needs and adequacy of the approved person-centered support plan; and

(3) adjustments to the person-centered support plan.

(c) Case management services must be provided by a public or private agency that is enrolled as a medical assistance provider determined by the commissioner to meet all of the requirements in the approved federal waiver plans. Case management services must not be provided to a recipient by a private agency that has any financial interest in the provision of any other services included in the recipient's support plan. For purposes of this section, "private agency" means any agency that is not identified as a lead agency under section 256B.0911, subdivision 10.

(d) For persons who need a positive support transition plan as required in chapter 245D, the case manager shall participate in the development and ongoing evaluation of the plan with the expanded support team. At least quarterly, the case manager, in consultation with the expanded support team, shall evaluate the effectiveness of the plan based on progress evaluation data submitted by the licensed provider to the case manager. The evaluation must identify whether the plan has been developed and implemented in a manner to achieve the following within the required timelines:

(1) phasing out the use of prohibited procedures;

(2) acquisition of skills needed to eliminate the prohibited procedures within the plan's timeline; and

(3) accomplishment of identified outcomes.

If adequate progress is not being made, the case manager shall consult with the person's expanded support team to identify needed modifications and whether additional professional support is required to provide consultation.

(e) The Department of Human Services shall offer ongoing education in case management to case managers. Case managers shall receive no less than ten 20 hours of case management education and disability-related training each year. The education and training must include person-centered planning, informed choice, cultural competency, employment planning, community living planning, self-direction options, and use of technology supports. By August 1, 2024, all case managers must complete an employment support training must be completed within the first six months of providing case management services. For the purposes of this section, "person-centered planning" or "person-centered" has the meaning given in section 256B.0911, subdivision 10. Case managers shall document completion of training in a system identified by the commissioner.

Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.4905, subdivision 4a, is amended to read:

Subd. 4a. **Informed choice in employment policy.** It is the policy of this state that working-age individuals who have disabilities:

(1) can work and achieve competitive integrated employment with appropriate services and supports, as needed;

(2) make informed choices about their postsecondary education, work, and career goals; and

(3) will be offered the opportunity to make an informed choice, at least annually, to pursue postsecondary education or to work and earn a competitive wage-; and

(4) will be offered benefits planning assistance and supports to understand available work incentive programs and to understand the impact of work on benefits.

# Sec. 25. [256B.4906] SUBMINIMUM WAGES IN HOME AND COMMUNITY-BASED SERVICES PROHIBITION; REQUIREMENTS.

Subdivision 1. Subminimum wage outcome reporting. (a) A provider of home and community-based services for people with developmental disabilities under section 256B.092 or home and community-based services for people with disabilities under section 256B.49 that holds a credential listed in clause (1) or (2) as of August 1, 2023, must submit to the commissioner of human services data on individuals who are currently being paid subminimum wages or were being paid subminimum wages by the provider organization as of August 1, 2023:

(1) a certificate through the United States Department of Labor under United States Code, title 29, section 214(c), of the Fair Labor Standards Act authorizing the payment of subminimum wages to workers with disabilities; or

(2) a permit by the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry under section 177.28.

(b) The report required under paragraph (a) must include the following data about each individual being paid subminimum wages:

(1) name;

(2) date of birth;

(3) identified race and ethnicity;

(4) disability type;

(5) key employment status measures as determined by the commissioner; and

(6) key community-life engagement measures as determined by the commissioner.

(c) The information in paragraph (b) must be submitted in a format determined by the commissioner.

(d) A provider must submit the data required under this section annually on a date specified by the commissioner. The commissioner must give a provider at least 30 calendar days to submit the data following notice of the due date. If a provider fails to submit the requested data by the date specified by the commissioner, the commissioner may delay medical assistance reimbursement until the requested data is submitted.

(e) Individually identifiable data submitted to the commissioner under this section are considered private data on individuals as defined by section 13.02, subdivision 12.

(f) The commissioner must analyze data annually for tracking employment and community-life engagement outcomes.

Subd. 2. **Prohibition of subminimum wages.** Providers of home and community-based services are prohibited from paying a person with a disability wages below the state minimum wage pursuant to section 177.24, or below the prevailing local minimum wage on the basis of the person's disability. A special certificate authorizing the payment of less than the minimum wage to a person with a disability issued pursuant to a law of this state or to a federal law is without effect as of August 1, 2028.

Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.4914, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. **Applicable services.** Applicable services are those authorized under the state's home and community-based services waivers under sections 256B.092 and 256B.49, including the following, as defined in the federally approved home and community-based services plan:

- (1) 24-hour customized living;
- (2) adult day services;
- (3) adult day services bath;
- (4) community residential services;
- (5) customized living;
- (6) day support services;
- (7) employment development services;
- (8) employment exploration services;
- (9) employment support services;

(10) family residential services;

(11) individualized home supports;

(12) individualized home supports with family training;

(13) individualized home supports with training;

(14) integrated community supports;

(15) life sharing;

(15) (16) night supervision;

(16) (17) positive support services;

(17) (18) prevocational services;

(18) (19) residential support services;

(19) (20) respite services;

(20) (21) transportation services; and

(21) (22) other services as approved by the federal government in the state home and community-based services waiver plan.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2026, or upon federal approval, whichever is later. The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.

Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.4914, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. Base wage index; establishment and updates. (a) The base wage index is established to determine staffing costs associated with providing services to individuals receiving home and community-based services. For purposes of calculating the base wage, Minnesota-specific wages taken from job descriptions and standard occupational classification (SOC) codes from the Bureau of Labor Statistics as defined in the Occupational Handbook must be used.

(b) The commissioner shall update the base wage index in subdivision 5a, publish these updated values, and load them into the rate management system as follows:

(1) on January 1, 2022, based on wage data by SOC from the Bureau of Labor Statistics available as of December 31, 2019;

(2) on November January 1, 2024, based on wage data by SOC from the Bureau of Labor Statistics available as of December 31, 2021 published in March 2022; and

(3) on July January 1, 2026, and every two years thereafter, based on wage data by SOC from the Bureau of Labor Statistics available 30 months and one day published in March, 22 months prior to the scheduled update.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2024, or upon federal approval, whichever is later. The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.

Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.4914, subdivision 5a, is amended to read:

Subd. 5a. Base wage index; calculations. The base wage index must be calculated as follows:

(1) for supervisory staff, 100 percent of the median wage for community and social services specialist (SOC code 21-1099), with the exception of the supervisor of positive supports professional, positive supports analyst, and positive supports specialist, which is 100 percent of the median wage for clinical counseling and school psychologist (SOC code 19-3031);

(2) for registered nurse staff, 100 percent of the median wage for registered nurses (SOC code 29-1141);

(3) for licensed practical nurse staff, 100 percent of the median wage for licensed practical nurses (SOC code 29-2061);

(4) for residential asleep-overnight staff, the minimum wage in Minnesota for large employers, with the exception of asleep overnight staff for family residential services, which is 36 percent of the minimum wage in Minnesota for large employers;

(5) for residential direct care staff, the sum of:

(i) 15 percent of the subtotal of 50 percent of the median wage for home health and personal care aide (SOC code 31-1120); 30 percent of the median wage for nursing assistant (SOC code 31-1131); and 20 percent of the median wage for social and human services aide (SOC code 21-1093); and

(ii) 85 percent of the subtotal of 40 percent of the median wage for home health and personal care aide (SOC code 31-1120); 20 percent of the median wage for nursing assistant (SOC code 31-1014); 20 percent of the median wage for psychiatric technician (SOC code 29-2053); and 20 percent of the median wage for social and human services aide (SOC code 21-1093);

(6) for adult day services staff, 70 percent of the median wage for nursing assistant (SOC code 31-1131); and 30 percent of the median wage for home health and personal care aide (SOC code 31-1120);

(7) for day support services staff and prevocational services staff, 20 percent of the median wage for nursing assistant (SOC code 31-1131); 20 percent of the median wage for psychiatric technician (SOC code 29-2053); and 60 percent of the median wage for social and human services aide (SOC code 21-1093);

(8) for positive supports analyst staff, 100 percent of the median wage for substance abuse, behavioral disorder, and mental health counselor (SOC code 21-1018);

(9) for positive supports professional staff, 100 percent of the median wage for clinical counseling and school psychologist (SOC code 19-3031);

(10) for positive supports specialist staff, 100 percent of the median wage for psychiatric technicians (SOC code 29-2053);

(11) for individualized home supports with family training staff, 20 percent of the median wage for nursing aide (SOC code 31-1131); 30 percent of the median wage for community social service specialist (SOC code 21-1099); 40 percent of the median wage for social and human services aide (SOC code 21-1093); and ten percent of the median wage for psychiatric technician (SOC code 29-2053);

### JOURNAL OF THE HOUSE

(12) for individualized home supports with training services staff, 40 percent of the median wage for community social service specialist (SOC code 21-1099); 50 percent of the median wage for social and human services aide (SOC code 21-1093); and ten percent of the median wage for psychiatric technician (SOC code 29-2053);

(13) for employment support services staff, 50 percent of the median wage for rehabilitation counselor (SOC code 21-1015); and 50 percent of the median wage for community and social services specialist (SOC code 21-1099);

(14) for employment exploration services staff, 50 percent of the median wage for rehabilitation counselor (SOC code 21-1015); and 50 percent of the median wage for community and social services specialist (SOC code 21-1099);

(15) for employment development services staff, 50 percent of the median wage for education, guidance, school, and vocational counselors (SOC code 21-1012); and 50 percent of the median wage for community and social services specialist (SOC code 21-1099);

(16) for individualized home support without training staff, 50 percent of the median wage for home health and personal care aide (SOC code 31-1120); and 50 percent of the median wage for nursing assistant (SOC code 31-1131);

(17) for night supervision staff, 40 percent of the median wage for home health and personal care aide (SOC code 31-1120); 20 percent of the median wage for nursing assistant (SOC code 31-1131); 20 percent of the median wage for psychiatric technician (SOC code 29-2053); and 20 percent of the median wage for social and human services aide (SOC code 21-1093); and

(18) for respite staff, 50 percent of the median wage for home health and personal care aide (SOC code 31-1131); and 50 percent of the median wage for nursing assistant (SOC code 31-1014).

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2026, or upon federal approval, whichever is later. The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.

Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.4914, subdivision 5b, is amended to read:

Subd. 5b. **Standard component value adjustments.** The commissioner shall update the client and programming support, transportation, and program facility cost component values as required in subdivisions 6 to 9a and the rates identified in subdivision 19 for changes in the Consumer Price Index. The commissioner shall adjust these values higher or lower, publish these updated values, and load them into the rate management system as follows:

(1) on January 1, 2022, by the percentage change in the CPI-U from the date of the previous update to the data available on December 31, 2019;

(2) on November January 1, 2024, by the percentage change in the CPI-U from the date of the previous update to the data available as of December 31, <del>2021</del> 2022; and

(3) on July January 1, 2026, and every two years thereafter, by the percentage change in the CPI-U from the date of the previous update to the data available 30 months and one day prior to the scheduled update.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2026, or upon federal approval, whichever is later, except that the amendments to clauses (2) and (3), are effective January 1, 2024, or upon federal approval, whichever is later. The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.

Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.4914, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. **Residential support services; generally.** (a) For purposes of this section, residential support services includes 24-hour customized living services, community residential services, customized living services, family residential services, and integrated community supports.

(b) A unit of service for residential support services is a day. Any portion of any calendar day, within allowable Medicaid rules, where an individual spends time in a residential setting is billable as a day. The number of days authorized for all individuals enrolling in residential support services must include every day that services start and end.

(c) When the available shared staffing hours in a residential setting are insufficient to meet the needs of an individual who enrolled in residential support services after January 1, 2014, then individual staffing hours shall be used.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2026, or upon federal approval, whichever is later. The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.

Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.4914, subdivision 10a, is amended to read:

Subd. 10a. **Reporting and analysis of cost data.** (a) The commissioner must ensure that wage values and component values in subdivisions 5 to 9a reflect the cost to provide the service. As determined by the commissioner, in consultation with stakeholders identified in subdivision 17, a provider enrolled to provide services with rates determined under this section must submit requested cost data to the commissioner to support research on the cost of providing services that have rates determined by the disability waiver rates system. Requested cost data may include, but is not limited to:

- (1) worker wage costs;
- (2) benefits paid;
- (3) supervisor wage costs;
- (4) executive wage costs;
- (5) vacation, sick, and training time paid;
- (6) taxes, workers' compensation, and unemployment insurance costs paid;
- (7) administrative costs paid;
- (8) program costs paid;
- (9) transportation costs paid;
- (10) vacancy rates; and

(11) other data relating to costs required to provide services requested by the commissioner.

(b) At least once in any five-year period, a provider must submit cost data for a fiscal year that ended not more than 18 months prior to the submission date. The commissioner shall provide each provider a 90-day notice prior to its submission due date. If a provider fails to submit required reporting data, the commissioner shall provide notice

JOURNAL OF THE HOUSE

to providers that have not provided required data 30 days after the required submission date, and a second notice for providers who have not provided required data 60 days after the required submission date. The commissioner shall temporarily suspend payments to the provider if cost data is not received 90 days after the required submission date. Withheld payments shall be made once data is received by the commissioner.

(c) The commissioner shall conduct a random validation of data submitted under paragraph (a) to ensure data accuracy. <u>The commissioner shall analyze cost documentation in paragraph (a) and provide recommendations for adjustments to cost components.</u>

(d) The commissioner shall analyze cost data submitted under paragraph (a) and, in consultation with stakeholders identified in subdivision 17, may submit recommendations on component values and inflationary factor adjustments to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over human services once every four years beginning January 1, 2021. The commissioner shall make recommendations in conjunction with reports submitted to the legislature according to subdivision 10, paragraph (c). The commissioner shall release cost data in an aggregate form. Cost data from individual providers must not be released except as provided for in current law.

(e) The commissioner shall release cost data in an aggregate form, and cost data from individual providers shall not be released except as provided for in current law. The commissioner shall use data collected in paragraph (a) to determine the compliance with requirements identified under subdivision 10d. The commissioner shall identify providers who have not met the thresholds identified under subdivision 10d on the Department of Human Services website for the year for which the providers reported their costs.

(f) The commissioner, in consultation with stakeholders identified in subdivision 17, shall develop and implement a process for providing training and technical assistance necessary to support provider submission of cost documentation required under paragraph (a).

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025.

Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.4914, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 10d. Direct care staff; compensation. (a) A provider paid with rates determined under subdivision 6 must use a minimum of 66 percent of the revenue generated by rates determined under that subdivision for direct care staff compensation.

(b) A provider paid with rates determined under subdivision 7 must use a minimum of 45 percent of the revenue generated by rates determined under that subdivision for direct care compensation.

(c) A provider paid with rates determined under subdivision 8 or 9 must use a minimum of 60 percent of the revenue generated by rates determined under those subdivisions for direct care compensation.

(d) Compensation under this subdivision includes:

(1) wages;

(2) taxes and workers' compensation;

(3) health insurance;

(4) dental insurance;

(5) vision insurance;

(6) life insurance;

(7) short-term disability insurance;

(8) long-term disability insurance;

(9) retirement spending;

(10) tuition reimbursement;

(11) wellness programs;

(12) paid vacation time;

(13) paid sick time; or

(14) other items of monetary value provided to direct care staff.

### EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.

Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.4914, subdivision 14, is amended to read:

Subd. 14. **Exceptions.** (a) In a format prescribed by the commissioner, lead agencies must identify individuals with exceptional needs that cannot be met under the disability waiver rate system. The commissioner shall use that information to evaluate and, if necessary, approve an alternative payment rate for those individuals. Whether granted, denied, or modified, the commissioner shall respond to all exception requests in writing. The commissioner shall include in the written response the basis for the action and provide notification of the right to appeal under paragraph (h).

(b) Lead agencies must act on an exception request within 30 days and notify the initiator of the request of their recommendation in writing. A lead agency shall submit all exception requests along with its recommendation to the commissioner.

(c) An application for a rate exception may be submitted for the following criteria:

(1) an individual has service needs that cannot be met through additional units of service;

(2) an individual's rate determined under subdivisions 6 to 9a is so insufficient that it has resulted in an individual receiving a notice of discharge from the individual's provider; or

(3) an individual's service needs, including behavioral changes, require a level of service which necessitates a change in provider or which requires the current provider to propose service changes beyond those currently authorized.

(d) Exception requests must include the following information:

(1) the service needs required by each individual that are not accounted for in subdivisions 6 to 9a;

(2) the service rate requested and the difference from the rate determined in subdivisions 6 to 9a;

(3) a basis for the underlying costs used for the rate exception and any accompanying documentation; and

(4) any contingencies for approval.

(e) Approved rate exceptions shall be managed within lead agency allocations under sections 256B.092 and 256B.49.

(f) Individual disability waiver recipients, an interested party, or the license holder that would receive the rate exception increase may request that a lead agency submit an exception request. A lead agency that denies such a request shall notify the individual waiver recipient, interested party, or license holder of its decision and the reasons for denying the request in writing no later than 30 days after the request has been made and shall submit its denial to the commissioner in accordance with paragraph (b). The reasons for the denial must be based on the failure to meet the criteria in paragraph (c).

(g) The commissioner shall determine whether to approve or deny an exception request no more than 30 days after receiving the request. If the commissioner denies the request, the commissioner shall notify the lead agency and the individual disability waiver recipient, the interested party, and the license holder in writing of the reasons for the denial.

(h) The individual disability waiver recipient may appeal any denial of an exception request by either the lead agency or the commissioner, pursuant to sections 256.045 and 256.0451. When the denial of an exception request results in the proposed demission of a waiver recipient from a residential or day habilitation program, the commissioner shall issue a temporary stay of demission, when requested by the disability waiver recipient, consistent with the provisions of section 256.045, subdivisions 4a and 6, paragraph (c). The temporary stay shall remain in effect until the lead agency can provide an informed choice of appropriate, alternative services to the disability waiver.

(i) Providers may petition lead agencies to update values that were entered incorrectly or erroneously into the rate management system, based on past service level discussions and determination in subdivision 4, without applying for a rate exception.

(j) The starting date for the rate exception will be the later of the date of the recipient's change in support or the date of the request to the lead agency for an exception.

(k) The commissioner shall track all exception requests received and their dispositions. The commissioner shall issue quarterly public exceptions statistical reports, including the number of exception requests received and the numbers granted, denied, withdrawn, and pending. The report shall include the average amount of time required to process exceptions.

(l) Approved rate exceptions remain in effect in all cases until an individual's needs change as defined in paragraph (c).

(m) Rates determined under subdivision 19 are ineligible for rate exceptions.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2026, or upon federal approval, whichever is later. The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.

Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.4914, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 19. Payments for family residential and life sharing services. The commissioner shall establish rates for family residential services and life sharing services based on a person's assessed need, as described in the federally-approved waiver plans. Rates for life sharing services must be ten percent higher than the corresponding family residential services rate.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2026, or upon federal approval, whichever is later. The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.

Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.5012, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 19. <u>ICF/DD rate transition.</u> (a) Effective January 1, 2024, the minimum daily operating rate for intermediate care facilities for persons with developmental disabilities is \$260.00.

(b) Beginning January 1, 2026, and every two years thereafter, the rate in paragraph (a) must be updated for the percentage change in the Consumer Price Index (CPI-U) from the date of the previous CPI-U update to the data available 12 months and one day prior to the scheduled update.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2024, or upon federal approval, whichever is later. The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.

Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.851, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. **Payment rates; base wage index.** When initially establishing the base wage component values, the commissioner must use the Minnesota-specific median wage for the standard occupational classification (SOC) codes published by the Bureau of Labor Statistics in the edition of the Occupational Handbook available January 1, published in March 2021. The commissioner must calculate the base wage component values as follows for:

(1) personal care assistance services, CFSS, extended personal care assistance services, and extended CFSS. The base wage component value equals the median wage for personal care aide (SOC code 31-1120);

(2) enhanced rate personal care assistance services and enhanced rate CFSS. The base wage component value equals the product of median wage for personal care aide (SOC code 31-1120) and the value of the enhanced rate under section 256B.0659, subdivision 17a; and

(3) qualified professional services and CFSS worker training and development. The base wage component value equals the sum of 70 percent of the median wage for registered nurse (SOC code 29-1141), 15 percent of the median wage for health care social worker (SOC code 21-1099), and 15 percent of the median wage for social and human service assistant (SOC code 21-1093).

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2024, or within 90 days of federal approval, whichever is later. The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.

Sec. 37. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.851, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. Payment rates; component values. (a) The commissioner must use the following component values:

(1) employee vacation, sick, and training factor, 8.71 percent;

(2) employer taxes and workers' compensation factor, 11.56 percent;

- (3) employee benefits factor, 12.04 percent;
- (4) client programming and supports factor, 2.30 percent;
- (5) program plan support factor, 7.00 percent;
- (6) general business and administrative expenses factor, 13.25 percent;

[54TH DAY

(7) program administration expenses factor, 2.90 percent; and

(8) absence and utilization factor, 3.90 percent.

(b) For purposes of implementation, the commissioner shall use the following implementation components:

(1) personal care assistance services and CFSS: 75.45 88.66 percent;

(2) enhanced rate personal care assistance services and enhanced rate CFSS: 75.45 88.66 percent; and

(3) qualified professional services and CFSS worker training and development: 75.45 88.66 percent.

(c) Effective January 1, 2025, for purposes of implementation, the commissioner shall use the following implementation components:

(1) personal care assistance services and CFSS: 92.08 percent;

(2) enhanced rate personal care assistance services and enhanced rate CFSS: 92.08 percent; and

(3) qualified professional services and CFSS worker training and development: 92.08 percent.

(d) The commissioner shall use the following worker retention components:

(1) for workers who have provided fewer than 1,001 cumulative hours in personal care assistance services or CFSS, the worker retention component is zero percent;

(2) for workers who have provided between 1,001 and 2,000 cumulative hours in personal care assistance services or CFSS, the worker retention component is 2.17 percent;

(3) for workers who have provided between 2,001 and 6,000 cumulative hours in personal care assistance services or CFSS, the worker retention component is 4.36 percent;

(4) for workers who have provided between 6,001 and 10,000 cumulative hours in personal care assistance services or CFSS, the worker retention component is 7.35 percent; and

(5) for workers who have provided more than 10,000 cumulative hours in personal care assistance services or CFSS, the worker retention component is 10.81 percent.

(e) The commissioner shall define the appropriate worker retention component based on the total number of units billed for services rendered by the individual provider since July 1, 2017. The worker retention component must be determined by the commissioner for each individual provider and is not subject to appeal.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** The amendments to paragraph (b) are effective January 1, 2024, or within 90 days of federal approval, whichever is later. Paragraph (b) expires January 1, 2025, or within 90 days of federal approval of paragraph (c), whichever is later. Paragraphs (c) to (e) are effective January 1, 2025, or within 90 days of federal approval, whichever is later. The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.

Sec. 38. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.851, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. **Payment rates; rate determination.** (a) The commissioner must determine the rate for personal care assistance services, CFSS, extended personal care assistance services, extended CFSS, enhanced rate personal care assistance services, and CFSS worker training and development as follows:

(1) multiply the appropriate total wage component value calculated in subdivision 4 by one plus the employee vacation, sick, and training factor in subdivision 5;

(2) for program plan support, multiply the result of clause (1) by one plus the program plan support factor in subdivision 5;

(3) for employee-related expenses, add the employer taxes and workers' compensation factor in subdivision 5 and the employee benefits factor in subdivision 5. The sum is employee-related expenses. Multiply the product of clause (2) by one plus the value for employee-related expenses;

(4) for client programming and supports, multiply the product of clause (3) by one plus the client programming and supports factor in subdivision 5;

(5) for administrative expenses, add the general business and administrative expenses factor in subdivision 5, the program administration expenses factor in subdivision 5, and the absence and utilization factor in subdivision 5;

(6) divide the result of clause (4) by one minus the result of clause (5). The quotient is the hourly rate;

(7) multiply the hourly rate by the appropriate implementation component under subdivision 5. This is the adjusted hourly rate; and

(8) divide the adjusted hourly rate by four. The quotient is the total adjusted payment rate.

(b) In processing claims, the commissioner shall incorporate the worker retention component specified in subdivision 5, by multiplying one plus the total adjusted payment rate by the appropriate worker retention component under subdivision 5, paragraph (d).

(b) (c) The commissioner must publish the total adjusted final payment rates.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025, or 90 days after federal approval, whichever is later. The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.

Sec. 39. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256D.425, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. **Persons entitled to receive aid.** A person who is aged, blind, or 18 years of age or older and disabled and who is receiving supplemental security benefits under Title XVI on the basis of age, blindness, or disability (or would be eligible for such benefits except for excess income) is eligible for a payment under the Minnesota supplemental aid program, if the person's net income is less than the standards in section 256D.44. <u>A person who is receiving benefits under the Minnesota supplemental aid program, if the Social Security Act is eligible for a payment under the Minnesota supplemental aid program in the month prior to becoming eligible under section 1619(b) of the Social Security Act is eligible for a payment under the Minnesota supplemental aid program while they remain in section 1619(b) status. Persons who are not receiving Supplemental Security Income benefits under Title XVI of the Social Security Act or disability insurance benefits under Title II of the Social Security Act due to exhausting time limited benefits are not eligible to receive benefits under the MSA program. Persons who are not receiving Social Security or other maintenance benefits for failure to meet or comply</u>

with the Social Security or other maintenance program requirements are not eligible to receive benefits under the MSA program. Persons who are found ineligible for Supplemental Security Income because of excess income, but whose income is within the limits of the Minnesota supplemental aid program, must have blindness or disability determined by the state medical review team.

# **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 268.19, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Use of data. (a) Except as provided by this section, data gathered from any person under the administration of the Minnesota Unemployment Insurance Law are private data on individuals or nonpublic data not on individuals as defined in section 13.02, subdivisions 9 and 12, and may not be disclosed except according to a district court order or section 13.05. A subpoena is not considered a district court order. These data may be disseminated to and used by the following agencies without the consent of the subject of the data:

(1) state and federal agencies specifically authorized access to the data by state or federal law;

(2) any agency of any other state or any federal agency charged with the administration of an unemployment insurance program;

(3) any agency responsible for the maintenance of a system of public employment offices for the purpose of assisting individuals in obtaining employment;

(4) the public authority responsible for child support in Minnesota or any other state in accordance with section 256.978;

(5) human rights agencies within Minnesota that have enforcement powers;

(6) the Department of Revenue to the extent necessary for its duties under Minnesota laws;

(7) public and private agencies responsible for administering publicly financed assistance programs for the purpose of monitoring the eligibility of the program's recipients;

(8) the Department of Labor and Industry and the Commerce Fraud Bureau in the Department of Commerce for uses consistent with the administration of their duties under Minnesota law;

(9) the Department of Human Services and the Office of Inspector General and its agents within the Department of Human Services, including county fraud investigators, for investigations related to recipient or provider fraud and employees of providers when the provider is suspected of committing public assistance fraud;

# (10) the Department of Human Services for the purpose of evaluating medical assistance services and supporting program improvement;

(10) (11) local and state welfare agencies for monitoring the eligibility of the data subject for assistance programs, or for any employment or training program administered by those agencies, whether alone, in combination with another welfare agency, or in conjunction with the department or to monitor and evaluate the statewide Minnesota family investment program and other cash assistance programs, the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program, and the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program Employment and Training program by providing data on recipients and former recipients of Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) benefits, cash assistance under chapter 256, 256D, 256J, or 256K, child care assistance under chapter 119B, or medical programs under chapter 256B or 256L or formerly codified under chapter 256D;

#### FRIDAY, APRIL 21, 2023

(11) (12) local and state welfare agencies for the purpose of identifying employment, wages, and other information to assist in the collection of an overpayment debt in an assistance program;

(12) (13) local, state, and federal law enforcement agencies for the purpose of ascertaining the last known address and employment location of an individual who is the subject of a criminal investigation;

(13) (14) the United States Immigration and Customs Enforcement has access to data on specific individuals and specific employers provided the specific individual or specific employer is the subject of an investigation by that agency;

(14) (15) the Department of Health for the purposes of epidemiologic investigations;

(15) (16) the Department of Corrections for the purposes of case planning and internal research for preprobation, probation, and postprobation employment tracking of offenders sentenced to probation and preconfinement and postconfinement employment tracking of committee offenders;

(16) (17) the state auditor to the extent necessary to conduct audits of job opportunity building zones as required under section 469.3201; and

(17) (18) the Office of Higher Education for purposes of supporting program improvement, system evaluation, and research initiatives including the Statewide Longitudinal Education Data System.

(b) Data on individuals and employers that are collected, maintained, or used by the department in an investigation under section 268.182 are confidential as to data on individuals and protected nonpublic data not on individuals as defined in section 13.02, subdivisions 3 and 13, and must not be disclosed except under statute or district court order or to a party named in a criminal proceeding, administrative or judicial, for preparation of a defense.

(c) Data gathered by the department in the administration of the Minnesota unemployment insurance program must not be made the subject or the basis for any suit in any civil proceedings, administrative or judicial, unless the action is initiated by the department.

Sec. 41. Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 7, article 17, section 16, is amended to read:

## Sec. 16. RESEARCH ON ACCESS TO LONG-TERM CARE SERVICES AND FINANCING.

(a) This act includes \$400,000 in fiscal year 2022 and \$300,000 in fiscal year 2023 for an actuarial research study of public and private financing options for long-term services and supports reform to increase access across the state. Any unexpended amount in fiscal year 2023 is available through June 30, 2024. The commissioner of human services must conduct the study. Of this amount, the commissioner may transfer up to \$100,000 to the commissioner of commerce for costs related to the requirements of the study. The general fund base included in this act for this purpose is \$0 in fiscal year 2024 and \$0 in fiscal year 2025.

(b) All activities must be completed by June 30, 2024.

# Sec. 42. HOME AND COMMUNITY-BASED WORKFORCE INCENTIVE FUND GRANTS.

Subdivision 1. Grant program established. The commissioner of human services shall establish grants for disability and home and community-based providers to assist with recruiting and retaining direct support and frontline workers.

Subd. 2. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have the meanings given.

(b) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of human services.

(c) "Eligible employer" means an organization enrolled in a Minnesota health care program or providing housing services and is:

(1) a provider of home and community-based services under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 245D; or

(2) a facility certified as an intermediate care facility for persons with developmental disabilities.

(d) "Eligible worker" means a worker who earns \$30 per hour or less and is currently employed or recruited to be employed by an eligible employer.

Subd. 3. <u>Allowable uses of grant money.</u> (a) Grantees must use grant money to provide payments to eligible workers for the following purposes:

(1) retention, recruitment, and incentive payments;

(2) postsecondary loan and tuition payments;

(3) child care costs;

(4) transportation-related costs; and

(5) other costs associated with retaining and recruiting workers, as approved by the commissioner.

(b) Eligible workers may receive payments up to \$1,000 per year from the home and community-based workforce incentive fund.

(c) The commissioner must develop a grant cycle distribution plan that allows for equitable distribution of money among eligible employers. The commissioner's determination of the grant awards and amounts is final and is not subject to appeal.

Subd. 4. <u>Attestation</u>. As a condition of obtaining grant payments under this section, an eligible employer must attest and agree to the following:

(1) the employer is an eligible employer;

(2) the total number of eligible employees;

(3) the employer will distribute the entire value of the grant to eligible workers allowed under this section;

(4) the employer will create and maintain records under subdivision 6;

(5) the employer will not use the money appropriated under this section for any purpose other than the purposes permitted under this section; and

(6) the entire value of any grant amounts will be distributed to eligible workers identified by the employer.

#### FRIDAY, APRIL 21, 2023

<u>Subd. 5.</u> <u>Distribution plan; report.</u> (a) A provider agency or individual provider that receives a grant under subdivision 4 shall prepare, and upon request submit to the commissioner, a distribution plan that specifies the amount of money the provider expects to receive and how that money will be distributed for recruitment and retention purposes for eligible employees. Within 60 days of receiving the grant, the provider must post the distribution plan and leave it posted for a period of at least six months in an area of the provider's operation to which all direct support professionals have access.</u>

(b) Within 12 months of receiving a grant under this section, each provider agency or individual provider that receives a grant under subdivision 4 shall submit a report to the commissioner that includes the following information:

(1) a description of how grant money was distributed to eligible employees; and

(2) the total dollar amount distributed.

(c) Failure to submit the report under paragraph (b) may result in recoupment of grant money.

Subd. 6. <u>Audits and recoupment.</u> (a) The commissioner may perform an audit under this section up to six years after a grant is awarded to ensure:

(1) the grantee used the money solely for allowable purposes under subdivision 3;

(2) the grantee was truthful when making attestations under subdivision 4; and

(3) the grantee complied with the conditions of receiving a grant under this section.

(b) If the commissioner determines that a grantee used grant money for purposes not authorized under this section, the commissioner must treat any amount used for a purpose not authorized under this section as an overpayment. The commissioner must recover any overpayment.

Subd. 7. Grants not to be considered income. (a) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, grant awards under this section must not be considered income, assets, or personal property for purposes of determining eligibility or recertifying eligibility for:

(1) child care assistance programs under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 119B;

(2) general assistance, Minnesota supplemental aid, and food support under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 256D;

(3) housing support under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 256I;

(4) the Minnesota family investment program and diversionary work program under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 256J; and

(5) economic assistance programs under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 256P.

(b) The commissioner must not consider grant awards under this section as income or assets under Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.056, subdivision 1a, paragraph (a), 3, or 3c, or for persons with eligibility determined under Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.057, subdivision 3, 3a, 3b, 4, or 9.

## Sec. 43. NEW AMERICAN LEGAL AND SOCIAL SERVICES WORKFORCE GRANT PROGRAM.

<u>Subdivision 1.</u> <u>Definition.</u> <u>"Eligible workers" means persons who require legal services to seek or maintain status and secure or maintain legal authorization for employment.</u>

Subd. 2. <u>Grant program established.</u> The commissioner of human services shall establish a new American legal and social services workforce grant program for organizations that assist eligible workers:

(1) in seeking or maintaining legal or citizenship status to become or remain legally authorized for employment in any field or industry, including but not limited to the long-term care workforce; or

(2) to provide supports during the legal process or while seeking qualified legal assistance.

Subd. 3. **Distribution of grants.** The commissioner shall ensure that grant money is awarded to organizations and entities that demonstrate that they have the qualifications, experience, expertise, cultural competency, and geographic reach to offer legal or social services under this section to eligible workers. In distributing grant awards, the commissioner shall prioritize organizations or entities serving populations for whom existing legal services and social services for the purposes listed in subdivision 2 are unavailable or insufficient.

Subd. 4. Eligible grantees. Organizations or entities eligible to receive grant money under this section include local governmental units, federally recognized Tribal Nations, and nonprofit organizations as defined under section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code that provide legal or social services to eligible populations. Priority should be given to organizations and entities that serve populations in areas of the state where worker shortages are most acute.

Subd. 5. Grantee duties. Organizations or entities receiving grant money under this section must provide services that include the following activities:

(1) intake, assessment, referral, orientation, legal advice, or representation to eligible workers to seek or maintain legal or citizenship status and secure or maintain legal authorization for employment in the United States; or

(2) social services designed to help eligible populations meet their immediate basic needs during the process of seeking or maintaining legal status and legal authorization for employment, including but not limited to accessing housing, food, employment or employment training, education, course fees, community orientation, transportation, child care, and medical care. Social services may also include navigation services to address ongoing needs once immediate basic needs have been met and repaying student loan debt directly incurred as a result of pursuing a qualifying course of study or training.

Subd. 6. <u>Reporting.</u> (a) Grant recipients under this section must collect and report to the commissioner information on program participation and program outcomes. The commissioner shall determine the form and timing of reports.

(b) Grant recipients providing immigration legal services under this section must collect and report to the commissioner data that are consistent with the requirements established for the advisory committee established by the supreme court under Minnesota Statutes, section 480.242, subdivision 1.

## Sec. 44. SUPPORTING NEW AMERICANS IN THE LONG-TERM CARE WORKFORCE GRANTS.

Subdivision 1. Definition. For the purposes of this section, "new American" means an individual born abroad and the individual's children, irrespective of immigration status.

Subd. 2. <u>Grant program established.</u> The commissioner of human services shall establish a grant program for organizations that support immigrants, refugees, and new Americans interested in entering the long-term care workforce.

<u>Subd. 3.</u> <u>Eligibility.</u> (a) The commissioner shall select projects for funding under this section. An eligible applicant for the grant program in subdivision 1 is an:

(1) organization or provider that is experienced in working with immigrants, refugees, and people born outside of the United States and that demonstrates cultural competency; or

# FRIDAY, APRIL 21, 2023

(2) organization or provider with the expertise and capacity to provide training, peer mentoring, supportive services, and workforce development or other services to develop and implement strategies for recruiting and retaining qualified employees.

(b) The commissioner shall prioritize applications from joint labor management programs.

Subd. 4. Allowable grant activities. Money allocated under this section must be used to:

(1) support immigrants, refugees, or new Americans to obtain or maintain employment in the long-term care workforce;

(2) develop connections to employment with long-term care employers and potential employees:

(3) provide recruitment, training, guidance, mentorship, and other support services necessary to encourage employment, employee retention, and successful community integration;

(4) provide career education, wraparound support services, and job skills training in high-demand health care and long-term care fields;

(5) pay for program expenses, including but not limited to hiring instructors and navigators, space rentals, and supportive services to help participants attend classes. Allowable uses for supportive services include but are not limited to:

(i) course fees;

(ii) child care costs;

(iii) transportation costs;

(iv) tuition fees;

(v) financial coaching fees; or

(vi) mental health supports and uniforms costs incurred as a direct result of participating in classroom instruction or training; or

(6) repay student loan debt directly incurred as a result of pursuing a qualifying course of study or training.

## Sec. 45. PROVIDER CAPACITY GRANTS FOR RURAL AND UNDERSERVED COMMUNITIES.

<u>Subdivision 1.</u> Establishment and authority. (a) The commissioner of human services shall award grants to organizations that provide community-based services to rural or underserved communities. The grants must be used to build organizational capacity to provide home and community-based services in the state and to build new or expanded infrastructure to access medical assistance reimbursement.

(b) The commissioner shall conduct community engagement, provide technical assistance, and establish a collaborative learning community related to the grants available under this section and shall work with the commissioners of management and budget and administration to mitigate barriers in accessing grant money.

(c) The commissioner shall limit expenditures under this subdivision to the amount appropriated for this purpose.

(d) The commissioner shall give priority to organizations that provide culturally specific and culturally responsive services or that serve historically underserved communities throughout the state.

Subd. 2. Eligibility. An eligible applicant for the capacity grants under subdivision 1 is an organization or provider that serves, or will serve, rural or underserved communities and:

(1) provides, or will provide, home and community-based services in the state; or

(2) serves, or will serve, as a connector for communities to available home and community-based services.

<u>Subd. 3.</u> <u>Allowable grant activities.</u> <u>Grants under this section must be used by recipients for the following activities:</u>

(1) expanding existing services;

(2) increasing access in rural or underserved areas;

(3) creating new home and community-based organizations;

(4) connecting underserved communities to benefits and available services; or

(5) building new or expanded infrastructure to access medical assistance reimbursement.

# Sec. 46. APPROVAL OF CORPORATE FOSTER CARE MORATORIUM EXCEPTIONS.

(a) The commissioner of human services may approve or deny corporate foster care moratorium exceptions requested under Minnesota Statutes, section 245A.03, subdivision 7, paragraph (a), clause (5), prior to approval of a service provider's home and community-based services license under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 245D. Approval of the moratorium exception must not be construed as final approval of a service provider's home and community residential setting license.

(b) Approval under paragraph (a) must be available only for service providers that have requested a home and community-based services license under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 245D.

(c) Approval under paragraph (a) must be rescinded if the service provider's application for a home and community-based services or community residential setting license is denied.

(d) This section expires December 31, 2023.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment.

## Sec. 47. BUDGET INCREASE FOR CONSUMER-DIRECTED COMMUNITY SUPPORTS.

(a) Effective January 1, 2024, or upon federal approval, whichever is later, consumer-directed community support budgets identified in the waiver plans under Minnesota Statutes, sections 256B.092 and 256B.49, and chapter 256S, and the alternative care program under Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.0913, must be increased by 8.49 percent.

(b) Effective January 1, 2025, or upon federal approval, whichever is later, consumer-directed community support budgets identified in the waiver plans under Minnesota Statutes, sections 256B.092 and 256B.49, and chapter 256S, and the alternative care program under Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.0913, must be increased by 4.53 percent.

6284

# Sec. 48. <u>EARLY INTENSIVE DEVELOPMENTAL AND BEHAVIORAL INTERVENTION</u> <u>LICENSURE STUDY.</u>

(a) The commissioner of human services must review the medical assistance early intensive developmental and behavioral intervention (EIDBI) service and evaluate the need for licensure or other regulatory modifications. At a minimum, the evaluation must include:

(1) an examination of current Department of Human Services-licensed programs that are similar to EIDBI;

(2) an environmental scan of licensure requirements for Medicaid autism programs in other states; and

(3) consideration of health and safety needs for populations with autism and related conditions.

(b) The commissioner must consult with interested stakeholders, including self-advocates who use EIDBI services, EIDBI providers, parents of youth who use EIDBI services, and advocacy organizations. The commissioner must convene stakeholder meetings to obtain feedback on licensure or regulatory recommendations.

# Sec. 49. <u>STUDY TO EXPAND ACCESS TO SERVICES FOR PEOPLE WITH CO-OCCURRING</u> BEHAVIORAL HEALTH CONDITIONS AND DISABILITIES.

The commissioner of human services, in consultation with stakeholders, must evaluate options to expand services authorized under Minnesota's federally approved home and community-based waivers, including positive support, crisis respite, respite, and specialist services. The evaluation may include options to authorize services under Minnesota's medical assistance state plan and strategies to decrease the number of people who remain in hospitals, jails, and other acute or crisis settings when they no longer meet medical or other necessity criteria.

#### Sec. 50. SELF-DIRECTED WORKER CONTRACT RATIFICATION.

<u>The labor agreement between the state of Minnesota and the Service Employees International Union Healthcare</u> <u>Minnesota and Iowa, submitted to the Legislative Coordinating Commission on February 27, 2023, is ratified.</u>

#### Sec. 51. MEMORANDUMS OF UNDERSTANDING.

The memorandums of understanding with the Service Employees International Union Healthcare Minnesota and Iowa, submitted by the commissioner of management and budget on February 27, 2023, are ratified.

## Sec. 52. SPECIALIZED EQUIPMENT AND SUPPLIES LIMIT INCREASE.

<u>Upon federal approval, the commissioner of human services must increase the annual limit for specialized</u> equipment and supplies under Minnesota's federally approved home and community-based service waiver plans, alternative care, and essential community supports to \$10,000.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2024, or upon federal approval, whichever is later. The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.

## Sec. 53. INTERAGENCY EMPLOYMENT SUPPORTS ALIGNMENT STUDY.

<u>The commissioners of human services, employment and economic development, and education must conduct an interagency alignment study on employment supports for people with disabilities. The study must evaluate:</u>

(1) service rates;

(2) provider enrollment and monitoring standards; and

(3) eligibility processes and people's lived experience transitioning between employment programs.

## Sec. 54. MONITORING EMPLOYMENT OUTCOMES.

By January 15, 2025, the Departments of Human Services, Employment and Economic Development, and Education must provide the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over health, human services, and labor with a plan for tracking employment outcomes for people with disabilities served by programs administered by the agencies. This plan must include any needed changes to state law to track supports received and outcomes across programs.

# Sec. 55. PHASE-OUT OF THE USE OF SUBMINIMUM WAGE FOR MEDICAL ASSISTANCE DISABILITY SERVICES.

The commissioner of human services must seek all necessary amendments to Minnesota's federally approved disability waiver plans to require that people receiving prevocational or employment support services are compensated at or above the state minimum wage or at or above the prevailing local minimum wage no later than August 1, 2028.

#### Sec. 56. RATE INCREASE FOR CERTAIN DISABILITY WAIVER SERVICES.

<u>The commissioner of human services shall increase payment rates for chore services, homemaker services, and home-delivered meals provided under Minnesota Statutes, sections 256B.092 and 256B.49, by 15.8 percent from the rates in effect on December 31, 2023.</u>

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2024, or upon federal approval, whichever is later. The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.

# Sec. 57. <u>RATE INCREASE FOR EARLY INTENSIVE DEVELOPMENTAL AND BEHAVIORAL</u> INTERVENTION BENEFIT SERVICES.

<u>The commissioner of human services shall increase payment rates for early intensive developmental and</u> behavioral intervention services under Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.0949, by 15.8 percent from the rates in effect on December 31, 2023.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2024, or upon federal approval, whichever is later. The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.

## Sec. 58. RATE INCREASE FOR HOME CARE SERVICES.

The commissioner of human services shall increase payment rates for home health services and home care nursing services under Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.0651, subdivision 2, clauses (1) and (3); respiratory therapy under Minnesota Rules, part 9505.0295, subpart 2, item E; and home health agency services under Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.0653, by 15.8 percent from the rates in effect on December 31, 2023.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2024, or upon federal approval, whichever is later. The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.

<u>The commissioner of human services shall increase payment rates for day training and habilitation services</u> under Minnesota Statutes, section 252.46, by 15.8 percent from the rates in effect on December 31, 2023.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2024, or upon federal approval, whichever is later. The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.

#### Sec. 60. STUDY ON PRESUMPTIVE ELIGIBILITY FOR LONG-TERM SERVICES AND SUPPORTS.

(a) The commissioner of human services must study presumptive functional eligibility for people with disabilities and older adults in the following programs:

(1) medical assistance, alternative care, and essential community supports; and

(2) home and community-based services.

(b) The commissioner must evaluate the following in the study of presumptive eligibility within the programs listed in paragraph (a):

(1) current eligibility processes;

(2) barriers to timely eligibility determinations; and

(3) strategies to enhance access to home and community-based services in the least restrictive setting.

(c) By January 1, 2025, the commissioner must report recommendations and draft legislation to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over health and human services finance and policy.

#### Sec. 61. SYSTEMIC REVIEW OF ACUTE CARE HOSPITALIZATIONS STUDY.

(a) The commissioner of human services must conduct a systemic review of acute care hospitalizations for older adults on medical assistance and people on medical assistance with disabilities and behavioral health conditions. The review must include:

(1) an analysis of reimbursement rates to support people with complex support needs;

(2) a survey of other states' policies, models, and service options to reduce and respond to acute care hospitalizations;

(3) systemic critical incident reviews of people who are hospitalized in acute care hospitals for longer than 90 days in order to determine systemic, regulatory, staff training, or other reoccurring barriers keeping individuals from returning to the community or lower levels of care; and

(4) a comparison of different methods to increase and enhance statewide provider capacity to support people with complex needs.

6288

(b) The commissioner must submit a report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees and divisions with jurisdiction over health and human services policy and finance by January 15, 2025. The report must include proposed legislation necessary to enact the report's recommendations.

#### Sec. 62. **<u>REPEALER.</u>**

Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.4914, subdivision 6b, is repealed.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2026, or upon federal approval, whichever is later. The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.

## ARTICLE 2 AGING SERVICES

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256.975, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. Indian <u>Native American</u> elders <u>coordinator</u> position. (a) The Minnesota Board on Aging shall create an Indian <u>a Native American</u> elders coordinator position, and shall hire staff as appropriations permit for the purposes of <u>coordinating efforts</u> with the National Indian Council on Aging and developing <u>facilitating the</u> <u>coordination and development of</u> a <u>comprehensive</u> statewide <u>Tribal-based</u> service system for <u>Indian Native</u> <u>American</u> elders. An Indian elder is defined for purposes of this subdivision as an Indian enrolled in a band or tribe who is 55 years or older.

(b) For purposes of this subdivision, the following terms have the meanings given:

(1) "Native American elder" means an individual enrolled in a federally recognized Tribe and identified as an elder according to the requirements of the individual's home Tribe; and

(2) "Tribal government" means representatives of each of the 11 federally recognized Native American Tribes located wholly or partially within the boundaries of the state of Minnesota.

(c) The statewide <u>Tribal-based</u> service system must <u>may</u> include the following components:

(1) an assessment of the program eligibility, examining the need to change the age based eligibility criteria to need based eligibility criteria;

(2) (1) a planning system that would plan to grant, or make recommendations for granting, federal and state funding for statewide Tribal-based Native American programs and services;

(2) a plan to develop business initiatives involving Tribal members that will qualify for federal- and state-funded elder service contracts;

(3) a plan for <u>statewide Tribal-based</u> service focal points<del>, senior centers, or community centers</del> for socialization and service accessibility for <u>Indian Native American</u> elders;

(4) a plan to develop and implement <u>statewide</u> education and public awareness <u>campaigns</u> <u>promotions</u>, including awareness programs, <u>sensitivity</u> cultural <u>sensitivity</u> training, and public education on <u>Indian elder needs</u> <u>Native</u> <u>American elders</u>;

(5) a plan for <u>statewide culturally appropriate</u> information and referral services <u>for Native American elders</u>, including <u>legal advice and counsel and</u> trained advocates <del>and an Indian elder newsletter</del>;

(6) a plan for a coordinated <u>statewide Tribal-based</u> health care system including health <u>promotion/prevention</u> promotion and prevention, in-home service, long-term care service, and health care services;

(7) a plan for ongoing research involving Indian elders including needs assessment and needs analysis; collection of significant data on Native American elders, including population, health, socialization, mortality, homelessness, and economic status; and

#### (8) information and referral services for legal advice or legal counsel; and

(9) (8) a plan to coordinate services with existing organizations, including <u>but not limited to the state of</u> <u>Minnesota</u>, the <u>Council of Minnesota</u> Indian Affairs <u>Council</u>, the <u>Minnesota Indian Council of Elders</u>, the Minnesota Board on Aging, <u>Wisdom Steps</u>, and <u>Minnesota</u> Tribal governments.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256.9754, is amended to read:

#### 256.9754 COMMUNITY SERVICES DEVELOPMENT LIVE WELL AT HOME GRANTS PROGRAM.

Subdivision 1. Definitions. For purposes of this section, the following terms have the meanings given.

(a) "Community" means a town, township, city, or targeted neighborhood within a city, or a consortium of towns, townships, cities, or targeted neighborhoods within cities.

(b) "Core home and community-based services provider" means a Faith in Action, Living at Home/Block Nurse, congregational nurse, or similar community-based program governed by a board, the majority of whose members reside within the program's service area, that organizes and uses volunteers and paid staff to deliver nonmedical services intended to assist older adults to identify and manage risks and to maintain their community living and integration in the community.

(c) "Long-term services and supports" means any service available under the elderly waiver program or alternative care grant programs, nursing facility services, transportation services, caregiver support and respite care services, and other home and community-based services identified as necessary either to maintain lifestyle choices for older adults or to support them to remain in their own home.

(b) (d) "Older adult services" means any services available under the elderly waiver program or alternative care grant programs; nursing facility services; transportation services; respite services; and other community-based services identified as necessary either to maintain lifestyle choices for older Minnesotans, or to promote independence.

(e) (e) "Older adult" refers to individuals 65 years of age and older.

Subd. 2. Creation: purpose. (a) The community services development live well at home grants program is are created under the administration of the commissioner of human services.

(b) The purpose of projects selected by the commissioner of human services under this section is to make strategic changes in the long-term services and supports system for older adults and people with dementia, including statewide capacity for local service development and technical assistance, and statewide availability of home and community-based services for older adult services, caregiver support and respite care services, and other supports in Minnesota. These projects are intended to create incentives for new and expanded home and community-based services in Minnesota in order to:

(1) reach older adults early in the progression of their need for long-term services and supports, providing them with low-cost, high-impact services that will prevent or delay the use of more costly services;

(2) support older adults to live in the most integrated, least restrictive community setting:

(3) support the informal caregivers of older adults;

(4) develop and implement strategies to integrate long-term services and supports with health care services, in order to improve the quality of care and enhance the quality of life of older adults and their informal caregivers;

(5) ensure cost-effective use of financial and human resources;

(6) build community-based approaches and community commitment to delivering long-term services and supports for older adults in their own homes;

(7) achieve a broad awareness and use of lower-cost in-home services as an alternative to nursing homes and other residential services;

(8) strengthen and develop additional home and community-based services and alternatives to nursing homes and other residential services; and

# (9) strengthen programs that use volunteers.

(c) The services provided by these projects are available to older adults who are eligible for medical assistance and the elderly waiver under chapter 256S, the alternative care program under section 256B.0913, or the essential community supports grant under section 256B.0922, and to persons who have their own money to pay for services.

Subd. 3. **Provision of Community services development** grants. The commissioner shall make <u>community</u> <u>services development</u> grants available to communities, providers of older adult services <u>identified in subdivision 1</u>, or to a consortium of providers of older adult services, to establish older adult services. Grants may be provided for capital and other costs including, but not limited to, start-up and training costs, equipment, and supplies related to older adult services or other residential or service alternatives to nursing facility care. Grants may also be made to renovate current buildings, provide transportation services, fund programs that would allow older adults or individuals with a disability to stay in their own homes by sharing a home, fund programs that coordinate and manage formal and informal services to older adults in their homes to enable them to live as independently as possible in their own homes as an alternative to nursing home care, or expand state-funded programs in the area.

Subd. 3a. **Priority for other grants.** The commissioner of health shall give priority to a grantee selected under subdivision 3 when awarding technology-related grants, if the grantee is using technology as part of the proposal unless that priority conflicts with existing state or federal guidance related to grant awards by the Department of Health. The commissioner of transportation shall give priority to a grantee under subdivision 3 when distributing transportation-related funds to create transportation options for older adults unless that preference conflicts with existing state or federal guidance related to grant awards by the Department of the proposal transportation.

Subd. 3b. **State waivers.** The commissioner of health may waive applicable state laws and rules <u>for grantees</u> <u>under subdivision 3</u> on a time-limited basis if the commissioner of health determines that a participating grantee requires a waiver in order to achieve demonstration project goals.

Subd. 3c. <u>Caregiver support and respite care projects.</u> (a) The commissioner shall establish projects to expand the availability of caregiver support and respite care services for family and other caregivers. The commissioner shall use a request for proposals to select nonprofit entities to administer the projects. Projects must:

(1) establish a local coordinated network of volunteer and paid respite workers;

6290

(2) coordinate assignment of respite care services to caregivers of older adults;

(3) assure the health and safety of the older adults;

(4) identify at-risk caregivers;

(5) provide information, education, and training for caregivers in the designated community; and

(6) demonstrate the need in the proposed service area, particularly where nursing facility closures have occurred or are occurring or areas with service needs identified by section 144A.351. Preference must be given for projects that reach underserved populations.

(b) Projects must clearly describe:

(1) how they will achieve their purpose;

(2) the process for recruiting, training, and retraining volunteers; and

(3) a plan to promote the project in the designated community, including outreach to persons needing the services.

(c) Money for all projects under this subdivision may be used to:

(1) hire a coordinator to develop a coordinated network of volunteer and paid respite care services and assign workers to clients;

(2) recruit and train volunteer providers;

(3) provide information, training, and education to caregivers;

(4) advertise the availability of the caregiver support and respite care project; and

(5) purchase equipment to maintain a system of assigning workers to clients.

(d) Volunteer and caregiver training must include resources on how to support an individual with dementia.

(e) Project money may not be used to supplant existing funding sources.

Subd. 3d. Core home and community-based services projects. The commissioner shall select and contract with core home and community-based services providers for projects to provide services and supports to older adults both with and without family and other informal caregivers using a request for proposals process. Projects must:

(1) have a credible public or private nonprofit sponsor providing ongoing financial support;

(2) have a specific, clearly defined geographic service area;

(3) use a practice framework designed to identify high-risk older adults and help them take action to better manage their chronic conditions and maintain their community living;

(4) have a team approach to coordination and care, ensuring that the older adult participants, their families, and the formal and informal providers are all part of planning and providing services;

(5) provide information, support services, homemaking services, counseling, and training for the older adults and family caregivers;

(6) encourage service area or neighborhood residents and local organizations to collaborate in meeting the needs of older adults in their geographic service areas;

(7) recruit, train, and direct the use of volunteers to provide informal services and other appropriate support to older adults and their caregivers; and

(8) provide coordination and management of formal and informal services to older adults and their families using less expensive alternatives.

Subd. 3e. <u>Community service grants.</u> The commissioner shall award contracts for grants to public and private nonprofit agencies to establish services that strengthen a community's ability to provide a system of home and community-based services for elderly persons. The commissioner shall use a request for proposals process.

Subd. 4. **Eligibility.** Grants may be awarded only to communities and providers or to a consortium of providers that have a local match of 50 percent of the costs for the project in the form of donations, local tax dollars, in-kind donations, fundraising, or other local matches.

Subd. 5. **Grant preference.** The commissioner of human services shall give preference when awarding grants under this section to areas where nursing facility closures have occurred or are occurring or areas with service needs identified by section 144A.351. The commissioner may award grants to the extent grant funds are available and to the extent applications are approved by the commissioner. Denial of approval of an application in one year does not preclude submission of an application in a subsequent year. The maximum grant amount is limited to \$750,000.

#### Sec. 3. [256.9756] CAREGIVER RESPITE SERVICES GRANTS.

Subdivision 1. Caregiver respite services grant program established. The commissioner of human services must establish a caregiver respite services grant program to increase the availability of respite services for family caregivers of people with dementia and older adults and to provide information, education, and training to respite caregivers and volunteers regarding caring for people with dementia. From the money made available for this purpose, the commissioner must award grants on a competitive basis to respite service providers, giving priority to areas of the state where there is a high need of respite services.

Subd. 2. Eligible uses. Grant recipients awarded grant money under this section must use a portion of the grant award as determined by the commissioner to provide free or subsidized respite services for family caregivers of people with dementia and older adults.

Subd. 3. **Report.** By January 15, 2026, and every other January 15 thereafter, the commissioner shall submit a progress report about the caregiver respite services grants in this section to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over human services finance and policy. The progress report must include metrics of the use of the grant program money.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.0917, subdivision 1b, is amended to read:

Subd. 1b. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have the meanings given.

(b) "Community" means a town; township; city; or targeted neighborhood within a city; or a consortium of towns, townships, cities, or specific neighborhoods within a city.

(c) "Core home and community based services provider" means a Faith in Action, Living at Home Block Nurse, Congregational Nurse, or similar community based program governed by a board, the majority of whose members reside within the program's service area, that organizes and uses volunteers and paid staff to deliver nonmedical services intended to assist older adults to identify and manage risks and to maintain their community living and integration in the community.

(d) (b) "Eldercare development partnership" means a team of representatives of county social service and public health agencies, the area agency on aging, local nursing home providers, local home care providers, and other appropriate home and community-based providers in the area agency's planning and service area.

(e) (c) "Long-term services and supports" means any service available under the elderly waiver program or alternative care grant programs, nursing facility services, transportation services, caregiver support and respite care services, and other home and community-based services identified as necessary either to maintain lifestyle choices for older adults or to support them to remain in their own home.

(f) (d) "Older adult" refers to an individual who is 65 years of age or older.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256M.42, is amended to read:

## 256M.42 ADULT PROTECTION GRANT ALLOCATIONS.

Subdivision 1. Formula. (a) The commissioner shall allocate state money appropriated under this section <u>on an</u> <u>annual basis</u> to each county board <del>and tribal government approved by the commissioner to assume county agency duties</del> for adult <del>protective services or as a lead investigative agency protection</del> under section 626.557 <del>on an annual basis in an amount determined</del> <u>and to Tribal Nations that have voluntarily chosen by resolution of Tribal government to participate in vulnerable adult protection programs</u> according to the following formula <u>after the award of the amounts in paragraph (c)</u>:

(1) 25 percent must be allocated to the responsible agency on the basis of the number of reports of suspected vulnerable adult maltreatment under sections 626.557 and 626.5572, when the county or tribe is responsible as determined by the most recent data of the commissioner; and

(2) 75 percent must be allocated to the responsible agency on the basis of the number of screened-in reports for adult protective services or vulnerable adult maltreatment investigations under sections 626.557 and 626.5572, when the county or tribe is responsible as determined by the most recent data of the commissioner.

(b) The commissioner is precluded from changing the formula under this subdivision or recommending a change to the legislature without public review and input. Notwithstanding this subdivision, no county must be awarded less than a minimum allocation established by the commissioner.

(c) To receive money under this subdivision, a participating Tribal Nation must apply to the commissioner. Of the amount appropriated for purposes of this section, the commissioner must award \$100,000 to each federally recognized Tribal Nation with a Tribal resolution establishing a vulnerable adult protection program. Money received by a Tribal Nation under this section must be used for its vulnerable adult protection program.

Subd. 2. **Payment.** The commissioner shall make allocations for the state fiscal year starting July 1, 2019 2023, and to each county board or Tribal government on or before October 10, 2019 2023. The commissioner shall make allocations under subdivision 1 to each county board or Tribal government each year thereafter on or before July 10.

Subd. 3. **Prohibition on supplanting existing money Purpose of expenditures.** Money received under this section must be used for staffing for protection of vulnerable adults or to meet the agency's duties under section 626.557 and to expand adult protective services to stop, prevent, and reduce risks of maltreatment for adults accepted for services under section 626.557 or for multidisciplinary teams under section 626.5571. Money must not be used to supplant current county or tribe expenditures for these purposes.

<u>Subd. 4.</u> <u>Required expenditures.</u> <u>State money must be used to expand, not supplant, county or Tribal</u> expenditures for the fiscal year 2023 base for adult protection programs, service interventions, or multidisciplinary teams. This prohibition on county or Tribal expenditures supplanting state money ends July 1, 2027.

Subd. 5. County performance on adult protection measures. The commissioner must set vulnerable adult protection measures and standards for money received under this section. The commissioner must require an underperforming county to demonstrate that the county designated money allocated under this section for the purpose required and implemented a reasonable strategy to improve adult protection performance, including the development of a performance improvement plan and additional remedies identified by the commissioner. The commissioner may redirect up to 20 percent of an underperforming county's money under this section toward the performance improvement plan.

Subd. 6. <u>American Indian adult protection.</u> <u>Tribal Nations shall establish vulnerable adult protection</u> measures and standards and report annually to the commissioner on these outcomes and the number of adults served.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2023.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256R.17, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. **Case mix indices.** (a) The commissioner shall assign a case mix index to each case mix classification based on the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services staff time measurement study as determined by the commissioner of health under section 144.0724.

(b) An index maximization approach shall be used to classify residents. "Index maximization" has the meaning given in section 144.0724, subdivision 2, paragraph (c).

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256R.25, is amended to read:

## 256R.25 EXTERNAL FIXED COSTS PAYMENT RATE.

(a) The payment rate for external fixed costs is the sum of the amounts in paragraphs (b) to  $(\Theta)$  (p).

(b) For a facility licensed as a nursing home, the portion related to the provider surcharge under section 256.9657 is equal to \$8.86 per resident day. For a facility licensed as both a nursing home and a boarding care home, the portion related to the provider surcharge under section 256.9657 is equal to \$8.86 per resident day multiplied by the result of its number of nursing home beds divided by its total number of licensed beds.

(c) The portion related to the licensure fee under section 144.122, paragraph (d), is the amount of the fee divided by the sum of the facility's resident days.

(d) The portion related to development and education of resident and family advisory councils under section 144A.33 is \$5 per resident day divided by 365.

(e) The portion related to scholarships is determined under section 256R.37.

54TH DAY]

(f) The portion related to planned closure rate adjustments is as determined under section 256R.40, subdivision 5, and Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.436.

(g) The portion related to consolidation rate adjustments shall be as determined under section 144A.071, subdivisions 4c, paragraph (a), clauses (5) and (6), and 4d.

(h) The portion related to single-bed room incentives is as determined under section 256R.41.

(i) The portions related to real estate taxes, special assessments, and payments made in lieu of real estate taxes directly identified or allocated to the nursing facility are the allowable amounts divided by the sum of the facility's resident days. Allowable costs under this paragraph for payments made by a nonprofit nursing facility that are in lieu of real estate taxes shall not exceed the amount which the nursing facility would have paid to a city or township and county for fire, police, sanitation services, and road maintenance costs had real estate taxes been levied on that property for those purposes.

(j) The portion related to employer health insurance costs is the allowable costs divided by the sum of the facility's resident days.

(k) The portion related to the Public Employees Retirement Association is the allowable costs divided by the sum of the facility's resident days.

(l) The portion related to quality improvement incentive payment rate adjustments is the amount determined under section 256R.39.

(m) The portion related to performance-based incentive payments is the amount determined under section 256R.38.

(n) The portion related to special dietary needs is the amount determined under section 256R.51.

(o) The portion related to the rate adjustments for border city facilities is the amount determined under section 256R.481.

(p) The portion related to the rate adjustment for critical access nursing facilities is the amount determined under section 256R.47.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256R.47, is amended to read:

#### 256R.47 RATE ADJUSTMENT FOR CRITICAL ACCESS NURSING FACILITIES.

(a) The commissioner, in consultation with the commissioner of health, may designate certain nursing facilities as critical access nursing facilities. The designation shall be granted on a competitive basis, within the limits of funds appropriated for this purpose.

(b) The commissioner shall request proposals from nursing facilities every two years. Proposals must be submitted in the form and according to the timelines established by the commissioner. In selecting applicants to designate, the commissioner, in consultation with the commissioner of health, and with input from stakeholders, shall develop criteria designed to preserve access to nursing facility services in isolated areas, rebalance long-term care, and improve quality. To the extent practicable, the commissioner shall ensure an even distribution of designations across the state.

6296

#### JOURNAL OF THE HOUSE

(c) The commissioner shall allow the benefits in clauses (1) to (5) For nursing facilities designated as critical access nursing facilities; the commissioner shall allow a supplemental payment above a facility's operating payment rate as determined to be necessary by the commissioner to maintain access to nursing facility services in isolated areas identified in paragraph (b). The commissioner must approve the amounts of supplemental payments through a memorandum of understanding. Supplemental payments to facilities under this section must be in the form of time-limited rate adjustments included in the external fixed costs payment rate under section 256R.25.

(1) partial rebasing, with the commissioner allowing a designated facility operating payment rates being the sum of up to 60 percent of the operating payment rate determined in accordance with section 256R.21, subdivision 3, and at least 40 percent, with the sum of the two portions being equal to 100 percent, of the operating payment rate that would have been allowed had the facility not been designated. The commissioner may adjust these percentages by up to 20 percent and may approve a request for less than the amount allowed;

(2) enhanced payments for leave days. Notwithstanding section 256R.43, upon designation as a critical access nursing facility, the commissioner shall limit payment for leave days to 60 percent of that nursing facility's total payment rate for the involved resident, and shall allow this payment only when the occupancy of the nursing facility, inclusive of bed hold days, is equal to or greater than 90 percent;

(3) two designated critical access nursing facilities, with up to 100 beds in active service, may jointly apply to the commissioner of health for a waiver of Minnesota Rules, part 4658.0500, subpart 2, in order to jointly employ a director of nursing. The commissioner of health shall consider each waiver request independently based on the criteria under Minnesota Rules, part 4658.0040;

(4) the minimum threshold under section 256B.431, subdivision 15, paragraph (e), shall be 40 percent of the amount that would otherwise apply; and

(5) the quality based rate limits under section 256R.23, subdivisions 5 to 7, apply to designated critical access nursing facilities.

(d) Designation of a critical access nursing facility is for a <u>maximum</u> period of <u>up to</u> two years, after which the <u>benefits</u> <u>benefit</u> allowed under paragraph (c) shall be removed. Designated facilities may apply for continued designation.

(e) This section is suspended and no state or federal funding shall be appropriated or allocated for the purposes of this section from January 1, 2016, to December 31, 2019.

(e) The memorandum of understanding required by paragraph (c) must state that the designation of a critical access nursing facility must be removed if the facility undergoes a change of ownership as defined in section 144A.06, subdivision 2.

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256S.211, is amended to read:

# 256S.211 RATE SETTING; RATE ESTABLISHMENT UPDATING RATES; EVALUATION; COST <u>REPORTING</u>.

Subdivision 1. **Establishing base wages.** When establishing the base wages according to section 256S.212, the commissioner shall use standard occupational classification (SOC) codes from the Bureau of Labor Statistics as defined in the edition of the Occupational Handbook published immediately prior to January 1, 2019, using Minnesota-specific wages taken from job descriptions.

#### FRIDAY, APRIL 21, 2023

6297

Subd. 2. Establishing Updating rates. By January 1 of each year, The commissioner shall establish factors, update component rates, and rates effective January 1, 2024, according to sections 256S.213 and 256S.212 to 256S.215, using the factor and base wages established according to section 256S.212 values the commissioner used to establish rates effective January 1, 2019.

Subd. 3. Spending requirements. (a) Except for community access for disability inclusion customized living and brain injury customized living under section 256B.49, at least 80 percent of the marginal increase in revenue from the implementation of any rate adjustments under this section must be used to increase compensation-related costs for employees directly employed by the provider.

(b) For the purposes of this subdivision, compensation-related costs include:

(1) wages and salaries;

(2) the employer's share of FICA taxes, Medicare taxes, state and federal unemployment taxes, workers' compensation, and mileage reimbursement;

(3) the employer's paid share of health and dental insurance, life insurance, disability insurance, long-term care insurance, uniform allowance, pensions, and contributions to employee retirement accounts; and

(4) benefits that address direct support professional workforce needs above and beyond what employees were offered prior to the implementation of any rate adjustments under this section, including any concurrent or subsequent adjustments to the base wage indices.

(c) Compensation-related costs for persons employed in the central office of a corporation or entity that has an ownership interest in the provider or exercises control over the provider, or for persons paid by the provider under a management contract, do not count toward the 80 percent requirement under this subdivision.

(d) A provider agency or individual provider that receives additional revenue subject to the requirements of this subdivision shall prepare, and upon request submit to the commissioner, a distribution plan that specifies the amount of money the provider expects to receive that is subject to the requirements of this subdivision, including how that money was or will be distributed to increase compensation-related costs for employees. Within 60 days of final implementation of the new phase-in proportion or adjustment to the base wage indices subject to the requirements of this subdivision, the provider must post the distribution plan and leave it posted for a period of at least six months in an area of the provider's operation to which all employees have access. The posted distribution plan must include instructions regarding how to contact the commissioner, or the commissioner's representative, if an employee has not received the compensation-related increase described in the plan.

Subd. 4. Evaluation of rate setting. (a) Beginning January 1, 2024, and every two years thereafter, the commissioner, in consultation with stakeholders, shall use all available data and resources to evaluate the following rate setting elements:

(1) the base wage index;

(2) the factors and supervision wage components; and

(3) the formulas to calculate adjusted base wages and rates.

(b) Beginning January 15, 2026, and every two years thereafter, the commissioner shall report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees and divisions with jurisdiction over health and human services finance and policy with a full report on the information and data gathered under paragraph (a).

Subd. 5. Cost reporting. (a) As determined by the commissioner, in consultation with stakeholders, a provider enrolled to provide services with rates determined under this chapter must submit requested cost data to the commissioner to support evaluation of the rate methodologies in this chapter. Requested cost data may include but is not limited to:

(1) worker wage costs;

(2) benefits paid;

(3) supervisor wage costs;

(4) executive wage costs;

(5) vacation, sick, and training time paid;

(6) taxes, workers' compensation, and unemployment insurance costs paid;

(7) administrative costs paid;

(8) program costs paid;

(9) transportation costs paid;

(10) vacancy rates; and

(11) other data relating to costs required to provide services requested by the commissioner.

(b) At least once in any five-year period, a provider must submit cost data for a fiscal year that ended not more than 18 months prior to the submission date. The commissioner shall provide each provider a 90-day notice prior to the provider's submission due date. If by 30 days after the required submission date a provider fails to submit required reporting data, the commissioner shall provide notice to the provider, and if by 60 days after the required submission date a provider has not provided the required data the commissioner shall provide a second notice. The commissioner shall temporarily suspend payments to the provider if cost data are not received 90 days after the required submission date. Withheld payments must be made once data is received by the commissioner.

(c) The commissioner shall coordinate the cost reporting activities required under this section with the cost reporting activities directed under section 256B.4914, subdivision 10a.

(d) The commissioner shall analyze cost documentation in paragraph (a) and, in consultation with stakeholders, may submit recommendations on rate methodologies in this chapter, including ways to monitor and enforce the spending requirements directed in subdivision 3, through the reports directed by subdivision 4.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** Subdivisions 2 to 4 are effective January 1, 2024, or upon federal approval, whichever is later. The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained. Subdivision 5 is effective January 1, 2025.

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256S.214, is amended to read:

#### 256S.214 RATE SETTING; ADJUSTED BASE WAGE.

(a) For the purposes of section 256S.215, the adjusted base wage for each position equals the position's base wage under section 256S.212 plus:

(1) the position's base wage multiplied by the payroll taxes and benefits factor under section 256S.213, subdivision 1;

(2) the position's base wage multiplied by the general and administrative factor under section 256S.213, subdivision 2; and

(3) the position's base wage multiplied by the program plan support factor under section 256S.213, subdivision 3.

(b) If the base wage described in paragraph (a) is below \$16.96, the base wage shall equal \$16.96.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2024, or upon federal approval, whichever is later. The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256S.215, subdivision 15, is amended to read:

Subd. 15. **Home-delivered meals rate.** The home-delivered meals rate equals \$9.30 is the rate in effect on July 1, 2023, adjusted by 15.8 percent. The commissioner shall increase the home delivered meals rate every July 1 by the percent increase in the nursing facility dietary per diem using the two most recent and available nursing facility cost reports.

#### **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2024.

Sec. 12. Laws 2021, chapter 30, article 12, section 5, as amended by Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 7, article 17, section 2, is amended to read:

# Sec. 5. GOVERNOR'S COUNCIL ON AN AGE-FRIENDLY MINNESOTA.

The Governor's Council on an Age-Friendly Minnesota, established in Executive Order 19-38, shall: (1) work to advance age-friendly policies; and (2) coordinate state, local, and private partners' collaborative work on emergency preparedness, with a focus on older adults, communities, and persons in zip codes most impacted by the COVID-19 pandemic. The Governor's Council on an Age-Friendly Minnesota is extended and expires June 30, 2024 2027.

Sec. 13. Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 7, article 17, section 8, is amended to read:

#### Sec. 8. AGE-FRIENDLY MINNESOTA.

Subdivision 1. Age-friendly community grants. (a) This act includes \$0 in fiscal year 2022 and \$875,000 in fiscal year 2023 for age-friendly community grants. The commissioner of human services, in collaboration with the Minnesota Board on Aging and the Governor's Council on an Age-Friendly Minnesota, established in Executive Order 19-38, shall develop the age-friendly community grant program to help communities, including cities, counties, other municipalities, Tribes, and collaborative efforts, to become age-friendly communities, with an emphasis on structures, services, and community features necessary to support older adult residents over the next decade, including but not limited to:

(1) coordination of health and social services;

- (2) transportation access;
- (3) safe, affordable places to live;
- (4) reducing social isolation and improving wellness;
- (5) combating ageism and racism against older adults;
- (6) accessible outdoor space and buildings;
- (7) communication and information technology access; and
- (8) opportunities to stay engaged and economically productive.

The general fund base in this act for this purpose is \$875,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$0 \$3,000,000 in fiscal year 2025.

- (b) All grant activities must be completed by March 31, 2024 2027.
- (c) This subdivision expires June 30, 2024 2027.

Subd. 2. **Technical assistance grants.** (a) This act includes \$0 in fiscal year 2022 and \$575,000 in fiscal year 2023 for technical assistance grants. The commissioner of human services, in collaboration with the Minnesota Board on Aging and the Governor's Council on an Age-Friendly Minnesota, established in Executive Order 19-38, shall develop the age-friendly technical assistance grant program. The general fund base in this act for this purpose is \$575,000 in fiscal year 2024 and  $\frac{\$0}{1,725,000}$  in fiscal year 2025.

- (b) All grant activities must be completed by March 31, 2024 2027.
- (c) This subdivision expires June 30, <del>2024</del> <u>2027</u>.

# Sec. 14. <u>DIRECTION TO COMMISSIONER OF HUMAN SERVICES; CAREGIVER RESPITE</u> <u>SERVICES GRANTS.</u>

Beginning in fiscal year 2025, the commissioner of human services must continue the respite services for older adults grant program established under Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 7, article 17, section 17, subdivision 3, under the authority granted under Minnesota Statutes, section 256.9756. The commissioner may begin the grant application process for awarding grants under Minnesota Statutes, section 256.9756, during fiscal year 2024 in order to facilitate the continuity of the grant program during the transition from a temporary program to a permanent one.

## Sec. 15. DIRECTION TO COMMISSIONER; FUTURE PACE IMPLEMENTATION FUNDING.

(a) The commissioner of human services shall work collaboratively with stakeholders to undertake an actuarial analysis of Medicaid costs for nursing home eligible beneficiaries for the purposes of establishing a monthly Medicaid capitation rate for the program of all-inclusive care for the elderly (PACE). The analysis must include all sources of state Medicaid expenditures for nursing home eligible beneficiaries, including but not limited to capitation payments to plans and additional state expenditures to skilled nursing facilities consistent with Code of Federal Regulations, chapter 42, part 447, and long-term care costs.

(b) The commissioner shall also estimate the administrative costs associated with implementing and monitoring PACE.

54TH DAY]

(c) The commissioner shall provide a report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over health care finance on the actuarial analysis, proposed capitation rate, and estimated administrative costs by December 15, 2023. The commissioner shall recommend a financing mechanism and administrative framework by July 1, 2024.

(d) By September 1, 2024, the commissioner shall inform the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over health care finance on the commissioner's progress toward developing a recommended financing mechanism. For purposes of this section, the commissioner may issue or extend a request for proposal to an outside vendor.

## Sec. 16. RATE INCREASE FOR CERTAIN HOME AND COMMUNITY-BASED SERVICES.

<u>The commissioner of human services shall increase payment rates for community living assistance and family caregiver services under Minnesota Statutes, sections 256B.0913 and 256B.0922, and chapter 256S by 15.8 percent from the rates in effect on December 31, 2023.</u>

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2024, or upon federal approval, whichever is later. The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.

# Sec. 17. TEMPORARY GRANT FOR SMALL CUSTOMIZED LIVING PROVIDERS.

The commissioner of human services must establish a temporary grant for customized living providers that serve six or fewer people in a single-family home and that are transitioning to community residential setting licensure or integrated community supports licensure. Allowable uses of grant money include physical plant updates required for community residential setting or integrated community supports licensure, technical assistance to adapt business models and meet policy and regulatory guidance, and other uses approved by the commissioner. License holders of eligible settings must apply for grant money using an application process determined by the commissioner. Grant money approved by the commissioner is a onetime award of up to \$20,000 per eligible setting. To be considered for grant money, eligible license holders must submit a grant application by June 30, 2024. The commissioner may approve grant applications on a rolling basis.

Sec. 18. REVISOR INSTRUCTION.

The revisor of statutes shall change the headnote in Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.0917, from "HOME AND COMMUNITY-BASED SERVICES FOR OLDER ADULTS" to "ELDERCARE DEVELOPMENT PARTNERSHIPS."

#### Sec. 19. **<u>REPEALER.</u>**

(a) Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256S.2101, subdivisions 1 and 2, are repealed.

(b) Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.0917, subdivisions 1a, 6, 7a, and 13, are repealed.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** Paragraph (a) is effective January 1, 2024.

## ARTICLE 3 BEHAVIORAL HEALTH

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 4.046, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. <u>Office of Addiction and recovery Recovery:</u> director. <u>The Office of Addiction and Recovery is</u> created in the Department of Management and Budget. The governor must appoint an addiction and recovery director, who shall serve as chair of the subcabinet <u>and administer the Office of Addiction and Recovery</u>. The director shall serve in the unclassified service and shall report to the governor. The director must:

(1) make efforts to break down silos and work across agencies to better target the state's role in addressing addiction, treatment, and recovery for youth and adults;

(2) assist in leading the subcabinet and the advisory council toward progress on measurable goals that track the state's efforts in combatting addiction for youth and adults, and preventing substance use and addiction among the state's youth population; and

(3) establish and manage external partnerships and build relationships with communities, community leaders, and those who have direct experience with addiction to ensure that all voices of recovery are represented in the work of the subcabinet and advisory council.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 4.046, subdivision 7, is amended to read:

Subd. 7. **Staff and administrative support.** The commissioner of human services management and budget, in coordination with other state agencies and boards as applicable, must provide staffing and administrative support to the <u>Office of Addiction and Recovery, the</u> addiction and recovery director, the subcabinet, and the advisory council established in this section.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245.91, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. **Facility or program.** "Facility" or "program" means a nonresidential or residential program as defined in section 245A.02, subdivisions 10 and 14, and any agency, facility, or program that provides services or treatment for mental illness, developmental disability, substance use disorder, or emotional disturbance that is required to be licensed, certified, or registered by the commissioner of human services, health, or education; <u>a sober home under section 254B.18</u>; and an acute care inpatient facility that provides services or treatment for mental illness, developmental disability, substance use disorder, or emotional disturbance.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245G.01, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 4a. <u>American Society of Addiction Medicine criteria or ASAM criteria</u>. <u>"American Society of Addiction Medicine criteria" or "ASAM criteria" has the meaning provided in section 254B.01, subdivision 2a.</u>

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245G.01, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 20c. **Protective factors.** "Protective factors" means the actions or efforts a person can take to reduce the negative impact of certain issues, such as substance use disorders, mental health disorders, and risk of suicide. Protective factors include connecting to positive supports in the community, a nutritious diet, exercise, attending counseling or 12-step groups, and taking appropriate medications.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245G.02, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Exemption from license requirement. This chapter does not apply to a county or recovery community organization that is providing a service for which the county or recovery community organization is an eligible vendor under section 254B.05. This chapter does not apply to an organization whose primary functions are information, referral, diagnosis, case management, and assessment for the purposes of client placement, education, support group services, or self-help programs. This chapter does not apply to the activities of a licensed professional in private practice. A license holder providing the initial set of substance use disorder services allowable under section 254A.03, subdivision 3, paragraph (c), to an individual referred to a licensed nonresidential substance use disorder treatment program after a positive screen for alcohol or substance misuse is exempt from sections 245G.05; 245G.06, subdivisions 1, <u>1a</u>, 2, and 4; 245G.07, subdivisions 1, paragraph (a), clauses (2) to (4), and 2, clauses (1) to (7); and 245G.17.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2024.

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245G.05, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. **Comprehensive assessment.** (a) A comprehensive assessment of the client's substance use disorder must be administered face-to-face by an alcohol and drug counselor within three five calendar days from the day of service initiation for a residential program or within three calendar days on which a treatment session has been provided of the day of service initiation for a client by the end of the fifth day on which a treatment service is provided in a nonresidential program. The number of days to complete the comprehensive assessment excludes the day of service initiation. If the comprehensive assessment is not completed within the required time frame, the person-centered reason for the delay and the planned completion date must be documented in the client's file. The comprehensive assessment that authorized the treatment service, an alcohol and drug counselor may use the comprehensive assessment for requirements of this subdivision but must document a review of the comprehensive assessment and update the comprehensive assessment as clinically necessary to ensure compliance with this subdivision within applicable timelines. The comprehensive assessment must include sufficient information to complete the assessment summary according to subdivision 2 and the individual treatment plan according to section 245G.06. The comprehensive assessment must include information about the client's needs that relate to substance use and personal strengths that support recovery, including:

(1) age, sex, cultural background, sexual orientation, living situation, economic status, and level of education;

(2) a description of the circumstances on the day of service initiation;

(3) a list of previous attempts at treatment for substance misuse or substance use disorder, compulsive gambling, or mental illness;

(4) a list of substance use history including amounts and types of substances used, frequency and duration of use, periods of abstinence, and circumstances of relapse, if any. For each substance used within the previous 30 days, the information must include the date of the most recent use and address the absence or presence of previous withdrawal symptoms;

(5) specific problem behaviors exhibited by the client when under the influence of substances;

(6) the client's desire for family involvement in the treatment program, family history of substance use and misuse, history or presence of physical or sexual abuse, and level of family support;

(7) physical and medical concerns or diagnoses, current medical treatment needed or being received related to the diagnoses, and whether the concerns need to be referred to an appropriate health care professional;

(8) mental health history, including symptoms and the effect on the client's ability to function; current mental health treatment; and psychotropic medication needed to maintain stability. The assessment must utilize screening tools approved by the commissioner pursuant to section 245.4863 to identify whether the client screens positive for co-occurring disorders;

(9) arrests and legal interventions related to substance use;

(10) a description of how the client's use affected the client's ability to function appropriately in work and educational settings;

(11) ability to understand written treatment materials, including rules and the client's rights;

(12) a description of any risk taking behavior, including behavior that puts the client at risk of exposure to blood borne or sexually transmitted diseases;

(13) social network in relation to expected support for recovery;

(14) leisure time activities that are associated with substance use;

(15) whether the client is pregnant and, if so, the health of the unborn child and the client's current involvement in prenatal care;

(16) whether the client recognizes needs related to substance use and is willing to follow treatment recommendations; and

(17) information from a collateral contact may be included, but is not required.

(b) If the client is identified as having opioid use disorder or seeking treatment for opioid use disorder, the program must provide educational information to the client concerning:

(1) risks for opioid use disorder and dependence;

(2) treatment options, including the use of a medication for opioid use disorder;

(3) the risk of and recognizing opioid overdose; and

(4) the use, availability, and administration of naloxone to respond to opioid overdose.

(c) The commissioner shall develop educational materials that are supported by research and updated periodically. The license holder must use the educational materials that are approved by the commissioner to comply with this requirement.

(d) If the comprehensive assessment is completed to authorize treatment service for the client, at the earliest opportunity during the assessment interview the assessor shall determine if:

(1) the client is in severe withdrawal and likely to be a danger to self or others;

(2) the client has severe medical problems that require immediate attention; or

(3) the client has severe emotional or behavioral symptoms that place the client or others at risk of harm.

If one or more of the conditions in clauses (1) to (3) are present, the assessor must end the assessment interview and follow the procedures in the program's medical services plan under section 245G.08, subdivision 2, to help the client obtain the appropriate services. The assessment interview may resume when the condition is resolved. An alcohol and drug counselor must sign and date the comprehensive assessment review and update.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2024.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245G.05, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 3. Comprehensive assessment requirements. (a) A comprehensive assessment must meet the requirements under section 2451.10, subdivision 6, paragraphs (b) and (c). It must also include:

(1) a diagnosis of a substance use disorder or a finding that the client does not meet the criteria for a substance use disorder;

54TH DAY]

(2) a determination of whether the individual screens positive for co-occurring mental health disorders using a screening tool approved by the commissioner pursuant to section 245.4863;

(3) a risk rating and summary to support the risk ratings within each of the dimensions listed in section 254B.04, subdivision 4; and

(4) a recommendation for the ASAM level of care identified in section 254B.19, subdivision 1.

(b) If the individual is assessed for opioid use disorder, the program must provide educational material to the client within 24 hours of service initiation on:

(1) risks for opioid use disorder and dependence;

(2) treatment options, including the use of a medication for opioid use disorder;

(3) the risk and recognition of opioid overdose; and

(4) the use, availability, and administration of an opiate antagonist to respond to opioid overdose.

If the client is identified as having opioid use disorder at a later point, the required educational material must be provided at that point. The license holder must use the educational materials that are approved by the commissioner to comply with this requirement.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2024.

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245G.06, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. General. Each client must have a person-centered individual treatment plan developed by an alcohol and drug counselor within ten days from the day of service initiation for a residential program and within five calendar days, by the end of the tenth day on which a treatment session has been provided from the day of service initiation for a client in a nonresidential program, not to exceed 30 days. Opioid treatment programs must complete the individual treatment plan within 21 days from the day of service initiation. The number of days to complete the individual treatment plan excludes the day of service initiation. The individual treatment plan must be signed by the client and the alcohol and drug counselor and document the client's involvement in the development of the plan. The individual treatment plan is developed upon the qualified staff member's dated signature. Treatment planning must include ongoing assessment of client needs. An individual treatment plan must be updated based on new information gathered about the client's condition, the client's level of participation, and on whether methods identified have the intended effect. A change to the plan must be signed by the client and the alcohol and drug counselor. If the client chooses to have family or others involved in treatment services, the client's individual treatment plan must include how the family or others will be involved in the client's treatment. If a client is receiving treatment services or an assessment via telehealth and the alcohol and drug counselor documents the reason the client's signature cannot be obtained, the alcohol and drug counselor may document the client's verbal approval or electronic written approval of the treatment plan or change to the treatment plan in lieu of the client's signature.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2024.

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245G.06, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

<u>Subd. 1a.</u> <u>Individual treatment plan contents and process.</u> (a) After completing a client's comprehensive assessment, the license holder must complete an individual treatment plan. The license holder must:

(1) base the client's individual treatment plan on the client's comprehensive assessment;

(2) use a person-centered, culturally appropriate planning process that allows the client's family and other natural supports to observe and participate in the client's individual treatment services, assessments, and treatment planning;

(3) identify the client's treatment goals in relation to any or all of the applicable ASAM six dimensions identified in section 254B.04, subdivision 4, to ensure measurable treatment objectives, a treatment strategy, and a schedule for accomplishing the client's treatment goals and objectives;

(4) document in the treatment plan the ASAM level of care identified in section 254B.19, subdivision 1, under which the client is receiving services;

(5) identify the participants involved in the client's treatment planning. The client must participate in the client's treatment planning. If applicable, the license holder must document the reasons that the license holder did not involve the client's family or other natural supports in the client's treatment planning;

(6) identify resources to refer the client to when the client's needs will be addressed concurrently by another provider; and

(7) identify maintenance strategy goals and methods designed to address relapse prevention and to strengthen the client's protective factors.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2024.

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245G.06, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. **Treatment plan review.** A treatment plan review must be entered in a client's file weekly or after each treatment service, whichever is less frequent, <u>completed</u> by the alcohol and drug counselor responsible for the client's treatment plan. The review must indicate the span of time covered by the review <del>and each of the six</del> dimensions listed in section 245G.05, subdivision 2, paragraph (c). The review and must:

(1) address each goal in the <u>document client goals addressed since the last</u> treatment plan <u>review</u> and whether the <u>identified</u> methods to address the goals are <u>continue to be</u> effective;

(2) include <u>document</u> monitoring of any physical and mental health problems <u>and include toxicology results for</u> <u>alcohol and substance use</u>, when <u>available</u>;

(3) document the participation of others <u>involved in the individual's treatment planning</u>, including when services are offered to the client's family or significant others;

(4) <u>if changes to the treatment plan are determined to be necessary</u>, document staff recommendations for changes in the methods identified in the treatment plan and whether the client agrees with the change; <del>and</del>

(5) include a review and evaluation of the individual abuse prevention plan according to section 245A.65-: and

(6) document any referrals made since the previous treatment plan review.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2024.

Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245G.06, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 3a. Frequency of treatment plan reviews. (a) A license holder must ensure that the alcohol and drug counselor responsible for a client's treatment plan completes and documents a treatment plan review that meets the requirements of subdivision 3 in each client's file, according to the frequencies required in this subdivision. All ASAM levels referred to in this chapter are those described in section 254B.19, subdivision 1.

6306

54TH DAY]

(b) For a client receiving residential ASAM level 3.3 or 3.5 high-intensity services or residential hospital-based services, a treatment plan review must be completed once every 14 days.

(c) For a client receiving residential ASAM level 3.1 low-intensity services or any other residential level not listed in paragraph (b), a treatment plan review must be completed once every 30 days.

(d) For a client receiving nonresidential ASAM level 2.5 partial hospitalization services, a treatment plan review must be completed once every 14 days.

(e) For a client receiving nonresidential ASAM level 1.0 outpatient or 2.1 intensive outpatient services or any other nonresidential level not included in paragraph (d), a treatment plan review must be completed once every 30 days.

(f) For a client receiving nonresidential opioid treatment program services according to section 245G.22, a treatment plan review must be completed weekly for the ten weeks following completion of the treatment plan and monthly thereafter. Treatment plan reviews must be completed more frequently when clinical needs warrant.

(g) Notwithstanding paragraphs (e) and (f), for a client in a nonresidential program with a treatment plan that clearly indicates less than five hours of skilled treatment services will be provided to the client each month, a treatment plan review must be completed once every 90 days.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2024.

Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245G.06, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. **Service discharge summary.** (a) An alcohol and drug counselor must write a service discharge summary for each client. The service discharge summary must be completed within five days of the client's service termination. A copy of the client's service discharge summary must be provided to the client upon the client's request.

(b) The service discharge summary must be recorded in the six dimensions listed in section <del>245G.05,</del> <del>subdivision 2, paragraph (c)</del> <u>254B.04, subdivision 4</u>, and include the following information:

(1) the client's issues, strengths, and needs while participating in treatment, including services provided;

(2) the client's progress toward achieving each goal identified in the individual treatment plan;

(3) a risk description according to section 245G.05 254B.04, subdivision 4;

(4) the reasons for and circumstances of service termination. If a program discharges a client at staff request, the reason for discharge and the procedure followed for the decision to discharge must be documented and comply with the requirements in section 245G.14, subdivision 3, clause (3);

(5) the client's living arrangements at service termination;

(6) continuing care recommendations, including transitions between more or less intense services, or more frequent to less frequent services, and referrals made with specific attention to continuity of care for mental health, as needed; and

(7) service termination diagnosis.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2024.

Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245G.09, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Contents. Client records must contain the following:

(1) documentation that the client was given information on client rights and responsibilities, grievance procedures, tuberculosis, and HIV, and that the client was provided an orientation to the program abuse prevention plan required under section 245A.65, subdivision 2, paragraph (a), clause (4). If the client has an opioid use disorder, the record must contain documentation that the client was provided educational information according to section 245G.05, subdivision  $\frac{1}{3}$ , paragraph (b);

(2) an initial services plan completed according to section 245G.04;

(3) a comprehensive assessment completed according to section 245G.05;

(4) an assessment summary completed according to section 245G.05, subdivision 2;

(5) (4) an individual abuse prevention plan according to sections 245A.65, subdivision 2, and 626.557, subdivision 14, when applicable;

(6) (5) an individual treatment plan according to section 245G.06, subdivisions 1 and 2;

(7) (6) documentation of treatment services, significant events, appointments, concerns, and treatment plan reviews according to section 245G.06, subdivisions 2a, 2b, and 3, and 3a; and

(8) (7) a summary at the time of service termination according to section 245G.06, subdivision 4.

#### **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2024.

Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245G.22, subdivision 15, is amended to read:

Subd. 15. Nonmedication treatment services; documentation. (a) The program must offer at least 50 consecutive minutes of individual or group therapy treatment services as defined in section 245G.07, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (1), per week, for the first ten weeks following the day of service initiation, and at least 50 consecutive minutes per month thereafter. As clinically appropriate, the program may offer these services cumulatively and not consecutively in increments of no less than 15 minutes over the required time period, and for a total of 60 minutes of treatment services over the time period, and must document the reason for providing services cumulatively in the client's record. The program may offer additional levels of service when deemed clinically necessary meet the requirements in section 245G.07, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), and must document each time the client was offered an individual or group counseling service. If the individual or group counseling service was offered but not provided to the client, the license holder must document the reason the service was not provided. If the service was provided, the license holder must ensure that the service is documented according to the requirements in section 245G.06, subdivision 2a.

(b) Notwithstanding the requirements of comprehensive assessments in section 245G.05, the assessment must be completed within 21 days from the day of service initiation.

(c) Notwithstanding the requirements of individual treatment plans set forth in section 245G.06:

(1) treatment plan contents for a maintenance client are not required to include goals the client must reach to complete treatment and have services terminated;

(2) treatment plans for a client in a taper or detox status must include goals the client must reach to complete treatment and have services terminated; and

(3) for the ten weeks following the day of service initiation for all new admissions, readmissions, and transfers, a weekly treatment plan review must be documented once the treatment plan is completed. Subsequently, the counselor must document treatment plan reviews in the six dimensions at least once monthly or, when clinical need warrants, more frequently.

#### **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2024.

Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245I.10, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. **Standard diagnostic assessment; required elements.** (a) Only a mental health professional or a clinical trainee may complete a standard diagnostic assessment of a client. A standard diagnostic assessment of a client must include a face-to-face interview with a client and a written evaluation of the client. The assessor must complete a client's standard diagnostic assessment within the client's cultural context. <u>An alcohol and drug counselor may gather and document the information in paragraphs (b) and (c) when completing a comprehensive assessment according to section 245G.05.</u>

(b) When completing a standard diagnostic assessment of a client, the assessor must gather and document information about the client's current life situation, including the following information:

(1) the client's age;

(2) the client's current living situation, including the client's housing status and household members;

- (3) the status of the client's basic needs;
- (4) the client's education level and employment status;
- (5) the client's current medications;

(6) any immediate risks to the client's health and safety, including withdrawal symptoms, medical conditions, and behavioral and emotional symptoms;

- (7) the client's perceptions of the client's condition;
- (8) the client's description of the client's symptoms, including the reason for the client's referral;
- (9) the client's history of mental health and substance use disorder treatment; and
- (10) cultural influences on the client-; and
- (11) substance use history, if applicable, including:

(i) amounts and types of substances, frequency and duration, route of administration, periods of abstinence, and circumstances of relapse; and

(ii) the impact to functioning when under the influence of substances, including legal interventions.

(c) If the assessor cannot obtain the information that this paragraph requires without retraumatizing the client or harming the client's willingness to engage in treatment, the assessor must identify which topics will require further assessment during the course of the client's treatment. The assessor must gather and document information related to the following topics:

(1) the client's relationship with the client's family and other significant personal relationships, including the client's evaluation of the quality of each relationship;

(2) the client's strengths and resources, including the extent and quality of the client's social networks;

(3) important developmental incidents in the client's life;

(4) maltreatment, trauma, potential brain injuries, and abuse that the client has suffered;

(5) the client's history of or exposure to alcohol and drug usage and treatment; and

(6) the client's health history and the client's family health history, including the client's physical, chemical, and mental health history.

(d) When completing a standard diagnostic assessment of a client, an assessor must use a recognized diagnostic framework.

(1) When completing a standard diagnostic assessment of a client who is five years of age or younger, the assessor must use the current edition of the DC: 0-5 Diagnostic Classification of Mental Health and Development Disorders of Infancy and Early Childhood published by Zero to Three.

(2) When completing a standard diagnostic assessment of a client who is six years of age or older, the assessor must use the current edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders published by the American Psychiatric Association.

(3) When completing a standard diagnostic assessment of a client who is five years of age or younger, an assessor must administer the Early Childhood Service Intensity Instrument (ECSII) to the client and include the results in the client's assessment.

(4) When completing a standard diagnostic assessment of a client who is six to 17 years of age, an assessor must administer the Child and Adolescent Service Intensity Instrument (CASII) to the client and include the results in the client's assessment.

(5) When completing a standard diagnostic assessment of a client who is 18 years of age or older, an assessor must use either (i) the CAGE-AID Questionnaire or (ii) the criteria in the most recent edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders published by the American Psychiatric Association to screen and assess the client for a substance use disorder.

(e) When completing a standard diagnostic assessment of a client, the assessor must include and document the following components of the assessment:

(1) the client's mental status examination;

(2) the client's baseline measurements; symptoms; behavior; skills; abilities; resources; vulnerabilities; safety needs, including client information that supports the assessor's findings after applying a recognized diagnostic framework from paragraph (d); and any differential diagnosis of the client; and

54TH DAY]

FRIDAY, APRIL 21, 2023

(3) an explanation of: (i) how the assessor diagnosed the client using the information from the client's interview, assessment, psychological testing, and collateral information about the client; (ii) the client's needs; (iii) the client's risk factors; (iv) the client's strengths; and (v) the client's responsivity factors.

(f) When completing a standard diagnostic assessment of a client, the assessor must consult the client and the client's family about which services that the client and the family prefer to treat the client. The assessor must make referrals for the client as to services required by law.

Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 253B.10, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Administrative requirements. (a) When a person is committed, the court shall issue a warrant or an order committing the patient to the custody of the head of the treatment facility, state-operated treatment program, or community-based treatment program. The warrant or order shall state that the patient meets the statutory criteria for civil commitment.

(b) The commissioner shall prioritize <u>civilly committed</u> patients <u>who are determined by the Office of Medical</u> <u>Director or a designee to require emergency admission to a state-operated treatment program, as well as patients</u> being admitted from jail or a correctional institution who are:

(1) ordered confined in a state-operated treatment program for an examination under Minnesota Rules of Criminal Procedure, rules 20.01, subdivision 4, paragraph (a), and 20.02, subdivision 2;

(2) under civil commitment for competency treatment and continuing supervision under Minnesota Rules of Criminal Procedure, rule 20.01, subdivision 7;

(3) found not guilty by reason of mental illness under Minnesota Rules of Criminal Procedure, rule 20.02, subdivision 8, and under civil commitment or are ordered to be detained in a state-operated treatment program pending completion of the civil commitment proceedings; or

(4) committed under this chapter to the commissioner after dismissal of the patient's criminal charges.

Patients described in this paragraph must be admitted to a state-operated treatment program within 48 hours <u>of the</u> <u>Office of Medical Director or a designee determining that a medically appropriate bed is available</u>. The commitment must be ordered by the court as provided in section 253B.09, subdivision 1, paragraph (d).

(c) Upon the arrival of a patient at the designated treatment facility, state-operated treatment program, or community-based treatment program, the head of the facility or program shall retain the duplicate of the warrant and endorse receipt upon the original warrant or acknowledge receipt of the order. The endorsed receipt or acknowledgment must be filed in the court of commitment. After arrival, the patient shall be under the control and custody of the head of the facility or program.

(d) Copies of the petition for commitment, the court's findings of fact and conclusions of law, the court order committing the patient, the report of the court examiners, and the prepetition report, and any medical and behavioral information available shall be provided at the time of admission of a patient to the designated treatment facility or program to which the patient is committed. Upon a patient's referral to the commissioner of human services for admission pursuant to subdivision 1, paragraph (b), any inpatient hospital, treatment facility, jail, or correctional facility that has provided care or supervision to the patient in the previous two years shall, when requested by the treatment facility or commissioner, provide copies of the patient's medical and behavioral records to the Department of Human Services for purposes of preadmission planning. This information shall be provided by the head of the treatment facility to treatment facility staff in a consistent and timely manner and pursuant to all applicable laws.

Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 254B.01, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 2a. American Society of Addiction Medicine criteria or ASAM criteria. "American Society of Addiction Medicine criteria" or "ASAM" means the clinical guidelines for purposes of assessment, treatment, placement, and transfer or discharge of individuals with substance use disorders. The ASAM criteria are contained in the current edition of the ASAM Criteria: Treatment Criteria for Addictive, Substance-Related, and Co-Occurring Conditions.

Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 254B.01, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 9. Skilled treatment services. "Skilled treatment services" has the meaning given for the "treatment services" described in section 245G.07, subdivisions 1, paragraph (a), clauses (1) to (4), and 2, clauses (1) to (6). Skilled treatment services must be provided by qualified professionals as identified in section 245G.07, subdivision 3.

Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 254B.01, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 10. Sober home. A sober home is a cooperative living residence, a room and board residence, an apartment, or any other living accommodation that:

(1) provides temporary housing to persons with substance use disorders;

(2) stipulates that residents must abstain from using alcohol or other illicit drugs or substances not prescribed by a physician and meet other requirements as a condition of living in the home:

(3) charges a fee for living there;

(4) does not provide counseling or treatment services to residents; and

(5) promotes sustained recovery from substance use disorders.

Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 254B.01, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 11. Comprehensive assessment. "Comprehensive assessment" means a person-centered, trauma-informed assessment that:

(1) is completed for a substance use disorder diagnosis, treatment planning, and determination of client eligibility for substance use disorder treatment services;

(2) meets the requirements in section 245G.05; and

(3) is completed by an alcohol and drug counselor qualified according to section 245G.11, subdivision 5.

Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 254B.04, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 4. Assessment criteria and risk descriptions. (a) The level of care determination must follow criteria approved by the commissioner.

(b) Dimension 1: Acute intoxication and withdrawal potential. A vendor must use the following criteria in Dimension 1 to determine a client's acute intoxication and withdrawal potential, the client's ability to cope with withdrawal symptoms, and the client's current state of intoxication.

6312

<u>"0" The client displays full functioning with good ability to tolerate and cope with withdrawal discomfort, and the client shows no signs or symptoms of intoxication or withdrawal or diminishing signs or symptoms.</u>

<u>"1" The client can tolerate and cope with withdrawal discomfort. The client displays mild-to-moderate intoxication or signs and symptoms interfering with daily functioning but does not immediately endanger self or others. The client poses a minimal risk of severe withdrawal.</u>

"2" The client has some difficulty tolerating and coping with withdrawal discomfort. The client's intoxication may be severe, but the client responds to support and treatment such that the client does not immediately endanger self or others. The client displays moderate signs and symptoms of withdrawal with moderate risk of severe withdrawal.

"3" The client tolerates and copes with withdrawal discomfort poorly. The client has severe intoxication, such that the client endangers self or others, or intoxication has not abated with less intensive services. The client displays severe signs and symptoms of withdrawal, has a risk of severe-but-manageable withdrawal, or has worsening withdrawal despite detoxification at a less intensive level.

<u>"4" The client is incapacitated with severe signs and symptoms. The client displays severe withdrawal and is a danger to self or others.</u>

(c) Dimension 2: biomedical conditions and complications. The vendor must use the following criteria in Dimension 2 to determine a client's biomedical conditions and complications, the degree to which any physical disorder of the client would interfere with treatment for substance use, and the client's ability to tolerate any related discomfort. If the client is pregnant, the provider must determine the impact of continued substance use on the unborn child.

"O" The client displays full functioning with good ability to cope with physical discomfort.

"1" The client tolerates and copes with physical discomfort and is able to get the services that the client needs.

<u>"2" The client has difficulty tolerating and coping with physical problems or has other biomedical problems that</u> interfere with recovery and treatment. The client neglects or does not seek care for serious biomedical problems.

<u>"3" The client tolerates and copes poorly with physical problems or has poor general health. The client neglects</u> the client's medical problems without active assistance.

<u>"4" The client is unable to participate in substance use disorder treatment and has severe medical problems, has a condition that requires immediate intervention, or is incapacitated.</u>

(d) Dimension 3: Emotional, behavioral, and cognitive conditions and complications. The vendor must use the following criteria in Dimension 3 to determine a client's emotional, behavioral, and cognitive conditions and complications; the degree to which any condition or complication is likely to interfere with treatment for substance use or with functioning in significant life areas; and the likelihood of harm to self or others.

"0" The client has good impulse control and coping skills and presents no risk of harm to self or others. The client functions in all life areas and displays no emotional, behavioral, or cognitive problems or the problems are stable.

<u>"1" The client has impulse control and coping skills. The client presents a mild to moderate risk of harm to self</u> or others or displays symptoms of emotional, behavioral, or cognitive problems. The client has a mental health diagnosis and is stable. The client functions adequately in significant life areas. <u>"2" The client has difficulty with impulse control and lacks coping skills. The client has thoughts of suicide or harm to others without means, however, the thoughts may interfere with participation in some activities. The client has difficulty functioning in significant life areas. The client has moderate symptoms of emotional, behavioral, or cognitive problems. The client is able to participate in most treatment activities.</u>

"3" The client has a severe lack of impulse control and coping skills. The client also has frequent thoughts of suicide or harm to others including a plan and the means to carry out the plan. In addition, the client is severely impaired in significant life areas and has severe symptoms of emotional, behavioral, or cognitive problems that interfere with the client's participation in treatment activities.

<u>"4" The client has severe emotional or behavioral symptoms that place the client or others at acute risk of harm.</u> The client also has intrusive thoughts of harming self or others. The client is unable to participate in treatment activities.

(e) Dimension 4: Readiness for change. The vendor must use the following criteria in Dimension 4 to determine a client's readiness for change and the support necessary to keep the client involved in treatment services.

<u>"0" The client admits problems and is cooperative, motivated, ready to change, committed to change, and engaged in treatment as a responsible participant.</u>

<u>"1" The client is motivated with active reinforcement to explore treatment and strategies for change but</u> ambivalent about illness or need for change.

<u>"2" The client displays verbal compliance but lacks consistent behaviors, has low motivation for change, and is passively involved in treatment.</u>

<u>"3" The client displays inconsistent compliance, displays minimal awareness of either the client's addiction or mental disorder, and is minimally cooperative.</u>

"4" The client is:

(i) noncompliant with treatment and has no awareness of addiction or mental disorder and does not want or is unwilling to explore change or is in total denial of the client's illness and its implications; or

(ii) the client is dangerously oppositional to the extent that the client is a threat of imminent harm to self and others.

(f) Dimension 5: Relapse, continued use, and continued problem potential. The vendor must use the following criteria in Dimension 5 to determine a client's relapse, continued use, and continued problem potential and the degree to which the client recognizes relapse issues and has the skills to prevent relapse of either substance use or mental health problems.

"0" The client recognizes risk well and is able to manage potential problems.

<u>"1" The client recognizes relapse issues and prevention strategies but displays some vulnerability for further</u> substance use or mental health problems.

"2" The client has:

(i) minimal recognition and understanding of relapse and recidivism issues and displays moderate vulnerability for further substance use or mental health problems; or

<u>"3" The client has poor recognition and understanding of relapse and recidivism issues and displays moderately high vulnerability for further substance use or mental health problems. The client has few coping skills and rarely applies coping skills.</u>

<u>"4" The client has no coping skills to arrest mental health or addiction illnesses or prevent relapse. The client has no recognition or understanding of relapse and recidivism issues and displays high vulnerability for further substance use disorder or mental health problems.</u>

(g) Dimension 6: Recovery environment. The vendor must use the following criteria in Dimension 6 to determine a client's recovery environment, whether the areas of the client's life are supportive of or antagonistic to treatment participation and recovery.

<u>"0" The client is engaged in structured meaningful activity and has a supportive significant other, family, and living environment.</u>

<u>"1" The client has passive social network support, or family and significant other are not interested in the client's</u> recovery. The client is engaged in structured meaningful activity.

<u>"2" The client is engaged in structured, meaningful activity, but peers, family, significant other, and living environment are unsupportive, or there is criminal justice involvement by the client or among the client's peers, by a significant other, or in the client's living environment.</u>

<u>"3" The client is not engaged in structured meaningful activity, and the client's peers, family, significant other, and living environment are unsupportive, or there is significant criminal justice system involvement.</u>

"4" The client has:

(i) a chronically antagonistic significant other, living environment, family, or peer group or a long-term criminal justice involvement that is harmful to recovery or treatment progress; or

(ii) an actively antagonistic significant other, family, work, or living environment that poses an immediate threat to the client's safety and well-being.

Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 254B.05, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. **Rate requirements.** (a) The commissioner shall establish rates for substance use disorder services and service enhancements funded under this chapter.

(b) Eligible substance use disorder treatment services include:

(1) outpatient treatment services that are licensed according to sections 245G.01 to 245G.17, or applicable tribal license; those licensed, as applicable, according to chapter 245G or applicable Tribal license and provided according to the following ASAM levels of care:

(i) ASAM level 0.5 early intervention services provided according to section 254B.19, subdivision 1, clause (1);

(ii) ASAM level 1.0 outpatient services provided according to section 254B.19, subdivision 1, clause (2);

(iii) ASAM level 2.1 intensive outpatient services provided according to section 254B.19, subdivision 1, clause (3);

(iv) ASAM level 2.5 partial hospitalization services provided according to section 254B.19, subdivision 1, clause (4);

(v) ASAM level 3.1 clinically managed low-intensity residential services provided according to section 254B.19, subdivision 1, clause (5);

(vi) ASAM level 3.3 clinically managed population-specific high-intensity residential services provided according to section 254B.19, subdivision 1, clause (6); and

(vii) ASAM level 3.5 clinically managed high-intensity residential services provided according to section 254B.19, subdivision 1, clause (7);

(2) comprehensive assessments provided according to sections 245.4863, paragraph (a), and 245G.05;

(3) care treatment coordination services provided according to section 245G.07, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (5);

(4) peer recovery support services provided according to section 245G.07, subdivision 2, clause (8);

(5) on July 1, 2019, or upon federal approval, whichever is later, withdrawal management services provided according to chapter 245F;

(6) substance use disorder treatment services with medications for opioid use disorder that are provided in an opioid treatment program licensed according to sections 245G.01 to 245G.17 and 245G.22, or applicable tribal license;

(7) substance use disorder treatment with medications for opioid use disorder plus enhanced treatment services that meet the requirements of clause (6) and provide nine hours of clinical services each week;

(8) high, medium, and low intensity residential treatment services that are licensed according to sections 245G.01 to 245G.17 and 245G.21 or applicable tribal license which provide, respectively, 30, 15, and five hours of clinical services each week;

(9) (7) hospital-based treatment services that are licensed according to sections 245G.01 to 245G.17 or applicable tribal license and licensed as a hospital under sections 144.50 to 144.56;

(10) (8) adolescent treatment programs that are licensed as outpatient treatment programs according to sections 245G.01 to 245G.18 or as residential treatment programs according to Minnesota Rules, parts 2960.0010 to 2960.0220, and 2960.0430 to 2960.0490, or applicable tribal license;

(11) high intensity residential treatment (9) ASAM 3.5 clinically managed high-intensity residential services that are licensed according to sections 245G.01 to 245G.17 and 245G.21 or applicable tribal license, which provide 30 hours of clinical services each week ASAM level of care 3.5 according to section 254B.19, subdivision 1, clause (7), and is provided by a state-operated vendor or to clients who have been civilly committed to the commissioner, present the most complex and difficult care needs, and are a potential threat to the community; and

(12) (10) room and board facilities that meet the requirements of subdivision 1a.

(c) The commissioner shall establish higher rates for programs that meet the requirements of paragraph (b) and one of the following additional requirements:

(1) programs that serve parents with their children if the program:

(i) provides on-site child care during the hours of treatment activity that:

(A) is licensed under chapter 245A as a child care center under Minnesota Rules, chapter 9503; or

(B) meets the licensure exclusion criteria of section 245A.03, subdivision 2, paragraph (a), clause (6), and meets the requirements under section 245G.19, subdivision 4; or

(ii) arranges for off-site child care during hours of treatment activity at a facility that is licensed under chapter 245A as:

(A) a child care center under Minnesota Rules, chapter 9503; or

(B) a family child care home under Minnesota Rules, chapter 9502;

(2) culturally specific or culturally responsive programs as defined in section 254B.01, subdivision 4a;

(3) disability responsive programs as defined in section 254B.01, subdivision 4b;

(4) programs that offer medical services delivered by appropriately credentialed health care staff in an amount equal to two hours per client per week if the medical needs of the client and the nature and provision of any medical services provided are documented in the client file; or

(5) programs that offer services to individuals with co-occurring mental health and substance use disorder problems if:

(i) the program meets the co-occurring requirements in section 245G.20;

(ii) 25 percent of the counseling staff are licensed mental health professionals under section 245I.04, subdivision 2, or are students or licensing candidates under the supervision of a licensed alcohol and drug counselor supervisor and mental health professional under section 245I.04, subdivision 2, except that no more than 50 percent of the mental health staff may be students or licensing candidates with time documented to be directly related to provisions of co-occurring services;

(iii) clients scoring positive on a standardized mental health screen receive a mental health diagnostic assessment within ten days of admission;

(iv) the program has standards for multidisciplinary case review that include a monthly review for each client that, at a minimum, includes a licensed mental health professional and licensed alcohol and drug counselor, and their involvement in the review is documented;

(v) family education is offered that addresses mental health and substance use disorder and the interaction between the two; and

(vi) co-occurring counseling staff shall receive eight hours of co-occurring disorder training annually.

(d) In order to be eligible for a higher rate under paragraph (c), clause (1), a program that provides arrangements for off-site child care must maintain current documentation at the substance use disorder facility of the child care provider's current licensure to provide child care services. Programs that provide child care according to paragraph (c), clause (1), must be deemed in compliance with the licensing requirements in section 245G.19.

(e) Adolescent residential programs that meet the requirements of Minnesota Rules, parts 2960.0430 to 2960.0490 and 2960.0580 to 2960.0690, are exempt from the requirements in paragraph (c), clause (4), items (i) to (iv).

6318

JOURNAL OF THE HOUSE

(f) Subject to federal approval, substance use disorder services that are otherwise covered as direct face-to-face services may be provided via telehealth as defined in section 256B.0625, subdivision 3b. The use of telehealth to deliver services must be medically appropriate to the condition and needs of the person being served. Reimbursement shall be at the same rates and under the same conditions that would otherwise apply to direct face-to-face services.

(g) For the purpose of reimbursement under this section, substance use disorder treatment services provided in a group setting without a group participant maximum or maximum client to staff ratio under chapter 245G shall not exceed a client to staff ratio of 48 to one. At least one of the attending staff must meet the qualifications as established under this chapter for the type of treatment service provided. A recovery peer may not be included as part of the staff ratio.

(h) Payment for outpatient substance use disorder services that are licensed according to sections 245G.01 to 245G.17 is limited to six hours per day or 30 hours per week unless prior authorization of a greater number of hours is obtained from the commissioner.

(i) Payment for substance use disorder services under this section must start from the day of service initiation, when the comprehensive assessment is completed within the required timelines.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** Paragraph (b), clause (1), items (i) to (iv), are effective January 1, 2025, or upon federal approval, whichever is later. Paragraph (b), clause (1), items (v) to (vii), are effective January 1, 2024, or upon federal approval, whichever is later. Paragraph (b), clauses (2) to (10), are effective January 1, 2024.

# Sec. 24. [254B.17] WITHDRAWAL MANAGEMENT START-UP AND CAPACITY-BUILDING GRANTS.

The commissioner must establish start-up and capacity-building grants for prospective or new withdrawal management programs licensed under chapter 245F that will meet medically monitored or clinically monitored levels of care. Grants may be used for expenses that are not reimbursable under Minnesota health care programs, including but not limited to:

(1) costs associated with hiring staff;

(2) costs associated with staff retention;

- (3) the purchase of office equipment and supplies;
- (4) the purchase of software;

(5) costs associated with obtaining applicable and required licenses;

(6) business formation costs;

(7) costs associated with staff training; and

(8) the purchase of medical equipment and supplies necessary to meet health and safety requirements.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2023.

#### Sec. 25. [254B.18] SOBER HOMES.

Subdivision 1. **Requirements.** All sober homes must comply with applicable state laws and regulations and local ordinances related to maximum occupancy, fire safety, and sanitation. All sober homes must register with the Department of Human Services. In addition, all sober homes must:

(1) maintain a supply of an opiate antagonist in the home;

(2) have trained staff that can administer an opiate antagonist;

(3) have written policies regarding access to all prescribed medications;

(4) have written policies regarding evictions;

(5) have staff training and policies regarding co-occurring mental illnesses;

(6) not prohibit prescribed medications taken as directed by a licensed prescriber, such as pharmacotherapies specifically approved by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) for treatment of opioid use disorder and other medications with FDA-approved indications for the treatment of co-occurring disorders; and

(7) return all property and medications to a person discharged from the home and retain the items for a minimum of 60 days if the person did not collect them upon discharge. The owner must make every effort to contact persons listed as emergency contacts for the discharged person so that the items are returned.

Subd. 2. <u>Certification</u>. (a) The commissioner shall establish a certification program for sober homes. <u>Certification is mandatory for sober homes receiving any federal, state, or local funding</u>. The certification requirements must include:

(1) health and safety standards, including separate sleeping and bathroom facilities for people who identify as men and people who identify as women, written policies on how to accommodate residents who do not identify as a man or woman, and verification that the home meets fire and sanitation ordinances;

(2) intake admission procedures, including documentation of names and contact information for persons to contact in case of an emergency or upon discharge and notification of a family member, or other emergency contact designated by the resident under certain circumstances, including but not limited to death due to an overdose;

(3) an assessment of potential resident needs and appropriateness of the residence to meet these needs:

(4) a resident bill of rights, including a right to a refund if discharged;

(5) policies to address mental health and health emergencies, to prevent a person from hurting themselves or others, including contact information for emergency resources in the community;

(6) policies on staff qualifications and prohibition against fraternization;

(7) drug-testing procedures and requirements;

(8) policies to mitigate medication misuse, including policies for:

(i) securing medication;

(ii) house staff providing medication at specified times to residents;

(iii) medication counts with staff and residents;

(iv) storing and providing prescribed medications and documenting when a person accesses their prescribed medications; and

(v) ensuring that medications cannot be accessed by other residents;

(9) a policy on medications for opioid use disorder;

(10) having an opiate antagonist on site and in a conspicuous location;

(11) prohibiting charging exorbitant fees above standard costs for lab tests;

(12) discharge procedures, including involuntary discharge procedures that ensure at least a 24-hours notice prior to filing an eviction action. The notice must include the reasons for the involuntary discharge and a warning that an eviction action may become public as soon as it is filed, making finding future housing more difficult;

(13) a policy on referrals to substance use disorder treatment services, mental health services, peer support services, and support groups;

(14) training for staff on opiate antagonists, mental health crises, de-escalation, person-centered planning, creating a crisis plan, and becoming a culturally informed and responsive sober home;

(15) a fee schedule and refund policy;

(16) copies of all forms provided to residents;

(17) rules for residents;

(18) background checks of staff and administrators;

(19) policies that promote recovery by requiring resident participation in treatment, self-help groups or other recovery supports; and

(20) policies requiring abstinence from alcohol and illicit drugs.

(b) Certifications must be renewed every three years.

Subd. 3. <u>Registry.</u> The commissioner shall create a registry containing a listing of sober homes that have met the certification requirements. The registry must include each sober home city and zip code, maximum resident capacity, and whether the setting serves a specific population based on race, ethnicity, national origin, sexual orientation, gender identity, or physical ability.

Subd. 4. Bill of rights. An individual living in a sober home has the right to:

(1) access to an environment that supports recovery;

(2) access to an environment that is safe and free from alcohol and other illicit drugs or substances;

(3) be free from physical and verbal abuse, neglect, financial exploitation, and all forms of maltreatment covered under the Vulnerable Adults Act, sections 626.557 to 626.5572;

(4) be treated with dignity and respect and to have personal property treated with respect;

(5) have personal, financial, and medical information kept private and to be advised of the sober home's policies and procedures regarding disclosure of such information;

(6) access, while living in the residence, to other community-based support services as needed;

(7) be referred to appropriate services upon leaving the residence, if necessary;

(8) retain personal property that does not jeopardize safety or health;

(9) assert these rights personally or have them asserted by the individual's representative or by anyone on behalf of the individual without retaliation;

(10) be provided with the name, address, and telephone number of the ombudsman for mental health, substance use disorder, and developmental disabilities and information about the right to file a complaint;

(11) be fully informed of these rights and responsibilities, as well as program policies and procedures; and

(12) not be required to perform services for the residence that are not included in the usual expectations for all residents.

Subd. 5. Private right of action. In addition to pursuing other remedies, an individual may bring an action to recover damages caused by a violation of this section. The court shall award a resident who prevails in an action under this section double damages, costs, disbursements, reasonable attorney fees, and any equitable relief the court deems appropriate.

Subd. 6. Complaints; ombudsman for mental health and developmental disabilities. Any complaints about a sober home may be made to and reviewed or investigated by the ombudsman for mental health and developmental disabilities, pursuant to sections 245.91 and 245.94.

## Sec. 26. [254B.19] AMERICAN SOCIETY OF ADDICTION MEDICINE STANDARDS OF CARE.

Subdivision 1. Level of care requirements. For each client assigned an ASAM level of care, eligible vendors must implement the standards set by the ASAM for the respective level of care. Additionally, vendors must meet the following requirements:

(1) for ASAM level 0.5 early intervention targeting individuals who are at risk of developing a substance-related problem but may not have a diagnosed substance use disorder, early intervention services may include individual or group counseling, treatment coordination, peer recovery support, screening brief intervention, and referral to treatment provided according to section 254A.03, subdivision 3, paragraph (c).

(2) for ASAM level 1.0 outpatient clients, adults must receive up to eight hours per week of skilled treatment services and adolescents must receive up to five hours per week. Services must be licensed according to section 245G.20 and meet requirements under section 256B.0759. Peer recovery and treatment coordination may be provided beyond the hourly skilled treatment service hours allowable per week.

(3) for ASAM level 2.1 intensive outpatient clients, adults must receive nine to 19 hours per week of skilled treatment services and adolescents must receive six or more hours per week. Vendors must be licensed according to section 245G.20 and must meet requirements under section 256B.0759. Peer recovery services and treatment coordination may be provided beyond the hourly skilled treatment service hours allowable per week. If clinically indicated on the client's treatment plan, this service may be provided in conjunction with room and board according to section 254B.05, subdivision 1a.

(4) for ASAM level 2.5 partial hospitalization clients, adults must receive 20 hours or more of skilled treatment services. Services must be licensed according to section 245G.20 and must meet requirements under section 256B.0759. Level 2.5 is for clients who need daily monitoring in a structured setting, as directed by the individual treatment plan and in accordance with the limitations in section 254B.05, subdivision 5, paragraph (h). If clinically indicated on the client's treatment plan, this service may be provided in conjunction with room and board according to section 254B.05, subdivision 1a.

(5) for ASAM level 3.1 clinically managed low-intensity residential clients, programs must provide at least 5 hours of skilled treatment services per week according to each client's specific treatment schedule, as directed by the individual treatment plan. Programs must be licensed according to section 245G.20 and must meet requirements under section 256B.0759.

(6) for ASAM level 3.3 clinically managed population-specific high-intensity residential clients, programs must be licensed according to section 245G.20 and must meet requirements under section 256B.0759. Programs must have 24-hour staffing coverage. Programs must be enrolled as a disability responsive program as described in section 254B.01, subdivision 4b, and must specialize in serving persons with a traumatic brain injury or a cognitive impairment so significant, and the resulting level of impairment so great, that outpatient or other levels of residential care would not be feasible or effective. Programs must provide, at minimum, daily skilled treatment services seven days a week according to each client's specific treatment schedule, as directed by the individual treatment plan.

(7) for ASAM level 3.5 clinically managed high-intensity residential clients, services must be licensed according to section 245G.20 and must meet requirements under section 256B.0759. Programs must have 24-hour staffing coverage and provide, at minimum, daily skilled treatment services seven days a week according to each client's specific treatment schedule, as directed by the individual treatment plan.

(8) for ASAM level withdrawal management 3.2 clinically managed clients, withdrawal management must be provided according to chapter 245F.

(9) for ASAM level withdrawal management 3.7 medically monitored clients, withdrawal management must be provided according to chapter 245F.

<u>Subd. 2.</u> <u>Patient referral arrangement agreement.</u> <u>The license holder must maintain documentation of a formal patient referral arrangement agreement for each of the following ASAM levels of care not provided by the license holder:</u>

(1) level 1.0 outpatient;

(2) level 2.1 intensive outpatient;

(3) level 2.5 partial hospitalization;

(4) level 3.1 clinically managed low-intensity residential;

(5) level 3.3 clinically managed population-specific high-intensity residential;

6322

(6) level 3.5 clinically managed high-intensity residential;

(7) level withdrawal management 3.2 clinically managed residential withdrawal management; and

(8) level withdrawal management 3.7 medically monitored inpatient withdrawal management.

Subd. 3. Evidence-based practices. All services delivered within the ASAM levels of care referenced in subdivision 1, clauses (1) to (7), must have documentation of the evidence-based practices being utilized as referenced in the most current edition of the ASAM criteria.

<u>Subd. 4.</u> **Program outreach plan.** Eligible vendors providing services under ASAM levels of care referenced in subdivision 1, clauses (2) to (7), must have a program outreach plan. The treatment director must document a review and update the plan annually. The program outreach plan must include treatment coordination strategies and processes to ensure seamless transitions across the continuum of care. The plan must include how the provider will:

(1) increase the awareness of early intervention treatment services, including but not limited to the services defined in section 254A.03, subdivision 3, paragraph (c);

(2) coordinate, as necessary, with certified community behavioral health clinics when a license holder is located in a geographic region served by a certified community behavioral health clinic;

(3) establish a referral arrangement agreement with a withdrawal management program licensed under chapter 245F when a license holder is located in a geographic region in which a withdrawal management program is licensed under chapter 245F. If a withdrawal management program licensed under chapter 245F is not geographically accessible, the plan must include how the provider will address the client's need for this level of care;

(4) coordinate with inpatient acute care hospitals, including emergency departments, hospital outpatient clinics, urgent care centers, residential crisis settings, medical detoxification inpatient facilities and ambulatory detoxification providers in the area served by the provider to help transition individuals from emergency department or hospital settings and minimize the time between assessment and treatment;

(5) develop and maintain collaboration with local county and Tribal human services agencies; and

(6) collaborate with primary care and mental health settings.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2024.

Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.0759, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. **Provider participation.** (a) Outpatient Programs licensed by the Department of Human Services as nonresidential substance use disorder treatment providers may elect to participate in the demonstration project and meet the requirements of subdivision 3. To participate, a provider must notify the commissioner of the provider's intent to participate in a format required by the commissioner and enroll as a demonstration project provider programs that receive payment under this chapter must enroll as demonstration project providers and meet the requirements of subdivision 3 by January 1, 2025. Programs that do not meet the requirements of this paragraph are ineligible for payment for services provided under section 256B.0625.

(b) Programs licensed by the Department of Human Services as residential treatment programs according to section 245G.21 that receive payment under this chapter must enroll as demonstration project providers and meet the requirements of subdivision 3 by January 1, 2024. Programs that do not meet the requirements of this paragraph are ineligible for payment for services provided under section 256B.0625.

JOURNAL OF THE HOUSE

(c) Programs licensed by the Department of Human Services as residential treatment programs according to section 245G.21 that receive payment under this chapter and are licensed as a hospital under sections 144.50 to 144.581 must enroll as demonstration project providers and meet the requirements of subdivision 3 by January 1, 2025.

(c) (d) Programs licensed by the Department of Human Services as withdrawal management programs according to chapter 245F that receive payment under this chapter must enroll as demonstration project providers and meet the requirements of subdivision 3 by January 1, 2024. Programs that do not meet the requirements of this paragraph are ineligible for payment for services provided under section 256B.0625.

(d) (e) Out-of-state residential substance use disorder treatment programs that receive payment under this chapter must enroll as demonstration project providers and meet the requirements of subdivision 3 by January 1, 2024. Programs that do not meet the requirements of this paragraph are ineligible for payment for services provided under section 256B.0625.

(e) (f) Tribally licensed programs may elect to participate in the demonstration project and meet the requirements of subdivision 3. The Department of Human Services must consult with Tribal nations to discuss participation in the substance use disorder demonstration project.

(f) (g) The commissioner shall allow providers enrolled in the demonstration project before July 1, 2021, to receive applicable rate enhancements authorized under subdivision 4 for all services provided on or after the date of enrollment, except that the commissioner shall allow a provider to receive applicable rate enhancements authorized under subdivision 4 for services provided on or after July 22, 2020, to fee-for-service enrollees, and on or after January 1, 2021, to managed care enrollees, if the provider meets all of the following requirements:

(1) the provider attests that during the time period for which the provider is seeking the rate enhancement, the provider took meaningful steps in their plan approved by the commissioner to meet the demonstration project requirements in subdivision 3; and

(2) the provider submits attestation and evidence, including all information requested by the commissioner, of meeting the requirements of subdivision 3 to the commissioner in a format required by the commissioner.

(g) (h) The commissioner may recoup any rate enhancements paid under paragraph (f) (g) to a provider that does not meet the requirements of subdivision 3 by July 1, 2021.

## Sec. 28. EVIDENCE-BASED TRAINING.

The commissioner of human services must establish training opportunities for substance use disorder treatment providers under Minnesota Statutes, chapters 245F and 245G, and applicable Tribal licenses, to increase knowledge and develop skills to adopt evidence-based and promising practices in substance use disorder treatment programs. Training opportunities must support the transition to American Society of Addiction Medicine (ASAM) standards. Training formats may include self or organizational assessments, virtual modules, one-to-one coaching, self-paced courses, interactive hybrid courses, and in-person courses. Foundational and skill-building training topics may include:

## (1) ASAM criteria;

(2) person-centered and culturally responsive services;

(3) medical and clinical decision making;

(4) conducting assessments and appropriate level of care;

(5) treatment and service planning:

(6) identifying and overcoming systems challenges;

(7) conducting clinical case reviews; and

(8) appropriate and effective transfer and discharge.

## Sec. 29. FAMILY TREATMENT START-UP AND CAPACITY-BUILDING GRANTS.

<u>The commissioner of human services must establish start-up and capacity-building grants for prospective or new</u> substance use disorder treatment programs that serve parents with their children. Grants must be used for expenses that are not reimbursable under Minnesota health care programs, including but not limited to:

(1) physical plant upgrades to support larger family units;

(2) supporting the expansion or development of programs that provide holistic services, including trauma supports, conflict resolution, and parenting skills;

(3) increasing awareness, education, and outreach utilizing culturally responsive approaches to develop relationships between culturally specific communities and clinical treatment provider programs; and

(4) expanding culturally specific family programs and accommodating diverse family units.

## Sec. 30. SAFE RECOVERY SITES START-UP AND CAPACITY-BUILDING GRANTS.

(a) The commissioner of human services must establish start-up and capacity-building grants for current or prospective harm reduction organizations to promote health, wellness, safety, and recovery to people who are in active stages of substance use disorder. Grants must be used to establish safe recovery sites that offer harm reduction services and supplies, including but not limited to:

(1) safe injection spaces;

(2) sterile needle exchange;

(3) opiate antagonist rescue kits;

(4) fentanyl and other drug testing;

(5) street outreach;

(6) educational and referral services;

(7) health, safety, and wellness services; and

(8) access to hygiene and sanitation.

(b) The commissioner must conduct local community outreach and engagement in collaboration with newly established safe recovery sites. The commissioner must evaluate the efficacy of safe recovery sites and collect data to measure health-related and public safety outcomes.

(c) The commissioner must prioritize grant applications for organizations that are culturally specific or culturally responsive and that commit to serving individuals from communities that are disproportionately impacted by the opioid epidemic, including:

## (1) Native American, American Indian, and Indigenous communities; and

## (2) Black, African American, and African-born communities.

(d) For purposes of this section, a "culturally specific" or "culturally responsive" organization is an organization that is designed to address the unique needs of individuals who share a common language, racial, ethnic, or social background, and is governed with significant input from individuals of that specific background.

# Sec. 31. PUBLIC AWARENESS CAMPAIGN.

(a) The commissioner of human services must establish a multitiered public awareness and educational campaign on substance use disorders. The campaign must include strategies to prevent substance use disorder, reduce stigma, and ensure people know how to access treatment, recovery, and harm reduction services.

(b) The commissioner must consult with communities disproportionately impacted by substance use disorder to ensure the campaign focuses on lived experience and equity. The commissioner may also consult and establish relationships with media and communication experts, behavioral health professionals, state and local agencies, and community organizations to design and implement the campaign.

(c) The campaign must include awareness-raising and educational information using multichannel marketing strategies, social media, virtual events, press releases, reports, and targeted outreach. The commissioner must evaluate the effectiveness of the campaign and modify outreach and strategies as needed.

# Sec. 32. REVISED PAYMENT METHODOLOGY FOR OPIOID TREATMENT PROGRAMS.

The commissioner of human services must revise the payment methodology for substance use services with medications for opioid use disorder under Minnesota Statutes, section 254B.05, subdivision 5, paragraph (b), clause (6). Payment must occur only if the provider renders the service or services billed on that date of service or, in the case of drugs and drug-related services, within a week as defined by the commissioner. The revised payment methodology must include a weekly bundled rate that includes the costs of drugs, drug administration and observation, drug packaging and preparation, and nursing time. The bundled weekly rate must be based on the Medicare rate. The commissioner must seek all necessary waivers, state plan amendments, and federal authorities required to implement the revised payment methodology.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2024, or upon federal approval, whichever is later. The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.

# Sec. 33. MEDICAL ASSISTANCE BEHAVIORAL HEALTH SYSTEM TRANSFORMATION STUDY.

<u>The commissioner of human services, in consultation with stakeholders, must evaluate the feasibility, potential design, and federal authorities needed to cover traditional healing, behavioral health services in correctional facilities, and contingency management under the medical assistance program.</u>

## Sec. 34. REVISOR INSTRUCTION.

The revisor of statutes shall renumber Minnesota Statutes, section 245G.01, subdivision 20b, as Minnesota Statutes, section 245G.01, subdivision 20d, and make any other necessary changes to subdivision numbers or cross-references.

#### Sec. 35. REPEALER.

(a) Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 245G.06, subdivision 2; and 256B.0759, subdivision 6, are repealed.

## (b) Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 246.18, subdivisions 2 and 2a, are repealed.

## EFFECTIVE DATE. Paragraph (a) is effective January 1, 2024. Paragraph (b) is effective July 1, 2023.

## ARTICLE 4 OPIOID OVERDOSE PREVENTION AND OPIATE EPIDEMIC RESPONSE

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 16A.151, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. **Exceptions.** (a) If a state official litigates or settles a matter on behalf of specific injured persons or entities, this section does not prohibit distribution of money to the specific injured persons or entities on whose behalf the litigation or settlement efforts were initiated. If money recovered on behalf of injured persons or entities cannot reasonably be distributed to those persons or entities because they cannot readily be located or identified or because the cost of distributing the money would outweigh the benefit to the persons or entities, the money must be paid into the general fund.

(b) Money recovered on behalf of a fund in the state treasury other than the general fund may be deposited in that fund.

(c) This section does not prohibit a state official from distributing money to a person or entity other than the state in litigation or potential litigation in which the state is a defendant or potential defendant.

(d) State agencies may accept funds as directed by a federal court for any restitution or monetary penalty under United States Code, title 18, section 3663(a)(3), or United States Code, title 18, section 3663A(a)(3). Funds received must be deposited in a special revenue account and are appropriated to the commissioner of the agency for the purpose as directed by the federal court.

(e) Tobacco settlement revenues as defined in section 16A.98, subdivision 1, paragraph (t), may be deposited as provided in section 16A.98, subdivision 12.

(f) Any money received by the state resulting from a settlement agreement or an assurance of discontinuance entered into by the attorney general of the state, or a court order in litigation brought by the attorney general of the state, on behalf of the state or a state agency, related to alleged violations of consumer fraud laws in the marketing, sale, or distribution of opioids in this state or other alleged illegal actions that contributed to the excessive use of opioids, must be deposited in the settlement account established in the opiate epidemic response fund under section 256.043, subdivision 1. This paragraph does not apply to attorney fees and costs awarded to the state or the Attorney General's Office, to contract attorneys hired by the state or Attorney General's Office, or to other state agency attorneys.

(g) Notwithstanding paragraph (f), if money is received from a settlement agreement or an assurance of discontinuance entered into by the attorney general of the state or a court order in litigation brought by the attorney general of the state on behalf of the state or a state agency against a consulting firm working for an opioid

manufacturer or opioid wholesale drug distributor, the commissioner shall deposit any money received into the settlement account established within the opiate epidemic response fund under section 256.042, subdivision 1. Notwithstanding section 256.043, subdivision 3a, paragraph (a), any amount deposited into the settlement account in accordance with this paragraph shall be appropriated to the commissioner of human services to award as grants as specified by the opiate epidemic response advisory council in accordance with section 256.043, subdivision 3a, paragraph (d) as specified in section 256.043, subdivision 3a.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

#### Sec. 2. [121A.224] OPIATE ANTAGONISTS.

(a) A school district or charter school must maintain a supply of opiate antagonists, as defined in section 604A.04, subdivision 1, at each school site to be administered in compliance with section 151.37, subdivision 12.

(b) Each school building must have at least two doses of a nasal opiate antagonist available on site.

(c) The commissioner of health must develop and disseminate to schools a short training video about how and when to administer a nasal opiate antagonist. The person having control of the school building must ensure that at least one staff member trained on how and when to administer a nasal opiate antagonist is on site when the school building is open to students, staff, or the public, including before school, after school, or during weekend activities.

## **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2023.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 151.065, subdivision 7, is amended to read:

Subd. 7. **Deposit of fees.** (a) The license fees collected under this section, with the exception of the fees identified in paragraphs (b) and (c), shall be deposited in the state government special revenue fund.

(b) \$5,000 of each fee collected under subdivision 1, clauses (6) to (9), and (11) to (15), and subdivision 3, clauses (4) to (7), and (9) to (13), and \$55,000 of each fee collected under subdivision 1, clause (16), and subdivision 3, clause (14), shall be deposited in the opiate epidemic response fund established in section 256.043.

(c) If the fees collected under subdivision 1, clause (16), or subdivision 3, clause (14), are reduced under section 256.043, \$5,000 of the reduced fee shall be deposited in the opiate epidemic response fund in section 256.043.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 241.021, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. **Correctional facilities; inspection; licensing.** (a) Except as provided in paragraph (b), the commissioner of corrections shall inspect and license all correctional facilities throughout the state, whether public or private, established and operated for the detention and confinement of persons confined or incarcerated therein according to law except to the extent that they are inspected or licensed by other state regulating agencies. The commissioner shall promulgate pursuant to chapter 14, rules establishing minimum standards for these facilities with respect to their management, operation, physical condition, and the security, safety, health, treatment, and discipline of persons confined or incarcerated therein. These minimum standards shall include but are not limited to specific guidance pertaining to:

(1) screening, appraisal, assessment, and treatment for persons confined or incarcerated in correctional facilities with mental illness or substance use disorders;

(2) a policy on the involuntary administration of medications;

(3) suicide prevention plans and training;

(4) verification of medications in a timely manner;

(5) well-being checks;

(6) discharge planning, including providing prescribed medications to persons confined or incarcerated in correctional facilities upon release;

(7) a policy on referrals or transfers to medical or mental health care in a noncorrectional institution;

(8) use of segregation and mental health checks;

(9) critical incident debriefings;

(10) clinical management of substance use disorders and opioid overdose emergency procedures;

(11) a policy regarding identification of persons with special needs confined or incarcerated in correctional facilities;

(12) a policy regarding the use of telehealth;

(13) self-auditing of compliance with minimum standards;

(14) information sharing with medical personnel and when medical assessment must be facilitated;

(15) a code of conduct policy for facility staff and annual training;

(16) a policy on death review of all circumstances surrounding the death of an individual committed to the custody of the facility; and

(17) dissemination of a rights statement made available to persons confined or incarcerated in licensed correctional facilities.

No individual, corporation, partnership, voluntary association, or other private organization legally responsible for the operation of a correctional facility may operate the facility unless it possesses a current license from the commissioner of corrections. Private adult correctional facilities shall have the authority of section 624.714, subdivision 13, if the Department of Corrections licenses the facility with the authority and the facility meets requirements of section 243.52.

The commissioner shall review the correctional facilities described in this subdivision at least once every two years, except as otherwise provided, to determine compliance with the minimum standards established according to this subdivision or other Minnesota statute related to minimum standards and conditions of confinement.

The commissioner shall grant a license to any facility found to conform to minimum standards or to any facility which, in the commissioner's judgment, is making satisfactory progress toward substantial conformity and the standards not being met do not impact the interests and well-being of the persons confined or incarcerated in the facility. A limited license under subdivision 1a may be issued for purposes of effectuating a facility closure. The commissioner may grant licensure up to two years. Unless otherwise specified by statute, all licenses issued under this chapter expire at 12:01 a.m. on the day after the expiration date stated on the license.

6330

JOURNAL OF THE HOUSE

The commissioner shall have access to the buildings, grounds, books, records, staff, and to persons confined or incarcerated in these facilities. The commissioner may require the officers in charge of these facilities to furnish all information and statistics the commissioner deems necessary, at a time and place designated by the commissioner.

All facility administrators of correctional facilities are required to report all deaths of individuals who died while committed to the custody of the facility, regardless of whether the death occurred at the facility or after removal from the facility for medical care stemming from an incident or need for medical care at the correctional facility, as soon as practicable, but no later than 24 hours of receiving knowledge of the death, including any demographic information as required by the commissioner.

All facility administrators of correctional facilities are required to report all other emergency or unusual occurrences as defined by rule, including uses of force by facility staff that result in substantial bodily harm or suicide attempts, to the commissioner of corrections within ten days from the occurrence, including any demographic information as required by the commissioner. The commissioner of corrections shall consult with the Minnesota Sheriffs' Association and a representative from the Minnesota Association of Community Corrections Act Counties who is responsible for the operations of an adult correctional facility to define "use of force" that results in substantial bodily harm for reporting purposes.

The commissioner may require that any or all such information be provided through the Department of Corrections detention information system. The commissioner shall post each inspection report publicly and on the department's website within 30 days of completing the inspection. The education program offered in a correctional facility for the confinement or incarceration of juvenile offenders must be approved by the commissioner of education before the commissioner of corrections may grant a license to the facility.

(b) For juvenile facilities licensed by the commissioner of human services, the commissioner may inspect and certify programs based on certification standards set forth in Minnesota Rules. For the purpose of this paragraph, "certification" has the meaning given it in section 245A.02.

(c) Any state agency which regulates, inspects, or licenses certain aspects of correctional facilities shall, insofar as is possible, ensure that the minimum standards it requires are substantially the same as those required by other state agencies which regulate, inspect, or license the same aspects of similar types of correctional facilities, although at different correctional facilities.

(d) Nothing in this section shall be construed to limit the commissioner of corrections' authority to promulgate rules establishing standards of eligibility for counties to receive funds under sections 401.01 to 401.16, or to require counties to comply with operating standards the commissioner establishes as a condition precedent for counties to receive that funding.

(e) The department's inspection unit must report directly to a division head outside of the correctional institutions division.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 241.31, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. **Minimum standards.** The commissioner of corrections shall establish minimum standards for the size, area to be served, qualifications of staff, ratio of staff to client population, and treatment programs for community corrections programs established pursuant to this section. Plans and specifications for such programs, including proposed budgets must first be submitted to the commissioner for approval prior to the establishment. <u>Community corrections programs must maintain a supply of opiate antagonists, as defined in section 604A.04, subdivision 1, at each correctional site to be administered in compliance with section 151.37, subdivision 12. Each site must have at least two doses of an opiate antagonist on site. Staff must be trained on how and when to administer opiate antagonists.</u>

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 241.415, is amended to read:

#### 241.415 RELEASE PLANS; SUBSTANCE ABUSE.

The commissioner shall cooperate with community-based corrections agencies to determine how best to address the substance abuse treatment needs of offenders who are being released from prison. The commissioner shall ensure that an offender's prison release plan adequately addresses the offender's needs for substance abuse assessment, treatment, or other services following release, within the limits of available resources. The commissioner must provide individuals with known or stated histories of opioid use disorder with emergency opiate antagonist rescue kits upon release.

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245G.08, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Standing order protocol <u>Emergency overdose treatment</u>. A license holder that maintains <u>must</u> <u>maintain</u> a supply of <u>naloxone</u> <u>opiate</u> antagonists as defined in section 604A.04, subdivision 1, available for emergency treatment of opioid overdose <u>and</u> must have a written standing order protocol by a physician who is licensed under chapter 147, advanced practice registered nurse who is licensed under chapter 148, or physician assistant who is licensed under chapter 147A, that permits the license holder to maintain a supply of <u>naloxone</u> <u>opiate</u> <u>antagonists</u> on site. A license holder must require staff to undergo training in the specific mode of administration used at the program, which may include intranasal administration, intramuscular injection, or both.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256.042, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. **Membership.** (a) The council shall consist of the following  $\frac{19}{20}$  voting members, appointed by the commissioner of human services except as otherwise specified, and three nonvoting members:

(1) two members of the house of representatives, appointed in the following sequence: the first from the majority party appointed by the speaker of the house and the second from the minority party appointed by the minority leader. Of these two members, one member must represent a district outside of the seven-county metropolitan area, and one member must represent a district that includes the seven-county metropolitan area. The appointment by the minority leader must ensure that this requirement for geographic diversity in appointments is met;

(2) two members of the senate, appointed in the following sequence: the first from the majority party appointed by the senate majority leader and the second from the minority party appointed by the senate minority leader. Of these two members, one member must represent a district outside of the seven-county metropolitan area and one member must represent a district that includes the seven-county metropolitan area. The appointment by the minority leader must ensure that this requirement for geographic diversity in appointments is met;

(3) one member appointed by the Board of Pharmacy;

(4) one member who is a physician appointed by the Minnesota Medical Association;

(5) one member representing opioid treatment programs, sober living programs, or substance use disorder programs licensed under chapter 245G;

(6) one member appointed by the Minnesota Society of Addiction Medicine who is an addiction psychiatrist;

(7) one member representing professionals providing alternative pain management therapies, including, but not limited to, acupuncture, chiropractic, or massage therapy;

(8) one member representing nonprofit organizations conducting initiatives to address the opioid epidemic, with the commissioner's initial appointment being a member representing the Steve Rummler Hope Network, and subsequent appointments representing this or other organizations;

(9) one member appointed by the Minnesota Ambulance Association who is serving with an ambulance service as an emergency medical technician, advanced emergency medical technician, or paramedic;

(10) one member representing the Minnesota courts who is a judge or law enforcement officer;

(11) one public member who is a Minnesota resident and who is in opioid addiction recovery;

(12) two <u>11</u> members representing Indian tribes, one representing the <u>Ojibwe tribes and one representing the</u> <u>Dakota tribes each of Minnesota's Tribal Nations;</u>

(13) two members representing urban American Indian populations;

(13) (14) one public member who is a Minnesota resident and who is suffering from chronic pain, intractable pain, or a rare disease or condition;

(14) (15) one mental health advocate representing persons with mental illness;

(15) (16) one member appointed by the Minnesota Hospital Association;

(16) (17) one member representing a local health department; and

(17) (18) the commissioners of human services, health, and corrections, or their designees, who shall be ex officio nonvoting members of the council.

(b) The commissioner of human services shall coordinate the commissioner's appointments to provide geographic, racial, and gender diversity, and shall ensure that at least <u>one half <u>one-third</u> of council members appointed by the commissioner reside outside of the seven-county metropolitan area. Of the members appointed by the commissioner, to the extent practicable, at least one member must represent a community of color disproportionately affected by the opioid epidemic.</u>

(c) The council is governed by section 15.059, except that members of the council shall serve three-year terms and shall receive no compensation other than reimbursement for expenses. Notwithstanding section 15.059, subdivision 6, the council shall not expire.

(d) The chair shall convene the council at least quarterly, and may convene other meetings as necessary. The chair shall convene meetings at different locations in the state to provide geographic access, and shall ensure that at least one-half of the meetings are held at locations outside of the seven-county metropolitan area.

(e) The commissioner of human services shall provide staff and administrative services for the advisory council.

(f) The council is subject to chapter 13D.

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256.042, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. **Grants.** (a) The commissioner of human services shall submit a report of the grants proposed by the advisory council to be awarded for the upcoming calendar year to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over health and human services policy and finance, by December 1 of each year, beginning December 1, 2022. This paragraph expires upon the expiration of the advisory council.

(b) The grants shall be awarded to proposals selected by the advisory council that address the priorities in subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clauses (1) to (4), unless otherwise appropriated by the legislature. The advisory council shall determine grant awards and funding amounts based on the funds appropriated to the commissioner under section 256.043, subdivision 3, paragraph (h), and subdivision 3a, paragraph (d). The commissioner shall award the grants from the opiate epidemic response fund and administer the grants in compliance with section 16B.97. No more than ten percent of the grant amount may be used by a grantee for administration. The commissioner must award at least 50 percent of grants to projects that include a focus on addressing the opioid crisis in Black and Indigenous communities and communities of color.

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256.043, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Appropriations from registration and license fee account. (a) The appropriations in paragraphs (b) to  $\frac{(h)}{(k)}$  shall be made from the registration and license fee account on a fiscal year basis in the order specified.

(b) The appropriations specified in Laws 2019, chapter 63, article 3, section 1, paragraphs (b), (f), (g), and (h), as amended by Laws 2020, chapter 115, article 3, section 35, shall be made accordingly.

(c) \$100,000 is appropriated to the commissioner of human services for grants for opiate antagonist distribution. Grantees may utilize funds for opioid overdose prevention, community asset mapping, education, and opiate antagonist distribution.

(d) \$2,000,000 is appropriated to the commissioner of human services for grants to Tribal nations and five urban Indian communities for traditional healing practices for American Indians and to increase the capacity of culturally specific providers in the behavioral health workforce.

(e) \$277,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$321,000 each year thereafter is appropriated to the commissioner of human services to administer the funding distribution and reporting requirements in paragraph (j).

(c) (f) \$300,000 is appropriated to the commissioner of management and budget for evaluation activities under section 256.042, subdivision 1, paragraph (c).

(d) (g) \$249,000 is in fiscal year 2023, \$375,000 in fiscal year 2024, and \$315,000 each year thereafter are appropriated to the commissioner of human services for the provision of administrative services to the Opiate Epidemic Response Advisory Council and for the administration of the grants awarded under paragraph (h) (k).

(e) (h) 126,000 is appropriated to the Board of Pharmacy for the collection of the registration fees under section 151.066.

(f) (i) \$672,000 is appropriated to the commissioner of public safety for the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension. Of this amount, \$384,000 is for drug scientists and lab supplies and \$288,000 is for special agent positions focused on drug interdiction and drug trafficking.

(g) (j) After the appropriations in paragraphs (b) to (f) (i) are made, 50 percent of the remaining amount is appropriated to the commissioner of human services for distribution to county social service agencies and Tribal social service agency initiative projects authorized under section 256.01, subdivision 14b, to provide child protection services to children and families who are affected by addiction. The commissioner shall distribute this money proportionally to county social service agencies and Tribal social service agency initiative projects based on out-of-home placement episodes where parental drug abuse is the primary reason for the out-of-home placement using data from the previous calendar year. County social service agencies and Tribal social service agency initiative projects receiving funds from the opiate epidemic response fund must annually report to the commissioner on how the funds were used to provide child protection services, including measurable outcomes, as determined by the commissioner.

County social service agencies and Tribal social service agency initiative projects must not use funds received under this paragraph to supplant current state or local funding received for child protection services for children and families who are affected by addiction.

(h) (k) After the appropriations in paragraphs (b) to (g) (j) are made, the remaining amount in the account is appropriated to the commissioner of human services to award grants as specified by the Opiate Epidemic Response Advisory Council in accordance with section 256.042, unless otherwise appropriated by the legislature.

(i) (1) Beginning in fiscal year 2022 and each year thereafter, funds for county social service agencies and Tribal social service agency initiative projects under paragraph (g) (j) and grant funds specified by the Opiate Epidemic Response Advisory Council under paragraph (h) (k) may be distributed on a calendar year basis.

(m) Notwithstanding section 16A.28, funds appropriated in paragraphs (c), (d), (j), and (k) do not cancel.

## **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256.043, subdivision 3a, is amended to read:

Subd. 3a. **Appropriations from settlement account.** (a) The appropriations in paragraphs (b) to (e) shall be made from the settlement account on a fiscal year basis in the order specified.

(b) If the balance in the registration and license fee account is not sufficient to fully fund the appropriations specified in subdivision 3, paragraphs (b) to (f), an amount necessary to meet any insufficiency shall be transferred from the settlement account to the registration and license fee account to fully fund the required appropriations.

(c) \$209,000 in fiscal year 2023 and \$239,000 in fiscal year 2024 and subsequent fiscal years are appropriated to the commissioner of human services for the administration of grants awarded under paragraph (e). \$276,000 in fiscal year 2023 and \$151,000 in fiscal year 2024 and subsequent fiscal years are appropriated to the commissioner of human services to collect, collate, and report data submitted and to monitor compliance with reporting and settlement expenditure requirements by grantees awarded grants under this section and municipalities receiving direct payments from a statewide opioid settlement agreement as defined in section 256.042, subdivision 6.

(d) After any appropriations necessary under paragraphs (b) and (c) are made, an amount equal to the calendar year allocation to Tribal social service agency initiative projects under subdivision 3, paragraph (g), is appropriated from the settlement account to the commissioner of human services for distribution to Tribal social service agency initiative projects to provide child protection services to children and families who are affected by addiction. The requirements related to proportional distribution, annual reporting, and maintenance of effort specified in subdivision 3, paragraph (g), also apply to the appropriations made under this paragraph.

(e) After making the appropriations in paragraphs (b), (c), and (d), the remaining amount in the account is appropriated to the commissioner of human services to award grants as specified by the Opiate Epidemic Response Advisory Council in accordance with section 256.042.

(f) Funds for Tribal social service agency initiative projects under paragraph (d) and grant funds specified by the Opiate Epidemic Response Advisory Council under paragraph (e) may be distributed on a calendar year basis.

(g) Notwithstanding section 16A.28, funds appropriated in paragraphs (d) and (e) do not cancel.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

## Sec. 12. [256I.052] OPIATE ANTAGONISTS.

(a) Site-based or group housing support settings must maintain a supply of opiate antagonists as defined in section 604A.04, subdivision 1, at each housing site to be administered in compliance with section 151.37, subdivision 12.

(b) Each site must have at least two doses of an opiate antagonist on site.

(c) Staff on site must have training on how and when to administer opiate antagonists.

Sec. 13. Laws 2019, chapter 63, article 3, section 1, as amended by Laws 2020, chapter 115, article 3, section 35, and Laws 2022, chapter 53, section 12, is amended to read:

## Section 1. APPROPRIATIONS.

(a) **Board of Pharmacy; administration.** \$244,000 in fiscal year 2020 is appropriated from the general fund to the Board of Pharmacy for onetime information technology and operating costs for administration of licensing activities under Minnesota Statutes, section 151.066. This is a onetime appropriation.

(b) **Commissioner of human services; administration.** \$309,000 in fiscal year 2020 is appropriated from the general fund and \$60,000 in fiscal year 2021 is appropriated from the opiate epidemic response fund to the commissioner of human services for the provision of administrative services to the Opiate Epidemic Response Advisory Council and for the administration of the grants awarded under paragraphs (f), (g), and (h). The opiate epidemic response fund base for this appropriation is \$60,000 in fiscal year 2022, \$60,000 in fiscal year 2023, \$60,000 in fiscal year 2024, and \$0 in fiscal year 2025.

(c) **Board of Pharmacy; administration.** \$126,000 in fiscal year 2020 is appropriated from the general fund to the Board of Pharmacy for the collection of the registration fees under section 151.066.

(d) **Commissioner of public safety; enforcement activities.** \$672,000 in fiscal year 2020 is appropriated from the general fund to the commissioner of public safety for the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension. Of this amount, \$384,000 is for drug scientists and lab supplies and \$288,000 is for special agent positions focused on drug interdiction and drug trafficking.

(e) **Commissioner of management and budget; evaluation activities.** \$300,000 in fiscal year 2020 is appropriated from the general fund and \$300,000 in fiscal year 2021 is appropriated from the opiate epidemic response fund to the commissioner of management and budget for evaluation activities under Minnesota Statutes, section 256.042, subdivision 1, paragraph (c).

(f) **Commissioner of human services; grants for Project ECHO.** \$400,000 in fiscal year 2020 is appropriated from the general fund and \$400,000 in fiscal year 2021 is appropriated from the opiate epidemic response fund to the commissioner of human services for grants of \$200,000 to CHI St. Gabriel's Health Family Medical Center for the opioid-focused Project ECHO program and \$200,000 to Hennepin Health Care for the opioid-focused Project ECHO program. The opiate epidemic response fund base for this appropriation is \$400,000 in fiscal year 2022, \$400,000 in fiscal year 2024, and \$0 in fiscal year 2025.

(g) **Commissioner of human services; opioid overdose prevention grant.** \$100,000 in fiscal year 2020 is appropriated from the general fund and \$100,000 in fiscal year 2021 is appropriated from the opiate epidemic response fund to the commissioner of human services for a grant to a nonprofit organization that has provided overdose prevention programs to the public in at least 60 counties within the state, for at least three years, has received federal funding before January 1, 2019, and is dedicated to addressing the opioid epidemic. The grant must

be used for opioid overdose prevention, community asset mapping, education, and overdose antagonist distribution. The opiate epidemic response fund base for this appropriation is \$100,000 in fiscal year 2022, \$100,000 in fiscal year 2023, \$100,000 in fiscal year 2024, and \$0 in fiscal year 2025.

(h) **Commissioner of human services; traditional healing.** \$2,000,000 in fiscal year 2020 is appropriated from the general fund and \$2,000,000 in fiscal year 2021 is appropriated from the opiate epidemic response fund to the commissioner of human services to award grants to Tribal nations and five urban Indian communities for traditional healing practices to American Indians and to increase the capacity of culturally specific providers in the behavioral health workforce. The opiate epidemic response fund base for this appropriation is \$2,000,000 in fiscal year 2022, \$2,000,000 in fiscal year 2023, \$2,000,000 in fiscal year 2024, and \$0 in fiscal year 2025.

(i) **Board of Dentistry; continuing education.** \$11,000 in fiscal year 2020 is appropriated from the state government special revenue fund to the Board of Dentistry to implement the continuing education requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section 214.12, subdivision 6.

(j) **Board of Medical Practice; continuing education.** \$17,000 in fiscal year 2020 is appropriated from the state government special revenue fund to the Board of Medical Practice to implement the continuing education requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section 214.12, subdivision 6.

(k) **Board of Nursing; continuing education.** \$17,000 in fiscal year 2020 is appropriated from the state government special revenue fund to the Board of Nursing to implement the continuing education requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section 214.12, subdivision 6.

(1) **Board of Optometry; continuing education.** \$5,000 in fiscal year 2020 is appropriated from the state government special revenue fund to the Board of Optometry to implement the continuing education requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section 214.12, subdivision 6.

(m) **Board of Podiatric Medicine; continuing education.** \$5,000 in fiscal year 2020 is appropriated from the state government special revenue fund to the Board of Podiatric Medicine to implement the continuing education requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section 214.12, subdivision 6.

(n) **Commissioner of health; nonnarcotic pain management and wellness.** \$1,250,000 is appropriated in fiscal year 2020 from the general fund to the commissioner of health, to provide funding for:

(1) statewide mapping and assessment of community-based nonnarcotic pain management and wellness resources; and

(2) up to five demonstration projects in different geographic areas of the state to provide community-based nonnarcotic pain management and wellness resources to patients and consumers.

The demonstration projects must include an evaluation component and scalability analysis. The commissioner shall award the grant for the statewide mapping and assessment, and the demonstration project grants, through a competitive request for proposal process. Grants for statewide mapping and assessment and demonstration projects may be awarded simultaneously. In awarding demonstration project grants, the commissioner shall give preference to proposals that incorporate innovative community partnerships, are informed and led by people in the community where the project is taking place, and are culturally relevant and delivered by culturally competent providers. This is a onetime appropriation.

(o) **Commissioner of health; administration.** \$38,000 in fiscal year 2020 is appropriated from the general fund to the commissioner of health for the administration of the grants awarded in paragraph (n).

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment.

#### Sec. 14. OPIOID OVERDOSE SURGE ALERT SYSTEM.

The commissioner of human services must establish a voluntary, statewide opioid overdose surge text message alert system, to prevent opioid overdose by cautioning people to refrain from substance use or to use harm reduction strategies when there is an overdose surge in their surrounding area. The alert system may include other forms of electronic alerts. The commissioner may collaborate with local agencies, other state agencies, and harm reduction organizations to promote and improve the surge alert system.

## Sec. 15. HARM REDUCTION AND CULTURALLY SPECIFIC GRANTS.

(a) The commissioner of human services must establish grants for Tribal Nations or culturally specific organizations to enhance and expand capacity to address the impacts of the opioid epidemic in their respective communities. Grants may be used to purchase and distribute harm reduction supplies, develop organizational capacity, and expand culturally specific services.

(b) Harm reduction grant funds must be used to promote safer practices and reduce the transmission of infectious disease. Allowable expenses include syringes, fentanyl testing supplies, disinfectants, opiate antagonist rescue kits, safe injection kits, safe smoking kits, sharps disposal, wound-care supplies, medication lock boxes, FDA-approved home testing kits for viral hepatitis and HIV, written educational and resource materials, and other supplies approved by the commissioner.

(c) Culturally specific organizational capacity grant funds must be used to develop and improve organizational infrastructure to increase access to culturally specific services and community building. Allowable expenses include funds for organizations to hire staff or consultants who specialize in fundraising, grant writing, business development, and program integrity or other identified organizational needs as approved by the commissioner.

(d) Culturally specific service grant funds must be used to expand culturally specific outreach and services. Allowable expenses include hiring or consulting with cultural advisors, resources to support cultural traditions, and education to empower individuals and providers, develop a sense of community, and develop a connection to ancestral roots.

## Sec. 16. **<u>REPEALER.</u>**

Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256.043, subdivision 4, is repealed.

## EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2023.

## ARTICLE 5 OPIOID PRESCRIBING IMPROVEMENT PROGRAM

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.0638, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. **Program established.** The commissioner of human services, in conjunction with the commissioner of health, shall coordinate and implement an opioid prescribing improvement program to reduce opioid dependency and substance use by Minnesotans due to the prescribing of opioid analgesics by health care providers <u>and to support patient-centered</u>, <u>compassionate care for Minnesotans who require treatment with opioid analgesics</u>.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.0638, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. **Definitions.** (a) For purposes of this section, the terms defined in this subdivision have the meanings given them.

(b) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of human services.

(c) "Commissioners" means the commissioner of human services and the commissioner of health.

(d) "DEA" means the United States Drug Enforcement Administration.

(e) "Minnesota health care program" means a public health care program administered by the commissioner of human services under this chapter and chapter 256L, and the Minnesota restricted recipient program.

(f) "Opioid <u>disenrollment</u> <u>sanction</u> standards" means <u>parameters</u> <u>clinical</u> <u>indicators</u> <u>defined</u> <u>by</u> the <u>Opioid</u> <u>Prescribing Work Group</u> of opioid prescribing practices that fall outside community standard thresholds for prescribing to such a degree that a provider <del>must be disenrolled</del> <u>may be subject to sanctions under section 256B.064</u> as a <u>medical assistance</u> <u>Minnesota health care program</u> provider.

(g) "Opioid prescriber" means a licensed health care provider who prescribes opioids to medical assistance <u>Minnesota health care program</u> and MinnesotaCare enrollees under the fee-for-service system or under a managed care or county-based purchasing plan.

(h) "Opioid quality improvement standard thresholds" means parameters of opioid prescribing practices that fall outside community standards for prescribing to such a degree that quality improvement is required.

(i) "Program" means the statewide opioid prescribing improvement program established under this section.

(j) "Provider group" means a clinic, hospital, or primary or specialty practice group that employs, contracts with, or is affiliated with an opioid prescriber. Provider group does not include a professional association supported by dues-paying members.

(k) "Sentinel measures" means measures of opioid use that identify variations in prescribing practices during the prescribing intervals.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.0638, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. **Program components.** (a) The working group shall recommend to the commissioners the components of the statewide opioid prescribing improvement program, including, but not limited to, the following:

(1) developing criteria for opioid prescribing protocols, including:

(i) prescribing for the interval of up to four days immediately after an acute painful event;

(ii) prescribing for the interval of up to 45 days after an acute painful event; and

(iii) prescribing for chronic pain, which for purposes of this program means pain lasting longer than 45 days after an acute painful event;

(2) developing sentinel measures;

(3) developing educational resources for opioid prescribers about communicating with patients about pain management and the use of opioids to treat pain;

(4) developing opioid quality improvement standard thresholds and opioid disenrollment standards for opioid prescribers and provider groups. In developing opioid disenrollment standards, the standards may be described in terms of the length of time in which prescribing practices fall outside community standards and the nature and amount of opioid prescribing that fall outside community standards; and

(5) addressing other program issues as determined by the commissioners.

(b) The opioid prescribing protocols shall not apply to opioids prescribed for patients who are experiencing pain caused by a malignant condition or who are receiving hospice care <u>or palliative care</u>, or to opioids prescribed for substance use disorder treatment with medications for opioid use disorder.

(c) All opioid prescribers who prescribe opioids to Minnesota health care program enrollees must participate in the program in accordance with subdivision 5. Any other prescriber who prescribes opioids may comply with the components of this program described in paragraph (a) on a voluntary basis.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.0638, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. **Program implementation.** (a) The commissioner shall implement the programs within the Minnesota health care quality improvement program to improve the health of and quality of care provided to Minnesota health care program enrollees. The program must be designed to support patient-centered care consistent with community standards of care. The program must discourage unsafe tapering practices and patient abandonment by providers. The commissioner shall annually collect and report to provider groups the sentinel measures of data showing individual opioid prescribers' opioid prescribing patterns compared to their anonymized peers. Provider groups shall distribute data to their affiliated, contracted, or employed opioid prescribers.

(b) The commissioner shall notify an opioid prescriber and all provider groups with which the opioid prescriber is employed or affiliated when the opioid prescriber's prescribing pattern exceeds the opioid quality improvement standard thresholds. An opioid prescriber and any provider group that receives a notice under this paragraph shall submit to the commissioner a quality improvement plan for review and approval by the commissioner with the goal of bringing the opioid prescriber's prescribing practices into alignment with community standards. A quality improvement plan must include:

(1) components of the program described in subdivision 4, paragraph (a);

(2) internal practice-based measures to review the prescribing practice of the opioid prescriber and, where appropriate, any other opioid prescribers employed by or affiliated with any of the provider groups with which the opioid prescriber is employed or affiliated; and

(3) appropriate use of the prescription monitoring program under section 152.126 demonstration of patient-centered care consistent with community standards of care.

(c) If, after a year from the commissioner's notice under paragraph (b), the opioid prescriber's prescribing practices <u>for treatment of acute or postacute pain</u> do not improve so that they are consistent with community standards, the commissioner shall <u>may</u> take one or more of the following steps:

(1) <u>require the prescriber, the provider group, or both, to</u> monitor prescribing practices more frequently than annually;

(2) monitor more aspects of the opioid prescriber's prescribing practices than the sentinel measures; or

(3) require the opioid prescriber to participate in additional quality improvement efforts, including but not limited to mandatory use of the prescription monitoring program established under section 152.126.

(d) Prescribers treating patients who are on chronic, high doses of opioids must meet community standards of care, including performing regular assessments and addressing unwarranted risks of opioid prescribing, but are not required to show measurable changes in chronic pain prescribing thresholds within a certain period.

(e) The commissioner shall dismiss a prescriber from participating in the opioid prescribing quality improvement program on an annual basis when the prescriber demonstrates that the prescriber's practices are patient-centered and reflect community standards for safe and compassionate treatment of patients experiencing pain.

(d) (f) The commissioner shall terminate from Minnesota health care programs may investigate for possible sanctions under section 256B.064 all opioid prescribers and provider groups whose prescribing practices fall within the applicable opioid disenrollment sanction standards.

(e) (g) No physician, advanced practice registered nurse, or physician assistant, acting in good faith based on the needs of the patient, may be disenrolled by the commissioner of human services solely for prescribing a dosage that equates to an upward deviation from morphine milligram equivalent dosage recommendations specified in state or federal opioid prescribing guidelines or policies, or quality improvement thresholds established under this section.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.0638, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 6a. <u>Waiver for certain provider groups.</u> (a) This section does not apply to prescribers employed by, or under contract or affiliated with, a provider group for which the commissioner has granted a waiver from the requirements of this section.

(b) The commissioner, in consultation with opioid prescribers, shall develop waiver criteria for provider groups, and shall make waivers available beginning July 1, 2023. In granting waivers, the commissioner shall consider whether the medical director of the provider group and a majority of the practitioners within a provider group have specialty training, fellowship training, or experience in treating chronic pain. Waivers under this subdivision shall be granted on an annual basis.

## Sec. 6. <u>DIRECTION TO COMMISSIONER OF HUMAN SERVICES; OPIOID PRESCRIBING</u> <u>IMPROVEMENT PROGRAM SUNSET.</u>

The commissioner of human services shall recommend criteria to provide for a sunset of the opioid prescribing improvement program under Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.0638. In developing sunset criteria, the commissioner shall consult with stakeholders including but not limited to clinicians that practice pain management, addiction medicine, or mental health, and either current or former Minnesota health care program enrollees who use or have used opioid therapy to manage chronic pain. By January 15, 2024, the commissioner shall submit recommended criteria to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over health and human services finance and policy.

#### ARTICLE 6 DEPARTMENT OF DIRECT CARE AND TREATMENT

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 15.01, is amended to read:

## 15.01 DEPARTMENTS OF THE STATE.

The following agencies are designated as the departments of the state government: the Department of Administration; the Department of Agriculture; the Department of Corrections; the Department of Corrections; the Department of Direct Care and Treatment, the Department of Education; the Department of Employment and Economic Development; the Department of Health; the Department of Human Rights; the Department of Human Services, the Department of Labor and Industry; the Department of Management and Budget; the Department of Military Affairs; the Department of Natural Resources; the Department of Public Safety; the Department of Human Services; the Department of Revenue; the Department of Transportation; the Department of Veterans Affairs; and their successor departments.

## **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 15.06, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Applicability. This section applies to the following departments or agencies: the Departments of Administration, Agriculture, Commerce, Corrections, <u>Direct Care and Treatment</u>, Education, Employment and Economic Development, Health, Human Rights, <u>Human Services</u>, Labor and Industry, Management and Budget, Natural Resources, Public Safety, <del>Human Services</del>, Revenue, Transportation, and Veterans Affairs; the Housing Finance and Pollution Control Agencies; the Office of Commissioner of Iron Range Resources and Rehabilitation; the Department of Information Technology Services; the Bureau of Mediation Services; and their successor departments and agencies. The heads of the foregoing departments or agencies are "commissioners."

#### **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 43A.08, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:

Subd. 1a. Additional unclassified positions. Appointing authorities for the following agencies may designate additional unclassified positions according to this subdivision: the Departments of Administration; Agriculture; Commerce; Corrections; Direct Care and Treatment, Education; Employment and Economic Development; Explore Minnesota Tourism; Management and Budget; Health; Human Rights; Human Services, Labor and Industry; Natural Resources; Public Safety; Human Services; Revenue; Transportation; and Veterans Affairs; the Housing Finance and Pollution Control Agencies; the State Lottery; the State Board of Investment; the Office of Administrative Hearings; the Department of Information Technology Services; the Offices of the Attorney General, Secretary of State, and State Auditor; the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities; the Minnesota Office of Higher Education; the Perpich Center for Arts Education; and the Minnesota Zoological Board.

A position designated by an appointing authority according to this subdivision must meet the following standards and criteria:

(1) the designation of the position would not be contrary to other law relating specifically to that agency;

(2) the person occupying the position would report directly to the agency head or deputy agency head and would be designated as part of the agency head's management team;

(3) the duties of the position would involve significant discretion and substantial involvement in the development, interpretation, and implementation of agency policy;

(4) the duties of the position would not require primarily personnel, accounting, or other technical expertise where continuity in the position would be important;

(5) there would be a need for the person occupying the position to be accountable to, loyal to, and compatible with, the governor and the agency head, the employing statutory board or commission, or the employing constitutional officer;

(6) the position would be at the level of division or bureau director or assistant to the agency head; and

(7) the commissioner has approved the designation as being consistent with the standards and criteria in this subdivision.

#### EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.

Sec. 4. [246C.01] TITLE.

This chapter may be cited as the "Department of Direct Care & Treatment Act."

## Sec. 5. [246C.02] DEPARTMENT OF DIRECT CARE AND TREATMENT; ESTABLISHMENT.

(a) The Department of Direct Care and Treatment is created. An executive board shall head the Department of Direct Care and Treatment. The executive board shall develop and maintain direct care and treatment in a manner consistent with applicable law, including chapters 13, 245, 246, 246B, 252, 253, 253B, 253C, 253D, 254A, 254B, and 256. The Department of Direct Care and Treatment shall provide direct care and treatment services in coordination with counties and other vendors. Direct care and treatment services shall include specialized inpatient programs at secure treatment facilities as defined in sections 253B.02, subdivision 18a, and 253D.02, subdivision 13; community preparation services; regional treatment centers; enterprise services; consultative services; aftercare services; community-based services and programs; transition services; nursing home services; and other services consistent with the mission of the Department of Direct Care and Treatment.

(b) "Community preparation services" means specialized inpatient or outpatient services or programs operated outside of a secure environment but administered by a secure treatment facility.

## EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.

## Sec. 6. [246C.03] TRANSITION OF AUTHORITY; DEVELOPMENT OF A BOARD.

Subdivision 1. Authority until board is developed and powers defined. Upon the effective date of this act, the commissioner of human services shall continue to exercise all authorities and responsibilities under chapters 13, 245, 246, 246B, 252, 253, 253B, 253C, 253D, 254A, 254B, and 256, until legislation is effective that develops the Department of Direct Care and Treatment executive board and defines the responsibilities and powers of the Department of Direct Care and Treatment and its executive board.

<u>Subd. 2.</u> **Development of Department of Direct Care and Treatment Board.** (a) The commissioner of human services shall prepare legislation for introduction during the 2024 legislative session, with input from stakeholders the commissioner deems necessary, proposing legislation for the creation and implementation of the Direct Care and Treatment executive board and defining the responsibilities, powers, and function of the Department of Direct Care and Treatment executive board.

(b) The Department of Direct Care and Treatment executive board shall consist of no more than five members, all appointed by the governor.

(c) An executive board member's qualifications must be appropriate for overseeing a complex behavioral health system, such as experience serving on a hospital or non-profit board or working as a licensed health care provider, in an allied health profession, or in health care administration.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2023.

## Sec. 7. [246C.04] TRANSFER OF DUTIES.

(a) Section 15.039 applies to the transfer of duties required by this chapter.

(b) The commissioner of administration, with the governor's approval, shall issue reorganization orders under section 16B.37 as necessary to carry out the transfer of duties required by section 246C.03. The provision of section 16B.37, subdivision 1, stating that transfers under section 16B.37 may only be to an agency that has existed for at least one year does not apply to transfers to an agency created by this chapter.

(c) The initial salary for the health systems chief executive officer of the Department of Direct Care and Treatment is the same as the salary for the health systems chief executive officer of direct care and treatment at the Department of Human Services immediately before July 1, 2024.

# Sec. 8. [246C.05] EMPLOYEE PROTECTIONS FOR ESTABLISHING THE NEW DEPARTMENT OF DIRECT CARE AND TREATMENT.

(a) Personnel whose duties relate to the functions assigned to the Department of Direct Care and Treatment executive board in section 246C.03 are transferred to the Department of Direct Care and Treatment effective 30 days after approval by the commissioner of direct care and treatment.

(b) Before the Department of Direct Care and Treatment executive board is appointed, personnel whose duties relate to the functions in this section may be transferred beginning July 1, 2024, with 30 days' notice from the commissioner of management and budget.

(c) The following protections shall apply to employees who are transferred from the Department of Human Services to the Department of Direct Care and Treatment:

(1) No transferred employee shall have their employment status and job classification altered as a result of the transfer.

(2) Transferred employees who were represented by an exclusive representative prior to the transfer shall continue to be represented by the same exclusive representative after the transfer.

(3) The applicable collective bargaining agreements with exclusive representatives shall continue in full force and effect for such transferred employees after the transfer.

(4) The state shall have the obligation to meet and negotiate with the exclusive representatives of the transferred employees about any proposed changes affecting or relating to the transferred employees' terms and conditions of employment to the extent such changes are not addressed in the applicable collective bargaining agreement.

(5) When an employee in a temporary unclassified position is transferred to the Department of Direct Care and Treatment, the total length of time that the employee has served in the appointment shall include all time served in the appointment at the transferring agency and the time served in the appointment at the Department of Direct Care and Treatment. An employee in a temporary unclassified position who was hired by a transferring agency through an open competitive selection process in accordance with a policy enacted by Minnesota Management and Budget shall be considered to have been hired through such process after the transfer.

(6) In the event that the state transfers ownership or control of any of the facilities, services, or operations of the Department of Direct Care and Treatment to another entity, whether private or public, by subcontracting, sale, assignment, lease, or other transfer, the state shall require as a written condition of such transfer of ownership or control the following provisions:

(i) Employees who perform work in transferred facilities, services, or operations must be offered employment with the entity acquiring ownership or control before the entity offers employment to any individual who was not employed by the transferring agency at the time of the transfer.

(ii) The wage and benefit standards of such transferred employees must not be reduced by the entity acquiring ownership or control through the expiration of the collective bargaining agreement in effect at the time of the transfer or for a period of two years after the transfer, whichever is longer.

6344

#### JOURNAL OF THE HOUSE

(d) There is no liability on the part of, and no cause of action arises against, the state of Minnesota or its officers or agents for any action or inaction of any entity acquiring ownership or control of any facilities, services, or operations of the Department of Direct Care and Treatment.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.

## Sec. 9. REVISOR INSTRUCTION.

The revisor of statutes, in consultation with staff from the House Research Department; House Fiscal Analysis; the Office of Senate Counsel, Research and Fiscal Analysis; and the respective departments shall prepare legislation for introduction in the 2024 legislative session proposing the statutory changes necessary to implement the transfers of duties that this article requires.

## **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2023.

## ARTICLE 7 LICENSING

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.04, subdivision 7, is amended to read:

Subd. 7. **Grant of license; license extension.** (a) If the commissioner determines that the program complies with all applicable rules and laws, the commissioner shall issue a license consistent with this section or, if applicable, a temporary change of ownership license under section 245A.043. At minimum, the license shall state:

(1) the name of the license holder;

(2) the address of the program;

(3) the effective date and expiration date of the license;

(4) the type of license;

(5) the maximum number and ages of persons that may receive services from the program; and

(6) any special conditions of licensure.

(b) The commissioner may issue a license for a period not to exceed two years if:

(1) the commissioner is unable to conduct the evaluation or observation required by subdivision 4, paragraph (a), clause (4), because the program is not yet operational;

(2) certain records and documents are not available because persons are not yet receiving services from the program; and

(3) the applicant complies with applicable laws and rules in all other respects.

(c) A decision by the commissioner to issue a license does not guarantee that any person or persons will be placed or cared for in the licensed program.

(d) Except as provided in paragraphs (f) and (g) (i) and (j), the commissioner shall not issue or reissue a license if the applicant, license holder, or an affiliated controlling individual has:

(1) been disqualified and the disqualification was not set aside and no variance has been granted;

#### FRIDAY, APRIL 21, 2023

(2) been denied a license under this chapter, within the past two years;

(3) had a license issued under this chapter revoked within the past five years; or

# (4) an outstanding debt related to a license fee, licensing fine, or settlement agreement for which payment is delinquent; or

(5) (4) failed to submit the information required of an applicant under subdivision 1, paragraph (f) or (g), after being requested by the commissioner.

When a license issued under this chapter is revoked <del>under clause (1) or (3)</del>, the license holder and <u>each affiliated</u> controlling individual <u>with a revoked license</u> may not hold any license under chapter 245A for five years following the revocation, and other licenses held by the applicant, <u>or</u> license holder, or <u>licenses affiliated with each</u> controlling individual shall also be revoked.

(e) Notwithstanding paragraph (d), the commissioner may elect not to revoke a license affiliated with a license holder or controlling individual that had a license revoked within the past five years if the commissioner determines that (1) the license holder or controlling individual is operating the program in substantial compliance with applicable laws and rules, and (2) the program's continued operation is in the best interests of the community being served.

(f) Notwithstanding paragraph (d), the commissioner may issue a new license in response to an application that is affiliated with an applicant, license holder, or controlling individual that had an application denied within the past two years or a license revoked within the past five years if the commissioner determines that (1) the applicant or controlling individual has operated one or more programs in substantial compliance with applicable laws and rules, and (2) the program's operation would be in the best interests of the community to be served.

(g) In determining whether a program's operation would be in the best interests of the community to be served, the commissioner shall consider factors such as the number of persons served, the availability of alternative services available in the surrounding community, the management structure of the program, whether the program provides culturally specific services, and other relevant factors.

(e) (h) The commissioner shall not issue or reissue a license under this chapter if an individual living in the household where the services will be provided as specified under section 245C.03, subdivision 1, has been disqualified and the disqualification has not been set aside and no variance has been granted.

(f) (i) Pursuant to section 245A.07, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), when a license issued under this chapter has been suspended or revoked and the suspension or revocation is under appeal, the program may continue to operate pending a final order from the commissioner. If the license under suspension or revocation will expire before a final order is issued, a temporary provisional license may be issued provided any applicable license fee is paid before the temporary provisional license is issued.

(g) (j) Notwithstanding paragraph (f) (i), when a revocation is based on the disqualification of a controlling individual or license holder, and the controlling individual or license holder is ordered under section 245C.17 to be immediately removed from direct contact with persons receiving services or is ordered to be under continuous, direct supervision when providing direct contact services, the program may continue to operate only if the program complies with the order and submits documentation demonstrating compliance with the order. If the disqualified individual fails to submit a timely request for reconsideration, or if the disqualification is not set aside and no variance is granted, the order to immediately remove the individual from direct contact or to be under continuous, direct supervision remains in effect pending the outcome of a hearing and final order from the commissioner.

6346

JOURNAL OF THE HOUSE

(h) (k) For purposes of reimbursement for meals only, under the Child and Adult Care Food Program, Code of Federal Regulations, title 7, subtitle B, chapter II, subchapter A, part 226, relocation within the same county by a licensed family day care provider, shall be considered an extension of the license for a period of no more than 30 calendar days or until the new license is issued, whichever occurs first, provided the county agency has determined the family day care provider meets licensure requirements at the new location.

(i) (1) Unless otherwise specified by statute, all licenses issued under this chapter expire at 12:01 a.m. on the day after the expiration date stated on the license. A license holder must apply for and be granted a new license to operate the program or the program must not be operated after the expiration date.

(j) (m) The commissioner shall not issue or reissue a license under this chapter if it has been determined that a tribal licensing authority has established jurisdiction to license the program or service.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.07, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 2b. Immediate suspension of residential programs. For suspensions issued to a licensed residential program as defined in section 245A.02, subdivision 14, the effective date of the order may be delayed for up to 30 calendar days to provide for the continuity of care of service recipients. The license holder must cooperate with the commissioner to ensure service recipients receive continued care during the period of the delay and to facilitate the transition of service recipients to new providers. In these cases, the suspension order takes effect when all service recipients have been transitioned to a new provider or 30 days after the suspension order was issued, whichever comes first.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.07, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 2c. Immediate suspension for programs with multiple licensed service sites. (a) For license holders that operate more than one service site under a single license, the suspension order must be specific to the service site or sites where the commissioner determines an order is required under subdivision 2. The order must not apply to other service sites operated by the same license holder unless the commissioner has included in the order an articulable basis for applying the order to other service sites.

(b) If the commissioner has issued more than one license to the license holder under this chapter, the suspension imposed under this section must be specific to the license for the program at which the commissioner determines an order is required under subdivision 2. The order must not apply to other licenses held by the same license holder if those programs are being operated in substantial compliance with applicable law and rules.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.10, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. License not issued until license or certification fee is paid. The commissioner shall not issue or reissue a license or certification until the license or certification fee is paid. The commissioner shall send a bill for the license or certification fee to the billing address identified by the license holder. If the license holder does not submit the license or certification fee payment by the due date, the commissioner shall send the license holder a past due notice. If the license holder fails to pay the license or certification fee by the due date on the past due notice, the commissioner shall send a final notice to the license holder informing the license holder that the program license will expire on December 31 unless the license fee is paid before December 31. If a license expires, the program is no longer licensed and, unless exempt from licensure under section 245A.03, subdivision 2, must not operate after the expiration date. After a license expires, if the former license holder wishes to provide licensed services, the former license holder must submit a new license application and application fee under subdivision 3.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.10, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 9. License not reissued until outstanding debt is paid. The commissioner shall not reissue a license or certification until the license holder has paid all outstanding debts related to a licensing fine or settlement agreement for which payment is delinquent. If the payment is past due, the commissioner shall send a past due notice informing the license holder that the program license will expire on December 31 unless the outstanding debt is paid before December 31. If a license expires, the program is no longer licensed and must not operate after the expiration date. After a license expires, if the former license holder wishes to provide licensed services, the former license holder must submit a new license application and application fee under subdivision 3.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.13, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. **Application.** (a) In addition to any other remedy provided by law, the commissioner may petition the district court in Ramsey County for an order directing the controlling individuals of a residential or nonresidential program licensed or certified by the commissioner to show cause why the commissioner should not be appointed receiver to operate the program. The petition to the district court must contain proof by affidavit that one or more of the following circumstances exists: (1) that the commissioner has either begun proceedings to suspend or revoke a license or certification, has suspended or revoked a license or certification, or has decided to deny an application for licensure or certification of the program; or (2) it appears to the commissioner that the health, safety, or rights of the residents or persons receiving care from the program may be in jeopardy because of the manner in which the program may close, the program's financial condition, or violations committed by the program of federal or state laws or rules. If the license holder, applicant, or controlling individual operates more than one program, the commissioner's petition must specify and be limited to the program for which it seeks receivership. The affidavit submitted by the commissioner must set forth alternatives to receivership that have been considered, including rate adjustments. The order to show cause is returnable not less than five days after service is completed and must provide for personal service of a copy to the program administrator and to the persons designated as agents by the controlling individuals to accept service on their behalf.

(1) the commissioner has commenced proceedings to suspend or revoke the program's license or refused to renew the program's license;

(2) there is a threat of imminent abandonment by the program or its controlling individuals;

(3) the program has shown a pattern of failure to meet ongoing financial obligations such as failing to pay for food, pharmaceuticals, personnel costs, or required insurance;

(4) the health, safety, or rights of the residents or persons receiving care from the program appear to be in jeopardy due to the manner in which the program may close, the program's financial condition, or violations of federal or state law or rules committed by the program; or

(5) the commissioner has notified the program or its controlling individuals that the program's federal Medicare or Medicaid provider agreement will be terminated, revoked, canceled, or not renewed.

(b) If the license holder, applicant, or controlling individual operates more than one program, the commissioner's petition must specify and be limited to the program for which it seeks receivership.

(c) The order to show cause shall be personally served on the program through its authorized agent or, in the event the authorized agent cannot be located, on any controlling individual for the program.

JOURNAL OF THE HOUSE

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.13, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Appointment of receiver. (a) If the court finds that involuntary receivership is necessary as a means of protecting the health, safety, or rights of persons being served by the program, the court shall appoint the commissioner as receiver to operate the program. The commissioner as receiver may contract with another entity or group to act as the managing agent during the receivership period. The managing agent will be responsible for the day-to-day operations of the program subject at all times to the review and approval of the commissioner. A managing agent shall not:

## (1) be the license holder or controlling individual of the program;

#### (2) have a financial interest in the program at the time of the receivership;

(3) be otherwise affiliated with the program; or

(4) have had a licensed program that has been ordered into receivership.

(b) Notwithstanding state contracting requirements in chapter 16C, the commissioner shall establish and maintain a list of qualified persons or entities with experience in delivering services and with winding down programs under chapter 245A, 245D, or 245G, or other service types licensed by the commissioner. The list shall be a resource for selecting a managing agent, and the commissioner may update the list at any time.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.13, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Powers and duties of receiver. Within 36 months after the receivership order, the receiver shall provide for the orderly transfer of the persons served by the program to other programs or make other provisions to protect their health, safety, and rights. The receiver or the managing agent shall correct or eliminate deficiencies in the program that the commissioner determines endanger the health, safety, or welfare of the persons being served by the program unless the correction or elimination of deficiencies at a residential program involves major alteration in the structure of the physical plant. If the correction or elimination of the deficiencies at a residential program requires major alterations in the structure of the physical plant, the receiver shall take actions designed to result in the immediate transfer of persons served by the residential program. During the period of the receivership, the receiver and the managing agent shall operate the residential or nonresidential program in a manner designed to preserve the health, safety, rights, adequate care, and supervision of the persons served by the program. The receiver or the managing agent may make contracts and incur lawful expenses. The receiver or the managing agent shall collect incoming payments from all sources and apply them to the cost incurred in the performance of the functions of the receivership including the fee set under subdivision 4. No security interest in any real or personal property comprising the program or contained within it, or in any fixture of the physical plant, shall be impaired or diminished in priority by the receiver or the managing agent. (a) A receiver appointed pursuant to this section shall, within 18 months after the receivership order, determine whether to close the program or to make other provisions with the intent to keep the program open. If the receiver determines that program closure is appropriate, the commissioner shall provide for the orderly transfer of individuals served by the program to other programs or make other provisions to protect the health, safety, and rights of individuals served by the program.

(b) During the receivership, the receiver or the managing agent shall correct or eliminate deficiencies in the program that the commissioner determines endanger the health, safety, or welfare of the persons being served by the program unless the correction or elimination of deficiencies at a residential program involves major alteration in the structure of the physical plant. If the correction or elimination of the deficiencies at a residential program requires major alterations in the structure of the physical plant, the receiver shall take actions designed to result in the immediate transfer of persons served by the residential program. During the period of the receivership, the receiver and the managing agent shall operate the residential or nonresidential program in a manner designed to preserve the health, safety, rights, adequate care, and supervision of the persons served by the program.

(d) The receiver or the managing agent shall use the building, fixtures, furnishings, and any accompanying consumable goods in the provision of care and services to the clients during the receivership period. The receiver shall take action as is reasonably necessary to protect or conserve the tangible assets or property during receivership.

(e) The receiver or the managing agent shall collect incoming payments from all sources and apply them to the cost incurred in the performance of the functions of the receivership, including the fee set under subdivision 4. No security interest in any real or personal property comprising the program or contained within it, or in any fixture of the physical plant, shall be impaired or diminished in priority by the receiver or the managing agent.

(f) The receiver has authority to hire, direct, manage, and discharge any employees of the program, including management level staff for the program.

(g) The commissioner, as the receiver appointed by the court, may hire a managing agent to work on the commissioner's behalf to operate the program during the receivership. The managing agent is entitled to a reasonable fee. The receiver and managing agent shall be liable only in an official capacity for injury to persons and property by reason of the conditions of the program. The receiver and managing agent shall not be personally liable, except for gross negligence or intentional acts. The commissioner shall assist the managing agent in carrying out the managing agent's duties.

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.13, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. **Emergency procedure.** (a) If it appears from the petition filed under subdivision 1, from an affidavit or affidavits filed with the petition, or from testimony of witnesses under oath if the court determines it necessary, that there is probable cause to believe that an emergency exists in a residential or nonresidential program, the court shall issue a temporary order for appointment of a receiver within five two days after receipt of the petition. Notice of the petition must be served on the program administrator and on the persons designated as agents by the controlling individuals to accept service on their behalf. A hearing on the petition must be held within five days after notice is served unless the administrator or authorized agent consents to a later date. After the hearing, the court may continue, modify, or terminate the temporary order.

(b) Notice of the petition must be served on the authorized agent of the program that is subject to the receivership petition or, if the authorized agent is not immediately available for service, on at least one of the controlling individuals for the program. A hearing on the petition must be held within five days after notice is served unless the authorized agent or other controlling individual consents to a later date. After the hearing, the court may continue, modify, or terminate the temporary order.

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.13, subdivision 7, is amended to read:

Subd. 7. **Rate recommendation.** For any program receiving Medicaid funds and ordered into receivership, the commissioner of human services may review rates of a residential or nonresidential program participating in the medical assistance program which is in receivership and that has needs or deficiencies documented by the Department of Health or the Department of Human Services. If the commissioner of human services determines that a review of the rate established under sections 256B.5012 and 256B.5013 is needed, the commissioner shall:

(1) review the order or determination that cites the deficiencies or needs; and

(2) determine the need for additional staff, additional annual hours by type of employee, and additional consultants, services, supplies, equipment, repairs, or capital assets necessary to satisfy the needs or deficiencies.

6350

JOURNAL OF THE HOUSE

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.13, subdivision 9, is amended to read:

Subd. 9. **Receivership accounting.** The commissioner may use <u>adjust Medicaid rates and use Medicaid funds</u>, <u>including but not limited to waiver funds</u>, and the medical assistance account and funds for receivership cash flow, <u>receivership administrative fees</u>, and accounting purposes, to the extent permitted by the state's approved Medicaid plan.

## ARTICLE 8 APPROPRIATIONS

## Section 1. HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES APPROPRIATIONS.

The sums shown in the columns marked "Appropriations" are appropriated to the agencies and for the purposes specified in this article. The appropriations are from the general fund, or another named fund, and are available for the fiscal years indicated for each purpose. The figures "2024" and "2025" used in this article mean that the appropriations listed under them are available for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, or June 30, 2025, respectively. "The first year" is fiscal year 2024. "The second year" is fiscal year 2025. "The biennium" is fiscal years 2024 and 2025.

	Availa	<u>ROPRIATIONS</u> ble for the Year ding June 30 2025
Sec. 2. COMMISSIONER OF HUMAN SERVICES		
Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation	<u>\$6,834,184,000</u>	<u>\$7,252,890,000</u>
Appropriations by Fund		
<u>2024</u> <u>2025</u>		
General 6,825,305,000 7,247,928,000   Lottery Prize 1,733,000 1,733,000   Opiate Epidemic Response 500,000 -0-		
The amounts that may be spent for each purpose are specified in the following subdivisions.	<u>n</u>	
Subd. 2. Central Office; Operations		
Appropriations by Fund		
<u>General</u> <u>85,879,000</u> <u>16,057,000</u>		
(a) <b><u>Staffing Costs.</u></b> Appropriations for staffing costs in the subdivision are available until June 30, 2027.	<u>is</u>	
(b) Base Level Adjustment. The general fund base is \$4,975,00	<u>00</u>	

in fiscal year 2026 and \$4,868,000 in fiscal year 2027.

54th Day]

## Subd. 3. Central Office; Children and Families Appropriations by Fund General 1,073,000 3,693,000 Staffing Costs. Appropriations for staffing costs in this subdivision are available until June 30, 2027. Subd. 4. Central Office; Health Care 2,039,000 2,122,000 (a) Staffing Costs. Appropriations for staffing costs in this subdivision are available until June 30, 2027. (b) Base Level Adjustment. The general fund base is \$900,000 in fiscal year 2026 and \$900,000 in fiscal year 2027. (c) Initial PACE Implementation Funding. <u>\$150,000 in fiscal</u> year 2024 is to complete the initial actuarial and administrative work necessary to recommend a financing mechanism for the operation of PACE under Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.69, subdivision 23, paragraph (e). This is a onetime appropriation. Subd. 5. Central Office; Continuing Care for Older Adults 14,120,000 21,666,000 (a) Staffing Costs. Appropriations for staffing costs in this subdivision are available until June 30, 2027. (b) Research on Access to Long-Term Care Services. \$700,000 in fiscal year 2024 is to support an actuarial research study of public and private financing options for long-term services and supports reform to increase access across the state. This is a onetime appropriation. (c) Employment Supports Alignment Study. \$50,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$200,000 in fiscal year 2025 are to conduct an interagency employment supports alignment study. The base for this appropriation is \$150,000 in fiscal year 2026 and \$100,000 in fiscal year 2027. (d) Case Management Training Curriculum. \$377,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$377,000 fiscal year 2025 are to develop and implement a curriculum and training plan to ensure all lead agency assessors and case managers have the knowledge and skills necessary to fulfill support planning and coordination responsibilities for individuals who use home and community-based disability services and live in own-home settings. These are onetime appropriations.

and \$625,000 in fiscal year 2025 are for grants to organizations supporting the organizations' parent-to-parent programs for families of children with special health care needs. This is a onetime appropriation and is available until June 30, 2025.

(2) Of this amount, \$500,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$500,000 in fiscal year 2025 are for grants to organizations that provide services to underserved communities with a high prevalence of autism spectrum disorder. The commissioner shall give priority to organizations that provide culturally specific and culturally responsive services.

(3) Eligible organizations must:

(i) conduct outreach and provide support to newly identified parents or guardians of a child with special health care needs;

(ii) provide training to educate parents and guardians in ways to support their child and navigate the health, education, and human services systems;

(iii) facilitate ongoing peer support for parents and guardians from trained volunteer support parents; and

(iv) communicate regularly with other parent-to-parent programs and national organizations to ensure that best practices are implemented.

(4) Grant recipients must use grant money for the activities identified in clause (3).

(5) For purposes of this section, "special health care needs" means disabilities, chronic illnesses or conditions, health-related educational or behavioral problems, or the risk of developing disabilities, illnesses, conditions, or problems.

(6) Each grant recipient must report to the commissioner of human services annually by January 15 with measurable outcomes from programs and services funded by this appropriation the previous year including the number of families served and the number of volunteer support parents trained by the organization's parent-to-parent program.

(f) **Direct Care Service Corps Pilot Project.** \$500,000 in fiscal year 2024 is for a grant to HealthForce Minnesota at Winona State University for purposes of the direct care service corps pilot project. Up to \$25,000 may be used by HealthForce Minnesota for administrative costs. This is a onetime appropriation.

(g) **Native American Elder Coordinator.** \$441,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$441,000 in fiscal year 2025 are for the Native American elder coordinator position under Minnesota Statutes, section 256.975, subdivision 6. The base for this appropriation is \$441,000 in fiscal year 2026 and \$441,000 in fiscal year 2027.

(h) Office of Ombudsman for Long-Term Care. \$500,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$500,000 in fiscal year 2025 are for additional staff and associated costs in the Office of Ombudsman for Long-Term Care.

(i) **Base Level Adjustment.** The general fund base is \$6,476,000 in fiscal year 2026 and \$6,378,000 in fiscal year 2027.

# Subd. 6. Central Office; Behavioral Health, Housing, and Deaf and Hard of Hearing Services

(a) <u>Staffing Costs.</u> <u>Appropriations for staffing costs in this</u> <u>subdivision are available until June 30, 2027.</u>

(b) Competency-based Training Funding for Substance Use Disorder Provider Community. \$300,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$300,000 in fiscal year 2025 are for provider participation in clinical training for the transition to American Society of Addiction Medicine standards. This is a onetime appropriation.

(c) **Public Awareness Campaign.** \$1,200,000 in fiscal year 2024 is to develop and establish a public awareness campaign targeting the stigma of opioid use disorders with the goal of prevention and education of youth on the dangers of opioids and other substance use. This is a onetime appropriation.

(d) **Bad Batch Overdose Surge Text Alert System.** \$1,000,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$250,000 in fiscal year 2025 are for development and ongoing funding for a text alert system notifying the public in real time of bad batch overdoses. This is a onetime appropriation.

(e) **Evaluation of Recovery Site Grants.** \$300,000 in fiscal year 2025 is to provide funding for evaluating the effectiveness of recovery site grant efforts. This is a onetime appropriation.

(f) Office of Addiction and Recovery. <u>\$750,000 in fiscal year</u> 2024 and \$750,000 in fiscal year 2025 are for the Office of Addiction and Recovery.

(g) **Base Level Adjustment.** The general fund base is \$2,667,000 in fiscal year 2026 and \$2,567,000 in fiscal year 2027.

<u>6,390,000</u>

7,838,000

6354	JOURNAL OF THE HOUSE		[54th Day
Subd. 7. Forecasted Pr	ograms; Medical Assistance	<u>5,654,567,000</u>	<u>6,359,586,000</u>
Subd. 8. Forecasted Pr	ograms; Alternative Care	47,793,000	51,035,000
	e alternative care program that is not dicated does not cancel but must be ssistance account.		
Subd. 9. Forecasted Pr	ograms; Behavioral Health Fund	<u>96,387,000</u>	98,417,000
<u>Subd. 10.</u> <u>Grant Pr</u> <u>Support Grants</u>	ograms; Children and Economic	1,000,000	<u>-0-</u>
\$1,000,000 in fiscal year	Volunteer Advancement. (1) 2024 is for a grant to the Minnesota vancement to administer needs-based		
Minnesota to support sele	nonprofit organizations in greater cted organizations' ongoing efforts to parities in access to human services ism; and		
are considered underserve	bulations to be served by the subgrantee d or suffer from or are at risk of erty, lack of access to health care, or		
priority to organizations th populations. By December Volunteer Advancement sh subgrants and recommend volunteer efforts statewide members of the legislat	for Volunteer Advancement shall give at are serving the needs of vulnerable 15, 2025, the Minnesota Alliance for hall report data on outcomes from the lations for improving and sustaining to the chairs and ranking minority ive committees and divisions with vices. This is a onetime appropriation 0, 2025.		
Subd. 11. Grant Progr	ams; Refugee Services Grants	<u>3,000,000</u>	5,000,000
Program. \$3,000,000 in fi	<b>d Social Services Workforce Grant</b> scal year 2024 and \$5,000,000 in fiscal nd social services grants. This is a		
<u>Subd. 12.</u> <u>Grant Pr</u> <u>Grants</u>	ograms; Other Long-Term Care	44,772,000	38,925,000
Communities. \$24,000,00	<b>Arants for Rural and Underserved</b> 00 in fiscal year 2025 is for provider d underserved communities. This is a		

onetime appropriation.

(b) Supporting New Americans in the Long-Term Care Workforce Grants. \$25,759,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$13,000,000 in fiscal year 2025 are for supporting new Americans in the long-term care workforce grants. This is a onetime appropriation.

(c) **Base Level Adjustment.** The general fund base is \$1,925,000 in fiscal year 2026 and \$1,925,000 in fiscal year 2027.

Subd. 13. Grant Programs; Aging and Adult Services Grants

(a) **Age-Friendly Community Grants.** \$1,000,000 in fiscal year 2025 is for the continuation of age-friendly community grants under Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 7, article 17, section 8, subdivision 1. The base for this appropriation is \$1,000,000 in fiscal year 2026, \$1,000,000 in fiscal year 2027, and \$0 in fiscal year 2028. This appropriation is available until June 30, 2027.

(b) <u>Age-Friendly Technical Assistance Grants.</u> \$575,000 in fiscal year 2025 is for the continuation of age-friendly technical assistance grants under Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 7, article 17, section 8, subdivision 2. The base for this appropriation is \$575,000 in fiscal year 2026, \$575,000 in fiscal year 2027, and \$0 in fiscal year 2028. This appropriation is available until June 30, 2027.

(c) Senior Nutrition Program. \$4,500,000 in fiscal year 2024 is for the senior nutrition program under Minnesota Statutes, section 256.9752. This is a onetime appropriation and is available until June 30, 2025.

(d) Live Well at Home Grants. \$4,500,000 in fiscal year 2024 is for live well at home grants under Minnesota Statutes, section 256.9754. This is a onetime appropriation and is available until June 30, 2025.

(e) Caregiver Respite Services Grants. \$1,800,000 in fiscal year 2025 is for caregiver respite services grants under Minnesota Statutes, section 256.9756. This is a onetime appropriation.

(f) **Base Level Adjustment.** The general fund base is \$32,995,000 in fiscal year 2026 and \$32,995,000 in fiscal year 2027.

Subd. 14. Grant Programs; Deaf and Hard of Hearing		
Grants	<u>2,886,000</u>	<u>2,886,000</u>
Subd. 15. Grant Programs; Disabilities Grants	160,792,000	29,533,000

<u>87,599,000</u>

39,520,000

(a) **Transition Grants for Small Customized Living Providers.** \$8,450,000 in fiscal year 2024 is for grants to assist transitions of small customized living providers as defined under Minnesota Statutes, section 245D.24. This is a onetime appropriation and is available through June 30, 2025.

(b) Lead Agency Capacity Building Grants. \$500,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$2,500,000 in fiscal year 2025 are for grants to assist organizations, counties, and Tribes to build capacity for employment opportunities for people with disabilities.

(c) **Employment and Technical Assistance Center Grants.** \$450,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$1,800,000 in fiscal year 2025 are for employment and technical assistance grants to assist organizations and employers in promoting a more inclusive workplace for people with disabilities.

(d) **Case Management Training Grants.** §37,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$123,000 in fiscal year 2025 are for grants to provide case management training to organizations and employers to support the state's disability employment supports system. The base for this appropriation is \$45,000 in fiscal year 2026 and \$45,000 in fiscal year 2027.

(e) **Electronic Visit Verification Stipends.** \$6,095,000 in fiscal year 2024 is for onetime stipends of \$200 to bargaining members to offset the potential costs related to people using individual devices to access the electronic visit verification system. \$5,600,000 of the appropriation is for stipends and the remaining amount is for administration of the stipends. This is a onetime appropriation and is available until June 30, 2025.

(f) Self-Directed Collective Bargaining Agreement; Temporary Rate Increase Memorandum of Understanding. \$1,600,000 in fiscal year 2024 is for onetime stipends for individual providers covered by the SEIU collective bargaining agreement based on the memorandum of understanding related to the temporary rate increase in effect between December 1, 2020, and February 7, 2021. \$1,400,000 of the appropriation is for stipends and the remaining amount is for administration of the stipends. This is a onetime appropriation.

(g) Self-Directed Collective Bargaining Agreement; Retention Bonuses. \$50,750,000 in fiscal year 2024 is for onetime retention bonuses covered by the SEIU collective bargaining agreement. \$50,000,000 of the appropriation is for retention bonuses and the remaining amount is for administration of the bonuses. This is a onetime appropriation and is available until June 30, 2025.

(h) **Training Stipends.** <u>\$2,100,000 in fiscal year 2024 and</u> <u>\$100,000 in fiscal year 2025 are for onetime stipends of \$500 for</u> collective bargaining unit members who complete designated, voluntary trainings made available through or recommended by the State Provider Cooperation Committee. \$2,000,000 of the appropriation is for stipends and the remaining amount in both fiscal year 2024 and fiscal 2025 is for the administration of stipends. This is a onetime appropriation.

(i) **Orientation Program.** \$2,000,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$2,000,000 in fiscal year 2025 are for onetime \$100 payments for collective bargaining unit members who complete voluntary orientation requirements. \$1,500,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$1,500,000 in fiscal year 2025 are for the onetime payments, while \$500,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$500,000 in fiscal year 2025 are for orientation-related costs. This is a onetime appropriation.

(j) **HIV/AIDS Support Services.** \$24,200,000 in fiscal year 2024 is for grants to community-based HIV/AIDS support services providers and for payment of allowed health care costs as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 256.9365. This is a onetime appropriation and is available through June 30, 2027.

(k) Home Care Orientation Trust. \$1,000,000 in fiscal year 2024 is for the Home Care Orientation Trust in Article 10 of the 2023-2025 collective bargaining agreement between the state of Minnesota and Service Employees International Union Healthcare Minnesota and Iowa. The commissioner shall disburse the appropriation to the board of trustees of the Home Care Orientation Trust for deposit into an account designed by the board of trustees outside of the state treasury and state's accounting system. This is a onetime appropriation.

(1) Home and Community-Based Workforce Incentive Fund Grants. \$33,300,000 in fiscal year 2024 is for home and community-based workforce incentive fund grants. This is a onetime appropriation and is available until June 30, 2026.

(m) **Community Residential Setting Transition.** \$500,000 in fiscal year 2024 is for a grant to Hennepin County to expedite approval of community residential setting licenses subject to the corporate foster care moratorium exception under Minnesota Statutes, section 245A.03, subdivision 7, paragraph (a), clause (5).

(n) **Base Level Adjustment.** The base is \$27,355,000 in fiscal year 2026 and \$27,030,000 in fiscal year 2027.

Subd. 16. Grant Programs; Adult Mental Health Grants

African American Child Wellness Institute. \$3,000,000 in fiscal year 2024 is for a grant to the African American Child Wellness Institute, a culturally specific African American mental health service provider that is a licensed community mental health center specializing in services for African American children and families 1,500,000

1,500,000

of all ages. The grant must be used to support the center in offering culturally specific, comprehensive, trauma-informed, practice- and evidence-based, person- and family-centered mental health and substance use disorder services; supervision and training; and care coordination regardless of ability to pay or place

<u>Subd. 17.</u> <u>Grant Programs; Chemical Dependency</u> <u>Treatment Support Grants</u>

of residence. This is a onetime appropriation.

#### Appropriations by Fund

General	<u>89,788,000</u>	<u>6,497,000</u>
Lottery Prize	1,733,000	1,733,000
Opiate Epidemic Response	500,000	<u>-0-</u>

(a) **Safe Recovery Sites.** \$55,491,000 in fiscal year 2024 is from the general fund for start-up and capacity-building grants for organizations to establish safe recovery sites. This appropriation is onetime and is available until June 30, 2025.

(b) **Culturally Specific Services Grants.** \$4,000,000 in fiscal year 2024 is from the general fund for grants to culturally specific providers for technical assistance navigating culturally specific and responsive substance use and recovery programs. This is a onetime appropriation.

(c) <u>Culturally Specific Grant Development Trainings.</u> \$200,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$200,000 in fiscal year 2025 are from the general fund for up to four trainings for community members and culturally specific providers for grant writing training for substance use and recovery programs. This is onetime appropriation.

(d) Harm Reduction Supplies for Tribal and Culturally Specific Programs. \$8,000,000 in fiscal year 2024 is from the general fund to provide sole source grants to culturally specific communities to purchase syringes, testing supplies, and opiate antagonists. This is a onetime appropriation.

(e) Families and family Treatment Capacity-building and Start-up Grants. \$10,000,000 in fiscal year 2024 is from the general fund for start-up and capacity-building grants for family substance use disorder treatment programs. Any unexpended funds are available until June 30, 2029. This is a onetime appropriation.

(f) Minnesota State University, Mankato Community Behavioral Health Center. \$750,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$750,000 in fiscal year 2025 are from the general fund for a grant to the Center for Rural Behavioral Health at Minnesota State University, Mankato to establish a community behavioral health center and training clinic. The community behavioral health center must provide comprehensive, culturally specific, trauma-informed, practice- and evidence-based, person- and family-centered mental health and substance use disorder treatment services in Blue Earth County and the surrounding region. The center must provide the services to individuals of all ages, regardless of ability to pay or place of residence. The community behavioral health center and training clinic must also provide training and workforce development opportunities to students enrolled in the university's training programs in the fields of social work, counseling and student personnel, alcohol and drug studies, psychology, and nursing. The commissioner shall make information regarding the use of this grant funding available to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over health and human services. Any unspent money from the fiscal year 2024 appropriation is available in fiscal year 2025. These are onetime appropriations.

(g) Wellness in the Woods. \$250,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$250,000 in fiscal year 2025 are from the general fund for a grant to Wellness in the Woods for daily peer support and special sessions for individuals who are in substance use disorder recovery, are transitioning out of incarceration, or who have experienced trauma. These are onetime appropriations.

(h) **Recovery Community Organization Grants.** \$4,300,000 in fiscal year 2024 is from the general fund for grants to recovery community organizations, as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 254B.01, subdivision 8, that are current grantees as of June 30, 2023. This is a onetime appropriation and is available until June 30, 2025.

(i) **Opioid Overdose Prevention Grants.** \$500,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$500,000 in fiscal year 2025 are from the general fund for a grant to Ka Joog, a nonprofit organization in Minneapolis, Minnesota, to be used for collaborative outreach, education, and training on opioid use and overdose, and distribution of opiate antagonist kits in East African and Somali communities in Minnesota. This is a onetime appropriation.

(j) **Problem Gambling.** <u>\$225,000 in fiscal year 2024 and</u> <u>\$225,000 in fiscal year 2025 are from the lottery prize fund for a grant to a state affiliate recognized by the National Council on Problem Gambling. The affiliate must provide services to increase public awareness of problem gambling, education, training for individuals and organizations that provide effective treatment services to problem gamblers and their families, and research related to problem gambling.</u>

(k) **Project ECHO.** \$1,500,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$1,500,000 in fiscal year 2025 are from the general fund for a grant to Hennepin Healthcare to expand the Project ECHO program. The grant must be used to establish at least four substance use disorder-focused Project ECHO programs at Hennepin Healthcare, expanding the grantee's capacity to improve health and substance use disorder outcomes for diverse populations of individuals enrolled in medical assistance, including but not limited to immigrants, individuals who are homeless, individuals seeking maternal and perinatal care, and other underserved populations. The Project ECHO programs funded under this section must be culturally responsive, and the grantee must contract with culturally and linguistically appropriate substance use disorder service providers who have expertise in focus areas, based on the populations served. Grant funds may be used for program administration, equipment, provider reimbursement, and staffing hours. This is a onetime appropriation.

(1) **Base Level Adjustment.** The general fund base is \$3,247,000 in fiscal year 2026 and \$3,247,000 in fiscal year 2027.

## Subd. 18. Direct Care and Treatment - Transfer Authority

(a) Money appropriated for budget activities under subdivisions 19 to 23 may be transferred between budget activities and between years of the biennium with the approval of the commissioner of management and budget.

(b) Ending balances in obsolete accounts in the special revenue fund and other dedicated accounts within direct care and treatment may be transferred to other dedicated and gift fund accounts within direct care and treatment for client use and other client activities, with approval of the commissioner of management and budget. These transactions must be completed by August 1, 2023.

## <u>Subd. 19.</u> Direct Care and Treatment - Mental Health and Substance Abuse

The commissioner responsible for operations of direct care and treatment services, with the approval of the commissioner of management and budget, may transfer any balance in the enterprise fund established for the community addiction recovery enterprise program to the general fund appropriation within this subdivision. Any balance remaining after June 30, 2025, cancels to the general fund.

<u>Subd. 20.</u>	<b>Direct Care and Treatment - Community-Based</b>		
Services		20,386,000	21,164,000

169,962,000

**Base Level Adjustment.** The general fund base is \$20,452,000 in fiscal year 2026 and \$20,452,000 in fiscal year 2027.

177,152,000

54th Day]	FRIDAY, APRIL 21, 2023		6361
<u>Subd. 21.</u>	Direct Care and Treatment - Forensic Services	141,020,000	148,513,000
<u>Subd. 22.</u> Program	Direct Care and Treatment - Sex Offender	115,920,000	121,726,000
Subd. 23.	<b>Direct Care and Treatment - Operations</b>	78,432,000	<u>95,098,000</u>
-	fund base is \$65,263,000 in fiscal year 2026 and n fiscal year 2027.		
Sec. 3. <u>C</u>	DUNCIL ON DISABILITY	<u>\$1,902,000</u>	<u>\$2,282,000</u>
\$250,000 in f	<b>n Disability; Accessibility Standards Training.</b> (1) iscal year 2024 and \$250,000 in fiscal year 2025 are esota Council on Disability to select, appoint, and mployees to perform the following tasks:		
Association o module for	ation with the League of Minnesota Cities and the f Minnesota Counties, provide a statewide training cities and counties on how to conform local rebsites to accessibility standards;		
	utreach, training, and technical assistance for local ficials and staff on website accessibility; and		
activities des	d compile information about the outcomes of the cribed in clauses (1) and (2) and the costs of on for cities and counties to make website mprovements.		
	ng module described under paragraph (a), clause (1), oped and made available to counties and cities on or 2024.		
(3) This is a o	netime appropriation.		
	<b>Adjustment.</b> The general fund base is \$2,032,000 2026 and \$2,032,000 in fiscal year 2027.		
	MBUDSMAN FOR MENTAL HEALTH AND ENTAL DISABILITIES	<u>\$3,441,000</u>	\$3,644,000
Sec. 5. <u>M</u>	INNESOTA MANAGEMENT AND BUDGET	<u>1,000,000</u>	<u>1,000,000</u>
	Addiction and Recovery. \$750,000 in fiscal year 50,000 in fiscal year 2025 are for the Office of Recovery.		
\$250,000 in f	ubstance Use and Addiction Recovery Office. iscal year 2024 and \$250,000 in fiscal year 2025 are Substance Use and Addiction Recovery Office.		

Sec. 6. Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 7, article 16, section 28, as amended by Laws 2022, chapter 40, section 1, is amended to read:

## Sec. 28. CONTINGENT APPROPRIATIONS.

Any appropriation in this act for a purpose included in Minnesota's initial state spending plan as described in guidance issued by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services for implementation of section 9817 of the federal American Rescue Plan Act of 2021 is contingent upon <u>the initial</u> approval of that purpose by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, except for the rate increases specified in article 11, sections 12 and 19. This section expires June 30, 2024.

## Sec. 7. DIRECT CARE AND TREATMENT FISCAL YEAR 2023 APPROPRIATION.

\$4,829,000 is appropriated in fiscal year 2023 to the commissioner of human services for operation of direct care and treatment programs. This is a onetime appropriation.

## Sec. 8. TRANSFERS.

Subdivision 1. Grants. The commissioner of human services, with the approval of the commissioner of management and budget, may transfer unencumbered appropriation balances for the biennium ending June 30, 2025, within fiscal years among the MFIP; general assistance; medical assistance; MinnesotaCare; MFIP child care assistance under Minnesota Statutes, section 119B.05; Minnesota supplemental aid program; housing support program; the entitlement portion of Northstar Care for Children under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 256N; and the entitlement portion of the behavioral health fund between fiscal years of the biennium. The commissioner shall inform the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over health and human services quarterly about transfers made under this subdivision.

Subd. 2. Administration. Positions, salary money, and nonsalary administrative money may be transferred within the Department of Human Services as the commissioner considers necessary, with the advance approval of the commissioner of management and budget. The commissioners shall inform the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over health and human services finance quarterly about transfers made under this section.

## Sec. 9. APPROPRIATIONS GIVEN EFFECT ONCE.

If an appropriation or transfer in this article is enacted more than once during the 2023 regular session, the appropriation or transfer must be given effect once.

#### Sec. 10. FINANCIAL REVIEW OF NONPROFIT GRANT RECIPIENTS REQUIRED.

Subdivision 1. **Financial review required.** (a) Before awarding a competitive, legislatively named, single-source, or sole-source grant to a nonprofit organization under this act, the grantor must require the applicant to submit financial information sufficient for the grantor to document and assess the applicant's current financial standing and management. Items of significant concern must be addressed with the applicant and resolved to the satisfaction of the grantor before a grant is awarded. The grantor must document the material requested and reviewed; whether the applicant had a significant operating deficit, a deficit in unrestricted net assets, or insufficient internal controls; whether and how the applicant resolved the grantor's concerns; and the grantor's final decision. This documentation must be maintained in the grantor's files.

(b) At a minimum, the grantor must require each applicant to provide the following information:

(1) the applicant's most recent Form 990, Form 990-EZ, or Form 990-N filed with the Internal Revenue Service. If the applicant has not been in existence long enough or is not required to file Form 990, Form 990-EZ, or Form 990-N, the applicant must demonstrate to the grantor that the applicant is exempt and must instead submit documentation of internal controls and the applicant's most recent financial statement prepared in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles and approved by the applicant's board of directors or trustees, or if there is no such board, by the applicant's managing group;

(2) evidence of registration and good standing with the secretary of state under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 317A, or other applicable law;

(3) unless exempt under Minnesota Statutes, section 309.515, evidence of registration and good standing with the attorney general under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 309; and

(4) if required under Minnesota Statutes, section 309.53, subdivision 3, the applicant's most recent audited financial statement prepared in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles.

Subd. 2. <u>Authority to postpone or forgo.</u> Notwithstanding any contrary provision in this act, a grantor that identifies an area of significant concern regarding the financial standing or management of a legislatively named applicant may postpone or forgo awarding the grant.

Subd. 3. Authority to award subject to additional assistance and oversight. A grantor that identifies an area of significant concern regarding an applicant's financial standing or management may award a grant to the applicant if the grantor provides or the grantee otherwise obtains additional technical assistance, as needed, and the grantor imposes additional requirements in the grant agreement. Additional requirements may include but are not limited to enhanced monitoring, additional reporting, or other reasonable requirements imposed by the grantor to protect the interests of the state.

Subd. 4. <u>Relation to other law and policy.</u> The requirements in this section are in addition to any other requirements imposed by law, the commissioner of administration under Minnesota Statutes, sections 16B.97 and 16B.98, or agency policy.

## Sec. 11. EXPIRATION OF UNCODIFIED LANGUAGE.

All uncodified language contained in this article expires on June 30, 2025, unless a different expiration date is explicit."

Delete the title and insert:

"A bill for an act relating to state government; modifying provisions governing disability services, aging services, behavioral health, opioid overdose prevention and opiate epidemic response, the opioid prescribing improvement program, the Department of Direct Care and Treatment, human services licensing, and self-directed worker contract ratification; requiring reports; appropriating money; amending Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 4.046, subdivisions 6, 7; 15.01; 15.06, subdivision 1; 16A.151, subdivision 2; 43A.08, subdivision 1a; 151.065, subdivision 7; 177.24, by adding a subdivision; 179A.54, by adding a subdivision; 241.021, subdivision 1; 241.31, subdivision 5; 241.415; 245.91, subdivision 4; 245A.03, subdivision 7; 245A.04, subdivision 7; 245A.07, by adding subdivisions; 245A.10, subdivisions 3, 6, by adding a subdivision; 245A.11, subdivisions; 245G.02, subdivision 2; 245G.05, subdivision 1, 2, 3, 6, 7, 9; 245D.03, subdivision 1; 245G.06, subdivisions 1, 3, 4, by adding subdivisions; 245G.08, subdivision 3; 245G.09, subdivision 3; 245G.22, subdivision 15; 245I.10, subdivision 6; 252.44; 253B.10,

6364

JOURNAL OF THE HOUSE

subdivision 1; 254B.01, by adding subdivisions; 254B.04, by adding a subdivision; 254B.05, subdivision 5; 256.042, subdivisions 2, 4; 256.043, subdivisions 3, 3a; 256.482, by adding a subdivision; 256.975, subdivision 6; 256.9754; 256B.056, subdivision 3; 256B.057, subdivision 9; 256B.0638, subdivisions 1, 2, 4, 5, by adding a subdivision; 256B.0659, subdivisions 1, 12, 19, 24, by adding a subdivision; 256B.0759, subdivision 2; 256B.0911, subdivision 13; 256B.0917, subdivision 1b; 256B.092, subdivision 1a; 256B.0949, subdivision 15; 256B.49, subdivision 13; 256B.4905, subdivision 4a; 256B.4914, subdivisions 3, 5, 5a, 5b, 6, 10a, 14, by adding subdivisions; 256B.5012, by adding a subdivision; 256B.851, subdivisions 3, 5, 6; 256D.425, subdivision 1; 256M.42; 256R.17, subdivision 2; 256R.25; 256R.47; 256S.211; 256S.214; 256S.215, subdivision 15; 268.19, subdivision 1; Laws 2019, chapter 63, article 3, section 1, as amended; Laws 2021, chapter 30, article 12, section 5, as amended; Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 7, article 16, section 28, as amended; article 17, sections 8; 16; proposing coding for new law in Minnesota Statutes, chapters 121A; 245D; 252; 254B; 256; 256B; 256I; proposing coding for new law as Minnesota Statutes, chapter 246C; repealing Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 245G.06, subdivision 2; 246.18, subdivisions 2, 2a; 256B.0759, subdivision 6; 256B.0917, subdivisions 1a, 6, 7a, 13; 256B.4914, subdivision 6b; 256S.2101, subdivisions 1, 2."

With the recommendation that when so amended the bill be placed on the General Register.

The report was adopted.

## SECOND READING OF HOUSE BILLS

H. F. No. 1372 was read for the second time.

## SECOND READING OF SENATE BILLS

S. F. Nos. 2909 and 2934 were read for the second time.

## INTRODUCTION AND FIRST READING OF HOUSE BILLS

The following House Files were introduced:

Frazier introduced:

H. F. No. 3276, A bill for an act relating to elections; providing for ranked choice voting; authorizing jurisdictions to adopt ranked choice voting for local offices; establishing procedures for adoption, implementation, and use of ranked choice voting for local jurisdictions; allowing local jurisdictions to use electronic voting systems with a reallocation feature; authorizing rulemaking; amending Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 204B.35, subdivision 1; 204C.21, by adding a subdivision; 204D.07, subdivision 3; 205.13, subdivision 2; 206.57, subdivision 6; 206.58, subdivision 1; 206.83; 211A.02, subdivision 1; proposing coding for new law in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 206; proposing coding for new law as Minnesota Statutes, chapter 204E.

The bill was read for the first time and referred to the Committee on Elections Finance and Policy.

FRIDAY, APRIL 21, 2023

Nelson, M., introduced:

H. F. No. 3277, A bill for an act relating to economic development; appropriating money to African Career Education and Resource, Inc.

The bill was read for the first time and referred to the Committee on Capital Investment.

Grossell; Novotny; Burkel; Joy; Backer; Anderson, P. H.; Swedzinski; Schomacker; Knudsen; Harder; Fogelman; Jacob; Dotseth; Murphy; Heintzeman; Bliss; Daniels; Wiener; Hudson and Mekeland introduced:

H. F. No. 3278, A bill for an act relating to state government; establishing a State Boundary Adjustment Planning Commission; requiring a report.

The bill was read for the first time and referred to the Committee on State and Local Government Finance and Policy.

#### O'Driscoll introduced:

H. F. No. 3279, A bill for an act relating to capital investment; appropriating money for flood hazard mitigation projects in the city of Sartell.

The bill was read for the first time and referred to the Committee on Capital Investment.

Becker-Finn and Scott introduced:

H. F. No. 3280, A bill for an act relating to legislative enactments; correcting miscellaneous oversights, inconsistencies, ambiguities, unintended results, and technical errors; amending Laws 2023, chapter 5, sections 1; 2.

The bill was read for the first time and referred to the Committee on Rules and Legislative Administration.

Daniels, Joy, Johnson, Harder, Knudsen, Demuth, Quam, Zeleznikar, Skraba and Novotny introduced:

H. F. No. 3281, A bill for an act relating to state government; allowing ranking minority members of standing legislative committees to request fiscal notes; amending Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 3.98, subdivisions 1, 3.

The bill was read for the first time and referred to the Committee on State and Local Government Finance and Policy.

Long moved that the House recess subject to the call of the Chair. The motion prevailed.

## RECESS

## RECONVENED

The House reconvened and was called to order by the Speaker.

Backer was excused for the remainder of today's session.

#### **MESSAGES FROM THE SENATE**

The following messages were received from the Senate:

#### Madam Speaker:

I hereby announce the passage by the Senate of the following House File, herewith returned:

H. F. No. 16, A bill for an act relating to health; prohibiting conversion therapy with children or vulnerable adults; prohibiting medical assistance coverage for conversion therapy; prohibiting the misrepresentation of conversion therapy services or products; amending Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 256B.0625, by adding a subdivision; 325F.69, by adding a subdivision; proposing coding for new law in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 214.

THOMAS S. BOTTERN, Secretary of the Senate

#### Madam Speaker:

I hereby announce the passage by the Senate of the following House File, herewith returned, as amended by the Senate, in which amendments the concurrence of the House is respectfully requested:

H. F. No. 1937, A bill for an act relating to state government; establishing a budget for the Department of Military Affairs and the Department of Veterans Affairs; modifying veterans bonus program and Minnesota GI bill program provisions; requiring reports; appropriating money; amending Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 190.19, subdivision 2a; 197.236, subdivision 9; 197.79, subdivisions 1, 2, by adding a subdivision; 197.791, subdivisions 5, 6, 7; Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 12, article 1, section 37, subdivision 2.

THOMAS S. BOTTERN, Secretary of the Senate

Newton moved that the House refuse to concur in the Senate amendments to H. F. No. 1937, that the Speaker appoint a Conference Committee of 3 members of the House, and that the House requests that a like committee be appointed by the Senate to confer on the disagreeing votes of the two houses. The motion prevailed.

Madam Speaker:

I hereby announce the passage by the Senate of the following House File, herewith returned, as amended by the Senate, in which amendments the concurrence of the House is respectfully requested:

H. F. No. 2310, A bill for an act relating to state government; appropriating money for environment, natural resources, climate, and energy; modifying prior appropriations; providing for and modifying disposition of certain receipts; modifying and establishing duties, authorities, and prohibitions regarding environment and natural resources; modifying and creating environment and natural resources programs; modifying Legislative Water Commission; modifying Legislative-Citizen Commission on Minnesota Resources; modifying permit and environmental review requirements; modifying requirements for recreational

6366

vehicles; modifying state trail and state park provisions; establishing Lowland Conifer Carbon Reserve; modifying forestry provisions; modifying game and fish provisions; modifying regulation of farmed Cervidae; regulating certain seeds and pesticides; modifying Water Law; providing appointments; modifying and providing for fees; establishing a biennial budget for Department of Commerce, Public Utilities Commission, and energy, climate, and clean energy activities; establishing and modifying provisions governing energy, clean and renewable energy, energy storage, energy use and conservation, and utility regulation; providing for enhanced transportation electrification; adding and modifying provisions governing Public Utilities Commission proceedings; establishing various clean and renewable energy grant programs; making technical changes; requiring reports; requiring rulemaking; amending Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 13.643, subdivision 6; 16A.151, subdivision 2; 16A.152, subdivision 2; 16B.325; 16B.58, by adding a subdivision; 16C.135, subdivision 3; 16C.137, subdivision 1; 17.118, subdivision 2; 18B.01, subdivision 31; 18B.09, subdivision 2, by adding a subdivision; 21.82, subdivision 3; 21.86, subdivision 2; 35.155, subdivisions 1, 4, 10, 11, 12, by adding subdivisions; 35.156, subdivision 2, by adding subdivisions; 84.02, by adding a subdivision; 84.0274, subdivision 6; 84.0276; 84.415, subdivisions 3, 6, 7, by adding a subdivision; 84.788, subdivision 5; 84.82, subdivision 2, by adding a subdivision; 84.821, subdivision 2; 84.84; 84.86, subdivision 1; 84.87, subdivision 1; 84.90, subdivision 7; 84.992, subdivisions 2, 5; 84D.02, subdivision 3; 84D.10, subdivision 3; 84D.15, subdivision 2; 85.015, subdivision 10; 85.052, subdivision 6; 85.055, subdivision 1; 85A.01, subdivision 1; 86B.005, by adding a subdivision; 86B.313, subdivision 4; 86B.415, subdivisions 1, 1a, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7; 89A.03, subdivision 5; 90.181, subdivision 2; 97A.015, subdivision 51, by adding a subdivision; 97A.031; 97A.126; 97A.137, subdivision 3; 97A.315, subdivision 1; 97A.401, subdivision 1, by adding a subdivision; 97A.405, subdivision 5; 97A.421, subdivision 3; 97A.473, subdivisions 2, 2a, 2b, 5, 5a; 97A.474, subdivision 2; 97A.475, subdivisions 6, 7, 8, 10, 10a, 11, 12, 13, 41; 97B.031, subdivision 1; 97B.071; 97B.301, subdivision 6; 97B.516; 97B.645, subdivision 9; 97B.668; 97C.087, subdivision 2; 97C.315, subdivision 1; 97C.345, subdivision 1; 97C.355, by adding a subdivision; 97C.371, subdivisions 1, 2, 4; 97C.395, subdivision 1; 97C.601, subdivision 1; 97C.605, subdivisions 1, 2c, 3; 97C.611; 97C.836; 103B.101, subdivisions 2, 9, 16, by adding a subdivision; 103B.103; 103C.501, subdivisions 1, 4, 5, 6, by adding a subdivision; 103D.605, subdivision 5; 103F.505; 103F.511, by adding subdivisions; 103G.005, by adding subdivisions; 103G.2242, subdivision 1; 103G.271, subdivision 6; 103G.287, subdivisions 2, 3; 103G.299, subdivisions 1, 2, 5, 10; 103G.301, subdivisions 2, 6, 7; 115.01, by adding subdivisions; 115.03, subdivision 1, by adding a subdivision; 115.061; 115A.03, by adding a subdivision; 115A.1415; 115A.565, subdivisions 1, 3; 115B.17, subdivision 14; 115B.171, subdivision 3; 115B.52, subdivision 4; 116.06, subdivision 1, by adding subdivisions; 116.07, subdivision 6, by adding subdivisions; 116C.03, subdivision 2a; 116C.779, subdivision 1; 116C.7792; 116P.05, subdivisions 1, 1a, 2; 116P.09, subdivision 6; 116P.11; 116P.15; 116P.16; 116P.18; 168.1295, subdivision 1; 168.27, by adding a subdivision; 171.07, by adding a subdivision; 216B.096, subdivision 11; 216B.1611, by adding a subdivision; 216B.164, by adding a subdivision; 216B.1641; 216B.1645, subdivision 4; 216B.17, subdivision 1; 216B.2402, subdivision 16; 216B.2422, subdivision 7; 216B.2425, subdivision 3; 216B.243, subdivision 8, as amended; 216B.50, subdivision 1; 216B.62, subdivision 3b; 216C.05, subdivision 2; 216C.08; 216C.09; 216C.264, subdivision 5, by adding subdivisions; 216C.375; 216E.01, subdivision 6, by adding a subdivision; 216E.03, subdivisions 1, 3, 5, as amended, 6, 7, as amended; 216E.04, subdivision 2, as amended; 216E.05, subdivision 2; 216E.06; 216E.07; 216E.10; 216H.02, subdivision 1; 237.55; 297A.94; 325E.046; 325F.072, subdivisions 1, 3, by adding a subdivision; 326B.106, subdivision 1; 373.475; 515B.2-103; 515B.3-102; Laws 2005, chapter 97, article 10, section 3, as amended; Laws 2022, chapter 94, section 2, subdivisions 5, 8, 9; proposing coding for new law in Minnesota Statutes, chapters 3; 16B; 18B; 21; 84; 86B; 88; 97A; 97B; 97C; 103B; 103E; 103F; 103G; 115A; 116; 116C; 116P; 123B; 216B; 216C; 325E; 473; 500; repealing Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 16B.24, subdivision 13; 84.033, subdivision 3; 84.944, subdivision 3; 86B.101; 86B.305; 86B.313, subdivisions 2, 3; 97A.145, subdivision 2; 97C.605, subdivisions 2, 2a, 2b, 5; 103C.501, subdivisions 2, 3; 115.44, subdivision 9; 116.011; 216B.16, subdivision 10; 216C.376; 325E.389; 325E.3891; Minnesota Rules, parts 6100.5000, subparts 3, 4, 5; 6100.5700, subpart 4; 6115.1220, subpart 8; 6256.0500, subparts 2, 2a, 2b, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8; 8400.0500; 8400.0550; 8400.0600, subparts 4, 5; 8400.0900, subparts 1, 2, 4, 5; 8400.1650; 8400.1700; 8400.1750; 8400.1800; 8400.1900.

THOMAS S. BOTTERN, Secretary of the Senate

6368

JOURNAL OF THE HOUSE

Hansen, R., moved that the House refuse to concur in the Senate amendments to H. F. No. 2310, that the Speaker appoint a Conference Committee of 5 members of the House, and that the House requests that a like committee be appointed by the Senate to confer on the disagreeing votes of the two houses. The motion prevailed.

### Madam Speaker:

I hereby announce the Senate refuses to concur in the House amendments to the following Senate File:

S. F. No. 1955, A bill for an act relating to state government; establishing a budget for the Department of Agriculture, the Board of Animal Health, the Agricultural Utilization Research Institute, and the Office of Broadband Development; making policy and technical changes to agriculture provisions; making policy and technical changes to broadband provisions; providing civil penalties; appropriating money; requiring reports; transferring money to the border-to-border broadband fund account; creating the grain indemnity account; transferring money to the grain indemnity account; amending Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 17.1016, subdivision 2; 17.133, subdivision 2; 28A.152, subdivision 2; 41A.14, subdivision 2; 41A.19; 116J.395, subdivision 7; 116J.396, subdivision 2; 223.16, by adding a subdivision; 223.17, subdivision 6, 7, 7a; 223.175; 223.19; 232.22, subdivision 5; Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 3, article 1, section 2, subdivision 5, as amended; Laws 2022, chapter 95, article 2, section 29, subdivision 6; proposing coding for new law in Minnesota Statutes, chapters 17; 116J; 223; repealing Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 17.055, subdivision 2; 41A.12, subdivision 4; 41A.21; 223.17, subdivisions 4, 8; 232.22, subdivisions 4, 6, 6a, 7.

The Senate respectfully requests that a Conference Committee be appointed thereon. The Senate has appointed as such committee:

Senators Putnam, Kupec, and Westrom.

Said Senate File is herewith transmitted to the House with the request that the House appoint a like committee.

THOMAS S. BOTTERN, Secretary of the Senate

Vang moved that the House accede to the request of the Senate and that the Speaker appoint a Conference Committee of 3 members of the House to meet with a like committee appointed by the Senate on the disagreeing votes of the two houses on S. F. No. 1955. The motion prevailed.

#### REPORT FROM THE COMMITTEE ON RULES AND LEGISLATIVE ADMINISTRATION

Long from the Committee on Rules and Legislative Administration, pursuant to rules 1.21 and 3.33, designated the following bills to be placed on the Calendar for the Day for Tuesday, April 25, 2023 and established a prefiling requirement for amendments offered to the following bills:

S. F. No. 2934; H. F. No. 1403; S. F. No. 2909; and H. F. No. 447.

## CALENDAR FOR THE DAY

H. F. No. 717, A bill for an act relating to transportation; designating a segment of marked Trunk Highway 5 in Chanhassen as Prince Rogers Nelson Memorial Highway; modifying the Augie Mueller Memorial Highway; amending Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 161.14, subdivision 40, by adding a subdivision.

The question was taken on the passage of the bill and the roll was called. There were 121 yeas and 0 nays as follows:

Those who voted in the affirmative were:

Acomb Agbaje	Davids Dotseth	Hemmingsen-Jaeger Her	Lee, K. Liebling	Olson, B. Olson, L.	Smith Stephenson
Altendorf	Edelson	Hicks	Lillie	O'Neill	Swedzinski
Anderson, P. E.	Elkins	Hill	Lislegard	Pelowski	Tabke
Anderson, P. H.	Engen	Hollins	Long	Pérez-Vega	Torkelson
Bahner	Feist	Howard	McDonald	Perryman	Urdahl
Bakeberg	Finke	Hudella	Mekeland	Petersburg	Vang
Baker	Fischer	Huot	Moller	Pfarr	West
Becker-Finn	Fogelman	Jacob	Mueller	Pinto	Wiener
Bennett	Franson	Johnson	Murphy	Pryor	Wiens
Berg	Frazier	Jordan	Myers	Pursell	Witte
Bierman	Frederick	Joy	Nadeau	Quam	Wolgamott
Brand	Freiberg	Keeler	Nash	Rehm	Xiong
Burkel	Gillman	Klevorn	Nelson, M.	Reyer	Youakim
Carroll	Gomez	Knudsen	Nelson, N.	Richardson	Zeleznikar
Cha	Greenman	Koegel	Neu Brindley	Robbins	Spk. Hortman
Clardy	Grossell	Kotyza-Witthuhn	Newton	Schomacker	
Coulter	Hansen, R.	Kozlowski	Niska	Schultz	
Curran	Hanson, J.	Koznick	Norris	Scott	
Daniels	Harder	Kraft	Novotny	Sencer-Mura	
Daudt	Heintzeman	Lee, F.	O'Driscoll	Skraba	

The bill was passed and its title agreed to.

H. F. No. 3100, A bill for an act relating to retirement; reducing the actuarial assumption for investment rate of return; eliminating the delay to normal retirement age on the commencement of postretirement adjustments and reducing the vesting requirement for the general employees retirement plans of the Minnesota State Retirement System and the Public Employees Retirement Association; modifying the postretirement adjustment for the local government correctional service retirement plan; providing a onetime postretirement adjustment to all pension plan members; temporarily reducing the employee contribution rate for the general state employees retirement plan; modifying the expiration date for supplemental employer contributions to the State Patrol and correctional state employees plans and for the state aid to the judges plan; providing for an unreduced retirement annuity upon reaching age 62 with 30 years of service and increasing the employee contribution rate for the St. Paul Teachers Retirement Fund Association; appropriating money for onetime direct state aids to the pension plans, an incentive program for paying monetary incentives to join the statewide volunteer firefighter plan, and the Legislative Commission on Pensions and Retirement for actuarial services to assess the actuarial cost of pension legislation; amending Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 352.04, subdivision 2; 352.115, subdivision 1; 352.92, subdivision 2a; 352B.02, subdivision 1c; 353.01, subdivision 47; 354A.12, subdivision 1; 354A.31, subdivision 7, by adding a subdivision; 356.215, subdivision 8; 356.415, subdivisions 1, 1b, 1g; 490.123, subdivision 5.

The question was taken on the passage of the bill and the roll was called. There were 120 yeas and 0 nays as follows:

Those who voted in the affirmative were:

Acomb	Daudt Davida	Hanson, J.	Koznick Kroft	Niska	Schomacker
Agbaje	Davids	Harder	Kraft	Norris	Schultz
Altendorf	Davis	Heintzeman	Lee, F.	Novotny	Scott
Anderson, P. E.	Dotseth	Hemmingsen-Jaeger	Lee, K.	O'Driscoll	Sencer-Mura
Anderson, P. H.	Edelson	Her	Liebling	Olson, B.	Skraba
Bahner	Elkins	Hicks	Lillie	Olson, L.	Smith
Bakeberg	Engen	Hill	Lislegard	O'Neill	Stephenson
Baker	Feist	Hollins	Long	Pelowski	Swedzinski
Becker-Finn	Finke	Howard	McDonald	Pérez-Vega	Tabke
Bennett	Fischer	Hudella	Mekeland	Perryman	Torkelson
Berg	Fogelman	Huot	Moller	Petersburg	Urdahl
Bierman	Franson	Jacob	Mueller	Pfarr	Vang
Brand	Frazier	Johnson	Murphy	Pinto	West
Burkel	Frederick	Jordan	Myers	Pryor	Wiens
Carroll	Freiberg	Keeler	Nadeau	Pursell	Witte
Cha	Gillman	Klevorn	Nash	Quam	Wolgamott
Clardy	Gomez	Knudsen	Nelson, M.	Rehm	Xiong
Coulter	Greenman	Koegel	Nelson, N.	Reyer	Youakim
Curran	Grossell	Kotyza-Witthuhn	Neu Brindley	Richardson	Zeleznikar
Daniels	Hansen, R.	Kozlowski	Newton	Robbins	Spk. Hortman

The bill was passed and its title agreed to.

H. F. No. 2950, A bill for an act relating to retirement; making administrative changes to the statutes governing the retirement plans administered by the Minnesota State Retirement System, the Public Employees Retirement Association, and the Teachers Retirement Association; amending eligibility to permit appointed local government officials to participate in the public employees defined contribution plan; permitting the transfer of service credit from the general public employees retirement plan to the public employees police and fire retirement plan for two employees of the Metropolitan Airports Commission; permitting eligible retired teachers in the St. Paul Teachers Retirement Fund Association to change the teacher's retirement annuity to an annuity that will pay a survivor annuity to a same-sex spouse; authorizing certain members of the higher education individual retirement account plan to elect Teachers Retirement Association coverage and receive retroactive service credit; extending the payment period for the purchase of service credit for periods of military service; increasing the cap on the employer contribution to certain trades' multiemployer pension plans; Public Employees Retirement Association statewide volunteer firefighter plan; modifying service counted in determining vesting in a retirement benefit, amending requirements applicable to a relief association after the affiliated fire department joins the statewide plan, and authorizing the Hamel and Loretto volunteer firefighter relief associations to join the statewide plan mid-year and merge; increasing the dollar threshold for requiring audited financial reports for volunteer firefighter relief associations; amending Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 352B.08, subdivision 1; 353.01, subdivisions 2a, 2b, 15; 353.0162; 353.031, subdivision 10; 353.32, subdivision 1c; 353D.01, subdivision 2, by adding a subdivision; 353D.02, subdivision 1; 353D.03, subdivision 1; 353E.001, by adding subdivisions; 353E.07, subdivisions 3, 4, 5; 353G.01, subdivisions 8, 15, by adding subdivisions; 353G.06, subdivisions 2, 3; 353G.09, subdivisions 1, 2, by adding a subdivision; 353G.14; 354.06, subdivision 2; 354.53, subdivision 3; 354A.093, subdivision 4; 356.24, subdivision 1; 356.551, subdivision 2; 424A.014, subdivision 1; 490.1211; proposing coding for new law in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 354A; repealing Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 353.01, subdivision 15a; 353G.01, subdivision 7; 353G.13; 490.124, subdivision 10.

The question was taken on the passage of the bill and the roll was called. There were 122 yeas and 0 nays as follows:

Those who voted in the affirmative were:

Acomb	Davids	Heintzeman	Kraft	Novotny	Sencer-Mura
Agbaje	Davis	Hemmingsen-Jaeger	Lee, F.	O'Driscoll	Skraba
Altendorf	Dotseth	Her	Lee, K.	Olson, B.	Smith
Anderson, P. E.	Edelson	Hicks	Liebling	Olson, L.	Stephenson
Anderson, P. H.	Elkins	Hill	Lillie	O'Neill	Swedzinski
Bahner	Engen	Hollins	Lislegard	Pelowski	Tabke
Bakeberg	Feist	Hornstein	Long	Pérez-Vega	Torkelson
Baker	Finke	Howard	McDonald	Perryman	Urdahl
Becker-Finn	Fischer	Hudella	Mekeland	Petersburg	Vang
Bennett	Fogelman	Huot	Moller	Pfarr	West
Berg	Franson	Jacob	Mueller	Pinto	Wiens
Bierman	Frazier	Johnson	Murphy	Pryor	Witte
Brand	Frederick	Jordan	Myers	Pursell	Wolgamott
Burkel	Freiberg	Joy	Nadeau	Quam	Xiong
Carroll	Gillman	Keeler	Nash	Rehm	Youakim
Cha	Gomez	Klevorn	Nelson, M.	Reyer	Zeleznikar
Clardy	Greenman	Knudsen	Nelson, N.	Richardson	Spk. Hortman
Coulter	Grossell	Koegel	Neu Brindley	Robbins	
Curran	Hansen, R.	Kotyza-Witthuhn	Newton	Schomacker	
Daniels	Hanson, J.	Kozlowski	Niska	Schultz	
Daudt	Harder	Koznick	Norris	Scott	

The bill was passed and its title agreed to.

H. F. No. 24 was reported to the House.

Jordan moved to amend H. F. No. 24, the third engrossment, as follows:

Page 5, line 6, delete "municipalities" and insert "eligible recipients, as defined under subdivision 3,"

The motion prevailed and the amendment was adopted.

H. F. No. 24, A bill for an act relating to capital investment; modifying authority to ensure safe drinking water; modifying provisions of drinking water revolving fund; establishing grant program to replace lead drinking water service lines; requiring report; appropriating money; amending Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 144.383; 446A.081, subdivisions 8, 9; proposing coding for new law in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 446A.

The question was taken on the passage of the bill and the roll was called. There were 123 yeas and 0 nays as follows:

Those who voted in the affirmative were:

Acomb	Davids	Heintzeman	Kraft	Novotny	Sencer-Mura
Agbaje	Davis	Hemmingsen-Jaeger	Lee, F.	O'Driscoll	Skraba
Altendorf	Dotseth	Her	Lee, K.	Olson, B.	Smith
Anderson, P. E.	Edelson	Hicks	Liebling	Olson, L.	Stephenson
Anderson, P. H.	Elkins	Hill	Lillie	O'Neill	Swedzinski
Bahner	Engen	Hollins	Lislegard	Pelowski	Tabke
Bakeberg	Feist	Hornstein	Long	Pérez-Vega	Torkelson
Baker	Finke	Howard	McDonald	Perryman	Urdahl
Becker-Finn	Fischer	Hudella	Mekeland	Petersburg	Vang
Bennett	Fogelman	Huot	Moller	Pfarr	West
Berg	Franson	Jacob	Mueller	Pinto	Wiener
Bierman	Frazier	Johnson	Murphy	Pryor	Wiens
Brand	Frederick	Jordan	Myers	Pursell	Witte
Burkel	Freiberg	Joy	Nadeau	Quam	Wolgamott
Carroll	Gillman	Keeler	Nash	Rehm	Xiong
Cha	Gomez	Klevorn	Nelson, M.	Reyer	Youakim
Clardy	Greenman	Knudsen	Nelson, N.	Richardson	Zeleznikar
Coulter	Grossell	Koegel	Neu Brindley	Robbins	Spk. Hortman
Curran	Hansen, R.	Kotyza-Witthuhn	Newton	Schomacker	
Daniels	Hanson, J.	Kozlowski	Niska	Schultz	
Daudt	Harder	Koznick	Norris	Scott	

The bill was passed, as amended, and its title agreed to.

#### H. F. No. 1510 was reported to the House.

Novotny moved to amend H. F. No. 1510, the first engrossment, as follows:

Page 2, delete section 2 and insert:

## "Sec. 2. [299A.012] ACCEPTANCE OF PRIVATE FUNDS; APPROPRIATION.

(a) The commissioner may accept donations, nonfederal grants, bequests, and other gifts of money to carry out the purposes of chapter 299A. The commissioner may not accept any contributions under this section unless the contributions can be applied to divisions and programs that are related to statutory duties of the department. Donations, nonfederal grants, bequests, or other gifts of money accepted by the commissioner must be deposited in an account in the special revenue fund and are appropriated to the commissioner for the purpose for which the money was given if the department is authorized to conduct that activity under this chapter.

(b) By January 15 of each year, the commissioner shall report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the senate and house of representatives committees with jurisdiction over public safety policy and finance on the money received under this section, the sources of the money, and the specific purposes for which it was used."

The motion prevailed and the amendment was adopted.

54TH DAY]

H. F. No. 1510, A bill for an act relating to public safety; authorizing the commissioner of public safety to accept donations, nonfederal grants, bequests, and other gifts of money; modifying Minnesota Hazardous Materials Incident Response Act; modifying bomb disposal cost reimbursement; making technical changes related to smoke alarms; modifying Bureau of Criminal Apprehension's questioned identity process; providing more comprehensive use of Criminal and Juvenile Justice Information Advisory Group in review of Bureau of Criminal Apprehension issues; modifying crime of computer theft to include copies of data; requiring prosecutors to notify victims of plea, sentencing, and sentencing modification hearings; improving ability of crime victims to access reimbursement program; changing name of reparations program to reimbursement act; clarifying and removing outdated statutory language regarding duty of Office of Justice Programs to designate services to domestic abuse victims; amending Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 256I.04, subdivision 2g; 299A.48; 299A.49; 299A.50; 299A.51; 299A.52; 299C.063; 299C.46, subdivision 1; 299C.65, subdivisions 1a, 3a; 299F.362; 609.87, by adding a subdivision; 609.89; 611A.033; 611A.039, subdivision 1; 611A.51; 611A.52, subdivisions 3, 4, 5; 611A.54; 611A.55; 611A.56; 611A.67, subdivisions 5, 6; 611A.60; 611A.61; 611A.612; 611A.66; 611A.68, subdivisions 2a, 4, 4b, 4c; 629.341, subdivisions 3, 4; 629.72, subdivision 6; proposing coding for new law in Minnesota Statutes, chapters 299A; 299C; repealing Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 518B.02, subdivision 3.

The bill was read for the third time, as amended, and placed upon its final passage.

The question was taken on the passage of the bill and the roll was called. There were 123 yeas and 0 nays as follows:

Acomb Agbaje Altendorf Anderson, P. E. Anderson, P. H. Bahner Bakeberg Baker Becker-Finn Bennett Berg Bierman Brand Burkel Carroll Cha Clardy Coulter Curran	Davids Davis Dotseth Edelson Elkins Engen Feist Finke Fischer Fogelman Franson Frazier Frederick Freiberg Gillman Gomez Greenman Grossell Hansen, R.	Heintzeman Hemmingsen-Jaeger Her Hicks Hill Hollins Hornstein Howard Hudella Huot Jacob Johnson Jordan Joy Keeler Klevorn Knudsen Koegel Kotyza-Witthuhn	Kraft Lee, F. Lee, K. Liebling Lillie Lislegard Long McDonald Mekeland Moller Mueller Murphy Myers Nadeau Nash Nelson, M. Nelson, N. Neu Brindley Newton	Novotny O'Driscoll Olson, B. Olson, L. O'Neill Pelowski Pérez-Vega Perryman Petersburg Pfarr Pinto Pryor Pursell Quam Rehm Reyer Richardson Robbins Schomacker	Sencer-Mura Skraba Smith Stephenson Swedzinski Tabke Torkelson Urdahl Vang West Wiener Wiens Wite Wolgamott Xiong Youakim Zeleznikar Spk. Hortman
		0	2		Spk. Hortman

Those who voted in the affirmative were:

The bill was passed, as amended, and its title agreed to.

H. F. No. 1960, A bill for an act relating to emergency management; protecting information and telecommunications technology systems and services during emergencies; amending Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 12.03, by adding subdivisions; 12.31, subdivision 2; 12.36; repealing Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 12.03, subdivision 5d.

The question was taken on the passage of the bill and the roll was called. There were 122 yeas and 0 nays as follows:

Those who voted in the affirmative were:

Acomb	Davis	Hemmingsen-Jaeger	Lee, F.	O'Driscoll	Skraba
Agbaje	Dotseth	Her	Lee, K.	Olson, B.	Smith
Altendorf	Edelson	Hicks	Liebling	Olson, L.	Stephenson
Anderson, P. E.	Elkins	Hill	Lillie	O'Neill	Swedzinski
Anderson, P. H.	Engen	Hollins	Lislegard	Pelowski	Tabke
Bahner	Feist	Hornstein	Long	Pérez-Vega	Torkelson
Bakeberg	Finke	Howard	McDonald	Perryman	Urdahl
Baker	Fischer	Hudella	Mekeland	Petersburg	Vang
Becker-Finn	Fogelman	Huot	Moller	Pfarr	West
Bennett	Franson	Jacob	Mueller	Pinto	Wiener
Berg	Frazier	Johnson	Murphy	Pryor	Wiens
Bierman	Frederick	Jordan	Myers	Pursell	Witte
Brand	Freiberg	Joy	Nadeau	Quam	Wolgamott
Burkel	Gillman	Keeler	Nash	Rehm	Xiong
Carroll	Gomez	Klevorn	Nelson, M.	Reyer	Youakim
Cha	Greenman	Knudsen	Nelson, N.	Richardson	Zeleznikar
Clardy	Grossell	Koegel	Neu Brindley	Robbins	Spk. Hortman
Coulter	Hansen, R.	Kotyza-Witthuhn	Newton	Schomacker	
Curran	Hanson, J.	Kozlowski	Niska	Schultz	
Daniels	Harder	Koznick	Norris	Scott	
Davids	Heintzeman	Kraft	Novotny	Sencer-Mura	

The bill was passed and its title agreed to.

## MOTIONS AND RESOLUTIONS

Her moved that the name of Pérez-Vega be added as an author on H. F. No. 173. The motion prevailed.

Becker-Finn moved that the name of Curran be added as an author on H. F. No. 447. The motion prevailed.

Reyer moved that the name of Hemmingsen-Jaeger be added as an author on H. F. No. 988. The motion prevailed.

Fischer moved that the name of Curran be added as an author on H. F. No. 1403. The motion prevailed.

Sencer-Mura moved that the name of Hussein be added as an author on H. F. No. 1939. The motion prevailed.

Hassan moved that the name of Fischer be added as an author on H. F. No. 2207. The motion prevailed.

Hassan moved that the name of Pérez-Vega be added as an author on H. F. No. 2369. The motion prevailed.

Reyer moved that the name of Hemmingsen-Jaeger be added as an author on H. F. No. 2599. The motion prevailed.

Stephenson moved that the name of Feist be added as an author on H. F. No. 2676. The motion prevailed.

Reyer moved that the name of Hemmingsen-Jaeger be added as an author on H. F. No. 2846. The motion prevailed.

Moller moved that the name of Curran be added as an author on H. F. No. 2890. The motion prevailed.

Hornstein moved that the name of Hussein be added as an author on H. F. No. 3077. The motion prevailed.

Stephenson moved that H. F. No. 2369 be recalled from the Committee on Labor and Industry Finance and Policy and be re-referred to the Committee on Commerce Finance and Policy. The motion prevailed.

#### ADJOURNMENT

Long moved that when the House adjourns today it adjourn until 11:30 a.m., Monday, April 24, 2023. The motion prevailed.

Long moved that the House adjourn. The motion prevailed, and the Speaker declared the House stands adjourned until 11:30 a.m., Monday, April 24, 2023.

PATRICK D. MURPHY, Chief Clerk, House of Representatives

6376

[54TH DAY